Nophoto-130
(9)

Disc Jockeys On Call

Washington , DC

LOCATION

Washington, DC US 20814 (map)

PHONE

301-907-9097

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
DJ

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
I nor any of my associates have an actual DJ style as it pertains to our services for weddings. Reason being is that I have peformed at so many functions of various types that I listen to my client desires and I apply such requests to the actual event. This is all done while never having to be over bearing and taking away from the actual star of the event as our goal is to provide incredible music through professionalism and talent.
What is your usual attire?
Formal and semi-formal with no loud colors that take away from the ambiance of the event. We were three piece suits with ties and shirts provided by such fine clothing stores as Nordtroms and Everett Hall.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
I am going to have any and all song titles that the couple shall requests. There job is to tell us what they want and our job is to provide. Reason being is that we need to know all of what you desire to insure that the flow of the event goes well. Proper preperation begins with knowing all.
How many other DJs do you work with?
I have ten associates.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Four Hour Contractual Agreement
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Always
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
Yes as I have performed at events in which I played Bhangra, Bollywood, Salsa, Merenge, Russian Folk, French, Japanese, Lebanese, etc.
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
It is available, however, with most weddings, we find that such items can take away from the event. We prefer to leave such planning and features to the Event Planner.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
A table should be provided by the site and the staff when setting up and my associates and I usually arrive two hours prior to the event. We only need 20-30 minutes to set up, however, you always want that extra time for sound checks and to insure a proper setting of the room.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
No
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
My associates and I only MC the introductions and what is outlined in the itenerary. When people are dancing my associates and I are mixing and blending and transitioning from songs, therefore, there is no need to speak.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
No, however, if one is provided, we prefer to have it prior to the end of dinner as we have a Job to do.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
N/A
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
There is always a DJ on call and you will meet with this DJ as well prior to your event.
What is your overtime rate?
N/A
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
N/A

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Aaron Couch was the DJ for my wedding on 12/7/13. He came highly recommended by one of my dad's clients, a no nonsense kind of woman, so I knew he must be good. From the moment we met, I knew he was the one. First-he's super cool. A lot of DJs I meet with were cheesy but I felt very comfortable with him. He also has a fantastic, deep voice. Second-he had a schedule for our meeting and talking points he wanted to cover, he was very organized. He had a lot of ideas and listened to mine and my mom's. His company also provides uplighting which was very important to me. Other DJ companies and lighting companies had uplighting for an enormous amount but his price was reasonable. He had a website that I logged into for all important information-playlist for the night, songs for the intro, cake cutting etc., bridal party names and the order they would be announced in at the beginning of the reception, etc. He responded quickly to my emails. At my reception, my guests LOVED him, so many people told me he was fantastic. He played a variety of songs from all decades that everyone knew and the dance floor was packed all night which is exactly what I wanted. My husband and I were so thrilled with him and highly recommend him. If I ever throw a big party again, I will absolutely hire him to be the DJ. Hire him! You won't regret it!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
meghanbecker
Wedding:
3/20/2010
4.5/5.0
Aaron Couch/Disc Jockeys On Call was the perfect choice for our wedding. We employed his services after attending our friend's wedding that he DJ'd, and even they were jealous of what a great mix of music he played at our wedding. Aaron catered to the crowd while keeping our tastes in mind, and the dance floor was packed the entire evening. None of the guests wanted the night to end.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lrohrman
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
Aaron was great. He kept our guests dancing all night long. Thanks for making our wedding such a fun party!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
timquinnmd
Wedding:
5/23/2009
4.0/5.0
Pleased with service. Extremely large musical database. Will find any song you request.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ceciliaSC
Wedding:
5/9/2009
5.0/5.0
Aaron Couch made our wedding reception an AWESOME dance party and everyone had the best time rocking out to the tunes he played. We really enjoyed working with him and felt like it was a great collaboration. He has a wonderful website that lets you pre-select songs (and ones you don't like as well) that Aaron then uses to get a good sense of your taste/style etc. He really nailed it and I am so glad we were able to book him for our night because he did a fantastic job.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
acamato
Wedding:
10/11/2008
1.2/5.0
These guys were fantastic until we hired them. After interviewing several DJs, we had decided to go with Disc Jockeys On Call, even though they cost more than other DJs, because they had fairly good reviews on The Knot, and because their package included several meetings before the wedding where ostensibly we would all sit down together to work out a playlist. After hiring them, we found that it was difficult to get a hold of them, despite multiple emails and calls. We primarily dealt with the DJ coordinator, and did not get to meet with our DJ until the day of our wedding. As part of the agreement, our DJ coordinator had promised that our DJ would attend the wedding rehearsal, where he could meet us for the first time and do a walk-through of our venue. They didn't show up to the wedding rehearsal, and later called us with a laundry list of excuses. On the actual wedding day, the DJ didn't bother introducing himself to us until right before the reception. He seemed unprepared for the event, and rather disengaged the entire time. In sum, extremely disappointing.
Services Used: DJ
Disc Jockeys On Call responded with the following comments:

as the client stated, we were fantastic and they hired us. we were always reachable and lines of communication (office phone, cell phone, etc.) were always open to questions at any time, day or night.

we had multiple meetings with the client as that was part of their package. in fact we had four meetings leading up to the day of the event. one of which we were informed that the rehearsal would not take place in the evening (as originally assumed), but in the morning at 10 am.

the client was then informed that making the rehearsal would be difficult, even given the notice of three weeks. reason being our dj's work during the week as well and to ask the dj to make such a conecession, in this economy, would be near impossible.

to state that we had a laundry list of excuses as to why we were not there, shows, in our professional opinion, frustration not associated with our services.

the day of the event the dj did introduce himself, as stated, in a timely manner. with any event we have to make sure we are prepared to perform. also, the client was taking pictures and was occupied. the dj was totally professional and to have a gripe about the dj preparing to do his or her job, is another item in which we see no justification in being upset with steller and superior service.

he was totally prepared and was never disengaged during the entire evening. this was made obvious by the dance floor staying pack as well as everyone having a great time, until the client (the bride actually) passed out from exhaustion. which is no one's fault.

maybe that is why the client is upset, however, this is not our fault.

we at djoc take extreme pride in our work and profession and willing to take full responsibility for lack of quality during a performance. with any event of this nature it is one time and very personal moment. this, however, is one of those situations in which a client is upset for reasons beyond our control and for reasons not related to our performance

due to such and to the nature of this client's review and for the wedding wire's lack of not honoring our request for a full investigation or mediation into this matter, we are now going to proceed with other actions against the client which are within our legal right

this review is totally unjustified, unwarranted and slanderous as we see that this is a client's attempt only to hurt and to destroy our reputation

and by the way, we have great reviews on the knot
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Candice
Wedding:
6/28/2008
5.0/5.0
Aaron was extremely responsive, going so far as to customize our first dance song. I can't tell you how many compliments I got on the music at our wedding. People told me it was the best music they'd ever heard at a wedding and that they danced more than night than they had in YEARS. He knew exactly what the crowd wanted. We couldn't have asked for more!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Peter
Wedding:
5/5/2007
4.8/5.0
Aaron provided a first class, professional service tailored to our tastes and preferences. We would highly recommend Aaron, and would not hesitate to use his services again.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jott
Wedding:
9/30/2006
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about Disc Jockeys on Call! I was extremely particular about what atmosphere I wanted to create throught the music at my wedding. Disc Jockeys on Call accommodated all of my requests, yet brought their own ideas too which helped make my entire wedding- from the cocktail hour to the final dance- a perfect event! You will not be disappointed if you use this DJ. Besides my wedding, I have been to 2 other weddings with this DJ and they were by far the most fun because everyone was dancing! People still talk about my DJ to this day (3 and a half years later) because he was so great. As soon as you get engaged- book this DJ! You will not regret it.
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
Washington, DC 20814 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Disc Jockeys On Call
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220