130x130_sq_1362512826626-13402421241030951

C&O Restaurant Catering

Charlottesville , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

515 East Water Street
Charlottesville, VA US 22902 (map)

PHONE

434-971-7044

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The C&O is one of the premiere catering operations in Central Virginia, offering full service catering for all occasions. Our clients include the University of Virginia, Monticello,... Read more
The C&O is one of the premiere catering operations in Central Virginia, offering full service catering for all occasions. Our clients include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Montpelier, and many other recognizable organizations and individuals.
We are able to provide full service for small and large events, and offer a full range of event necessities, including planning, food, beverages, rentals, and staffing. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1340242124103-0951
130x130_sq_1268668357192-headtablefromabove
130x130_sq_1340241896275-r1216a
130x130_sq_1340241741174-johnpic
130x130_sq_1340242194810-cocatthrasher1
130x130_sq_1340242240114-biggig25780x585
130x130_sq_1340241815591-septemberpictures027
130x130_sq_1340242281107-biggig19780x585
130x130_sq_1340241758656-20050108image0001
130x130_sq_1340241777086-dscn03812
130x130_sq_1340242172989-0988
130x130_sq_1340241919405-r1717
130x130_sq_1340241792747-septemberpictures018
130x130_sq_1342805823991-181312837084795505800402n
130x130_sq_1342805830465-659364550383475447115384n
130x130_sq_1342805833794-1835571289721038414367969488n
130x130_sq_1342805836390-1907881727022627822334125949n
130x130_sq_1342816350850-20050108image0001
130x130_sq_1342816361221-20050113image0003
130x130_sq_1342816375271-dscn03812
130x130_sq_1342816385549-septemberpictures018
130x130_sq_1342816399121-septemberpictures021
130x130_sq_1342816407226-septemberpictures023
130x130_sq_1342816415253-septemberpictures004
130x130_sq_1342816426931-cheeseboard
130x130_sq_1342816469823-tentinterior1
130x130_sq_1342816476991-tentinterior2
130x130_sq_1342816503869-20061021image0002
130x130_sq_1342816512276-20061021image0003
130x130_sq_1342816533121-morrowdale
130x130_sq_1342816541970-0442
130x130_sq_1342816543480-1032
130x130_sq_1342816549604-1108
130x130_sq_1342816559430-r1220a
130x130_sq_1342816571845-r085
130x130_sq_1342816582655-r086
130x130_sq_1342816589747-r128a
130x130_sq_1342816600862-r1213a
130x130_sq_1342816609195-r1218a
130x130_sq_1342816624269-r181a
130x130_sq_1342816635165-1073
130x130_sq_1342816723282-0404
130x130_sq_1342816795212-0413
130x130_sq_1342816872517-0419
130x130_sq_1342816953615-0809
130x130_sq_1342817032480-0811
130x130_sq_1342817130784-0955
130x130_sq_1342817236491-0990
130x130_sq_1342817251848-biggig16780x585
130x130_sq_1342817338424-0419
130x130_sq_1342817352389-111920100005
130x130_sq_1342817353498-600x6001342033401719foodpics2008086
130x130_sq_1342817380604-wideopenuri2012042011empx40

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, Cajun, French, Indian, Italian, Korean, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Pan-Asian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
1000

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
7/7/2014
5.0/5.0
The food is absolutely phenomenal. Worth every penny
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Food was five stars - incredible! Generally very responsive and a pleasure to work with. They also made sure we left with delicious leftovers!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
Cristelle was a pleasure to work with. She gave us a free tasting at the restaurant, then worked with us to make adjustments as we got closer. She helped by arranging to pick up the wedding cakes, came to the site and got everything squared away. It worked out to be a wonderful event, and several guests commented on the quality and elegance of the catering.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I hand-picked C&O Catering for our wedding because we had been impressed time and time and time again with the affiliated C&O Restaurant. The catering arm did not disappoint in the least!

C&O Catering is a lovely vendor to work with. As catering was the largest portion of our expenditures, it was very important to us that we stay within a certain budget. C&O Catering honored this request from the very start, and they even made additional suggestions to us for how to save even more money.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
andrea
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
our experience with C&O as our wedding caterer was extremely positive. cristelle worked with us very easily and helped us choose all the elements of our menu at an initial tasting, adn allowed us to come back with our parents for a final. she helped us design our wedding timeline and a few weeks before our event came with us to our venue to do a walkthru with all of our other vendors. this was fantastic because this meant we did not have to hire a wedding planner. cristelle really helped us out in that capacity.
the food at our wedding was delicious, and the service was impeccable and very professional. also, they rented our linens, dinnerware, etc, and those items looked beautiful as well.
catering prices in general are a little high, and we appreciated cristelle working with us to make as many adjustments as possible without cheapening the feel of our wedding.
the only minor concern i had was some confusion on the morning of the wedding we thought food (sandwiches, etc) would be provided to the bridal party in our suite. when they did not arrive and i asked about them, i was met with confusion. once we asked about this, they went and brought us some food, which was appreciated. i would say just make sure you are clear on expectations on all ends.
as i said, this was very minor, just the only disapointing factor. overall, our experience was very positive, we LOVED working with cristelle, and definitely recommend C&O
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeanne
Wedding:
3/15/2014
5.0/5.0
C & O recently catered our son and daughter-in-law's Rehearsal Dinner for 70 guests. I dealt with Cristelle and found her to be very professional and accommodating, always available and responsive to my questions that came up during the planning process.

We chose a barbeque menu for the dinner and everything was exceptionally delicious. Our guests raved about the wood fired grilled chicken, so moist and tender and full of flavor. The pulled pork was beyond fantastic, served with several sauce options. All the sides were equally superb; the potato salad was the best I have ever had and the mac and cheese beyond compare! C & O grilled and seasoned nice large vegetables that were a real treat not only for the vegetarians in the group, but for those of us looking to break away from the boring salad. The home made slaw was fresh and crisp and the corn on the cob was sweet and tender!

Everyone working the function was very friendly and helpful. The buffet was very attractive, the food was plentiful, replenished when necessary and always kept hot. The room and tables were set up as promised and guests were attended to in a gracious yet efficient manner.

We opted for appetizers and were thrilled with the mini crab cakes and red bliss potato soufflés: Three words: To Die For!!! We selected a warm apple cobbler with a crunchy topping for the finale, and everyone went back for seconds!!! A rehearsal dinner is a once in a lifetime event and C & O helped to make this evening a very special memory. It is impossible to be disappointed in the quality of the food, the presentation and the service that C & O provides. Thank you C & O for a beautiful evening, fantastic food, and your wonderful service.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
C&O Restaurant was the perfect choice for my recent wedding. One of the primary reasons we chose C&O was because they are a restaurant first, and the quality/presentation of our food was important so we didn't want a quantity driven caterer. From our first meeting with C&O we felt like we had found a great match. The owners are obviously very experienced in the catering arena and were able to provide us advice and guidance on planning our wedding. They acted as so much more than just a traditional caterer, they advised us on pacing and scheduling of the day, handled all of the rental equipment (tables, chairs, etc) and acted as our de facto wedding coordinators on the day of. I can't say enough positive things about how professional the entire staff was.
Now, the most important part, the food was OUTSTANDING. We wanted a family style meal that wasn't the typical chicken and beef, and C&O executed it perfectly. Our entire menu is listed below, and I cannot tell you how many compliments I received from guests about how delicious the food was. Everything was prepared on-site, using local ingredients where possible, and it felt like having a wonderful meal at a great restaurant, not "wedding food".
We probably won't have need for a large-scale catering option like this again, but we look forward to eating at C&O again anytime we are in Charlottesville.

Our Wedding Menu:

Cocktail Hour Appetizers
* Smoked dates wrapped in apple smoked bacon
* Butternut squash shooters with cayenne cheddar wafers
* Petit BLTea sandwiches
* A stationary cheese board

Seated Family Style Dinner
* Baby arugula and Gem lettuces, candied pumpkin seeds, golden beets, Granny Smith apples and goat cheese with a Champagne vinaigrette
* Berkshire pork tenderloin with apple cider gravy, oven roasted Yukon Gold and Garnet sweet potato fries, grilled Cymlins with roasted red peppers and caramelized onions
* Grilled Atlantic salmon with a tamarind, shitake, shallot and candied ginger salsa, G
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
Cristelle & the entire C&O team were absolutely wonderful. I can't thank them enough for what a stellar job they did for my wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
We were so lucky to have C&O as our wedding caterer! My husband and I wanted real Mexican food for our Charlottesville wedding. This is no easy feat to have done well. Cristelle and her team at C&O did a fantastic job putting together a menu and cake based on our requests and tastes that blew every other tasting out of the water! Cristelle was very responsive even though she gave birth and had a newborn during our planning process. She was even more impressive the day of the event - she brought us food to make sure we got to eat and enjoy the food despite the many distractions around us. Our only disappointment was that the food and cake was not quite as good as the tasting and that they are on the expensive side. That said, I can't imagine having any other caterer and I love having the C&O restaurant as a place to enjoy when we want to relive a bit of our wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelley
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
C&O did such a wonderful job on making our day as flawless as possible. Almost every single one of our guests commented on how delicious the food was and how efficient and friendly the servers were. We loved working with Cristelle and would recommend C&O to anyone!
Services Used: Catering
Bg8
Megan
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Great food, excellent customer service. All of our guests commented that this was THE BEST wedding food they have ever tasted. We were very pleased and would wholeheartedly recommend them to others.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Highly recommend C & O for any event. Fabulous staff!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
My wife and I had C&O cater our wedding and we were not disappointed. We worked directly with Cristelle who is amazing. She helped us in developing a menu, arranged the rentals, walked us through the venue, and anything else you can imagine. She is the nicest and sweetest person to work with. While there are other vendors/restaurants in the area that are cheaper, you get what you pay for. The food was amazing! I received compliments all night. Everything was absolutely perfect. I could not have imagined a smoother, easier process as Cristelle and her team really went above and beyond. I highly recommend C&O.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
C&O was such an easy choice when it came to catering our wedding. From start to finish they were so accommodating and ultimately the food was delicious! Our guests have told us that it was the best food they've had a wedding yet. The service they provided during the wedding was superb! The servers and bartenders were like our friends by the end of the night!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were beyond pleased with C&O's catering services for our wedding in April. Cristelle made the entire process seamless and was extremely flexible about our menu changes/ requests/ questions. The day of the event, the food was hot and delicious and the staff was very friendly and efficient. The presentation of the buffet and the desserts was beautiful. We received a lot of compliments on how great everything tasted! Thank you, C&O!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
C&O catered our wedding reception as well as our rehersal dinner. I have nothing but positive feedback. Cristelle and the team was very accommidating to our request and really help us select the perfect seated dinner for our guest on our budget. One guest required a special dinner due to a recent surgery and the chef was able to fix her meal to the select few things that she could have. Cristelle and team went above and beyond at the wedding to help make suggestions regarding the venue site and set up. Quality of food was outstanding. I can't wait to visit C&O for lunch/dinner soon. Would highly recommend to family, friends and general public.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
C&O was the highlight of my wedding- they were easy and fun to work with so I never had to worry. The food was spectacular-- many people came up to me to tell me that it was the best dish they have ever had!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susannah
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.6/5.0
C&O was great! The food was delicious, and there was so much to choose from. They were also very flexible with random requests we had, like making root beer floats with ice cream from a local vendor, or cinnamon buns instead of cake. For the most part, I was able to keep in steady contact, although there were sometimes I had trouble getting an answer to my emails.

We experienced a little hiccup in the beginning when the woman we had spoken to about the wedding (with whom we'd worked on a previous family wedding) retired without notice and completely disappeared. We heard from multiple sources that she would be at the wedding, but she wasn't, and we never heard from her. But her replacement picked up right where she left off and did a fantastic job!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kyle
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
We honestly have nothing bad to say about the catering. It was phenomenal from start to finish. Cristelle and her team provided us with everything we would need, including the flexibility to change things, even to suggest recipes, and more. We would recommend C&O 10 times out of 10 for people needing catering in the Charlottesville area. We would also highly recommend it as an eat-in restaurant since the food is fantastic.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Cristelle and her team at C&O were truly exceptional. They did a terrific job leading up to the the event, were responsive to all calls and emails, and were more than willing to accommodate all of our last minute changes and ideas. We did not work with an event planner or day of coordinator, but Cristelle generously filled that role for us, communicating with our officiant, florist, band, and venue contact, to ensure a smooth event. The food and staff were phenomenal. We could not have asked for anything more. We were truly blessed to have selected C&O to assist us with our Big Day.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1344377109942-fbavatar2585671
Courtney Marello
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
We originally chose C&O as our caterer because of our love for their food and a desire to give our guests a taste of classic Charlottesville; however, we received so much more than great food. Cristelle and the C&O catering staff were some of the kindest, most accommodating people we worked with over the year. Cristelle helped capture our personalities and our favorite dishes in the food and the set-up of the dinner, and was always available to answer even the tiniest of questions. I'm so happy to have C&O's involvement in such a memorable event, and have absolutely no complaints about the service, food, cost, or quality. It was the best decision we made, aside from deciding to get married.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carroll
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
C&O catered the rehearsal dinner for my son and daughter in law at The Colonnade Club at UVA. They were fantastic! The food was amazing and the service impeccable. They even had a Bennadryl for me when i was stung by a bee! Now that's being prepared! You can be certain I will use them again. Thanks to Cristelle and her wonderful team.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1317571811475-7659644456630149163091149153390656919019n
Erin
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
C&O restaurant has amazing food, which is carried over into their catering. My husband and I wanted to stay within a budget and C&O worked with us to create the perfect menu, without breaking our budget. They even allowed us to bring our own alcohol and other beverages to save some money. We worked with Christy, who has since retired, and she was amazing. She was very responsive to our needs, and was friendly and down to earth. Some of the other caterers we met with, prior to making our decision, were snobby and inflexible. Christy has a very can-do attitude, and was very willing to meet all of our catering needs. Our wedding guests were beyond pleased with the food, and throughout the wedding night I heard rave reviews on the food, from our guests. We had a station-style cocktail hour, dinner and dessert. For our cocktail hour, C&O put together a beautiful cheese station with a variety of cheeses, crackers, bread and fresh fruits. For dinner we had 3 stations and they were all amazing! After the wedding we were able to take home all the left overs so we got to have a second party, the following day, and enjoy C&O's food a second time. If you're looking for incredible food from friendly, down-to-earth people, without snobbery and exorbitant prices, C&O Restaurant Catering is the way to go. I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Christy at C&O Restaurant Catering was wonderful to work with! She remained very flexible in trying to bring us the best food selections while respecting our budget. She always made herself available to meet with us during the 9 months we were planning this wedding. The food that was served was wonderful, and the catering staff worked with our timeline in such a way that I didn't have to be concerned about anything. A truly remarkable evening!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
6/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Having C&O cater our wedding was the easiest decision we made. Having already been a huge fan of their restaurant, their catering staff took our admiration to a whole new level with their responsive and professional staff and delicious menu options. Everything went beautifully the day of our wedding and their staff was to thank.

My only regret was that I could not enjoy more of the food as the bride!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie George
Wedding:
5/6/2012
4.9/5.0
C & O did a phenomenal job providing our catering services. The food was some of the best I have ever had. I ate a little bit of everything. C & O also packaged up plates of food for myself and my husband to have after the wedding. It was the first thing I ate when I woke up the next morning! We worked with Christy Grayson, who helped us develop our menu to one that was elegant but appealing to a wide variety of guests. I do not believe Christy works with C & O anymore, but she was truly wonderful to work with. Chrystal took over for Christy and she too was wonderful. We called her the day of with a major oversight on our side. We had completely forgot to buy the liquor for our signature cocktail we planned to serve, and being it was a Sunday wedding, all the liquor stores were closed. We called C & O and Crystal swept in and saved us. I would recommend C & O to anyone looking for a caterer. They are a bit pricy, but totally worth it to have amazing food everyone loves.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bill
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
From the time my wife and I met Christy Grayson at the C&O Restaurant for the initial tasting, until the last of the steak chinoise and roasted asparagus were gone, we were most impressed with her and the staff that catered our daughter's wedding at Keswick Vineyards. Her entire staff was absolutely professional but still seemed to have fun. The presentation was superb and the coordination of getting all 160 people up to the buffet was flawless. It's got to be like herding cats! Words cannot describe the food-absolutely delicious!!! She also catered the rehearsal gathering at UVA the night before and everyone was profuse in their praise. We would highly recommend Christy and the C & O to anyone looking for a top notch caterering experience!
Bill & Pat Williams
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
boot1004
Wedding:
10/29/2011
4.9/5.0
C and O catered my wedding! They were great to work with and very helpful! The food was delicious and the staff was wonderful!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Parent of the Bride
Wedding:
10/16/2010
4.9/5.0
The C&O catered my daughter's wedding in October 2010. It was held at Alumni Hall at UVA. We had 130 guests from all over the state.

C&O's staff and chefs went beyond good, they were great. People still comment (a year later) how wonderful the food was. As parents of the bride, C&O made the event flow with elegance and professionalism. It was a pleasure to work with them and can't say how memorable that night was and C&O was a big part of that success.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mahsitti
Wedding:
10/4/2009
4.9/5.0
The food was excellent and our contact was very responsive and professional. They were even willing to prepare an off menu recipe that we requested. The only complaint was that an appetizer we did not order was included, a shrimp dish at a Jewish wedding! Kind of a big deal since my husband and some of his family keep kosher, but everything else was perfect.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
515 East Water Street, Charlottesville, VA 22902 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for C&O Restaurant Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1362512826626-13402421241030951