130x130_sq_1192738191578-darmemorialcontinentalhallexterior(2)

DAR Memorial Continental Hall

Washington , DC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1776 D St NW
Washington, DC US 20006 (map)

PHONE

202-879-3253

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

*Renovations are Complete! Book Now for Spring Wedding!*

Imagine dancing your wedding night away with your family and friends on a portico with intricately detailed columns... Read more
*Renovations are Complete! Book Now for Spring Wedding!*

Imagine dancing your wedding night away with your family and friends on a portico with intricately detailed columns and a breathtaking view of the Washington Monument. Imagine hosting a wedding where your guests arrive using a grand circular driveway and enter through a lavish marbled foyer.

Situated between the White House and the WashingtonMonument across from the Ellipse, the DAR National Headquarters is an historic landmark with unique character and versatility. DAR Memorial Continental Hall and DAR Constitution Hall are both on the National Register of Historic Places and reflect the opulence of the beaux-arts architectural style.

All the grandeur you expect for your wedding is available at this ideal venue in the heart of our nation’s capital. DAR National Headquarters provides the perfect Washington venue for your special day.

________________________________________________

Rates:

O’Byrne Gallery $600 per hour

Library $600 per hour

Portico $250 per hour

Banquet Hall $600 per hour

Security Deposit $1,000-$1,500



Additional charges for catering time, security and maintenance.



All prices are calculated by hour and half hour. A four hour event is roughly $7,000.00 for the rental amount.

_________________________________________________



Capacity Description:

O’Byrne Gallery 140 seated, 200 standing reception

Library 130 seated, 200 standing reception

Banquet Hall 100 seated, 180 standing reception

_________________________________________________



Catering

Catering is available from a list of caterers.



Parking

Some street parking available.



Transportation

Metro Station: Farragut West (Blue and Orange Lines),

Farragut North (Red Line) Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1192738400578-1_dar_o'byrne_brenlandon
130x130_sq_1192738447640-banquethall
130x130_sq_1192738480203-conn1
130x130_sq_1192738504343-copyoffoyer
130x130_sq_1192738531125-freed_060311_0011
130x130_sq_1192738555625-darporticoevent(2)
130x130_sq_1199989448595-1415_small
130x130_sq_1199989473563-connecticutboardroom2
130x130_sq_1199989505110-copyofportico
130x130_sq_1199989548298-copyofpafoyer
130x130_sq_1199989793188-copyofob2

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ariel
Wedding:
8/24/2013
4.5/5.0
This is one of the most beautiful venues in DC. I loved that we could get married and dance out on the portico. The setting is just wonderful and gives your affair an elegance that I had not expected. Peggy at DAR is helpful and great to work with. Like others have said the venue does not provide tables and chairs etc. and is not exactly flexible with its parking arrangements. The venue also has strict arrival times and although we arrived when we were allowed to be there the building manager interfered with our photos because the set up was going on. We were aware of the set up and were safely out of the way and wanted a few photos that took advantage of the venue's beauty and natural light. Despite this annoyance, we had a wonderful time and the venue was just perfect for us.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nerisa
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding at the DAR recently and it was amazing. Peggy Martz is the venue coordinator and she was excellent. We are based overseas and she was flexible and worked with us when we were in town to visit the venue and make plans with vendors. She has great recommendations and contacts in the DC area and is more than happy to help out any bride who is having trouble finding the right vendors. She is very astute and caught on to a family member who was upset at our no-children policy and informed us of the situation so that we could manage the situation. Her kindness and professionalism is great and I highly recommend this venue to any bride who wants a formal and totally DC wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1333208452711-img2551
Mia
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Peggy and Paula at the DAR were outstanding. The venue was beautiful, and they helped execute our rain plan perfectly. We used the portico and the OByrne Gallery and set up our photo booth in the Pennsylvania foyer and they all were beautiful spaces. You have a gorgeous view of the Washington Monument and that's pricelesss. They definitely earned 5/5 stars - one thing to note, though, is that there's no restrooms on the first floor so guests have to walk (or elevator) to the 2nd floor to use the ladies/men's rooms... Just something to note, but it doesn't take away from the beautiful backdrop and gorgeous interior!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellen
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
To have my wedding reception at DAR was a "pinch me" moment. Our cocktail reception was held in the O'Byrne Gallery with dinner in the National Library and it couldn't have been more splendid. Our guests kept raving about the location and said that DAR "set the bar for DC wedding receptions" -- We couldn't agree more! Peggy was a joy to work with. She and her staff were so helpful and attentive during the entire planning process. We loved having our reception at such an iconic location and would recommend it to any bride and groom!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DCWedding
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.8/5.0
The DAR is a fantastic venue and was great for our wedding. Peggy, who was our contact when we set everything up was incredibly responsive and made it really easy for us to arrange our wedding from abroad. She also let us deliver some things early, which made the day-of SO much easier.

As for a venue, it would be hard to find one more beautiful or so perfectly 'DC'. We had a lot of foreigners at our wedding and they kept asking who we 'knew' to be able to hold a wedding at such an incredible spot with such a cool view. Dancing outside in the portico was also incredibly memorable.

Because its a historic venue there are a few 'rules' such as no red wine out on the portico, but we had it at dinner just fine and it was well worth the sacrifice!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
DAR may not be flexible with their rules, but for good reason. The place is perfectly maintained and a beautiful place for a wedding. The coordinators are wonderful and professional and I could not have been happier with the venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lindsey
Wedding:
10/23/2010
4.8/5.0
The National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution is the perfect place to host a DC wedding. You can't ask for a more beautiful building or backdrop. The event coordinator at DAR is another major reason we chose to go with this venue. She is professional, responsive, but most importantly knowledgeable. Because it's a historical building, DAR does have several restrictions for hosting a wedding. However, the event coordinator was very willing to offer alternative suggestions for creating the wedding of our dreams (ex. no cranberry juice mixer; use white cranberry, etc.) She is well connected to area vendors and knows how to organize wedding day logistics. I felt very reassured knowing she and her team were running the show (especially because we did not hire a wedding planner.) The event team at DAR is well worth the money of renting the space!

There are a ton of ways you can organize the space at DAR to suit your wedding design. We used the Portico and Gallery areas for our ceremony and reception. Since we had a large guest list, we chose to do a cocktail reception which opened more space for dancing and mingling. I highly recommend this option especially during the warmer months when people can enjoy the view of the Washington Monument and relax outside. Overall, we had a great experience at DAR and highly recommend this vendor.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg3
Judy
Wedding:
10/15/2010
3.9/5.0
Very beautiful but expensive location. They have alot of rules (as do most places) and they also charge extra if your vendors need more time to set up. I think if you are having a $50K+ budget for your wedding this would be a great option. Anything less and you should look someplace else.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah & Walter
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
This is the best value in downtown Washington DC! We had a church service in downtown as well and for its location, views, and amenities it can not be beat. We used the balcony for a reception, the Gallery for a seated dinner, and the went back outside to use the Portico and balcony for dancing and entertainment. The architectural beauty and installed lighting require no additional decoration or needed cost. This can be used in both fantastic weather and rain without the need of a tent.

DAR is used by movie productions as the White House fo its similar resemblence. Salt with Angelina Jolie was partly shot there and the day after our wedding Transformers 3 was shot there. If anything you can always watch those movies and see where you had your reception!

Peggy was fantastic, refreshingly straighforward, and always took care of us. She has been in the business a while and gave great suggestions on how to utilize the space.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
malzee
Wedding:
9/5/2010
4.6/5.0
The DAR may not be perfect for everyone, but it was perfect for us. The classical beauty, the rich history, the everpresent patriotism, the 'DC-ness', the variety... It was such a special venue, one that lives up to the grandness of the day and one that lasts in the photographic evidence.

We used basically every space we could! People were particularly impressed by the library. And the Washington Monument as a backdrop to the ceremony couldn't be beat.

Peggy was just fantastic. She is straightforward and no-nonsense and extremely kind and helpful. And she has seen enough weddings to have good tips and suggestions.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
julie
Wedding:
5/7/2010
4.5/5.0
DAR is absolutely beautiful for a wedding! Peggy was very helpful in walking us through everything. It's a little pricey (doesn't include any tables/chairs, etc.) and they mostly only allow same day deliveries (Peggy did let us store the alcohol in her office). But it was a great venue and we couldn't have picked a better location!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KTDC
Wedding:
9/26/2009
4.8/5.0
I had my cocktail hour in the library, the dinner in the O'Byrne Gallery followed by dancing under the Portico. Even though it rained, all of the guests remained dry under the portico. The rain really provided a more intimate feeling. This location is absolutely stunning and is a secret gem of Washington, DC. We looked high and low for the perfect location and not only did we find it at D.A.R., but the staff was very helpful and always willing to answer questions and provide direction. I would recommend D.A.R. to anyone looking for a classic Washington, DC feeling with charm and history. It was the perfect backdrop to our military wedding, the pictures were beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg22
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.1/5.0
DAR and its staff are truly exceptional and the space is like no other that you can find in downtown D.C.! Peggy and Paula were both helpful, accommodating and great to work with. They both are very responsive via email and phone. DAR, like many other historic buildings has many limitations/strict rules so be sure that you read all of them before booking. Given its location, the price (I think) Is reasonable and worth every penny. On our wedding day we were supposed to be outside for the ceremony but it rained so we had to set up in the banquet hall and it was still beautiful, and intimate. Since part of the portico is covered we were able to have our cocktail hour in the covered section of the portico and it worked just fine! If you are looking for a unique, gorgeous, historic, downtown location I would stop by DAR and see what they have to offer, and make sure you check out the period rooms while you are there!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
meghanr
Wedding:
3/28/2009
4.5/5.0
DAR is a beautiful wedding venue. Our guests were wowed by the grandeur and location. We had our ceremony on the Portico, the cocktail hour in the Foyer, and the reception in the O'Byrne Gallery. They do have a lot of rules, but I think you're going to get that with any historic venue, and it is worth it. None of the rules are unreasonable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
11/10/2007
5.0/5.0
We couldn’t have asked for a more perfect wedding reception location! The cocktail hour was held in the Pennsylvania Foyer, followed by dinner in the O’Byrne Gallery, and then guests returned to the Pennsylvania Foyer for dancing and the cake cutting. Although it was a little chilly outside, guests could go outside on the portico and look at the spectacular view of the national mall. We also had photos taken upstairs on a balcony with the monuments and autumn tree foliage in the background. DAR’s Continental Hall is exquisite--our guests are still talking about it (and so are we). From the first day we went to the look at the site up to the wedding day, DAR’s event staff was exceptional. They made recommendations on vendors, provided us options for great photo spots and room set-up, and made the overall planning process simple. We wouldn’t change a thing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
9/29/2007
2.1/5.0
This vendor is a little tough to review because in my personal opinion there is no other ceremony or reception site like it in the Washington, DC area. It was exactly what we wanted, and everyone absolutely raved about the location and the site. However, dealing with this vendor was very difficult. They are very rigid in their rules and do not deal with changes very easily. Also, they found some emergency building repair that needed to be done, so they had to put up scaffolding on the front of the building making it so we couldn't use the circular driveway or have our guests enter through the main foyer, which was something we were really looking forward to (the foyer is beautiful and the front doors are huge and grand!). They never once apologized for this inconvenience or offered any form of discount even though our entire site fee was JUST for the building itself. Their only solution was to say we could get out of our contract and go somewhere else. This was 2 months before the wedding!!! All our vendors were booked, our invitations were out and there is no way any other venue in Washington, DC would be available for a late September wedding 2 months before!! How was that supposed to be any consolation! I was really very disappointed that they did not offer any discount and even charged me for the extra half hour we extended our event instead of waiving that fee due to the inconvenience and not getting everything we paid for when we signed the contract. When I pushed the issue, I was told that no other bride had been complaining about the change, so I just basically needed to get over it, basically implying that I was being a complete bridezilla, which I really never considered myself! When you pay this much for a vendor, you expect exceptional service and understanding. This is, unfortunately, not what I received.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erika
Wedding:
9/8/2007
4.5/5.0
We love the DAR! The setting is beautiful. We had our cocktail hour on the Portico and the reception in the O'Byrne Gallery.

The only downside, they do have lots of rules, but the setting was worth it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1776 D St NW, Washington, DC 20006 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for DAR Memorial Continental Hall
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1192738191578-darmemorialcontinentalhallexterior(2)