130x130_sq_1234916313906-grp-sculpture-53kb

Current Invention

Asheville , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

180 Fairfax Ave.
Asheville, NC US 28806 (map)

PHONE

828-253-6287

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Daniel Barber’s Current Invention has been playing weddings, receptions and private parties since 2003. With exceedingly talented and versatile members, they exhibit a wide range of... Read more
Daniel Barber’s Current Invention has been playing weddings, receptions and private parties since 2003. With exceedingly talented and versatile members, they exhibit a wide range of musical styles including jazz, swing, Latin, fusion, rock, blues, R&B and world beat sounds. Current Invention can provide an elegant touch of classy ambience as well as filling the dance floor with lots of vibrant styles of dance music. The core band comes as a quintet with keyboards/vocals, bass/vocals, guitar/vocals, drums and a lead vocalist. are accommodating to customize their ensemble to your needs and budget. While the quintet provides a full sound, extra percussion and/or one or more horns for that extra pizzazz can be arranged. Other options include a quartet, piano jazz trio, duet or solo piano.

To hear and see Current Inventions' music, click here. You may also contact us for a demo CD or you can visit the Jubilee! Community every Sunday morning to hear several of the members of the band (as part of the Jubilee! World Beat Band). We have hundreds of tunes in our repertoire and are happy to talk with you about learning new songs for your event.

Please contact us for further information or visit our FAQ page. We would be delighted to help create a memorable joyous event with you. Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1235507847281-grp-walking-130kb
130x130_sq_1235507972625-grp-sculpture-53kb
130x130_sq_1235508006218-daniel-botanical-blue-117kb
130x130_sq_1235508050187-currentinventionlogo
130x130_sq_1235509160656-one-sheet-front
130x130_sq_1235509193203-one-sheet-back

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Medium (4-6 musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Blues, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Latin, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Reggae, Rock, Soul, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
No
What is your band's usual attire?
The most common options we offer are: 1) formal - tuxedos, 2) dress - all black, black slacks and a black dress shirt, 3) business casual - nice slacks and button-down shirt. You can make this decision at contract time or later if you're unsure.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
We haven't done this, but we are happy to work out ways to offer people opportunities to hear us live, either at a Current Invention gig or in a setting where most of the musicians in the band are playing music similar to what you might hear at your wedding.
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
First, we appreciate knowing which songs (or types of songs) on the song list you particularly like (or hate!!). While you don't need to put together a set list for us, it can be helpful if you let us know your preferences in general.
 Also, if there are songs that you particularly want for the first dances (Bride/Groom, Bride/Father, Groom/Mother), we can usually commit to learning them provided you make the request 60 days before the event. After this time we will do our best to fulfill a request, but can't promise you that until we know what it is.
How much time do you usually need for setup?
We can usually set up our equipment in about an hour. We always give ourselves an hour and a half from the time we arrive until the time we need to do our sound check.
How much space do you usually require?
We need to have a stage area that is at least 12' wide and 10' deep. If the stage area is 14' x 12' then that is most comfortable for us. The stage can be elevated or not. We need one electrical outlet with a 120-V/30-amp electrical circuit within 25 feet.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
We do have a small sign (about 1' x 1.5') that we often use. If the client prefers that we not use it, we can live with that, but it hasn't tended to be a problem.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We do have a light that has a moving colored laser light effect and also a multi-color wash effect. It definitely livens up the dance floor!
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
Yes, we can and often do. We are happy to work with you in advance to discuss the order and timing of the elements of your event. For example we will introduce the bride and groom and the wedding party, announce the toasts, cake cutting, etc and generally help to keep the party moving along.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
When we start playing the dance music, we start with one or more songs that usually get people up and dancing. We also invite them directly to come on up or grab someone and get them to dance with you. Some crowds respond to different kinds of music, so we'll try 2-3 different things if they're being reluctant, and sometimes a slow dance is what gets them out. The occasionally awkward transition into the dance music usually doesn't last for more than 1-3 songs.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you need a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
If we are scheduled to play for four hours, we usually play four 45-minute sets and take three 15-minute breaks in between. We do not require the wedding party to provide our meals. That said, we usually arrive at the site an hour and a half or more before we begin playing in order to set up and sound check. So we very much appreciate it when food is provided by the client. Ideally, if we have 30 minutes to eat before we begin playing, that offers us the luxury of having a more relaxed meal at the beginning of the evening, which leaves us well energized and well prepared to play for you for the next few hours.
Do you play recorded music during your break?
Yes. We have playlists on an iPod with different types of music on it for earlier and later times in the event. And we're happy to plug your iPod into our sound system if you'd like to hear some of your music at the breaks.
If one or more of the band members is unable to attend, what is your backup plan?
We have built up a list of multiple talented and highly experienced people on each instrument that we can call. Sometimes this can affect the songs we can play or not, but overall the band always sounds good!
What is your overtime rate?
The overtime rate is $45.00 per musician for each additional half hour.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
We charge enough to cover the actual cost of gas for each car plus $15/hour per musician for travel time.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
We typically charge a retainer of 1/5 of the total cost.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1313503448787-2bw2
Brittney
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Current Invention played for my recent wedding reception. I have gotten many rave reviews from our guests about the music and the talent of the band. They were very accommodating and helpful not only on the night of the event but during the planning process as well. You won't regret hiring them for your event!
Current Invention played for my recent wedding reception. I have gotten many rave reviews from our guests about the music Read more...
Current Invention played for my recent wedding reception. I have gotten many rave reviews from our guests about the music and the talent of the band. They were very accommodating and helpful not only on the night of the event but during the planning process as well. You won't regret hiring them for your event! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
michael
Wedding:
10/7/2012
5.0/5.0
"The band did a great job! Not only did I really enjoy the music but many of my guests commented that the music was excellent."
"The band did a great job! Not only did I really enjoy the music but many of my guests commented that the music was Read more...
"The band did a great job! Not only did I really enjoy the music but many of my guests commented that the music was excellent." Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Great band, great sound. Current invention performed at our wedding reception in Greenville, SC. They did a great job and were accommodating to our needs.
Great band, great sound. Current invention performed at our wedding reception in Greenville, SC. They did a great job and Read more...
Great band, great sound. Current invention performed at our wedding reception in Greenville, SC. They did a great job and were accommodating to our needs. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leslie
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Daniel Barber and "Current Invention" were a wonderful choice for our wedding reception. We could not have been more pleased. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a fun, energetic and talented dance band. From booking to contract administration to set-up, sound check and performance, Daniel made everything go smoothly. We never worried about a thing. CI has a lot of varied talent displayed in their musical selections. What's really interesting is their ability to "read the crowd", make their selections, and time them as to how the event is unfolding. Our guests are still talking about the great time they had on the dance floor!
Daniel Barber and "Current Invention" were a wonderful choice for our wedding reception. We could not have been more Read more...
Daniel Barber and "Current Invention" were a wonderful choice for our wedding reception. We could not have been more pleased. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a fun, energetic and talented dance band. From booking to contract administration to set-up, sound check and performance, Daniel made everything go smoothly. We never worried about a thing. CI has a lot of varied talent displayed in their musical selections. What's really interesting is their ability to "read the crowd", make their selections, and time them as to how the event is unfolding. Our guests are still talking about the great time they had on the dance floor! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jean
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Current Invention played for my son Chris' wedding to his lovely wife Jennifer. Daniel was very helpful and responsive to my sometimes changing list of songs that I was considering for the Mother/Son dance and also the music that my husband and I enjoyed for our dances together. Many of my requests were songs that the band had not played before but it certainly didn't sound that way when they played. The music was definitely one of the highlights of the day and I very much enjoyed working with the band. It is almost two years after the wedding and I still hear compliments about how much fun everyone had! Thank you for much for making a memorable day even more so.
Current Invention played for my son Chris' wedding to his lovely wife Jennifer. Daniel was very helpful and responsive to Read more...
Current Invention played for my son Chris' wedding to his lovely wife Jennifer. Daniel was very helpful and responsive to my sometimes changing list of songs that I was considering for the Mother/Son dance and also the music that my husband and I enjoyed for our dances together. Many of my requests were songs that the band had not played before but it certainly didn't sound that way when they played. The music was definitely one of the highlights of the day and I very much enjoyed working with the band. It is almost two years after the wedding and I still hear compliments about how much fun everyone had! Thank you for much for making a memorable day even more so. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jan
Wedding:
4/28/2012
4.4/5.0
The band learned all the songs we requested that they did not currently play.
Amazing female vocalist.
The band learned all the songs we requested that they did not currently play.
Amazing female vocalist.
The band learned all the songs we requested that they did not currently play.
Amazing female vocalist. Read less
Services Used: Band
Current Invention responded with the following comments:

I spent a LOT of time working up some new (and very challenging) material for this client, MUCH more than usual, actually. Everyone I heard from afterwards, including the client, seemed pleased with the outcome. I'm sorry to see that that may not have been enough in this case. Another learning experience, I suppose!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matt
Wedding:
10/15/2009
4.8/5.0
Current Invention did a fantastic job at our wedding reception. They were professional, stylish, talented, flexible, and engaging. Highly recommended!
Current Invention did a fantastic job at our wedding reception. They were professional, stylish, talented, flexible, and Read more...
Current Invention did a fantastic job at our wedding reception. They were professional, stylish, talented, flexible, and engaging. Highly recommended! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linsey
Wedding:
10/11/2008
5.0/5.0
Current Invention was fantastic! Daniel was wonderful to work with: so friendly and accomaodating....even last minute! The band was played excellent music and really interacted with the crowd. Everyone thought they were great. Thank you so much for helping make our wedding reception unforgettable!
Current Invention was fantastic! Daniel was wonderful to work with: so friendly and accomaodating....even last minute! The Read more...
Current Invention was fantastic! Daniel was wonderful to work with: so friendly and accomaodating....even last minute! The band was played excellent music and really interacted with the crowd. Everyone thought they were great. Thank you so much for helping make our wedding reception unforgettable! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
They were all very nice, very good musicians, and very easy to work with! Thank you so much, guys, you made our wedding awesome!
They were all very nice, very good musicians, and very easy to work with! Thank you so much, guys, you made our wedding Read more...
They were all very nice, very good musicians, and very easy to work with! Thank you so much, guys, you made our wedding awesome! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tim
Wedding:
4/5/2008
5.0/5.0
I scheduled Current Invention for my brother's wedding. Their skill level is fantastic. Their sensitivity to what styles and what kind of energy would be best as the night progressed was perfect. They were easy to talk details with, extremely flexible and a pleasure to do business with. One hundred percent professional. I was especially impressed with how skilled they were with playing jazz. I was blown away by their renditions of Miles Davis's "Footprints" and Pat Metheny's "James." Their rock, R&B and motown really kept people dancing and held the crowd's attention throughout the night. If I had to plan music for my brother's wedding all over again I wouldn't even consider looking into other bands. Daniel would be the first person I would call. Book them today!
I scheduled Current Invention for my brother's wedding. Their skill level is fantastic. Their sensitivity to what styles Read more...
I scheduled Current Invention for my brother's wedding. Their skill level is fantastic. Their sensitivity to what styles and what kind of energy would be best as the night progressed was perfect. They were easy to talk details with, extremely flexible and a pleasure to do business with. One hundred percent professional. I was especially impressed with how skilled they were with playing jazz. I was blown away by their renditions of Miles Davis's "Footprints" and Pat Metheny's "James." Their rock, R&B and motown really kept people dancing and held the crowd's attention throughout the night. If I had to plan music for my brother's wedding all over again I wouldn't even consider looking into other bands. Daniel would be the first person I would call. Book them today! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
1/5/2008
5.0/5.0
This band was very professional and great to work with. Before we started planning our wedding I told everyone, "All I care about is that we have a great band." Current Invention definitely delivered! People danced all night long. We couldn't be happier with our choice of Current Invention!
This band was very professional and great to work with. Before we started planning our wedding I told everyone, "All I Read more...
This band was very professional and great to work with. Before we started planning our wedding I told everyone, "All I care about is that we have a great band." Current Invention definitely delivered! People danced all night long. We couldn't be happier with our choice of Current Invention! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
9/22/2007
5.0/5.0
Current Invention was absolutely wonderful, we could not have asked for anything more! One of my first memories at the reception was dancing our first dance, realizing how wonderful the song sounded and looking over at the band and they looked so happy! Like they were having as much fun as we were. They even learned three songs for us and all of them were fabulous! And they kept people dancing all night, it was a blast and would not have been the same with out them!!!! Thank you Daniel and Current Invention, we owe you one!!!
Current Invention was absolutely wonderful, we could not have asked for anything more! One of my first memories at the Read more...
Current Invention was absolutely wonderful, we could not have asked for anything more! One of my first memories at the reception was dancing our first dance, realizing how wonderful the song sounded and looking over at the band and they looked so happy! Like they were having as much fun as we were. They even learned three songs for us and all of them were fabulous! And they kept people dancing all night, it was a blast and would not have been the same with out them!!!! Thank you Daniel and Current Invention, we owe you one!!! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becca
Wedding:
11/5/2006
5.0/5.0
Current Invention's band made our event!! They were accommodating, professional, and more than extremely tallented!! All of our guests raved about their music and their overall preformance. I would definately hire them again. Thanks again to Daniel and the band.
Current Invention's band made our event!! They were accommodating, professional, and more than extremely tallented!! All Read more...
Current Invention's band made our event!! They were accommodating, professional, and more than extremely tallented!! All of our guests raved about their music and their overall preformance. I would definately hire them again. Thanks again to Daniel and the band. Read less
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
180 Fairfax Ave., Asheville, NC 28806 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Current Invention
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1234916313906-grp-sculpture-53kb