130x130 sq 1363990526582 smallforweddingwiresmaller

Degas House

New Orleans , LA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2306 Esplanade Ave
New Orleans, LA 70119 US (map)

PHONE

504-821-5009

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

http://www.degashouse.com/

At DEGAS HOUSE we are committed to making your New Orleans Wedding a Masterpiece. Our elegant, Southern Mansion is the only home or studio of French... Read more
http://www.degashouse.com/

At DEGAS HOUSE we are committed to making your New Orleans Wedding a Masterpiece. Our elegant, Southern Mansion is the only home or studio of French Impressionist Master, Edgar Degas, open to the public anywhere in the world. Degas House is available for New Orleans Courtyard wedding ceremonies, receptions, bridal brunch, luncheons, rehearsal dinners, engagement parties and corporate events.

Degas House is an international gem located in the artistic, historical, and social landscape of New Orleans. As you step into Edgar Degas' personal surroundings, your wedding at the Degas House includes:

-Two Parlors and a Gallery space lined with Degas Reproductions and Sculptures

-An elegant brick courtyard with fountain

-On site event day coordinator

-Off street parking for 90 cars

-Uniformed Security Guard

-Event Space for 350 guests or smaller



2306 Esplanade Ave

New Orleans, La 70119

504-821-5009

events@degashouse.com

eventsales@degashouse.com



Edgar Degas



The Degas House Feature on NOLA Marketplace

&

The Degas House's Interview with French Ambassador to the United States, His Excellency Pierre Vimont

“ …..by knowing better our history and the history between our two countries and the links and bonds that can exist on such a figure like Edgar Degas, by knowing this history it’s the best way to know who we are today. It’s by improving your knowledge of history, by helping people to understand that history that we are able to work together for the future. It’s not just looking at the past; it’s looking at the past in order to promote the future and to promote our relationship between our two countries in the future.”

-His Excellency Pierre Vimont, The French Ambassador to the United States,

The Edgar Degas House, New Orleans, March 2009 Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1364226828069 degashouseexteriornight
130x130 sq 1364226839470 outsideweddingphotonight
130x130 sq 1387313105790 img318
130x130 sq 1387313202291 img320
130x130 sq 1364226746519 bridalpartyonbalcony
130x130 sq 1363987346384 sqr01neworleansweddingphotographer
130x130 sq 1364226846134 secondlineoutside
130x130 sq 1363969873643 images
130x130 sq 1364226755219 bridaypartyoutside
130x130 sq 1364226815047 brideonredchair
130x130 sq 1364226851998 winedisplay
130x130 sq 1364226783794 brideandpiano
130x130 sq 1364233755267 brideonstairs
130x130 sq 1364233759896 flowergirl
130x130 sq 1364231617289 bands
130x130 sq 1363969732601 049degashousewedding
130x130 sq 1363969871733 dsc01482
130x130 sq 1363969878273 img1172medium
130x130 sq 1363969884240 outsidewedding
130x130 sq 1363971538737
130x130 sq 1363983209538 p
130x130 sq 1363969865899 decorationsforawedding
130x130 sq 1364226735213 breakfastinbridayroom
130x130 sq 1363969626358 024
130x130 sq 1364226834834 outsidedaylightcourtyard
130x130 sq 1364226882723 yellowparlor
130x130 sq 1387313374364
130x130 sq 1364234072073 rewed0008
130x130 sq 1387313353089
130x130 sq 1364234066215 photomailelanipolaroidnoborder
130x130 sq 1387313392480 1069369101515419007711861406809584
130x130 sq 1364234048097
130x130 sq 1364234052418 5197242920257ebb89c2o
130x130 sq 1364234054960 hasselbladweddingphotography
130x130 sq 1364234064327 jennarussellregularsize
130x130 sq 1364234076394 rewed0084
130x130 sq 1387314642102 new orleans 20130914 0023
130x130 sq 1386964938249 img306
130x130 sq 1386964985492 img318
130x130 sq 1386965018334 img319
130x130 sq 1386965045712 img321
130x130 sq 1387313693570 img275
130x130 sq 1386965094212 img290
130x130 sq 1364416500037 img1873
130x130 sq 1364416360096 img1871
130x130 sq 1364416620177 img1882
130x130 sq 1364416102837 img1842
130x130 sq 1364415908843 img1838
130x130 sq 1364416253667 img1849
130x130 sq 1364416001160 img1841
130x130 sq 1364415773208 img1826
130x130 sq 1364416729696 img1892
130x130 sq 1364415503229 img1821
130x130 sq 1364415639725 img1825
130x130 sq 1364416827947 img1904
130x130 sq 1364399698748 img1755
130x130 sq 1364415250243 img1813
130x130 sq 1364415367322 img1814
130x130 sq 1364415155081 img1809
130x130 sq 1364415039192 img1785
130x130 sq 1364416915386 img1918
130x130 sq 1364417000494 img1919
130x130 sq 1386965171194 img274
130x130 sq 1386965176864 img275
130x130 sq 1386965267661 2013092119373
130x130 sq 1386965360908 img332
130x130 sq 1364827284169 62e776fe 3d60 45a3 a791 7b9b80860699
130x130 sq 1364827634038 degas
130x130 sq 1364827771780 breakfast at degas house2
130x130 sq 1364827626384 courtyard shot 3 small
130x130 sq 1364827288034 240x240600869 1p
130x130 sq 1364827652329 chairs
130x130 sq 1365106838671 wedding wire photo
130x130 sq 1365024638329 img 0011.jpg.1024x0
130x130 sq 1364827300135 600869 4h
130x130 sq 1364827647687 mathlide4.jpg.1024x0
130x130 sq 1364827302027 5881115
130x130 sq 1364827295511 7257c9fa d012 4275 a380 eb4d0969a651
130x130 sq 1364827304689 degas bath
130x130 sq 1364827637584 degashouse0
130x130 sq 1364827307598 ef270ee0 1202 4d12 bd87 680fa7e4f547
130x130 sq 1364827317817 img 9756.jpg.1024x0
130x130 sq 1364827324101 the degas house
130x130 sq 1364827493936 duv exterior
130x130 sq 1364827602179 duv porch
130x130 sq 1364827616579 duvigneaud bedroom 2
130x130 sq 1364827620775 duvigneaud bedroom
130x130 sq 1364827736679 the degas house
130x130 sq 1364233030364 01
130x130 sq 1364233033719
130x130 sq 1364233037424
130x130 sq 1364233038728
130x130 sq 1364233044731 25degashouseweddingneworleans
130x130 sq 1364233046334
130x130 sq 1364233048037 3785581302884718901
130x130 sq 1365024602899 img 0011.jpg.1024x0
130x130 sq 1364233049123 chairs
130x130 sq 1364233051045 congregationwaiting
130x130 sq 1364233054182 courtyardshot3small
130x130 sq 1364233057409 degas
130x130 sq 1364233058760 degashouse0
130x130 sq 1364233060702 degasmainphoto
130x130 sq 1364233062630 frontduringchristmas
130x130 sq 1364233068997 mathlide4.jpg.1024x0
130x130 sq 1364233071632 nightshotthedegashouse
130x130 sq 1364233073585 rackmultipart20121220262721q6t8wlgrid6
130x130 sq 1364233074490 tent
130x130 sq 1364233076094 thedegashousewhorse
130x130 sq 1364233077598 thedegashouse
130x130 sq 1364233082921 viewofcourtyard
130x130 sq 1364233088828 william1.jpg.1024x0
130x130 sq 1364233345507
130x130 sq 1364233346446 240x2406008691p
130x130 sq 1364233347392
130x130 sq 1364233348516 bandbimage11
130x130 sq 1364233350730 bathsm
130x130 sq 1364233352320 desiree2jpg711x355default
130x130 sq 1364233354883 estelle3sm
130x130 sq 1364233356511 estelle1jpg711x355default
130x130 sq 1364233358808 hallwaysm
130x130 sq 1364233360078 img0010jpg711x355default
130x130 sq 1364233365480 img9756.jpg.1024x0
130x130 sq 1364233367698 sittingroomsmall
130x130 sq 1364233370238 sittingroomsmall
130x130 sq 1364233371612 thedegashouseroom
130x130 sq 1364233373151 thedegashouse
130x130 sq 1364233374485 weddingreception
130x130 sq 1364233936484 maskguests
130x130 sq 1364233945917 p
130x130 sq 1364233913371
130x130 sq 1364233909915
130x130 sq 1364233911174
130x130 sq 1364233914557 breakfastatdegashouse
130x130 sq 1364233922088 courtyarddinner
130x130 sq 1364233931138 img9893.jpg.1024x0
130x130 sq 1364233943361 outsideevent
130x130 sq 1364234447518 bridalshowerevent
130x130 sq 1364238985998 img9893.jpg.1024x0
130x130 sq 1364239075867 birthdayevent2
130x130 sq 1364238879271 dsc01503
130x130 sq 1364238913330
130x130 sq 1364238948960 dsc0053
130x130 sq 1364238965287 breakfastatdegashouse
130x130 sq 1364238969603 breakfastatdegashouse2
130x130 sq 1364238977128 courtyarddinner
130x130 sq 1364397753898 img1961
130x130 sq 1364397538784 img1952
130x130 sq 1364397853959 img1962
130x130 sq 1364399204845 img1950
130x130 sq 1364399289877 img1960
130x130 sq 1364399451820 img1956

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
10
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Describe your venue:
Historic, Inn / B&B, Museum
Describe the style of your venue
City
What kind of settings are available?
Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
350
What event services do you offer?
Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Catering / Bar, Event Planning, Outside Vendors OK
What catering services do you offer?
Outside Cake OK, Tastings
What bar services do you provide?
Bartender(s), House Beer, House Wine, Limited Bar
What transportation and access is available?
Parking

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Lauren
Wedding:
3/7/2015
5.0/5.0
Everyone at the Degas House was amazingly caring and attentive! I could not have planned a destination wedding without the helpful suggestions and constant reassurance of Eva. On the big weekend, Miss Sharon, Eva, and the whole team took excellent care of us. Every detail was perfect, the venue was stunning and the food was delicious. I highly highly recommend the Degas House to any bride and groom looking for a warm, wonderful wedding.
Everyone at the Degas House was amazingly caring and attentive! I could not have planned a destination wedding without the Read more...
Everyone at the Degas House was amazingly caring and attentive! I could not have planned a destination wedding without the helpful suggestions and constant reassurance of Eva. On the big weekend, Miss Sharon, Eva, and the whole team took excellent care of us. Every detail was perfect, the venue was stunning and the food was delicious. I highly highly recommend the Degas House to any bride and groom looking for a warm, wonderful wedding. Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Degas House responded with the following comments:

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your destination wedding. You were a wonderful couple and we loved working with you to make your wedding all you wanted it to be. Your hoopla was beautiful and we enjoyed the “breaking of the glass” tradition. The Sparkler Sendoff was awesome. We are glad you were pleased with the location and our services and thank you for choosing Degas House. Congratulations and we wish you the best! Eva, Sharon and the Degas House staff.
Default vendor profile pic
Walter
Wedding:
2/28/2015
5.0/5.0
A perfect event from start to finish. The entire staff made our night truly special!
A perfect event from start to finish. The entire staff made our night truly special!
A perfect event from start to finish. The entire staff made our night truly special! Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Degas House responded with the following comments:

Thank you for choosing Degas House for your wedding. You were a great couple to work with. We especially loved the bride's gown - so beautiful. It was truly a joyous celebration and the love shared by you was obvious. The staff at Degas House wishes you the best.
Default vendor profile pic
Candy
Wedding:
10/10/2014
5.0/5.0
This venue is beautiful! The pictures just don't do it justice. I am from Louisiana but have been living in Florida for the past three years and all I had was pictures of the place to go off of. It was beautiful but I had doubts about the space. I saw it for the first time a week before my wedding and I was almost in tears, it was perfect! The lighting was beautiful, they allowed us to use a few decorations they had-floor lanterns ect- and thinking back, I fall in love all over again! The staff was amazing and Eva the wedding coordinator was an absolute delight to work with! She was SO sweet and accommodated my every worry! We can't wait to go back and see them again.
This venue is beautiful! The pictures just don't do it justice. I am from Louisiana but have been living in Florida for Read more...
This venue is beautiful! The pictures just don't do it justice. I am from Louisiana but have been living in Florida for the past three years and all I had was pictures of the place to go off of. It was beautiful but I had doubts about the space. I saw it for the first time a week before my wedding and I was almost in tears, it was perfect! The lighting was beautiful, they allowed us to use a few decorations they had-floor lanterns ect- and thinking back, I fall in love all over again! The staff was amazing and Eva the wedding coordinator was an absolute delight to work with! She was SO sweet and accommodated my every worry! We can't wait to go back and see them again. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Laura
Wedding:
4/4/2014
5.0/5.0
When my now husband and I decided to have our destination wedding in New Orleans, we wanted it to have the feel of this beautiful historic city. When we found The Degas House, it was everything we were looking for. We were married on what turned out to be a beautiful Friday evening in the courtyard at this splendid bed and breakfast on Esplanade Avenue. The setting is gorgeous and provides the perfect New Orleans ambiance. We checked out the Estelle Suite for the day and night of the wedding and it was the perfect place for me to get ready for the big day and for me and my husband to stay that night. We also received breakfast in bed the next morning. The staff at the Degas House, including Rachel, Cindy, and Ms. Sharon, put everything together and we did not have to lift a finger! The food was wonderful and everything went off without a hitch! All my guests had a wonderful time! The Degas House is the perfect place to get married in New Orleans!
When my now husband and I decided to have our destination wedding in New Orleans, we wanted it to have the feel of this Read more...
When my now husband and I decided to have our destination wedding in New Orleans, we wanted it to have the feel of this beautiful historic city. When we found The Degas House, it was everything we were looking for. We were married on what turned out to be a beautiful Friday evening in the courtyard at this splendid bed and breakfast on Esplanade Avenue. The setting is gorgeous and provides the perfect New Orleans ambiance. We checked out the Estelle Suite for the day and night of the wedding and it was the perfect place for me to get ready for the big day and for me and my husband to stay that night. We also received breakfast in bed the next morning. The staff at the Degas House, including Rachel, Cindy, and Ms. Sharon, put everything together and we did not have to lift a finger! The food was wonderful and everything went off without a hitch! All my guests had a wonderful time! The Degas House is the perfect place to get married in New Orleans! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
AManda
Wedding:
4/14/2007
5.0/5.0
Amazing experience. One of the easiest events I have ever planned thanks to them!
Amazing experience. One of the easiest events I have ever planned thanks to them!
Amazing experience. One of the easiest events I have ever planned thanks to them! Read less
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, Officiant, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
Wedding planner super sweet but lacked experience and firm direction during my event. After the ceremony my wedding party was scattered and it took way too much time to gather them for the pics. The order of events were unfortunately disorganized . Despite this , it was a beautiful ceremony, guest enjoyed the food, and the backdrops for pics were exactly what I wanted. I still managed to have the wedding of my dreams. My advice , ask questions about details and make sure your planner for the big day knows exactly what to do and where to do it
Wedding planner super sweet but lacked experience and firm direction during my event. After the ceremony my wedding party Read more...
Wedding planner super sweet but lacked experience and firm direction during my event. After the ceremony my wedding party was scattered and it took way too much time to gather them for the pics. The order of events were unfortunately disorganized . Despite this , it was a beautiful ceremony, guest enjoyed the food, and the backdrops for pics were exactly what I wanted. I still managed to have the wedding of my dreams. My advice , ask questions about details and make sure your planner for the big day knows exactly what to do and where to do it Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
darling
Wedding:
10/19/2008
4.5/5.0
i loved my experience with the degas house. it was a unique place to get married and they were very flexible and responsive with my needs
i loved my experience with the degas house. it was a unique place to get married and they were very flexible and Read more...
i loved my experience with the degas house. it was a unique place to get married and they were very flexible and responsive with my needs Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/13/2013
4.3/5.0
A magical setting full of extremely helpful staff. The Degas House really allowed us to make our wedding our own, adding personal touches that meant a lot to us.
A magical setting full of extremely helpful staff. The Degas House really allowed us to make our wedding our own, adding Read more...
A magical setting full of extremely helpful staff. The Degas House really allowed us to make our wedding our own, adding personal touches that meant a lot to us. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Roxiane
Wedding:
11/15/2014
4.1/5.0
The venue is absolutely gorgeous! We not only had our destination wedding there, but we also booked the entire bed and breakfast.
BEWARE if you do the same you will not have the home to yourself. They will still continue to book tours and have other people walking through the home. We were aware of the daytime tours, but not aware that we would be having around a dozen extra guests for breakfast the day of. We had to share breakfast with strangers and a crying baby. I would also advise making sure all of your cash and valuables are locked and well hidden as we actually had a tablet come up missing with our wedding music on it.
The actual wedding was great, I loved my coordinator and the kitchen manager is amazing! The entire staff that worked the wedding were very professional and did everything that they could to make the day everything I wanted it to be.
I think if I had been made aware of these things before the wedding I would be much less upset by them.
The venue is absolutely gorgeous! We not only had our destination wedding there, but we also booked the entire bed and Read more...
The venue is absolutely gorgeous! We not only had our destination wedding there, but we also booked the entire bed and breakfast.
BEWARE if you do the same you will not have the home to yourself. They will still continue to book tours and have other people walking through the home. We were aware of the daytime tours, but not aware that we would be having around a dozen extra guests for breakfast the day of. We had to share breakfast with strangers and a crying baby. I would also advise making sure all of your cash and valuables are locked and well hidden as we actually had a tablet come up missing with our wedding music on it.
The actual wedding was great, I loved my coordinator and the kitchen manager is amazing! The entire staff that worked the wedding were very professional and did everything that they could to make the day everything I wanted it to be.
I think if I had been made aware of these things before the wedding I would be much less upset by them. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.0/5.0
Beautiful venue, delightful staff, very disappointed with the wedding coordination. The wedding cooridnater did not have control over the wedding and caused a lot of chaos and confusion. Everyone in the wedding party noticed the disorganization and guests did as well. If you select this venue I would strongly recommend hiring your own wedding cooridnater.
Beautiful venue, delightful staff, very disappointed with the wedding coordination. The wedding cooridnater did not have Read more...
Beautiful venue, delightful staff, very disappointed with the wedding coordination. The wedding cooridnater did not have control over the wedding and caused a lot of chaos and confusion. Everyone in the wedding party noticed the disorganization and guests did as well. If you select this venue I would strongly recommend hiring your own wedding cooridnater. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Degas House responded with the following comments:

We at Degas House are baffled by this review, not only by its contents but by the fact that is has been written 8 months after the wedding and after the bride had discussions with Degas House and was comped rooms in an effort to make up for the incident. Shortly after the wedding, the problems were brought to our attention. We investigated and realized that they were caused by a new Degas House wedding coordinator who was in training and did not do the job properly. That person has since been released. During the wedding, the event manager was managing the food and was unaware of the shortcomings of this coordinator.

We believe this is not a fair evaluation. It is unprofessional to have submitted this review long after a resolution was reached between Degas House and the bride. As far as we knew, the bride seemed satisfied to accept our apologies and the comping of the rooms. Why write this now?

This one wedding is no reflection of the service normally given by our staff. Degas House has just won The Knot’s Best of Weddings Pick for 2015 Award, and we have won this award for the third year in a row. It was achieved because of our excellent wedding coordination, in addition to several other factors. We pride ourselves on the professionalism of our wedding and event staff. Last year we hosted over 70 events, most of which were weddings and receptions. Our winning The Knot award was due to brides giving Degas House 5-star reviews on their weddings, none of which would have been written unless they were satisfied and in many cases ecstatic over our services.

MAP

 
2306 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Degas House
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1363990526582 smallforweddingwiresmaller