130x130_sq_1371060715180-loft

Country Barn

Lancaster , PA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

211 S. Donerville Rd
Lancaster, PA US 17603 (map)

PHONE

717-872-1554

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1371061405279-loft-2
130x130_sq_1371061324936-brickhouse-2
130x130_sq_1371061310155-cb-stable---copy
130x130_sq_1371061390092-mv-grounds-3---copy
130x130_sq_1371061347466-manor-view-barn
130x130_sq_1371061610920-loft-1
130x130_sq_1371061623960-loft-2-2
130x130_sq_1371061645199-loft-3
130x130_sq_1371061648110-loft-4
130x130_sq_1371061668362-loft-5-2
130x130_sq_1371061710267-loft-10
130x130_sq_1371061757326-loft-11---copy
130x130_sq_1371061799145-loft-12
130x130_sq_1371061828297-loft-13---copy
130x130_sq_1371061831954-loft-14
130x130_sq_1371061837802-loft-15
130x130_sq_1371061856292-loft-16
130x130_sq_1371061884210-loft-17
130x130_sq_1371061909862-loft-18
130x130_sq_1371061927429-loft-19
130x130_sq_1371061946422-loft-22
130x130_sq_1371061966509-loft-23
130x130_sq_1371062075489-brickhouse-1
130x130_sq_1371062096316-brickhouse-2
130x130_sq_1371062113634-brickhouse-3
130x130_sq_1371062129132-brickhouse-4
130x130_sq_1371062187344-courtyard-2-2
130x130_sq_1371062193588-courtyard-3-2
130x130_sq_1371062200370-courtyard-4-2
130x130_sq_1371062206142-courtyard-5
130x130_sq_1371062250759-main-1
130x130_sq_1371062263130-main-4
130x130_sq_1371062270412-main-6
130x130_sq_1371062302128-mv-barn-3
130x130_sq_1371062305870-mv-barn-4
130x130_sq_1371062310041-mv-barn-5
130x130_sq_1371062314294-mv-barn-6
130x130_sq_1371062473718-manor-view-grounds---copy---copy
130x130_sq_1371062491088-mv-grounds-1---copy---copy
130x130_sq_1371062515170-mv-grounds-2---copy---copy
130x130_sq_1371062535105-mv-grounds-2-2---copy---copy
130x130_sq_1371062576144-mv-grounds-3-2
130x130_sq_1371062597770-mv-grounds-3
130x130_sq_1371062601454-mv-grounds-4---copy
130x130_sq_1371062614566-mv-grounds-4-2---copy---copy
130x130_sq_1371062653992-mv-grounds-5-2
130x130_sq_1371062698020-mv-grounds-6-2
130x130_sq_1371062734234-mv-grounds-7-2
130x130_sq_1371062762671-mv-grounds-8---copy
130x130_sq_1371062792259-mv-grounds-8-2---copy
130x130_sq_1371062823283-mv-grounds-9---copy-2
130x130_sq_1371062848285-mv-grounds-11---copy
130x130_sq_1371062867851-mv-grounds-11-2---copy
130x130_sq_1371062913340-mv-grounds-12---copy
130x130_sq_1371062937204-mv-grounds-13
130x130_sq_1371063018623-cb-stable-2---copy
130x130_sq_1371063036970-cb-stable-6---copy
130x130_sq_1371063039881-cb-stable-7
130x130_sq_1371063048804-cb-stable-9
130x130_sq_1371063067112-cb-stable-11
130x130_sq_1371063092647-country-barn-stable---copy
130x130_sq_1371063114783-stable-1
130x130_sq_1371063124399-stable-4---copy
130x130_sq_1371063128586-stable-7
130x130_sq_1371063131029-stable-8
130x130_sq_1371063134532-stable-9
130x130_sq_1371063141536-stables-2
130x130_sq_1371063513608-unique-1---copy
130x130_sq_1371063549373-unique-2---copy
130x130_sq_1371063591542-unique-3---copy
130x130_sq_1371063638660-unique-4---copy---copy
130x130_sq_1371063679134-unique-5---copy---copy
130x130_sq_1371063699136-unique-6---copy-2---copy
130x130_sq_1371063701557-unique-7---copy---copy
130x130_sq_1371063704097-unique-8---copy-2
130x130_sq_1371063706360-unique-9---copy---copy
130x130_sq_1371063708181-unique-10---copy-2
130x130_sq_1371063709431-unique-11---copy---copy
130x130_sq_1371063711023-unique-12---copy-2
130x130_sq_1371063712474-unique-13---copy---copy
130x130_sq_1371063714254-unique-14---copy
130x130_sq_1371063716519-unique-15---copy
130x130_sq_1371063718653-unique-16---copy
130x130_sq_1371063720903-unique-17---copy
130x130_sq_1371063728091-unique-21---copy
130x130_sq_1371063743581-unique-22---copy
130x130_sq_1371063758981-unique-22
130x130_sq_1371063770174-unique-23---copy
130x130_sq_1371063772584-unique-24

REVIEWS

4.1
out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
4.3/5.0
3.8/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.8/5.0
Over all experience was great with country barn, but i will be honest in my review.

We had many guests comment to us how if it were not for seeing familiar faces, they would not know where to go as they did not know the difference between the stable, barn/barn loft etc. We WERE instructed that they did not provide signs instructing guests where to go, although Jim DID tell us that he would be out directing "traffic" and helping to park cars. Jim was NO WHERE to be found. instead, while we were setting up our venue we had guests from the other wedding, walking through our venue, touching things, looking at things etc. My bridesmaids parents and I instead, were found to be directing guests from another wedding on where to go.

As far as writing things down. DO SO. Jim is NOT consistent in things he tells you. One setting he would tell us one thing and the next he would tell us the opposite. So whatever questions you may have as well as answers you get from Jim, make sure to write it down he will not go by what he once said unless you have written it down. As far as communication goes, jim and his employees do not communicate well with each other, as i said before, jim will say one thing and his help/coordinators will say another.

We also found, along with other reviews, at the end of the day they did what we wanted and asked, but not without a fight. Jim would not so much argue, but he would try and talk you out of certain ideas. I also would ask questions and he would stop me in the middle to tell me that i need to change my attitude. In his defense he wanted me to know that on my wedding day i need to not stress out. But as other brides will understand, if you have a question you want an answer.

I will say, our food was WONDERFUL, the atmosphere/setting was great, and Candice the event coordinator for our venue, was WONDERFUL. She answered all questions, returned all calls and emails promptly and was open to any ideas/ changes we had! She was great!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.8/5.0
I will also add, regarding the ALCOHOL policy. I do feel that they are entitled to having an alcohol policy. (we had beer, wine, and ONE liquor with mixers we provided) I find this to be a reasonable policy. Although, Jim had a negative attitude about having alcohol at all, and anytime it was discussed he would question why we need alcohol at all.

We had brought all the alcohol in the morning of the wedding, and 2 hours before the wedding we had to tell the staff to put the beer on ice, and chill the wine in which they had done none of.

Guests drinking on the patio were constantly being reminded of the outside drinking policy, when they were following the policy. (Which we had prior arrangements with jim about what he would, and would not allow for us in taking alcohol on the patio) Again, where the lack of communication comes into play between staff & management. The groomsmen while at the venue waiting for the ceremony to start were not allowed a drop of alcohol, Not even a beer to relax.

Having such a strict alcohol policy we found to be completely understandable and responsible of the venue, although we found them to be a little over the top and sometimes rude in enforcing their policy.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.5/5.0
A truly wonderful venue. There are no words to describe how wonderful our wedding was. If you're looking for a down-to-earth rustic wedding, then look no further. The staff at the Country Barn are so easy going and a pleasure to work with. Every part of our wedding was magical - but most importantly the venue. The farm grounds are picturesque and the Loft barn is so unique and beautiful. I wish I could relive it all over again.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.7/5.0
Overall, we had a good experience with the Country Barn, though I think that an honest review will be helpful to both the staff and to future couples looking at this venue.

First, the atmosphere and overall look of the barn can't be beat- it's beautiful, and it makes for amazing pictures and a great time (open spaces, beautiful brick interior, rustic tables etc).

Second, the food is great and we got tons of compliments on it... I barely ate, but heard rave reviews on the stuffed chicken breast and the pulled pork!! We also loved the farm-to-table concept and it's a great deal for all you're getting.

Other reviewers have commented on the alcohol policy and I'd like to share our experience. I firmly believe that a venue is entitled to creating an alcohol policy, and their policy is reasonably established at "beer, wine, and 1 signature drink". I have no problems with this policy whatsoever, but we did have some issues with their alcohol ATTITUDE of the venue. The staff was sometimes rude to guests about outside alcohol coming in, rather than politely explaining they couldn't have it. A guest was jokingly "chugging" salad dressing because it was so good, and a staff member stormed over to confiscate the "alcohol"-- uh, they were apparently watching guests like school children?
Also, my husband took the kegs in the morning of the wedding and there was no ice or tubs ready as promised, so it was a bit unorganized and hectic trying to flag someone down. In addition, he tapped all of the kegs for the bartenders but they decided to untap one and claim they "weren't serving it", which basically wasted a keg for us.

The Country Barn is definitely making a name for itself and improving upon service, and overall we have received tons of compliments on the wedding, so I would recommend this venue so long as you understand the alcohol policy and can handle slight disorganization with grace.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The venue was absolutely beautiful. It made the pictures unique and beautiful. I particularly like the package deal they provide. The food was really good, the chicken wasn't a bit dry. The service was great,
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelse
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
We can't say enough about how hard Farmer Jim, Candice and the entire Country Barn family worked to make our wedding as close to perfect as you can get. (Minus the rain showers) and if they could have changed the weather, they would have. Any idea we came up with they accomplished. The interior is simply stunning and their food was outstanding! Thank you seems inadequate for the superior service, professionalism, kindness and personal interaction they gave us every step of the way. If you want a perfect, dream wedding - choose the Country Barn.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
candice
Wedding:
12/7/2013
4.7/5.0
We can't say enough positive things about working with Farmer Jim and his staff. They made all my dreams come true. From the beginning meeting and falling in love with the location to the final day of all the events, it was all worth all the hard work to see the amazing payoff. The food was incredible, I loved the fact that it was farm to table. They were on top of it!!! The venue it's self is just beautiful!! I can't say thank you enough to all of them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved our reception at Country Barn. The staff was helpful, the food was great and everything went smoothly!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nancy
Wedding:
10/4/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughters wedding at the Country Barn was wonderful! Everything ran so smoothly and the setting was gorgeous! Thank you to Jim, Jay and all the staff for making the day so special!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/6/2012
2.9/5.0
At the end of the night we had not a single regret. The barn is simply beautiful and perfect for our theme. The owner Jim can be difficult to work with and he is not very flexible or informative. He's extremely unorganized, he's very busy and it shows in a negative way. Write EVERYTHING down as he does not and ask a lot of questions because he doesn't offer up any extra (and important) information. It is priced per person but be prepared to spend a lot on up charges. And the bar. We served wine and it was very clear that the staff behind the bar was very new to rather poplar wine flavors. They also ran out of beer glasses very early on and were serving beer in wine glasses for over half the night.
I was most excited about the food since it is all grown and raised on the farm. Unfortunately the meats were extremely dry and my husband said the stuffing in the stuffed chicken was complete mush. The vegetables were tasteless and they only offered one type of salad dressing, which was not previously pointed out. On a positive side, the mashed potatoes were good!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josh
Wedding:
9/29/2012
0.0/5.0
They are also sticklers on the alcohol for the wedding. I understand not everyone drinks, but if you are running a wedding venue be more open minded to the fact the most people do. All in all it was a great place to have a wedding and we had a blast. The food was great, he provides everything there for you so there is no running around worrying about other companies. Our biggest complaint about this would be our flowers. I would never recommend using his father as a flouriest to anyone for any type of wedding. We meet with him more than once and discussed what type of flowers we wanted for our wedding. We have him free range on our center pieces which were fine. But we were very particular on the bouquets having all white for the bride and burnt orange for the bridesmaids all calla lilies which he clearly understood or we thought. The bridesmaids may have had one calla lily while the bride had a bouquet of random flowers and a few calla lilies throughout. When we asked him what happen? He said that calla lilies are expensive. We met with him enough times and he knew what we wanted, he gave us a quote and we paid him for what we were told we were getting. If he gave us the wrong price on flowers that is not our fault. I don’t know how much calla lilies cost but that was what we wanted and he totally ignored our request and decided to make something up on his own. The worst part about this was, that we emailed them to contact us after our honeymoon to discuss this more. I gave them both phone numbers and email and they have not reached out. Again this is not The Country Barns fault but his father. I would never ever recommend him to anyone. I would however recommend the venue it was beautiful!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josh
Wedding:
9/29/2012
4.2/5.0
The Country Barn was an amazing venue to have our wedding we were very pleased with how smooth everything went. However there were a few things that could have been done better just small things that we didn’t let bother us during the wedding. We booked our wedding over a year in advance, on the 5 day final count we were asked to change out some of our chairs because he didn’t have enough for the wedding across the street? Why should we make changes when we booked our wedding before the others? Also why would you not have more than enough chairs to accommodate situations just as this? We also had to remind Jim to fix things around the barn, the lights in the walk way and the bird poop on the walk way as well. He did fix the lights but with two different kinds. Never power washed the walk way that had bird poop on it that everyone of our guest had to walk down to get to our wedding, I just feel like some times he has more on his plate then what he can handle.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1360116596563-0453
LISA
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
We have nothing but good things to say about having our wedding reception at the Country Barn! The food was awesome! It's all fresh from their farm and all you can eat. We added the Taste of Lancaster Co dessert. It was well worth the extra money! Farmer Jim was great to work with. He was very accomodating to us and our needs. His workers are very professional and Ginny, one of his employees, was exceptional to work with on our food choices. The barn is a unique venue and you can create it to whatever you want it to be. There are three different areas of the barns to choose from. We had ours upstairs in the big yellow barn and had 200 guests, with plenty of room. Throughout the whole planning process Jim and his workers were respectful, courteous and flexible. Jim backed up everything he promised us. We couldn't be happier with the venue we chose. We highly recommend Farmer Jim, his staff and the barn!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1309046174072-us
Kathleen
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband & I selected The Country Barn Market & Manor View Inn for our wedding ceremony & reception site and we could not have been happier for our September 2011 wedding!

We reviewed at least 20+ venues in the Lancaster area and The Country Barn was perfect. We are a non traditional couple and wanted to have an outdoor ceremony and natural, fun and eco/local community type wedding celebration.

The Country Barn has so much to offer and has come a long ways in the past five years - there have been so many improvements, upgrades, etc but this comes with time & practice. The quality, professionalism, responsiveness of all the staff and owner (Farmer Jim) were amazing for the value of the wedding packages.

Our family & friends loved everything about our wedding celebration. The big yellow barn is so unique but you are able to personalize it to make it your own - whether it be country, clean country, rustic, eco-friendly, elegant. You can add so much style! We were so happy with our wedding package (including a DJ, linens, dessert bar, amazing food buffett, etc). Couples are responsible for providing your own alcohol - wine and beer are the way to go! We used a lot of local vendors and wanted to keep as much as possible in Central Pennsylvania (Jay Stauffer at the Country Barn for flowers, Linda's Cakery of Mount Joy, Epic Photography of E-town, Taylored for you Bridal in Mechanisburg, etc).

We could not have asked for a better venue the celebrate our wedding. Farmer Jim and his staff are excellent and down to earth - they really put you at ease for your big day.

I couldn't be more grateful to the country barn and would HIGHLY recommend this venue for anyone!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1254712140222-samsbridalshower201
Sweetp
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Our reception was awesome, our guests loved the location and loved the food. The only complaint that I have with planning is that they didn't provide any bartender information when we first booked with them and we were down to the wire after they one they usually used was unable to do it. That was the only real snag, which they have seemed to resolve since that time.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1266902803437-n80900290305313791668
Alison
Wedding:
7/9/2010
2.6/5.0
There are good and bad things about The Country Barn. It is beautiful, large, and the space is very fairly priced. The dance floor is a great size for larger weddings and the location provides wonderful scenery for beautiful photos. If your into real traditional country (like your husband will wear a cowboy hat on your wedding), this spot is perfect for you. Unfortunately if you're not into real traditional country (and we weren't) and, if you are a bride who is on top of things, on a budget, and want to see things accomplished your way, the owner is difficult to work with. The first couple of times we met with him, he really did seem like he was willing to work with us. He even asked us what our budget was for the reception. Despite his "concern", he still continued to try to upsell us from our price point by $1200-$2000 (not including a cake). (he eventually even told me I couldn't do a reception for our price point...but I did) If he would have been honest with us about what he could do for our budget, we would have used him for catering. We landed up finding another caterer instead (which now he doesn't allow you to do). Make him put everything he says into writing. His word is not always held up. I honestly feel like he tries to do too many things and doesn't truely have time to do any of the things he wants to do in the time frame he thinks and says he can do them in. The morning of our wedding, they were still laying down a brick sidewalk that he promised would be complete over a week earlier. (we were exiting the wedding through sparklers and needed the brick sidewalk completed to do this. he still let us exit through sparklers, but we had to walk part of the way through the wet grass and dirt to our car.) We were also promised that chairs and tables would be set up and they weren't. The chairs and tables were also filthy, so we had to clean them so our guests wouldn't get dust and dirt on their clothes. Each time I met with the owner, I felt like he was fighting with me for control of our wedding. (I said I didn't want traditional country, and he suggested using plaid tablecloths, a dusty boot, and paisley napkins.) I felt that he treated me with contempt for not using him as our caterer. In general, each time I met with him, he treated me unfairly, was oppositional, and kind of rude. I came home mad and upset each time I met with him. The barn is wonderful and beautiful, but be careful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1219610251710-img_0390
Heather
Wedding:
6/5/2010
4.9/5.0
It was perfect, got a ton of compliments on the place to. Food was so good I am still thinking about it !
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AlreadyMrs.
Wedding:
11/1/2008
1.6/5.0
The barn itself is absolutely beautiful. The expense for what you get is horrible. There is never anything in writing. They never remember your name and are made to feel like an inconvenience. A month before the wedding I wrote them a check for what I was told was my final payment. 5 days before the wedding they called and asked for $800 more dollars!!!! I threw a fit and they said not to worry about it, it was probably a miss understanding!!! WHAT?!!! I was so stressed out from working with these people I was sick on the day of my wedding and had no voice!! They will nickel and dime you EVERY step of the way!!! Nothing is included in the initial contract. Only the use of the barn. They won't explain that to you though until 3 months before your wedding and its too late to switch vendors. All they kept talking about was how high maintenance brides are and how we shouldn't worry about details so much!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!!! IT'S MY WEDDING!!!! Please find somewhere else. It is not worth the stress!!!! Plus the owner wore a BRIGHT ORANGE sweatshirt to my reception and started line dancing!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alisa
Wedding:
8/31/2008
5.0/5.0
Country Barn is a wonderful, different kind of place to host a wedding. We walked into the barn and found a huge, beautiful, blank canvas of a space that really enabled us to create the wedding of our dreams. Jim Stauffer, the owner, couldn't be a nicer and more helpful guy, and the energy that he brings to the process is amazing. Our wedding went off without a hitch. The food Jim made was outrageously good -- our friends and family are still raving about it a month after the wedding! Jim is flexible, brings a lot of original ideas to the process and is simply a pleasure to work with. I would highly recommend Country Barn to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
I booked Country Barn Farm Market without even seeing it! I went off of a review and pictures of a former bride and this is what we were looking for. I met with Farmer Jim and he knows his stuff. He gave a great tour of the place and made suggestions. We are a nontraditional couple so i had a wagon ride out to the pumpkin patch for pictures then a pig race after dinner, i even got to "kiss" the winning pig! Our family and friends came up to us all night and said what a great time they were having, how excellent the food was that was served and how unique the venue was!

We had our ceremony at the Manor View Inn Bed and Breakfast across the road which is family owned by Farmer Jim's parents. I had to give a low score under the professionalism category because there was no organization over at the B&B. The guys were never directed on where to get ready at so they choose the room that they thought was theirs. After the wedding a huge arguement happened between my husband, a groomsman and Jim's mother. It had everyone upset at the end of a pefect day. We mentioned this to Farmer Jim and he apologized and was upset that this happened.

I would recommend having a wedding reception at the Country Barn Farm Market. It isn't your typical venue and that is what we loved about it and what our guests loved about it as well. Farmer Jim made our wedding day very special to us! I would just make sure that if you are to get married over at the B&B that everyone is on the same page and knows where to get ready at!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
211 S. Donerville Rd, Lancaster, PA 17603 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Country Barn
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1371060715180-loft