130x130_sq_1215096264931-luminarytent

Decatur House on Lafayette Square

Washington , DC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1610 H Street, NW
Washington, DC US 20006 (map)

PHONE

202-842-0920

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Recognized as one of the top event and wedding venues by the Washingtonian since 1999, Decatur House offers the ideal balance of historical significance and classic Washington style.... Read more
Recognized as one of the top event and wedding venues by the Washingtonian since 1999, Decatur House offers the ideal balance of historical significance and classic Washington style. Whether entertaining in the courtyard surrounded by lavish green gardens, the Carriage House with stunning vaulted ceilings, or the elegant historic parlors, Decatur House provides an unrivaled setting for your special event.

For more than 180 years, the most important names in politics, business and society have gathered to celebrate and mingle in the shadow of the White House. At Decatur House, we welcome you to continue the tradition of fine Washington entertaining with your special event, holiday party, conference or wedding reception. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1249585215977-fisheyetentlow
130x130_sq_1249585479665-longtable
130x130_sq_1249585507415-cyceremony3
130x130_sq_1249585578212-isesyellow
130x130_sq_1249585642993-dhslide0097
130x130_sq_1249585710555-dance1
130x130_sq_1249585733837-outfrontkiss

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joanna
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We were lucky enough to have our wedding reception at the Decatur House the past September. It is an absolutely lovely and unique spot and we couldn't have been happier with the way everything worked out. We held our cocktail hour in the Carriage House and then had our seated reception in their courtyard under a tent. I always dreamed about having a white tent for my wedding and this was the perfect location for it while still allowing us to stay in the city. The staff was very helpful throughout the whole process, and even provided complimentary tours of the historic part of the house during our cocktail hour. Renting the venue is a little on the pricey side, but if you take into consideration that you can use a historic building (steps away from the White House!) and that the money goes towards the preservation and upkeep of the place, it does make it worth it. Having your wedding at Decatur House makes you feel like a little part of history, which just makes your wedding day feel so much more special!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We loved Decatur House for our wedding. It was just the perfect venue! We used the historic parlours for the cocktail hour which are beautiful and very Washington. And we used the courtyard for our ceremony and reception. We had perfect weather which helped, but the space is gorgeous. The staff is extremely professional and easy to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
10/6/2012
4.7/5.0
The Decatur House is a beautiful venue with talented and responsive staff. As venues go in D.C. they have limited restrictions but there still are a few when it comes to vendors. We loved celebrating our wedding at the Decatur House and couldn't have been happier with how everything turned out!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystacular
Wedding:
5/26/2012
4.4/5.0
The Decatur House was a beautiful location for our wedding. We utilized the entire space (historic museum, courtyard, and carriage house). It created a nice flow and change of pace for having the ceremony and reception in one place. The staff were very easy to communicate with leading up to the event. The space is really gorgeous and conveniently located. I gave 3.5 for value and flexibility because it was very expensive in the first place (and we got the pre-renovation rates) and everything was an additional fee. For example renting the historic house was extra, unlocking the piano in the historic house cost more than hiring the pianist, etc. And since it is a historic site they were particular about which vendors to use, how things could be hung, where guests could take their drinks, etc. I'm very glad we did it at the Decatur House, just be aware that working with a historic site has its upsides and downsides.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karolina
Wedding:
11/13/2011
4.2/5.0
The Decatur House is a beautiful and unique space to hold your wedding. I chose it for very different reasons that most people chose their site. I wanted something within walking distance from my Church and didn't want to hold it at a hotel. I also liked it because I hadn't had any friends marry there.

The site is pricey and you do have to pay for the tent. I will say the tent is lovely and once you get the right flowers and table linens it looks stunning inside. I was also very impressed by the staff that was working that night. There was a great team of docents and others that really made our wedding night go smoothly.

If you decide to go with this location I recommend getting a top notch caterer. You have to bring everything in and the space can be tricky to work with. You want to have someone that knows the location up and down. Decatur has excellent vendors that it has listed on its preferred vendor list. I'd also recommend paying extra to have cocktails in the historic house. The second floor was just renovated and it is gorgeous and unique.

The only downside about Decatur for me was the Carriage House. I don't love how it looks inside and I think if you want it to look great, it costs quite a bit of money to get it to that point. I loved our cocktail hour in the historic home and dinner in the tent, but I just didn't like how the carriage house looked. I will say it mattered less, because I was dancing the whole time and I'm not sure anyone was really paying attention.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
I wanted a unique venue with some type of outdoor space and found the Decatur House and fell in love. It was the perfect venue for our wedding. Arioth Harrison is very nice and super responsive & helpful. The Decatur House has two great spaces: The Courtyard and the Carriage House.

The Decatur House is very flexible with letting you set up however you want and you can bring in whatever decorations you would like. We used the courtyard area for our seated dinner and the carriage house for our cocktail hour and then dancing.

The outdoor courtyard area is beautiful, especially in the Summer when the plants and flowers are fully blooming. If you have over 75 guest (I believe that’s the number) you need to have the tent up (Provided by Sugar Plum Tents – AC, Fans, and heaters are available options). The tent is absolutely beautiful and can be enhanced with various types of lighting. (We had uplighting and hung a chandelier in the middle). We were lucky enough to get beautiful weather so we could take the side walls off. It was beautiful. The carriage house space is wide open with pale yellow walls that would look nice with any type of décor.

Guided tours of the Historic house were provided by staff members, which is a nice bonus for out-of-town guests. (We posted frames at the bars that stated, “Tours of the Decatur House available upon request at the reception desk” – I would suggest also including this in your program or on menu cards so more guests are aware of this option).

The front entrance to the Decatur House is very pretty (light blue walls, beautiful chandelier up the stairs) and allowed for some nice bride & groom portraits. Another plus to this site versus many other DC museum / historic type venues is that they do allow red wine.

I was concerned that the bathrooms might be a problem – They are a little small and not super nice; however, it worked out fine and there was never even a line.

The greatest thing about this site is the flexibility of what you can achieve – You can really make your wedding exactly what you want – Ours turned out to be so beautiful (I wished I could have arrived before all the guests so I could just look around at everything!) However, one downside for those who don’t like all the hands-on planning may be that you have to find all your other vendors (Decatur House does have a great list of recommendations) and work with several different vendor contacts / contracts. At times it was a lot of work, but I wanted something more unique than the typical hotel ballroom. It definitely turned out to be perfect – And the location (right near the White House) was great for out-of-town guests. I definitely, highly recommend the Decatur House!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lizzie G
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.8/5.0
Decatur House was wonderful! Arioth Harrison was very responsive throughout the planning process. Three staff members were on-site during the wedding and everything went seemlessly.

A tent is required for the courtyard which significantly increases the cost -- but it is beautiful! And in colder or inclement weather it's necessary anyway.

The courtyard ground is a bit slanted, so be prepared your florist may have trouble with tall arrangements.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
The Decatur House was an amzing site for our reception, and Arioth and her team provided us with the utmost in professional responsiveness and service that we could ask for. We loved the Carriage House and the Courtyard, and appreciated everything the staff did to make our wedding an amazing and beautiful event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
5/23/2009
3.7/5.0
We had our daytime wedding reception in the courtyard and our pre-lunch cocktails in the historic house museum. When we initially viewed the space, the museum area appeared not to be an option for event space, but Nora Connolly was really flexible and reworked our contract so that we were not charged for the carriage house (we did not use it) and allowed us to use the historic house instead. The outside space requires a tent, which was fine with us. Decatur House uses Sugarplum tents, which we worked easily with. Nora, my caterer and I did a productive walk-through a month before the wedding and she answered all my questions. She herself was not present during our reception, but several of her colleagues were. This worked fine. The space worked great for our 129 guests, lunch and dancing, and we enjoyed the look and feel of the venue very much.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SamTrin
Wedding:
12/6/2008
5.0/5.0
Decatur House was beautiful, and the staff there was great! There could have been more bathrooms but it was fine:)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
6/2/2007
4.3/5.0
We held our ceremony and reception at the Decatur House. It was a beautiful venue, and it was perfect for the 175 guests we had. It was also extremely convenient, being located in the heart of Washington, DC. My only complaint is that it took a long time to get our security deposit returned after the wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbie
Wedding:
4/28/2007
4.7/5.0
Decatur House is pricey, but worth it. Quite a few of our guests were coming in from abroad, so having our wedding right off of Lafayette Square was just priceless. We worked with Arioth there, and she was very helpful in working with other vendors. We had the ceremony in the courtyard, cocktail hour in the carriage house, and reception back in the courtyard. Beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1610 H Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Decatur House on Lafayette Square
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo