130x130_sq_1224106789007-dj-chicago-city

DJ-Chicago

Chicago , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

219 N. Justine Street
Chicago, IL US 60607 (map)

PHONE

773-472-5100

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The reason we have been so successful in satisfying our customers is that we take the time to understand their personal tastes and musical preferences. Couples that hire DJ-Chicago for... Read more
The reason we have been so successful in satisfying our customers is that we take the time to understand their personal tastes and musical preferences. Couples that hire DJ-Chicago for their wedding reception meet with their DJ several weeks prior to their wedding day so they know their DJ understands their expectations for the night, from the opening introductions to the last song of the evening.

In addition to our personal attention and professionalism, another way that we differentiate ourselves from other DJ companies is that we feel the focus of a wedding reception should be the couple, not the DJ. In fact, we feel that the only place for “cheese” at a wedding reception is on the appetizer tray and definitely not at the DJ table. Read less
DJ

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1387217705884-img086
MissMadeline
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
DJ-Chicago was fantastic. We hired them based on the great reviews we found online. Every good thing we heard about DJ-Chicago was true. We met Mark and hired DJ-Chicago over a year before our wedding. He made the process anything but a chore and kept up with communication. On the day of the event, Mark was timely, professional, and efficient. Besides playing music that kept the guests dancing all night long, he kept us on schedule for the evening (which was no small feat!). If you are looking for a DJ for a wedding or any other event, stop your search and go with DJ-Chicago!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
5 out of 5 without question! Mark MC'd our wedding and did a fantastic job of working with us in advance of the event to select music, collaborate on songs and themes, and delivered on great music for the party.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
DJ Chicago was amazing. They always responded to e-mails right away, were extremely well organized and on the day of, everyone was dancing to the point where almost no one stayed at their tables. We would recommend DJ Chicago to everyone!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
DJ Chicago was amazing. They always responded to e-mails right away, were extremely well organized and on the day of, everyone was dancing to the point where almost no one stayed at their tables. We would recommend DJ Chicago to everyone!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
DJ Chicago was amazing. They always responded to e-mails right away, were extremely well organized and on the day of, everyone was dancing to the point where almost no one stayed at their tables. We would recommend DJ Chicago to everyone!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Mark did an amazing job!!! We could not be happier!! We live in Boston, but have a lot of family in Chicago, where we had our wedding. Mark was recommended to us by our friends, and hiring him is the best decision we made for our reception. He is incredibly professional while being very nice and personable, and has a great deal of experience and is fantastic at what he does. He directed our entire night, was super responsive to many changes and requests we made over email and phone leading up to the wedding. He worked with our schedules and was able to meet with us during our trips to Chicago. He respected our requests, and made great suggestions in terms of song choices and the overall flow of the evening. On the night of the wedding, he was super-attentive to our mixed crowd, and given that we had a smaller wedding, I was so pleased that he had most of our guests, old and young, dancing the night away! We had a fabulous time, and feel incredibly lucky that we had Mark and DJ-Chicago be in charge of our celebration. He is a great great MC and DJ - would absolutely recommend hiring him to anyone looking to enjoy their wedding without having to worry about the entertainment on the night of! Thank you thank you thank you!!!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1383430844969-avata
Lindsey
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Mark was our DJ for our October 19, 2013 wedding and from the very start did an amazing job. Upon meeting, he was very organized and immediately got a sense for what we wanted from a DJ. Mark always responded promptly to any changes or special requests we asked for between meetings. During the day of, he was great with our announcements and introductions and was SO easy to work with. As far as the music, he played a great variety of songs and had people on the dance floor all night long. You really cannot go wrong with DJ-Chicago!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were extremely happy with These guys!!! They meet with you before hand and discuss all music!! It's very personalized! The dance floor stayed full and we had a very diverse wedding :-) we loved them and highly recommend them to everyone!! We had Reuben ( sorry if spelled wrong) and he was great!!! thank you so much Mark, Reuben, and DJ Chicago!!!! ( Amanda and Dan 10.12.13)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
These guys are phenomenal. From my initial contact with Mark via email until the last song that Alec played at my wedding and everything in between I was impressed. These guys are down to earth, fun, professional and GREAT at what they do. I planned my wedding from San Diego and Mark and Alec accommodated every need/request that I had. My fiance and I were rather clueless upon meeting Mark and Alec as to what we wanted and they were able to make great recommendations and gave such great guidance that we didn't have a care in the world come our wedding day. Mark was super responsive to the million questions that I had and Alec was incredible when it came to the flow of our wedding day. He made sure that everything went off without a hitch, starting with our ceremony, then introductions, THEN bride vs groom flip cup, all the speeches and last but not least, the dance party. Alec kept the dance floor packed all night and was so great that some of my guests tried to bribe him to play beyond our cut off time. Now that's a sign of a great party! Oh and in addition to all of that, did I mention that DJ Chicago had some of the most reasonable pricing in the Chicagoland area?? An added bonus for 5 star service!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patrick
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Congratulations if you're reading this you just found your DJ!

Mark was absolutely spectacular at my wedding - he actually made the music even better than I had imagined it ahead of time. In preparation for our wedding day, Mark took the time to discuss with us at length the types of music we liked and particular songs. We must've blasted a million ideas at him during our meetings, and this guy put it all together into an absolute masterpiece.

Even more, his transitions at the wedding were flawless. Mark seamlessly increased and decreased the tempo with matching BPM (beats per minute) songs. This is the sign of a true professional "master of ceremonies". And he actively responded to what the crowd was responding to, taking this thing to a whole other level. It was absolutely customized to my people and my night. Awesome.

My new wife and I are young lawyers and we dated for ten years so we really put a lot into our wedding. Mark is not just a cool guy, he is an absolute comfort to have around. He does things for you. He "takes care of that". He rounds people up for events, gives them a heads up before speeches, makes announcements, etc, etc, etc. Having people like Mark, who are doing things to take care of you and your guests when you're not even looking, is absolutely priceless.

If you just read this you're already in luck. Now book him before he's taken. I am recommending Mark to everyone I know, with the highest regards.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debra
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Thank you Nick for doing such a great job at Emily and Tony's wedding! From the ceremony, to the video and dance you were professional and kept the party moving. I hope you had fun partying with us Huskers from Nebraska!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wand
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Dylan of DJ Chicago was our wedding DJ and was one of the BEST values of our wedding.

We met with the owner, Mark, who was so attentive and read us perfectly in selecting Dylan to be our DJ. We hired them for both the ceremony and the reception, and he did a fantastic job at both. All my family's names were pronounced correctly (which is no easy feat), the music was perfectly timed, and best of all, he even reminded us to eat some dinner when we were getting carried away doing our table rounds (it was already 9 pm!).

Dylan read the crowd perfectly, and kept the dance floor packed all night. He respected our Do Not Play list, even when my maid of honor requested one of the songs(!), and smoothly incorporated any requests into the flow of the set. Our fear was the dreaded empty dance floor, but it never happened!

No doubt, this was the best vendor per dollar spent, hands down.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Mark, the owner, was our DJ. He was fabulous! He ran the wedding and kept everything right on track! He played the perfect music for our group. Not only was he amazing on the wedding day, he was also awesome at helping us get the flow of the wedding day set up when we met with him. He had great input and helped me find the perfect music for our ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner, entrances, and the reception. We loved Mark and DJ Chicago so much we have used them for some large family parties since! I would highly recommend Mark and DJ Chicago for any ones party/wedding.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diana
Wedding:
3/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Mark did an excellent job at our wedding. We received so many complements on our DJ. He spent time with us to help choose the right songs for the different events throughout the night. Mark was extremely professional and couldn't have done a better job. I would recommend DJ Chicago for your next wedding. I truly couldn't have been more pleased!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Our dj for our wedding was amazing! Everyone was dancing and had a great time.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
We had Alec from DJ Chicago play our wedding in October. He was so great!! We had some tricky intros and a different kind of father/daughter dance and he nailed everything! During the rest of the reception the dance floor was never empty. Throughout the entire experience Mark and Alec were completely professional, friendly and fun to work with. Mark was always responsive to any questions or changes we had. Our wedding was a great time thanks to DJ Chicago.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
We thought Alec did a great job at our wedding and kept the dance floor busy. We appreciated the meeting beforehand to get everything organized and discuss the type of music we wanted, as well as to get some ideas. We had a great time!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Our wedding at Salvatore's was awesome, largely in part because Chris, our DJ, helped throw such a fun party. The dance floor was packed the whole time, except maybe for a few minutes when the 2nd or 3rd obscure song from the Tragically Hip was played. I know we mentioned this as a favorite band of my husband's when meeting with Mark and Chris before the wedding, but we didn't think it wouldn't get much, if any, play! That is such a tiny, minor thing though. I accidentally threw the bouquet at the chandelier - that was probably the only low point. And seconds earlier, Chris had warned me about it. He was very attentive to detail and really helped us all through the key moments. He was not a hokey DJ at all, in fact, he pretty much only talked when absolutely necessary. Mark and Chris will ask in advance what "group" songs you wouldn't mind being played. We told them Cha-Cha Slide, but only if the dance floor was empty; that song didn't get played. Chris read the mood of the crowd perfectly and seemed to know exactly what to play and when. It was about a week or two after Gangnam style hit - Chris refused to play it even though a few guests asked for it. He had the foresight to know we would ultimately not want to associate that song with our wedding day. Thank you Chris!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
We loved loved loved our DJ! We had heard DJ Chicago at a different wedding and we were immediately draw to their company. They were fantastic to work with and matched our style with the perfect DJ. We liked how they read the crowd, kept the dancing going, and helped us with the over all flow of the night. We picked our DJ because we liked his ability to mix songs and over lay certain tracks. He listened to our requests but knew when the time was right to play certain songs. The company's owner, Mark, was outstanding to work with. They were very fast with correspondence via email, and I always felt in the loop.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We chose DJ-Chicago because they came highly recommended from our venue and they did not disappoint! Mark (the owner) is extremely organized, professional and knowledgeable and will make you feel 100% comfortable that every detail is taken care of. Mark and Tom (our DJ) met with us before the wedding to talk through all of the details and were very helpful to us in planning out the timeline of the day. Tom did a great job with the music for our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception and kept the flow of the day going without being cheesy or intrusive. We would highly recommend Mark and his team!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
DJ Chicago did not disappoint. I loved our DJ (Alec). He made our ceremony and reception the perfect atmosphere. I also appreciate how fast they were at responding to emails. Thanks DJ Chicago-Mark and Alec!!!
Services Used: DJ
Bg20
Misty
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
LOVE! I had SO much fun at my wedding thanks to DJ Chicago. Gil was our DJ and we cannot say enough good things about him! He kept the dance floor filled all night! Everyone was sad when the last song was played. We needed someone that could play a variety of music, old, new, spanish, dance, rock, etc. Gil was the man! We gave him a list of songs we liked, but only about 4 songs were on our "must play" list. He did not need help though. The music was probably the part of the wedding that I stressed the most about because we had such a variety of people, but Gil made everyone happy, and that's saying a lot, since my family can be hard to please! haha.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
6/22/2012
5.0/5.0
These guys are great! They are very flexible and understanding. Alec was our DJ and he kept the dance floor packed all night long! Our wedding was over a month ago and our guests are still raving about how much fun they had!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1300369203620-003
Shannon
Wedding:
6/15/2012
5.0/5.0
I dont even know where to begin! Mark is the owner and he did our wedding. He was beyond awesome!!! Mark was a recommendation from a friend of mine, and he also did a close friend of ours wedding, which was a fun surprise. Everyone loves him!
Over the course of my year and a half engagement my husband and I were able to add songs to this online playlist - adding little notes like Bouquet Toss song, etc... we also added must play songs, do not play songs and we could update it whenever we wanted. A couple weeks before our wedding we met with him and finalized everything and he really helped us pick our processional music because i was stumped.
He really got to know us and the type of music we like and on the night of we had people on the dance floor from 8pm-12am! Everyone danced all night long - it was so amazing!!! He truly helped to make it one of the best nights of my life - so memorable, so much fun!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Everything we had expected and more from DJ Chicago!

We originally set up an informational meeting with DJ Chicago because of the outstanding rating on Yelp, but after talking with Mark, we were sold. Mike ended up DJ'ing our wedding and we recommend him any chance we get.

From our wedding planner at the end of the night, "Rarely have I seen that many people dance for that long at a wedding!"

He kept us informed and managed to keep our (rather large) bridal party also in line. His communication was great, and he was flexible when things weren't exact to the schedule. He worked well with our photographer to coordinate who/when/where. In terms of music selection, Mike again did a phenomenal job. We had everything from 70's classics to country to top 40 -- and it was seamless.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberley
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Gil did a phenomenal job at our wedding and we can't say enough good things about DJ Chicago!!! Mark & Gil were such a pleasure to work with from start to finish. They did an absolutely fabulous job coordinating with us prior to the wedding and with the music the night of - our dance floor was packed the entire event & everyone had an amazing time [our crowd was about 50 % younger/older - so no easy task]! Gil made sure to play music we requested, and checked in with us throughout the night - and catered to the crowd to keep the party going. I would absolutely refer anyone to DJ Chicago in the future!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberley
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Gil did a phenomenal job at our wedding and we can't say enough good things about DJ Chicago!!! Mark & Gil were such a pleasure to work with from start to finish. They did an absolutely fabulous job coordinating with us prior to the wedding and with the music the night of - our dance floor was packed the entire event & everyone had an amazing time [our crowd was about 50 % younger/older - so no easy task]! Gil made sure to play music we requested, and checked in with us throughout the night - and catered to the crowd to keep the party going. I would absolutely refer anyone to DJ Chicago in the future!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bigcityrunner
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
I loved having DJ Chicago at our wedding. Mark was our DJ and did a great job. He was awesome at staying on schedule, informing me when things were coming up that I was needed for (cake cutting, first dance, etc), he would seek out the parents to introduce himself and also give them a heads up when their speeches were coming up.

The music was great, he played what we wanted and didn't play the things we specifically didn't want. The dance floor was packed all night thanks to him! He really helped keep the party going! I would recommend him to anyone!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberley
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Gil did a phenomenal job at our wedding and we can't say enough good things about DJ Chicago!!! Mark & Gil were such a pleasure to work with from start to finish. They did an absolutely fabulous job coordinating with us prior to the wedding and with the music the night of - our dance floor was packed the entire event & everyone had an amazing time [our crowd was about 50 % younger/older - so no easy task]! Gil made sure to play music we requested, and checked in with us throughout the night - and catered to the crowd to keep the party going. I would absolutely refer anyone to DJ Chicago in the future!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
2/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Professional and extremely easy to work with. Gets a feel for the crowd as quickly as possible to make sure the dance floor is constantly full. Would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a quality DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adelaide
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
We had the pleasure of having Mark from DJ Chicago keeping an AWESOME party going for our wedding.
He played all the songs we requested, songs our guests requested and didn't play anything on our "do not play list". He went with the flow of our non-traditional songs and was REALLY easy to work with!
Highly recommend DJ Chicago :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
We booked DJ Chicago after searching for quite sometime for the best fit. We were hesitant to book a DJ for our wedding as we didn't want our wedding to feel like a junior high dance with a loud booming MC and strobe lights galore, but after meeting with DJ Chicago, we knew they would be a great fit!

Mike DJ'ed our wedding and he was fantastic! He was incredibly professional, fun, and vigilant to what our guests wanted. The dance floor was packed the entire time, and throughout the event, Mike would ask us every so often if there was anything my husband or I wanted played. He also helped keep everything running on schedule, so it was a relief to not have to worry about those details on the day.

If you are looking for a DJ that is far from cheesy, professional, and will keep your guests dancing the whole night through - book DJ Chicago. You will not be disappointed.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
10/7/2011
5.0/5.0
We had Mark for our DJ. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about him! He was the DJ at my cousins wedding and that is how I got him for mine! He was excellent then and of course even more wonderful now!!! He played what we wanted and didn't play what we didn't want. He played any requests my dad made and made sure that every age group was happy and out on the dance floor! My dance floor was NEVER empty even my 85 yo grandparents were out there most of the night! He did everything I asked of him. We even planned a surprise fun dance for my dad after the slow daddy daughter dance and it went seamlessly! He only talked on the mic when it was appropriate. He was so polite the whole night and we loved him!! He said everyone's name right, even with a last min change! ALSO he looked up the WI badgers "teach me how to bucky" song for us and played it at the reception!! The people from WI LOVED IT!! Mark went over and above for us and even stayed an extra hour for us! (We payed him of course!) But people were having so much fun they didn't want to leave! BEST WEDDING DAY EVER! THANK YOU MARK!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MFontana
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Professional, fun, and fresh. Our dance floor was packed the whole time. I would recommend DJ Chicago to anyone!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ChicagoBride7911
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Gil was great! Very happy with DJ-Chicago!
We hired DJ-Chicago for our wedding, and found Mark (the owner) and Gil (our Dj) wonderful to work with. They both sat down with us and went over the entire reception timeline and list of songs, and were helpful in working out all the little details. At the wedding, the dance floor was really going the whole night, and after the last song, some of the guests were even chanting "One more song!" When we told Gil what type of things we liked, he was able to find the songs that fit along with it perfectly, for cocktails, dinner, and dancing. We were really happy with Gil and with DJ-Chicago!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ann
Wedding:
7/8/2011
5.0/5.0
The DJ is a huge part of making a wedding fun, so its a big decision. I highly recommend DJ Chicago for their professionalism and thoroughness and especially DJ Mike. We thought Mike was outstanding at our wedding. Our situation was a lil tricky since we planned our entire Chicago wedding from Toronto, but DJ Chicago made it very turn key for us. We interviewed about 4 DJ companies in total and finally we booked with DJ Chicago, based on the reviews and our interview back in March for our wedding July 8th. We meet with our assigned DJ (Mike) about a month prior to the wedding while we were in town. It was great finally meeting Mike and that put us at ease since we went through every detail imaginable from ceremony till the end of the reception.

All our guests commented on what a great DJ he was and we heard comments like, "the DJ ROCKS!, Awesome play list, Amazing DJ," etc and we agree! Mike was so professional and he made our wedding ceremony and reception run very smoothly, especially since we had so many different details. He helped keep us on schedule with speeches, anniversary dance , first dance etc. He got the crowd dancing all night long and was warm and friendly not only to my husband and I but also all our guests. You could tell he had genuine interest in making our wedding just perfect.

I suggest once you book with a DJ spend some time going over the wedding time line and different must play songs and do not play songs before your meet with your DJ; it will make the mtg and wedding day go very smoothly!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1278939841085-1000275
Brandi
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
We used Mark at DJ Chicago and he was FANTASTIC. He is the best DJ I have ever heard/seen. Mark had the dance floor hopping all night long. He was very professional and played music that all our guests enjoyed. We even kept the party going late and Mark stayed playing for no extra cost. You will not be disappointed if you go with Mark!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tammie
Wedding:
6/24/2011
5.0/5.0
DJ Chicago is amazing! Mark, the owner, DJ our wedding and our dance floor was packed all night. We gave him a list of must play songs and do not play songs and let him do the rest. He did great reading the crowd and the dance floor never once cleared! Introductions were great and he was very professional overall. Not cheesy at all! Mark was also great during the planning process. And best of all the rates are very very reasonable for the city of Chicago. I would highly recommend DJ Chicago to anyone planning a wedding!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennie
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
We used DJ Chicago a few weeks ago for our wedding and I would HIGHLY recommend them to anybody. We met with our DJ, Alec, a few weeks before the wedding and he walked through our playlist and made it a fun,simple process. On the day of, he was on time, professional, easy to communicate with, and played music we requested. He was just so easy to work with, it made the day run smooth and kept people dancing...HIGHLY recommend to anybody!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eileen
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING. I can't say enough about how great our DJ was. We worked with Matt, although Mark (the company owner) was also great in helping get everything organized ahead of time. Matt was SO GOOD... the dance floor was literally packed all night... and I have the photos to prove it! The next morning I had so many people tell me it was the "MOST FUN WEDDING THEY'D EVER BEEN TO". Matt also did such an awesome job of getting the bridal party together when needed (for example, during the entrance), and believe me we are not an easy crowd to round up! He handled everything SO well, so smoothly, and I just cannot say enough about how good he was. We've already had people ask for their contact information. Thanks, Matt! Hopefully you're still in the business next time we need a DJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
t-mo
Wedding:
10/24/2009
5.0/5.0
We were really thrilled with DJ Chicago for our wedding. Alec was our DJ, and he did a GREAT job. He was so professional and unobtrusive, but also extremely attentive, always checking in with us to make sure we like what he was playing and to give us a heads-up when some of the special songs we requested were going to play. He also was a lot of fun and played great music - the dance floor was packed all night. We absolutely loved him and had so much fun at our wedding. The owner, Mark, did my friend's wedding a couple months before ours and it was the same - great music all night without interruptions.

We picked DJ Chicago because their philosophy is to play good music and stay out of the way, which was exactly what we wanted. They are very professional, do their jobs great, but don't take the spotlight or do any of the cheesy stuff that DJs often do. They keep the focus on the music and the party. Another thing they do really well is change the music when a song is on that nobody is dancing to - it's all about making sure people are dancing and that they're playing what people will dance to, not what they like. They may seem a little rushed sometimes in the initial meetings, but that's because they do this all the time and they really do know what they're doing. They were always happy, though, to take a few more minutes to answer any specific questions I had. Highly recommended!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nicolesisson
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
DJ Chicago says they take pride in getting to know their audience and their tastes - I couldn't agree more.

We envisioned one big party and we can't do that without the music. Our favorite meetings were the two we had with DJ Chicago. They nailed us immediately. And the night itself went off without a hitch.

The DJ that we were paired with us was a PERFECT fit!

We would recommend them to anyone and quite honestly use them again for services.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kgambino
Wedding:
1/17/2009
5.0/5.0
I loved having DJ Chicago as our DJ. We had Mark Rankin and he was amazing. He played all of the songs we requested in advance and really helped with the flow of the evening. I definitely recommend using DJ Chicago!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cat123
Wedding:
8/23/2008
5.0/5.0
Not a bad word can be said for Mark at DJ Chicago. In fact, since our wedding on 8/23, they have booked two other events from people that were at our wedding and loved the DJ. They do not talk a lot on the microphone and they allow their music to speak. They read the crowd well and adjust the music accordingly so everyone has a great time. They are a dream to work with in planning. Also, at the end of the night, we were handed CD-ROMs of the music they played at the wedding so we can enjoy it again. I highly recommend DJ Chicago.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
2/2/2008
5.0/5.0
We loved DJ Chicago! We were able to choose ALL of our songs and make a list of songs that we did not want played. Our DJ was Alec, and he adhered to our list and was very pleasant to work with. He did a great job of MCing the evening. I would highly recommend DJ Chicago for any event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
11/17/2007
5.0/5.0
I loved DJ chicago. SO professional. No cheese. Everyone commented on how great Mark was, would HIGHLY recommend. We had a smaller wedding (~100 people) and he still managed to keep the dance floor packed.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cassandra
Wedding:
11/10/2007
5.0/5.0
Our DJ Matt was awesome! He played all of the music my husband and I as well as our guests requested!! It was great!
Services Used: DJ
Bg22
acfederi
Wedding:
9/1/2007
5.0/5.0
This DJ company is exceedingly professional and the guy who was present at our wedding was perfect! Great tunes, great energy without being over-the-top, and well-priced. Very flexible too, as we decided kind of late to have them DJ the cocktail hour which was in a separate location. There was absolutely no fuss.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
7/14/2007
5.0/5.0
Mark was our DJ and we are still recommending DJ Chicago to all of our friends. He was extremely professional and kept people on the dance floor the entire reception. He knew what music to choose when there were different crowds on the dance floor. He was extremely organized and made me feel very comfortable about the flow of the reception. He was reasonable priced, very professional, and very dedicated to making sure that the bride and groom have the best possible music. You can't go wrong with Mark from DJ Chicago.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sss2007
Wedding:
7/7/2007
5.0/5.0
DJ Chicago was SOOO experienced and helpful. They provided our ceremony, reception, and luncheon music. I would contact them again for any other events.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keeks78
Wedding:
9/30/2006
5.0/5.0
our favorite vendor from our wedding. we picked this comany because we they pride themselves on being "un-Cheesy" we didn't want cheesy line dances, etc.
the owner of DJ Chicago, Mark Rankin was a pleasure to work with.
our dancefloor was PACKED all night! I highly reccomend DJ Chicago.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dave P
Wedding:
5/1/2010
4.9/5.0
Mark DJ'd our wedding on May 1st a Pazzo's and we couldn't be happier with his services. He was extremely professional and kept the reception running like a fine Swiss timepiece. His timing was flawless and his coordination with the reception event coordinator was seamless. The introductions, speeches and first dance went off without a hitch and he nailed some extremely difficult names during the introductions of our wedding party.

Once the father-daughter dance was over the dance floor was packed until they kicked us out at 11:30. Even then he was great and announced that the party was moving to the W hotel. HE ROCKED IT! My friends are still complimenting me on what a great party it was.

The DJ-Chicago web site was very helpful when picking out songs for all aspects of the night: introductions, first dance, father-daughter dance etc. He didn’t play anything on our do-not-play list and he worked in the few must have songs we requested. As Cub fans we wanted him to play Go Cubs Go at some point during the night and he managed to work that in to the mix along with House of Pain’s “Jump Around”. A pretty diverse mix, but he made it all work.

I highly recommend DJ-Chicago. I would use them again in a heartbeat.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hillary
Wedding:
5/24/2009
4.9/5.0
DJ Chicago was great! They kept the dance floor packed all night, were so responsive in all communication prior to the wedding and was a great value. I would highly recommend to anyone and would definitely use again.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
2/21/2009
4.9/5.0
Our DJ was Mark and he was great! He kept the party going all night and helped us keep everything running on schedule.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
9/1/2007
4.9/5.0
Mark Rankin, the owner, was our DJ and he was amazing. He was completely professional through the whole process, emailed me back right away when I had questions and had our guests on the dance floor the entire time. Highly recommend him and this company.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lazzar-to-be
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.8/5.0
We loved working with Mark from DJ Chicago. Our dance floor was packed most of the night and I even recieved comments from friends and family about how much they enjoyed the DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
9/15/2007
4.8/5.0
Our DJ was Alec and he was great. We were not that helpful during our meeting with him and said that we like everything and each song he played was great and the dance floor was always full. We were a little worried about this vendor before the meeting, when we met with the owner Mark because he didn't seem too helpful, however, our DJ was great. I would recommend this vendor because the price is good and the service is great.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ruth
Wedding:
3/1/2007
4.8/5.0
Put on a great show!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
1/5/2007
4.8/5.0
DJ-Chicago was great to work with. Reasonable and definitely listened to our needs.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
echodumby
Wedding:
8/8/2010
4.7/5.0
We had Mark (the company owner of DJ-Chicago) do our wedding. He was really great. There were a couple of hiccups -- he pronounced one of the groomsmen's names incorrectly and it seemed like there was too much time between finishing a course and some of the speeches (this may not have been his fault... we're not sure if he could see all the parents). Other than that, Mark was super helpful about picking songs (we were kind of stuck since we had an age range of 14 to 95, no exaggeration). He did a really good job of playing appropriate songs for the crowd that was at the reception. It was also really nice that he was able to play music for our cocktail hour even though he wasn't in the cocktail room. Rates were pretty average. If you want an entertainer... this is not the DJ company that you should go with. However, if you want good music/atmosphere this would be a great DJ to hire!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jc9609
Wedding:
9/6/2009
4.7/5.0
Matt from DJ Chicago was fantastic. He really understood the kind of music we wanted at our reception and the dance floor was full all night. He understood what we wanted and needed. There was even one point we were trying to explain at the pre-event sit down meeting that the owner didn't totally grasp but Matt got what we wanted right away. He even helped us with some out of the box requests we had that really personalized our night. My husband is a 80's/90's TV sitcom fan and we asked if he could throw in some TV show themes songs (the kind that everyone recognizes and finds themselves knowing all the words). They not only found them, it was one of the biggest hits of our dinner music. It became an unplanned name that tune game at each table, with people cheering when there was a theme they especially loved and an impromptu sing-a-long. Matt really understood our crowd, and in an era where more and more ipods are replacing DJs at weddings, I can say no iPod would have been able to read the room like Matt. The only thing I would say about DJ Chicago that made me a little nervous is when you first meet with the company, you meet the owner and not the actual DJ you will be working with. This made me a little nervous because we had met with a DJ from another company previously who we didn't quite click with but the company itself came with a great reputation. We hesitated on the other company and the first DJ we met with because the actual DJ seemed a little less experienced, but at DJ Chicago it was kind of a crap-shoot who you get (my husband met with them and signed before I could voice any concerns). We didn't meet the DJ we were paired up with until a month or so before the wedding. This also made me uncomfortable because they would not schedule this meeting with the actual DJ until so close to the actual wedding date. They tell you they will get you someone different if you don't click with the DJ you meet, but who less than a month from your wedding wants to not have someone locked in? To their credit, the owner does try to match you with a DJ he feels will click with you, not just random out of a hat, but its still nerve-racking. Also, we wanted to put the meeting in the books a few months in advance (as your time starts to really fill up and get crazy as you get closer to the wedding) but the owner said that was not possible, because they would not be able to commit to a meeting that far in advance. I didn't really get that part and it gave me anxiety leaving that open, and in the end we did have to really wrestle schedules to get a time locked in. But all in all, after that slight snag, everything else went perfect so I would not hesitate to book Matt again for any event!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sept06Chicago
Wedding:
9/9/2006
4.5/5.0
DJ-Chicago did an excellent job with our evening reception. Mark, the owner, was our DJ and was excellent to work with. He walked us through the process and was more than accommodating with our very specific play list. We had U2 song played for our cake cutting and it was very hard to find, but Mark had it (B Sides from best of in the early '90s....a cover of 'Everlasting Love' -- can't be downloaded anywhere, I've tried). Having that kind of attention from a DJ was wonderful!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1292209557857-img0949
Jeff
Wedding:
8/20/2011
4.4/5.0
We met with Mark (the owner) around 8 months before our wedding. Out of the 4 DJ Companies we met with, Mark made us feel that he got what we wanted to do for our wedding. A month before, he assigned us our official DJ, Gil. HE WAS AMAZING. It's been two months since our wedding, and we're still getting compliments on behalf of Gil and DJ Chicago. The mother of the bride was most concerned and was going to be the most critical. She wanted a band, but we wanted a DJ (to hear the songs we like, not cover versions). From the moment Gil started work on the day of our wedding, he put our biggest critic (MotB) at ease. We had about 200 guests and most of them were on the dance floor the whole night. He took our suggestions from the meeting and put them all in play. Highly recommend DJ Chicago (and Gil for sure!!!).
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mmmargarita
Wedding:
6/6/2009
4.4/5.0
Everything you want in a wedding DJ-- non-cheesy, professional, non-intrusive, knowledgable and competant.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
5/26/2007
4.2/5.0
Loved working with the owner. Did not LOVE my actual dj. He was a little late, and played way too much 80's music. I wish he would have played a more modern variety. He got better as the night went on, but only because of requests.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Banaski
Wedding:
5/9/2009
3.8/5.0
Overall, our DJ did a good job, but nothing out of the ordinary.
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
219 N. Justine Street, Chicago, IL 60607 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for DJ-Chicago
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo