130x130_sq_1294987598896-dscf4487

Designer Cakes & Confections

Thornton , CO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Thornton, CO US (map)

PHONE

720-205-2732

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

"Designer Cakes & Confections Delivers Custom Wedding Cakes and Sculpted Groom's Cakes Throughout Colorado."
... Read more
"Designer Cakes & Confections Delivers Custom Wedding Cakes and Sculpted Groom's Cakes Throughout Colorado."
___________________________________________________________________________________________________

We currently meet couples for complimentary consultations by appopintment only, which includes a tasting of some of our favorite cake flavors and fillings.

NOTE: Due to the high level of care we put into each of our client's cakes, we carefully limit the amount of events we book to ensure the very best quality and design possible for each of our very special couples. Booking as far out in advance in HIGHLY recommended to ensure your date is avalable.

ABOUT: Owner and lead cake designer, Jennifer K. Campbell has been creating and designing custom cakes and sugar art for the last 8 years and continues to hone her skills by receiving specialized training from other knoweldgeable top sugar artists and cake designers in the industry.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

"We are truly excited to share our talent with you to create the wedding and groom's cakes of your dreams.... We firmly beleive that taste & design are equally important counterparts to a custom cakes and we aim to create the dessert of a lifetime, just for you!"



-Jennifer K. Campbell (Owner at Designer Cakes & Co.) Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1294558727578-dscf4487
130x130_sq_1294558200624-dscf4453
130x130_sq_1256266747915-glickweddingcake3
130x130_sq_1256265609634-ddc2
130x130_sq_1329812583939-beavermeadowswedding2011
130x130_sq_1329812664024-chocolatefestival2011
130x130_sq_1256261580025-denverdesignercakes1
130x130_sq_1329812484398-angrybirdscake
130x130_sq_1256264613337-brynskiwedding
130x130_sq_1256267472462-sanfordparkswedding
130x130_sq_1256265852619-rondfeldt1
130x130_sq_1329812722054-dscf4433
130x130_sq_1256266870197-elliottweddingcake
130x130_sq_1256266926572-ferrellwedding
130x130_sq_1256266996697-margravewedding
130x130_sq_1256267078462-parkswedding
130x130_sq_1256267884009-milleniumfalcon1
130x130_sq_1256268148244-milleniumfalcon2
130x130_sq_1256268408994-deathstar2
130x130_sq_1256266822994-combsmcgahacup1
130x130_sq_1256267168759-grahamweddingcake
130x130_sq_1256267762759-whitewedding2
130x130_sq_1256268760134-berrygrooms
130x130_sq_1256266653650-berryweddingcake2

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Groom's Cake
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Organic
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
All of our consultations are currently by appointment only.
What are your tasting hours?
We typically meet clients Tuesday through Friday for tastings between the hours of 12pm-6:30pm.
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Our cakes are typically priced by the slice and the price depends on the final design work involved. Currently, our minimum is five-hundred dollars for a three tier wedding cake.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
Yes
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
We customize and personalize every cake we make based off ideas, colors and patterns that the bride and groom bring to the consult. We also can build a design completely from scratch. We do not have a book of cakes to choose from. Our portfolio is meant to show clients what our company is capable of.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
We make everything completely from scratch, to include our premium great tasting white chocolate rolled fondant. Our signature buttercream is made from fresh sweet cream organic butter, powdered sugar, egg whites and bourbon vanilla extract. We try to use mostly organic ingredients which is why our cakes begin at 500 dollars. Furthermore, we do not use any shortening except to make the gumpaste for the handmade sugarpaste flowers (which are normally considered inedible). Several of our fillings our made with premium liqueurs along with handmade fruit preserves.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
We begin baking the tiers about 3 days before the wedding.
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
We limit our calendar to 6 weddings max per weekend to insure excellent quality of completion for each one of our important brides.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
We create handmade painted and dusted sugar flowers, but we definitely allow the florist to decorate the cake with fresh flowers if this is what the bride prefers.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
We rent our luxurious silver cake pedestals for $100.00 per event. This includes pick up and delivery. However, if you bring the cake stand back to us we only charge a $60.00 rental fee.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Delivery fees depend on the mileage. We are situated approximately right between Denver and Boulder (20 minutes each way). Please call or email for pricing. Thanks.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Jennifer designed a 30 x 30 hockey themed graduation cake for our son's graduation party. She did an incredible job with authenticity, color and detail. The quality of the cakes (there were 4 different flavors), were amazing. She went above and beyond all my expectations!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Jennifer created the cake for our very impromptu wedding in November. She was prompt in answering all of our question and suggesting very creative ideas for our cake. We couldn't have been more please with the cake, not only was it decorated impeccably, it was extremely delicious (someone actually licked the plate) I would recommend Jennifer to create a cake for any occasion.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leslie
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Fantastic in every way imaginable! We searched around Denver and Boulder for a bakery to make our wedding cake last year. We had a very specific rustic white branch look in mind for the cake and while we were confidant in 2 of the bakers decorating skills we visited with, unfortunately, out of 7 total cake bakeries we went to, every single one had cake that was either completely dry and inedible or just plain bland and tasteless except for Designer Cakes. You would really think so many bakeries would at least try to do a little better here in Colorado, but sadly, I guess not?? This is hands down the best cake I've ever had (even better than my grandmother's cake). Jennifer was so friendly and helpful the entire time, and she did a great job with the design. We are so happy we found her (by my realtor's recommendation). Everyone loved the cake! It was worth every penny and made our wedding so special!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mina
Wedding:
9/2/2012
4.8/5.0
Denver Designer Cakes - designed an absolutely euphoric cake for us. Pastry chief - Jennifer, was very accommodating and professional.

Unlike most wedding cakes, their cakes have gourmet flavors (and yes I am a foody) as well as style.

I HIGHLY recommend Denver Design Cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Denver Designer Cakes designed the perfect cake for our mountain-themed wedding. I had an idea of what I wanted it to look like and Jennifer created a beautiful cake based on that vision. We were able to tie in my wedding colors and she was very accommodating to use the ribbon I picked out. She put me at ease about transporting our cake 4 hours away to Aspen and took all the precautions necessary to make it withstand the trek up the mountains. Her gourmet flavors are some of the best I've ever tasted so I was sold from the cake tasting session. I would highly recommend Denver Designer Cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
We hired Jennifer, of Denver Designer Cakes because my husband has a gluten allergy and she had great reviews of her gluten free cake. It was the BEST decision! Both the gluten free cake and the regular cakes were DELICIOUS! We got the gluten free part of cake in bourbon chocolate, and got the regular part of cake in "Vanilla Bean Butter" and "Bellini." The Bellini is pink champagne cake drizzled with peach schnapps syrup, layered with peach filling, then covered with smooth vanilla buttercream. Seriously good. And Jennifer is incredibly friendly, accommodating and skilled. She makes amazing cakes; she designed our cake to match our art deco aesthetic. She was responsive, provided an advance drawing of the cake design, and adjusted the design based upon our comments. And she offered to make us a first-year anniversary cake! We could not have been happier and would recommend Denver Designer Cakes to anyone - whether you need to accommodate food allergies or not!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Designer Cakes & Confections responded with the following comments:

Hi Jenn! Thanks so much for your thoughtful review! I am SO thankful and happy you were so pleased with the cake, especially since it was different from the norm with the beet sugar and gluten-free, etc. Please let me know when you'll be in town again so I can honor the anniversary cake.

I can't wait to see the pictures as I would love to feature you guys on the new website that's coming next year! Thanks so much!

Jennifer
130x130_sq_1297893811018-img2059
Sara
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Jennifer did such an amazing job on our wedding cake. It was all organic and so yummy!! I am a woman that hates cake and I was so impressed and LOVED it. I showed her a couple pictures to put our cake together and it was exactly what I imagined it would look like!!

Thanks Jen for being a part of
Our special wedding day!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
esmyth78
Wedding:
7/16/2011
4.9/5.0
Jenn is so easy to work with and her work is amazing. We, along with all our guests were so happy with our wedding cake and we could not have had a better experience! The chocolate fudge cake with caramel cream filling is the most delicious cake I have ever had and she even customized the flavors just for us. THANK YOU!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gina
Wedding:
3/12/2011
4.9/5.0
Designer Cakes was my favorite vendor overall. Jenn went out of her way to make us feel at ease about our cakes. Also, I really appreciated that she helped me to see the possibilities of what the cake could be as I tend to be somewhat boring about designs because I'm just not very good at envisioning stuff like that. However, she took the worry away and made sure we were 100% satisfied with the sketch before we finalized everything, something other vendors we interviewed didn't even offer at all. Their cakes are absolutely delicious and even their fondant tastes good. I was really surprised since I had had fondant before that was absolutely atrocious when it came to taste. Great!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sbowens
Wedding:
12/18/2010
4.9/5.0
Our wedding cake was exquisite and so delicious. They coordinated everything with our venue, arrived early with the cake and set everything up so we didn't have to worry about a thing. We settled on a simple buttercream cake with a cascade of sugar flowers and I must say the flowers were just shockingly realistic. Our experience was extremely positive with Designer Cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becca
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Firstly, I am not one to write reviews as I am just a really lazy person when it comes to this kind of stuff. However, I felt compelled to write a review about Jennifer Campbell of Denver Designer Cakes because she absolutely went above and beyond for us from the initial consultation to the finished product. I was recently diagnosed with celiac and still wanted a wedding cake with a specific design. I truly did not think it would be possible with a gluten free cake. Matt and I went to three specialty bakers that advertised gluten free and I regret to say that all three vendors cakes just weren’t that great. One was absolutely inedible (literally) and the other two were so so, but not anything I really thought was that great. Gluten free cakes can be very dry and tricky in terms of taste if not made correctly apparently. I happened to see Jennifer’s site when researching and noticed she advertised gluten-free available.

We set up a consultation and I was actually scared because I thought the cake most likely wouldn’t be that great because her designs are so amazing. I wanted so bad to have a pretty cake, but was afraid I’d be disappointed with the taste and that it would ruin it for me. I basically thought you couldn’t have both great design and great taste, especially when it came to gluten-free on top of that. Well, I was totally wrong, lol! She had the most delicious and moist gluten free cake I have ever had. Actually, we were so impressed that we had the entire cake gluten free in three flavor variations and our guests loved the cake. Matt even commented how he now loves gluten-free cakes (well, Jennifer’s cakes that is) over regular cake and he wasn’t much of a cake person to begin with.

Well, I got long winded with this one (the reason I don’t usually do the review thing), but Jennifer certainly deserves it. The cake was absolutely beautiful, delicious and everything I wanted and more. I am so happy we decided to try one last person before we gave up, and I’m so glad it was Jennifer. She was very professional and accommodating to everything we wanted and more.

Thank you so much for a job well done! We will be forever recommending you to everyone we know.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keisha
Wedding:
7/24/2010
4.9/5.0
Jennifer was very professional and knowledgeable in regards to planning our wedding and groom's cakes. I really appreciate the effort she put into our cakes and she made us feel very much at ease about the entire process. Our wedding cake was even more spectacular than I had envisioned and she truly pays attention the the smallest details, which is why she stood out to us from the get go. Also, her cakes are literally beyond delicious. The vanilla bean butter cake with the berry cream cheese filling has to be the very best dessert I've ever had. Jennifer's cakes really are the best in both taste and eye candy.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Designer Cakes & Confections responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to create your wedding cake and I'm so happy you loved it so much! It always makes my day : ) You are such a hoot girl! Also, thanks for the laughs. I thoroughly enjoyed working with you ;-D Good luck to you both and please contact me on your 1st anniversary so I can make that cake for you!

Jennifer
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/30/2010
4.8/5.0
Overall, Designer Cakes was great to work with and provided exactly what we wanted. Plus, the cake was absolutely delicious as well. We really appreciated Jennifer's thoughtfulness and hard work that went into our wedding cake and are glad we chose Designer Cakes as our wedding cake maker.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Designer Cakes & Confections responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the lovely and thoughtful review. I appreciate you trusting me to create your wedding cake and I sincerely wish you both the best!

Jennifer
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellie
Wedding:
1/30/2010
5.0/5.0
We were beside ourselves at how beautiful our cake turned out. It no only looked beautiful, with so many intricate details, but it tasted great as well. Jennifer is truly an artist and cake is her medium. The cake was one of the more important things when it came to the wedding and I wanted something different and unique. Jennifer delivered!

While, her cakes are not the cheapest because they are not "plain" wedding cakes, she's the absolute best when it comes to highly fashioned designer cakes (hence her business name). She doesn't just sell wedding cakes, she sells art, and highly detailed art at that. So, if you want a cake that's literally a piece of art (and that tastes great), then I highly recommend her. Our cake was just beautiful and totally worth the money. You won't be disappointed with Jennifer!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ginny
Wedding:
12/12/2009
5.0/5.0
At first I was very nervous about a fondant wedding cake just due to all the negative feedback I had heard about the way it tastes. However, the fondant that they make is actually pretty good tasting. The cake was very pretty and she did a fantastic job of matching the colors and incorporating the design of my overall theme in the cake. Plus, to top it off, the cake was moist and delicious and everyone loved the taste. Thanks.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1263275762385-ericksonhillwedding196
Heather
Wedding:
12/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Denver Designer Cakes is absolutely 100% fabulous. They worked with our colors, invitations and budget to come up with a fantastic design. The cake itself was so moist and all of our guests were raving about how good the cake looked and tasted. It was definitely the center of the reception. A+
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
Our cake was AWESOME! They have the best flavors and fillings in comparison to the other bakeries we tried. The cakes are so moist and melt in your mouth. Also, they were very flexible in regards to different flavors on each tier. We had the buttermilk cake on the bottom with italian swiss meringue buttercream, the second tier was the marble with the milk chocolate buttercream and a layer of dark chocolate ganache, and the top tier was red velvet with cream cheese. The cake was beautiful and exactly what we wanted when it came to the design. Thank you so much for such a great job on our cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rgray78
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
WOW, in our opinion Kathleen is hand's down the best cake designer in the Denver area. Not only did she put up with us changing the design several times until right towards the end, she was very professional and always got back to us immediately with any questions, changes, etc. The consultation was fantastic and she has a bubbly personality and is so cool to work with. Now, for the cake itself.... the cake was absolutely stunning and had such an artistic flair that looked better than the sketch. It tasted amazing too and every tier was a different flavor, which our guests scarfed down before we could get a real piece. I cannot recommend Kathleen enough. You will not be disappointed in her cakes with both taste and design. Thanks SO MUCH for making our day that much more special!

-Renee and Eric
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
Thornton, CO See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Designer Cakes & Confections
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo