130x130_sq_1263133168867-diana

Diana's Couture and Bridal

Washington , DC

LOCATION

1624 Wisconsin Avenue, Georgetown
Washington, DC US 20007 (map)

PHONE

202-333-5689

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Diana’s Couture and Bridal is in business for over 30 years in Georgetown. Diana has been bringing Brides the wedding they have dreamt about. From a custom gown to complete wardrobe... Read more
Diana’s Couture and Bridal is in business for over 30 years in Georgetown. Diana has been bringing Brides the wedding they have dreamt about. From a custom gown to complete wardrobe assistance Diana’s clothing make-over has boosted self-esteem, aided in career advancement, and made wedding dreams come true. Much more than just for weddings Diana’s ability to create full wardrobes for men and women is an indispensable asset. Diana is also the published author of The Vietnamese Cookbook and The Asian Diet, catered to her clients to cook and stay slim the Asian way. To learn more, please go to www.the gowndoctor.com. Read less
Dress & Attire

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1245554380437-jackidress2

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Father of the Bride, Father of the Groom, Flower Girls, Groom, Groomsmen, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom, Ring Bearers
What accessories do you provide?
Shoes, Veils

REVIEWS

4.2
out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.2/5.0
3.9/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.9/5.0
Diana altered the wedding dress that I had ordered online. She did a great job with making sure that I was very happy with the final result and the dress fit perfectly on my wedding day. Her service fees are not cheap, but she basically had to re-make the entire bodice of my wedding dress since it was too large so I thought I got a fair price.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
3/8/2014
4.8/5.0
I worked with Diana to make a cocktail length dress for my March wedding ceremony and dinner reception. Diana is truly a master of her craft. She really knows how to fit the proportions of a dress to your individual body and I just loved the end result. There were a couple quality issues on the day of in that a few seams/stitches came loose, but nothing that some double-sided tape couldn't fix. If you're thinking about a custom dress, or just some alterations, you should meet with her. She's great. One thing, her studio is a bit messy, but don't let that scare you. :-)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/18/2013
4.5/5.0
Diana designed and made my wedding dress and my sister's maid of honor dress. I was super annoying for her, I'm sure, because I know NOTHING about sewing and made a bunch of decisions up front that I didn't like when I saw them done, and we had to re-do a lot along the way. Diana always gave great advice and she didn't lose patience with me. Our dresses were STUNNING and unique and way classier than anything we could have gotten in the store. They cost a ton, but we wanted the most expensive fabrics and I would have paid about the same for a designer dress in a high-end shop that wouldn't have been customized just for me and my sister. Diana is truly talented, able to create literally anything you want and to fix problems along the way. I recommended Diana to one of my best friends who wanted to restructure her mother's wedding dress for her own wedding.

Advice for brides: LISTEN to Diana when she tries to explain things to you - she gets a sense of what you want right away, and her advice is usually sound to give you what you want. She'll follow what you THINK you want if you want to go against her advice but you will find that she was right all along! Also, give yourself plenty of time in advance so that you have lots of time for multiple, multiple fittings as you go. If you're customizing your dress, you'll need to make big and small revisions along the way and you'll need lots of time. Be patient with the process - you may not like what you see the first time you put it on. Or you might like it and when you look at the photos you took in the shop later you decide you don't like it. Whichever happens to you - DO NOT PANIC. Take lots of photos and think through what it is you don't like. Diana CAN FIX IT and it will be what you want, just breathe and keep communicating.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
L
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.8/5.0
Diana is a true artist. She is extremely talented and cares tremendously about the products she creates, which I saw exemplified in how she works to do her best for every client, no matter how complicated their alteration or vision for a dress may be. Her shop is deceiving- it is messy, which I found disconcerting at first, but it has no bearing on the work that she will do for you- she is precise, creative, extremely experienced, honest, and daunted by no design!! I learned as I got to know her better that she is also a very compassionate and kind person. She will tell you her opinion in a very straight forward manner, but if it has to do with something related to your dress, listen to her, because her experience with fabric, design, and construction is invaluable. Diana spent quite a bit of time working with me on the construction of my wedding dress, which my mother and I designed, and a portion of which my Mother had made. Diana very kindly incorporated the part of dress my mother made into the design and took the time to consider all of my mother's effort in creating a pattern. The final product was incredible- truly a one-of-a-kind dress and something I never could have purchased.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Helena
Wedding:
9/7/2013
4.0/5.0
Diana is amazing! She runs a small couture alteration and bridal gown service in the heart of Georgetown and actually specializes in redesigning old wedding gowns. However, I had a very specific wedding gown idea in mind and wished to use organic silk and natural fabrics where possible. I bought my own fabric and Diana worked her magic, creating my dream wedding gown and full length veil from scratch. I visited her on several occasions and she was always very willing to make even minor alterations in order for the gown to fit me perfectly. She even added matching lace on to my shoes for no additional cost :) Diana is very direct and can appear a bit bossy, but I loved her matter-of-fact way of dealing with me and her other customers and it just added more to the experience for me. I am so glad that I worked with a small, local business owner rather than a large-scale bridal company. My dress was certainly on the upper end in terms of expense, since she designed and completely handmade my dress, she even hand made every single button, but I think it was worth the cost. I am from the UK and will actually be having a second wedding celebration back in the UK in May. I recently bought a 1950's wedding gown and will be going back to Diana to have this remodeled. I would definitely recommend her to my friends
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1332282795058-diamondandsapphireengagementrings19
MariPalm
Wedding:
6/22/2013
2.8/5.0
I was very excited to have my consultation appointment at Diana's. For starters I was coming from out of town, as I had lived in the Washington D.C. area for 4 years, and have since relocated. I had emailed Diana's, receiving a prompt email back and was given an appointment. I was very late due to the considerable traffic in the Georgetown area, and the construction. Diana was very nice about it, and although she had a previous appointment, she was still able to spend an hour with me. She was very nice and personable, but I thought she was super expensive for what I wanted (a custom-made dress for my destination wedding). In addition, it was very difficult to find her store (as it is located in a basement area of a brick brownstone that she owns). I was also taken aback by the considerable clutter in her showroom, and her work area was in disarray. Here are some of my issues that I had with Diana’s:
1. Cleanliness of the showroom (considerable clutter everywhere, and fabric in disarray).
2. The method of payment (Diana’s only takes Personal Check or Cash). This is a concern of mine, as although her work does look above average and of quality: What if there is a problem with your dress? And all deposits made are NON-REFUNDABLE.
3. The expense of the dress. Since I am getting married overseas (Caribbean), I was urged to choose a higher quality silk fabric and I also wanted a little bit of Lace as well (she was willing to look at some pictures that I had and offered great feedback). This would have been a custom-made dress, and since I am a little above average in Height, and I am very small, I wanted a custom-made dress that would fit perfect.
However, the price she suggested would be over $3,500.00! I thought this was considerably high, especially as it was not articulated what the price range would be (for a custom-made dress) and the total was not itemized. And, although I have high taste and love quality, I am only wearing my dress for a few hours, and it will be HOT! I do think the prices are HIGH due to the location (Georgetown). I am still perplexed as to why a bride would pay such an exorbitant amount for a dress (even if a bride has the money, I think that price is too HIGH).

Lastly, although Diana was willing to work with me (payment arrangement), I was utterly disappointed by the overall experience. I did send an email, thanking her for her time, but have not heard back as of yet.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Diana's Couture and Bridal responded with the following comments:

Hi, I am so sorry that you felt disappointed about our meeting. First I apologize for the appearance. The day you came I had a problem with my utilities room, water heater damaged. In regarding to the price, please go on line and check lace price. I gave you the price accordingly to the real FRENCH ALENCON LACE which is very expensive. Fabric and labor for lace dress are also higher because of the lace work involved. I do understand your situation and wish you can find something you dreamed for less. I also stopped my credit card service last year because I moved to Annandale but then moved back to DC a couple days a week due to my DC customers' requests. Anyway, if there is anything I can do to help even though you don't use me, please let me know. Good luck with your search.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Diana is amazing. I couldn't find a dress that had the material and shape I wanted, so I ended up buying a dress that had an amazing top in organza. Unfortunately, the bottom of the dress was way to big for my small size 0 frame. Diana was able to create the exact fitted look I wanted and basically remade the entire bottom of my dress. I don't know how she did it, but the results were amazing!! If you can't find exactly what you are looking for, give Diana a call!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
2/16/2013
1.0/5.0
I looked online for reviews of diana. She had such great reviews so i decided to visit her shop. I needed my wedding dress altered. When i got there she seemed in a bad mood and she did not know how to fix my dress. Overall she was charging me $650 + tax for alterations plus an extra $100 for pressing. Overall i was very disatisfied with her customer service and prices!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Diana is an one in a million seamstress! My wedding gown is very detailed with crystal and beads, so I was apprehensive about getting my alterations done by just anyone. I am so very happy I found Diana. She did all my alterations and made my dress look like it was made for me! My mother and I had an amazing experience. I was privileged enough to see some of the dresses she has made from scratch or using dresses from brides' grandmothers or mothers. Her work is flawless and extremely unique!! Not only is she a wonderful seamstress, but a very nice person as well. If you are in the DMV area and looking to have your wedding dress made or alterations done, look no further!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1306117866693-fbavatar5302849
Jamie
Wedding:
4/28/2012
4.2/5.0
I am a "larger" girl and had so much difficulty finding a beautiful wedding dress within my budget that didn't look like a muumuu. I also had a very specific design in mind. So I took a chance and went to Diane. She sketched a design and made some recommendations, and we agreed on a price. She even made me a deal - she will alter the dress if I lose weight, no charge. But if I gain weight, she'll charge (to help keep me on track). The dress was PERFECT and fit me like a glove. It was flattering and exactly what I wanted. If you use Diane (which I highly recommend), listen to her recommendations. she really knows what she is talking about.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg21
JMS
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.7/5.0
Diana puts a lot of energy and enthusiasm into her work, and she is extremely talented. If you are looking for the typical “bridal salon” you won’t find it here, but if want your money going towards a high-quality dress and not “ambiance” then I would highly recommend Diana. I didn’t really know what I wanted for my dress when I came across Diana online. She helped me define my vision more and then sketched the perfect dress on the spot! Simple dresses can be deceivingly hard to construct, plus I picked a more expensive material, so it did end up costing more than I wanted to spend. But the final product looked even more expensive and it was worth every penny to know I really loved every aspect of my dress.

At the second fitting there was a part of the lining around the stomach area that wasn't lying exactly right (and any imperfection would be impossible to hide on my dress). When I went to pick it up the next day I didn't have a chance to try it on again, so I was little nervous (she did tell me I could bring it back for a quick fix if I noticed anything). Luckily when I put it on at home it looked amazing and it fit perfectly!

Diana has a great eye for design, in addition to being a crazy good seamstress. When I came for the first fitting she had added a little decorative piece of fabric at the hip and it was the perfect touch! She knows how to take a “regular” dress and make it a designer piece. EVERYONE raved about my dress, and it was pretty cool to know it was one of a kind. Diana suggested I come back after the wedding and she would modify the dress so I could wear it as a regular cocktail dress. I know she would do a great job so I just have to find the time!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maura
Wedding:
7/2/2011
4.8/5.0
Diana is great! I bought my dress at a sample sale and although it fit, I thought it needed a few different alternations to make it perfect. She changed the straps, the entire bottom of the dress (including hemming, removing the train and taking out poofiness) and also changed the design of the back. In addition she was very patient with me as I needed the dress taken in just a few days before my wedding. I couldn't have been happier with the results and got SO many compliments on the dress on my wedding day. It was perfect!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurie
Wedding:
12/18/2010
4.8/5.0
Diane altered my off the rack dress. She did a beautiful job; added a bustle that looked like a dream. She was responsive to my needs and could have done a better job on the dress. A little expensive, but worth it.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsM
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Diana made the dress of my dreams from scratch. I showed up with some thoughts in my head and a vision on paper. From there she created my silk wedding dress with beautiful rhinestones, and it fit like a glove. She truly has gifted hands. She is quick, feisty, and knows what she is talking about. Listen to her! This is definitely the route to go! I love Diana!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erika
Wedding:
9/11/2010
4.1/5.0
I really wanted to give Diana a "5" because I love her!! She made my dress fit perfectly, for which I cannot thank enough. I bought a dress of the rack, and she removed a corset back and replaced it with a zipper. But, she was also supposed to add in a bustle...and never did. So on the day of the wedding, I spent 10 minutes with friends trying to safety pin the bustle up. Ugh. That said, it was partly my fault for not double checking.

Diana is great! She is feisty and honest-- and quick. But you have to stay on top of her because she has about 800 things going on and she is expensive! Her work is outstanding, she just needs about 10 more people working for her (cause she is soo busy!) and maybe they could clean up the place a bit....
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg21
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Diana performed alterations on my dress. I had purchased my dress at a sample sale, so did not have the option of getting alterations at that time and had to look elsewhere. She took in the bustline, added boning to the bodice, reworked some of the beading, and took up the hem, and did it all perfectly after just one fitting! The dress fit and flattered. She is also a very kind woman and takes a lot of pride in her work. Her value for cost is excellent. She is a good seamstress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
9/19/2009
3.6/5.0
ok
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RobynS
Wedding:
9/6/2009
4.8/5.0
I had a dress that was literally 4 sizes too big and Diana did an amazing job at taking it in. It was heavy material, beading and pleating on the bust and you couldn't tell anything had been done. I agree she does charge a lot of money but in my case the cost was well worth it since the dress practically had to be remade. I had no problem with my bustle and found her to be very responsive to my calls for appointments. She was also proactive about letting me know when my dress was done (which was earlier than she had originally said) and arranging appointments.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ellencranston
Wedding:
8/1/2009
2.2/5.0
Diana's service was below average because my bustle did not work. She used two sets of strings for two styles of bustles and both broke. She was below average in responsiveness because I had an appointment for my second fitting and my dress was not ready. She was below average in professionalism because of both of the aforementioned problems. She was very nice, but she was expensive.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi
Wedding:
7/11/2009
5.0/5.0
I found a dress that I really liked but did not love. I loved the layers of chiffon that rippled down it like a wedding cake but it was a mermaid cut which I did not care for, and a few sized too big. I took the dress to Diana (the miracle worker) and she agreed to help me. She basically had to unstich each layer, take it in, and rebuild the dress from scratch... all the while she was busy planning, hosting, and sewing for her daughter's wedding making all of the dresses as well as taking care of other customers. Diana is wonder-woman and is creative and fun, but also a perfectionist. My dress was perfect and no one could see all the work Diana had to put into it. If I did anything differently, I would have just gone to Diana initially with my ideas and had her make me a custom dress because her work is fabulous and she gives a fair price. I was also able to get my veil from her. Good Luck and trust me when I say, call her!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
diana
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
She worked with me to make my dream dress come true. I gave her tons of pictures and she worked her magic to make my ideas come alive. She is truly amazing. Not only did she create my dream dress but also did it within a short period of time. I would recommend her to anyone and everyone.

DM, Fairfax, VA
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J.R.
Wedding:
3/21/2009
2.6/5.0
I will start off by saying that if you are having a dress made from scratch, this would be an excellent place to go. If you are looking for alterations, look elsewhere. She did an excellent job fitting the bust of the dress, which was covered in beads, without making it look like anything had been touched. However, she charges a ton. She told me that taking out the crinoline would be $75 and then forgot to do it until the last fitting, when she used a seam ripper to take it out in front of me -- it took less than a minute. Also, she forgot to do the bustle until that last fitting as well and also sewed it in while I was wearing the dress -- taking about a minute and a half. That cost about $100 and fell out near the end of the wedding, so I had to choose whether to change clothes or drag the train of my dress around -- I chose the former. Overall, it was not a great experience for me and I am left feeling slightly "hosed" financially. However, if you are looking to have a dress made, I would not hesitate to tell you to see her. The dresses that she had made were amazing and, based on what she told me about the pricing, not nearly as unreasonable as the alterations alone.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
irener
Wedding:
2/5/2009
4.4/5.0
They have beautiful dresses there... After going to several places, I found my dress there, and it was not hard to fall in love with it... Really nice place to pick your dress and very friendly people...
Services Used: Dress & Attire

DEALS

Free Bridal Consultation
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Design your own gown with Diana. Bring your ideas/pictures and together we'll create your dream gown for your special day.
Deal #WW4591d3607a2ddd79
220x220_1263133168867-diana

MAP

 
1624 Wisconsin Avenue, Georgetown, Washington, DC 20007 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Diana's Couture and Bridal
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1263133168867-diana