130x130_sq_1341501701498-bridegroominfrontofcullens

Cullen's

Houston , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

11500 Space Center Blvd.
Houston, TX US 77059 (map)

PHONE

281-991-2000

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

From planning to completion, hosting a private event at Cullen’s will take the pressure off of you, and place the emphasis where it should be: on an exceptional event that brings... Read more
From planning to completion, hosting a private event at Cullen’s will take the pressure off of you, and place the emphasis where it should be: on an exceptional event that brings together food and service that will exceed every expectation. For your wedding ceremony, reception, rehearsal dinner or pre-wedding celebration, Cullen's will put the "special" in your special event.

Cullen's features 38,000 square feet of elegant indoor and outdoor event space with extraordinary private dining rooms designed to meet the needs of every guest. Our unforgettable venue can accommodate special events with 2–1000 guests. Some of our secluded areas include our grand ballroom, elegant veranda, live music venue and posh lounge. To really make your special event shine, host your event at Macy’s Table dining on Chef Paul’s exquisite six course creation. Macy's Table elevates any occasion to the extraordinary. Stunning glass walls showcase a panoramic view of the main dining room as you float high above. The amazing chandeliers make this a perfect place for a sparkling picture.

Cullen's impeccable service coupled with palatable fare and state-of-the-art technology will leave you with memories to last a lifetime.

Please call us at 281-991-2000 or email us events@cullenshouston.com to set up a personal appointment and let our amazing event coordinators help plan your special event. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1397504171847-1964-bridal-dinne
130x130_sq_1397504224613-17515476
130x130_sq_1397504294765-21031983
130x130_sq_1397504364047-21104658
130x130_sq_1397504432467-0129001
130x130_sq_1397504191098-2008-huppa-blackandwhit
130x130_sq_1397504702034-ceremony8
130x130_sq_1397504483323-ballroomdaish
130x130_sq_1397504586367-banquets
130x130_sq_1397504603647-cakein1987nearwindow
130x130_sq_1397504995752-weddingcullen
130x130_sq_1397504451742-ballroo
130x130_sq_1397504810877-shellygregportrai
130x130_sq_1397504840495-196
130x130_sq_1397504857513-soukupwedding200
130x130_sq_1397504920354-teeingofftogethe
130x130_sq_1397505324759-dsc003
130x130_sq_1397505216572-faux-alta
130x130_sq_1397504979083-upstairs-pati
130x130_sq_1397504266709-21031083
130x130_sq_1397505045530-with-bridesmaid
130x130_sq_1397505146135-dsc020
130x130_sq_1397505176208-dsc006
130x130_sq_1397505254379-vow
130x130_sq_1397505313125-cullens00
130x130_sq_1397505775733-1987roomwithmen
130x130_sq_1397505318567-ballroomfav
130x130_sq_1397505802791-7328123375568906313843009336945817088931
130x130_sq_1397505328117-dsc001
130x130_sq_1397505880527-bride-and-bridal-part
130x130_sq_1397505340639-ice-sculpture-shrimp-ba
130x130_sq_1397505344487-
130x130_sq_1397505353902-entranc
130x130_sq_1397505983781-bride-in-front-of-entranc
130x130_sq_1397505412702-cullens-at-nigh
130x130_sq_1397505813778-assorted-fresh-frui
130x130_sq_1397505433493-dsc895
130x130_sq_1397505801042-7328123375536905513843009336945735092572
130x130_sq_1397505437249-dsc917
130x130_sq_1397505522800-pink-cak
130x130_sq_1397505915806-bridegroom-macys-tabl
130x130_sq_1397506352521-dsc002
130x130_sq_1397506412146-dcstanley
130x130_sq_1397506240172-chef-johns-cake-pictures-03
130x130_sq_1397505954053-bridegroommacyspian
130x130_sq_1397505543006-weddingcake
130x130_sq_1397506131322-bride--groom-in-front-of-cullen
130x130_sq_1397506018640-dsc017
130x130_sq_1397506273752-cln02090917
130x130_sq_1397505462695-cullens05
130x130_sq_1397505441151-dsc890
130x130_sq_1397505445573-dsc921
130x130_sq_1397506064892-banquets
130x130_sq_1397505451048-dsc897
130x130_sq_1397505454840-dsc920
130x130_sq_1397506754229-100156
130x130_sq_1397505293297-dsc001
130x130_sq_1397504718734-hupy-cak
130x130_sq_1397504756967-golfba
130x130_sq_1397505586870-039
130x130_sq_1397505652058-555winslowweddin
130x130_sq_1397506218678-chef-johns-cake-pictures-00
130x130_sq_1397506244694-chef-johns-cake-pictures-05
130x130_sq_1397506248290-chef-johns-cake-pictures-05
130x130_sq_1397506260066-chef-johns-cake-pictures-08
130x130_sq_1397506442037-cocktails-in-198
130x130_sq_1397506459973-csc003
130x130_sq_1397506472571-cullens-cake
130x130_sq_1397506478248-cullens01
130x130_sq_1397506481776-cullensba
130x130_sq_1397506495647-green--white-cak
130x130_sq_1397506505608-hupy-cak
130x130_sq_1397506514050-kitchensho
130x130_sq_1397506840755-100164
130x130_sq_1397506529120-pictures-from-evoke-01
130x130_sq_1397506570178-patio-peacock-table-arrangemen
130x130_sq_1397506589710-weddingcak
130x130_sq_1397508146398-am
130x130_sq_1397506591409-yanceyweddingcak
130x130_sq_1397507346818-100181
130x130_sq_1397506619663-dsc000
130x130_sq_1397506673911-dsc000
130x130_sq_1397506720962-dsc003
130x130_sq_1397506812504-100156
130x130_sq_1397506870820-100165
130x130_sq_1397506905225-100166
130x130_sq_1397506540178-pecina-wedding06
130x130_sq_1397506938416-100167
130x130_sq_1397507317261-100149
130x130_sq_1397507011748-100170
130x130_sq_1397507042550-100176
130x130_sq_1397507062374-collier-cake-00
130x130_sq_1397507175563-macys-cake-
130x130_sq_1397507269693-dsc009
130x130_sq_1397507404033-100182
130x130_sq_1397507571329-macys-tabl
130x130_sq_1397507804816-dsc002
130x130_sq_1397508705190-butterfly-cake
130x130_sq_1397507958516-dsc005
130x130_sq_1397508787019-bridalsuit95

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2008
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
City, Classic / Traditional, Modern
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
1000
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
14
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
400
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
35
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.2
out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.2/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.0/5.0
Nice venue fur wedding and/or reception. Food was undercooked and event coordinator (Christy) was not friendly at all. We almost went somewhere else because of her. Also waaaaaayyyyy overpriced.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1357695342966-1671121653177125597252791n
Michelle
Wedding:
4/18/2014
4.9/5.0
Hilary Hart was my coordinator through out my process with Cullen's and she did a wonderful job. She was so helpful, and patient with all of my questions over the last year. When we found Cullen's we were so impressed with how beautiful and upscale it was. Then the price just wowed us again. If you are looking to have an upscale wedding with great food, without going over budget, Cullen's is truly the place to have it. I signed for the venue exactly one year out, and the only problems I ran into were a few slight communication problems, two to be exact. I can't express how rare these were, and they were so quick to fix things. My only regret is that I would of asked to have the lights that were out in the chandelier changed sooner. They have to plan well in advance to do be able to pull it down because of the weight, so keep that in mind. We used the 1987 room for our ceremony, which was told could fit 100 people in there. We ended up have 78 attend on our wedding day, and we had the perfect amount of room. Our reception followed into the 2008 Ballroom, and this room just felt so grand. This room is very versatile and can hold a slew of different themes. We went for romantic/upscale, with purple & metallics to play off the already gold fixtures in the room. It turned out better than I could of hoped for, and I had so many people tell me how beautiful they thought the room was. I do recommend uplighting for this room because it just adds the perfect amount of depth when it reaches the chandelier. As for servers, I recommend bringing in Desiree, she catered to our every need. She was wonderful, along with everyone else who helped. Our bartender never had more than 3 people waiting in line, and the bakers who made/decorated the cake, did a beautiful job. All in all, I would 100% come back and have my wedding here again. Please check this venue out, and talk with them for a beautiful wedding at a very affordable price.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kay
Wedding:
8/31/2013
4.9/5.0
Cullen's is a beautiful restaurant, a huge facility with many areas to use for any event you can imagine. The food was great as usual, and the staff worked with me to create the most beautiful wedding cake ever! I was sooo happy with the cake, beautiful and delicious. I ate cake as everyone danced around me, I refused to miss out on the wonderful food. I remember when I first went to Cullen's, I took my dad for father's day brunch and he loved it so much that when I announced I was getting married, I couldn't get the word Cullen's out before he said yes, let's call them and book it! The staff was excellent and everyone fell in love with this wonderful restaurant.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
This place is truly amazing, and it's affordable! Hilary did an exceptional job! My wedding went perfectly and the venue was so beautiful. All of my guests said it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever attended!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1337124629007-fbavatar2434401
Michaella
Wedding:
8/5/2012
4.6/5.0
The venue was beautiful, the ceremony went smoothly, and the food was to die for! Everyone had a great time without my family having to break the bank! Thank you, Elizabeth and Cullen's!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg3
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Cullen’s is a beautiful venue with great food and wonderful service. They have very unique and versatile spaces for traditional and modern weddings but their main ballroom was the perfect setting for our medium sized reception. It is a cool round room with an amazing domed ceiling and gorgeous crystal chandelier.

Sara Jane Brett and her team did an amazing job making our special say a complete success. Our guests have also raved about Cullen’s professional staff, delicious food and the beautiful surroundings.

I am a bride who also happens to be a corporate meeting planner with almost 10 years experience. I have very high expectations for venues and Cullen’s exceeded all of them to make the most important event of my life PERFECT!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jynnelle
Wedding:
5/25/2012
2.2/5.0
Cullen's American Grille is a very beautiful venue, ideal for a small-medium wedding. Cullen's was the first place my husband and visited, and we knew from the start that this was were we wanted to have our wedding.

I will begin by saying, the food is amazing. (We did not get to taste the food prior to our wedding, even thought we were promise a taste test during contract signing.)

The staff were very eager and helpful prior to our wedding. During and after the wedding the staff did not live up to their promises.
Prior to our wedding, the staff (Cullen's event planner, General Manger and a couple of other mangers) told us things that they did not live up come the day of our wedding.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nytarsha
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Wow! Our wedding at Cullen's was amazing! I had visited over 20 wedding venue sites around Houston and hadn't found what I was looking for but when I first saw the Cullen, I knew immediately that it would be the one. Working with Sara Jane Brett was an easy process. She was very professional and always nice when answering the millions of questions I bombarded her with and gracious throughout all the last minute changes. Her response time was always short which is great for an out of town, anxious bride! She was willing to work with our budget and revise any issues that we had (Like changing the room that dinner would be held in so there were 3 rooms instead of 2 so the guests would be more comfortable.) There were a few miscommunications about the availability for an evening wedding (which is what we wanted). However, even though we had to settle for an afternoon wedding, it was still a really amazing time.

When I arrived, I was amazed at how beautifully everything had been set up. The ceremony room was beautiful and set up in a circular pattern like we wanted. The room itself was so gorgeous that it required little decorating. There was lots of attention to detail in the dinning room and the staff was amazingly attentive to my every need during the event. The food was sooo good!!! To my surprise, there was a vegetarian amongst our guests and they actually made her a last minute meal!!! That really meant a lot since they warned us that this could not be done. LIVE was great for partying just like I thought it would be. I was pleasantly surprised that there were up-lights at the reception and the photo montage on the screens all around the room was a great touch. The cake was so beautiful, I didn't want to cut it! At the end of the event, although our time was out, Sara allowed us with extra time to take pictures together.

The whole experience was more than I could have hoped for! Everyone is still talking about how spectacular everything was and that ours was the best wedding they had been to. Thanks for everything, Cullen!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1287113253742-1002374
Patricia
Wedding:
3/3/2012
4.8/5.0
I really loved having my reception here. It was held in Cullens Live I had about 175 People show up. It was really different and we had a blast. The food was excellent. I loved our wedding coordinator Elizabeth. At first we had a little bit of bad luck with their last person who no longer works there. Elizabeth Harris did a great job and totally made up for the lack of communication between the former coordinator. The only problem we had was the night of the wedding we were suppose to get the entire top floor reserved until 2:00am but it wasn't in the contract so we couldn't do anything about it and the Valet parking wasn't scheduled for the right time. But they did make up for it by giving us a good amount of money back on a gift card which is okay because we like the food...:-) If you do get a DJ/MC for your event ask for Mike Krell he did a great job and everything went smoothly he planned everything out that cullens doesn't do so everything was really stress free. so make sure you get a GOOD MC because Cullens is a venue that serves your food and cleans....they shouldn't be mistaken for doing everything....
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
1/6/2012
5.0/5.0
I used Macy's Table at Cullen's for my wedding dinner. They were fantastic! The Event Manager Sara Jane Brett was phenomenal! The chef's Paul Lewis, Bruce Trathon, and John Weatherly we're outstanding on every level! The total experience was beyond my expectations! The professionalism, and friendliness was out of the ball park! I highly recommend Cullen's!
A+++ Rating!
Tiffany Deal
Macy's Table Wedding Dinner - 1/6/2012
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1314141582600-tn
Rachel
Wedding:
11/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Cullen's went above and beyond for my husband and I. They were extremely helpful in working with me on budget and still giving me exactly what I wanted. We chose a three course served dinner and it was awesome! Everyone loved the food. We were treated like royalty. We even forgot the ceremony music, and they got us the perfect song. Love this place. I recommend it to every bride!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1279178504995-may20102
Jenna
Wedding:
1/15/2011
2.6/5.0
We were so excited about having our wedding at Cullens. This is where we had our first official date as a couple! Everything seemed to go really well in the beginning. They worked with us on pricing. However, they really dropped things starting the day before. Our wedding coordinator was MIA and have yet to get a phone call from her (its a month later). None of the details that I talked to her about were done. It was chaos. I understand emergencies but it left everything completely unprepared and there was no follow through on how the night went.

Bar issues with the type and amount of alcohol. Stained linens had to be replaced and the linens do not fit the tables at all. Cake wasn't cut and served and I had to go get them twice. They ran out of food and actually came up to me during the reception and said that my guests were either taking too much or going through multiple times (which is not true says the videographer and photographer, they have it on film). But the venue area is beautiful. Although I couldnt take pics in all areas because of other events.

I really loved my ceremony room even though it had to be a bit dressed up and they booked another party immediately after so therefore we were a bit rushed out of there. And guests from there kept "peeking" in on our reception. And when leading guests back they let people walk right by the kitchen cleaning area instead of escorting them around as I had asked.

I love the look of Cullens and I did like the price they gave me. I just wish that they had followed through on things that they promised to run smoothly.

Regarding food... no dinner rolls, no butter, no gravy for potatoes but manager said "it wasn't on BEO". SO GET EVERYTHING WRITTEN DOWN!!!

If I had to do it over again, I would hold the rehearsal dinner there but I would find another place for the actual ceremony and reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ghaemmaghami Valeh
Wedding:
9/5/2009
4.1/5.0
We loved having our wedding and ceremony at Cullens...they have a beautiful design and decor!! Our pictures turned out so great!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tbhakta
Wedding:
7/18/2009
1.8/5.0
We had to plan our wedding in a relatively short amount of time. My fiance is an officer in the USMC and I was working down the street at NASA. I thought that Cullen's was perfect because of its proximity to my job and the look of the venue. Initially when I met the Cullen's team I was elated by their amazing customer service. It was to my dismay, however soon after signing the contract, the impeccable customer service ended.

Our ceremony and reception were in the same room. I was happy that the room flip went well and that the room was set up on time. However, I was disappointed and frustrated with several details of our event that were executed with deficiency by the Cullen's team.

The first issue was the the salad. In the BEO, it was stated that salad dressings would be served family style as soon as the bride and groom come in. Instead, my guests sat there unfed until their table was called to go get food in the buffet (where the salad now was). When I asked the Cullen's team why the guests were not being served their salad, they said "I didn't think we had finalized that". It was in the agreed upon BEO, which is copied:


"Field Green Salad with 3 dressings family style

***********NUT ALLERGY, DO NOT SERVE ANY NUTS

Serve as soon as Bride & Groom Come In"



Our immediate family was served their food at the table. All of the food was cold and, as a result, unappetizing. Additionally, my fiance and I tried the appetizers during the cocktail hour and found them to be cold as well.

When we had discussed our guestbook sheets with the cullen's team, they had asked if my nieces or nephews could pass out the activity sheets. Our contingency plan, as stated in the final BEO, was that Cullen's servers would pass out the guestbook sheets and collect them so that no one would spill food or drinks on the sheets:


"Activity Sheets will be handed out by servers, DJ will announce for everyone to fill out, servers will pick up."


This was also confirmed by one of the Cullen's managers at the Friday night rehearsal. The designated time for distributing activity sheets was during the time the guests were waiting for the buffet and eating their salads. Instead, after tables had already started eating, one of my bridemaids and two guests passed out the sheets along with tracking down the pens I had brought to use because the Cullen's rep was no where to be found. One of the Cullen's servers was gracious enough to go find the pens. My guests also collected the sheets during and after the event, instead of enjoying the event.

One of the biggest discrepancies was the cake; first of all, it was nothing like the cake wehad picked out. A rep had sent a picture of the cake with the latest BEO to confirm the design of the cake. Instead, the cake was plain with ribbon that I bought wrapped around the base. Cullen's had refunded us half of the cake cost to compensate.

"Wedding Cake
(serving for 100 people) Lime Green & Navy Blue Stripes
Hydrangas placed on top
See picture"


Also, no plate/fork were provided for the initial cutting of the cake by myself and my husband; my photographer had to obtain some for us to use. Additionally, I personally had to go tell a manager to go cut the cake and serve it to the guests in a timely manner, as many of the tables sat after dinner for a significant amount of time before being served dessert.

For a commitment of $10,000, I expected a greater degree of attention to detail and diligence from Cullen's as a professional wedding venue. That was not the case in this situation.

Words of advice:
-Always get everything that Cullen's will say they will do in writing. We had several instances where verbal agreements were reneged and left us optionless.
-Call versus email, but keep all email documentation
-Cullen's response to the food being cold was that it was waiting on us. So, my advice eat the food immediately in the kitchen. :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
11500 Space Center Blvd., Houston, TX 77059 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Cullen's
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo