130x130 sq 1312881360892 hawaiiweddingphotography

Derek Wong Photography

Honolulu , HI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

P.O. Box 10204
Honolulu, HI 96816 US (map)

PHONE

808-352-9072

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Artistic. Refined. Style.

Premier destination wedding photographer, Derek Wong.

Derek has an extensive background concentrated in photojournalism, commercial and... Read more
Artistic. Refined. Style.

Premier destination wedding photographer, Derek Wong.

Derek has an extensive background concentrated in photojournalism, commercial and portrait photography. He has studied and worked with world-class fashion, editorial, commercial, and portrait photographers including Karen Moskowitz, Platon, Norman Jean Roy, Max Vadukul, Dewey Nicks, and Andrew Eccles. His past work includes engagements with RealNetworks Inc., Apple Computer Inc., Wallpaper, The Surfer's Journal, and Third Floor Design.

Today, his focus is primarily on wedding photography. What sets him apart from other photographers are his attention to detail, his commitment to quality, and his talent and professional experience for capturing moving images - images that are at once spontaneous and elegant, authentic and timeless, poignant and classically beautiful.

Respected and appreciated by his clients. Derek’s work continually evolves to maintain the highest quality and expectations.

Photojournalists from major newspapers as well as filmmakers and graphic designers have recommended his work. They appreciate his eye for seeing emotion and capturing the immediacy of the moment.

His work has also been featured in Pacific Rim Wedding Magazine, Hawaii Bride & Groom, Vancouver Magazine, Wallpaper*, The New York Times, The Surfer's Journal, and Style Magazine. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1312929489024 hawaiiweddingphotographer01
130x130 sq 1312929491727 hawaiiweddingphotographer02
130x130 sq 1312929495930 hawaiiweddingphotographer03
130x130 sq 1312929497883 hawaiiweddingphotographer04
130x130 sq 1312929500867 hawaiiweddingphotographer05
130x130 sq 1312929503602 hawaiiweddingphotographer06
130x130 sq 1312929506086 hawaiiweddingphotographer07
130x130 sq 1312929508617 hawaiiweddingphotographer08
130x130 sq 1312929512211 hawaiiweddingphotographer09
130x130 sq 1312929515008 hawaiiweddingphotographer10
130x130 sq 1312929519305 hawaiiweddingphotographer11
130x130 sq 1312929521867 hawaiiweddingphotographer12
130x130 sq 1312929524664 hawaiiweddingphotographer13
130x130 sq 1312929527227 hawaiiweddingphotographer14
130x130 sq 1312929529633 hawaiiweddingphotographer15
130x130 sq 1312929531867 hawaiiweddingphotographer16
130x130 sq 1312929535492 hawaiiweddingphotographer17
130x130 sq 1312929537680 hawaiiweddingphotographer18
130x130 sq 1312929539914 hawaiiweddingphotographer19
130x130 sq 1312929543258 hawaiiweddingphotographer20
130x130 sq 1312929546055 hawaiiweddingphotographer21
130x130 sq 1312929549336 hawaiiweddingphotographer22
130x130 sq 1312929553805 hawaiiweddingphotographer23
130x130 sq 1312929557133 hawaiiweddingphotographer24
130x130 sq 1312929561430 hawaiiweddingphotographer25
130x130 sq 1312929564539 hawaiiweddingphotographer26
130x130 sq 1312929568227 hawaiiweddingphotographer27
130x130 sq 1312929571071 hawaiiweddingphotographer28
130x130 sq 1312929575742 hawaiiweddingphotographer29
130x130 sq 1312929579836 hawaiiweddingphotographer30
130x130 sq 1312929584711 hawaiiweddingphotographer31
130x130 sq 1312929586930 hawaiiweddingphotographer32
130x130 sq 1312929593321 hawaiiweddingphotographer33
130x130 sq 1312929598883 hawaiiweddingphotographer34
130x130 sq 1312929601399 hawaiiweddingphotographer35
130x130 sq 1312929604805 hawaiiweddingphotographer36
130x130 sq 1312929607352 hawaiiweddingphotographer37
130x130 sq 1312929610508 hawaiiweddingphotographer38
130x130 sq 1312929615305 hawaiiweddingphotographer39
130x130 sq 1312929622211 hawaiiweddingphotographer40
130x130 sq 1312929627352 hawaiiweddingphotographer41
130x130 sq 1312929630039 hawaiiweddingphotographer42
130x130 sq 1312929633992 hawaiiweddingphotographer43
130x130 sq 1312929636492 hawaiiweddingphotographer44
130x130 sq 1312929641899 hawaiiweddingphotographer45
130x130 sq 1312929644617 hawaiiweddingphotographer46
130x130 sq 1312929649477 hawaiiweddingphotographer47
130x130 sq 1312929655696 hawaiiweddingphotographer48
130x130 sq 1312929658211 hawaiiweddingphotographer49

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Negatives, Prints
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
130x130 sq 1390117712761 14011118102
Steven
Wedding:
1/11/2014
5.0/5.0
We are so lucky to have Derek as our photographer. He's super friendly, helpful, talented, professional and devoted. We will definitely recommend him to anyone. I am currently trying to pick pictures to make our wedding album, but because all the pics he took of us are all so nice it makes the choosing process so hard. I just wanna pick all the pictures!!! Derek is the best photographer you can find!!! We love Derek Wong!
We are so lucky to have Derek as our photographer. He's super friendly, helpful, talented, professional and devoted. We Read more...
We are so lucky to have Derek as our photographer. He's super friendly, helpful, talented, professional and devoted. We will definitely recommend him to anyone. I am currently trying to pick pictures to make our wedding album, but because all the pics he took of us are all so nice it makes the choosing process so hard. I just wanna pick all the pictures!!! Derek is the best photographer you can find!!! We love Derek Wong! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Kristin
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Derek Wong photographed my wedding on 11/24/12, and although I have not seen any photos yet (it's only been 3 days) , he was an absolute pleasure to work with. He was very low key and the photography never felt intrusive. I can't wait to see the photos and I know they are going to be amazing. He was a cool guy and I would love to work with him again and would highly recommend him.
Derek Wong photographed my wedding on 11/24/12, and although I have not seen any photos yet (it's only been 3 days) , he Read more...
Derek Wong photographed my wedding on 11/24/12, and although I have not seen any photos yet (it's only been 3 days) , he was an absolute pleasure to work with. He was very low key and the photography never felt intrusive. I can't wait to see the photos and I know they are going to be amazing. He was a cool guy and I would love to work with him again and would highly recommend him. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
We cannot say enough wonderful things about working with Derek. He immediately put us at ease from the first time that we spoke, and continued to exceed our expectations. He was always there to provide us with guidance on our wedding plans, and was equally fantastic while we were shooting our engagement and wedding pictures. Derek is the ultimate professional, and it's evident that he takes pride in his work by the amount of time and care he puts into making each image perfect.

More importantly, Derek is a wonderful person, and it was such a pleasure to work with him while we were planning our wedding. We can only hope that we'll be able to stay in touch long after we get our wedding album. Thank you again for everything, Derek!
We cannot say enough wonderful things about working with Derek. He immediately put us at ease from the first time that we Read more...
We cannot say enough wonderful things about working with Derek. He immediately put us at ease from the first time that we spoke, and continued to exceed our expectations. He was always there to provide us with guidance on our wedding plans, and was equally fantastic while we were shooting our engagement and wedding pictures. Derek is the ultimate professional, and it's evident that he takes pride in his work by the amount of time and care he puts into making each image perfect.

More importantly, Derek is a wonderful person, and it was such a pleasure to work with him while we were planning our wedding. We can only hope that we'll be able to stay in touch long after we get our wedding album. Thank you again for everything, Derek! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Derek is professional and great to work with. He even stayed a little longer and captured more pictures without charging us. Because it was a busy wedding season for him, our pictures took longer than expected. However, he did keep us informed and responded quickly to our emails. We just wanted our pictures to turn out great and waiting a little longer for our pictures was worth it. We absolutely love our pictures!
Derek is professional and great to work with. He even stayed a little longer and captured more pictures without charging Read more...
Derek is professional and great to work with. He even stayed a little longer and captured more pictures without charging us. Because it was a busy wedding season for him, our pictures took longer than expected. However, he did keep us informed and responded quickly to our emails. We just wanted our pictures to turn out great and waiting a little longer for our pictures was worth it. We absolutely love our pictures! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Bg17
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Derek & Bonnie did a great job on both our engagement and wedding shots. They are definitely professional and know how to take amazing photos. They were great in accommodating for the weather, lighting, rain, etc. We were very pleased with Derek and would recommend him to any bride and groom!
Derek & Bonnie did a great job on both our engagement and wedding shots. They are definitely professional and know how to Read more...
Derek & Bonnie did a great job on both our engagement and wedding shots. They are definitely professional and know how to take amazing photos. They were great in accommodating for the weather, lighting, rain, etc. We were very pleased with Derek and would recommend him to any bride and groom! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
C&S
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Derek was the consummate professional and beautifully captured the most amazing shots of our wedding. Derek magically blends into the background during the wedding and did not "stage" or create fake scenes or poses - rather, his experience and skills allowed him to always be at the right place at the right time. Looking through his 900 pictures of our wedding, we were able to relive the "story" of that special day.

It is very difficult to put into words what sets Derek apart from the rest, but in a most general sense, it was his ability to be exceptional and professional at every single stage of the process.

It is also important to note that his partner, Bonnie, was unbelievably quick in responding to each and every request (including providing advice on vendors in Hawaii, etc.). Their process (from setting up the dates, explainng the various packages, scheduling the shoots, etc.) is extremely organized and thought through, and we did not have one problem or hiccup during this entire process.

We were very lucky to have Derek and Bonnie as our photographers for our wedding!
Derek was the consummate professional and beautifully captured the most amazing shots of our wedding. Derek magically Read more...
Derek was the consummate professional and beautifully captured the most amazing shots of our wedding. Derek magically blends into the background during the wedding and did not "stage" or create fake scenes or poses - rather, his experience and skills allowed him to always be at the right place at the right time. Looking through his 900 pictures of our wedding, we were able to relive the "story" of that special day.

It is very difficult to put into words what sets Derek apart from the rest, but in a most general sense, it was his ability to be exceptional and professional at every single stage of the process.

It is also important to note that his partner, Bonnie, was unbelievably quick in responding to each and every request (including providing advice on vendors in Hawaii, etc.). Their process (from setting up the dates, explainng the various packages, scheduling the shoots, etc.) is extremely organized and thought through, and we did not have one problem or hiccup during this entire process.

We were very lucky to have Derek and Bonnie as our photographers for our wedding! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
jaymz
Wedding:
4/26/2010
5.0/5.0
When planning our destination wedding in Hawaii, we met with a few photographers before hiring the right one. Derek and Bonnie of Derek Wong Photography stood out amongst the rest because of their outstanding work, Derek's renown experience in the fashion world (this impressed my husband, the art director), and their professional, yet friendly, composure. You see, it was very important to us to find a photographer who would be easy to work with and be respectful to our guests. From our very first meeting, we knew Derek and Bonnie had the right vibe and perspective to capture our special day. We also hired Derek and Bonnie to shoot our engagement photos. They travelled to the SF Bay Area (we're so fortunate that they work in this city, too!) to capture us in our "local" surroundings.

Another sign of their professionalism is their strong sense of organization and thoughtfulness. Before the engagement shoot, they made the effort to discuss (via email and over the phone) possible locations around the city, what we should wear (Bonnie has a really great eye for style!), and what to expect on the day of the shoot. Upon arriving, they called us to let us know that they were in town, which was a couple of days before the shoot. Then, they took time in advance to scout out locations around the city. The night before, we reconnected over the phone to review where and when to meet as well as to go over the schedule - which was planned out according to the type of natural light they wanted to capture. We were very happy with the engagement photos, and they were able to deliver them to us in time to print a book for our reception.

Throughout our entire experience with Bonnie and Derek we felt comfortable and, more importantly, relaxed, which we feel transcended into our photos. We were very impressed with their knack for find interesting and captivating backgrounds in everyday settings. For example, they would use a what-seems-to-be ordinary brick wall or door way but the way they frame the photo creates interest by taking advantage of the angle, the colors and the lighting. After the shoot, they edited our photos and re-touched as needed while keeping them realistic and natural. We feel strongly that our decision to hire Derek and Bonnie of Derek Wong Photography was one of the best decisions we made throughout the whole engagement and wedding process. And now we have photographic mementos to cherish for a lifetime! Mahalo Derek and Bonnie!
When planning our destination wedding in Hawaii, we met with a few photographers before hiring the right one. Derek and Read more...
When planning our destination wedding in Hawaii, we met with a few photographers before hiring the right one. Derek and Bonnie of Derek Wong Photography stood out amongst the rest because of their outstanding work, Derek's renown experience in the fashion world (this impressed my husband, the art director), and their professional, yet friendly, composure. You see, it was very important to us to find a photographer who would be easy to work with and be respectful to our guests. From our very first meeting, we knew Derek and Bonnie had the right vibe and perspective to capture our special day. We also hired Derek and Bonnie to shoot our engagement photos. They travelled to the SF Bay Area (we're so fortunate that they work in this city, too!) to capture us in our "local" surroundings.

Another sign of their professionalism is their strong sense of organization and thoughtfulness. Before the engagement shoot, they made the effort to discuss (via email and over the phone) possible locations around the city, what we should wear (Bonnie has a really great eye for style!), and what to expect on the day of the shoot. Upon arriving, they called us to let us know that they were in town, which was a couple of days before the shoot. Then, they took time in advance to scout out locations around the city. The night before, we reconnected over the phone to review where and when to meet as well as to go over the schedule - which was planned out according to the type of natural light they wanted to capture. We were very happy with the engagement photos, and they were able to deliver them to us in time to print a book for our reception.

Throughout our entire experience with Bonnie and Derek we felt comfortable and, more importantly, relaxed, which we feel transcended into our photos. We were very impressed with their knack for find interesting and captivating backgrounds in everyday settings. For example, they would use a what-seems-to-be ordinary brick wall or door way but the way they frame the photo creates interest by taking advantage of the angle, the colors and the lighting. After the shoot, they edited our photos and re-touched as needed while keeping them realistic and natural. We feel strongly that our decision to hire Derek and Bonnie of Derek Wong Photography was one of the best decisions we made throughout the whole engagement and wedding process. And now we have photographic mementos to cherish for a lifetime! Mahalo Derek and Bonnie! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
nancarr
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
I'm a graphic designer and have worked with many photographers, and Derek Wong's work stood out from all the photographers I searched for in Hawaii. His style was very true and honest. We weren't looking for gimmicky photographers that use super wide angle lenses that tends to distort the images. He is an experienced photojournalist and portrait photographer, and it really shows in the quality of his work. His candid shots really captured the essence of our wedding and his portraits were amazing. We were extremely happy with our images and he exceeded our expectations. Each and every image was so beautiful. Our prints and album turned out really great and we received several compliments on them from our friends and family.

I would highly recommend Derek Wong Photography. He was great to work with, extremely knowledgeable, and his work speaks for itself.
I'm a graphic designer and have worked with many photographers, and Derek Wong's work stood out from all the photographers Read more...
I'm a graphic designer and have worked with many photographers, and Derek Wong's work stood out from all the photographers I searched for in Hawaii. His style was very true and honest. We weren't looking for gimmicky photographers that use super wide angle lenses that tends to distort the images. He is an experienced photojournalist and portrait photographer, and it really shows in the quality of his work. His candid shots really captured the essence of our wedding and his portraits were amazing. We were extremely happy with our images and he exceeded our expectations. Each and every image was so beautiful. Our prints and album turned out really great and we received several compliments on them from our friends and family.

I would highly recommend Derek Wong Photography. He was great to work with, extremely knowledgeable, and his work speaks for itself. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Kristin
Wedding:
6/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Just had Derek capture on June 19, 2009 wedding at the Halekulani. Although, I have not yet received our proofs, I am sure they are spectacular. He had us take some great still photo shots that we are very anxious to see, and we can't wait to see the candids:) He was so nice, laid back, and very easy to work with. He did not add any stress to our day. We had a budget to work with and he gladly made us a custom package. I highly recommend Derek and his services.
Just had Derek capture on June 19, 2009 wedding at the Halekulani. Although, I have not yet received our proofs, I am sure Read more...
Just had Derek capture on June 19, 2009 wedding at the Halekulani. Although, I have not yet received our proofs, I am sure they are spectacular. He had us take some great still photo shots that we are very anxious to see, and we can't wait to see the candids:) He was so nice, laid back, and very easy to work with. He did not add any stress to our day. We had a budget to work with and he gladly made us a custom package. I highly recommend Derek and his services. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Carlee
Wedding:
6/24/2014
4.8/5.0
Derek and Kathy were an absolute pleasure to work with. From the moment I engaged Derek about shooting my wedding he was nothing but helpful and accommodating.

His photos are truly amazing and I would definitely recommend him. Photography was one item that I was very picky about and knowing Derek and his work, I had 100% faith!
Derek and Kathy were an absolute pleasure to work with. From the moment I engaged Derek about shooting my wedding he was Read more...
Derek and Kathy were an absolute pleasure to work with. From the moment I engaged Derek about shooting my wedding he was nothing but helpful and accommodating.

His photos are truly amazing and I would definitely recommend him. Photography was one item that I was very picky about and knowing Derek and his work, I had 100% faith! Read less
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
P.O. Box 10204, Honolulu, HI 96816 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Derek Wong Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1312881360892 hawaiiweddingphotography