130x130 sq 1404358260288 laptop

DJ Derek Tobler

Charlottesville , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

P.O. Box 73
Charlottesville, VA 22902 US (map)

PHONE

434-296-6689

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Congratulations on your engagement!

I would like your wedding ceremony and reception to be fondly remembered for many years to come. Your day will stand out as being fun,... Read more
Congratulations on your engagement!

I would like your wedding ceremony and reception to be fondly remembered for many years to come. Your day will stand out as being fun, unique, and seamless.

As your DJ and Emcee, I will work with you to make sure your music tastes are well represented and that the day reflects your individual personalities. You may be able to visualize what you would like your wedding day to look like. If you describe that image to me in our consultation, I will do my part to help realize your dream wedding. My commitment to you is that I will treat your wedding like it is the most important day of my career.
DJ/Emcee
The music I play at your wedding will depend on what I learn about your music tastes when we discuss this together. Every wedding I do is individually catered to each couple, resulting in a different mix of music played at each wedding. I delete your play lists before I go to my next wedding to keep things fresh. You may provide as many must-plays as you like, and I always respect your do-not-play list.

I also would make all appropriate announcements throughout the evening, and make sure all the correct people are ready and in the room before anything happens (including your other vendors). This is an important part of what I do for you so that the evening flows seamlessly. I would consider my Emcee style to be professional and to the point. You and your guests need to know what is happening, but the focus of the day will remain on you.
First Dance Custom Edits
You may like a particular song for your first dance, but feel it is too long to dance to or wish a verse could be removed. Or you may want to have a little fun and combine a couple songs while keeping the total length around 3 minutes.

Just let me know and I will make you a custom song edit and email it to you for your approval prior to your wedding day.
Ceremony, Cocktail Hour, Reception
Your music needs may be for your reception only or you may require separate sound systems for your ceremony and cocktail hour, as well. I own multiple systems that can be set up and ready at each needed location prior to your guests arrival.

Microphones will be provided, as needed, at your ceremony to capture all dialog for your family and friends to hear - including your vows and additional readings. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1340305902202 1
130x130 sq 1340306009128 hiltyandjeffwedding1747
130x130 sq 1368158958848 408
130x130 sq 1368158979419 ceremonypic
130x130 sq 1368159005396 derek pic
130x130 sq 1368159020882 emerystrongmeredithmontaguephotographyemerystrong8610low
130x130 sq 1386000412202 laptop
130x130 sq 1386000416674 musiconly1su
130x130 sq 1386000420883 tvsho
130x130 sq 1386000440702 1662 1714 eg jl hr 93
130x130 sq 1386000444595 1796 eg jl hr 97

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
Keep the people happy and dancing
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
No
What is your usual attire?
Guest attire
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
Never
How many other DJs do you work with?
Just me
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Three hours
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes please
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
I love playing all types of music and will research the music needed for every event. I love a challenge!
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Yes please
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Add-on services include: 
 up-lighting, dance floor lighting, monogram lighting, video, karaoke, dance lessons
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
Set up times (I bring my own table):
 Music only 30 min
 Music and lighting 45 min
 Music, video and lighting 1 hr
Do you have any extra space requirements?
I can fit anywhere
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
Never
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
A little bit of announcing and a lot of dancing
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
New song
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
No breaks
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
No breaks
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Forward our detailed plan to a trusted DJ friend
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
Only one wedding per day
What is your overtime rate?
Call for pricing
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Call for pricing
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
Call for pricing

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Abby
Wedding:
11/8/2014
5.0/5.0
It is my pleasure to write this review for Derek Tobler, Mobile DJ and Emcee. My husband and I were married at King Family Vineyards this November, and we could not be happier with how our wedding day turned out. Derek is a huge part of what made our day so great.
Derek is very professional but is also a lot of fun to work with. In our first conversations with him, he made us feel comfortable and he really listened to what we wanted for our reception. After meeting him in person, we were even further convinced that we were in good hands. We wanted everyone dancing—and Derek absolutely went above and beyond in making that happen! I can’t believe I was ever even concerned that people wouldn’t dance at the reception. Derek really got a great feel for the crowd and played music that kept everyone on the dance floor all night long. He brought such a fun energy to the evening, and we all had a fantastic time. We loved that he took the time to show our guests the steps to some dances—it was great that everyone could learn and join in! Derek was also a wonderful emcee for the dinner portion of the evening. He made sure he had the pronunciations for all of our family and wedding party member names correct, and he kept everything running smoothly. Everyone knew what was going on at all times and everything was very organized.
Thank you Derek for all you did to make our wedding day so perfect!
It is my pleasure to write this review for Derek Tobler, Mobile DJ and Emcee. My husband and I were married at King Family Read more...
It is my pleasure to write this review for Derek Tobler, Mobile DJ and Emcee. My husband and I were married at King Family Vineyards this November, and we could not be happier with how our wedding day turned out. Derek is a huge part of what made our day so great.
Derek is very professional but is also a lot of fun to work with. In our first conversations with him, he made us feel comfortable and he really listened to what we wanted for our reception. After meeting him in person, we were even further convinced that we were in good hands. We wanted everyone dancing—and Derek absolutely went above and beyond in making that happen! I can’t believe I was ever even concerned that people wouldn’t dance at the reception. Derek really got a great feel for the crowd and played music that kept everyone on the dance floor all night long. He brought such a fun energy to the evening, and we all had a fantastic time. We loved that he took the time to show our guests the steps to some dances—it was great that everyone could learn and join in! Derek was also a wonderful emcee for the dinner portion of the evening. He made sure he had the pronunciations for all of our family and wedding party member names correct, and he kept everything running smoothly. Everyone knew what was going on at all times and everything was very organized.
Thank you Derek for all you did to make our wedding day so perfect! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
melissa
Wedding:
10/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Derek was amazing to work with! We told him we wanted a huge party and he delivered! All our guests complimented us on how awesome the DJ was and everyone danced all night! He also helped us with our ceremony music bringing speakers for our ceremony/cocktail hour singer which was super helpful! If you are looking for the best DJ he's your guy!
Derek was amazing to work with! We told him we wanted a huge party and he delivered! All our guests complimented us on how Read more...
Derek was amazing to work with! We told him we wanted a huge party and he delivered! All our guests complimented us on how awesome the DJ was and everyone danced all night! He also helped us with our ceremony music bringing speakers for our ceremony/cocktail hour singer which was super helpful! If you are looking for the best DJ he's your guy! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Bethany
Wedding:
10/11/2014
5.0/5.0
Derek was great! He was so much fun to work with and is a really good and being able to pick music that works for a diverse crowd - which we certainly had! He gave us suggestions that were brilliant and put up with our chaotic and off-beat wedding. Derek is a great balance of being professional but also so much fun with a big personality - but he is definitely NOT one of those sleazy, cheesy DJs. He is the real deal and you would be crazy to not book him for your event.
Derek was great! He was so much fun to work with and is a really good and being able to pick music that works for a Read more...
Derek was great! He was so much fun to work with and is a really good and being able to pick music that works for a diverse crowd - which we certainly had! He gave us suggestions that were brilliant and put up with our chaotic and off-beat wedding. Derek is a great balance of being professional but also so much fun with a big personality - but he is definitely NOT one of those sleazy, cheesy DJs. He is the real deal and you would be crazy to not book him for your event. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Ainslee
Wedding:
9/20/2014
5.0/5.0
In coming up with our list of 'most importants' for the wedding my husband and I both agreed that we wanted an epic dance party. Derek was instrumental in making this possible: all of our guests from little cousins to college buddies to parents tore it up on the dance floor!
He was organized, professional and really easy to work with. We appreciated how he made sure to cover the details for us so that we didn't have to stress over them. The ceremony ran flawlessly thanks to Derek's hard prep work. He also nailed our personal style for the cocktail hour and dinner portion of the reception with very little input (stress) on our end. He made sure to get our 'must play' and 'do not play' lists but guests loved how quick he was to play their requests. Luckily, we planned ahead for more time and Derek was a great sport about staying later. Even with an extra hour no one wanted to leave!
Just a few weeks after the reception we are still hearing our guests rave about their time on the dance floor. We got so much more than we bargained for in Derek and would absolutely recommend him to couples in the area!
In coming up with our list of 'most importants' for the wedding my husband and I both agreed that we wanted an epic dance Read more...
In coming up with our list of 'most importants' for the wedding my husband and I both agreed that we wanted an epic dance party. Derek was instrumental in making this possible: all of our guests from little cousins to college buddies to parents tore it up on the dance floor!
He was organized, professional and really easy to work with. We appreciated how he made sure to cover the details for us so that we didn't have to stress over them. The ceremony ran flawlessly thanks to Derek's hard prep work. He also nailed our personal style for the cocktail hour and dinner portion of the reception with very little input (stress) on our end. He made sure to get our 'must play' and 'do not play' lists but guests loved how quick he was to play their requests. Luckily, we planned ahead for more time and Derek was a great sport about staying later. Even with an extra hour no one wanted to leave!
Just a few weeks after the reception we are still hearing our guests rave about their time on the dance floor. We got so much more than we bargained for in Derek and would absolutely recommend him to couples in the area! Read less
Services Used: DJ
130x130 sq 1389919501 9d0957b60b810b3a img 0701
Sarah
Wedding:
9/12/2014
5.0/5.0
Derek was Awesome!!! He DJ'd for our September 12 wedding at King Family Vineyards and was a huge hit! Everyone loved all the different kinds of music we requested and he took what we said and turned it into a memorable day and night! He tweaked what needed tweaking and made it work for that time (ceremony, recessional, wedding party entrance, etc.) I would highly recommend booking him as soon as you have your venue selected and your date! He books up quickly so jump on it!
Derek was Awesome!!! He DJ'd for our September 12 wedding at King Family Vineyards and was a huge hit! Everyone loved all Read more...
Derek was Awesome!!! He DJ'd for our September 12 wedding at King Family Vineyards and was a huge hit! Everyone loved all the different kinds of music we requested and he took what we said and turned it into a memorable day and night! He tweaked what needed tweaking and made it work for that time (ceremony, recessional, wedding party entrance, etc.) I would highly recommend booking him as soon as you have your venue selected and your date! He books up quickly so jump on it! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Amy
Wedding:
8/30/2014
5.0/5.0
Derek was wonderful to work with! He had tons of suggestions when we asked for them and he kept the reception running so smoothly! The music was perfect and he filled the dance floor. Prior to the wedding he talked through the schedule of events with us and helped us organize the evening. By the time the reception started, all we had to do was relax and let him keep the party going! Thank you so much Derek for helping make our wedding day perfect!
Derek was wonderful to work with! He had tons of suggestions when we asked for them and he kept the reception running so Read more...
Derek was wonderful to work with! He had tons of suggestions when we asked for them and he kept the reception running so smoothly! The music was perfect and he filled the dance floor. Prior to the wedding he talked through the schedule of events with us and helped us organize the evening. By the time the reception started, all we had to do was relax and let him keep the party going! Thank you so much Derek for helping make our wedding day perfect! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Alicia and Ian
Wedding:
7/27/2014
4.9/5.0
DJ Derek Tobler provided all of the music for our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception, including microphones and additional sound equipment in all locations. The music was fantastic and we danced the night away. He was willing to add music to his library and was very open to all of our suggestions/wants. We are still hearing fantastic feedback from our wedding guests and would recommend DJ Derek Tobler to our friends.
DJ Derek Tobler provided all of the music for our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception, including microphones and Read more...
DJ Derek Tobler provided all of the music for our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception, including microphones and additional sound equipment in all locations. The music was fantastic and we danced the night away. He was willing to add music to his library and was very open to all of our suggestions/wants. We are still hearing fantastic feedback from our wedding guests and would recommend DJ Derek Tobler to our friends. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
DJ Derek is the best! We researched DC/MD/VA-area DJs very carefully because we wanted to ensure our wedding reception would be an absolute blast with a packed dance floor all night. We interviewed a bunch of folks, and even though Derek was a phone interview he still stood out as the best in the bunch. We are so glad that we chose Derek! He was so professional and he really knows his music. He was extremely responsive over email and was available for several phone calls before the wedding and seemed truly invested in getting to know us as a couple and even communicated directly with our parents and bridesmaids (who organized a couple of surprises on the wedding day). Derek was helpful with our wedding timeline too and had great tips for keeping the flow of the event smooth and fun for everyone.

On the wedding day he was totally calm and collected and made us feel like we didn't have to worry about anything and could just enjoy the day. He set up the sound system for our ceremony, which was perfect. He played fun music for cocktail hour and dinner, but not too loud so folks could still talk to each other easily inside the venue. When it was time for cake cutting or toasts etc, Derek navigated smooth transitions -- we knew we were in good hands. Plus we really danced our hearts out to some fantastic music during the reception!! He was able to weave together a fantastic mix of music that appealed to all of our wedding guests -- from funk and motown to 80s/90s and current music. We couldn't have asked for a better wedding DJ!
DJ Derek is the best! We researched DC/MD/VA-area DJs very carefully because we wanted to ensure our wedding reception Read more...
DJ Derek is the best! We researched DC/MD/VA-area DJs very carefully because we wanted to ensure our wedding reception would be an absolute blast with a packed dance floor all night. We interviewed a bunch of folks, and even though Derek was a phone interview he still stood out as the best in the bunch. We are so glad that we chose Derek! He was so professional and he really knows his music. He was extremely responsive over email and was available for several phone calls before the wedding and seemed truly invested in getting to know us as a couple and even communicated directly with our parents and bridesmaids (who organized a couple of surprises on the wedding day). Derek was helpful with our wedding timeline too and had great tips for keeping the flow of the event smooth and fun for everyone.

On the wedding day he was totally calm and collected and made us feel like we didn't have to worry about anything and could just enjoy the day. He set up the sound system for our ceremony, which was perfect. He played fun music for cocktail hour and dinner, but not too loud so folks could still talk to each other easily inside the venue. When it was time for cake cutting or toasts etc, Derek navigated smooth transitions -- we knew we were in good hands. Plus we really danced our hearts out to some fantastic music during the reception!! He was able to weave together a fantastic mix of music that appealed to all of our wedding guests -- from funk and motown to 80s/90s and current music. We couldn't have asked for a better wedding DJ! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Derek was just incredible and did an awesome job DJ'ing our wedding. Derek made a point to ensure he knew what our vision was and gave us exactly what we wanted on our wedding day. From ensuring everything was set up,perfectly EARLY, to playing our requested playlist to getting on the dance floor to teach various line dance.....he was exceptional. Everything was exactly like we wanted!! Derek was a pleasure to work with. Dealing with Derek was stress free!!! Would highly recommend!!!
Derek was just incredible and did an awesome job DJ'ing our wedding. Derek made a point to ensure he knew what our vision Read more...
Derek was just incredible and did an awesome job DJ'ing our wedding. Derek made a point to ensure he knew what our vision was and gave us exactly what we wanted on our wedding day. From ensuring everything was set up,perfectly EARLY, to playing our requested playlist to getting on the dance floor to teach various line dance.....he was exceptional. Everything was exactly like we wanted!! Derek was a pleasure to work with. Dealing with Derek was stress free!!! Would highly recommend!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Jill
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
Derek was one of the very first vendors we booked for our wedding and it was one of the best decisions we made! Derek was so great throughout the whole planning process, super responsive, helpful and fun! Our guests were blown away at the variety of music that he played. He kept the evening running smoothly, we didn't once worry about what was coming next, Derek was all over it! It was hard to see the night end, we could have danced all night thanks to Derek!
Derek was one of the very first vendors we booked for our wedding and it was one of the best decisions we made! Derek was Read more...
Derek was one of the very first vendors we booked for our wedding and it was one of the best decisions we made! Derek was so great throughout the whole planning process, super responsive, helpful and fun! Our guests were blown away at the variety of music that he played. He kept the evening running smoothly, we didn't once worry about what was coming next, Derek was all over it! It was hard to see the night end, we could have danced all night thanks to Derek! Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
P.O. Box 73, Charlottesville, VA 22902 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for DJ Derek Tobler
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1404358260288 laptop