130x130 sq 1444836826772 20150925161025resized 2

Custom Cake Design

Gaithersburg , MD

LOCATION

8535 Ziggy Lane
Gaithersburg, MD 20877 US (map)

PHONE

301-216-1100

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Over 75 cakes on display in the largest showroom in the area.

Over 25 different flavors all delightfully moist.

Invitations,favors,wedding ornaments,cake... Read more
Over 75 cakes on display in the largest showroom in the area.

Over 25 different flavors all delightfully moist.

Invitations,favors,wedding ornaments,cake knives,silver stands rentals.

1st Place Wedding Cake Champion in National Retailer’s Bakery Association Competition.

Our facility is inspected, certified, and licensed as required by the Montgomery County Department of Health, State of Maryland.

We are proud to have provided special cakes for a number of clients, including actors, authors, celebrities, politicians… even the President of the United States.

We can schedule free private tastings during any of our open hours; where you can sample our cake flavors while browsing through our showroom.

Check our Chocolate Fondue Fountain prices. All rentals include imported Belgian chocolate, two attendants, dipping sticks and between 13– 16 premium dipping items. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1444836014157 20150925161025resized 2
130x130 sq 1444836151663 img1290
130x130 sq 1444835864223 20140913152745
130x130 sq 1444835890151 20141108153827
130x130 sq 1444836163243 o1
130x130 sq 1444836170548 raquel
130x130 sq 1444835800094 923
130x130 sq 1444836061773 feb pictures 1149
130x130 sq 1444835834340 20140726163528
130x130 sq 1444835913526 20141227131238
130x130 sq 1444836028102 feb pictures 290
130x130 sq 1444835771409 352
130x130 sq 1444836087654 feb pictures 1368
130x130 sq 1444836177762 tnimg0391
130x130 sq 1444836143144 img0695
130x130 sq 1381344724663 91
130x130 sq 1379442456766 untitled2
130x130 sq 1385156563588 img286
130x130 sq 1398971085382 cake 5
130x130 sq 1379443252712 img2366
130x130 sq 1390317442540 13
130x130 sq 1385157313061 11
130x130 sq 1385157233855 img282
130x130 sq 1379443616534 img2260
130x130 sq 1393350479353 14
130x130 sq 1373559562301 picture  3
130x130 sq 1381860389750 60
130x130 sq 1393350247279 14
130x130 sq 1400870963688 img355
130x130 sq 1373559502489 img10501
130x130 sq 1373566016962 16w
130x130 sq 1381344341055 99
130x130 sq 1393350355528 14
130x130 sq 1398971212999 img326
130x130 sq 1393350146455 14
130x130 sq 1381860498818 105
130x130 sq 1379444892324 img2167
130x130 sq 1373559554011 picture  1
130x130 sq 1381344863042 88
130x130 sq 1374772332849 img1480
130x130 sq 1381344475430 96
130x130 sq 1381345068520 86
130x130 sq 1373559001528 6w.
130x130 sq 1373559120381 3w
130x130 sq 1373560774445 img1171
130x130 sq 1373558846144 11w
130x130 sq 1373560803740 img1440
130x130 sq 1373560808299 img1442
130x130 sq 1373560880087 img1184
130x130 sq 1373560929875 c7 022
130x130 sq 1373560981783 img0255
130x130 sq 1373561014879 cakes 02 108
130x130 sq 1373564788368 img4924
130x130 sq 1373564899984 cannon 6 063
130x130 sq 1373564934611 cannon 8 017
130x130 sq 1373565085462 picture  4
130x130 sq 1373565699679 543436
130x130 sq 1373565800168 4w
130x130 sq 1373565908658 img1326
130x130 sq 1373568936736 banner
130x130 sq 1374771253571 img1820
130x130 sq 1374771359492 img1792
130x130 sq 1374771487852 img1787
130x130 sq 1374771608971 img1804
130x130 sq 1374771749102 img1659
130x130 sq 1374771867173 img1675
130x130 sq 1374771978612 img1726
130x130 sq 1374772097415 img1657
130x130 sq 1374772212576 img1476
130x130 sq 1377108230560 100
130x130 sq 1377109095595 121
130x130 sq 1377109225352 120
130x130 sq 1379442984742 img2385
130x130 sq 1379443497035 img2378
130x130 sq 1379443786636 img2304
130x130 sq 1379443949900 img2215
130x130 sq 1379444150249 img2246
130x130 sq 1379444766937 img2211
130x130 sq 1379445042045 124
130x130 sq 1379445682451 img2154
130x130 sq 1379445863983 img2222
130x130 sq 1381853470042 27
130x130 sq 1381853588606 31
130x130 sq 1381853699387 25
130x130 sq 1381860601891 110
130x130 sq 1381860701070 108
130x130 sq 1381860858566 104
130x130 sq 1381861874537 62 640x480
130x130 sq 1385157107200 img282
130x130 sq 1385157385310 11
130x130 sq 1385157584893 img279
130x130 sq 1393350027363 14
130x130 sq 1395858784196 6
130x130 sq 1395858917219 img325
130x130 sq 1395859027044 ccd pi
130x130 sq 1398971321252 cake 2
130x130 sq 1400008926447 img327
130x130 sq 1400009370795 img355
130x130 sq 1400870719271 img358

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

What types of desserts do you provide?
Cake Pops, Cakes, Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake
What services do you provide?
Consultations, Custom Cake Design, Delivery, Setup, Tastings - Private
What cake items do you provide?
Cake Stands
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Diabetic, Gluten Free, Nut Free, Vegan
What special ingredients do you use?
Local
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Lynn
Wedding:
4/23/2016
5.0/5.0
It’s really important that a wedding cake tastes as good as it looks, and Rachel of Custom Cake Design understands this. She supplied us with a 3 Tier Wedding Cake (Vanilla cake, Lemon filling and Rich White Icing) that looked exactly like the picture I supplied her with. A ¾ sheet Groom’s cake (Chocolate Chip cake, Chocolate mousse filling and Rich Chocolate Icing) with a custom picture and inscription on top. And finally, a small Gluten free cake for my three Gluten free guests. I tried all three cakes and they were extraordinary. In addition to creating three delicious cakes, Rachel answered all of my (constant) questions in a very friendly way and she even made a special point of sizing up the silver cake board so that it would look great with the pedestal cake stand that I had purchased elsewhere. I highly recommend this vendor for your wedding cakes and any other special occasion cake needs you might have.
It’s really important that a wedding cake tastes as good as it looks, and Rachel of Custom Cake Design understands this. Read more...
It’s really important that a wedding cake tastes as good as it looks, and Rachel of Custom Cake Design understands this. She supplied us with a 3 Tier Wedding Cake (Vanilla cake, Lemon filling and Rich White Icing) that looked exactly like the picture I supplied her with. A ¾ sheet Groom’s cake (Chocolate Chip cake, Chocolate mousse filling and Rich Chocolate Icing) with a custom picture and inscription on top. And finally, a small Gluten free cake for my three Gluten free guests. I tried all three cakes and they were extraordinary. In addition to creating three delicious cakes, Rachel answered all of my (constant) questions in a very friendly way and she even made a special point of sizing up the silver cake board so that it would look great with the pedestal cake stand that I had purchased elsewhere. I highly recommend this vendor for your wedding cakes and any other special occasion cake needs you might have. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Victoria
Wedding:
4/23/2016
5.0/5.0
My husband and I worked with Custom Cakes Design as part of our contract with the Gaithersburg Marriott at Washingtonian and were very happy with the cakes. We went to do a tasting with my parents and all agreed on selections for the wedding cake and the groom's cake. Just for fun, we ordered a small version of the wedding cake flavors for a family holiday gathering to taste them together and realized that we weren't really thrilled with our selections together on the second taste. The manager at Custom Cakes Design was extremely accommodating and allowed us to come back in for a second tasting to figure out the flavors for our wedding cake (the groom's cake was still delicious and required no changes at all). We chose the same cake with different icing and it made all the difference in the world. Our wedding was last weekend and both cakes turned out beautifully - exactly how I wanted them to look and absolutely delicious. Very highly recommended!
My husband and I worked with Custom Cakes Design as part of our contract with the Gaithersburg Marriott at Washingtonian Read more...
My husband and I worked with Custom Cakes Design as part of our contract with the Gaithersburg Marriott at Washingtonian and were very happy with the cakes. We went to do a tasting with my parents and all agreed on selections for the wedding cake and the groom's cake. Just for fun, we ordered a small version of the wedding cake flavors for a family holiday gathering to taste them together and realized that we weren't really thrilled with our selections together on the second taste. The manager at Custom Cakes Design was extremely accommodating and allowed us to come back in for a second tasting to figure out the flavors for our wedding cake (the groom's cake was still delicious and required no changes at all). We chose the same cake with different icing and it made all the difference in the world. Our wedding was last weekend and both cakes turned out beautifully - exactly how I wanted them to look and absolutely delicious. Very highly recommended! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Joyce
Wedding:
12/5/2015
5.0/5.0
Cake was beautiful and delicious!
Cake was beautiful and delicious!
Cake was beautiful and delicious! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Amber
Wedding:
11/14/2015
5.0/5.0
Our cake was amazing! It was exactly as ordered and tasted divine. We went with two tiers (our anniversary tier and the bottom tier) strawberry cream and the middle tier white chocolate. Our guests had nothing but great things to say and we cannot wait to taste it again on our anniversary!
Our cake was amazing! It was exactly as ordered and tasted divine. We went with two tiers (our anniversary tier and the Read more...
Our cake was amazing! It was exactly as ordered and tasted divine. We went with two tiers (our anniversary tier and the bottom tier) strawberry cream and the middle tier white chocolate. Our guests had nothing but great things to say and we cannot wait to taste it again on our anniversary! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Custom Cake Design responded with the following comments:

We are so happy to hear that you and your guests loved the cake! It was truly a pleasure working with you and being a part of your special day! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we sincerely appreciate it.
Default vendor profile pic
Jaimie
Wedding:
11/8/2015
5.0/5.0
We loved our cake! Tasted delicious and looked beautiful! Delivered on time, and did everything just as we asked.
We loved our cake! Tasted delicious and looked beautiful! Delivered on time, and did everything just as we asked.
We loved our cake! Tasted delicious and looked beautiful! Delivered on time, and did everything just as we asked. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Custom Cake Design responded with the following comments:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! Also we are so glad to hear you loved the cake and everything was exactly how you wanted it! It was such a pleasure working with you and we are happy to have been apart of your big day!
Default vendor profile pic
Jackie
Wedding:
11/7/2015
5.0/5.0
Custom Cake Design was one of the available options through the hotel we had our reception at and we were so happy with the results!!! The tasting process was great, they let us try literally every flavor they have to offer and each one tasted great and were all very moist. We didn't know exactly what we wanted but they were very helpful and patient with us as we looked at possible designs. The anemone sugar flowers they made turned out absolutely beautiful. We got a lot of compliments from our guests asking where we got the cake from.
Custom Cake Design was one of the available options through the hotel we had our reception at and we were so happy with Read more...
Custom Cake Design was one of the available options through the hotel we had our reception at and we were so happy with the results!!! The tasting process was great, they let us try literally every flavor they have to offer and each one tasted great and were all very moist. We didn't know exactly what we wanted but they were very helpful and patient with us as we looked at possible designs. The anemone sugar flowers they made turned out absolutely beautiful. We got a lot of compliments from our guests asking where we got the cake from. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Custom Cake Design responded with the following comments:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we truly appreciate it! Also we are so glad you and your guests loved the cake! It was such a pleasure working with you and we are so happy that we could help add to your special day!
Default vendor profile pic
Janice
Wedding:
10/24/2015
5.0/5.0
Raquel, co-owner of Custom Cakes, was terrific from the taste testing to recommending and accommodating our custom cake design. We ordered
marble cake and many guests have complimented how delicious the cake
was! We highly recommend Custom Cakes for weddings and any other events!
Raquel, co-owner of Custom Cakes, was terrific from the taste testing to recommending and accommodating our custom cake Read more...
Raquel, co-owner of Custom Cakes, was terrific from the taste testing to recommending and accommodating our custom cake design. We ordered
marble cake and many guests have complimented how delicious the cake
was! We highly recommend Custom Cakes for weddings and any other events! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Custom Cake Design responded with the following comments:

We are so pleased that you and your guests loved the cake! It was such a pleasure working with you as well Janice! We look forward to hopefully baking for you again in the future! And thank you for taking the time to review us, we truly appreciate it!
Default vendor profile pic
Kristina
Wedding:
10/24/2015
5.0/5.0
We got a cake for our wedding day! My fiancé and parents all went to the cake tasting and we were greeted by Raquel, the owner. She was SO sweet and helpful and we had a great variety of cake flavors. The cake was so moist and had great flavor. Of course, cake is always good at the tasting but I was curious if it would taste just as good on our big day! I have been to many weddings where the cake is usually dry or not very flavorful. First off, when I saw the cake on our wedding day, I was VERY pleased with how beautiful the cake was! Even more pleasing, was how delicious and moist the cake was! We got so many great compliments on the cake from our guest! Custom Cake Design is the way to go-- you won't be disappointed!!
We got a cake for our wedding day! My fiancé and parents all went to the cake tasting and we were greeted by Raquel, the Read more...
We got a cake for our wedding day! My fiancé and parents all went to the cake tasting and we were greeted by Raquel, the owner. She was SO sweet and helpful and we had a great variety of cake flavors. The cake was so moist and had great flavor. Of course, cake is always good at the tasting but I was curious if it would taste just as good on our big day! I have been to many weddings where the cake is usually dry or not very flavorful. First off, when I saw the cake on our wedding day, I was VERY pleased with how beautiful the cake was! Even more pleasing, was how delicious and moist the cake was! We got so many great compliments on the cake from our guest! Custom Cake Design is the way to go-- you won't be disappointed!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Custom Cake Design responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we truly appreciate it! Also it was such a pleasure working with you as well! We are so glad that you and your guests loved the cake and that we could be apart of your special day!
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had the most amazing wedding cake from Custom Cake Design. As Mother of the Groom, I ordered the cake as a surprise for the couple. They had a travel theme, sharing their recent adventures in Asia, India, and Australia. When I saw a cake on Custom Cake Design's web site that looked like an old-fashioned suitcase with travel stickers on it, I knew it would be perfect. I emailed photos for them to use in place of the travel stickers, which came out well and made it very personal. It looked so realistic that someone tried to pick it up by its fondant handle!! It was also delicious - we got lemon and strawberry cream. My son doesn't always like cake, but he loved it, as did the bride all the guests. I can't recommend them highly enough!
We had the most amazing wedding cake from Custom Cake Design. As Mother of the Groom, I ordered the cake as a surprise for Read more...
We had the most amazing wedding cake from Custom Cake Design. As Mother of the Groom, I ordered the cake as a surprise for the couple. They had a travel theme, sharing their recent adventures in Asia, India, and Australia. When I saw a cake on Custom Cake Design's web site that looked like an old-fashioned suitcase with travel stickers on it, I knew it would be perfect. I emailed photos for them to use in place of the travel stickers, which came out well and made it very personal. It looked so realistic that someone tried to pick it up by its fondant handle!! It was also delicious - we got lemon and strawberry cream. My son doesn't always like cake, but he loved it, as did the bride all the guests. I can't recommend them highly enough! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Custom Cake Design responded with the following comments:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review, we truly appreciate it! We are so glad we could add to your family's special day and everyone loved the cake! That is too funny that people believed the cake looked so real as to try and grab the handle!
Default vendor profile pic
Geoff
Wedding:
9/20/2015
5.0/5.0
We engaged Custom Cake Design to provide the cake for our daughters wedding. We scheduled a meeting with Raquel who reviewed the catalog of designs and walked us through the display case of beautiful model cakes. After selecting a style, we were offered several samples of freshly baked cake flavors, upon which, we selected the vanilla/marble flavor with the butter cream icing. The cake was delivered on time and setup as requested and added to the beauty of the day. After the cake was served, we received many compliments and recall one in particular from a family friend with considerable experience in catering special events. She shared "this is the most delicious wedding cake I have ever tasted!". The compliments echoed our sentiment that CCD's cake added to the beauty of the day and contributed to the success of our daughters wedding day.
We engaged Custom Cake Design to provide the cake for our daughters wedding. We scheduled a meeting with Raquel who Read more...
We engaged Custom Cake Design to provide the cake for our daughters wedding. We scheduled a meeting with Raquel who reviewed the catalog of designs and walked us through the display case of beautiful model cakes. After selecting a style, we were offered several samples of freshly baked cake flavors, upon which, we selected the vanilla/marble flavor with the butter cream icing. The cake was delivered on time and setup as requested and added to the beauty of the day. After the cake was served, we received many compliments and recall one in particular from a family friend with considerable experience in catering special events. She shared "this is the most delicious wedding cake I have ever tasted!". The compliments echoed our sentiment that CCD's cake added to the beauty of the day and contributed to the success of our daughters wedding day. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Custom Cake Design responded with the following comments:

Thank you for taking the time out and providing us with a review, we apperciate it. It was a pleasure working with you and we are glad that we could add to your family's special day!

DEALS

Monthly Bridal Open House And Cake Tasting
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Custom Cake Design holds a monthly open house. With over 68 wedding cakes on display, come browze our large showroom and enjoy a sampling of our 25 delightfully moist cake flavors. While you're here, you may want to sample a fresh strawberry, dipped into our warm Belgian chocolate fountain. You'll also have the opportunity to speak to other vendors: a Photographer, Videogapher, Caterer and Invitation & Wedding accessory specialist will be available at most open houses.
Deal #WW8f72eadaf65014f4
220x220 1444836826772 20150925161025resized 2

MAP

 
8535 Ziggy Lane, Gaithersburg, MD 20877 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Custom Cake Design
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1444836826772 20150925161025resized 2