130x130 sq 1386619948182 desertmusicentertainmentdancing.jp

Desert Music Entertainment

Phoenix & San Diego
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Phoenix & San Diego, US

PHONE

480-967-7333

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Desert Music Entertainment DJs and Videography has been awarded the Brides Choice Award for 2011, 2012 and 2013 for providing outstanding customer service. Only the top 5% of wedding... Read more
Desert Music Entertainment DJs and Videography has been awarded the Brides Choice Award for 2011, 2012 and 2013 for providing outstanding customer service. Only the top 5% of wedding vendors in the country are given this award. We are Arizona and San Diego's MOST experienced and affordable Disc Jockey entertainment and Videography company. Experience DOES matter. We have some of the most experienced wedding DJ entertainers in Arizona and San Diego. All of our DJs have performed at over 200 events which translates into YEARS of actual DJ experience. Not all parties are just about great music, sometimes you need to convey your message. Our DJs possess professional voices and unflappable stage presence. Don't leave the musical entertainment, for your event, to chance, make an informed decision by contacting Desert Music Entertainment for professional, reasonably priced disc jockey entertainment for your special event.

Call us NOW to check on our availability for your wedding (the popular dates fill up early, so don't hesitate, contact us now.) You can reach us in Arizona at 480-967-7333 or in San Diego at 855-967-7888 or by email at jj@DesertMusicEntertainment.com. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1337881257987 bridelookingdownatbouquetdesertmusicentertainment
130x130 sq 1337878004069 desertmusicentertainmentweddingdjs
130x130 sq 1337878167256 happybridewithweddinglicensedesertmusicentertainment
130x130 sq 1337879934693 weddingceremonysunridgecanyondesertmusicentertainment
130x130 sq 1337880076603 dancingonthecloud
130x130 sq 1337880189237 desertmusicentertainmentdancing.jpg
130x130 sq 1337880308935 20120303183809830
130x130 sq 1337880431526 djweb0014
130x130 sq 1337880545256 sparklersforweddingsdesertmusicentertainment
130x130 sq 1337881427548 djweb0009
130x130 sq 1337878242797 custommonogramdesertmusicentertainment.jpg
130x130 sq 1337878299556 chocolatefonduefountaindesertmusicentertainment.jpg
130x130 sq 1337879783589 20120421190747367
130x130 sq 1337880693202 desertmusicentertainmentaccentlighting
130x130 sq 1337880789378 20120519173818967
130x130 sq 1337880971465 desertmusicentertainmentsdjjjmichaels
130x130 sq 1337881041001 cimg1217
130x130 sq 1337881113605 dsc01455
130x130 sq 1337881546516 20111001182220241
130x130 sq 1339616677517 sideviewbridestaringatbouquetdesertmusicentertainment
130x130 sq 1356555224302 desertentfinallogo
130x130 sq 1356555264651 brideandfatherdancedesertmusicentertainment
130x130 sq 1356555282137 desertmusicentertainmentbrideandgroomsstdance
130x130 sq 1356555313318 pa200025

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
You can pick your DJ personality from mild to wild, it's your choice but we will NEVER be cheesy or over-the-top.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
We have tens of thousands of songs that we bring to each event so if there are any last minute requests, we should have them.
What is your usual attire?
Normal attire for our DJs is a black tuxedo, however, some events don't call for such formal wear so anything from business casual to Halloween costumes can be accomodated.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
The only time we ask a client to provide a song for us is if that song just isn't available which doesn't really happen anymore.
How many other DJs do you work with?
We have five of the most experienced, professional DJs, in Arizona, on staff. We can find just the 'right' DJ personality for your event.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
We do have a three hour minimum requirement for any event that we do.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
You can meet your DJ anytime before you book, as a matter of fact, we encourage you to do that, so you can see if the DJ's personality is a good fit for you.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
We have done numerous ethnic events over the years, however, we don't 'specialize' in any ethnicity.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Yes, a client can submit a 'DO NOT PLAY' list (we encourage it so we don't play a song that the client may not like or have a not so happy memory attached to it.)
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes, we bring EVERYTHING we need to provide the quality performance that our clients want and expect.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We offer a number of special equipment items that can make any event special and unique. We offer club lighting, mirrorball like effects, accent lighting, custom image projection and large video screen projection.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
We usually arrive anywhere from 1 1/2 to 2 hours before the event is to start to set-up our equipment, do a sound check and then make any adjustments that need to be made.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
Depending on the equipment options choosen by the client, we would not need any extra space, however, if a client would select our large video projection or something similar, then, yes, we would need some additional space.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No we do not use any sort of signage at any event. If a guest is interested in our services and approaches us at an event, we will discreetly provide them with a business card.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
Yes, we are the 'emcee' at any event and there are times when we have to talk more than other times as the emcee, however, once the party is going we are NOT going to interrupt the flow of the event just to say something meaningless.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
That's easy, every crowd can be motivated to dance, you just have to find out what motivates them. A professional DJ will try different genres of music or he may have to try a group participation event (game or dance) but an experienced DJ will find something to get the crowd going.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
A DJ shouldn't have to take a break, once the music starts, that's what longer songs are for. As far as providing a meal for the DJ, it is not required.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
Once again, we do not take breaks.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
We ALWAYS have a back-up DJ on call with back-up equipment just in case of emergencies.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
Being that we have multiple DJs on staff, yes, we do book multiple events on any given day, however, a DJ will ONLY perform at one event per day.
What is your overtime rate?
Our overtime rate is $75 an hour, if booked in advance, and $90 an hour if booked the day of the event.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
We charge for travel ONLY if we go outside the metro Phoenix area and then only a minimal fee to help cover the DJ's gas.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
We have a $200 retainer fee which comes right off the balance.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Amanda
Wedding:
11/8/2014
5.0/5.0
Love JJ (Desert Music Entertainment)!!!!!

I was VERY picky about my wedding DJ - our wedding music was a big priority for me.

He knows all of the fun songs and his planning website is SO helpful...you can preview songs for each stage of your wedding and it's extremely helpful for visualizing everything.

JJ is also extremely knowledgable in various music types and gave me some amazing suggestions for my ceremony. He responded to my emails within 48-hours and was sooo helpful. His Reception Music List had all and more of the songs that I had envisioned. He knows how to get people to dance.

I HIGHLY recommend JJ (Desert Music Entertainment).
Love JJ (Desert Music Entertainment)!!!!!

I was VERY picky about my wedding DJ - our wedding music was a big Read more...
Love JJ (Desert Music Entertainment)!!!!!

I was VERY picky about my wedding DJ - our wedding music was a big priority for me.

He knows all of the fun songs and his planning website is SO helpful...you can preview songs for each stage of your wedding and it's extremely helpful for visualizing everything.

JJ is also extremely knowledgable in various music types and gave me some amazing suggestions for my ceremony. He responded to my emails within 48-hours and was sooo helpful. His Reception Music List had all and more of the songs that I had envisioned. He knows how to get people to dance.

I HIGHLY recommend JJ (Desert Music Entertainment). Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Bypass all of the wanna-be DJs at the wedding shows and call J.J. at Desert Music Entertainment. We brought J.J. to Tucson for our daughter's wedding and we could not have been more pleased. He provided the sound systems for the wedding ceremony and the reception. J.J. kept the crowd dancing to tunes chosen by the bride and groom, while being responsible for smooth transitions between the scheduled events (grand entrance, toasts, cake cutting, garter and bouquet toss, pinata, ice cream truck arrival, sparkler exit and fireworks). J.J. was in charge but you would not really know he was there. He is not one of those "in your face" D.J.s that can ruin your event. He is a professional that we would hire again in an instant.
Bypass all of the wanna-be DJs at the wedding shows and call J.J. at Desert Music Entertainment. We brought J.J. to Tucson Read more...
Bypass all of the wanna-be DJs at the wedding shows and call J.J. at Desert Music Entertainment. We brought J.J. to Tucson for our daughter's wedding and we could not have been more pleased. He provided the sound systems for the wedding ceremony and the reception. J.J. kept the crowd dancing to tunes chosen by the bride and groom, while being responsible for smooth transitions between the scheduled events (grand entrance, toasts, cake cutting, garter and bouquet toss, pinata, ice cream truck arrival, sparkler exit and fireworks). J.J. was in charge but you would not really know he was there. He is not one of those "in your face" D.J.s that can ruin your event. He is a professional that we would hire again in an instant. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/24/2014
5.0/5.0
I was hesitatant to pay for a videographer because the prices really intimidated me, but after speaking with JJ Michaels I was beyond excited I made the decision to hire one. From our first conversation, he was so informative about the whole process about what would happen or what I needed to do, and gave a specific timeframe for all events. Having all those details was so relieving. With this business being out of Phoenix and my wedding in Tucson, I was hesitant about the distance. But, again, I was reassured, they had local help and everything came together seamlessly. And probably the best part was that he completely worked with our budget, and trust me it was a very miniscule budget. Deadlines were dead on, promises were kept, and communication was always open with the frequent updates and reminders. If I ever have an event again like this, I would not hesitate to hire this business!!
I was hesitatant to pay for a videographer because the prices really intimidated me, but after speaking with JJ Michaels I Read more...
I was hesitatant to pay for a videographer because the prices really intimidated me, but after speaking with JJ Michaels I was beyond excited I made the decision to hire one. From our first conversation, he was so informative about the whole process about what would happen or what I needed to do, and gave a specific timeframe for all events. Having all those details was so relieving. With this business being out of Phoenix and my wedding in Tucson, I was hesitant about the distance. But, again, I was reassured, they had local help and everything came together seamlessly. And probably the best part was that he completely worked with our budget, and trust me it was a very miniscule budget. Deadlines were dead on, promises were kept, and communication was always open with the frequent updates and reminders. If I ever have an event again like this, I would not hesitate to hire this business!! Read less
Services Used: Videography
Default vendor profile pic
Kate
Wedding:
9/13/2014
5.0/5.0
JJ was the BEST DJ we could have asked for. He was SO organized leading up to the event, as well as on the day. He was really a breath of fresh air. He has an excellent selection of music and allowed us to pick as much music as we wanted. He followed all our requests in terms of how much (or little) we wanted him to speak, and included the music we asked for. My mom also surprised him with a video after she arrived at the event and he catered to her needs, regardless of the technical complexity. (i wouldnt recommend a suprise video, however JJ did it was a positive can-do attitude which was all we could ask for). His pricing was also extremely fair and worth every penny. I highly recommend JJ and wouldnt think twice about hiring Desert Music Entertainment again
JJ was the BEST DJ we could have asked for. He was SO organized leading up to the event, as well as on the day. He was Read more...
JJ was the BEST DJ we could have asked for. He was SO organized leading up to the event, as well as on the day. He was really a breath of fresh air. He has an excellent selection of music and allowed us to pick as much music as we wanted. He followed all our requests in terms of how much (or little) we wanted him to speak, and included the music we asked for. My mom also surprised him with a video after she arrived at the event and he catered to her needs, regardless of the technical complexity. (i wouldnt recommend a suprise video, however JJ did it was a positive can-do attitude which was all we could ask for). His pricing was also extremely fair and worth every penny. I highly recommend JJ and wouldnt think twice about hiring Desert Music Entertainment again Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about JJ. His was so professional and fun. The dancing lasted late and the party goers we asking for more! JJ came all the way to Prescott without extra travel charges too.. an added bonus. He is the best!!!
I can't say enough about JJ. His was so professional and fun. The dancing lasted late and the party goers we asking for Read more...
I can't say enough about JJ. His was so professional and fun. The dancing lasted late and the party goers we asking for more! JJ came all the way to Prescott without extra travel charges too.. an added bonus. He is the best!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Peter
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
JJ did a great job from start to finish as our DJ. I was very impressed with how professional and responsive he was. He was always very prompt in responding to any of our needs and questions. He also did a great job of balancing different songs and playing music that appealed to all our guests. Great job and thanks again JJ!
JJ did a great job from start to finish as our DJ. I was very impressed with how professional and responsive he was. He Read more...
JJ did a great job from start to finish as our DJ. I was very impressed with how professional and responsive he was. He was always very prompt in responding to any of our needs and questions. He also did a great job of balancing different songs and playing music that appealed to all our guests. Great job and thanks again JJ! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Desert Music Entertainment has been used for our community entertainment for many years. When my fiancé and I began working on all the wedding details, this was a no brainer. We knew that JJ would once again give us a fun filled event. We were not let down. He is excellent at communication prior to and during the event. We will use him again and again because the value, entertainment, and dependability are all EXCELLENT!
Thanks JJ for all our special wedding requests and helping to make our day perfect.
Desert Music Entertainment has been used for our community entertainment for many years. When my fiancé and I began Read more...
Desert Music Entertainment has been used for our community entertainment for many years. When my fiancé and I began working on all the wedding details, this was a no brainer. We knew that JJ would once again give us a fun filled event. We were not let down. He is excellent at communication prior to and during the event. We will use him again and again because the value, entertainment, and dependability are all EXCELLENT!
Thanks JJ for all our special wedding requests and helping to make our day perfect. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
JJ was an awesome DJ. He came highly recommended from our wedding planner and we're so happy we went with JJ. Our guests couldn't stop commenting on the great music JJ provided and that he easily kept the party going. During the planning phase he was great with contacting us and making sure everything was going well and always offered out advice. JJ was wonderful to work with and we highly recommend him.
JJ was an awesome DJ. He came highly recommended from our wedding planner and we're so happy we went with JJ. Our guests Read more...
JJ was an awesome DJ. He came highly recommended from our wedding planner and we're so happy we went with JJ. Our guests couldn't stop commenting on the great music JJ provided and that he easily kept the party going. During the planning phase he was great with contacting us and making sure everything was going well and always offered out advice. JJ was wonderful to work with and we highly recommend him. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Sam
Wedding:
3/21/2014
5.0/5.0
DJ JJ did an incredible job! He was beyond organized and even provided a website and checked in periodically to make sure all of my questions and needs were met! He had everyone on that dance floor cutting a rug the whole time, ages 2-85 enjoyed his dance selections and he was great at keeping us on track and ensuring the night ran smoothly. He even offered great song suggestions for the special moments and was able to meet all of my requests. He was absolutely outstanding and kept the party going all night long! Thank you JJ! If you're a bride who doesn't want to worry that their DJ will do a good job, JJ is the guy. He even did trivia to release the tables to the buffet line which my guests had a ball doing. Couldn't be happier!
DJ JJ did an incredible job! He was beyond organized and even provided a website and checked in periodically to make sure Read more...
DJ JJ did an incredible job! He was beyond organized and even provided a website and checked in periodically to make sure all of my questions and needs were met! He had everyone on that dance floor cutting a rug the whole time, ages 2-85 enjoyed his dance selections and he was great at keeping us on track and ensuring the night ran smoothly. He even offered great song suggestions for the special moments and was able to meet all of my requests. He was absolutely outstanding and kept the party going all night long! Thank you JJ! If you're a bride who doesn't want to worry that their DJ will do a good job, JJ is the guy. He even did trivia to release the tables to the buffet line which my guests had a ball doing. Couldn't be happier! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had JJ host our wedding reception and he was perfect! Very professional, affordable and he had a great music line up... as a result we danced the night away, until the place closed down! He was great - would recommend him to any of my friends/family as he helped make our special night even more special!
We had JJ host our wedding reception and he was perfect! Very professional, affordable and he had a great music line up... Read more...
We had JJ host our wedding reception and he was perfect! Very professional, affordable and he had a great music line up... as a result we danced the night away, until the place closed down! He was great - would recommend him to any of my friends/family as he helped make our special night even more special! Read less
Services Used: DJ

DEALS

15% OFF any DJ entertainment or Videography package
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $200 Value
Tell us you saw our listing on Wedding Wire and get 15% OFF any DJ entertainment or Videography package. Be sure to mention that you saw us on Wedding Wire to get this discount. Contact us NOW as the popular dates always fill up early.

Offer Expires: 12/31/2014
Deal #WW7fa543619cb681fb
220x220 1359048314312 vrbutton3
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Desert Music Entertainment
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1386619948182 desertmusicentertainmentdancing.jp