130x130 sq 1303748824662 facebooklogo2
(4)

Conger's Jewellers

Ottawa , ON
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1411-A Carling Ave.
Ottawa, ON K1Z 7L6 CA (map)

PHONE

613-722-4547

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Conger's Jewellers was established in 1981 by gemologist David Conger in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. The store is located on the second floor of the Hampton Park Plaza at Carling and... Read more
Conger's Jewellers was established in 1981 by gemologist David Conger in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. The store is located on the second floor of the Hampton Park Plaza at Carling and Kirkwood Ave. Specializing in custom made jewellery and jewellery repair. Jewellery appraisals while you wait (by appointment only). Products include: Canadian diamonds from Ekati and Diavik diamond mines, Breanna Collection, Crown Ring wedding bands, Seiko watches, Rotary watches, Pearls, Celtic wedding bands Read less
Jewelry

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1303749828713 59334117478658306480117249588329387977555966765n
130x130 sq 1303749929777 60016117493248305021117249588329387978303663991n
130x130 sq 1303750022420 58781117492068305139117249588329387978203485417n
130x130 sq 1303750090140 59334117478661639813117249588329387977567353003n
130x130 sq 1303750170235 61046117598901627789117249588329387984807319008n
130x130 sq 1303750321097 59405117492574971755117249588329387978247504071n

INFO FOR JEWELRY

Which of the following services do you offer?
Appraisal, Cleaning, Diamond Certification, Insurance, Ring Sizing, Shipping, Warranties
What kind of jewelry do you offer?
Custom Engagement Rings, Custom Wedding Bands, Designer Engagement Rings, Designer Wedding Bands, Fair Trade, Handcrafted, Ring Setting
What is your average turnaround time for an engagement ring?
3-4 weeks

REVIEWS

3.9
out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
3.9/5.0
3.9/5.0
3.8/5.0
4.2/5.0
Sort by
Bg8
Anonymous
Wedding:
[Private]
5.0/5.0
Beautiful engagement ring. Very supportive and helpful through design process. The were recommended to us and we would definitely recommend them to others.
Beautiful engagement ring. Very supportive and helpful through design process. The were recommended to us and we would Read more...
Beautiful engagement ring. Very supportive and helpful through design process. The were recommended to us and we would definitely recommend them to others. Read less
Services Used: Jewelry
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.7/5.0
ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE. I went to congers through recommendations I found online and fear that my diamond might be stolen if I went to a place like mappins or peoples. I took it in the get rhodium dipped 2 weeks before my wedding. Something I have had done 3 times prior and have never had a issue with. When they give me my ring back I notice three of my diamonds have a charcoal colour to them. When I take the ring back they say there is stuff stuck under the diamond and it needs a good cleaning, so I wait. about 10 minutes later she goes to give it back and realizes it is missing a diamond. "oh we will fix it no problem free of charge because this was our fault." She didn't have the diamond when I left the store she had to check the cleaner. When I called an hour later to see if she found it the person I spoke to was very rude. I felt like she was treating me like an idiot for not trusting that they found the diamond in the cleaning solution. for all I know it was on the floor. (it doesn't stop here) so They send it away and I get it back a few days later. I'm told this time before I pick it up that a diamond is still dark and there was nothing they could do. They basically wrecked my ring and won't fix it. So I pay to have it fedex'd to another city (I leave in three days to go to a different city to get married) where this jeweler took pictures of my ring and gave my a quote on fixing it. The pictures I received show that not only is the diamond really dark but the "clasps" that the put in the make sure my diamond didn't fall out again are BRONZE in colour and my ring is silver. He informed me this was the cheapest way they could have done to fix my ring. I am absolutely livid and will NEVER EVER recommend this place to anyone. I cannot believe they would do this to someone. My $50.00 ring dipping is now costing me $300.00 to ship repair and re-dip my ring.
ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE. I went to congers through recommendations I found online and fear that my diamond might be Read more...
ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE. I went to congers through recommendations I found online and fear that my diamond might be stolen if I went to a place like mappins or peoples. I took it in the get rhodium dipped 2 weeks before my wedding. Something I have had done 3 times prior and have never had a issue with. When they give me my ring back I notice three of my diamonds have a charcoal colour to them. When I take the ring back they say there is stuff stuck under the diamond and it needs a good cleaning, so I wait. about 10 minutes later she goes to give it back and realizes it is missing a diamond. "oh we will fix it no problem free of charge because this was our fault." She didn't have the diamond when I left the store she had to check the cleaner. When I called an hour later to see if she found it the person I spoke to was very rude. I felt like she was treating me like an idiot for not trusting that they found the diamond in the cleaning solution. for all I know it was on the floor. (it doesn't stop here) so They send it away and I get it back a few days later. I'm told this time before I pick it up that a diamond is still dark and there was nothing they could do. They basically wrecked my ring and won't fix it. So I pay to have it fedex'd to another city (I leave in three days to go to a different city to get married) where this jeweler took pictures of my ring and gave my a quote on fixing it. The pictures I received show that not only is the diamond really dark but the "clasps" that the put in the make sure my diamond didn't fall out again are BRONZE in colour and my ring is silver. He informed me this was the cheapest way they could have done to fix my ring. I am absolutely livid and will NEVER EVER recommend this place to anyone. I cannot believe they would do this to someone. My $50.00 ring dipping is now costing me $300.00 to ship repair and re-dip my ring. Read less
Services Used: Jewelry
Conger's Jewellers responded with the following comments:

We are sorry that this has been a stressful experience. We had a challenge with your ring but you were kept informed along the way about these challenges. We believe we had sufficient time to help but were cut short by your demand to stop the job.

The ring was brought in to be cleaned and rhodium plated. We did not sell it or ever work on it before. Rhodium plating is easy to do.

The job was ready and picked 6 days after leaving it. Two days later, you returned to say 3 of the tiny side diamonds looked dark and we agreed. We thought that dirt or jeweller's polishing compound could be the culprit and was trapped between the diamonds and the metal. We went to our ultrasonic cleaner to see if we could clean it out. Unfortunately, one tiny diamond was not set well, so it fell out into our cleaner. Stones that are securely set never fall out this easily. Since the diamond in question was hard to see, we had to empty the cleaner completely to locate it. We apologized for the inconvenience and assured you that we would find the diamond and set it again, free of charge.

Two work days later, we called you and said we set the diamond but we were having difficulty cleaning one small diamond. We explained that the diamonds set on the sides of your ring were embedded into the metal without drill holes through the band underneath them. Most rings have drill holes under the diamonds which allow dirt to flush away as it accumulates. This ring did not have this (poorly designed). In fact, the dirt gets sandwiched between the metal and the diamonds and has no where to go. We explained this but this has not been acknowledged this in your comments.

When we spoke to you, you said you were coming to pick up the ring. When you arrived, we again offered to keep working on the problem but you told us that you already made plans to ship the ring to another jeweller.

We believe we have taken every action possible to help in the most professional manner we know.
Bg13
Jellow15
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
David was absolutely wonderful, he took my grand-mothers ring and did a custom design from a picture for my engagement band and used the other diamonds to make earrings (with threaded posts so they won't fall out!). Then Congers made a palladium (not platinum) ring for my husband's wedding band as we had a lot of problem finding someone to make what we wanted... palladium is very hard to work with so many jewelers won't take on the challenge.

The communication, price and service were all wonderful! Highly suggested.
David was absolutely wonderful, he took my grand-mothers ring and did a custom design from a picture for my engagement Read more...
David was absolutely wonderful, he took my grand-mothers ring and did a custom design from a picture for my engagement band and used the other diamonds to make earrings (with threaded posts so they won't fall out!). Then Congers made a palladium (not platinum) ring for my husband's wedding band as we had a lot of problem finding someone to make what we wanted... palladium is very hard to work with so many jewelers won't take on the challenge.

The communication, price and service were all wonderful! Highly suggested. Read less
Services Used: Jewelry
Default vendor profile pic
andreacheng613
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband dealt directly with David Conger the owner, who was absolutely fantastic, very helpful and friendly. High quality jewelery and great service.
My husband dealt directly with David Conger the owner, who was absolutely fantastic, very helpful and friendly. High Read more...
My husband dealt directly with David Conger the owner, who was absolutely fantastic, very helpful and friendly. High quality jewelery and great service. Read less
Services Used: Jewelry

MAP

 
1411-A Carling Ave., Ottawa, ON K1Z 7L6 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Conger's Jewellers
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1303748824662 facebooklogo2