Nophoto-130

David Michael Photography

Santa Monica , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1112 Montana Ave., Suite B
Santa Monica, CA US 90403 (map)

PHONE

805-418-9868

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Photography

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mark
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Kerry is a professional, super helpful, and incredibly talented visual story-teller!

How did we ultimately decide on Kerry Corcoran? The candid shots.
When looking at photo albums of top photographers, we noticed that many had beautifully staged and posed photos. Those are great and should be part of any package. However, very few photographers had consistently beautiful CANDID shots of people.

Since we were going to have two hundred people at our wedding, we wanted to make sure that we had both beautiful staged photos AND beautiful candid photos of our family and friends!

We were not disappointed! Kerry is very thorough about his work and it doesn’t stop at the close of the event. He took our photos into post production to make sure lighting and other small details were adjusted to create some really gorgeous works of art. Absolutely breathtaking!

We hired Kerry for our engagement photos, rehearsal dinner, and wedding/reception. His prices were very competitive. He was organized, punctual, and fun to work with!

Kerry is first class all the way! HIGHLY recommended for any event!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Candice
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Michael was AMAZING! He was not only the most affordable photographer we found but he had the best quality photographs, the nicest wedding book and the best part is the he likes to sit down with you, get to know you as a couple and really dig into what you want for your photos! He was so personable and friendly and is an all around great guy. We loved having him at our wedding!

Our photos are absolutely amazing and exactly what we asked for and he was there ALL DAY! (And we found out afterward that he was suffering all day with a bad toothache but never left!) He includes an engagement shoot in his packages so not only do you get engagement pics, but more importantly, because he wants to work with you before the big day so both sides have some experience and comfortability on the wedding day. As a couple that wasn't going to do an engagement shoot now looking back, this was huge and definitely added to the success of our photos!

When we originally sat down with him he talked to us about the importance of having chemistry with a couple and it is so true. We were able to be ourselves in front of him which came to life in our photos. His assistants are top-notch and a huge bonus to the way they do business was that we never had a photographer in our face. They do an amazing job with larger lenses to stay out of the way, get great shots but let you enjoy your wedding day. They focus on capturing the feeling, emotion and capture the special moments you can't re-create so you can look back at your photos and be right back in the moment.

We received our photos ONE WEEK after the wedding! Yes, one week! And not long after that we were sitting down with Michael himself building our wedding book together! I could go on and on about how amazing not only he is but the photos are as well. Either way, he is the best you can get, especially for the price! Thanks Michael!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nikki
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
My Husband was friends with David Frey of David Michael Photography, so I had seen his work and always thought it was beautiful. Years before we were even engaged we knew we wanted to use him for our engagement and wedding photos. We met with David several times before our wedding and he took the time to sit and talk with us to answer all the questions we had. David and our second photographer Kerry were both upbeat, creative and funny. Their personalities definitely put us at ease on our big day. Our Pictures are STUNNING! They were an absolute pleasure to work with! I would recommend them to anyone looking for an amazing photographer
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1316474885856-105513001158
Katie
Wedding:
3/3/2012
4.9/5.0
In looking at photographers I was blown away with how much it actually costs to have a decent wedding photographer. My best advice would be to cut costs elsewhere and put your money into your photos. A good wedding photographer that will include an engagement session (which I highly recommend doing to get you comfortable with your photographer's direction and style) as well as an album will be at least $5000. Your wedding goes by so quickly that it feels like a dream, rather than reality, until you see the photos. If you dont have a great photographer then it may seem disappointing looking back rather than as great as you remember. I am so glad that we splurged and chose to go with David Michael Photography. They are so well known in the wedding industry and there is truly a good reason for that. We worked with Kerry and he made everything so comfortable, effortless and easy. We had been to weddings where the photographers and videographers were obnoxious and we wanted to have all of the great photos without having guests notice the photographer. Kerry and Tim were so great at that. They were really a great addition to our wedding and captured the shots that we wanted.

One important thing to remember when choosing any vendor is you really need to make sure your personalities click. Even if you like the photographer's style and photos, if you dont like their attitude or personality it will definitely be reflected in your mood and therefore your pictures. We met with two different photographers. The first one we absolutely hated. They were so rude, arrogant and did not want to work with us within our budget. Then we met with David Michael Photography and the experience was night and day different. They helped work within our budget, truly cared about us and what we were looking for and assured us that if our photographer was ill that day then they would have the best replacement ready to go so we didnt have to stress out. Those are the little things that make your big day so much more relaxing. I would recommend David Michael Photography to anyone!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
anthglick
Wedding:
1/15/2012
5.0/5.0
We worked with Kerry as our lead photographer. He'll shoot all your standard photos, but what he really shines at is documenting the day and capturing the atmosphere. We had a really fun engagement shoot with Kerry which put us at ease for the wedding day. He was upbeat, accommodating, fun, creative, and spontaneous - a pleasure to work with. We love our pictures.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debi
Wedding:
8/28/2011
5.0/5.0
I couldn't be happier with the choice I made in having David Michael Studio and photographer Kerry Corcoran shoot my wedding. From the day I met with David Frey, I knew I wasn't going to find better. He took the time to sit and talk with me, answer all the questions I had and explain everything to me. Kerry was amazing! He was professional, funny, creative and I can't stop looking at the photos!Doing the photos was one of the funnest parts of the day! I will definitely be going with Kerry again for the next stage photos and any other events we have and DEFINITELY recommend him to everyone I know!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lmmilk
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Michael was fantastic. We loved him as did all of our guests. Highly recommend him!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary N
Wedding:
10/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Michael Brannigan is one in a million. He kept me at ease and guided me through the wedding helping me feel relaxed and keeping everyone laughing - all while not being overly intrusive. He really went the extra mile making sure to give instruction to make sure each shot was the best it could be. This was particularly difficult since I didn't allow him to take pictures before the ceremony. Even though his time was limited with me (the bride), he got in all the pictures I'd specifically requested and much more! He is brilliant!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cleverbella
Wedding:
10/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Great photos, great packages, very flexible and easy to work with.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bonnie
Wedding:
9/1/2008
5.0/5.0
My husband did an excellent job of choosing our photographer. Michael Brannigan is very talented and a true professional. He kept us laughing and at ease. Everyone commented about how much they liked our photographer!! Our photos have a great blend of artistry and accessibility and are so beautiful. They really captured the tender moments, as well as the spirit and energy of our wedding! We are thrilled to have such amazing photos to remind us of so many beautiful moments from our special day. Brilliant! Thank you, Michael!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Flowerfame
Wedding:
5/25/2008
4.4/5.0
Michael Brannigan is extremely flexible, he did a beautiful engagement shoot as well as took great wedding pictures. He was also flexible in letting me changes and additions to our wedding album which most photographers would not do.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dream Team
Wedding:
1/6/2008
4.8/5.0
David was great. He kept us laughing all day and made it really easy to get set up to take pictures. On top of that, the pictures turned out amazing!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Howard
Wedding:
12/29/2007
5.0/5.0
David Michael Photography did an amazing job. Though they are not the cheapest photographer, they are the best. They put together a preview on-line that allowed us to look at some of the photos, put to music. It brought tears to our eyes. All the pictures of the wedding came out amazing, the books that they made were spectacular and we would not hesitate to use them again.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adam
Wedding:
3/31/2007
5.0/5.0
All I have to say is that Brandon will be famous someday. I'm writing this review after just receiving my completed wedding album, and WOW! Our budget called for us to go with one of their lower packages, so Brandon didn't have an assistant. But he captured the essence of our amazing day like no one could imagine. I felt like we took so much of his time trying to get the wedding party pictures, and all the family, and the cake, etc., etc., that he didn't have time to get much of the party. Boy was I wrong! When we got our proofs there were so many great candid shots that he got of the reception and our guests. He really has a gift from God. And for someone to keep his cool when my family is all over the place to get shots, and yelling, "Hey photographer, take a picture of this...take a picture of this... hey look at this," the guy is special.
We moved 1000 miles away after we got married and Brandon stayed in touch with me to make sure we got the album we wanted. And the office staff was so on top of things that they sent the album right when is was finished before Brandon knew to even call me and tell me! I would definitely recommend David Michael Photography, and highly recommend that you ask for Brandon to be your photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
8/16/2005
5.0/5.0
Creative, pleasant and enjoyable to work with, very flexible and incredible photographs that tell your story. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robyn
Wedding:
8/6/2005
4.8/5.0
David Michael was one of the pricier photography studios we interviewed but it was worth it for the quality of the product. Our photographer took shots that were flattering and creative and he also got a variety. They have a few packages so you can decided whether or not you want photos of the pre-wedding activities. They are very open to listening to what you want them to do and which photos you want them to take.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
downtown bride
Wedding:
11/20/2004
1.1/5.0
I would not recommend David Michael Photography to friends. Though I loved my photographer (Michael Lund), he transitioned to a different studio and the aftermath dealing with the the David Michael studio was awful. Though they employ great photographers, the studio itself is not worth the money. Trying to get our wedding album together became so difficult that we just decided not to do it at all, and instead put the money toward prints (which by the way are SO expensive-- take this into consideration too)! They seem to focus on getting you booked but then once your wedding is over, there is no follow-up. A close friend of mine had a worse experience than mine: after waiting for several months for her book, they spelled her name wrong on the cover. Outrageous prices combined with bad service = don't hire.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
skirball wedding
Wedding:
8/29/2004
5.0/5.0
We LOVED this photographer before we even used him for our own wedding. I had been a bridesmaid in 8 weddings and Michael Brannigan had been the photographer for a two of them (and his company had worked on a few more). They were all professional and FUN, making something that can be tedious and intrusive feel like a great part of the day. In addition, the quality of our friends' photos was excellent.
So when we got engaged, this was the only photographer we even considered. It is four years later, and our friends still talk about our "kamikaze" photographer, a nickname they gave him because they felt like he would do anything to get a shot.
The photos completely lived up to our expectations, as did the completed albums.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kcwed
Wedding:
10/11/2003
4.9/5.0
David Michael Photography is fantastic. Our photographer was Kerry Corcoran and our pictures our amazing. I love going back and looking at them. Kerry has a great personality and was very easy to work with. He knew how to get just the shots we wanted and to make it all look very natural.
I have also been to a couple of weddings shot by Michael Brannigan - also incredibly professional but a lot of fun.
The company is one of the more expensive studios we met with, but their picture quality is far superior and worth every penny. Once the wedding is over, the pictures are all you have and David Michael Photography creates perfect memories.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
1112 Montana Ave., Suite B, Santa Monica, CA 90403 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for David Michael Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo