130x130_sq_1385155036111-1277110594253594849190486135

Designer Desserts

Valparaiso , IN
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

56 W Lincolnway
Valparaiso, IN US 46383 (map)

PHONE

219-465-0008

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jim
Wedding:
7/11/2014
5.0/5.0
The cake was outstanding and the pieces were huge. The guests absolutely loved the cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1385586609392-pic
Laura
Wedding:
11/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was absolutely gorgeous. Designer Desserts was super easy to work with, and they do excellent work. The cake was delicious, as well as beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My cake turned out more beautiful than the picture I brought in and it was delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Designer Desserts are the preferred vendor of The Way and we know why! For our wedding we chose a combination of cake, cupcakes, cookies, brownies and mini cheesecakes. I trusted that Jamie and his team would make tasty and beautiful desserts, but I did not expect them to make the most amazing spread of sweets that I had ever seen! I was impressed with the designs and would call them true artists. I know that we will be picking up a box of desserts the next opportunity we have when passing through the area. You must try the sea salt & caramel cupcake…it is life changing
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We had cupcakes and they were beautiful and soooooo delicious! Everyone loved them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1287348686817-fbavatar140000031
Sara
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Loved the cake! It was beyond gorgeous! Sooo delicious too! We had guests from out of town go to the bakery the morning after our wedding to get some treats! Everyone loved it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carol
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
The cake for my daughter's wedding was everything she had hoped for. She wanted it to match her dress in some way and the staff at Designer Desserts did just that without making it too"over the top". They coordinated with the florist to add fresh flowers and just the right amount of color to match the reception decor. It was beautiful, and equally delicious!! So many people told us how much they loved the cake and wanted to know who made it. Thank you Designer Desserts for capturing exactly what my daughter wanted in her wedding cake!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ERIN
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Most beautiful cake I have ever seen. Dozens of roses made by hand! Incredible! Red Velvet was so moist and delicious :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
denisewest
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
The selection of cupcakes and wedding cake were wonderful. For my daughters wedding, I received many compliments regarding how beautiful the cake and cupcakes were...and they tasted just as good. By the time the reception started, Designer Desserts had the cake and cupcakes set up in a beautiful display. Only one thing would have made it perfect...if they had left boxes for the leftover cupcakes. They did a stupendous job!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amaks
Wedding:
5/12/2012
4.5/5.0
Designer Desserts Bakery was great! I had a two tier cake and two hundred cupcakes. I loved being able to pick exactly how I wanted each flavor to look! They were very friendly a little pricey but I felt they were worth it. All of my guests loved the cupcakes! They were delicious. The only complaint I had was that they left no boxes at my reception hall to take the cake and cupcakes that were leftover home. However, we definitely found a way to get these delightfully tasting cupcakes home! I would recommend Designer Desserts Bakery.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Timmy
Wedding:
4/20/2012
5.0/5.0
Adam at Designer Desserts turned our cake fiasco into a highlight of our wedding. From the moment my ladyfriend and I sat down with him, he treated us like movie stars! Words do not do his cake justice. I wish I could post pictures.

Look up Designer Desserts on Facebook and find our Zombie Wedding Cake. You'll love it.

Thanks Adam.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1345110963509-img2823
Nicole
Wedding:
9/24/2011
4.3/5.0
Designer Desserts did an absolute amazing job on my beautiful 5 tier wedding cake covered in hundreds of sugar made roses. The baker/designer here is amazing! He has such creativity and gret vision. My cake was a definite sight to see, a conversation piece. He did a great job. Not only did it look Wow...it tasted Wow. They have such variety and originality in flavors and fillings. And everyone we tasted was delicious, so many delicious flavors we couldn't pick and narrow it down...each of the 5 layers was a differ cake flavor and filling.

My only piece of advice book fast, the second you get engaged call!!! He is only one man and books up super fast and he can only do so many. Call as quickly as you can so sure not to lose your date.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg17
Cathy
Wedding:
9/3/2011
4.9/5.0
Designer Desserts did a beautiful job on our wedding cake. It was just what we asked for and tasted wonderful! We received so many compliments! (The -.5 was for one piece tasting a little over-cooked. Everything else was wonderful!) They were very easy to work with, and I definitely recommend them for your special day!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margaret
Wedding:
8/23/2011
3.8/5.0
I ordered a Gluten Free Wedding cake and twelve Wedding cupcakes that were not gluten free. I was told that the cupcakes were quite delicious, they certainly were beautiful. The GF wedding cake had a decent flavor, but was very dry, seemed overdone. I would have liked to have a more tender cake. It was pretty and they were very knowledgeable about what decorations could or could not be used to keep the cake gluten free. I did appreciate that.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1287206413305-cimg0900
callie
Wedding:
7/8/2011
4.1/5.0
so if you have ever been here you know the cup cakes are to die for! for my wedding i i got my groom his own cake they messed up the filling and by the end of the night the cake was rock hard when i called later i was told oh that happens... my mother in law called and got 25$ back on a cake i paid 300+$ for. My wedding cake was amazing i just feel ripped off on what happened to my grooms cake and the kicker is instead of giving me the money back they gave it to my mother in law.... I paid for the cake not her... why would they give someone else my money?
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1257436882012-dscn0525
jayce-afer
Wedding:
9/18/2010
1.8/5.0
The tasting went well and the guy that helped design the cupcakes and the wedding cake was very helpful; however, everything after that, not so much.

First off, we spent around $900 on our wedding cake and 200+ cupcakes, yet when I called to get THREE sample cucpcakes A) to see what the decorating looked like, and B) how big they would ultimately be so I could build cupcake stands to fit them, I would told I couldn't get any for free but would have to purchase them. For $900 worth of cupcakes, I couldn't get 3 sample ones? That was rediculous.

Then I called to revise the number of cupcakes I needed once I had my final head count. I asked what the revised total would be, assuming that if I am buying less I should pay for less. The told me to subtract roughly $70 from my bill when I was reducing the number by roughly 50. I worked the math backwards figuring they were charging me around $1.40 per jumbo cupcake ($70/50). However if they were only charging me roughly $1.40 per cupcake and I had only 210 cupcakes plus my wedding cake, I couldn't get the math to equal the roughly $900 for the overall bill. So I called the shop and explained what was going on in my head to the girl who answered the phone and just asked if she could get me an itemized bill.

I told her I wasn't looking for something for free, but just wanted to make the math work. She went and spoke with the designer and relayed this message to me, "The designer said that he is not giving you anymore off your bill and if you want you cucpcakes for your wedding you need to pay the balance off now."

All I wanted was an explanation and I got attitude. I don't even eat cake, so I couldn't even tell you if they were good. But with the hassle I had to put up with just trying to get my bill explained and the rudeness I was shown whenever I asked a question makes me HIGHLY NOT RECOMMENDED Designer Desserts to anyone!!! Too rude to be worth dealing with.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
lea
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
i must say i agree with everyone about this bakery except the last person to leave a review. what is your issue? i have been frequenting this bakery since it opened back in 2004 and have always left satisfied. the people there treat you like family and sometimes i wish they were my own. but when you look at the quality of work for the very reasonable prices, i would almost say they undercharge for the high quality they produce, you cannot be anything but astonished. i challenge anyone to go into this bakery and not have a good time and while you are there take a look at the beautiful artistry they create with cake. its sad sometimes when people have nothing else to do but complain about money, its your wedding day, if you are going to splurge, this should be it, and i'm sure no one at that wedding had a bad thing to say about that cake or the cupcakes you were so overcharged for. Anyway enough ranting now i sound like a bridezilla, i highly recommend this bakery, it is the best in northwest indiana, if not in the entire chicagoland area!!!!! way to go guys and keep up the great work!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rebecci
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
They did an AMAZING job with our wedding cake!! They were easy to work with and made the cake look exactly how I had described to them at our tasting. They also did cupcakes for our rehearsal dinner and decorated them so that they would coordinate with our wedding cake design. Their cakes are fabulous and I would recommend them to anyone in Northwest Indiana looking for a wedding cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
doniellek22
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.6/5.0
The cake was gorgeous! We wanted something unconventional for our casual wedding and Designer Desserts delivered! I gave them a couple of details I wanted and they created a beautiful 3 tier, square cake with each tier turned a little to be more interesting to the eye.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
6/16/2010
5.0/5.0
I LOOOVED MY CAKE!! I only spent $370!! I had three individual tears, 6" 8" 10", and a 1/4 sheet cake. It was suppose to feed 100 people. We ended up taking our top layer home (of course!) and we still had almost and entire 1/4 left! We had banana cake with strawberry filling and we had chocolate with chocolate filling (sorta like a pudding) and they were all fantastic!! We left the next day for our honeymoon and my mom took it to her house and put it wrapped in the fridge. It is over a week old and still EXTREMELY moist and just delicious! They have great cup cakes there also!!! I loooove them! Highly recommend them and they remind me of Ace of Cakes from food network just a LOT cheaper!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Unique and beautiful! I loved our wedding cake. We had many compliments on our flavors (pineapple w/ cream cream and whtie funfetti w/strawberry). They made it very easy picking out our cake their!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
laurena117
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
Beautiful cake. great value and great service. i ordered my cake the last minute and was 1 of 5 cakes being ordered that day but was still serviced and couldnt have been happier. will do all my cake business with them from now on. i highly reccomend them for your wedding cake
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alucho00
Wedding:
9/27/2009
5.0/5.0
Adam did a great job and gave me just what I wanted. He and his staff were very accommodating and friendly. The cake was delicious and a shop stopper. We almost didn't want to cut into it because it was so beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1244744977984-2008084977280029525
jessiegrace09
Wedding:
6/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was BEAUTIFUL! I have an allergy to gluten, and this was the only bakery in town that could make a gluten-free wedding cake. It was absolutely fantastic! The cake was still moist, and the frosting was delicious.

We left about 3 dozen roses for him to finish decorating the cake with when he arrived on our wedding day, and it looked fabulous. I was shocked!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1251608998201-445159815931209231101899357473285461121n
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
We loved our wedding cake! I also purchashed my husband's groom's cake there which was Ohio Stated themed. The end result was a gorgeous wedding cake that matched our wedding colors and tasted amazing! We will recommend to all of our friends!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacqueline
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband's and my wedding cake from Designer Desserts was absolutely delicious! We ordered a small cake for the two of us to have a cake cutting moment, and the jumbo sized cupcakes for the rest of our guests. We really wanted to impress everyone and knew this was the way to go! People LOVED them! They were huge, way more than you'd get from a slice of wedding cake, and absolutely delicious. People were asking where we got them from, and commenting to us that they want to do it for their own wedding next year. The only thing I could complain about is that color of our small cake was a little bit off. That could just be because they couldn't get the icing color correct (I imagine it's kind of difficult). We wanted ivory and pink, but it was more of a peach color and pink. It still looked and tasted amazing though! I highly reccomend Designer Desserts for your wedding cake, as well as any other party cake you may need. You can't go wrong with them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I highly reccomend this bakery. The cake they make is so good. My wedding was in Hickory Hills, IL and how good they are I went to Valpo, IN because I wanted to best looking/tasting cake I could find. And I would have to say everyone after the wedding kept asking me where the cake was from. Very good! My family and I use them for Birthdays/Showers/Any kind of Party and we have always been pleased.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
8/8/2008
5.0/5.0
LOVE this bakery! My wedding cake is the thing that my wedding guests remember the most and still talk about today. Not only was it beautiful and unique, but it was absolutely delicious. My husband and I even got a replica of our cake top made for our anniversary and it was just as good as we remembered. Now we go back to taste test everything else the bakery has to offer.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
56 W Lincolnway, Valparaiso, IN 46383 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Designer Desserts
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1385155036111-1277110594253594849190486135