130x130_sq_1320167154991-bravo1

Crystal Gardens Banquet Center

Howell , MI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

5768 E Grand River Ave
Howell, MI US 48843 (map)

PHONE

877-545-1002

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

From the first kiss to the last dance, we'll take your breath away. Featuring: Open Air Chapel ~ Private Patios ~ Weddings of 75-900 ~ Off-Premise Catering to All Locations
From the first kiss to the last dance, we'll take your breath away. Featuring: Open Air Chapel ~ Private Patios ~ Weddings of 75-900 ~ Off-Premise Catering to All Locations Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1313501298689-bravo1
130x130_sq_1313501318360-bravo2
130x130_sq_1313501389122-bravo3
130x130_sq_1313501413193-img0397
130x130_sq_1352233470758-img5863
130x130_sq_1352233566353-img5964
130x130_sq_1352233600537-img6066cg
130x130_sq_1352233716805-img7368
130x130_sq_1313501938321-bravo1
130x130_sq_1313501975574-clippermagazine1
130x130_sq_1313502035057-carrollscreativememories2
130x130_sq_1313502775200-img1887
130x130_sq_1313502176284-collierstudios1
130x130_sq_1313502851609-img1893
130x130_sq_1352234070054-img1619
130x130_sq_1352234187629-img1626
130x130_sq_1313503013491-alberda0749
130x130_sq_1352234313618-img4649
130x130_sq_1352234336334-img4820
130x130_sq_1352234454412-img5400
130x130_sq_1352234602508-img7718
130x130_sq_1313502711334-dsc00927
130x130_sq_1313502902387-img1348
130x130_sq_1313503071242-dsc01445
130x130_sq_1313503091397-dsc0033
130x130_sq_1313503110772-dsc0029
130x130_sq_1352234568518-img6681
130x130_sq_1352235078933-img5441
130x130_sq_1352235197718-img5582
130x130_sq_1352235261679-d4
130x130_sq_1352235310581-d10
130x130_sq_1374256020188-band---img8789-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256035106-room---img8691-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256047116-bev---img8690-853x1280
130x130_sq_1374256059138-img8682-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256070539-img8683-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256081821-bev---img8675-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256091409-bev---img8678-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256102113-img8669-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256119546-img8654-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256134698-room---img8650-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256147209-room---img8649-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256159590-img8625-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256170159-img8631-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256183133-room---img8636-853x1280
130x130_sq_1374256194748-desserts---img8624-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256206774-desserts---img8618-853x1280
130x130_sq_1374256217278-desserts---img8617-853x1280
130x130_sq_1374256227443-desserts---img8616-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256236578-desserts---1-1280x853
130x130_sq_1374256252350-room---img8612-1280x853

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2003
When was your venue last renovated?
2003
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Modern
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
1000
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
5000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
60
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Crystal Gardens was amazing from the get go. Valerie and Laura were so helpful when we starting planning and throughout the whole process. Courtney was fun and so helpful when it came to the rehearsal, ceremony, and reception. The staff at Crystal Gardens were all polite and professional. The food was so delicious! Everything went off without any issues. It was exactly what I wanted! I would recommend Crystal Gardens to any couple looking to get married. The Chapel is beautiful as well. Thank you all so very much! Crystal Gardens made it so easy for me to actually enjoy my wedding and reception!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
9/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Crystal Gardens was everything we could have dreamed of in a wedding venue and chapel! We had searched in our area (Lansing) for a few weeks before coming across Crystal Gardens, and even though it was a thirty-minute drive, we just knew it was the place for our wedding day. We worked with Valerie for most of the wedding- including constant emails, meetings and phone calls. She was absolutely wonderful! We were taken care of throughout the entire wedding planning process. We chose to go with a Friday wedding because of their pricing/packages offered- our package included an open bar, late night snacks, DJ, photobooth, chair covers, etc.. Basically everything we wanted! We also chose to do an earlier ceremony in order to use their outdoor chapel (absolutely beautiful!).
Our wedding day was pure perfection! Our even coordinator and all staff members were a joy to work with and made sure that everything was just as we hoped and envisioned it would be! I would love to attend more weddings/events there in the future!
Food and drinks were also very delicious! We were worried the food would be the typical "wedding food" and have a boring flavor, but the hors d'eouvres, main course and late night snack (pizza) was absolutely delicious! Thank you for such a memorable experience!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Beautiful venue and able to hold ceremony and reception here. Worked out wonderfully, all the staff were very efficient, helpful and courteous not only to us but to all the guests!

The Chapel was perfect and we were able to add our personal touches and the staff took care of our every want and need!

VERY VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough great things about this venue and their staff. I had to move my date up very short notice, and they were extremely accomodating. We got married a month ago, and our family and friends are still talking about what an amazing time they had and how great the food was. They have an amazing deal on Friday weddings that you can't beat anywhere in the area, and their outdoor chapel is absolutely beautiful. Their staff took care of absolutely EVERYTHING for us, our day was absolutely perfect and stress-free. Thank you Crystal Gardens for an amazing wedding day that we'll never forget!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1360676175875-fbavatar3060760
Amanda
Wedding:
12/14/2012
5.0/5.0
We held our wedding at the Howell Opera House and they work with only three caterers. We were told that Crystal Gardens was the most expensive option, so we called the other two first. The first guy had a completely separate (and more expensive) menu exclusively for the opera house...what we could get for some other venue cost two or three bucks more per person at the opera house. Super off-putting. We tried the second option; he was taking that month off due to the birth of a grandchild. With a bit of trepidation we called "the expensive option." They were wonderful! We gave them an idea of what we wanted and how much we could spend and they built a custom option for us. Presentation was lovely, the waiter who worked our event was kind and professional, and the food tasted great. So glad we ended up with Crystal Gardens!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melannie
Wedding:
9/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Crystal gardens was amazing, beautiful and created memories that I will never forget! From the first meeting to the day of the wedding I was lucky enough to have Valerie Keough as my consultant. At that first meeting she explained every possible thing to me and really put me at ease. I had only been to 3 weddings in my lifetime and when I was young so I really had no idea how everything worked. Even as questions came up after the meeting I was able to email her and she was always so quick responding to my emails. Valerie went above and beyond constantly with her service and help. She was incredibly knowledgeable and there wasn’t a question I asked that she didn’t know the answer. She was here when I dropped off my things to be set up and helped me get everything where it needed to be. The individuals that were supposed to come to the wedding and to tear down my receptions did not show up and the Crystal Garden staff stepped in and said they would help me. They took pity on me as this is something they generally do not do. At the end I was so exhausted that I left my bouquet there that had a brooch on it. I was so upset and when I called looking for the brooch they had already saved it and had it at the front desk for me to pick up. The whole experience was just perfect and I couldn’t ask for more. I would recommend Crystal Gardens to EVERYONE around. The outside chapel was so amazing and exactly what I wanted. also Thank you so much to Crystal Gardens for making my wedding one of the most wonderful memory in my life.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
We loved this place. It was beautiful and they went above and beyond to make our day great!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
6/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Our food was amazing! We didn’t want the same old wedding reception food and they were totally willing and able to work with us to create the exact menu we imagined.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kclena
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
We had our reception at Crystal Gardens and it was the perfect location! There is a grand entrance that offers plenty of photo opportunities and the ballrooms are classic. The servers were great & very attentive. The wedding wouldn't have been the same if it were not there . . . Plenty of room - indoors & outdoors (you get your own patio!)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1260161531997-705
Victoria
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Amazing food, great staff and they make sure everything is taken care of so you're stress free!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jkuehls
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot praise CG enough for what they did for us. They really worked with us in the 17 days we had to find a new reception hall (because our original one closed) and helped make our day perfect!! We worked with Amy and she really helped keep us in our budget and have all of the same things we were getting at our other location. I am so happy we ended up going to them, their facility is beautiful. The food was good, the drinks were great, the room was perfect, the staff was more than accomodating. We had the best time. They even let us drop off reception items the day before so we didn't have to rush around on the day of the wedding. We had their cake and it was delicious!!!They kept everything on time and as scheduled as well. I couldn't have been more happy with CG.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
3/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Crystal Gardens was an amazing venue for both our ceremony and reception. Their dedicated staff is there to help you through every step of the process. They are HIGHLY recommended.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tammara
Wedding:
8/8/2008
5.0/5.0
I had a great experience working with Crystal Gardens! The food was beyond wonderful!!! My guests are still telling me how much food there was and how great it tasted. I highly recommend this location. Our wedding turned out very elegant and classy, which is exactly how I wanted it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jendel629
Wedding:
9/23/2005
5.0/5.0
We were extremely lucky to come across Crystal Garden's. We were one of the first weddings there and actually their remodel wasn't completely done when we held our event. They provided a seperate room for the reception and they decorated themselves and it was very nice. The reception was in two other rooms and was extremely spacious and beautifully done as they provided the linens (color of my choice). Since the bar wasn't completed at the time of my wedding they extended our reception an extra two hours with open bar included which was extremely generous of them! My wedding was gorgeous, the food was absoultely AMAZING (everyone said this was the best food at a wedding they have ever had), and overall I don't have any complaints. They handled most of the details from day one, it included our invitations which was awesome and that helped eased my bridal stress! The communicated without fail and you cant ask for a more helpful staff. Joe was extremely diligent in seeing that I had the wedding I had imagined and if I had to do it all over again I would not hesitate to rebook a wedding there!
Services Used: Catering, DJ, Flowers, Invitations, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
I had the best wedding at Crystal Gardens. Well my husband and I had the best wedding at Crystal Gardens. I can't say enough about Florence who works at CG. She was the person we met with when we signed our contract and made our deposit. She went above and beyond her job to make sure that our wedding was perfect. I was a crabby bride and wasn't always the nicest person to deal with but she made sure my every need was met. We had a couple glitches (not due to Crystal Gardens but due to our decorator) and she was able to assist us with making sure that our room got decorated perfect and on time. Her years of experience really benifits any bride she works with!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
randra
Wedding:
5/16/2009
4.9/5.0
EXCELLENT IS ALL THAT NEEDS TO BE SAID
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
5/24/2008
4.9/5.0
My husband and I had an amazing experiance at our wedding! We only had 1 complaint about this vendor. We decided to serve our guests buffet style and we did not know that the bridal party would be served dinner. It was nice to not have to get up and go thru the line, but the downfall was we only got the basics of what we ordered (salad, meat and potatoes) and in the actual buffet line they had an assortment of cold pasta salads and cheeses that looked amazing on the leftover plates of our guests and they also had amazing garlic rolls that my guests are still raving about that we never were able to try as well.. but other than that everything went according to plan and turned out great! Everyone at Crystal Gardens was willing to work with you and get you everything you have ever dreamed of at a reasonable price. My package included: Buffet, Bar, seating for 250 guests, Dj, invitations and thank you cards, and my cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ, Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lance
Wedding:
7/13/2012
4.8/5.0
Crystal Gardens is beautiful, there outdoor chapel is such a great place for a ceremony! Valerie, our contact, was professional, understanding, and extremely helpful. There were two ceremonies on the same day as ours and the coordinators were so skilled that you could hardly tell there were two events going on at the same time. The Celebrity Room was where our reception was held, very intimate, and the perfect size for our 150 guests. All of our guests were extremely impressed with the venue as a whole and the staff was so nice and courteous. Great Place to have a wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
12/30/2011
4.8/5.0
The food and service was great! Thank you so much for making my wedding day perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1274225646685-penguins
Lindsey
Wedding:
9/23/2011
4.8/5.0
I am so glad I had my reception at CG. The staff there is always willing to answer questions and help solve any issues you may have. The only concern I had was my chair covers (which I made clear which ones I wanted 6 months prior). One week before the wedding, I got a call saying the company CG goes through didn't have enough. I had to make an extra trip to figure out new ones (apparently everyone had the same color scheme that weekend). However, they must have called five different places trying to find something that worked. They also stepped up when another vendor fell behind.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karebear185
Wedding:
5/30/2010
4.8/5.0
Jessica @ Crystal Gardens did so much to make our day perfect, even down to a last minute change in the linen colors! She responded to my e-mails quickly. The catering staff was professional and hardworking, and all of our guests said how delicious the food was. The only problem we had was with the cake--I sent two photos as examples of what we wanted. One of the photos was a cake that was done int he colors we wanted, the other cake was the design we wanted. We ended up getting ONLY the cake that was the color we wanted, with the design of that cake, too, which didn't match our theme and was a real disappointment since we paid $900 for it. I would recommend only sending one example of the exact cake you want. It was otherwise a quality cake, well-done, but entirely inappropriate for our theme.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cocolevin
Wedding:
9/22/2007
4.8/5.0
Everyone that worked here made my day amazing. They all worked FOR me! The food was outstanding and the level of professionalism was off the charts.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kleppy2001
Wedding:
2/25/2012
4.7/5.0
This venue is so beautiful. They are very good at getting back to you right away and being very clear on everything. They were very helpful with everything. I got married in Feb. so their prices were affordable, but I don't know about the summer months. Plus they are willing to change around their menue to fit your budget. We did one less meat and I was worried that their wouldnt be enough options but boy was I wrong. Their was a ton of food and everyone was very happy with it. I would recommend this venue to everyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lovingmarriedlife
Wedding:
12/30/2011
4.6/5.0
Crystal Gardens was a great venue for our wedding. Our wedding planner always responded to me right away and provided me with whatever I needed. They are there to really help you if you need assistance planning along the way or are happy to sit back and let you take charge. They are not very flexible though in terms of decorating. They do have some restrictions in terms of hanging things which I ran into. However, the reason their rooms are so beautiful naturally is because they have these restrictions and they don't allow their walls or ceilings to get destroyed. I would highly recommend for any event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
9/6/2013
4.5/5.0
They were awesome! We had an event coordinator who made sure everything went smoothly, and the staff called to keep me updated on all the information regularly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MFAdams
Wedding:
4/10/2010
4.5/5.0
We had our reception here and our guests could not give us enough compliments. The service we received on the wedding day was stellar.

Jessica in the office is amazing...I can't say enough good things about her. She always responded to me promptly and answered all of my questions.

However, The person we originally signed our contract with was fired because she missed too many details and we were not informed until problems started arising. It would have been nice to get a heads up and have someone go over the information with us to make sure nothing was missing.

We were supposed to get our cake, DJ and invitations through CG. Well the cake and DJ were wonderful and we did go through CG for those but the invitations were a nightmare. Everything was extra on top of the additional price per head we were already paying. We ended up changing our contract (only because we were doing this so far in advance) and not getting our invitations through CG...we saved almost $100 off of the contract price before extras and almost $1100 once the extra fees were factored in.

The food was amazing (many of our guests are still talking about it). I (the bride) have food allergies and they were very accomodating, but when my meal was served it was a steak not the Prime Rib I had asked for. They changed my meal without asking me first. I understand why, but I had already made sure I could eat the Prime Rib before I asked for it. Needless to say, I was quite disappointed when I got an overcooked steak instead of the Prime Rib that my guests are still raving about.

Despite the minor hiccups, CG was a wonderful place to have my reception and I would recommend it to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bb7
Lisas315
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.4/5.0
Our room was beautiful and the staff was attentive. We did have crashers in our room, which was uncomfortable, but our guests had lots of fun regardless. For the price, the bar was great and the food was okay.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
memanders03
Wedding:
9/4/2011
4.4/5.0
Very professional and they make sure to take care of all your needs. Nice location, great food and nice setting. Price is average.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
Crystal Gardens was beautiful! We loved it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
7/22/2006
4.3/5.0
We booked Crystal Gardens before the renovation from recent ownership had been completed. There were a lot ifs we had banked on happening when we put through our deposit. The owner met with us a few times that we came in, and certainly made time for us even though he was very busy. We had a few perks that we know learned have become extra costs, so we were very appreciative our of timing.

The MC for the evening was great, and we only had one snag that occurred at the reception. She was quick to have the problem solved, and we loved that the entire wedding party was served food & drinks all night.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
5/17/2013
3.8/5.0
We worked with many of the girls here and for the most part everything was amazing. They were very responsive and helped answer any questions we had. My only complaint is during our meetings with them it came off as they had the thought that we needed them more than they needed us. They pump weddings out weekly and ours turned out amazing, I just wish that they were more flexible. Little things like not allowing the flower girls to toss petals during the ceremony. Or making the guests wait in the lobby bar and buy their drinks while they waited for the reception to start. There was nothing that was a huge problem, I just didn't feel like they valued the $10,000 we spent there. Not a huge amount to all, but it was a huge amount to us.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bella1919
Wedding:
10/8/2010
3.5/5.0
I have mixed feelings about this place. First off they did not adhere to their contract at all, in fact the woman I had written it up with was no longer with them so I had to argue with them on a lot of things that were promised to me as well as written in the contract. They said the contract didn't really mean anything it was just a guidline to make sure they recieved money if I opted out, of course that made me feel SO much better.

A warning about the chocolate covered strawberries, even though they are charging per person, they are still charging per strawberry. Which they wouldn't have told me if I hadn't asked them specifically about it, I mean who just eats one chocolate covered strawberry? Really? Their answer was that they were 'big', I don't care if they are big, I'd rather have three little ones rather than one big one. On top of all that they wouldn't allow me to pay someone else who would have done it cheaper.

The night of they were very catering and service was great. The bill before hand gave me a bit of a sticker shock since they charge the 18% gratuity on EVERYTHING, from chair covers to the bar it was about $1000 more than expected. On the original contract it was included in the price (though I think the woman did the math wrong but their mistake should not be my problem) and when it came time to pay they refused to honor the contract and 2 weeks before the wedding I did not have a lot of options in the way of fighting them.

After all is said and done if I could do it all over again I would save myself the headache and choose some place else.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kristin
Wedding:
5/20/2005
3.4/5.0
All in all, they were helpful and professional. I did not spend alot of time with them. We chose them b/c we got a discount b/c their grounds were under construction. When my dress broke at the reception, they offered as much help as possible.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ

MAP

 
5768 E Grand River Ave, Howell, MI 48843 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Crystal Gardens Banquet Center
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1320167154991-bravo1