130x130 sq 1459822494 901f22c0810fe2ea derek wong photography

Derek Wong Photography

Honolulu , HI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

P.O. Box 10204
Honolulu, HI 96816 US (map)

PHONE

808-352-9072

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Artistic. Refined. Style.

Premier destination wedding photographer, Derek Wong.

Derek has an extensive background concentrated in photojournalism, commercial and... Read more
Artistic. Refined. Style.

Premier destination wedding photographer, Derek Wong.

Derek has an extensive background concentrated in photojournalism, commercial and portrait photography. He has studied and worked with world-class fashion, editorial, commercial, and portrait photographers including Karen Moskowitz, Platon, Norman Jean Roy, Max Vadukul, Dewey Nicks, and Andrew Eccles. His past work includes engagements with RealNetworks Inc., Apple Computer Inc., Wallpaper, The Surfer's Journal, and Third Floor Design.

Today, his focus is primarily on wedding photography. What sets him apart from other photographers are his attention to detail, his commitment to quality, and his talent and professional experience for capturing moving images - images that are at once spontaneous and elegant, authentic and timeless, poignant and classically beautiful.

Respected and appreciated by his clients. Derek’s work continually evolves to maintain the highest quality and expectations.

Photojournalists from major newspapers as well as filmmakers and graphic designers have recommended his work. They appreciate his eye for seeing emotion and capturing the immediacy of the moment.

His work has also been featured in Pacific Rim Wedding Magazine, Hawaii Bride & Groom, Vancouver Magazine, Wallpaper*, The New York Times, The Surfer's Journal, and Style Magazine. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1312929489024 hawaiiweddingphotographer01
130x130 sq 1312929491727 hawaiiweddingphotographer02
130x130 sq 1312929495930 hawaiiweddingphotographer03
130x130 sq 1312929497883 hawaiiweddingphotographer04
130x130 sq 1312929500867 hawaiiweddingphotographer05
130x130 sq 1312929503602 hawaiiweddingphotographer06
130x130 sq 1312929506086 hawaiiweddingphotographer07
130x130 sq 1312929508617 hawaiiweddingphotographer08
130x130 sq 1312929512211 hawaiiweddingphotographer09
130x130 sq 1312929515008 hawaiiweddingphotographer10
130x130 sq 1312929519305 hawaiiweddingphotographer11
130x130 sq 1312929521867 hawaiiweddingphotographer12
130x130 sq 1312929524664 hawaiiweddingphotographer13
130x130 sq 1312929527227 hawaiiweddingphotographer14
130x130 sq 1312929529633 hawaiiweddingphotographer15
130x130 sq 1312929531867 hawaiiweddingphotographer16
130x130 sq 1312929535492 hawaiiweddingphotographer17
130x130 sq 1312929537680 hawaiiweddingphotographer18
130x130 sq 1312929539914 hawaiiweddingphotographer19
130x130 sq 1312929543258 hawaiiweddingphotographer20
130x130 sq 1312929546055 hawaiiweddingphotographer21
130x130 sq 1312929549336 hawaiiweddingphotographer22
130x130 sq 1312929553805 hawaiiweddingphotographer23
130x130 sq 1312929557133 hawaiiweddingphotographer24
130x130 sq 1312929561430 hawaiiweddingphotographer25
130x130 sq 1312929564539 hawaiiweddingphotographer26
130x130 sq 1312929568227 hawaiiweddingphotographer27
130x130 sq 1312929571071 hawaiiweddingphotographer28
130x130 sq 1312929575742 hawaiiweddingphotographer29
130x130 sq 1312929579836 hawaiiweddingphotographer30
130x130 sq 1312929584711 hawaiiweddingphotographer31
130x130 sq 1312929586930 hawaiiweddingphotographer32
130x130 sq 1312929593321 hawaiiweddingphotographer33
130x130 sq 1312929598883 hawaiiweddingphotographer34
130x130 sq 1312929601399 hawaiiweddingphotographer35
130x130 sq 1312929604805 hawaiiweddingphotographer36
130x130 sq 1312929607352 hawaiiweddingphotographer37
130x130 sq 1312929610508 hawaiiweddingphotographer38
130x130 sq 1312929615305 hawaiiweddingphotographer39
130x130 sq 1312929622211 hawaiiweddingphotographer40
130x130 sq 1312929627352 hawaiiweddingphotographer41
130x130 sq 1312929630039 hawaiiweddingphotographer42
130x130 sq 1312929633992 hawaiiweddingphotographer43
130x130 sq 1312929636492 hawaiiweddingphotographer44
130x130 sq 1312929641899 hawaiiweddingphotographer45
130x130 sq 1312929644617 hawaiiweddingphotographer46
130x130 sq 1312929649477 hawaiiweddingphotographer47
130x130 sq 1312929655696 hawaiiweddingphotographer48
130x130 sq 1312929658211 hawaiiweddingphotographer49

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional
What photography services do you offer?
2nd Shooter, Add'l Hours, Engagement Shoot, High-Res, Liability Insurance, Multi. Locations, One Event/Day, Trash The Dress
What photography items do you offer?
Albums, Canvas, Digital Files, Flush Mount, Matted Prints, Negatives, Prints

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Derek and his team were absolutely amazing from start to finish. He was very communicative and easy to talk to during the planning stages, especially since we had a destination wedding. Their instructions and timing were clear and they worked extremely well with all of our other vendors. Most importantly, the quality of photos went beyond our expectations! Cannot recommend him enough!
Derek and his team were absolutely amazing from start to finish. He was very communicative and easy to talk to during the Read more...
Derek and his team were absolutely amazing from start to finish. He was very communicative and easy to talk to during the planning stages, especially since we had a destination wedding. Their instructions and timing were clear and they worked extremely well with all of our other vendors. Most importantly, the quality of photos went beyond our expectations! Cannot recommend him enough! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Carlee
Wedding:
6/24/2014
4.8/5.0
Derek and Kathy were an absolute pleasure to work with. From the moment I engaged Derek about shooting my wedding he was nothing but helpful and accommodating.

His photos are truly amazing and I would definitely recommend him. Photography was one item that I was very picky about and knowing Derek and his work, I had 100% faith!
Derek and Kathy were an absolute pleasure to work with. From the moment I engaged Derek about shooting my wedding he was Read more...
Derek and Kathy were an absolute pleasure to work with. From the moment I engaged Derek about shooting my wedding he was nothing but helpful and accommodating.

His photos are truly amazing and I would definitely recommend him. Photography was one item that I was very picky about and knowing Derek and his work, I had 100% faith! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Michelle
Wedding:
2/14/2014
4.8/5.0
Derek was super nice and easy to work with! Hope to work with him again in the future! :D
Derek was super nice and easy to work with! Hope to work with him again in the future! :D
Derek was super nice and easy to work with! Hope to work with him again in the future! :D Read less
Services Used: Photography
130x130 sq 1390117712761 14011118102
Steven
Wedding:
1/11/2014
5.0/5.0
We are so lucky to have Derek as our photographer. He's super friendly, helpful, talented, professional and devoted. We will definitely recommend him to anyone. I am currently trying to pick pictures to make our wedding album, but because all the pics he took of us are all so nice it makes the choosing process so hard. I just wanna pick all the pictures!!! Derek is the best photographer you can find!!! We love Derek Wong!
We are so lucky to have Derek as our photographer. He's super friendly, helpful, talented, professional and devoted. We Read more...
We are so lucky to have Derek as our photographer. He's super friendly, helpful, talented, professional and devoted. We will definitely recommend him to anyone. I am currently trying to pick pictures to make our wedding album, but because all the pics he took of us are all so nice it makes the choosing process so hard. I just wanna pick all the pictures!!! Derek is the best photographer you can find!!! We love Derek Wong! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
Derek was great to work with, the ultimate professional, and very flexible. We are very happy with Derek's work product and would recommend Derek to others!!
Derek was great to work with, the ultimate professional, and very flexible. We are very happy with Derek's work product Read more...
Derek was great to work with, the ultimate professional, and very flexible. We are very happy with Derek's work product and would recommend Derek to others!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Kristin
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Derek Wong photographed my wedding on 11/24/12, and although I have not seen any photos yet (it's only been 3 days) , he was an absolute pleasure to work with. He was very low key and the photography never felt intrusive. I can't wait to see the photos and I know they are going to be amazing. He was a cool guy and I would love to work with him again and would highly recommend him.
Derek Wong photographed my wedding on 11/24/12, and although I have not seen any photos yet (it's only been 3 days) , he Read more...
Derek Wong photographed my wedding on 11/24/12, and although I have not seen any photos yet (it's only been 3 days) , he was an absolute pleasure to work with. He was very low key and the photography never felt intrusive. I can't wait to see the photos and I know they are going to be amazing. He was a cool guy and I would love to work with him again and would highly recommend him. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
We cannot say enough wonderful things about working with Derek. He immediately put us at ease from the first time that we spoke, and continued to exceed our expectations. He was always there to provide us with guidance on our wedding plans, and was equally fantastic while we were shooting our engagement and wedding pictures. Derek is the ultimate professional, and it's evident that he takes pride in his work by the amount of time and care he puts into making each image perfect.

More importantly, Derek is a wonderful person, and it was such a pleasure to work with him while we were planning our wedding. We can only hope that we'll be able to stay in touch long after we get our wedding album. Thank you again for everything, Derek!
We cannot say enough wonderful things about working with Derek. He immediately put us at ease from the first time that we Read more...
We cannot say enough wonderful things about working with Derek. He immediately put us at ease from the first time that we spoke, and continued to exceed our expectations. He was always there to provide us with guidance on our wedding plans, and was equally fantastic while we were shooting our engagement and wedding pictures. Derek is the ultimate professional, and it's evident that he takes pride in his work by the amount of time and care he puts into making each image perfect.

More importantly, Derek is a wonderful person, and it was such a pleasure to work with him while we were planning our wedding. We can only hope that we'll be able to stay in touch long after we get our wedding album. Thank you again for everything, Derek! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Derek is professional and great to work with. He even stayed a little longer and captured more pictures without charging us. Because it was a busy wedding season for him, our pictures took longer than expected. However, he did keep us informed and responded quickly to our emails. We just wanted our pictures to turn out great and waiting a little longer for our pictures was worth it. We absolutely love our pictures!
Derek is professional and great to work with. He even stayed a little longer and captured more pictures without charging Read more...
Derek is professional and great to work with. He even stayed a little longer and captured more pictures without charging us. Because it was a busy wedding season for him, our pictures took longer than expected. However, he did keep us informed and responded quickly to our emails. We just wanted our pictures to turn out great and waiting a little longer for our pictures was worth it. We absolutely love our pictures! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
Derek and Bonnie are some of the sweetest people you will ever meet. They know what it is like to be in love and married. Because of that, they always keep the bride and groom’s expectations in mind. Not only can you can trust them to capture your most cherished moments, he makes you look pretty good. I had a really bad cold and was bloated on the day of my wedding; amazingly the majority of the photos did not look that way! The great thing about Derek is he’s an absolute perfectionist and will go through each of your photos to make sure the lighting and color are perfect. That being said, the only con about working with them is it will take awhile before you get your photos back. If you want to see your photos by 3 months, I’d recommend discussing this with them beforehand (I did not know any better) or to satisfy you in the meantime, have that crazy uncle go to town with a digital camera.
Derek and Bonnie are some of the sweetest people you will ever meet. They know what it is like to be in love and married. Read more...
Derek and Bonnie are some of the sweetest people you will ever meet. They know what it is like to be in love and married. Because of that, they always keep the bride and groom’s expectations in mind. Not only can you can trust them to capture your most cherished moments, he makes you look pretty good. I had a really bad cold and was bloated on the day of my wedding; amazingly the majority of the photos did not look that way! The great thing about Derek is he’s an absolute perfectionist and will go through each of your photos to make sure the lighting and color are perfect. That being said, the only con about working with them is it will take awhile before you get your photos back. If you want to see your photos by 3 months, I’d recommend discussing this with them beforehand (I did not know any better) or to satisfy you in the meantime, have that crazy uncle go to town with a digital camera. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
hawaiibride6411
Wedding:
6/4/2011
4.5/5.0
Aloha,

It is my pleasure to offer this recommendation and referral for Derek and Bonnie. They are genuinely a gracious, thoughtful and talented couple. Upon meeting them, we instantly felt comfortable and knew that they were the perfect fit for our wedding.

Not only is their work truly breathtaking, but they were enthusiastic, warm and professional from our very first meeting. We were confident that they would make both us and our guests feel at ease while capturing every detail of our big day - and they did! We received so many positive comments following our wedding from family and friends regarding how much they liked our photographers.

It is now a little over 3 months after our wedding, and while we've only received a preview of their work, what we've seen is AMAZING !!! We cannot wait to see all of our pictures. 

MAHALO to Derek & Bonnie and BEST WISHES to all the engaged couples out there!!! We know we made the right choice by going with them, and you will too!
Aloha,

It is my pleasure to offer this recommendation and referral for Derek and Bonnie. They are genuinely a Read more...
Aloha,

It is my pleasure to offer this recommendation and referral for Derek and Bonnie. They are genuinely a gracious, thoughtful and talented couple. Upon meeting them, we instantly felt comfortable and knew that they were the perfect fit for our wedding.

Not only is their work truly breathtaking, but they were enthusiastic, warm and professional from our very first meeting. We were confident that they would make both us and our guests feel at ease while capturing every detail of our big day - and they did! We received so many positive comments following our wedding from family and friends regarding how much they liked our photographers.

It is now a little over 3 months after our wedding, and while we've only received a preview of their work, what we've seen is AMAZING !!! We cannot wait to see all of our pictures. 

MAHALO to Derek & Bonnie and BEST WISHES to all the engaged couples out there!!! We know we made the right choice by going with them, and you will too! Read less
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
P.O. Box 10204, Honolulu, HI 96816 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Derek Wong Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1459822494 901f22c0810fe2ea derek wong photography