130x130_sq_1198784739987-creativeceremonies125x125

Creative Ceremonies by Virginia Moore

Charlottesville , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Serving Central Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley
Charlottesville, VA US 22901 (map)

PHONE

434-245-5224

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Your ceremony is the most important part of your wedding. I work with you to create ceremonies that are meaningful, mindful, memorable and reflective of your values and beliefs. I listen... Read more
Your ceremony is the most important part of your wedding. I work with you to create ceremonies that are meaningful, mindful, memorable and reflective of your values and beliefs. I listen to you and you have total control of the words said at your ceremony. I am an all-faiths minister and a graduate of the Celebrant USA Foundation. I am comfortable with religious, interfaith, spiritual or civil ceremonies. I create one-of-a-kind ceremonies that reflect the love you feel for one another.

For a free consultation you can contact me through the "Contact" button on this website, through the "Contact" page on my website (www.creativeceremonies.biz), or you can email me directly at ginchi@comcast.net, or give me a phone call at 434-245-5224.

I perform ceremonies in Charlottesville, Virginia, and the surrounding counties of Albemarle, Louisa, Nelson, Greene and Fluvanna. I also perform ceremonies in sites on the Skyline Drive in the Shenandoah National Park and on the Blue Ridge Parkway, as well as in Elkton, Harrisonburg, Shenandoah, Luray, and the counties of Page, Augusta and Rockingham. Read less
Officiant

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What officiant services do you provide?
Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Ceremony, Single Religion Ceremony
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Buddhist, Christian (no denomination), Christian - Quaker, Hindu, Jewish, Taoist
Can you accommodate the hearing impaired?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
I am not sure where to begin with my review for Virginia, our wedding officiant. My husband's grandmother, whom we are both very close to, is a minister and was supposed to marry us. A couple months before the wedding, her health began to decline and she was unsure if she would even be able to attend the wedding, let alone officiate it. So my husband and I planned a trip to Charlottesville (we live in DC) to coordinate with our vendors and meet with officiants to see who we connected with. We met with two officiants and immediately after sitting with Virginia, we knew we wanted her to marry us. Even in that initial meeting before she knew we were going to hire her, she really wanted to get to know us. My husband is quite private about 'feelings', but even he felt comfortable with her almost immediately. It was difficult to choose someone to replace my husband's grandmother, but Virginia did such an amazing job!

We had a very small wedding, only our immediate family and grandparents were in attendance. Our families were blown away by how personal and customized our ceremony was. Between the one meeting with had with Virginia, email correspondence and 'homework' she gave us to fill out, you would have really thought that she knew us our entire lives. The ceremony was anything but cookie-cutter, everything about it was customized to us as a couple, which made it so special for us and also our families. Thanks again, Virginia, you were amazing!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mallory
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Virginia was our wedding officiant this past Saturday. From the first time we met with her, she made me and my husband feel like she really wanted to get to know us to create the most meaningful ceremony possible. The ceremony she put together had several personal touches that were unique to us as a couple and our family. She wrote several drafts of the ceremony and the finished product was wonderful! She was very professional and easy to work with. Virginia is an excellent writer and speaker and all of our guests had such glowing reviews of our ceremony. We highly recommend her for wedding ceremonies for those that want a beautiful and unique ceremony. I plan on recommending her to family and friends in the future!!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Virginia created an exceptional ceremony for our wedding. She designed the ceremony in a way that captured our personalities and still reflected our feelings to one another. We also included filipinio traditions that were an important part of my husbands heritage. She researched the traditions for us and created a great way to include it into our traditional ceremony. Even when the filipino traditions were modified by my husbands family, she easily shifted her original tradition writings to reflect what the family wanted. We have a very busy professional life and she showed great patience with us when it took us longer to get answers back to her. During our ceremony it began to rain and she even shifted her cermon to the rain and asked for positive thoughts to keep the rain away. I must say that after that statement the rain did hold off! We are very happy with how personalized our ceremony was and would highly recommend Virginia to anyone that wants a more personal ceremony.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I couldn't have chosen a better person to marry us than Virginia Moore. My favorite part about her involvement in the ceremony is her process and style. She asks her clients to write about their fiancé/fiancée, and she weaves it together into a beautiful, meaningful ceremony. I appreciated this, because the most important aspect of our wedding, aside from my husband and I marrying each other, was giving off a very personal vibe and having our guests walk away feeling as though they know more about us, our relationship, and the love we share. Virginia's style accomplished that without having us write our own cheesy, goofy vows - although I'm sure that people can do that if they wish. Aside from this, she was responsible, professional, and flexible. For instance, she arrived promptly to the rehearsal and wedding and took the authority to keep the rehearsal on task. Also, I planned the entire wedding from afar, and she was very flexible with holding phone calls and conversing over email. While this is less important than how my husband and I felt about the ceremony, my guests made many positive comments about how lovely it was. I whole heartedly recommend Virginia Moore and her services.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
VA was more than I could have asked for! From the moment we (my fiancé, me, and my mom) met her, we loved her, and let me tell you, I'm the only girl and the baby of the family, so my mom wanted somebody perfect to marry me!
We met over coffee and we went through everything we wanted for our ceremony, she even gave her own ideas (but didn't push them at all mind you). My favorite idea was how she suggested for my mother in law to carry flowers down the aisle symbolizing my deceased father in law - she had me at that!
Next time we saw her was for our rehearsal. She was perfect, she kept everybody focused, which was great because I had a million things on my mind, so I was happy to let her take charge and take the lead.
The big day! She was amazing - we chose the ceremony where she wrote about how we met and why we love each other etc. We read the 'how we met each other' part, but chose to keep secret the rest of the 'why we love each other' part. So glad we did because it was amazing to hear it while looking into each other's eyes on our wedding day.
We got lots of compliments on the ceremony afterward (my family can be brutally honest, so I know it was all genuine!!). We all laughed and we all cried during the ceremony. I honestly would not change one thing about my ceremony and I am so happy we went with VA!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Virginia was our officiant for our wedding ceremony. She listened to exactly what we wanted and was great with providing feedback. Virginia provided us with recommendations and listened to our opinions as well. She was very responsive and kept communication open during the planning process. She wrote several drafts of the ceremony and the finished product was perfect!! She is an excellent writer and speaker and REALLY made our ceremony unique, special, one of a kind, and exactly how we imagined it. All of our guests had multiple complements for her. She was very professional and easy to work with. We highly recommend her for wedding ceremonies for those that want a simple, beautiful, unique ceremony. I plan on recommending her to family and friends in the future.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
10/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Virginia was excellent! She was very professional and helped us create a beautiful and personal ceremony. She was quick to respond to any questions or concerns we had as well.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Grace
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Virginia can create an amazing and touching ceremony that your friends and family with always remember. She uses the bride and grooms personal stories to create a one-of-a-kind ceremony. We received several compliments from guests of our wedding saying what a great job she did as officiant. It was an original and moving ceremony that really captured everything we were looking for in our wedding ceremony. She was on time and organized through out the entire process and make us feel like we were a part of everything. I would totally recommend her to any bride looking for an unforgettable ceremony.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tina
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
We love Virginia!!
She is truly wonderful at what she does. Virginia took her time to formulate a ceremony that was unique to us. She was able to capture who we are as individuals and our story as a couple. Working with her was such a pleasure. Virginia was very professional and timely with her responses while she worked with us to build the perfect ceremony. Her portrayal of us as a couple was spot on. She took the time to get to know us before hand and it showed when she spoke at the wedding. Every guest we talked to told us they loved the wedding, but most of all they thought the ceremony was the BEST they had ever heard. I think it was obvious to us and everyone there how personal and touching she makes her ceremonies. Thank you Virginia, for making our ceremony so memorable.

xoxo,
Tina & Tim Page
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
8/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Virginia provided a wonderful ceremony, she took all of our ideas and wishes into account and the end result was fantastic. She's a kind and caring woman who sincerely took an interest in both of us and what we wanted our wedding to be.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Evan
Wedding:
8/11/2013
5.0/5.0
The most important thing was that Virginia was able to make our ceremony personal, She took the time to get to know us well and to understand our relationship and our love for each other. Our story was interwoven into the ceremony, making for a memorable day for us and for our guests.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Virginia was great. She made a ceremony that was tailored to us and I felt that she really put time and thought into writing our ceremony. We were lucky to find someone as unique as we are! On top of that, she was always extremely quick to respond when I had any questions, even after the wedding!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We truly enjoyed working with Virginia in planning and executing our special day. She is all of the values you want your officiant to be: professional, timely, responsible; as well as creative, warm, open, flexible. She really did work hard to help design our ceremony exactly as we wanted. She did a great job of involving more traditional aspects along with modern. For example, we answered some interview questions that she used to help make the experience the most personal it could be. We had an intercultural, interfaith ceremony, and did most of the planning long distance, and Virginia was always ready to speak with us whenever we needed to. Very happy to have had her officiate.
Services Used: Officiant
Default
Phil
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Virginia was amazing!! She spent a great deal of time with us to make sure that she got all of the necessary information to write a beautiful ceremony that was unique to us. She genuinely cares about the people she works with and we got gleaming remarks on how beautifully personal our ceremony was from many friends and family. Virginia is not only great at her line of work, but she was very helpful in keeping the rehearsal and ceremony run smoothly. This lady is a real pro. It was a pleasure to work with her and we would recommend her to anyone!!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dani
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
If you want a unique, personalized ceremony you will love to work with Virginia. I can't say enough good things about her. She truly cares and will make your day extra special. Our guests loved the service and she's a terrific speaker and coordinator.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christine
Wedding:
5/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Virginia did a beautiful job at our wedding. She was a delight to work with; very professional and responsive. Her words at the ceremony were so personal and meaningful. We got tons of compliments from the guests, some saying it was the best service they have heard. She is delightful!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
James
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Virginia was exactly what we were looking for!!! She helped make our ceremony unique to us and our relationship. She was very easy, and enjoyable to work with, she was in constant communication throughout the last couple of months, and she made writing our ceremony script a very easy and exciting process. We are so happy to have had Virginia be part of our special day. She made it a true celebration of family, friends, and love.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Virginia was wonderful. She met with Terrance and I and helped guide us through creating a unique and custom wedding ceremony that had all the elements we wanted. Virginia had wonderful suggestions for ways to incorporate various elements and ideas. After meeting and talking with us, as well as reviewing our wedding website and responses to questions she asked wrote a beautiful, funny and fabulous piece about us, our relationship and what brought us together on that wedding day. We asked her to keep it a secret from us until our ceremony and we are so glad we did --- it was just perfect and was a fabulous surprise to have! Virginia definitely had the wonderful, strong and flexible personality we were looking for at our wedding.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diane in Reston
Wedding:
5/4/2012
5.0/5.0
We were wed in Northern Virginia and hired Virginia Moore to be our celebrant. We could not recommend her more highly. She worked with us every step of the way to shape a customized, personal and beautiful ceremony. I am Jewish and my husband is Irish Catholic and she managed to incorporate both of our cultural heritages in a lovely, personal ceremony that most attending said was one of the nicest ceremonies that they had witnessed. She asks the right questions and listens carefully to shape the ceremony. She is highly professional, flexible, responsive, dependable, and personable. Although she is located in Charlottesville, she was willing to meet us half way (from NVA) for a first meeting and then continue through emails, etc. I would highly recommend her for almost any type of ceremony; we could not have been happier.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Virginia helped my now husband and I craft a beautiful, personal and incredibly memorable wedding ceremony. We will be forever grateful to Virginia for this gift. We had countless wedding guests come up to us both at the wedding and even since then to tell us how moving they found our ceremony to be and, honestly, that was the best compliment we received of all the wedding details our guests noticed. Our ceremony was one of the most important components of our wedding and we intentionally sought out an officiant who wanted to get to know us as a couple and as individuals; Virginia did exactly that.

Before hiring her we had a good 90 minute phone conference where we talked about our history together, our families and our initial thoughts on the ceremony. A few months before the wedding we sat down with Virginia to hammer out the ceremony schedule. We wrote our own vows and she gave us input at that point too. In the weeks leading up to the wedding, we were in touch with Virginia via email making last minute tweaks to the ceremony script that she wrote. The whole process was flawless and Virginia was an absolute pleasure to work with.

Both my husband and I agree that the ceremony was the best part of the whole day. We dated for more than twelve years before getting married (we’re high school sweethearts!) and so we really wanted our wedding ceremony to feel monumental really as we weren’t convinced our relationship would feel any different post-wedding. Well, we’re still learning how married life is different from before, but I can say with certainty that our wedding ceremony WAS monumental! It felt like we were doing something significant, which I guess is how a wedding ceremony should feel, right? But it was also funny, sweet and personal - Virginia captured us perfectly. We put a lot of heart into our ceremony, but we couldn’t have pulled it off without Virginia’s loving care. We’ll cherish our memories of those 30 very special minutes always.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
When we first reached out to Virginia, she told us that we were "lucky" to get her, and boy, she was right. Virginia wasn't just some celebrant that performed our ceremony. She worked hard to bring our personal story into the event. Many of our guests commented that the ceremony achieved a rare sense of intimacy, and this is entirely due to Virginia's care and hard work. If you want a special wedding ceremony--something you won't forget--reach out to Virginia. You'll be lucky to get her.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BrittanyG5
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Virginia is a true professional who is committed to providing a customized ceremony for each and every couple. Everyone thought Virginia did an excellent job, that our ceremony was beautiful, and were really moved by how personal and customized our ceremony was. Virginia is extremely responsive by phone and email and meets with the couple in order to deliver exactly what the bride and groom want. It was important that my ceremony be non-traditional and non-religious and she providing a perfect ceremony that was both meaningful to me and respectful of the institution of marriage. For brides/grooms who want something different that expresses their individual beliefs, Virginia Moore's Creative Ceremonies cannot be more highly recommended!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
thisdreamergirl
Wedding:
9/26/2009
5.0/5.0
From the first time I met Virginia.. at my sisters wedding, I KNEW she was going to eventually marry me when the time came. I instantly felt comfortable around her.. that native New York creeping out which made me feel like I was home. My now husband and I met with Virginia 9 months in advance.. a sort of "meet and greet" and we both left knowing she was the right person to marry us.

And right she is.. I have gotten more compliments that our ceremony was the most emotional and intimate that most have ever experienced which is EXACTLY what I wanted. I would honestly like to keep in touch with Virginia.. to ask her if she'd do a blessing for our children when we have them. She is definitely following her life's purpose. You will NOT regret your decision to have Virginia marry you.

Here is the article we were featured in in the Washington Post!
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/10/02/AR2009100200266.html
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne
Wedding:
5/3/2008
5.0/5.0
I cannot rave enough about Virginia. She is the most wonderful person to work with. I am so glad that we found her! She took the time to get to know us and crafted a very moving and true ceremony, in which she incorporated all of our suggestions. Everyone was very moved during the ceremony and raved about it afterwards.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel & Anthony
Wedding:
10/7/2006
5.0/5.0
Hiring Virginia as our officiant was probably the best decision we made while planning our wedding. She does much more then provide over the ceremony - she creates the ceremony as well. When we first started to plan our wedding we were at a loss over what the most important part - the ceremony and vows - would actually entail. This was especially difficult because we did not want to have a church wedding and were not sure what other ceremonies were out there. Virginia helped us to write our own vows and also crafted a very individual and unique ceremony for us. Everyone who came to our wedding said it was one of the most moving and beautiful ceremonies they had attended. She is also simply great to work with, in all of the craziness around the rehearsal and ceremony Virginia was a calming presence who helped everything to go smoothly. I would recommend her to anyone, and have enthusiastically told engaged friends about her.
Services Used: Officiant, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Neta
Wedding:
7/2/2005
5.0/5.0
Virginia brought a calm and spiritual essence to our ceremony that touched us and our guests deeply. The ceremony was deep in meaning and embraced the elements of nature, as well as including those who could not join us in body. We thank you Virginia for bringing your calm, love and kind spirit. Thank you for drawing us nearer to each other and those surrounding us on our special day. After 10 years, our commitment ceremony still stands out as the most special day of our lives together.

Warmest wishes for continued peace and love to you Virginia,

Elaine and Neta
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Raven
Wedding:
5/4/2014
4.9/5.0
Virginia was very flexible and she caters to different ceremony types. I had no idea what to expect going in, but Virginia made it very easy. She was very organized and attentive. Definitely recommend.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
The biggest point of stress in finding vendors was actually finding an officiant. We were blending two religions, and couldn't find someone that was willing to be flexible with that, so we were very glad that we finally found Virginia. We met with her and knew that she was exactly what we were looking for. She put together a ceremony based on our wants and needs, and let us customize it until we were happy with it. We had a number of people tell us after the wedding how nice our ceremony was, and we certainly agree.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daffodil3.31
Wedding:
3/31/2012
4.9/5.0
We so enjoyed working with Creative Ceremonies. Together we created a cermony that was beautiful and so personal to us!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
10/27/2012
4.8/5.0
I simply could not have wished for a better wedding ceremony than what Virginia put together for us. The complements that we received from our guests were astounding! I never expected that so many people would truly express how much they loved our ceremony. One friend even said she was "obsessed" with our ceremony because it was so unique, heartfelt and just perfect for Chris and I as a couple. The great thing about working with Virginia in the months leading up to the ceremony is her experience and her flexibility. We had NO idea what we were doing and I can't imagine having planned a wedding ceremony without her. We preferred a nondenominational ceremony, and Virginia let us build in as much or as little religion as we wanted to. She really helps to guide you through the process of formatting your ceremony so that it is personalized and heartfelt. My parents informed me that there was not a dry eye in the house. I would recommend working with Virginia to anyone in the Charlottesville area (or beyond - not sure how much she is willing to travel). We'd like to thank her endlessly for the beautiful wedding ceremony that we (and our guests) will never forget.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Graham
Wedding:
8/3/2013
4.7/5.0
Virginia wrote us a phenomenal ceremony. It was the best part of our wedding experience, and we threw a killer party afterwards. We'd highly recommend her to anyone looking for a very personalized, tailored ceremony with a nice touch of creative flair.

Our only complaint that was she mispronounced our names. Just make sure you drive pronunciation home.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melynda
Wedding:
9/7/2013
4.5/5.0
This is the second wedding I have attended where Virginia was the officiant. I am extremely impressed with how well she works with the bride & groom. She obviously takes the time to get to know them and to make this most personal of events extremely memorable
Services Used: Officiant

MAP

 
Serving Central Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley, Charlottesville, VA 22901 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Creative Ceremonies by Virginia Moore
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo