130x130_sq_1366469170296-dscf0452

DJ Dennis Payne & PLAYBACK DJ & DECOR LIGHTING SERVICE

Charlottesville, Va , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

15 Begum Road
Charlottesville, VA, VA US 22902 (map)

PHONE

434-242-6250

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

PLAYBACK DJ is more than a DJ company; we are an entertainment company providing top quality services. We are the entertainment company that just doesn't play music! Instead we steer and... Read more
PLAYBACK DJ is more than a DJ company; we are an entertainment company providing top quality services. We are the entertainment company that just doesn't play music! Instead we steer and direct the flow of your event, giving you and your quests a time of their life! We have a lot of helpful ideas and hints to make your event spectacular.

We set up different packages for you to choose from to fulfill your needs and budget. No matter what kind of event you are planning to have, we can provide the best entertainment available. We dedicate ourselves to give you personal attention and we strive for perfection! At PLAYBACK DJ we showcase professionalism and enthusiasm at each and every event. Mission Statement of my company:

PLAYBACK DJ & DECOR LIGHTING SERVICE has only one goal: to put together entertainment that will leave a lasting impression on you and your guests. PLAYBACK DJ is committed to not selling clients something they do not need. PLAYBACK DJ will be the clients one stop shop for entertainment and lighting. PLAYBACK DJ is committed to the highest level of customer service through guidance and involvement with the client's event.

DennisPayne@playbackdj.com.

" MORE THAN JUST MUSIC I SUPPLY MEMORIES " Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1236296081426-104_0836
130x130_sq_1266285056264-dscf2158
130x130_sq_1266285056374-dscf2121
130x130_sq_1266285056717-dscf2181
130x130_sq_1266285056921-dscf2266
130x130_sq_1266285057186-dscf2273
130x130_sq_1266285061812-dscf2258
130x130_sq_1266285066765-dscf2162
130x130_sq_1266285068797-dscf2271
130x130_sq_1302733634497-nikijomo718copy
130x130_sq_1302733692544-nikijomo704copy
130x130_sq_1302733753294-nikijomo717
130x130_sq_1308316646572-dscf2603
130x130_sq_1308316689582-dscf0035
130x130_sq_1308316733995-dscf0055

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Big Band, Classic Rock, Country, Dance, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
Low - Key
What is your usual attire?
Black Tux
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes we can set up a time and place to meet.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Dennis was the best! He was extremely professional, responsive, listened to the bride and groom's vision of the event and was an excellent MC. We highly recommend Dennis to anyone who is planning a wedding or other special event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Great DJ, great vendor!

Dennis did a wonderful job with the music for our reception. People were up dancing and enjoying the music, as much as our feet would allow. He read the crowd well, played the right mix of songs to keep the party going, and did all of our requests.

For our reception, we wanted to leave almost all of the music selection in the hands of the professional, and he did a great job. For the ceremony music, we had very specific requests, which he followed well and adapted easily to a few issues that came up.

As a vendor, he was exceptionally easy to work with, and fun too. Very flexible, very straightforward, very responsive.

To do their job well, DJs have to be professional and fun at the same time. From the phone interview to the end of the reception, Dennis was always both. Call him before he's booked.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Best dj in the area by far! Dennis was our most reliable vendor. He was ready for anything, and was so on top of making sure everything was in order and on time. He was great to work with, very responsive and responsible for our entire event.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My wife and I have nothing but high praises for Dennis, he provides excellent service and is great value as a DJ. Dennis is very clear in the services he provides, extremely flexible, and extremely well prepared. From the first moment we met Dennis, it was that he is an experience professional who puts always puts the customer first.

The sound quality from his equipment is excellent and his music library is pretty extensive. Dennis was very eager to make sure he played whatever he didn't have, whether he downloaded it himself or we provided him with either a CD or iPod playlist.

I never once got any indication from Dennis that he was trying to flaunt himself or show off, he followed our guidelines perfectly and filled in any gaps in our details with little to no supervision.

We highly recommend his services to anyone looking for a good deal.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Dennis Payne was the perfect DJ for my recent wedding. We interviewed four different DJs, but were happiest with Dennis' professionalism, experience and personality. He didn't try to impose cookie cutter wedding songs on us, and his online planning tools made the whole process really easy. In fact, completing his planning forms actually helped us form the basis of our ceremony and reception schedule, which was really helpful since we weren't using a professional wedding planner. Dennis kept us on schedule, made sure we had planned for all types of situations, and kept the whole evening flowing perfectly. He was super responsive, and even reached out to us after the wedding to let us know we had accidentally overpaid him. Dennis was perfect throughout the evening, he didn't try to keep attention on him, played a wide array of songs and kept the dance floor packed. I would 100% use Dennis again, he made our reception extra special!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for a great DJ I would highly recommend DJ Dennis Payne. He is professional and is extremely easy to work with. It's more than obvious he has been involved in this business for a long time. He has great ideas and is willing to listen to you as well. I can guarantee your wedding guests will have the time of their lives dancing the evening away with music provided by Dennis. Without a doubt he is the best! So if you need a DJ don't hesitate to book with DJ Dennis Payne.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter's ceremony and reception were held at Early Mountain Vineyards. DJ Dennis Payne not only provided music for the reception but he even did the music for the ceremony. My daughter had her heart set on specific music she heard on YouTube and Dennis was able to use that version. Dennis was amazing to work with. He is such a professional and it's obvious why he is in this business. If you are looking for an exceptional DJ I would highly recommend that you choose DJ Dennis Payne.

Thank you for Dennis for helping make my daughter's wedding day a dream come true.

All the best,
The Hoover/Eanes Family
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Had a great experience with Dennis! Easy to plan everything online with him and he played a great mix of music for all age groups. Got lots of compliments on him!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Dennis was amazing to work with. Was complemented multiple times during the wedding and was a breeze to work with. Would recommend in a heartbeat!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelley
Wedding:
9/7/2013
4.5/5.0
Dennis was very professional from our first conversations and throughout the planning process. He had great suggestions for our reception and helped everything run smoothly and according to plan. He's a laid back DJ which is what we wanted and he did a great job making everything flow well in the background. He was also very flexible and added the songs we wanted.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Dennis was a fantastic wedding DJ, we couldn't have asked for more! Time and again he went above and beyond for our special day. For example, one week before the wedding he met with us at the venue for last minute details. His up-lighting for the tent was beautiful and gave the space an extra romantic feel.
He even handled my uncle's kooky request for serenading us with complete professionalism. And most importantly of all, his choice of music had the guests dancing the entire time! Everyone had a such a wonderful time and I couldn't be happier with our choice of Dennis as our wedding DJ! I especially recommend him to any brides who value dancing and fun atmosphere for their reception.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bre
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Dennis was great during the ceremony & the reception! He had all the music that we requested & a lot more! The music wasn't too loud when we were eating so people could still carry on a conversation & he never started packing up his equipment until we left. Dennis was so easy-going & fun to work with. We would highly recommend him!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
6/22/2013
4.8/5.0
We really enjoyed having Dennis provide the music for our wedding. He played all of the songs we requested, including a few that were probably difficult to find. He also helped us coordinate a surprise wedding party "Thriller" dance and hit the music cues perfectly! The dance floor was rocking all night and everyone has said it was the most fun they have had at a wedding. Thanks again, Dennis!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
5/25/2013
4.8/5.0
Dennis was great! He worked with us not only on the audio for the ceremony, but also for the reception. We had a lot of music requests that he was able to get. He played our requeste music and filled in what the crowd was feeling that night! Everyone danced the night away because of the great music selection and DJing!!! I would recommend to my friends and family!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Dennis was the best choice I made for my wedding reception, hands down. His 30 years of experience definitely show: he was extremely professional, had great advice and suggestions for me as I was planning, kept his emcee activities low key and the focus on the party, and kept the dance floor PACKED all night long. He is the best! I received so many compliments on his work from all of my guests - including elderly relatives who appreciated the low volume of the music near their tables, college friends who loved dancing all night long, family friends who were amazed they could both hear the music throughout dinner and still talk over it, and so many more. One thing I particularly like was that Dennis let me get involved as little or as much as I liked in the song selection. I ended up picking a list of "must plays" and "do not plays" on his website which he used throughout the night - perfect! Also Dennis provided beautiful uplighting for my reception space which added so much to the atmosphere - it was so great working through just one vendor for all of this.

Starting out wedding planning, I was pretty worried about picking out a DJ - this can totally make or break a party! - but I shouldn't have been at all, since Dennis is absolutely wonderful. This was the best dance party I've ever been to in Cville - which is saying a lot! Thank you Dennis, you're the best!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Regina
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We were absolutely thrilled with the services from Playback DJ Service / Dennis Payne.
Our guests danced the entire time, and didn’t want the reception to end. The up lighting was spectacular, and the letter monogram on the dance floor was over the top! The reception was so much fun and everyone was laughing, dancing and the guests are still talking about the reception.
It will be an event that people will always remember. The planning from the beginning to end was flawless, and Dennis has a great sense of humor and was super easy to work with- and gave us many great suggestions. You were so helpful and professional and we are so grateful that we had you to help us make this day so beautiful. We would definitely recommend you to our friends. Thank you!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Thank you SO much for being our DJ!
We had an amazing time and truly enjoyed every minute! Dennis put together the perfect music set for our wedding reception. We danced so much our legs were sore the next day! You were amazing! All ages were on the dance floor and we were all having the best time. Dennis also provided the up lighting in the room and our names in lights on the dance floor. It was so beautiful it made our decorations and colors pop, and it really helped make the room and give it the feel we were going for. We will definitely recommend you to anyone looking for a GREAT WEDDING DJ. Thank you!!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1344821856209-img2468
Laura
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot say anything bad about Dennis. He was fantastic! He has a great personality and was wonderful to work with. Not only did he help with music he gave us ideas on how the timeline should go. He also did our uplighting that turned out great and also did a Gobo lighting for us. It made such a difference during the reception. We absolutely loved working with him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
DJ Dennis Payne is great! He kept our guests on the dance floor all night! Dennis played the perfect mix of songs that appealed to guests of all ages. He set the mood for a great night! We highly recommend DJ Dennis Payne!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Dennis was great! I did not have a wedding planner, so he was great about getting what info he needed from me and leaving me alone. He was attentive and caring. There were a few times when music could have been picked out, but I didn't have the time or energy and I asked Dennis to use his best judgment and everything turned out great and sounded wonderful. He played a great mixture of music for the crowd as well. He would play a song or two that my parents and their friends would like, songs that we liked and threw in just enough slow songs that I got to dance with all the important men in my life. The dance floor stayed full the majority of the evening. Dennis did a great job!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Dennis was not only an incredible DJ, but also a great person to work with while planning our wedding. His website is a very helpful resource and a provides an easy way to plan your timeline, your special songs, and your “must play” and “do not play” song lists. He was always easy to communicate with and I really appreciated his willingness to do an early walkthrough with us as well as a final review before the rehearsal to give me peace of mind. He was flexible and understanding as we adjusted our budget and our needs. He was so professional and so very personable – it was a joy working with him. Everything was flawless for the ceremony and the reception and the dance floor was never empty. Our guests had a wonderful time and we were told repeatedly how great our DJ was. I highly recommend him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Dennis was fabulous to work with - he was flexible and played an integral role throughout my wedding by keeping track of the time and making sure the events of the evening progressed as planned. I paid for him to set up a microphone on the officiant and provide speakers during the ceremony, which was perfect! The music was great, and was a nice blend for everyone from my college friends to the grandparents!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Dennis was the perfect DJ. He had every single song we wanted to play and he put together a playlist that kept our guests on the dance floor the entire night. Highly recommended!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Dennis followed through on everything we discussed previous to the wedding. He kept things on time and moving throughout the night. Most importantly, he knew how to play to the crowd on the dance floor to keep them there having a good time. We highly recommend him for a wedding or an event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Mr. Payne was the perfect emcee for our reception. His announcements kept things on schedule, but he was not hammy and let his music do the talking most of the time. The playlist he designed was great and kept everyone dancing all night long. It was also very easy to make special requests. Mr. Payne was always easy to reach and pleasant to deal with. As a bonus, his services are less expensive than other DJs in the Charlottesville area.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ian
Wedding:
7/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Dennis provided excellent DJ service with true professionalism. He was more than willing to work with our budget and was always responsive to our emails/calls. He tailored our song selection seamlessly with his own to create a fantastic experience for our guests. It was a pleasure to have Dennis as part of our wedding. Highly recommended.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Dennis was fantastic!! The music was great and he even helped us work on our reception timeline. Very professional and easy to work with. Can't say enough about him :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Dennis was fantastic! He played an awsome night full of music!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paige
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Dennis Payne was great! He was very on top of the schedule and the wedding went very smoothly. His online planning forms are really helpful and make getting together a playlist a cinch. We also got lighting through him, which was beautiful -- he matched the LED lights exactly to my color coral - and was a great value!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sbduva09
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Dennis did a wonderful job of making our wedding as comfortable and stress free as possible. He was always very easy to get in contact with if ever there were any questions. He also was great at introducing each part of our reception and did a fantastic job of making sure to pronounce everyone's names in our bridal party correctly! Most importantly, he kept the dance floor filled to the max, which included family members that I had never seen dance before! It was quite the party!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Si
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Dennis Payne was AMAZING for our wedding--very professional and understanding of our needs. Every meeting we've had was well planned and informative.

His website was very helpful: the song request function and event planning was crucial in helping us make our special day just the way we wanted.

He has a wealth of DJ experience and it really showed on the day of the wedding. Our ceremony was outdoors and the reception was indoors, Dennis provided music for both settings. His timing and execution was impeccable--great transitions and song placements during cocktail hour, dinner, and dancing.

During the reception, we had a last minute change for the father & daughter dance song, Dennis was quick to act and helped us pick a song in his list that worked out perfectly.

We can't say enough good things about him. We would definitely recommend him for anyone who is looking for a DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tom and Joan
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
We had a great time working with Dennis. The first time we spoke to him he provided us with a great overview of his style and explained in detail the quality of his equipment and his back up systems. He was so thorough in his presentation, he answered many questions before we could even ask them. We met with Dennis before our wedding and he was very easy going, listened well and was detail oriented. His first priority is to make your day exactly what you want it to be. It was great to create playlists via his website and he follows any timeline or requests you provide. We found Dennis to be a very reliable and professional vendor; we highly recommend him.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patti
Wedding:
4/7/2012
4.0/5.0
Overall, Dennis was fine. The song selection was great and kept people on the floor. Being able to build stuff ahead of time on his website was helpful.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Regina
Wedding:
2/16/2012
5.0/5.0
We were absolutely thrilled with the services from Playback Productions/Dennis Payne.
Our guest danced the entire time and didn’t want the reception to end. The up lighting was spectacular and the letter monogram on the dance floor was over the top! The reception was so much fun and everyone was laughing, dancing and the guest are still talking about the reception.

It will be an event that people will always remember. The planning from the beginning to end was flawless and Dennis has a great sense of humor and was super easy to work with and gave us many great suggestions. You were so helpful and professional and we are so grateful that we had you to help us make this day so beautiful. We would definitely recommend you to our friends.

Thank you again for everything!
Regina Dodd (Shifflett-Abel Wedding)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eslarson
Wedding:
10/29/2011
4.6/5.0
The online tools were very helpful although the design was a bit unwieldy because it was one table embedded inside another table. He was easy to talk to and very responsive to all our requests. The reception itself went perfectly - we had a lot of last minute changes to the schedule because of weather issues but we worked together even during the event to keep everyone on the same page. The music was good and kept everyone out on the dance floor. Great on the mic and the projection lighting was fantastic. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for a DJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jess
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Dennis was a wonderful DJ and I would highly recommend him to other couples. He was very easy to work with, and he even went so far as to create an MP3 of our wedding song from a youtube video when we couldn’t find the version we wanted anywhere else. We have very strong musical opinions and he did a great job of playing all of our “must plays”, avoiding all of our “do not plays”, and perfectly reading the crowd to fill in all the rest. Our dance floor filled up during dinner hour (when we didn’t even intend for people to start dancing!) and was never even close to empty. He kept the party going until the very end of the night, but was very non-obtrusive. He got on the mic only to make certain announcements (father daughter dance, toasts, cake cutting, etc) but did not try to be too involved or be a part of the party. I did not have a wedding planner so I depended on Dennis to make sure everything went according to our timeline, and he made sure that the entire reception ran very smoothly. Overall, Dennis made our wedding reception incredibly fun. I would recommend him to any couple looking for a fun reception filled with music and dancing.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
D-Bug
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.8/5.0
Dennis did a wonderful job for us. There were so many questions that I didn't even know to be prepared for. Dennis helped to walk us through everything and make things very easy on us. The night was wonderful. He was able to feel out the crowd and played music to keep the dancing going. The dance floor was never empty.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melzee
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Kept getting compliments through the reception about our DJ. Dennis was extremely helpful through the planning process and I couldn't have been happier with the choice of music he played. He did an excellent job announcing us also, highly recommend.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
8/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was four months ago and we are STILL getting compliments from guests about how great the music was. Dennis was great to work with and an expert at getting people on the dance floor! I highly recommend him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Will
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Dennis was fantastic DJ at our wedding last weekend. We were hesitant to get a DJ for reception music, in fear that we'd end up with cheese-dick who spent more time on the microphone than he did playing music... Dennis couldn't have been better though! He came highly recommended and was an excellent addition to our party! He has a huge music selection, and was willing to make last second changes to music selection for the reception. When we booked him, we were unaware that the cost included lighting for the dance floor, which was a nice surprise the day of the wedding! We had very few song requests, but rather asked that he feel out the crowd and play music to make sure everyone had fun... needless to say, he had people dancing throughout the night. I'd highly recommend him when you are looking for a DJ for your next party.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NEngel09
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Dennis Payne did everything we asked him to do & our wedding ceremony & reception was wonderful! He came to our rehearsal to make sure we were all on the same page, and was very accomodating on all of the songs we wanted played for our ceremony, as well as during the reception! We were able to tell him what types of music we wanted played during the ceremony as well, so that even our guests' requests would be limited (one of my cousins tried to request a song that had inappropriate wording to it, and it was stopped by dennis before it ever got in the speakers and embarrassed us and our parents!) We felt even more comfortable knowing he also brought back-up equipment with him, just in case anything should go wrong. This was one of the main reasons we went with him because this wasn't something we found many other DJs did. Overall, he was WONDERFUL & we would recommend him to anyone in the Charlottesville area looking for a DJ! He was recommended to us by our wedding venue, Shenandoah Crossing Resort, and we are so glad they did! :-) THANK YOU DENNIS!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cody
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Dennis Payne is a true professional, arrived earlier than expected, set up and got the party started! He is a lot of fun and his equipment is state of the art and affordable.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fkftbrat
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Thanks to Dennis, our daughter's reception was a blast! His professionalism leading up to and during the event was without a doubt flawless. His ability to speak with us and know exactly what we wanted made us very confident from the beginning. Dennis' ability to be flexible and handle last minute changes without any conflict was exceptional. He is very upbeat and has the personality needed to work a crowd. He takes total control of the night and makes everyone want to kick off their shoes, let their hair down, and have a good time. In all honesty, I do not believe we could have found anyone else who could have created the smiles and laughter on the faces of our guests like Dennis did. More importantly, the smile on our daughter's face and total satisfaction she expressed was PRICELESS! Thanks Dennis for an amazing job in creating a lifetime of special memories.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kkwalthall
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Dennis was amazing. My family and friends danced all night - there was never those lulls on the dance floor where people empty out. In fact, a lot of people didn't even stop to eat their cake! Dennis even mixed in some of my husband's favorite songs from hypem.com during the dinner background music as a surprise. He also downloaded many songs for me that weren't in his list (for free of course). He made the garter and bouquet toss a lot of fun for my friends too! I have had several people contact me after the wedding just to tell me that Dennis was the best DJ they have ever heard at a wedding, that they had an amazing time dancing, and that our wedding was one of the most fun they'd been to. Dennis also added colored dance floor lighting that really added a fun atmosphere to our dance area (he made it one solid color during dinner to not be distracting). Did I mention he also spotlighted our cake? That really helped for pictures! Everyone had a great time, Dennis stayed in the background and delivered an amazing experience.

I researched a lot of DJs before choosing Dennis and lets be honest, the rest are VERY overpriced and want to control the whole show, talk a lot, and be the center of attention. Dennis was right in my budget but delivered better than I could have ever expected at our Keswick Hall wedding. Kudos!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1280371781472-legobridegroom30ksmaller
Sarah
Wedding:
5/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Dennis is good to work with, and his online tools make it easy to have as much (or as little) input as you wish.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Dennis' website was easy to navigate and allowed us to craft a very personal playlist- including the all important "do not play" list. As a dj he was a very natural fit to the evening. Like a great waiter he had perfect timing without ever seeming to get in the way or take over the evening. In addition, his lighting, which is included in his package helped our relatively small event fill a fairly large venue. We were completely pleased with every facet of his service and would recommend him to anyone looking for a great DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joseph
Wedding:
4/16/2011
4.9/5.0
DJ Dennis Payne was the perfect DJ for our wedding. He is so easy to work with and his selection of music was endless so we could be as hands on as we wanted to with our play list. He has a great set up and is very professional, keeping the music playing and people on the dance floor, without interfering at all. He was also very flexible with some last minute music changes and additions. I would highly recommend Dennis Payne for any occasion. He helped make our wedding night a perfect celebration. Thanks Dennis!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
3/12/2011
5.0/5.0
On my behalf of Niki and Jomo, thank you so much for being a part of their special day and making it so memorable. The services you provided from music, lighting effects, and also playing MC was first-class and beyond exceptional. I will definitely refer your services to others in the future…. It was great working with you again!

Warmest Regards,
Jennifer
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jomo
Wedding:
3/12/2011
4.9/5.0
We could not ask for a better ceremony and reception. The music for both were perfect. Dennis also provided LED up-lighting that just made the room more vibrant and at a great price. Honestly, I can not think of anything that he did not deliver on.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
michael
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Dennis Payne is a wonderful DJ for weddings. His selection of music is vast, his website is easy to navigate and helpful but more importantly, he does a great job without being intrusive. Further, Dennis is approachable, helpful, professional and will work with you to make sure you have a great event. We highly recommend his services.

Ellie and Joel Voss
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jackiekeller
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Dennis Payne DJ'd our wedding and did an incredible job. He played songs that we requested as well as current hits and kept everyone dancing all night long. I could tell my guests were having a wonderful time! He even played some specific mp3s I sent him that we really wanted to be played.
I urge people to check out his website, he has a very extensive playlist and you can even create your own. I would also recommend using the "do not play" function on the website since there were a lot of songs we DEFINITELY did not want played at the wedding and he stuck to it.
Overall, a fantastic and professional DJ. He is wonderful to work with, is very flexible and makes sure he does everything he can to make your day special!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mwguerreri
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.0/5.0
Dennis Payne was great! He played very nice and casual music during the dinner which was soothing. Dance music was fantastic. He was very nice about taking requests and met everyones needs. I would definitely recommend him.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
DJ Dennis Payne was enormously easy to work with. The tools he provides to get your special day prepared are not provided by any others. His price was fantastic for the services he provided. If you're looking for a low-key DJ that knows how to get people up on the dance floor with his music choices, he is your DJ! You will not regret choosing Dennis Payne for your wedding or any other special event!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
p_mchandler
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Dennis did a wonderful, professional job at our wedding. He was available months prior to the ceremony, and he performed above and beyond our highest expectations. He delivered high quality music that was appropriate for all, and truly performed a service that was unforgettable. Thank you Dennis for making this the best day of our lives!

Preston and Maria

*Feel free to use us as a reference for your portfolio or any thing else. We can not tell you how much we appreciate your services! If you need to contact us, our email is p_mchandler@yahoo.com. Thank you so much!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gina
Wedding:
7/3/2010
4.2/5.0
Be sure to make use of the planning forms on his website.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LMF
Wedding:
6/26/2010
4.8/5.0
Dennis Payne did a wonderful job at our wedding! He did a great job mixing up the music and feeling out the crowd to play what worked best. I have never seen a wedding where there was a huge crowd of people on the dance floor the entire time. We had so many guests comment on how wonderful the D.J. was and tell us how much fun they had. Dennis was not at all intrusive. I've been to other weddings where the D.J. calls out guests for not dancing, making them feel uncomfortable. Or where D.J.'s are running around trying to be the center of attention. Dennis simply played great music and knew exactly how to keep people on the dance floor without drawing any attention to himself. Also, the planning tools on his website are great! You can create your timeline, playlists, special requests, etc. all right on his site. Dennis was exactly what I wanted in a D.J. - unintrusive, easy to work with, and fun!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LFlower
Wedding:
6/26/2010
4.8/5.0
Dennis Payne was wonderful! He was very easy to work with, and the planning tools on his website made it easy to get all the details arranged with him. He played a great mix of music that appealed to all our wedding guests. He also kept people on the dance floor the entire night. I have never seen a dance floor packed for the whole night like it was at our wedding. He was an excellent DJ!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1250863690049-n31804859325237266935104
Gidge22
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough great things about Dennis! He was fabulous!! He was very easy to work with, called me a few weeks prior to the event to make sure he had all of my requests right, and played all of the songs that we requested--and many other great songs too! My guests commented multiple times on how they thought that Dennis was a great DJ because he played a great variety of music to suite all tastes, and got people moving on the dance floor. He was also flexible with us because at first we did not request the lights that he offers, but then opted to do them. We are so glad that we did--it really made the party that much better. If you want a DJ who is fun, reliable, and really knows what he is doing, hire Dennis! You won't be disappointed!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynsey
Wedding:
3/6/2010
4.7/5.0
Great value, professional service, quality was excellent.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brooke A.
Wedding:
10/24/2009
4.7/5.0
Dennis was a great DJ. The one thing that we told him we wanted was lots of dancing, and he definitely delivered. People commented they had never seen so much dancing at a wedding before! His online tool to select our songs was great, and he mixed in a few of his own just to keep the pace going. Dennis also served as the MC for our wedding, which was great, as we didn't have a wedding coordinator. He kept the wedding on track based on the schedule I provided him. His online tool was very helpful for planning the timeline as well. I would definitely recommend Dennis to others.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary and Dave
Wedding:
10/10/2009
5.0/5.0
The reception was great the Music that Dennis Payne played fit our event perfect. We never got off the dance floor and all of our guest told us they had a wonderful time dancing the night away. Thank you again Dennis.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sally and Brandon
Wedding:
9/12/2009
4.9/5.0
When we arrived at the reception hall everything was ready for our grand entrance. The Dj had everyone take there seat and began the introduction music after that it was smooth sailing. PLAYBACK DJ SERVICE and Dennis Payne did a outstanding job and kept the reception going strong all-night long. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Dennis Payne and his company for your event you wont go wrong with them
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
15 Begum Road, Charlottesville, VA, VA 22902 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for DJ Dennis Payne & PLAYBACK DJ & DECOR LIGHTING SERVICE
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1366469170296-dscf0452