Nophoto-130

Davids Bridal

Tonawanda , NY

LOCATION

1204 Niagara Falls Blvd.
Tonawanda, NY US 14150 (map)

PHONE

716-834-6101

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

REVIEWS

3.3
out of 5.0
3.1/5.0
3.1/5.0
3.0/5.0
3.9/5.0
3.1/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Everyone here was great. This was the first place I went to look for a dress and the fourth one I tried on was the one. I had my alterations done here too and they did an amazing job. I had so many compliments on my dress. Wonderful people to work with.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sabrina
Wedding:
5/31/2013
3.2/5.0
I had both good and bad experiences with David's bridal during the course of planning my wedding. I had one employee there who was extremely rude and condescending and completely ruined my wedding experience. She literally was no help at all with getting dresses or giving ideas. I vowed not to return to the store after this however after looking for bridesmaid dresses for 3 months and not finding anything I returned there for 1 last shot. This time I found a consultant, Danielle, who was fantastic! She was a great help with choosing dresses both styles and accessories that would work well for my bridal party considering they were all very different shapes and sizes. She made the whole experience fun! Because we had such a great experience with the new consultant we returned there to purchase my mothers dress for the wedding and my nieces prom dress. I ended up buying my wedding gown elsewhere after my initial bad experience however attempted to get it altered at David's who stated they are unable to alter dresses not purchased there because if something goes wrong they cant replace it. which I can understand however It would have been nice if they had asked me if the dress was purchased there when I called for the appointment. But it worked out ok because I had to get my daughters dress altered too so it wasn't a wasted trip ...just stressful.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nezzie
Wedding:
10/7/2012
4.8/5.0
I was a little apprehensive about going to David's Bridal because of all the negative feedback. My suggestion is to make an appt for a weekday and you will have personalized attention. I had a GREAT experience. This is my first marriage and i wanted to make sure i had the perfect dress. I found it! It was beautiful. My consultant Sharlene was very attentive to me-as were others in the store. I was greeted with a smile as soon as i walked through the door. I was even 45 minutes late because i was travelling from Canada and it posed no issues with them. My consultant advised me that trying on too many dresses could be too overwhelming and could prove to be disastrous when it came to making a decision. I found that to be good advice. By the time i tried on my fourth dress i was in love in love with two of them....i heeded her advice and went with the one my mommy picked. They gave me a bell to ring to let everyone know that i picked my dress. I am happy that David's Bridal was able to make this part of my wedding planning very pleasant.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg5
Michelle
Wedding:
7/8/2012
3.2/5.0
I loved the dress and the price for it because it was the last one, happened to fit me and needed basically no alterations. But thats rare for people. The employees were basically rude, mainly the manager. The lady that helped me was wonderful but again the manager and any one else I spoke with rude. I am 25 and look like Im 16 and I felt that the employees were ruder to me because i looked young, i did not appreciate that! I only reccommend it because you can find cheap dresses if you look.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/9/2012
1.8/5.0
The end result was great, beautiful dress, great price, and fit perfectly. They are such a pain to deal with though. Extremly busy all the time and very understaffed. No one could ever spell my name right even though I told several different people to correct it. This resulted in them arguing with me, my bridesmaids, flower girl, and mother trying to tell me that I never got my dress there bc I'm not in the system. VERY FRAUSTATING. They cancelled my fitting 1week before my weddding bc they said they were too busy. When I rescheduled I waited 1hr before anyone helped me and I had to have my fitting in the dressing room instead of on one of the steps/stages near a mear bc they were being used by girls going to prom. I think brides should have a little more priority then prom girls.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
6/1/2012
4.4/5.0
My perfect dress wasn't available at the store so they had it special ordered for me. The alterations were also tailored so that none of the detailing at the bottom of the dress was lost. Unfortunately, when I picked up the dress, I didn't try it on right away. When I finally put it on, it was too late and the dress was about an inch too long still. So I was tripping all over it all night at my wedding. I suppose it's my fault for not trying it on at the store but I was just too busy. The dress was still beautiful, though, and I received many compliments on it. I didn't have any disaster stories about the length of it, but I just feel bad that it was dragging all over the floor all night. Other than that, David's Bridal was very professional and friendly.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hojnackc
Wedding:
2/18/2012
2.6/5.0
The dresses for the bridesmaids were all different. We had some difficulty locating one of the dresses. The girl who needed the dress contacted the supplier directly, but when they shipped the dress which was suppose to be a size 6 they shipped a size 2 instead. The bridesmaid had the dress altered to fit, but this was a huge inconvenience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sparkles
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.4/5.0
Dress was beautiful, alterations perfect but not alot of time spent with bride at initial appt to find dress
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
crista
Wedding:
8/20/2011
1.7/5.0
The people were rude and very unhelpful!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mckenzie
Wedding:
8/13/2011
2.5/5.0
This is where we purchased the BM's dresses for my wedding, as I knew in advance that I did not want to work with them for my wedding gown. The staff was rude, unprofessional and less than helpful. We were basically treated as though we were an inconvenience to them. The only positive thing that I can say is when we had a slight emergency situation with a dress not fitting they did take us within the hour to come in and have the dressed pinned. Overall, I would not go back there for anything.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelley
Wedding:
6/18/2011
3.0/5.0
I love my dress. However, the experience was LACKING. I am from Canada and I went with my bridal party to get myself a dress and to get them dresses. The woman that was working with us kept distracting my bridesmaids whenever I'd want to show them a dress to size them or just to show them other dresses. This made me angry. She also commented on my weight and some other my friends weight! (One is a size two!) I was sad leaving, happy to have a dress but sad to have missed out the 'experience'.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs.Faulks
Wedding:
10/10/2010
1.4/5.0
I got an awesome dress, but OMG they were a pain the my rear. I ordered the under garment from them. The first time it came in.....it was completely wrong. Because it was so close to my first fitting, they wanted to resize me. Fine whatever. So they did and told me I needed a bigger size. Okay. I trusted them. (Big mistake). The correct style came in, but it did not fit (way too big). I didn't try it on until my fitting. When I called to let them know it didn't fit, they said I couldn't return it. I WAS SOOOOOO MAD! After talking to 3 different people, I finally got my money back.

Even before this, I had three colors for my girls. Each girl was a different color. I said I wanted them to only try dresses that were available in these three colors. So we found one that looked good on all three girls. When my one girl went to order it, they said the dress did not come in that color. They had to "special order" it, and it would take over 12 weeks which at the time meant 3 days before my wedding! It came in earlier, but it was added stress that a stressed bride DID NOT NEED!


I did love my dress and it wasn't too expensive. If only I could get the dress with out the other BS. Also, I went else where for my alterations. I had heard way too many negative feedback.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg15
beelo
Wedding:
9/5/2010
4.2/5.0
I really enjoyed my experience! I got a beautiful dress at an affordable price. I had a very nice consultant as well. The atmosphere may not be the same as the fancier boutiques, but then, the price will be much more reasonable. Also, take the afternoon off of work & go during the week - it wasn't hectic or busy at all like Saturdays... Besides that, my dress came in in less than a month. I highly recommend David's for the un-fussy bride!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg19
supermoo2003
Wedding:
7/16/2010
2.7/5.0
Go to the one in Hamburg. The Tonawanda one tried selling me a dress 3 sizes to big just so they could make money on altering it. Drove to Hamburg they ordered my dress and told me i needed no alterations!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krystal
Wedding:
7/3/2010
4.4/5.0
Very nice to work with at first, a little less interested in the customer once the wedding gown was bought though. Still helped with picking out the bridesmaids attire, but less interested then. Got the alterations done elsewhere as the cost seemed high for them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christina
Wedding:
6/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Loved working with davids bridal. Had a dress picked out but kept thinking that maybe there was another one just as perfect. they worked with me and in the end helped me realize that my first choice was the one. and i bought my dress during a sale, so it was like 100 bucks off!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Valerie
Wedding:
6/4/2010
5.0/5.0
I found my perfect dress and didn't even know it was a $99 gown! Shannon was awesome and very patient with me after trying on 8 different dresses. We found the one though, and i couldn't be happier!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kayla
Wedding:
9/12/2009
2.0/5.0
I wanted to buy my dress from David's Bridal because they are so convenient. To avoid any problems I made an appointment well in advanced but was still met with a long delay with a flustered sales attendant that was dedicating her time to me AND another bridal party. For my bridesmaids (2) I was given 1 very small dressing room with NO check in/help until they were done trying on 7 of the dresses I had picked out. The Sales attendant then tried to sell my girls dresses in sizes too small. When the dresses came in I was given email notice - which went into my spam. No one called. When *I* called them to check on dress status they were put out that I hadn't picked up the dresses sooner.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katelevi
Wedding:
6/13/2009
2.4/5.0
BUYING YOUR WEDDING DRESS IS SUPPOSE TO BE A GIRLS DREAM, BUT IT WAS MY NIGHTMARE. WHEN I WENT TO TRY ON DRESSES THE SALES GIRL HAD NO SHOES ON CARRYING A BOTTLE OF WATER(SHE WAS NOT PROFESSTIONAL AT ALL) NEEDLESS TO SAY I CALLED THAT NIGHT MADE ANOTHER APPT NOT TO HAVE THAT GIRL AGAIN. I WENT BK A FEW WKS LATER AND FOUND THE DRESS I WANTED, BUT HAD TO STILL COME BK AND SHOW MY AUNT. SO WE WENT BK AND WHO DO I GET THE GIRL I ASKED TO TO HAVE:(
AS FOR MY BRIDESMAID DRESSES, THEY SCREWED THOSE UP WHEN EVERYONE ORDERED THEM I HAD TO LEAVE WORK MID DAY AND GET IT IN ORDER. HOWEVER ONE OF THE MANAGER S HELPED ME WAS VERY HELPFUL, AND GAVE ME A DISCOUNDT ON THE DRESSES THAT THEY SCREWED UP.
DAVIDS HAS GREAT DRESSES BUT SOME OF THERE SALES GIRLS NEED MORE TRAINING ON HOW TO MAKE BUYING A WEDDING DRESS THE BEST DAY OF A GIRLS LIFE.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bozklf
Wedding:
11/28/2008
3.9/5.0
My dress, bridal party dresses, and the mother of the bride dress were purchased from Davids. They were easy to work with and priced great!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1224872952623-cutthecake
tri_emt
Wedding:
10/11/2008
0.5/5.0
Where to begin. I started looking at the David’s in Tonawanda (their Buffalo store) and ended up buying my dress at the Hamburg store. They were VERY unhappy that I switched stores even though the first two times I went I didn’t pick out my dress. It was the very last time I went that I found a dress that I loved (which was the last one in my size that they had). But because I had gone several times without making an apt no one wanted to help me because the initial person who helped me got the sale for the dress. When I went back to get the bridesmaids dresses it was an even bigger mistake. Its hard because there are not many places around where you can get dresses for wedding at a reasonable price (if you call $150 for a one time only dress reasonable). It was so busy in the store that we had to fend for our selves. The sales person who took care of me was amazing but she had 3 brides and 5 wedding parties at one time that she was trying to help out. Thankfully my wedding party was able to take care of them selves. I also had one person from out of state that needed to go to her local David’s and get fitted. She told them that the wedding was out of Buffalo and that she needed to get fitted there and order the dress in Buffalo so that the dresses came from the same die lot. They ordered it out of that store and Buffalo/Hamburg had no idea what she had even ordered the dress. Thankfully everything worked out but the Buffalo store told me it was my fault if it had not matched up because it was my responsibility to make sure everything was set. Enough about the dresses now onto alterations!

WHAT A JOKE! I had all intentions of not using David’s for alteration purposes but after the 4th seamstress they said that the dress could not be altered because of all the beading on the bottom of the dress. When I went back to David’s (I had an apt) I had to stand around for 30 min before the women took care of me. Not only did she speak broken English but so did the other seamstress who was working with her. I wanted sleeves put onto my dress to help cover my arms and they told me that it could not be done. When I went back for the first fitting I stood there for another hour because someone who didn’t have apt was helped before me. When I finally got to put the dress on it was so messed up I didn’t know what to do. I was less then 2 weeks from my wedding and the dress had uneven hem lines and was up to my neck thanks to them securing the straps that came with the dress way to short. I stayed calm and gave them the day to fix it. 2 days later I went back and put the dress on. The hem lines were now lined up, but one side was way shorter then the other side. I cried and a different seamstress told me it would be another few days for them to fix it. I had an apt that night to have sleeves put on (which they said could not be done) so they agreed to fix it right there and then. 3 hours later with my bridesmaid sitting there with me they brought it out. I was still unhappy but had to deal because I needed to leave. On the day of the wedding the sides of my dress touched the floor and the front was really short. I ended up ripping the side of my dress not to mention trip on it well dancing because they didn’t do a good job. It cost me almost $300 for alterations alone and they did nothing to compensate for screwing it up. Travel to NYC or somewhere else and don’t use David’s unless you have to. It was a horrible experience and I would not recommend it to anyone. Many nights of sleep lost because of there insensitivity towards my wedding party.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1209433638499-2446539239_769e9d84ed
Joanne
Wedding:
8/9/2008
3.9/5.0
The staff were very friendly and helpful and showed me right where my sizes would be and in what order everything was in. I grabbed a number of dresses and the lady who helped me was sure to put them in my changeroom along with a bustier bra and crinoline. I found my perfect dress off the rack and in my perfect size too. The lady even helped me match up a beautiful veil and tiara that match the dress to a tea. Great service!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stephanie
Wedding:
8/8/2008
3.4/5.0
My wedding gown was really nice and we got it at a great price. The bridesmaids dresses were at a great price too and great quality. I really liked how they give a discount if the bride gets their dress there. I really don't like how busy they are and how little help that we received. The way that my family is we were fine with doing things on our own but it was still annoying.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.5/5.0
David's Bridal obviously has the power of a national business. By this i mean, we were able to pay for my dress, etc. over a year with no interest and they have tons of dresses at every price range. My beefs with David's are this: They almost insist you have an appointment, they didn't seem to like me coming and browsing. I can understand that they want to give you attention when you want to try things on, but to just come get an idea I did not feel welcome. Then once I "made an appointment" (i.e. make the mistake of giving them my phone number) They constantly hounded me about buying bridesmaids dresses (which I did...from a different David's...apparantly their computer systems aren't linked at all). And were just relentless. Here are my suggestions: Make an appointment before you even think about setting foot in the store and buy your bridesmaid dresses and your dress at the same place (and same time if possible) to aviod phone hassle!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelly
Wedding:
7/19/2008
2.8/5.0
I got my dress at this location during the $99 sale. Although they are not consistantly helpful, I was able to make my purchase. Do not get sucked into their deals to buy your accessories that day for 10% off, you can get them from other stores for much cheaper!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
saucyonioneater
Wedding:
9/28/2007
3.3/5.0
Make sure you schedule an appointment to get fitted as close to the wedding as possible. Your weight will fluctuate!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
knenni
Wedding:
8/4/2007
2.9/5.0
They were fine with my dress, two of my bridesmaids dresses were the wrong color but they were quick to re-order.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
paula
Wedding:
8/4/2007
4.0/5.0
I bought my wedding dress and veil here. They were easy to work with. I bought my veil for 25$ and my dress for around 800$. The veil was marked down from like 125$ I felt like a princess...they did my alterations, and fittings all within about a months time. No complaints here.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Glenna
Wedding:
8/4/2007
3.6/5.0
My dress was beautiful, and I only tried it on because of a recommendation from the staff. Without their help, I may not have found such a beautiful dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jova
Wedding:
7/7/2007
4.2/5.0
Ok ladies listen up. You can be beautiful for cheap. It can be done without compromising style. My approach to this whole thing was I'm wearing it once and I'd rather have a beautiful dining room set. So I went to David's Bridal in Buffalo NY and thought that the $99 bridal sale was over, so I tried on several dresses that I had seen on the website, to my surprise they looked horrible on me. Lesson one: be open to other styles! Tried on the second dress that was one my sister picked out and fit like a glove, one thing I wasn't too keen on was the sweetheart neckline, which was then remedied by my mom taking some off the train and slapping it on, add some beading and not a soul knew the difference. The sales person was a woman named Devon, who was a sweet heart. The day was long and frustrating trying on dresses was to my surprise emotional and then Devon came into the fitting room and told me the dress that I was considering, which was originally $520 was on sale for $99! I immediately said "wrap it up". It was a strapless a-line gown, when originally I wanted a simple sheath. Keep your mind open and bring the people you love.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krystal
Wedding:
6/30/2007
4.4/5.0
Bought my wedding dress as well as the bridesmaid's dresses here. They were very willing to work with us, gave us a lot of time and really made me feel special throughout all our fittings.

I def reccommend them!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea71600
Wedding:
10/21/2006
2.0/5.0
If I could review just a specific person I would (I worked with a wonderful lady who was very helpful) overall as a company I wasn't overwhelmed. After my first fitting, I tried on my dress and there was big pucker in the bust area. The "seamstress" there attempted to fix it (after I waited a half hour there) and after about five minutes of trying, she concluded that I would just have to live with it because there was nothing she could do. I pretty much had to refuse to take the dress off and sit in their fitting area until they decided that lo and behold they could fix it, it was just going to take more time than they had initially been willing to giv me. All this for a $75 alteration price tag, and I found out later that several friends had gone elsewhere for their alterations and weren't charged nearly as much.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
10/21/2006
1.5/5.0
I bought my mothers dress here for my wedding along with her shoes and we got them died to match. I thought it was ridiclous how un attentive they are even after they made a mistake.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
m&c
Wedding:
4/15/2006
3.5/5.0
Great dress for low cost!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1212841599781-624470869_l
Stacy
Wedding:
11/12/2005
4.2/5.0
I planned my wedding in 2 months and David's did whatever it took to get my dress ordered and altered by the time my wedding date came around. They also made sure that all of the girls had their dresses on time as well. They were Amazing!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
joshuaswife
Wedding:
9/10/2005
3.9/5.0
I only gave 3 stars for the value because i found the dresses to be very expensive. if i would have had more time i would have tried other stores to compare prices. but the people who work there were a great help. they helped my mother and i look for dresses and also brought dresses to me in the dressing room.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
thatbluegirl
Wedding:
6/25/2005
3.6/5.0
I was attracted to David's Bridal because of all the advertisements I saw for their $99 sales. When I went there-there really wasn't much available in the sale that appealed to me. I kept shopping and shopping and finally it was about 4 months before my wedding and I figured, I better get a dress.

I don't know if all bridal shops are like this, but it was craziness in there. I was directed to a dressing room by a girl who was supposed to be there to help me, but she was also "helping" 5 other women. I finally found "the one" and when I inquired it had to be special ordered. I was told it would only take a few weeks and they would call. The one I found was NOT $99 either.

My wedding was in June. The last week of April, I still hadn't heard anything so I called them and was told the dress had arrived a week ago. Thanks for calling! I opted not to have tailoring or pressing done by them as it seemed over-priced. I also bought my tiara and veil elsewhere. Rip off for a veil! You can buy the supplies at JoAnn fabrics and make one (or have one made) for about $10-15 bucks.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
thegirl360
Wedding:
4/24/2004
1.6/5.0
I've used David's for several weddings, my own, my sister's, and several friends. I cringe now when a friend asks me to be in their wedding and they mention David's. Every single time there are problems. I was lucky with my wedding, this went fairly smooth, though they did not honor the appointment times appropriately, and seemed annoyed that we were in the store at all. The reason we used David's was the price, and I will admit they are affordable and have a large selection that you can't get at other stores. The general ambience is chaotic, and the staff is only friendly and helpful if they think they'll get a lot of money. A friend of mine only wanted to get her bridesmaid dresses there, and recieved the cold shoulder. We were left on our own, and it was NOT that busy. There was the distinct impression that because she didn't buy her wedding dress from them, that she was a waste of time. Avoid David's unless you have no choice.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kelly
Wedding:
7/14/2001
0.9/5.0
very unhappy with the service. I was looking for the most importatnt dress iwould ever buy and i felt as if i was a bother to the women working there. They were rude. The price to alter the dress was outrageous_i took it elsewhere and refused to buy my braidmaids dresses at David's.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mjkohl83097
Wedding:
8/30/1997
5.0/5.0
I was looking for a certain style. I was given dresses to look at per my request as well as a few the Attendent thought I might like. I ended up going with a style that was suggested instead of what I "thought" I would look good in. I found this very helpful and was very pleased.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
1204 Niagara Falls Blvd., Tonawanda, NY 14150 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Davids Bridal
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220