130x130_sq_1361484482470-179seanm.howerc

Distinctive Weddings Maui/ Joseph Narrowe

Puunene , HI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Puunene, HI US 96784 (map)

PHONE

808-986-0511

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Creating a Maui wedding ceremony that reflects your uniquness is Joseph’s specialty. Celebrate your love for each other in a wedding, renewal or civil union ceremony created specifically... Read more
Creating a Maui wedding ceremony that reflects your uniquness is Joseph’s specialty. Celebrate your love for each other in a wedding, renewal or civil union ceremony created specifically for your meaningful and memorable occasion.

Joseph writes and officiates at wedding ceremonies that reflect your partnership, your individuality and the relationship you have formed and will continue to build during your many years together. Instead of cookie cutter combinations of words and phrases, his wedding, renewal and civil union ceremonies are intimate, heartfelf and tailor-made, creating a memorable occasion that is special for the two of you. Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1362469952654-renatedsc0044
130x130_sq_1363634302456-179seanm.howerc
130x130_sq_1363634197426-kwonimg2869
130x130_sq_1363632692331-couplebeachsky1
130x130_sq_1363635406880-circle107sm
130x130_sq_1363632800886-kwon0001
130x130_sq_1363632865966-kwon0009
130x130_sq_1363633299070-kwon2645
130x130_sq_1363632830049-kwon0008
130x130_sq_1363632900623-kwon0010
130x130_sq_1363633468463-1outside2.5
130x130_sq_1363633455323-4robe2.5
130x130_sq_1363633594463-chapel
130x130_sq_1363633619222-wedding1
130x130_sq_1363633841751-weddingpic1

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What officiant services do you provide?
Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Ceremony, Single Religion Ceremony
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Christian (no denomination), Jewish
Can you accommodate the hearing impaired?
No
Are you willing to perform a ceremony at a non-religious site?
Yes
What is your attire for the ceremony?
Aloha shirt, Hawaiian wedding shirt, suit
Are you flexible in the wording used throughout the ceremony, including the vows?
Yes. My ceremonies can be personalized and customized for the couple, and couples can edit or suggest changes and additions. Couples can use their own ceremony or vows as well.
Do you allow the couple to write their own vows, if desired?
Definitely. I encourage the couple to make the service be what they want.
Do you have a list of readings pre-selected, from which the couple must choose?
I have readings that I can incorporate into a ceremony. I also encourage the couple to select their own readings if they would like to, and provide me with what they want to use.
How long are your ceremonies?
usually 10-20 minutes long
Do you require that premarital counseling be done?
No, but for a custom wedding, I have a questionnaire that asks about the nature of the relationship, how the couple met, etc.
Are you willing to perform pre-ceremony rehearsals?
yes, for a fee
Do you supply a sound system?
Not usually

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matthew
Wedding:
3/4/2014
5.0/5.0
My fiancé and I knew in planning our wedding that we wanted a ceremony that would speak to us! After our years together we agreed that a simple ceremony that reflected on our commitment to each other would have the most significance in celebrating our new life choice. Reviewing the websites of wedding officiants on Maui, we discovered quite a list; many who provided templates for the order of the ceremony and templates for the vows. Looking at Joseph Narrowe’s site we could immediately tell that he offered something different.


On first contact (this was by phone from the mainland) he was quite gracious, listening to our thoughts, getting a feel for who and what we were about. His recommendations for how to get our thoughts on paper were just fantastic! He made things fun and we knew as we ended that first call that we had found our officiant.

Working by email and an occasional phone call we got things finalized beyond what we had hoped to achieve from home. Joseph not only created a wonderful draft of the vows, but he offered suggestions for possible ceremony locations and recommended other ways to make the ceremony special.

After we arrived on Maui, he met with us over coffee and everything about the meeting just reinforced that we had made the right decision. His easy manner and genuine interest in us as a couple, as well as his inclusiveness with my stepson, really showed. In the course of these final preparations he continued to offer ideas for personalizing the service, such as including my stepson in the lei exchange, that reinforced his understanding of what we wanted to achieve in this celebration.

Needless to say, the ceremony went off beautifully. It was personal, warm and even lighthearted at just the right moments! Joseph really made our entire Maui visit an experience to remember. We came away feeling that we had not just made a great contact for this once in a lifetime event, but that we had come away with a new friend. Thank you, Joe!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robert & Erica
Wedding:
1/23/2014
5.0/5.0
We got incredibly lucky when we found Joseph to officiate our wedding. After speaking with him on the phone and trading a few emails, he wrote a beautiful ceremony that was so specific to us. We met up with him for a cup of coffee after arriving on the island, and instantly knew that he would do a great job with our wedding. A couple days later (a day later than originally planned thanks to a crazy rainstorm -- we were so glad that we were able to postpone a day and wait for better weather), we met Joseph at the grassy knoll by the ocean that he’d found for us, and he married us. The ceremony went off without a hitch, and we were both very moved by the lovely poems that Joseph had incorporated into it.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Peter
Wedding:
1/7/2014
5.0/5.0
We are a couple from Hungary and we contacted Joseph to officiate at our wedding. He made us feel comfortable and treated us like old friends. He wrote a special ceremony for us and it was very meaningful to us both. He helped us find a really good location (Charly Young Beach in Maui) and helped us arrange our license. I feel that he helped make our day special. I HIGHLY recommend him and his services. We are glad we met him and that he was the one who married us. Thank You Joseph!!

Peter & Alexandra from Hungary
Services Used: Officiant
130x130_sq_1390822629076-avata
bella
Wedding:
12/11/2013
5.0/5.0
There is so much to write about Joseph, i will try to make it short.
We were planning our really intimate Wedding from Germany. The minute i spoke to Joseph on the phone i knew he was the perfect rabbi, friend and officiant for us. We met Joseph in Maui and the image of him was just as i thought it would be. It felt like we knew each other for a long time already. Not only that Joseph helped us with organizing a great photographer to keep those memories of that special day for us, he was unforgettable. As my Husband isn't jewish but i am, Jospeh perfectly managed a balance of the jewish tradition for me and he spoke wise words and quotes about Love, and marriage on a daily basis for us. It was Joseph who made this ceremony as personal as it could be. Joseph, our dear friend, Again Thank you so much for this special moment. We will keep you in our hearts and hope to see you again. MEAN IT!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My husband and I decided last year to get married on Maui. I was the best choice to ask Joseph Narrowe to be our officiant!! It was really important for him to get to know us, even though we were on the other side of the world, in Europe. He really cared to make that day special and very personal. He also supported us, with other things we had to organise and had to think about. His recommendations which beaches are the best to get married were excellent! During the ceremony he created a very loving, special, but still relaxed atmosphere. We had a great time with him, lots of fun, and the most perfect beach wedding we could have thought of.
We can highly recommend Joseph as an officiant! If you plan to marry on Maui, do not hesitate and give him a call. :-)
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joyce
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
While searching online for an officiant for our wedding, we came across Joseph's website and contacted him via email to which he responded very promptly. We found him to be warm, personable, caring and engaging. He also helped us find a beach on which to have our ceremony and made suggestions for florists and photographers. We also met him for coffee a day before our wedding so we could get to know each other better, which made his service that much more personal. When we travel back to Maui in the future, we will look up Joseph to get together with him again and catch up. We highly recommend him!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ruth
Wedding:
10/3/2013
5.0/5.0
We couldn't recommend a better officiant than Joseph Narrowe. Joseph was kind, caring, and thoughtful, and of all the officiants we spoke to before the wedding, he was the only one who made a point of getting to know us first -- even though he lives in Hawaii and we live on the east coast. He made an effort to understand who we are, individually and as a couple, and he created a ceremony for us that was deeply personal, unique, and meaningful.

I am Jewish but my husband and his family are not, and it was important for me to have a Jewish wedding without alienating my husband or his family. Joseph helped me do that. Not only did he personally understand our situation, he created a wedding in which everyone felt involved, and everyone -- even those not familiar with the Jewish tradition -- understood the meaning and beauty behind the various traditions we mixed into the ceremony.

It was important to us to have a ceremony that reflected who we are as a couple and the way in which we plan to live our life together and build our family in the future. Because he took the time to get know us over several phone calls and emails, Joseph was able to write a ceremony that perfectly reflected our values and our life together. I can't thank Joseph enough for the beautiful and meaningful wedding he helped create for us.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ruth
Wedding:
10/3/2013
5.0/5.0
We couldn't recommend a better officiant than Joseph Narrowe. Joseph was kind, caring, and thoughtful, and of all the officiants we spoke to before the wedding, he was the only one who made a point of getting to know us first -- even though he lives in Hawaii and we live on the east coast. He made an effort to understand who we are, individually and as a couple, and he created a ceremony for us that was deeply personal, unique, and meaningful.

I am Jewish but my husband and his family are not, and it was important for me to have a Jewish wedding without alienating my husband or his family. Joseph helped me do that. Not only did he personally understand our situation, he created a wedding in which everyone felt involved, and everyone -- even those not familiar with the Jewish tradition -- understood the meaning and beauty behind the various traditions we mixed into the ceremony.

It was important to us to have a ceremony that reflected who we are as a couple and the way in which we plan to live our life together and build our family in the future. Because he took the time to get know us over several phone calls and emails, Joseph was able to write a ceremony that perfectly reflected our values and our life together. I can't thank Joseph enough for the beautiful and meaningful wedding he helped create for us.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aimee
Wedding:
9/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Joseph did an amazing job with our wedding ceremony. He sent us a questionnaire before the wedding that we filled out together. He used that to create a beautiful ceremony that both my husband and I loved. He incorporated all of the elements that both my husband and I wanted. He helped us incorporate our families in the ceremony which was extremely important to us. The ceremony was the best part of the day and I am so happy that Joseph was the one who married us! Thank you so much!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carly
Wedding:
5/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Joseph officiated our Wedding ceremony in May. We could not have been happier . He really got to know us as a family and as a couple and captured our story perfectly. We would have no hesitation to recommend him to a friend. I suggest using joseph if you want a sweet and perfect ceremony.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were very nervous as we were trying to plan a wedding on short notice from 2700 miles away. I made a few calls to other officiants per recommended by other vendors and none of them we had a connection with - they were all about money and selling us a "package". When I saw Joseph Narrowe's site I knew that he was different. From the moment I first talked to him, I knew that he was going to be our officiant. He was in the middle of his lunch and put it on hold so he could talk to me and get to know more about me and my husband! Joseph gave us an experience and really cared about making our day special. Joseph wrote his speech customized to us and included the story of how my husband and I first met, he truly made the whole experience special and memorable for my husband and I. I highly recommend you give Joseph Narrowe a call, he is an amazing officiant and person who truly cares for his customers, which I feel is harder to find these days. If you're getting married on Maui, please check him out, I promise you won't be disappointed.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
3/29/2013
5.0/5.0
It was so wonderful to work with Joseph and have him be a part of our special day. We met him through a common friend who also went to school with his daughter. Small world, I know. It was so refreshing to meet him in person and discuss what we wanted for our ceremony. Both my husband and I wanted to keep things simple. Joseph really spent the time listening to us, getting to know us individually and together. He crafted a ceremony that truly expressed the nature of our union. It was short, spiritual and perfect. He is a wonderful person and great to work with. He is responsive, courteous, and will make you feel like you have been old friends.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
2/22/2013
5.0/5.0
With so many weddings occurring on Maui my husband and I found it challenging to try and create a very simple yet unique experience for both of us.
From the moment I first spoke with Joseph he was incredibly kind and had such a wonderful vibe to him. I feel as though he instantly understood the love that my husband and I share for each other and did a wonderful job capturing that during our ceremony.
Joseph spoke the most beautiful and genuine words and despite the fact that our ceremony was incredibly simple and casual Joseph never treated us any differently than he would someone with a fancier and more extravagant ceremony.

It has been an absolute pleasure dealing with and getting to know Joseph and my husband and I will be grateful for the wonderful ceremony that we received.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Joseph was a pleasure to work with. We were organizing our wedding from Canada and came across Joseph online. When I spoke to him on the phone, I could tell right away Joseph really enjoyed his job and was passionate about being part of people's weddings.

We had a pretty unconventional simple wedding with very little planning. We met with Joseph two days before our wedding. Joseph asked us some poignant questions to get an understanding of us, and we left the rest up to him.

Joseph's ceremony was beautiful. He had put so much thought into the words he said and had really incorporated his understanding of us garnered from our meeting. We were very happy with the ceremony and a number of our friends commented it was the most thoughtful and best ceremony they had ever been to. Joseph seemed to really understand marriage in general, and us as a couple. We're really happy we chose Joseph. His ceremony is definitely something we always want to remember as part of our wedding day.

-Eric & Natalia
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
12/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Distinctive is the perfect description for Joseph and never using the same ceremony vows twice has served him well. We will always remember our wedding day, and we are grateful that Joseph shared our special day with us. We highly recommend him!
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gary
Wedding:
10/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Joseph conducted our original wedding in Maui 10-26-02. When we decided to renew our vows, there was no quesztion we wanted Joseph to conduct our renewal ceremony. His preeration is excellent and very personal to the couple. Very tailord to us. I would reccomned him anytime.
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josh
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Joseph did a fantastic job officiating our wedding. From start to finish he helped us make the day exactly the way we wanted it to be. I can't recommend him highly enough. Thanks -Josh
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
6/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Joseph provided an amazingly, personal, profound and fun ceremony! It was more than what I had asked for. He has a depth and light heartedness that shows in the service. My husband and I rewatch the video and it means more every time. I tell people my ceremony was magical!

Joseph gets to the heart of the matter and I would highly recommend his service to everyone:)
Services Used: Officiant
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
He was super flexible, professional, & personal! From the moment we met him, we felt COMPLETELY comfortable as if he had been a lifelong family friend. I would recommend him to anyone!
Services Used: Officiant

MAP

 
Puunene, HI 96784 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Distinctive Weddings Maui/ Joseph Narrowe
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1361484482470-179seanm.howerc