130x130 sq 1294374704532 22170273s2

Desert House Productions

Phoenix , AZ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Phoenix, AZ US (map)

PHONE

602-790-2241

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Desert House Production’s sound-spinning duo is one of Arizona’s most sought after DJ teams. Known for mixing a variety of upscale beats and sounds, the pair comes armed with an arsenal... Read more
Desert House Production’s sound-spinning duo is one of Arizona’s most sought after DJ teams. Known for mixing a variety of upscale beats and sounds, the pair comes armed with an arsenal of modern musical styles and an artistic lighting display. Harnessing the power of music, Desert House injects an energetic and modern twist to your venue or event. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1369329699324 398016554337957910894699393539n copy
130x130 sq 1369329013724 dsc0045
130x130 sq 1314382189811 z15
130x130 sq 1337113630239 dsc0559
130x130 sq 1369329647829 3041175543380279108872120567355n copy
130x130 sq 1336953126258 dsc0498
130x130 sq 1314382203321 z2
130x130 sq 1314382215863 z6
130x130 sq 1336953294523 dsc0437
130x130 sq 1314382212915 z5
130x130 sq 1314382206971 z3
130x130 sq 1314382210590 z4
130x130 sq 1337113569652 dsc0540
130x130 sq 1369330640533 dsc0311
130x130 sq 1369332137835 dsc0419

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
Desert House Productions began as the culmination of talents of husband-and-wife team Dave & Drea Strickler in 2002. Dave (DJ & drummer) and Drea (DJ & classically trained pianist/composer) initially combined their skills to provide performances for house parties, weddings, and other select events. Realizing that their unique pairing & musical sensibilities allowed them to offer a service unlike any other, they soon formed Desert House Productions and began their foray into the larger entertainment services market.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
no
What is your usual attire?
Sophisticated style.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
No
How many other DJs do you work with?
Two
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Two Hours
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Of Course
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
Many
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Of Course
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Top-of-the-Line DJ Gear, Instruments, Sound-Systems & Intelligent Lighting Packages
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
Two Hours
Do you have any extra space requirements?
No
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
We make announcement where they are needed to direct the flow of the event. Our announcements are minimal.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Specializing in many diverse events we are adapt at reading a crowd's energy. We NEVER play games or horrible cliche' music to get people moving!
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
We don't takes breaks and yes do require the client to provide us with a hot meal
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
Yes
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
We always have a qualified Desert House Productions DJ
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
We never book more than one wedding per DJ per day.
What is your overtime rate?
$300 an hour
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Yes, we do charge for travel expenses if the event is outside of the Phoenix area. We charge based upon how far the event is and also require Lodging.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
50%

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Elisa
Wedding:
1/3/2015
5.0/5.0
Drea is awesome! I never left the dance floor because all her music selections were on point! All my guests raved about it.
Drea is awesome! I never left the dance floor because all her music selections were on point! All my guests raved about Read more...
Drea is awesome! I never left the dance floor because all her music selections were on point! All my guests raved about it. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
11/29/2014
5.0/5.0
Working with Dave with DHP was so awesome! He brought to life all of our ideas and made us so comfortable that he would take care of us during our wedding! On our wedding day he made sure to keep the party going while also keeping everyone interested in what was going on. He did very well at making sure everything went smoothly and had a good flow to it. I've been to many weddings and have never seen a DJ like Dave. We had many compliments on how awesome of a party it was and I have Dave to thanks for that! :)
Working with Dave with DHP was so awesome! He brought to life all of our ideas and made us so comfortable that he would Read more...
Working with Dave with DHP was so awesome! He brought to life all of our ideas and made us so comfortable that he would take care of us during our wedding! On our wedding day he made sure to keep the party going while also keeping everyone interested in what was going on. He did very well at making sure everything went smoothly and had a good flow to it. I've been to many weddings and have never seen a DJ like Dave. We had many compliments on how awesome of a party it was and I have Dave to thanks for that! :) Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Jenna
Wedding:
11/23/2014
5.0/5.0
Dave was excellent. Set everything up early, needed no maintenance whatsoever. He and his assistant were very professional. Everything went off without a hiccup. I would recommend Desert House Productions to anyone.
Dave was excellent. Set everything up early, needed no maintenance whatsoever. He and his assistant were very Read more...
Dave was excellent. Set everything up early, needed no maintenance whatsoever. He and his assistant were very professional. Everything went off without a hiccup. I would recommend Desert House Productions to anyone. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We hired Desert House after attending a friends wedding and knew that if we got married in AZ that we would hire them in a heartbeat! We loved Drea at our wedding! Our wedding was a party and exactly what we wanted...no cheesy wedding music! We purchased their lighting package along with their light up dancefloor (total hit!). I would recommend them to anyone.
We hired Desert House after attending a friends wedding and knew that if we got married in AZ that we would hire them in a Read more...
We hired Desert House after attending a friends wedding and knew that if we got married in AZ that we would hire them in a heartbeat! We loved Drea at our wedding! Our wedding was a party and exactly what we wanted...no cheesy wedding music! We purchased their lighting package along with their light up dancefloor (total hit!). I would recommend them to anyone. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Brittany
Wedding:
10/18/2014
5.0/5.0
We booked Desert House Productions for our wedding as a recommendation from a friend. I had high expectations, and they exceeded them!! Jay did such a fantastic job!!! We had an absolute blast. The music made the night. Everyone was dancing all night. I had several requests and Jay made everything perfect. I would HIGHLY recommend Desert House for your wedding.
We booked Desert House Productions for our wedding as a recommendation from a friend. I had high expectations, and they Read more...
We booked Desert House Productions for our wedding as a recommendation from a friend. I had high expectations, and they exceeded them!! Jay did such a fantastic job!!! We had an absolute blast. The music made the night. Everyone was dancing all night. I had several requests and Jay made everything perfect. I would HIGHLY recommend Desert House for your wedding. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
If you are club music type of people (house, hip-hop, mixes) then do not look any further than Desert House. We wanted more of a going out, club feel and not a cheesy, do the chicken dance, have the DJ play games with the guests type of feel and boy did we get exactly what we were looking for. Drea made smooth transitions and mixed one song with the next (exactly what you hear when you go out) instead of other DJ's who just faded from one song to the next.

Drea was a dream. We and our guests were on the dance floor all night. There was no need for requests because she is the type of DJ who monitors the dance floor and guests and adjusts to your needs. She made the night about us and the only time she was on the microphone was to announce the wedding party, speeches and when I wanted her to make announcements. She did needs to be on the mic encouraging guests to dance because everyone already was!

Also my husband wanted a percussionist to be playing along with her to get a South Beach sort of vibe. I was a little skeptical since I had never before seen a percussionist working along side the DJ- but he was AMAZING. He added that live element without have a full band. He went full out and his poor hands were swollen at the end of the night. Our guests LOVED him! He played along with house, hip-hop, 90's music and was especially on point when latin songs were played.

If you are looking to keep your guests on the dance floor all night and make the music about YOU and not the DJ- Desert House
If you are club music type of people (house, hip-hop, mixes) then do not look any further than Desert House. We wanted Read more...
If you are club music type of people (house, hip-hop, mixes) then do not look any further than Desert House. We wanted more of a going out, club feel and not a cheesy, do the chicken dance, have the DJ play games with the guests type of feel and boy did we get exactly what we were looking for. Drea made smooth transitions and mixed one song with the next (exactly what you hear when you go out) instead of other DJ's who just faded from one song to the next.

Drea was a dream. We and our guests were on the dance floor all night. There was no need for requests because she is the type of DJ who monitors the dance floor and guests and adjusts to your needs. She made the night about us and the only time she was on the microphone was to announce the wedding party, speeches and when I wanted her to make announcements. She did needs to be on the mic encouraging guests to dance because everyone already was!

Also my husband wanted a percussionist to be playing along with her to get a South Beach sort of vibe. I was a little skeptical since I had never before seen a percussionist working along side the DJ- but he was AMAZING. He added that live element without have a full band. He went full out and his poor hands were swollen at the end of the night. Our guests LOVED him! He played along with house, hip-hop, 90's music and was especially on point when latin songs were played.

If you are looking to keep your guests on the dance floor all night and make the music about YOU and not the DJ- Desert House Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Whitney
Wedding:
10/11/2014
5.0/5.0
Dave was a great DJ and everything on our wedding day went seamlessly. He provided our music during the ceremony, cocktail hour and the reception. We wanted different types of music to be played during cocktail hour and during dinner and he did a great job providing that! He was a key person in making sure that things were flowing smoothly and on time. He was great at providing music for all different generations to dance to and our dance floor was packed the entire night which made for an awesome dance party! Thanks Dave...you were great and hopefully we can work together in the future!

Whitney and Ryan Benson
Dave was a great DJ and everything on our wedding day went seamlessly. He provided our music during the ceremony, cocktail Read more...
Dave was a great DJ and everything on our wedding day went seamlessly. He provided our music during the ceremony, cocktail hour and the reception. We wanted different types of music to be played during cocktail hour and during dinner and he did a great job providing that! He was a key person in making sure that things were flowing smoothly and on time. He was great at providing music for all different generations to dance to and our dance floor was packed the entire night which made for an awesome dance party! Thanks Dave...you were great and hopefully we can work together in the future!

Whitney and Ryan Benson Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
130x130 sq 1400381906 89326d68a2e9cb66 teasha   stephen  engagement   61 of 111
Teasha
Wedding:
10/10/2014
5.0/5.0
We told her the genres of music that we liked for the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner, and dancing and she nailed each one. The reception was a huge dance party and was so much fun. Drea was absolutely AMAZING!!!
We told her the genres of music that we liked for the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner, and dancing and she nailed each Read more...
We told her the genres of music that we liked for the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner, and dancing and she nailed each one. The reception was a huge dance party and was so much fun. Drea was absolutely AMAZING!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Eva
Wedding:
9/19/2014
5.0/5.0
You know that you had an amazing DJ when 3 months after your wedding all your friends keep talking about is how amazing the music was....and how EVERYONE at our wedding was on the dance floor! Dave is a sheer joy to work with every step of the process. From compiling our first dance 4-song mash-up, to meeting with us two days prior to review the timing of the reception, Dave was attentive to our wants. He is a great DJ, with the ability to read the crowd. At multiple points throughout the night, the entire guest list was on the dance floor, ages 6 through 76!! We gave Dave free reign on music selection and are so grateful we chose to do so....there wasn't a song EVERYONE didn't love! My only regret was the night didn't go on indefinitely. A shout out to Amy Mancuso....another great referral from an amazing wedding planner. We asked for talent and a dream team....and it was delivered!
You know that you had an amazing DJ when 3 months after your wedding all your friends keep talking about is how amazing Read more...
You know that you had an amazing DJ when 3 months after your wedding all your friends keep talking about is how amazing the music was....and how EVERYONE at our wedding was on the dance floor! Dave is a sheer joy to work with every step of the process. From compiling our first dance 4-song mash-up, to meeting with us two days prior to review the timing of the reception, Dave was attentive to our wants. He is a great DJ, with the ability to read the crowd. At multiple points throughout the night, the entire guest list was on the dance floor, ages 6 through 76!! We gave Dave free reign on music selection and are so grateful we chose to do so....there wasn't a song EVERYONE didn't love! My only regret was the night didn't go on indefinitely. A shout out to Amy Mancuso....another great referral from an amazing wedding planner. We asked for talent and a dream team....and it was delivered! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Dave and Drea are by far the best DJ's in all of Arizona!!! I've worked with them for over 3 years and consistently referred clients that were looking for something different than the cheesy DJ playing newlywed games. They were always on time, professional, and kept the crowd on the dance floor the entire night. As soon as we started planning the wedding, they were on my vendor list.

They assisted with both our ceremony and reception music--all of which was fantastic! Dave even found an instrumental version of the song I dreamed of our bridal party walking down the aisle to after I spent hours of searching. When it came time for the reception they kept the schedule running on time and the dance floor packed the entire night. We had to have additional transportation arranged for because nobody took the early busses home! The night turned out exactly how I imagined it would and they were a HUGE part of that!!

I tell all my clients there are a few things that are truly worth spending money on and a DJ is definitely one of them. They make or break the party and Desert House truly makes your party!
Dave and Drea are by far the best DJ's in all of Arizona!!! I've worked with them for over 3 years and consistently Read more...
Dave and Drea are by far the best DJ's in all of Arizona!!! I've worked with them for over 3 years and consistently referred clients that were looking for something different than the cheesy DJ playing newlywed games. They were always on time, professional, and kept the crowd on the dance floor the entire night. As soon as we started planning the wedding, they were on my vendor list.

They assisted with both our ceremony and reception music--all of which was fantastic! Dave even found an instrumental version of the song I dreamed of our bridal party walking down the aisle to after I spent hours of searching. When it came time for the reception they kept the schedule running on time and the dance floor packed the entire night. We had to have additional transportation arranged for because nobody took the early busses home! The night turned out exactly how I imagined it would and they were a HUGE part of that!!

I tell all my clients there are a few things that are truly worth spending money on and a DJ is definitely one of them. They make or break the party and Desert House truly makes your party! Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
Phoenix, AZ See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Desert House Productions
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1294374704532 22170273s2