130x130_sq_1361821408033-ballroompicture

Club At Sonterra

San Antonio , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

901 Sonterra Blvd
San Antonio, TX US 78258 (map)

PHONE

210-496-1560

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The ideal location for the perfect wedding awaits you. The Club At Sonterra offers you and your guests elegance, prestige and exceptional service. Our breathtaking views and exquisite... Read more
The ideal location for the perfect wedding awaits you. The Club At Sonterra offers you and your guests elegance, prestige and exceptional service. Our breathtaking views and exquisite facilities make for a truly romantic reception that you and your guests will always remember.

Sonterra will make your vision of the perfect wedding day a reality. Select from our elegant wedding packages or we can customize a package especially for you. At Sonterra, we design weddings with your needs in mind. Our wedding packages include valet parking, full open bar, butlered hors d’oeuvres, seated gourmet meal or bridal buffet, and so much more. Every detail matters and no request is too small or large. It is your day and we want it to be perfect!

The Club At Sonterra offers our brides several rooms to choose from. Our Mediterranean-style architecture provides a romantic setting for your special day. The Grand Ballroom can accommodate up to 300 guests or, for more intimate events, please ask about the Terrace and Ivy Rooms . We are also very proud to offer our spectacular Sunset Ceremony which features breathtaking views from the Garden and formal chair covers to create a unique wedding experience.

We invite you to come and experience the casual elegance of The Club At Sonterra. Please call us at 210.496.1560, to arrange a personal tour.

Jennifer Walker jjwalker@clubatsonterra.com
Amanda Pacheco apacheco@clubatsonterra.com Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1358449998574-477561015142266079658479994563n
130x130_sq_1358450075773-542160101514226388765841911583755n
130x130_sq_1358449983021-164683101514226337315841272977570n
130x130_sq_1358450033570-196852101514226261415841850795954n
130x130_sq_1358450051620-429135101514226357065841607429530n
130x130_sq_1358450101346-430261101511721070165841010866160n
130x130_sq_1358450204509-551077101514226377865841500830168n
130x130_sq_1358450218898-547421101510170367065841123331285n
130x130_sq_1358450008617-47768101514226270465841993663417n
130x130_sq_1358450238991-52219410151017045551584723776110n
130x130_sq_1358450262654-55296510151017102456584751002545n
130x130_sq_1358450393817-dsc0213
130x130_sq_1358450454252-406089101514226581565841420897235n
130x130_sq_1361821875948-dsc6684
130x130_sq_1361821971501-1dsc3135
130x130_sq_1361822021281-1dsc3144thmb
130x130_sq_1361822071106-11picture011copy
130x130_sq_1361822123160-12picture903copy
130x130_sq_1361822139042-13picture073
130x130_sq_1361822168981-14picture025copy
130x130_sq_1361822179894-14picture065
130x130_sq_1361822189696-ballroomchivarichairs
130x130_sq_1361822192418-ceremonythmb
130x130_sq_1361822200533-clubatsonterrabyalbertovazquezphotographycenterpieceandmonogram
130x130_sq_1361822203474-clubatsonterralogonew
130x130_sq_1361822343375-copyofdsc3114
130x130_sq_1361822442615-dsc0213
130x130_sq_1361822599865-dsc0218
130x130_sq_1361822694568-dsc3135
130x130_sq_1361822787167-dsc3136
130x130_sq_1361822890767-brandonsonterrapic2
130x130_sq_1361823014878-lu3m6875
130x130_sq_1361823043964-picture1214082003
130x130_sq_1361823062437-picture1214082058
130x130_sq_1237477829905-lu3m6875
130x130_sq_1237478620109-picture1214082057
130x130_sq_1237478808530-picture1214082042
130x130_sq_1237478896734-picture253
130x130_sq_1315414417436-ballroomchivarichairs
130x130_sq_1315414435157-1dsc31353
130x130_sq_1315414524171-1dsc3144
130x130_sq_1315414570441-dsc0321wtmk
130x130_sq_1315414702292-dsc3114
130x130_sq_1315414895046-dsc3139
130x130_sq_1315415182227-dsc0316wtmk
130x130_sq_1315415231086-dsc5943wtmk
130x130_sq_1315415315311-11picture011copy
130x130_sq_1315415362594-14picture025copy

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1985
Describe your venue:
Country / Golf Club
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Other
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
500
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
5
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
0
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Mrs. Walker was very helpful. Miranda the wedding coordinator for the day was on top of everything, got tons of compliments on how smoothly everything ran.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
This was a wonderful place for a wedding reception. The room is beautiful and the service was first rate. Working with Micki Moore was a pleasure. Everything went perfectly.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lilya
Wedding:
3/8/2013
5.0/5.0
The Club at Sonterra offers the most comprehensive wedding packages to include beautiful ballrooms, elegant facilities, delicious entrees and amazing staff. Jennifer of Club at Sonterra provided exceptional customer service, with great attention to deal and lots of patience, to make our wedding day the most beautiful day possible.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1344610765311-myfavoriteweddingphoto
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I received many compliments about how wonderful our wedding was, many thanks to Micki Moore and the staff at The Club at Sonterra. We got the Fairytale package, and everything was set up beautifully. We had the Prime Rib, which was perfection, with a caesar salad, and mixed veggies. The wait staff served wine with dinner, and I felt they went above and beyond when they brought my husband a glass of moscato, which wasn't on the "house wine" list. Our Ice Sculpute was exactly as we wanted it, including our own "brand" etched on the boot! We were thrilled that we could customize so many details. We also received a Day of Coordinator from Events by Reese. It was so wonderful having EVERYTHING taken care of. This was a completely stress free day for myself, my family, and my bridesmaids!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
China Doll
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Micki Moore and The Club at Sonterra staff were awesome. They were very responsive, flexible and the ceremony and reception were all that I dreamed it would be and more. My guest are still talking about the whole evening. My wedding has been dubbed "The Wedding of the Century." Many of my guest say they have never seen anything like it. Two of my guest couples said that we have inspired them to renew their vows...Wow! Even the Sonterra staffed stated that it was the best wedding ceremony and reception they have had in awhile. One of my guest plans to hold his 50th Birthday party there. The food was very delicious...we opted for the Filet Mignon and Jumbo Shrimp Stuffed Crab with asparagus and a twice baked potato. The salad was divine! Thank you Club at Sonterra! Excellent venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
julierod98
Wedding:
1/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Everyone at Sonterra was wonderful to work with. They made our day perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Salazar0514
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
The Club at Sonterra was very beautiful, pleasant, helpful and professional. We were catered and attended to since the first day my husband and I went to view the venue. You constantly hear about the stress that bride's feel when preparing for their wedding, but I didn't feel that one bit! In fact, I grew concerned because of how smooth everything was going and went because all we needed to do was show up and enjoy the evening away! It was everything I wanted and expected... Beautiful, romantic, and elegant. Our friends and family were just as impressed as we were; PRICELESS!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
engagedinlove
Wedding:
1/1/2011
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend The Club at Sonterra. My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon and were discussing how we felt that every penny we spent was well worth it. The venue itself is architecturally divine, with gorgeous photo opportunities throughout the entire site. Micki Moore was absolutely AMAZING. I have such respect and admiration for how well she does her job and how easy she makes it on future brides. I felt that everything was disclosed, all paperwork was concise and clear, and made as simple as possible for the soon-to-be-wed couple. I appreciated that I didn't have to run around town searching for a food catering service, or find someone to do my uplighting, or pick out linens, etc. Guests commented how elegant and lovely the venue was, and the area where our outdoor ceremony was performed was romantic and picturesque. I am so incredibly pleased. Again, I have so much praise for Micki--book your wedding here, and request her! She was highly flexible from the day we made our deposit up to the wedding day itself. She is immensely accommodating, warm, and approachable, with a very calming influence about her--exactly what a bride needs! Many thanks to the entire club for making the most special day of my life exactly what I imagined!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hagomez
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
If your getting married don't spend forever shopping around, Sonterra is the answer!! The Club at Sonterra made my wedding a
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
3/20/2010
5.0/5.0
This was the perfect place! Everything was beautiful, we received so many compliments on how elegant everything was from the ceremony all the way to the send off. It was definitely worth every penny. We chose the Fairy Tale package which is the middle package and served Chicken Wellington and everyone loved the food it was delicious and the open bar was fabulous. I would definitely recommend this venue to all brides.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mary
Wedding:
3/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Our experience with The Club at Sonterra was exceptional. They really listened to what we wanted and didn't miss a detail. They also had great suggestions to make the event complete. The best thing is ,as the Mother of the Bride, I had nothing to worry about!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1232047005718-phantom&christine
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The Club at Sonterra not only met, but exceeded all of our expectations from the very first time we contacted them through the big day and night. Micki, who works for the Club, was incredible. She always responded to emails and phone calls in a timely manner; EVEN while on vacation. There is nothing more important to a bride then knowing that answers are going to be available when you need them and with Sonterra they always were. Not one single request was made by us that the Club was not able or willing to make happen. The atmosphere is incredible and even all the guests at our wedding felt like royalty. In our opinion, there is not a single ballroom more stunning in all of San Antonio.
In regards to the food served there - AWESOME!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TandK1
Wedding:
5/2/2009
5.0/5.0
Micki is our event coordinator and in charge of catering. She has been very helpful!! The venue is gorgeous and affordable!!!! I'm so happy, because she has made things so easy for us..Sonterra Country Club is a perfect spot for an indoor/outdoor wedding and reception.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Johnna
Wedding:
5/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Over the top! I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting or more wonderful people to work with. The catering manager was awesome and went all out for me. The wedding coordinator was a godsend. Their customer service was above all of the rest. I couldn't have imagined the day without them. Absolutely fabulous! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Priya
Wedding:
2/19/2011
4.9/5.0
Working with Sonterra was an amazing experience. My husband and I looked into many options for our wedding and reception site and meeting with Micki Moore helped us choose sonterra. She was an extraordinary coordinator and was very open and always professional, composed and inventive with her work with us. Sonterra was flexible with our desires for the wedding and without Micki and Sonterra our wedding would not have been possible.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jodi
Wedding:
2/27/2010
4.9/5.0
They were great to work with and we felt we got a lot of extras that people really enjoyed that we wouldn't have gotten with other vendors for the same price. At the reception they were very accomodating making sure everything was going smoothly. They even got a vegetarian plate for one of our guests even though we didn't have one on our menu and didn't plan for one. I would highly recommend a reception at Sonterra, they definitely go above and beyond and exceeded our expectations!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bride
Wedding:
1/16/2010
4.9/5.0
I had my wedding at the Club at Sonterra recently and I had an amazing experience! They were so professional, the food was good, the ballroom and grounds were beautiful and my coordinator Brittany was a life saver! I have recommended them to all my friends and family that are getting married. I could not have asked for a more perfect night!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
5/3/2014
4.8/5.0
The venue is beautiful...and the packages they offer are fantastic. My only complaint would be the lack of communication. At times it was difficult to get a hold of someone. However in the end everything came out beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
3/10/2012
4.8/5.0
Sonterra was better than I could have imagined! I got so many compliments about everything from the venue and ballroom to the food and staff. The only thing I wasn't very happy about was the ice sculpture that was at my wedding. They totally spelled my name wrong! You would think as the bride I would be the last person to have that happen to, but I guess worse things could've happened. I didn't get an apology either, so that didn't really help. They were extremely professional to work with though. I had a wonderful experience and would definitely recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Club At Sonterra responded with the following comments:

Our apologies on the Ice Sculpture, it was only after the wedding started did we find out that the sculptur had passed away the day prior to the wedding and that there was a misspelling in the name. We certainly apologize for the incovenience, but realized it was too late to have it removed during the reception.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
COAggie
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.8/5.0
The reception I had at the Club at Sonterra was beautiful and the food was amazing. Jennifer Jenkins, the wedding coordinator, helped me through every stage of my wedding planning and was a huge help. The day of wedding coordinator that they provide for you is invaluable. Sonterra helped to make my wedding day go as smoothly as possible and everything turned out exactly as planned.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lahugs82
Wedding:
6/21/2008
4.8/5.0
Very beautiful. Handled my difficult father well. Awesome food, seriously awesome. Very clean and nice staff. Highly recommended.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rita
Wedding:
4/5/2009
4.4/5.0
No complaints.It was fairly inexpensive in comparison to other sites. The ceremony was great and the location was just perfect.The view was beautiful and the size of room was perfect for the amount of people we had.We were very happy with this venue and will recommend to family and friends.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
3/20/2010
4.3/5.0
Overall we had a wonderful experience and everything was beautiful. Biggest glitch of the day is we (bride and groom) had the wrong food served to us and we were last to get our food. Other than that, it was great.

I marked responsiveness and professionalism the lowest for a specific reason. When we came for a meeting a month or so before the wedding to review everything, inlcuding the contract, we had a time scheduled to meet. Once we were there, we were greeted then left for almost an HOUR while some was supposedly just making a copy of the contract. Upon return, she gave us the contract, pressured us to pay the final bill which was not due yet, then quickly excused herself. It was quite rude and I am sure it was not intentional but gave a bad impression.

Other than that, the venue was great, food was amazing, staff and service was friendly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JennAqua
Wedding:
1/2/2010
2.5/5.0
I used the Club at Sonterra for my January 2010 wedding. Overall, the food was excellent, the room was prepared well and my guests enjoyed themselves. However, there was glaring problem: the event coordinator. The Club at Sonterra uses Events by Reese exclusively to act as event coordinators for their receptions. The event coordinator that was assigned to my wedding reception was rude, disorganized and pushy. She interrupted me every 10-15 minutes of the reception while I tried to talk to my guests. She pushed me to change the order of events for the night while my family had to remind her to have the waiters uncork the champagne for the toasts. Worst of all, after my husband and I exited the reception several floral center pieces went missing. When my Mother asked her where they were she said "guests took them." A few minutes later the center pieces magically appeared. After the wedding we wrote letters to the Club at Sonterra as well as Events by Reese detailing our complaints and asked for a response. After three weeks, we never received a reply, much less an apology. I was very upset with how my family and I were treated by both vendors. I cannot in good conscience recommend the Club at Sonterra knowing that the same situation could happen to another bride. I don't believe the Club is interested in fixing the problem as they continue to have an exclusive relationship with Events by Reese.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cvino
Wedding:
6/18/2011
1.6/5.0
I would never recommend this site for your wedding. I had my wedding here and the last month before the wedding we had so many things done against us that we were not told about in the beginning. They booked another wedding across the hall from us when they said there wouldn't be one. They charge a 21% service fee and 8.125% tax on top of the total price. When we questioned that they threatened to take away the coordinator and limit our amount of servers. This caused great stress on me as we had to consider other places after the nonrefundable depsoit of $4000.00 was placed and all the invitations were sent out with only 3 weeks till the wedding date. The date couldnt be changed as we are catholic and could only get that date at the church and that time. We only had the reception at the club. In the end, the club and us came to an agreement that the coordinator would be provided. On the wedding day we did not have valet parking as was supposed to be included in the enchantment package. All of my guests had to park themselves. When i went into the ballroom none of the tables had their numbers on them and I had to tell someone to put them up and my wedding party tables were not in the order I told them to put them so me and my bridesmaid had to fix it. They didnt start the cocktail hour until 6:15 when the bar was supposed to open at 5:30pm (of which they tried to charge us an extra hour for the bar being open when it didnt start till 6:15). The service was lacluster with the weighters. We also had 42 guests who did not show up who we had paid for. After a couple of hours the main rep for the club came to my father and said, "thanks for the tip" in reference to how they didnt have to serve the 42 guests that didnt show up but got to keep the money. The food was good, nothing spectacular and I never had my water glass refilled ever during the night. They told us that there is bread replaced for guests throughout the dinner but we never saw anyone have bread replaced the entire time. Afterwards the coordinator helped my father load the gifts into the van he had brought which was supposed to be part of the service. After a month went by after the wedding the club attempted to charge over $2000.00 extra in what they said was cleaning and loading fees and for going over the time. how could we go over the time when it didnt start till 45 minutes after it was supposed to? it started at 6:15 and ended at 11:00pm, which according to them you get 5 hours of reception. Apparently not. We are still in dispute over an amount they put through to our bank...we managed to stop the other ones after their threats that they would continue to charge whatever they wanted to because we signed the contract. The only way Id recommend this club for a wedding reception is if you enjoy being stressed out.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ash1616
Wedding:
8/13/2011
0.9/5.0
I wish nothing more than that I would have chosen another location for my wedding. The staff at Sonterra set up the wrong wedding from the chair covers, to the tablecloths, and all the decorations. They then tried to blame the “miscommunication” on me. After the wedding, it took two weeks to get a response about the problems and they only wanted to give me $300.00 back!! Our total bill to Sonterra was over $11,000.00 and they wanted to settle for $300.00 when they set up another brides wedding. We are still in disputes but I would recommend doing your research before picking this location.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tarja
Wedding:
12/21/2013
0.0/5.0
I tried to contact them FOUR times, asking for a price sheet for my projected date (December 2014.) The first two went unanswered, the third only got a "sorry we've been busy" response, and when I finally turned on mean mode and emailed them a fourth time, mentioning I had gotten terrible responses the previous times, all I got was a package list when I clearly asked for a price sheet to go along with it. It is unfortunate that the workers there are so shitty; I've had high school banquets at Sonterra in years past and it's lovely. I would not recommend even bothering to attempt contacting them as it will only add stress to your planning.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
901 Sonterra Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78258 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Club At Sonterra
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo