Nophoto-130

Davids Bridal

Dedham , MA

LOCATION

890 Providence Hwy
Dedham, MA US 02026 (map)

PHONE

781-251-9100

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

REVIEWS

3.8
out of 5.0
3.7/5.0
3.7/5.0
3.6/5.0
4.2/5.0
3.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.6/5.0
The dresses were reasonably priced. However, they get you on the alterations. For my dress I needed a little hem and the bussel. Cost $260.00. When I went to pick up they didn't do a good job. Had to rehem as it was too long. I think it was the same as when I tried on. I don't think they touched the hem. The bussel needed more work. Oh, it will only take a few minutes. Took over 3 hours of us standing there waiting. We were not the only ones. Then the day of the wedding the bussel couldn't be done as some of the loops had given way. We had to safety pin the dress up. What a lousy job! They were not very helpful there when we were looking at dresses. Tried to get us to get dresses that we didn't want. We took awhile to pick out the dress that would work for all 7 of the maids. They really had an attitude. They work on commission and want to make a fast sale. They didn't have many dresses in different sizes. So, the girls couldn't all try on the actual dress but had to try on other dresses to see what size they would take.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg14
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
1.6/5.0
David's Bridal located a Dedham is awful. Very poor customer service. They almost ruining my experience of getting married.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
I could not have asked for a better experience. The woman working with us was friendly, attentive, and really made me feel as though I was the only one there. I would highly recommend going on an afternoon during the week if possible because it is much less crowded. I found the perfect dress the very first time I went to try dresses and was lucky enough to get it on sale even. Their alterations department really had their work cut out for them as I am short and the dress I chose has a very large train. The experience and the people at David's made me feel special, and thats something every bride should feel.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
This was my first stop for wedding dresses. I hadn't really looked for wedding dresses so I figured this was a good stop. We made an appointment for a weeknight with mom and wedding party. We were greeted at the door and a woman named Patty came and got us for our appointment. All the girls went with me and browsed the racks while Patty got to know me and what I liked. All the girls got me something they thought I would like. I tried on quite a few dresses and liked 2 of them. By the time we had left I had it narrowed down to 1 dress. Patty gave me a book to bring home to take a look at and I made another follow up appointment to try on more dresses. Where I didnt get a chance to look myself I felt that I couldn't buy just yet. I looked through the book and picked out about 5 dresses I liked. During the next appt. she brought them out I instantly axed 2 off. 1 Out of the 5 I had questioned a dresses price and was told the price. I felt it was a little more than i wanted to spend and was trying to stick to my budget. Patty came from out back a few minutes later with the dress in hand. It was on sale and they had just gotten one in overnight that was my size. I tried it on and really started to fall in love with it. I wore it for about 30 minutes while bridesmaids tried on dresses and felt it was a great match with their dresses. When it came time to say "yes" I honestly did start to cry. I thought that was only on TV! It was a great moment and I was so happy with my choice. But...Once I said yes all of a sudden patty disapeared and a manager came in to "seal the deal" she started putting accessories on me and pushing me to buy things. At this point i got really uncomfortable and felt pressured (something patty never did, she was always so patient and responsive) Luckily my mother stepped in and just told her we were not interested in any additional purchases today. It took a while for her to process that and finally backed off. Overall Patty great. Management just OK
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patty
Wedding:
6/7/2014
3.8/5.0
I found my dress on Black Friday for an incredibly good price! However, I decided to buy it online because both of my in-store experiences were awful. I was not allowed to go into the fitting room without a sales rep, which made me extremely uncomfortable. They also called me twice a day for a week, which was quite annoying.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erin
Wedding:
5/18/2014
4.7/5.0
Great flower girl dress. Very happy
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
5/10/2014
4.6/5.0
As a bride, I had a great experience with David's Bridal. My dress was stunning and everyone whom I came into contact with at the store was delightful. The sales people were very nice, but I just have to give special notice to the folks in alterations. The people who work in alterations were absolutely amazing. Not only did they do a great job, but some of their suggestions made my dress more beautiful than I could have imagined. It was perfect.

Also, I went with Davids Bridal for the bridesmaids dresses because they work with Mens Warehouse so the bridesmaids and groomsmen matched perfectly.

I just couldn't give a 5/5 because of reviews from some of my bridesmaids. Though everything came out great, I don't know if the salespeople maybe treat brides/bridesmaids differently but it left a poor taste in my mouth. I'm sure it was subconscious, and there was nothing horrible to write about, just a slight differential. The overall feelings of some bridesmaids was that because it wasn't their choice on the dress, the employees knew they would be buying, so my bridesmaids weren't given the attention others were or that they needed. It seemed that responses were short and curt and when a question popped up it became a matter of finding someone in the overly crowded stores.

Do keep in mind, I had a large bridal party (6 bridesmaids and 3 junior bridesmaids) and we were working with three different locations, I know this review is specifically for the Dedham location, where I got my dress, and the overall experience of those who went to the Dedham location was positive. I would reconsider David's Bridal, however, if you are in Mississippi.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1362081369299-picture057
Grooms Family
Wedding:
1/12/2014
5.0/5.0
The staff at David's Bridal are awesome! They are so helpful from the minute you walk in the door to your last fitting. Many many dress to choose from, but the help you narrow your choices down to what you are looking for. I will be bring them back a picuter of me in my dress on the wedding day!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1329582105382-20111228portlandparks025
Shannon
Wedding:
8/24/2013
4.4/5.0
I purchased my bridal gown as well as 5 bridesmaid dresses from David's. I went on a very busy Saturday but had an appointment. I had 5 bridesmaids and my Mom with me. They made sure we all had room to try on dresses and were helpful in grabbing more dresses and alternate sizes as needed. I was shopping in MA so I could go with my bridesmaids while we were home for the holidays but we live in several different states. They got our dresses ordered and shipped them to the appropriate locations and delivered ahead of schedule. Since the bridesmaids dresses were had chosen weren't in their bridesmaid line it was a little difficult to get those ordered and it didn't go as smoothly as I would have hoped but overall the consultants did a great job and we all love our dresses!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
They did a great job- my dress went on sale after buying it and they gave me a store credit, they altered mine and my girls dresses and they came out great.

They pressed dresses while we waited for free- the consultant was amazing- just an overall great experience and such a great value!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nathassia
Wedding:
8/11/2013
5.0/5.0
They were awesome and they treat me like a Queen
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/4/2013
4.4/5.0
My invitations came out very nice. It was easy enough to fold. Although not as thick as I thought. The color also was not very coral. Overall it was a good experience.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Dartmouth MA store, awesome service!!!! The sales women were great and sweet! The dress is beautiful and the tailorist was amazing!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
5/11/2013
3.4/5.0
I got my wedding dress here for a fantastic deal, and I loved it. The customer service was extremely slow though, and my appointment time at 3 pm was more like 5 or 5:30 pm when we were finally taken. The girl that worked with us was very sweet and was very helpful.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1352027048669-052efback
Francisca
Wedding:
10/20/2012
4.0/5.0
Worked with Meghan at the Dedham branch; she had been patient and professional with my few trials on a number of dresses. I hope they're on a commission base coz I specifically went back to that store just to make sure she got paid for a job well done. One minor thing to note, though: on the day I was to purchase the gown after work (and I stayed till they closed), I had a hard time deciding between two sizes. As a general rule of thumb, the larger size was ordered upon Meghan's recommendation. When I went browsing online the next day, I was reminded that I could have ordered a petite size for my frame too -- why didn't Meghan think of this last night?? Fortunately, I was able to get a hold of her at the store, and she was able to amend the order for me because it was caught in time. That would save a LOT of money and headache with the altering on the shoulder area -- I had only wished a professional could have told me when a petite size was available in such an expensive piece of clothing.

Then the dress came in, but no one ever notified me, phone or email. When I called the week after its ETA, the lady on the phone was annoyed that I didn't check my email -- but when I went back to look at every single folder in my email, none but junk mails (at least 3x/week) I've received from them since the first day I walked into their store, so I really don't know what was she being all pissy about. Besides that, I've been getting periodic calls from this "hey you've won a prize" kind of sales company, which many others who've been to DB complained about as I Googled that number online. Then some other random calls ensured, calling AT LEAST 2-3 times a week!! Gladly all those calls stopped after a few months, but I don't remember ever signing myself up for that. For these reasons, some ratings have been dropped. But my gown got a LOT of compliments; for the price I paid, and how it fitted and complimented my figure, it was indeed a great value for money.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1344364416440-twolovebirdsdessertplates1
Dyanna
Wedding:
10/13/2012
3.2/5.0
I did find a beautiful dress here and I did look stunning but other than that I really do not have many great words for Davids Bridal of Natick.
My experience here was not good. I had to go back several times to get what I needed.
I actually tried on all my undergarments, brought them to the front of the store and was given the wrong undergarments in my bag. When I went to the seamstress to try everything on for a fitting I realized I was given the wrong size. This is just one example of many problems I had with this store.
If you are on a budget this is definitely the place to go for an affordable, quality gown but realize you will not get the customer service, professionalism, flexibility, responsiveness or quality of service you would get at another vendor.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1301947911645-268047886799819229106959441427376853167n
Melissa
Wedding:
9/8/2012
2.4/5.0
Nobody at this store wants to work. Pretty much every employee is rude and rolls your eyes.

I got my dress here and was happy I did, but I got an outside seamstress because thats where I hear things really go back with Davids.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Iulia
Wedding:
8/19/2012
0.9/5.0
HORRIBLE

They have some really nice dresses, but if their service was just a little better they would do great. But no, they are horrible , we waited for a consultant for allmost an hour. And she didnt even help us, she sent us to search for dresses, and then she gave us 2 dressing rooms, and we never saw her again..
I will never buy anything there!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tomeca
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
David's Bridal, by far, had the biggest selection of both wedding dresses and bridesmaid dresses of any bridal shops that were in a moderate price range. When I went in to try dresses on for the first time, I went in with a list of styles I had seen on the website and the consultant was wonderful in bringing me every one that that I wanted to try on. They were very accommodating and I was able to find the dress of my dreams within my budget!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1318557094195-danaandmike2
Dana
Wedding:
6/16/2012
2.5/5.0
Best place to buy an inexpensive dress, but what you save in the cost of the dress doesn't make up for the lack of professionalism. The worst customer service!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jamjohnson
Wedding:
6/2/2012
4.0/5.0
My wedding gown and bridemaid dresses were beautiful!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1333165737681-invitationfront
Xiaoqin
Wedding:
6/2/2012
4.7/5.0
Solid option for bridesmaids dresses. Especially easy when all the bridesmaids are from different cities.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
My mom, sister, and I had a great time shopping for my wedding dress and bridesmaid dresses at David's Bridal! We were able to walk in and a few hours later walk out with my dress, veil, bridesmaids dresses, AND my mother's dress all picked out. It was great! I looked beautiful on my wedding day and didn't spend a fortune. I couldn't be happier.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1309740774240-img2105
lauren
Wedding:
3/31/2012
4.8/5.0
I tried on about 20 gowns until I found the perfect one for me. Susan at David's Bridal in Dedham is amazing. She knew exactly what would look great on me. I ordered my gown a year before my wedding and, unfortunately gained some weight due to a medication I was prescribed. When I tried on my gown 6 months before the wedding, it didn't fit AT ALL. I went in to see Susan and she immediately calmed me down, sent the dress back and ordered me a new one at NO CHARGE. The ladies in alterations were wonderful as well. My dress was chiffon over satin and required each layer be bustled separately. They took extra time to make sure it looked perfect and to teach my mother how to buste it properly. On my wedding day I looked spectacular!! I took advantage of their charge account so was able to pay for my dress and accessories over six months with no interest. I highly recommend David's in Dedham. Make sure you ask for Susan!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1334067155147-weddingalbumpicturesmarch252012212
Auntie0626
Wedding:
3/25/2012
3.8/5.0
Well,it's David's Bridal and I was a middle aged Bride,so I guess I just felt a bit uncomfortable there.My salesperson was rather rude,but who cares she helped me pic a gorgeous dress and veil.It really looked great on.I had alterations done there,but they cost more than the dress so I would recomend if you do need alterations ,go elsewhere.To be fair though the dress fit me perfectly.....I just find David's Bridal and their employees (not allbut some) to be abrasive and a bit unprofessional.Again i did love my dress and don't regret buying it there.What I do regret is I didn't have a good experience trying on dresses etc......
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deborah & Rich
Wedding:
3/24/2012
4.3/5.0
I actually bought my dress at the DB in Framingham but the dress itself was STUNNING! It was from the Vera Wang White collection and the fit and quality were amazing!!! I knew beforehand that this was the dress I wanted and thankfully it fit perfectly, the sales people were slightly scattered but that was expected on a saturday morning! The Vera collection is by far the best offered at DB!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sassandbuttercream
Wedding:
3/2/2012
3.9/5.0
the service I received when I went to purchase my dress was sub-par, bordering on rude, but the dress itself was not only gorgeous but also reasonably priced. the Vera Wang collection at DB is to die for. I had to have it altered at the last minute, but it was easy to do so.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
2/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Davids did a great job for the brides mades and flower girls dresses. (My dress was a gift from my godmother she had it custom made). They were very polite and everything was in and alterations were set well before my big day. I would definitley recommend them for your wedding dresses (nice selection as well).
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
heather
Wedding:
12/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Davids Bridal gives you the oppurtunity to get what you want without the pressure of trying a million other dresses on, the style you want the way you want it. the sales people are so nice in helping you find the right style color and selections are easy
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1311424081384-jml9694
bambina
Wedding:
11/11/2011
3.4/5.0
My shopping experience David's Bridal was great. Our salesperson knew exactly what styles I was looking for and she definitely listened to my needs. My dress along with 4 bridesmaids dresses all came in very quickly. Definitely under the amount of time they had estimated. The only thing that disappointed me was how my dress was given to us when we picked it up. They didn't take the dress out of the packaging and hang it in the dress bag. It was folded up in a tiny little bag and when asked about it they gave us the runaround.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1304984702439-kossisherwood079
Jamie
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
I had a great experience from the moment I found my dress. They were very helpful when ordering dresses for my sisters who are younger and always growing and did a great job with all the alterations for bride and my sisters as maids of honor.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jpscott
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.0/5.0
I had a good experience here - pretty much what you'd expect. The store is crowded, the salespeople can be a bit pushy, and it's a little hectic ... but I found a dress that I absolutely loved and it was a good deal.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
maemtgal
Wedding:
9/2/2011
3.4/5.0
Dress was stunning.....sales folks in the dress department were amazing and the alterations gals are out of this world.

the corporation as a whole has some very strange policies and ways of working.
I ordered something for my wedding that the store was out of stock in, it did not come in as promised by my wedding day and I was still charged saying "there were no returns" I have fought tooth and nail as I did not even have a product to return.....

seems they are very concerned about making their buck
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beckybaroo
Wedding:
7/21/2011
3.6/5.0
Although the associate who assisted me was great, I definitely feel as though I compromised on my dress (in the grand scheme of my wedding). It was inexpensive, pretty and flattering on my body type, but if I had to do it over I would have looked around a little more and tried to find something more unique.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelsey
Wedding:
7/2/2011
4.6/5.0
While many people look down on David's Bridal and call it the Walmart of Wedding Dresses, I found that to be perfectly okay! I did not want to (even though it was in our budget) spend over $500 for a wedding dress so I went with my Mom and MOH to David's Bridal and found my dress almost instantly. Of course, we went back three times before buying it (I found it a year before our wedding date and did not want to rush). I bought it on my third visit after bringing my mother-in-law and aunt in to check it out.

My dress was perfect -- with the help of David's Bridal alterations to pull it in and shorten it. It was all organza and had beading work on the side. My guests kept asking me where I got it and said it was gorgeous, when I told them David's Bridal and how much I paid for it (under $400) they could not believe it. :)

All 5 of my bridesmaid dresses also came from David's! I had bridesmaids of all shapes and sizes - from plus to petite and David's provided the ability to have all my girls try on the dresses to make sure they all felt comfortable in the dress... whereas other stores only had certain sizes to try on the dresses.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1310499038540-1stsmooch
Allison
Wedding:
7/1/2011
3.5/5.0
I went here to get my dress because we had a SUPER TIGHT budget for our wedding. They have a huge selection at fabulous prices. BUT you need to keep in mind where you are shopping - the reason they have such low prices is because you will be buying the dress you (and a lot of other women) try on (unless they need to order a different size for you or it's filthy & they can't clean it). My sales associate was very nice & helpful. I definitely recommend making an appt. f you want to go on a weekend. I stoppped by late on a week night to do an inital run through of dresses to narrow it down to a few then made an appt. to come back on a Sat. with my girls to pick The Dress. It was chaos on Sat. - one assistant assigned to too many customers - maybe it was due to prom season but I doubt it. I will say for alterations - go elsewhere! I should have known when someone was complaining the first time I was there. I too had an issue when picking up my dress (be smart & tell them your wedding is a week or two earlier that in actually is!) & so did another bride that night (her wedding was the next day). The women I dealt with in alterations were nice but it was ridiculously expensive, had to be fixed while I waited (3 hrs.), & was a hassle I didn't need!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg24
Melanie
Wedding:
4/30/2011
4.6/5.0
I had originally shopped at the David's Bridal in Nashua, NH. I had an awful experience. It was my first time trying on dresses. I had an idea of what I liked and went with a list that I wanted to see/try on. My consultant didn't bring anything on my list. I told her that I could not wear anything with a lot of lace or beading because my skin is so sensitive, I would end up a red, blotchy mess! The first 3 dresses she brought were exactly what I told her I could not wear! I ended up trying on THE dress but decided not to get it because I was so disappointed in the day.

My bridesmaids took me to the David's Bridal in Danvers, Ma and I had a completely different experience! My consultant was Alla and she was wonderful!! She listened to me and brought me a few dress that were on my list and few she thought I should try. The first dress she handed me was THE dress that I fell in love with at the NH store. She looked at me and said, I want you to try on as many dresses as makes you happy but I promise you, this is the dress for you. I knew it was the dress I wanted but tried on about 10 other dresses just because we were having so much fun! We ended up shopping for the bridal party that day too. The appointment was originally only for me. The store was busy, because it was a weekend but Alla did not rush us or make us feel like we were just a number. We ended up buying all of our dresses that day! Alla was amazing. She even called me on New Years Eve to wish me a happy new year and to make sure I was happy with everything!! I highly recommend working with her if you are able.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy K
Wedding:
4/9/2011
3.5/5.0
I went to David's Bridal for my gown and bridesmaids gowns. When I went for my gown my experience was very good but was disappointed when my consultant also had to help a flower girls from another bride she had previously helped so I did not feel I had her undivided attention even on a Friday night when there were really no other brides in the store. You get what you pay for. I also have heard horror stories about the alterations so I made sure to go somewhere else.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1290112122590-weddinghappycouple
Dulce24696
Wedding:
10/29/2010
3.2/5.0
Well I'm sure there are many horror stories with David's Bridal. Mine is mixed. I went for an official first dress shopping with both moms (mine & my mom-in-law) my MOH and bridesmaids and ended up falling in love with a dress. It was perfect and right within my budget. It showed up way earlier than expected but my issues were with the appointments and my bridesmaids dresses. If I set up an appointment, they keep us waiting and there's only one person working all the appointments while the rest of the staff stand around doing nothing (i'm not exaggerating because I've worked retail for years). I went in to try on my dress when it arrived and was left to fend for myself for a half hour until the only person working noticed I was still there waiting for the help I was promised. My girls got their dresses but they had a few snags along the way with the appointments (long wait times) and one girl almost didn't receive her dress on time. I got lucky that I liked a dress they carry but if it wasn't for money, I would've gone else where.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/4/2010
2.2/5.0
I would never use David's Bridal again. It took them 5, that's right 5, fittings to get my dress to fit. I am not that particular of a bride, so when I realized that they were not going to be able to get the hem right, I gave up. I really wish that I would have gone to any other tailor than them because they were horrible. The store was dirty and the staff unresponsive.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg10
DayraO
Wedding:
9/3/2010
4.0/5.0
I bought my dress at David's Bridal for my wedding on 9/3/2010. I loved it before I seen it in person and I loved it when I saw it in person. It was the 5th dress I tried on and the last because that was the one. I loved how it looked on me the first time I tried it on and the day of the wedding.

Thank you David's Bridal!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
I found my perfect dress and the alterations department did a great job! They are so nice and helpful and I really enjoyed my experience with them!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LemonPie
Wedding:
8/21/2010
2.8/5.0
I loved my wedding dress and my consultant Michele was AMAZING but that is as far as it went. A few of my bridesmaids had not so great customer service as well. Alterations were affordable and well done but the road to get there was a long and hard one. It is true that you get what you pay for. I was willing to forgo the bells and whistles to save some money and in the end I am glad I did.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1257953012729-img0954
Heather
Wedding:
6/12/2010
4.4/5.0
David's Bridal has seemed to be the dress and attire vendor for my family for the last 5 years or so for various different events so it was a no brainer that I would use them for my wedding gown. It was recommended to me that if you are going for the first time to browse and try on gowns that you go on a week day as you will get better service and more attention from staff. I did this and was very pleased with the few gowns I narrowed it down to. Then I went for a follow up trial with some of my girls on a weekend and had to fend for myself most of the time. However when I did make phone calls for questions or making appointments it was nothing but speedy and efficient.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1251775342670-krumenackeranddagostinoengagementphoto2008
MeredithInBoston
Wedding:
5/15/2010
4.0/5.0
I bought the dress at David's Bridal in Dedham (where I also had the final [complimentary] steaming) and had it altered at the store in Danvers.

Purchasing was great - I went in just to browse and came out with the dress 3 hours later. The salesperson was patient and helpful and provided dress styles I wouldn't have considered but later loved.

I went back another time with my bridesmaids for their dresses and didn't like the options and didn't feel like we got much attention at all. But it's a big national chain, sometimes you just have to be prepared for that.

The lower ratings are for my alterations in Danvers. The first alterations were okay, but when I went back the dress didn't fit right and they tried to tell me all sorts of things you DON'T tell a bride-to-be - that I must've gained 2 inches since the last fitting 2 months before (in my ribcage??!), that their measurements are always right and there was no way they were off, etc ... I was near tears and they didn't seem to have many suggestions. When I was concerned about popping out of the strapless dress they tried to convince me I'd be okay because no one dances with their arms high up in the air anyway (which would cause that to happen).

The final alterations were done well, but I left that appointment feeling horrible. They also made me take the dress home - since it was prom season, they didn't have enough room to store it til my wedding. I asked about getting it steamed again since it was wrinkled from all the alterations and they tried to convince me to come in on a Wednesday afternoon because they're too busy on the weekends (impossible when I work during the week in Boston). HOWEVER, when I took it to Dedham to be steamed on a Saturday they had no issues at all.

If you want to be hand-held through the process, go to a smaller bridal shop. If you are concerned about saving money and want convenient locations, to to David's.

PS-I danced the whole time at the wedding with my hands way up in the air (and felt ok thanks to lots and lots of fabric tape!!).
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kcn_jackson
Wedding:
5/2/2010
1.0/5.0
The staff here are very rude and it was very crowded!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1264135531311-jeffspromotion019
Cecelia
Wedding:
4/17/2010
3.2/5.0
I loved my dress, but they made it sound as though there was no way we could order our bridesmaid dresses online. They asked our time frame and then said there was no way we would get the dresses in time so we were forced to find whatever they had on the racks (one girl HAD to order a dress online and got it in plenty of time!). I felt like they just wanted to get rid of the leftovers. Not to mention the fact that AFTER I registered on the website and even after I bought my dress, I received phone calls almost everyday from a david's bridal rep asking me if I wanted to make an appt.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lydia
Wedding:
11/1/2009
4.9/5.0
David's bridal was very good. they told me pressing it would take 2 weeks and i said i was getting married in like 11 days they got it done sooo fast. they were very good. Ala was my helper and she was very sweet and helpful when it came to helping me pick my dress and veil. my dress was very beautiful. professionally the only thing i didn't like was that my dress came scrunched up in this air tight bag. which i understand it easier to ship however i wished it was a little bit more presentable when i went to take it out for a final fitting. overall they were very helpful and were good about being flexible and fitting all my needs.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
modernrose
Wedding:
10/9/2009
5.0/5.0
We ordered our invitations from David's Bridal. They came out beautiful. I loved them and couldn' have been happier with them. Everyone said how perfect they were. So I guess they were a big hit.
Services Used: Invitations
130x130_sq_1235263163390-happybirthday2007022
kwashington2009
Wedding:
9/18/2009
4.1/5.0
I loved the service the selection and the prices were reasonable. everyone was great. Make sure to make and appointment, they can be very busy at times but always very helpful....
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
onedirectioner
Wedding:
9/11/2009
5.0/5.0
I loved my dress and bridesmaids. The staff found exactly wanted i wanted!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
woodsey26
Wedding:
9/5/2009
3.8/5.0
Great dress for the money. Dress came in quickly and staff were very helpful. Staff sometimes a little rigid with trying on dresses. They don't like to let you take into the dressing room more than one at a time, but will bend if you are persistent. Otherwise, you have to wait in between trying on dresses for the attendant to come back to your fitting room and go back to where they put your other dresses aside to swap it for another and then come back to give it to you. You also run the risk that someone will put the dresses away that you took so long to pick out, but over all a great dress for a great price!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
arielh628
Wedding:
8/1/2009
1.3/5.0
For the Bridesmaids dresses we used 4 different David's Bridal --- and somehow they ALL sucked. No one knew what they were doing. 3 of the 5 dresses did not fit. The alterations women made the dresses different lengths based on the description "tea length". They tried to tell my bridesmaids to lose weight instead of alterations, as well as accusing them of gaining so much weight the dress would not shut in the back AT ALL. They were just all a disaster, no one knows what they are doing in that store. I highly recommend AGAINST David's Bridal, it's not worth the minimal discount for all the hassle.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
7/4/2009
5.0/5.0
Awesome experience. I absolutely LOVED my dress. The ladies were so easy to work with. Best flexibility ever when the day before they repressed my gown and were able to find a new dress for my mother and hem it within a few hours. That made her ery happy - she hated her original dress. The prices were very reasonable. I would definately recommend!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
2/15/2009
3.4/5.0
I loved my wedding dress, but I didn't love the process of getting it. I didn't like having to have the wedding consultants pick the dresses out for me and it was frustrating to have to come out of my dressing room every time to look in a mirror (none were provided inside the dressing room). After visiting the store twice, I ended up finding my dress on David's Bridal online.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cathay13
Wedding:
11/8/2008
3.3/5.0
Found the perfect dress within 2 hours, with all accessories.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margaret & Mike
Wedding:
11/7/2008
5.0/5.0
I have to say when i picked my girls to be in my wedding it was very hard to decide what kind of dress would i go with, but when i went on there website and saw that you can look at the different kinds of dress in which i pick the color apple it showed me the different kind of dresses that came in that color and sytles. I told my girls i want them to find a dress that ia going to make them feel comfortable and would like to wear again. I have to say David's Bridal was great they made sure that all of my dresses where in correct and made sure that they all came in on time. I have to say the different kind of styles dresses made my wedding look different and every one complimented on how it looked beautiful. I am very greatful for there service.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Birdie
Wedding:
10/12/2008
2.4/5.0
Buying a dress through David's Bridal is a very interesting experience. First, go in expecting the place to be overly hectic and crowded. No matter what day of the week I went in or what time of the day it was always quite chaotic. However, for the variety and prices, it was mostly worth braving the insanity. The dress I got was perfect and lovely and I was very happy that one of the saleswomen did find a dress that fit me perfectly but for the length right off the rack. That part went easily.

However, the alterations process? A NIGHTMARE. I went into this process alone. I had no bridal party and no one really to come with me which I thought wasn't a big deal. WRONG. Do not go to any fitting or appointment alone. The fitting may go smoothly but you WILL be treated third or fourth rate since you obviously aren't bringing alterations a lot of business. The tailoring on my dress was done to specifications and done well, thanks to Celeste, but every other person in that department treated me horrendously. When I went back for what I thought was another fitting to make sure the hem and bustle were correctly done I was informed I was taking the dress - which was wrinkled, missing beadwork and needed attention still - THAT DAY. I was alone, as mentioned before, and have limitations in regards to what I can carry yet women in the store pretty much threw my dress, not even properly on the hanger, at me and said tough, see ya.

I was in tears. It took leaving, having a long conversation with my now husband and his mother and returning to the store and speaking with the manager to get my dress finished and cared for properly.

If you can buy your dress there and have it altered elsewhere that actually cares about customer service, then it's great. It's a shame too, Celeste is absolutely amazing both at what she does and with customers. She remembered every detail of our meeting a month after the fact. Another bridal salon would be wise to scoop her up and save her from the insanity of that place.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs. P
Wedding:
10/11/2008
3.5/5.0
Pretty much what you expect from a chain store. There are the rude employees and the great ones. There was one woman who was excellent so we went back to her each time for fittings and whatnot and were happy. Very accomodating and creative in finding a way for me to bustle my veil so I could wear it all night like I wanted to (it was quite long). My dress was beautiful and just what I wanted.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SharonP
Wedding:
9/28/2008
4.0/5.0
While I was not expecting to find my dress at David's Bridal I was very happy with my dress and all the services provided by David's Bridal. The ladies were very helpful and nice. It was easy to shop at David's because they have EVERYTHING you need for your wedding. All in all it was a great experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
leigh
Wedding:
8/2/2008
1.6/5.0
This David's Bridal location butchered my dress after alterations. It no longer fit and there was "nothing that could be done" about it. I ended up going to another location (North Attleboro), and I bought a new dress 2 weeks before my wedding. They were so much more equipped to alter a dress, and I ended up with a beautiful dress that fit as it should. The Dedham location is the pits!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bostonbride143
Wedding:
6/28/2008
2.4/5.0
The only reason I would recommend David's Bridal is if you want a nice dress for a reasonable price. But you get what you pay for when it comes to their service (although this could just be in the Dedham store, which is the only one I was able to get to).
The customer service was awful. I went in just to pick up my shoes and it took them a half an hour to get to me, and even after I stood there, with a baby on my hip, waiting, I was polite and was still treated with a serious attitude by the employee behind the counter.
As for the fitting, the woman who was assisting me kept disappearing, and it was difficult to get what I needed when she wasn't around to help.
My dress was beautiful, but it could've been a disaster when my dress came in with champagne trim and not white trim! Thankfully I ended up liking it and it went well with the pool blue in the bridesmaids dresses.
Good quality dress, and for the money, you couldn't beat it. The shoes were also extremely comfortable, although the dye will run if you get them soaked, but the customer service was a major thumbs down!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debra
Wedding:
6/7/2008
3.8/5.0
The girl we worked with when shopping for my dress was wonderful. If you go there, ask for Tracy! The other times we went in the service was poor and you were left just hanging around. The management was excellent when needing to make changes with the bridesmaid dresses. When booking alterations make sure the appointments are scheduled correctly! I confirmed the appointments 3 times and they were still incorrect! My dress was beautiful and was altered perfectly.

Just make sure Tracy helps you!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
1375009201_thumb_6262da5faa25abfb7ddef141d20e0d1e
caitso
Wedding:
4/19/2008
4.0/5.0
The price just couldn't be beat for what we got! The invitations were on close-out and they still honored a 20% off coupon I recieved from when I purchased my dress. They were very helpful when it came to precision as they called me to verify some questionable input from the online form. The only drawback was that the style we picked did not have an outer envelope and the envelopes were thin for the invite size.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AdrianneFortes
Wedding:
2/14/2008
2.6/5.0
I was so excited when I got there for my scheduled appointment just to find out that there was 3 other brides sharing my space and my consultant at the same time. I purchased a dress and found out when I got it home that it was damaged. Half the sequence were gone, the buttons down the back were missing 4 out of the 15some of the lace work wasa damaged and when I called them on it they said becuse I took it out of the store they would not repair it for free. I would need to pay for it. They stated to me that because it left the store they couldn't be sure that I had not worn it and that is why it was damaged, I have to say that I purchased the dress at 5 pm the night before and was at the store the next morning before they even opened. I am a very short person and the dress was made for a fair tall person. Any person or seemstres would know that it had not been worn. It hadn't been fitted yet. So there was no way I had worn it. They were unhelpful. I will say that my consultant was great even though she was stretched thin and was tending to alot of people without help, she handled herself fabulously and with a great amount of patience and repsect for me and the others. Becuase of her and only because of her I may consider going to that particular shop again.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joelle519
Wedding:
9/23/2007
2.2/5.0
Loved the dresses, however... workers were VERY unprofessional. Just very unhelpful, would not reccomend if you are really into service.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mfuncha
Wedding:
9/15/2007
5.0/5.0
Loved both of my dresses. the sales associate was great and very understanding of be bring my entire family to help me try on dresses
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
9/9/2007
3.7/5.0
David's provided a beautiful gown for my hard to fit maid of honor. She looked lovely.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1215607757335-caketopper
Lovie
Wedding:
8/30/2007
4.8/5.0
I'd heard horror stories about dealing with David's Bridal so I really wanted to check out a ferw dresses and get it over with ASAP. I went in with the idea of what I wanted. My Mom went in with something totally different in her mind however lol. After trying on what seemed liked millions of dresses - I finally got to the one I wanted in the beginning and it was perfect. Every dress I tried on fit me to a T, I only needed about an inch taken up in the hem and a my french mustle added. I think went on an off night ( a Thursday) and pretty much had the entire shop to myself, there were maybe 3 other brides there. The attention of course was wonderful and everyone was very courteous. I found my dress the very first night in the first place I'd gone to and was thrilled. I waited it out until the following Monday to actually purchase the dress because I felt I flew threw the whole process. I returned on the following Saturday when it was a true madhouse there and tried on more dresses and went right back to the same one, went back on the following Monday and tried on a couple more for my bridesmaids and went back again to the same one. It was perfect and I had to stop playing with my emotions. Aside from the beauty that was my dress David's Bridal was very nice to me. I also found my girls dresses there, my tiara and my veil were both being discontinued but was perfect for my dress and style and for pretty much pennies! One thing I would say is if you know a good seamstress who can work with the intricate designs of wedding dresses/beading etc, price them for any alterations needed before allowing DB to do it. The alterations prices are outrageous! I knew what I wanted and needed and what I didn't so I didn't fall into the add on trap ( I am a DIY bride) and would use them again for other functions if necessary.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
8/18/2007
4.0/5.0
I got my wedding gown and my bridesmaid dresses at David's Bridal. I went in there with an idea of what I want and I left there with the gown of my dreams. Which happened to be completely different than what I thought I wanted. I was a little unhappy with the saleswoman who was working with me. She "wouldn't allow me" to get a certain dress in a certain size. She was a little too judgemental. And I wish it didn't take quite as long to alter a gown. Other than that everything was great. I got the gown of my dreams for the wedding of my dreams. Thats all that matters.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mknight279
Wedding:
7/27/2007
4.4/5.0
I used David's Bridal for my gown and for my attendant's gowns. The staff were extremely helpful and even though the store was very busy when we were there, we did not feel rushed.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katiria
Wedding:
7/21/2007
4.5/5.0
I trully enjoyed this experience. I had a consultant pick several gowns for me and it was hard to make a decision; they were all beautiful. But I picked the best gown for me and the look I was going for. I bought my gown and shoes; my other accessories were gifts from the family. I would highly recommend this venue!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kotin
Wedding:
7/1/2007
5.0/5.0
David's Bridal was great to work with. I wasn't even planning on buying a dress there, but I had such a great experience and I fell in love with my dress. The woman we worked with, Harriet H, was wonderful. She was so patient and helpful. She was so perceptive about what I was looking for, what I liked and what were the most flattering styles for me. When going for my dress fitting the seamstress, Enza, was so patient. It took almost 3 hours just to pin the dress in order to alter it. She did such an amazing job and never tried to cut corners just to speed up the fitting. It was all around a great experience and I got so many compliments on what I gorgeous gown I had.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
6/16/2007
2.4/5.0
My dress was a very good price. The service was pretty poor. When I found my beautiful gown, the sales woman proceeded to put the vail on me and the tiara and the undergarments. Normally, that would be great...but they were completely over-priced. I only looked at the price of the dress and it was very low, so I was very happy. I decided to get the whole shebang because it all looked so great! Of course, when I got to the cashier, she rang everything up and I was so disappointed that it was all so expensive. I specifically told the sales woman that I was on a budget, but she obviously wasn't looking out for me, but for her own pocket.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
8/19/2006
2.6/5.0
I had the most terrible time here with my dress. Especially with alterations. I had it altered twice. First because it was taken in too much and second because it was let out too much. I was scared I wouldn't have my dress for my wedding and that if I did it would not be perfect. No bride should have to feel that way.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Clueless Bride
Wedding:
7/22/2006
2.8/5.0
Decent place for bridesmaids' dresses- they provide a good choice of colors and styles, allowing you to coordinate one or the other, while leaving room enough for the bridesmaids to choose a little. The only pitfalls are ones natural to large chains- the service can be a tad impersonal (my bridesmaids were more useful than the salesgirls) and not every size fits everyone. That's David's weakest point, by the way- their alterations system is bad on time, which can cause panic. My recommendation is that anyone needing alterations on a David's dress should get it done by a gifted friend or familiar seamstress, since their dresses tend to be simple and easy to alter.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
6/10/2006
3.0/5.0
I have heard "horror" stories about David's Bridal but I had a good experience. I purchased my gown and bridesmaid dresses.
I did not get alterations done at David's since I had not heard positive feedback regarding their alterations.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
6/10/2006
2.5/5.0
If you don't have an appointment on a weekend... forget it!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leaf
Wedding:
11/26/2004
3.8/5.0
I have heard many horror stories about David's Bridal, but I would never shop for a wedding dress anywhere else! When you realize that you are only going to wear this dress for 8-12 hours of your life, there is no point in paying thousands of dollars for a designer dress. The dresses at David's are pretty, they are made fairly well, and you still feel like a princess without going broke. David's has tons of dresses to choose from and their consultants are knowledgeable, but not too pushy. The best thing about David's. particularly when outfitting your wedding party is that they are national AND they have tons of sizes. So many of my friends have been bridesmaids in weddings where you could only try on a size 6 and then guess what your size would look like. David's is really the best.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bmxmom09
Wedding:
8/28/2004
4.5/5.0
I was treated wonderfully i feel they were a little high priced but all in all i was happy
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Pattie, our consultant, was wonderful and the value and quality of my gown was awesome! Cannot thank them enough for such a great experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
excellent selection of dresses. Alterations were well done and completed in a fast amount of time.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg19
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.2/5.0
I bought the pick up ball gown with corset bodice and broach detail. The bodice was somewhat wrinkled and DID NOT look in person like it does on the website. David's Bridal claimed to have steamed it, but it still looked wrinkled. Luckily my photographer said she can air brush it to make it look like the picture on the website. It was a great dress for the price ($200.00), but if you are planning on spending over $2,000 anyway on a dress, I recommend that you go to a privately owned boutique - you will probably get much better service.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.1/5.0
The seamstress was amazing. Other than that, I wouldn't go back. They were rude and unprofessional.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.5/5.0
very helpful alot of styles to choice from.
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Invitations
Bg17
Anonymous
Wedding:
[Private]
3.9/5.0
We got our brides maids dresses from them and I love them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.8/5.0
I had mixed results at David's as the customer service fluctuated so dramatically from visit to visit.

During my first visit, the consultant was fantastic. She was very attentive. As I tried on dresses, she asked me questions about what I liked or didn't like, and then brought back other dresses that had features similar to what I liked. In this way I tried on probably 30 dresses and was able to narrow my choices down to 3.

On another visit, I had a different consultant who seemed unable to answer questions such as how the different styles of dresses might be bustled.

My experience with the alterations staff was fantastic. Everyone I worked with was so positive and great. The underbustle for my dress which had pickups came out perfectly. When bustled, the back of the dress completely mirrored the way the pickups in the front fell and didnt' interfere with the intricate beading on the back of the dress.

My experience at the store when going with my bridesmaids was poor. The consultant brought us to a dressing room and left. During the couple of hours we were there, she probably checked on us twice. I had to run and bring all the dresses to my bridesmaids, different sizes, and accessories myself.

Overall, I would say that if you're looking to save some money, but still get a great dress, David's is a good fit. The service may not be as attentive as an expensive boutique, but the value is great.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1377122947949-img0381
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
My consultant Michelle was the greatest she took good care of my bridal party plus myself on different occasion when i couldn't decide what dress i wanted.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jasmine
Wedding:
7/4/2003
3.6/5.0
Good enough, great price.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
B4
mrsb
Wedding:
5/29/1999
3.2/5.0
Loved my dress. Service was average. Nothing to complain about really, but nothing to rave about either.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
890 Providence Hwy, Dedham, MA 02026 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Davids Bridal
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo