130x130 sq 1294987598896 dscf4487

Designer Cakes & Confections

Thornton , CO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Thornton, CO US (map)

PHONE

720-205-2732

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

"Designer Cakes & Confections Delivers Custom Wedding Cakes and Sculpted Groom's Cakes Throughout Colorado."
... Read more
"Designer Cakes & Confections Delivers Custom Wedding Cakes and Sculpted Groom's Cakes Throughout Colorado."
___________________________________________________________________________________________________

We currently meet couples for complimentary consultations by appopintment only, which includes a tasting of some of our favorite cake flavors and fillings.

NOTE: Due to the high level of care we put into each of our client's cakes, we carefully limit the amount of events we book to ensure the very best quality and design possible for each of our very special couples. Booking as far out in advance in HIGHLY recommended to ensure your date is avalable.

ABOUT: Owner and lead cake designer, Jennifer K. Campbell has been creating and designing custom cakes and sugar art for the last 8 years and continues to hone her skills by receiving specialized training from other knoweldgeable top sugar artists and cake designers in the industry.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

"We are truly excited to share our talent with you to create the wedding and groom's cakes of your dreams.... We firmly beleive that taste & design are equally important counterparts to a custom cakes and we aim to create the dessert of a lifetime, just for you!"



-Jennifer K. Campbell (Owner at Designer Cakes & Co.) Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1294558727578 dscf4487
130x130 sq 1294558200624 dscf4453
130x130 sq 1256266747915 glickweddingcake3
130x130 sq 1256265609634 ddc2
130x130 sq 1329812583939 beavermeadowswedding2011
130x130 sq 1329812664024 chocolatefestival2011
130x130 sq 1256261580025 denverdesignercakes1
130x130 sq 1329812484398 angrybirdscake
130x130 sq 1256264613337 brynskiwedding
130x130 sq 1256267472462 sanfordparkswedding
130x130 sq 1256265852619 rondfeldt1
130x130 sq 1329812722054 dscf4433
130x130 sq 1256266870197 elliottweddingcake
130x130 sq 1256266926572 ferrellwedding
130x130 sq 1256266996697 margravewedding
130x130 sq 1256267078462 parkswedding
130x130 sq 1256267884009 milleniumfalcon1
130x130 sq 1256268148244 milleniumfalcon2
130x130 sq 1256268408994 deathstar2
130x130 sq 1256266822994 combsmcgahacup1
130x130 sq 1256267168759 grahamweddingcake
130x130 sq 1256267762759 whitewedding2
130x130 sq 1256268760134 berrygrooms
130x130 sq 1256266653650 berryweddingcake2

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Groom's Cake
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Organic
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
All of our consultations are currently by appointment only.
What are your tasting hours?
We typically meet clients Tuesday through Friday for tastings between the hours of 12pm-6:30pm.
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Our cakes are typically priced by the slice and the price depends on the final design work involved. Currently, our minimum is five-hundred dollars for a three tier wedding cake.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
Yes
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
We customize and personalize every cake we make based off ideas, colors and patterns that the bride and groom bring to the consult. We also can build a design completely from scratch. We do not have a book of cakes to choose from. Our portfolio is meant to show clients what our company is capable of.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
We make everything completely from scratch, to include our premium great tasting white chocolate rolled fondant. Our signature buttercream is made from fresh sweet cream organic butter, powdered sugar, egg whites and bourbon vanilla extract. We try to use mostly organic ingredients which is why our cakes begin at 500 dollars. Furthermore, we do not use any shortening except to make the gumpaste for the handmade sugarpaste flowers (which are normally considered inedible). Several of our fillings our made with premium liqueurs along with handmade fruit preserves.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
We begin baking the tiers about 3 days before the wedding.
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
We limit our calendar to 6 weddings max per weekend to insure excellent quality of completion for each one of our important brides.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
We create handmade painted and dusted sugar flowers, but we definitely allow the florist to decorate the cake with fresh flowers if this is what the bride prefers.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
We rent our luxurious silver cake pedestals for $100.00 per event. This includes pick up and delivery. However, if you bring the cake stand back to us we only charge a $60.00 rental fee.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Delivery fees depend on the mileage. We are situated approximately right between Denver and Boulder (20 minutes each way). Please call or email for pricing. Thanks.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Michelle
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Jennifer designed a 30 x 30 hockey themed graduation cake for our son's graduation party. She did an incredible job with authenticity, color and detail. The quality of the cakes (there were 4 different flavors), were amazing. She went above and beyond all my expectations!
Jennifer designed a 30 x 30 hockey themed graduation cake for our son's graduation party. She did an incredible job with Read more...
Jennifer designed a 30 x 30 hockey themed graduation cake for our son's graduation party. She did an incredible job with authenticity, color and detail. The quality of the cakes (there were 4 different flavors), were amazing. She went above and beyond all my expectations! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Melanie
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Jennifer created the cake for our very impromptu wedding in November. She was prompt in answering all of our question and suggesting very creative ideas for our cake. We couldn't have been more please with the cake, not only was it decorated impeccably, it was extremely delicious (someone actually licked the plate) I would recommend Jennifer to create a cake for any occasion.
Jennifer created the cake for our very impromptu wedding in November. She was prompt in answering all of our question and Read more...
Jennifer created the cake for our very impromptu wedding in November. She was prompt in answering all of our question and suggesting very creative ideas for our cake. We couldn't have been more please with the cake, not only was it decorated impeccably, it was extremely delicious (someone actually licked the plate) I would recommend Jennifer to create a cake for any occasion. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Leslie
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Fantastic in every way imaginable! We searched around Denver and Boulder for a bakery to make our wedding cake last year. We had a very specific rustic white branch look in mind for the cake and while we were confidant in 2 of the bakers decorating skills we visited with, unfortunately, out of 7 total cake bakeries we went to, every single one had cake that was either completely dry and inedible or just plain bland and tasteless except for Designer Cakes. You would really think so many bakeries would at least try to do a little better here in Colorado, but sadly, I guess not?? This is hands down the best cake I've ever had (even better than my grandmother's cake). Jennifer was so friendly and helpful the entire time, and she did a great job with the design. We are so happy we found her (by my realtor's recommendation). Everyone loved the cake! It was worth every penny and made our wedding so special!
Fantastic in every way imaginable! We searched around Denver and Boulder for a bakery to make our wedding cake last year. Read more...
Fantastic in every way imaginable! We searched around Denver and Boulder for a bakery to make our wedding cake last year. We had a very specific rustic white branch look in mind for the cake and while we were confidant in 2 of the bakers decorating skills we visited with, unfortunately, out of 7 total cake bakeries we went to, every single one had cake that was either completely dry and inedible or just plain bland and tasteless except for Designer Cakes. You would really think so many bakeries would at least try to do a little better here in Colorado, but sadly, I guess not?? This is hands down the best cake I've ever had (even better than my grandmother's cake). Jennifer was so friendly and helpful the entire time, and she did a great job with the design. We are so happy we found her (by my realtor's recommendation). Everyone loved the cake! It was worth every penny and made our wedding so special! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Mina
Wedding:
9/2/2012
4.8/5.0
Denver Designer Cakes - designed an absolutely euphoric cake for us. Pastry chief - Jennifer, was very accommodating and professional.

Unlike most wedding cakes, their cakes have gourmet flavors (and yes I am a foody) as well as style.

I HIGHLY recommend Denver Design Cakes.
Denver Designer Cakes - designed an absolutely euphoric cake for us. Pastry chief - Jennifer, was very accommodating and Read more...
Denver Designer Cakes - designed an absolutely euphoric cake for us. Pastry chief - Jennifer, was very accommodating and professional.

Unlike most wedding cakes, their cakes have gourmet flavors (and yes I am a foody) as well as style.

I HIGHLY recommend Denver Design Cakes. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Andrea
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Denver Designer Cakes designed the perfect cake for our mountain-themed wedding. I had an idea of what I wanted it to look like and Jennifer created a beautiful cake based on that vision. We were able to tie in my wedding colors and she was very accommodating to use the ribbon I picked out. She put me at ease about transporting our cake 4 hours away to Aspen and took all the precautions necessary to make it withstand the trek up the mountains. Her gourmet flavors are some of the best I've ever tasted so I was sold from the cake tasting session. I would highly recommend Denver Designer Cakes.
Denver Designer Cakes designed the perfect cake for our mountain-themed wedding. I had an idea of what I wanted it to look Read more...
Denver Designer Cakes designed the perfect cake for our mountain-themed wedding. I had an idea of what I wanted it to look like and Jennifer created a beautiful cake based on that vision. We were able to tie in my wedding colors and she was very accommodating to use the ribbon I picked out. She put me at ease about transporting our cake 4 hours away to Aspen and took all the precautions necessary to make it withstand the trek up the mountains. Her gourmet flavors are some of the best I've ever tasted so I was sold from the cake tasting session. I would highly recommend Denver Designer Cakes. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Jenn
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
We hired Jennifer, of Denver Designer Cakes because my husband has a gluten allergy and she had great reviews of her gluten free cake. It was the BEST decision! Both the gluten free cake and the regular cakes were DELICIOUS! We got the gluten free part of cake in bourbon chocolate, and got the regular part of cake in "Vanilla Bean Butter" and "Bellini." The Bellini is pink champagne cake drizzled with peach schnapps syrup, layered with peach filling, then covered with smooth vanilla buttercream. Seriously good. And Jennifer is incredibly friendly, accommodating and skilled. She makes amazing cakes; she designed our cake to match our art deco aesthetic. She was responsive, provided an advance drawing of the cake design, and adjusted the design based upon our comments. And she offered to make us a first-year anniversary cake! We could not have been happier and would recommend Denver Designer Cakes to anyone - whether you need to accommodate food allergies or not!
We hired Jennifer, of Denver Designer Cakes because my husband has a gluten allergy and she had great reviews of her Read more...
We hired Jennifer, of Denver Designer Cakes because my husband has a gluten allergy and she had great reviews of her gluten free cake. It was the BEST decision! Both the gluten free cake and the regular cakes were DELICIOUS! We got the gluten free part of cake in bourbon chocolate, and got the regular part of cake in "Vanilla Bean Butter" and "Bellini." The Bellini is pink champagne cake drizzled with peach schnapps syrup, layered with peach filling, then covered with smooth vanilla buttercream. Seriously good. And Jennifer is incredibly friendly, accommodating and skilled. She makes amazing cakes; she designed our cake to match our art deco aesthetic. She was responsive, provided an advance drawing of the cake design, and adjusted the design based upon our comments. And she offered to make us a first-year anniversary cake! We could not have been happier and would recommend Denver Designer Cakes to anyone - whether you need to accommodate food allergies or not! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Designer Cakes & Confections responded with the following comments:

Hi Jenn! Thanks so much for your thoughtful review! I am SO thankful and happy you were so pleased with the cake, especially since it was different from the norm with the beet sugar and gluten-free, etc. Please let me know when you'll be in town again so I can honor the anniversary cake.

I can't wait to see the pictures as I would love to feature you guys on the new website that's coming next year! Thanks so much!

Jennifer
130x130 sq 1297893811018 img2059
Sara
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Jennifer did such an amazing job on our wedding cake. It was all organic and so yummy!! I am a woman that hates cake and I was so impressed and LOVED it. I showed her a couple pictures to put our cake together and it was exactly what I imagined it would look like!!

Thanks Jen for being a part of
Our special wedding day!!
Jennifer did such an amazing job on our wedding cake. It was all organic and so yummy!! I am a woman that hates cake and I Read more...
Jennifer did such an amazing job on our wedding cake. It was all organic and so yummy!! I am a woman that hates cake and I was so impressed and LOVED it. I showed her a couple pictures to put our cake together and it was exactly what I imagined it would look like!!

Thanks Jen for being a part of
Our special wedding day!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
esmyth78
Wedding:
7/16/2011
4.9/5.0
Jenn is so easy to work with and her work is amazing. We, along with all our guests were so happy with our wedding cake and we could not have had a better experience! The chocolate fudge cake with caramel cream filling is the most delicious cake I have ever had and she even customized the flavors just for us. THANK YOU!
Jenn is so easy to work with and her work is amazing. We, along with all our guests were so happy with our wedding cake Read more...
Jenn is so easy to work with and her work is amazing. We, along with all our guests were so happy with our wedding cake and we could not have had a better experience! The chocolate fudge cake with caramel cream filling is the most delicious cake I have ever had and she even customized the flavors just for us. THANK YOU! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Gina
Wedding:
3/12/2011
4.9/5.0
Designer Cakes was my favorite vendor overall. Jenn went out of her way to make us feel at ease about our cakes. Also, I really appreciated that she helped me to see the possibilities of what the cake could be as I tend to be somewhat boring about designs because I'm just not very good at envisioning stuff like that. However, she took the worry away and made sure we were 100% satisfied with the sketch before we finalized everything, something other vendors we interviewed didn't even offer at all. Their cakes are absolutely delicious and even their fondant tastes good. I was really surprised since I had had fondant before that was absolutely atrocious when it came to taste. Great!!!
Designer Cakes was my favorite vendor overall. Jenn went out of her way to make us feel at ease about our cakes. Also, I Read more...
Designer Cakes was my favorite vendor overall. Jenn went out of her way to make us feel at ease about our cakes. Also, I really appreciated that she helped me to see the possibilities of what the cake could be as I tend to be somewhat boring about designs because I'm just not very good at envisioning stuff like that. However, she took the worry away and made sure we were 100% satisfied with the sketch before we finalized everything, something other vendors we interviewed didn't even offer at all. Their cakes are absolutely delicious and even their fondant tastes good. I was really surprised since I had had fondant before that was absolutely atrocious when it came to taste. Great!!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
sbowens
Wedding:
12/18/2010
4.9/5.0
Our wedding cake was exquisite and so delicious. They coordinated everything with our venue, arrived early with the cake and set everything up so we didn't have to worry about a thing. We settled on a simple buttercream cake with a cascade of sugar flowers and I must say the flowers were just shockingly realistic. Our experience was extremely positive with Designer Cakes.
Our wedding cake was exquisite and so delicious. They coordinated everything with our venue, arrived early with the cake Read more...
Our wedding cake was exquisite and so delicious. They coordinated everything with our venue, arrived early with the cake and set everything up so we didn't have to worry about a thing. We settled on a simple buttercream cake with a cascade of sugar flowers and I must say the flowers were just shockingly realistic. Our experience was extremely positive with Designer Cakes. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
Thornton, CO See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Designer Cakes & Confections
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1294987598896 dscf4487