130x130_sq_1281892314309-websitehomepage1

CYN PHOTO

Serving New England & Destination Weddings , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Serving New England & Destination Weddings, MA US 02135

PHONE

719-360-4965

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

With a background in Fine Arts, I bring a fresh, artistic perspective while capturing candid moments of your wedding day. I have an unobtrusive, photojournalistic approach, and through... Read more
With a background in Fine Arts, I bring a fresh, artistic perspective while capturing candid moments of your wedding day. I have an unobtrusive, photojournalistic approach, and through my photographs I visually retell your story. One that will be cherished and relived for years to come.

So many emotions are expressed during a couple's wedding, and I most enjoy preserving moments in a way that is:

Genuine. Artistic. Playful.
I earned my Master of Fine Arts degree from the Art Institute of Boston at Lesley University, and specialize in wedding and portrait photography throughout New England, Colorado, and international destinations. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1281664955932-websitehomepage1
130x130_sq_1281664956432-websitehomepage2
130x130_sq_1281664962541-homepage4
130x130_sq_1281664961135-cynphotolaurenrob071710fav001
130x130_sq_1281664967291-websitehomepage3
130x130_sq_1281664976307-mg8103
130x130_sq_1281664971463-190707
130x130_sq_1281664974291-200884
130x130_sq_1281664976791-copyof52mg0988
130x130_sq_1281664985166-mg5254color
130x130_sq_1281664979932-cp2009courtneytodd0919090157

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Negatives, Prints, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
All photographs are exposure balanced and color corrected. I want you to become engaged with each image and your story. My work is clean, fresh, and contemporary. 
 
 I do include a complimentary Signature Collection in every package (highlighting 50-150 of your best images from your wedding day which include additional custom hand-toned artistic editing). Additional toning can be requested.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Yes
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital
How many photographers do you work with?
I generally photograph weddings alone, however an assistant or second photographer can be requested.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
I dedicate my time to one wedding event per day.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
I use all professional quality Canon equipment (including a minimum of two camera bodies, an array of lenses, flashes, memory cards, etc).
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Always!
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Both options are available. I offer completely customizable packages, so please feel free to send me an inquiry through the contact form on my website and we can discuss what works best for you.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Yes. An additional hour of photography coverage is $250.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I do ask that the couple includes a vendor meal for me. I quickly eat in between events, so I don't miss photographing anything for you.
Do you charge for travel?
Travel is included up to 80 miles from Northampton, MA. Additional travel expenses will apply beyond the 80 miles and for destination weddings. Please inquire for more details.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Proofs will be available online within 3-6 weeks.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
I provide online proofing through my website (with password protection).
How long can the client keep the proofs?
All packages include access to online viewing for 90 days. You will have the option to extend the time your online gallery is available.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
I do retain the copyright of the images, but do offer a printing release.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes
What kind of albums do you offer?
All albums are custom designed. I offer book bound, lay flat, and fine art albums. I also offer various print sizes, fine art canvases, and thank you cards, etc.
When will the client get the final album?
Approximately 6-12 weeks after the custom design is approved.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Cynthia was an exceptional photographer! She had very good ideas and was very quick and efficient with her time so we didn't miss a lot of the wedding for our photos. We've seen a preview so far of the material from our wedding day and it is amazing. Can't wait to see the rest!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jack
Wedding:
8/5/2012
5.0/5.0
My wife and I had a great experience with Cynthia. We met her and knew right away that we wanted her to photograph our wedding. We had a very intimate wedding and she captured the day perfectly. She helped plan the day for us as well and we appreciate everything she has done. I highly recommend her!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Cynthia was amazing - I can't recommend her strongly enough! Prior to the wedding she was very responsive and really shaped her shot list and shooting style to what we wanted. On the day of the wedding, she was so good at being inconspicuous that I don't remember seeing her except when she was taking the prearranged family photos with us - she just blended in to the background. The photos themselves are gorgeous, both technically excellent and wonderfully composed. She also captured a lot of great candid moments - it seems like we have a good shot of every single guest at the wedding. It was also great to get digital copies of all of the photos, which is an option that not all photographers offer. We also got the photos amazingly fast - we had the "sneak peek" about a week after the wedding, the Signature Collection a few days later, and the remainder another two weeks after that. Having digital copies of all of the files about a month after the event was wonderful.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kailey
Wedding:
6/23/2012
4.8/5.0
Cynthia seemed to feel like part of the family which is exactly what I wanted in a good photographer. The pictures she took were beautiful and she went out of her way to get the pictures that me and my husband really wanted. I have already recommended her to friends that are looking to get married in the near future.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
EJOzer0918
Wedding:
9/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Where can I even begin?! When we first started our search for wedding photographers, Cynthia was one of the first people whose work truly caught our eye. We loved her photo-journalistic style and her website is professional, clean and easy to navigate. I emailed her and within 24 hours had a response in which she answered all my questions! She was professional and personable and we knew that we needed to meet with her.

During our initial meeting, we were immediately impressed with her high energy and creative mind. It was evident that everywhere she looks, she sees a photo opportunity! Her fees are absolutely reasonable and from the moment we hired Cynthia, it was clear that she was truly just as excited for our wedding as we were! In the year leading up to our wedding, we were consistently impressed by her high level of professionalism - she returned every phone call and email promptly and courteously, and was instrumental in planning the timeline for our wedding day. She shared insight from her experience, offered her opinion and respected ours.

As our wedding got closer, Cynthia took the time to speak with us to talk about what we were looking for in our pictures. (She would have met with us personally however we were living in Minnesota at the time so it wasn’t a possibility).

Once our big day arrived, she was there for every moment - she was actually there before both the groom and myself! Prior to the wedding we had emailed her a list of “must have” pictures and every single one we requested was captured in an exquisitely perfect way. She captured every moment and through her pictures, told the story of our wedding day better than we could have ever expected! Thanks to Cynthia our wedding day will last forever.

If that wasn’t enough, we did NOT have to wait long for our pictures - she kindly sent us teasers and within a few days of returning from our honeymoon we had our signature collection. Our pictures from Cynthia encapsulate the joy, tenderness, and love in such a flawless manner - you will struggle to find anyone better.

Not only did Cynthia give us AMAZING (!!!) pictures, but her positive attitude throughout the day helped to keep our spirits high when we were dealing with some challenging circumstances!

I would happily recommend Cynthia to any bride! She is more than just a phenomenal photographer, she is a phenomenal person.

Emily J. Ozer, Bride 2011 :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Cynthia was great to work with and we would definitely recommend her to friends! She was very helpful in the initial planning process and offered to send us links for other resources if we needed. She was also very accommodating in letting us preview photos from past weddings she had done so that we could truly see what her style was like. Cynthia did a great job capturing our "getting ready" moments beforehand and took some great action shots out on the dance floor later in the night! Make sure to be vocal about what you specifically want and don't want-she can't read your mind and won't be able to capture your dream photos unless you specify exactly what you want. She took some great action shots and group shots as well-some that we did not request but are very happy with and thankful that she stopped us to do so because we now cherish those photos so much. We have received nothing but compliments on our photos from our family and friends that we have shared our online galleries with. We also cannot stop looking at the photos ourselves and are very thankful that we took the time to research photographers as much as we did. As a member of the gay community, I was very pleased with Cynthia's comfort level and how she was able to capture intimate moments of our wedding day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jason
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Cynthia (CYN Photo) was so awesome on our wedding day. She really gave us such amazing photos that to this day we both look over and are so thankful we chose her. Cynthia is truely one of the nicest people we've ever met. She is very personal and very detail oriented, and you won't be disappointed with your choice of wedding photography.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NPshower
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Cynthia is a wonderful photographer. She is willing to meet you personally and make sure you are completely comfortable with her service. She is conscious to be sensitive to the event but still makes an effort to capture special moments.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1297970208603-img3339
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
When my husband and I met Cynthia for the first time in a coffee shop we instantly knew she was the one we wanted to photograph our wedding. I was already impressed w/ her work from what i saw on her website before meeting her and then after sitting and talking with we were sold. She was so easy to work with and I was amazed with how many beautiful pictures so was able to take of us at our engagement shoot and our wedding. I would highly recommend Cynthia to any bride who is searching wedding wire for a photographer. You will be as happy as we were if you choose her; and her work speaks for itself - it's incredible.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
corsita
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Cynthia was outstanding to work with from the very first time we contacted her. She expertly (and patiently) helped us work out exactly what we wanted for our photos. And she delivered wonderful results! We found her to be really easy to work with, and appreciated the enthusiasm she had for our wedding. We would definitely ask Cynthia to photograph other important events in our lives.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BethDPO
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Cynthia Hawk far exceeded my husband & my expectations for our wedding day. As the bride, she made me feel beautiful, classy, elegant, and as if every picture was a treasure. She was patient, flexible and professional. Her photos had a touch of old school charm , as well as modern take on candids. Her sense of timing in each photo was superb & we would recommend Cynthia to any bride and groom. If you want a photographer for your wedding who is professional, on time, kind, makes the bride feel special, listens to your needs/wants for photos and who is an all around increduble person to be around, I highly recommend Cynthia.
Sincerly,
Beth Dowse Pollock
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KBF10910
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Cynthia was amazing to work with!

Her demeanor and professionalism are just an added bonus to her amazing photography. Our wedding party could not say enough how great she was to work with on our wedding day.

Her pictures of our wedding literally brought me to tears when I looked at them. She captured the day so beautifully. All those little details and moments we worked so long to plan will be with us forever now! There is the one picture of my husband and I on the beach where she literally stood in beach brush to get the shot, and it came out beautifully. Never could I ask someone to go to such lengths to get a picture she just jumped and and told us where to stand because she KNOWS what she is doing. And another amazing one she caught of my brother holding his daughter while talking to my Dad, that was so moving and a special moment and never would have got to see otherwise.

Cynthia is also good for a prompt response and we got out online proofing very fast.

We really cannot urge others brides and grooms enough to contact her. One of our bridesmaids has already! (we have been married just a month).
Services Used: Photography
Bg20
Meg
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
We LOVED working with Cynthia! We were very demanding in our search for a photographer for our wedding. We wanted someone who would go outside of the "traditional" shots and be really creative, but we did not have an enormous budget. Cyn was an amazing value - beautiful photos for a reasonable fee. We also opted to do a Trash the Dress session with her, which allowed her to be even more creative with our portraits, outside of the time constraints of our wedding day. It was such a blast, and the images she captured are phenomenal! I cannot recommend her enough.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tess
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
We had a fantastic experience with Cynthia from Cyn Photo! Overall, we would highly recommend her to anyone who is looking for a photographer in Boston area (and she apparently does destination weddings as well)- here's why.

Before the wedding:
- Cynthia came highly recommended from a fellow photographer who knows her and her work- a big compliment, I think.
- Cynthia met us for dinner as a little meet and greet at a local spot that was convenient for us. She spent the time getting to know us, what our likes/dislikes were, our preferences, and our personalities.
-Even before we signed a contract with her, she was very helpful, sending us links of things we had discussed in the initial meet-and-greet, that other people may have just talked about.
- We had a fantastic engagement shoot where Cynthia took us all around Boston, had scoped out some more "urban" places that she thought would make good backgrounds, and gave us the opportunity to work with her. We HIGHLY recommend an engagement shoot! It gave us the chance to feel more comfortable in front of the camera, to work with Cynthia, and to feel more comfortable expressing affection in public (We're not big PDAers).

Wedding Day:
- Cynthia arrived early (!) and was ready to shoot. She gave us the perfect amount of feedback and freedom during photos that made photos look great, but also let us be ourselves!
- She took great photos of our day, was courteous and made our guests feel comfortable, and we even had family/friends tell us that they initially though she was a friend of ours taking photos because she was tearing up during the ceremony.
- Cynthia was there- but not "part" of the ceremony- meaning that there weren't obnoxious flashes, "oh wait, I didn't get that," or any un-natural bustling of guests. This was important to us because we had been to weddings where the photographer was *obvious* in the wedding and even detracted from the ceremony. We wanted the wedding to be very intimate without this distraction.

After the wedding:
-We had a reception for family/friends who were not at our very small wedding ceremony several weeks after the wedding. Cynthia put together a "signature collection" for us to share with the family so they could share our event. It was so special!
-Several weeks after that we received a thumb drive with our names and wedding date inscribed in it with all of our wedding photos! It's such a bonus to have the rights to the photos without needing to pay a gazillion dollars more!

I'm just putting some of the tangible things here about why we though Cynthia was a great photographer and would recommend her to our friends. Actually, we have been recommending her, highly, and some of our friends have contacted her. So, if we would recommend her to our friends, we would recommend her to you as well!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tshmerykow
Wedding:
8/20/2010
4.9/5.0
It was such a pleasure working with Cynthia, we were both so happy with the photos from the wedding. I absolutely adore the pictures. Cynthia did an amazing job capturing the stunning, but quiet and casual elagence of Castle Hill. She kept the memory of our wedding so captivating and beautiful. We will be sure to recommend you to our friends and family and hope to work with you again in the future ourselves.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
elleswe
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Cynthia was the perfect photographer for our wedding. She asked important questions prior to the wedding to be sure she got a sense of who would be there, what kinds of shots we wanted and how she could best represent the feeling of the evening. She captured the essence of the evening in a perfect way!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
devotionalmom
Wedding:
9/26/1994
5.0/5.0
I don't have words to express how happy and satisfied we were with our photos. It was such a joy to have Cynthia as our photographer, she made our experience very pleasant and so much fun. Once we received our pictures and our family slide show I couldn't help but cry. She captured what our family trully is abut. Her talent and passion are incredible,the wonderful gift she gave is something we will always cherish!
Services Used: Photography

DEALS

International Destination Wedding Photography
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
I love world travel, and I love photographing people in love, so once a year I offer special coverage for an international wedding destination. Coverage Includes: Unlimited hours of coverage on your wedding day, Trash the Dress session, Online proofing for 90 days with print ordering options, and a disc including your images with a release for printing usage. Additional options are available for custom designed albums. The cost of the package and creative fee will be waived, and couples only provide transportation costs for myself and an assistant (including airfare and accommodations). If you're interested and are planning your destination wedding, I'd love to hear from you!
Deal #WWbdb0e45919aeda6b
220x220_1281892314309-websitehomepage1
Wedding Consultation
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
All packages include a complimentary wedding consultation. Topics include: wedding planning, scheduling, photography coverage options, and vendor recommendations.
Deal #WW1ca43e6e7c16389f
220x220_1281892314309-websitehomepage1
Signature Collection
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
All packages include a complimentary Signature Collection (which includes digital adjustments and toning on approximately 50-150 highlighted images from your wedding).
Deal #WW543e1f9da82bcd5e
220x220_1281892314309-websitehomepage1
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for CYN PHOTO
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo