Nophoto-130

Colony Hotel

Kennebunkport , ME
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Kennebunkport, ME US 04046 (map)

PHONE

207-967-3331

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1382736495730-avatar
Trish
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
The moment we walked into the Colony Hotel when we were searching for a wedding venue a year ago, we knew this was the place for us. It really is the quintessential New England old world seaside resort hotel, with expansive porches & large windows to enjoy the sweeping sea views. The experience we had with our wedding there this fall was absolutely perfect, thanks to Christian McCrory & the fantastic staff at the hotel. Christian was a pleasure to work with from the start, always promptly responding to any questions or concerns I had, and making the entire process of wedding planning easy and stress free. The day of our wedding, I didn't have to worry about a thing, he handled any issues that came up, and as sweet as he is, was a bulldog for us when he needed to be. Everything ran so smoothly, and we were able to just relax and enjoy the day and the entire experience. The ceremony site and the ballroom are both absolutely beautiful, and our food that day was delicious. The resounding response from our guests was "Best wedding ever!" and although I'm probably a little partial, I completely agree :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had such an amazing time at this venue. Christian is absolutely fantastic.....he made the ENTIRE process easy, fun, and exciting. He was flexible in planning and was able to accommodate what we were looking for to make the entire weekend incredible!!! We are still getting compliments about the venue months out, and we have heard nothing but awesome comments about it! The staff was fantastic and helping all of our guests, they were flexible with last minute changes and they were able to put up with our rambunctious crowd! We had such a blast and could not have imagined a better place to have shared our wedding day with all our friends and family. The entire weekend was amazing and we were able to utilize the whole venue over the course of the 3 days!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracie
Wedding:
9/15/2013
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for the perfect seaside venue for a wedding look no further than the Colony Hotel in Kennebunkport, Maine. My husband and I recently hosted our daughter's wedding and reception here and things could not have been more perfect. The hotel's 1950's elegance and beautiful ocean views were the perfect backdrop. And the food was wonderful. Hors d'oeuvres were passed constantly throughout the cocktail hour and dinner courses were delivered promptly and professionally. While much of the credit for the day's success has to go to the beautiful venue, gorgeous ocean view and the absolutely perfect weather, the day would not have been nearly as wonderful if it weren't for the service provided by The Colony's event coordinator, Christian McCrory. From the first time I met with Christian one year ago (I didn't even have an appointment!) until the last guest left, Christian's responsiveness, professionalism and organizational skills made sure the happy couple's wedding day was one they will remember forever. Any question or request we had was addressed quickly by Christian - I don't think we ever heard him say "no" or "sorry we can't do that." I think the best compliment I can give him is to say my husband and I actually felt like a guest during the celebration - Christian took care of everything! We never once had to track him down to ask for something or remind him about anything. His ability to "take charge" and willingness to do whatever was needed gave our daughter and her new husband their true "dream wedding."
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaitlyn
Wedding:
9/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Where to start!? After viewing many venues, I knew the Colony Hotel was the perfect choice from the moment I walked in. The wedding coordinator, Christian, is FANTASTIC and you can tell he truly enjoys his job. He was super responsive (to both myself and my parents) throughout the year of planning. He never once came across as bothered or too busy to help. At the pre-wedding meeting, he had everything fully detailed and prepared for review, and any last minute questions or requests we had were taken care of immediately (& his ability to handle multiple weddings per weekend without ever seeming even slightly stressed is amazing). We also had our rehearsal dinner (lobster bake!) at the Colony, and it was nothing be fun and relaxing (& the food was great!). The day of, the entire staff was on top of everything, and we received many, many compliments from guests on the beauty of the facility, as well as the amazing attention to detail from the staff. No detail was missed; our wedding day was perfect and guests will be left talking about it for years! I heard more than once that it was the best run wedding our guests have ever attended. I assumed I would come away with 1-2 small details that could have been better, but the day was honestly, absolutely perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1347247676081-0435
Kristina
Wedding:
8/18/2012
4.5/5.0
The Colony Hotel is a beautiful venue. We held both our ceremony and reception here. The ceremony location is gorgeous, overlooking the ocean. The grounds are very well maintained, perfect for pictures. Also, you are directly across the street from the beach which offers even more great picture opportunities. Our reception was in the Grand Dining Room. It's a very classic room. It looks like something out of the 1920's. It also has nice windows looking out over the grounds and the ocean.
The food was fantastic. Our guests keep commenting on how great everything was. Instead of a traditional cake, we opted to have them make whoopie pies for us. Our guests loved them. Sonja and Christian were great to work with, and all of the wait staff was very professional. The only downfall, as others have remarked, is that your reception must end by 9:00 pm, and the hotel bar closes at 10:00 pm. So if you want to keep the party going after the reception you'll have to go into town, but there is a trolley you can rent. I couldn't have had a more perfect day, and I definitely recommend The Colony.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Nancy
Wedding:
9/4/2011
3.6/5.0
We love The Colony! We had our ceremony in the garden and the reception in the grand ballroom. It is expensive, but it is beautiful. We had a lot of troubles with hotel rooms (can't have the balcony rooms if you are in wedding party) and other things, but in the end it worked out great. Everything was beautiful and went smoothly thanks to Pam! The only downfall is that receptions end at 9pm because hotel guests need quiet to sleep. I do see a prior post saying no DJ - we had a DJ for the ceremony and reception, so I guess things have changed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlyn
Wedding:
7/31/2011
5.0/5.0
The Colony Hotel is breathtaking and encompasses the true beauty of Maine! The service staff is professional and attentive, and when planning an event no detail is ignored! They care about quality and making you comfortable so you can relax and enjoy the day! They provide you with recommended vendors and activities for friends and family. The food is OUSTANDING and you can't beat the ocean view against the gorgeous white backdrop of the hotel. The style is classic New England. I would highly recommend this hotel!!! We had the time of our lives!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
9/25/2010
3.5/5.0
We held our reception here. Location and setting are absolutely perfect! Rooms are clean, good sized, and breakfast buffet is phenomenal! We almost didn't select this location because they require that all music stops at 9pm, which it did. We were told that our guests would receive a discount throughout the entire booking process, which we believe they did, however, the booking process was a nightmare. Our guests were constantly told different information depending on what day or time someone called and who they spoke to. We had to address this with management multiple times and it was never really resolved. We had hoped that management would've approached us during the weekend to make sure all of our concerns were met and that never happened. Sonja and Pam were great to work with and everything went off without a hitch....we could've done without the stress that booking rooms with the Colony caused!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacey
Wedding:
9/11/2010
5.0/5.0
The Colony is the best place to get MARRIED!!!! I had a beautiful day and they made it so easy for me ! They had great service and really catered to me and my guests! Everyone had a great time and there is nothing I would change about my day :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Libby
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
Pam and Sonja at the Colony are an amazing events team. We were supposed to have our ceremony outside, and unfortunately, it POURED on our wedding day. They were able to make all the adjustments for the rain so I didn't have to think about a thing. We couldn't have done our planning alone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JillBiz
Wedding:
6/13/2009
4.8/5.0
We are extremely happy with the Colony and are so glad we chose to have our wedding reception there. The staff was helpful throughout the process in terms of answering questions and helping us plan every last detail. They were flexible in allowing us to change things in order to best suit the needs of our families and our guests.

The Colony is the perfect place to have a wedding because of its location. It is directly on the ocean and the grounds are extremely well kept and beautiful. The guests were extremely impressed by the beauty of the venue. The food was also fantastic. We didn't receive one complaint. My friends are still talking about how good the appetizers and the meals were. It was amazing and so worth every penny we spent!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
10/21/2006
5.0/5.0
The hotel has tremendous charm and character, offering a water-front view and beach. It is a perfect venue for a classy wedding, with a terrace overlooking the water for cocktail hours, a gorgeous backdrop for an outdoor ceremony, gardens for pictures, and an elegant dining room for a reception. Pam Rogers does a fabulous job coordinating events. Note that only bands are allowed (no DJs). The best part - it's an environmentally conscious hotel! (Dogs are allowed.)
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
Kennebunkport, ME 04046 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Colony Hotel
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220