130x130 sq 1437577852955 yangsf183 square

douglaslevy photography

Ayer , MA

LOCATION

Ayer, MA 01432 US (map)

PHONE

781-820-1344

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Want to inquire and receive more info? Click here.



More about me:

I spent six years six years umpiring professional baseball before becoming a... Read more
Want to inquire and receive more info? Click here.



More about me:

I spent six years six years umpiring professional baseball before becoming a photographer.

I believe in clean post-production, and that your wedding images are too important to fall victim to the hot Photoshop trends of the moment.

I also believes that your photos should show who you are, not just what you look like.

I also think that if you ever find yourself in Birmingham, you need to eat barbeque at Jim 'n Nicks.

When it comes to your photos, I always feel that more is not necessarily always better. Better is better.

By the way, I think everything tastes better with hot sauce. Except for cereal, that would be weird.

If you look closely during your first dance, there's a good chance I’m singing along to myself. Which would be quite embarrassing if the power ever went out. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1437664882774 july 11 2015   ciara  mike   101
130x130 sq 1437664886891 july 11 2015   ciara  mike   238
130x130 sq 1437664889846 july 11 2015   ciara  mike   242
130x130 sq 1437664902014 july 18 2015   allison  steve   063
130x130 sq 1437664906019 july 18 2015   allison  steve   204
130x130 sq 1437664910072 july 18 2015   allison  steve   235
130x130 sq 1437664914961 july 18 2015   allison  steve   331
130x130 sq 1437664918887 july 18 2015   allison  steve   560
130x130 sq 1437664934891 june 06 2015   katie  scott   001
130x130 sq 1437664938941 june 06 2015   katie  scott   128
130x130 sq 1437664942969 june 06 2015   katie  scott   525
130x130 sq 1437664946914 june 06 2015   katie  scott   665
130x130 sq 1437664951017 june 06 2015   katie  scott   746
130x130 sq 1437664954953 june 06 2015   katie  scott   763
130x130 sq 1437664958991 june 06 2015   katie  scott   778
130x130 sq 1437664961976 june 06 2015   katie  scott   925
130x130 sq 1437664969984 june 06 2015   katie  scott   931
130x130 sq 1437664981877 june 13 2015   caitlin  brett   070
130x130 sq 1437664985872 june 13 2015   caitlin  brett   245
130x130 sq 1437664994079 june 13 2015   caitlin  brett   379
130x130 sq 1437664998264 june 13 2015   caitlin  brett   398
130x130 sq 1437665002901 june 13 2015   caitlin  brett   617
130x130 sq 1437665010985 june 27 2015   andrea  mike   313
130x130 sq 1437665014932 june 27 2015   andrea  mike   367
130x130 sq 1437665019012 june 27 2015   andrea  mike   378
130x130 sq 1437665023967 june 27 2015   andrea  mike   655
130x130 sq 1437665028949 june 27 2015   andrea  mike   684
130x130 sq 1437665033012 june 27 2015   andrea  mike   701
130x130 sq 1437665036926 may 09 2015   nina  ethan   015
130x130 sq 1437665045063 may 09 2015   nina  ethan   059
130x130 sq 1437665048936 may 09 2015   nina  ethan   089
130x130 sq 1437665052966 may 09 2015   nina  ethan   119
130x130 sq 1437665057091 may 09 2015   nina  ethan   138
130x130 sq 1437665062019 may 09 2015   nina  ethan   280
130x130 sq 1437665065959 may 09 2015   nina  ethan   290
130x130 sq 1437665073958 may 09 2015   nina  ethan   599
130x130 sq 1437665078920 may 16 2015   holly  zac   161
130x130 sq 1437665082951 may 16 2015   holly  zac   287
130x130 sq 1437665091017 may 16 2015   holly  zac   729
130x130 sq 1437665095004 may 16 2015   holly  zac   863
130x130 sq 1437665111445 may 23 2015   caroline  caroline   204
130x130 sq 1437665115965 may 23 2015   caroline  caroline   227
130x130 sq 1437665119958 may 23 2015   caroline  caroline   283
130x130 sq 1437665124157 may 23 2015   caroline  caroline   395
130x130 sq 1437665131905 may 23 2015   caroline  caroline   434
130x130 sq 1437665135100 may 23 2015   caroline  caroline   486
130x130 sq 1437665142917 may 24 2015   rachel  dan   434
130x130 sq 1437665147025 may 24 2015   rachel  dan   533
130x130 sq 1437665150955 may 24 2015   rachel  dan   626
130x130 sq 1437665158952 may 24 2015   rachel  dan   633
130x130 sq 1437665169390 may 30 2015   dana  justin   091
130x130 sq 1437665180906 may 30 2015   dana  justin   274
130x130 sq 1437665184922 may 30 2015   dana  justin   278
130x130 sq 1437665188915 may 30 2015   dana  justin   352
130x130 sq 1437665193042 may 30 2015   dana  justin   383
130x130 sq 1437665197076 may 30 2015   dana  justin   404
130x130 sq 1437665200934 may 30 2015   dana  justin   440
130x130 sq 1437665208958 may 30 2015   dana  justin   775
130x130 sq 1438016441218 april 19 2015   nina  ethan   038
130x130 sq 1438016443687 april 19 2015   nina  ethan   040
130x130 sq 1438016369746 july 12 2015   heather  sri   028
130x130 sq 1438016355856 july 12 2015   heather  sri   032
130x130 sq 1438016372566 jun 30 2015   erika  julian   026
130x130 sq 1438016375673 jun 30 2015   erika  julian   067
130x130 sq 1438016378735 june 03 2015   meg  joe   028
130x130 sq 1438016407502 june 10 2015   ciara  mike   064
130x130 sq 1438016409969 june 10 2015   ciara  mike   074
130x130 sq 1438016458490 may 21 2015   sarah  brendan   024

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional
What photography services do you offer?
High-Res, Liability Insurance
What photography items do you offer?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, Prints

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
dana
Wedding:
11/1/2015
5.0/5.0
My husband and I knew the aesthetic we were looking for from our photos when we began our search for photographers.
We were looking for someone who’s pictures told a story and captured both the emotion of a moment and personality of the subject. Someone who excelled in documenting the in between moments and candid shots as opposed to point and shoot “staged photos”.

After much research on wedding wire, wedding expos and Pinterest we were lucky to find Doug. A former professional baseball umpire, Doug changed careers (to the benefit of brides and grooms). He is an easy going guy who encourages you to be yourself, letting his talent create the opportunity for the perfect shot.

He is an incredible communicator with the fastest turn around projects I have ever seen. Within one week of our engagement photos and two weeks of our wedding the proofs were in our hand. He went above and beyond to create to versions of each photo – one sized for social media and one for large prints. Every photo from our wedding captured the essence of our family and friends – so much so that every candid shot we shared with people immediately became their Facebook profile or cover photo.

Doug is highly regarded in the Boston photography community for his professionalism, technical skill and willingness to teach and support his peers. He is a man with so much integrity and love for the profession. My father was mentoring a business school student building a photography business and Doug spent a significant amount of time on a conference call sharing his expertise to better prepare this student for their project.

That is the kind of guy Doug is. He goes above and beyond – giving 110% exceeding his high standard of excellence every time.
I would recommend him in a heartbeat and wish that cloning were possible so more brides and grooms would get the opportunity to work with him!
My husband and I knew the aesthetic we were looking for from our photos when we began our search for photographers.
Read more...
My husband and I knew the aesthetic we were looking for from our photos when we began our search for photographers.
We were looking for someone who’s pictures told a story and captured both the emotion of a moment and personality of the subject. Someone who excelled in documenting the in between moments and candid shots as opposed to point and shoot “staged photos”.

After much research on wedding wire, wedding expos and Pinterest we were lucky to find Doug. A former professional baseball umpire, Doug changed careers (to the benefit of brides and grooms). He is an easy going guy who encourages you to be yourself, letting his talent create the opportunity for the perfect shot.

He is an incredible communicator with the fastest turn around projects I have ever seen. Within one week of our engagement photos and two weeks of our wedding the proofs were in our hand. He went above and beyond to create to versions of each photo – one sized for social media and one for large prints. Every photo from our wedding captured the essence of our family and friends – so much so that every candid shot we shared with people immediately became their Facebook profile or cover photo.

Doug is highly regarded in the Boston photography community for his professionalism, technical skill and willingness to teach and support his peers. He is a man with so much integrity and love for the profession. My father was mentoring a business school student building a photography business and Doug spent a significant amount of time on a conference call sharing his expertise to better prepare this student for their project.

That is the kind of guy Doug is. He goes above and beyond – giving 110% exceeding his high standard of excellence every time.
I would recommend him in a heartbeat and wish that cloning were possible so more brides and grooms would get the opportunity to work with him! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Erika
Wedding:
10/3/2015
5.0/5.0
Doug did an amazing job of capturing every moment of our wedding day!!! All of the photos came out gorgeous!! I would highly recommend him :)
Doug did an amazing job of capturing every moment of our wedding day!!! All of the photos came out gorgeous!! I would Read more...
Doug did an amazing job of capturing every moment of our wedding day!!! All of the photos came out gorgeous!! I would highly recommend him :) Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Dennis
Wedding:
10/3/2015
5.0/5.0
If you want a wedding to be captured the way it is supposed to be, go with Doug. We could not have been more pleased with his professionalism and easy manner. But more importantly, you want a photographer who has a 'eye' which captures the essence of the day. Doug has the ability to seem as if he is not there, but captures each moment in authentic form. Natural expressions and interactions capture people for who they are, and the wedding perfectly. I'd recommend Doug across the board.
If you want a wedding to be captured the way it is supposed to be, go with Doug. We could not have been more pleased with Read more...
If you want a wedding to be captured the way it is supposed to be, go with Doug. We could not have been more pleased with his professionalism and easy manner. But more importantly, you want a photographer who has a 'eye' which captures the essence of the day. Doug has the ability to seem as if he is not there, but captures each moment in authentic form. Natural expressions and interactions capture people for who they are, and the wedding perfectly. I'd recommend Doug across the board. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
elizabeth
Wedding:
9/4/2015
5.0/5.0
I chose Doug Levy photography after a very long search. I believe he was actually referred to me by another photographer who happened to be booked on my wedding day. Basically, my photos were the most important thing to me regarding my wedding. It was my second marriage, and due to a faulty camera at my first wedding 20 years ago, I had not a single professional picture. Doug replied to my email within minutes of my contacting him and sent me answers to all my questions and brochures outlining prices, inclusions, hours etc.
The week of my wedding Doug had a death in his family and could not be at my wedding. He made arrangements for another photographer to take the photos. He also did not charge me for the time or the pictures. His replacement was awesome, we loved him too. He gave his work to Doug to develop. Our pictures are beyond beautiful. I've been told that we belong in a bridal magazine more than once. Can't beat that for a compliment. We just received our finished book with almost 300 pictures, it's amazing! I would recommend Douglas Levy photography to anyone looking for service, quality and professionalism.
I chose Doug Levy photography after a very long search. I believe he was actually referred to me by another photographer Read more...
I chose Doug Levy photography after a very long search. I believe he was actually referred to me by another photographer who happened to be booked on my wedding day. Basically, my photos were the most important thing to me regarding my wedding. It was my second marriage, and due to a faulty camera at my first wedding 20 years ago, I had not a single professional picture. Doug replied to my email within minutes of my contacting him and sent me answers to all my questions and brochures outlining prices, inclusions, hours etc.
The week of my wedding Doug had a death in his family and could not be at my wedding. He made arrangements for another photographer to take the photos. He also did not charge me for the time or the pictures. His replacement was awesome, we loved him too. He gave his work to Doug to develop. Our pictures are beyond beautiful. I've been told that we belong in a bridal magazine more than once. Can't beat that for a compliment. We just received our finished book with almost 300 pictures, it's amazing! I would recommend Douglas Levy photography to anyone looking for service, quality and professionalism. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Sarah and Brendan
Wedding:
8/22/2015
5.0/5.0
As two people that are not used to being in front of the camera, Doug´s perfectly balanced mix of professionalism and relaxed attitude were an ideal match for helping us feel comfortable in front of the lens. Of all of the vendors at our wedding, Doug was the most fun to work with and get to know! Compared to other photographer´s our friends have worked with, Doug´s communication and responsiveness were second to none.
As two people that are not used to being in front of the camera, Dougs perfectly balanced mix of professionalism and Read more...
As two people that are not used to being in front of the camera, Doug´s perfectly balanced mix of professionalism and relaxed attitude were an ideal match for helping us feel comfortable in front of the lens. Of all of the vendors at our wedding, Doug was the most fun to work with and get to know! Compared to other photographer´s our friends have worked with, Doug´s communication and responsiveness were second to none. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Doug was the perfect photographer for our wedding. He listened to what we wanted and the pictures came out beautiful. Going through all of the pictures, he fully captured the love, fun and celebration of the night. All of my friends said that they didn't even notice he was there all night snapping pictures! That is exactly what you want in a photographer. I would definitely recommend him to any of my friends getting married.
Doug was the perfect photographer for our wedding. He listened to what we wanted and the pictures came out beautiful. Read more...
Doug was the perfect photographer for our wedding. He listened to what we wanted and the pictures came out beautiful. Going through all of the pictures, he fully captured the love, fun and celebration of the night. All of my friends said that they didn't even notice he was there all night snapping pictures! That is exactly what you want in a photographer. I would definitely recommend him to any of my friends getting married. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/25/2015
4.8/5.0
I am writing as the mother of the bride. My daughter and her fiancee hired Douglas to photograph their wedding and he was superb. From the start, he replied to emails within seconds (literally) and made the process seamless. The day of the wedding Douglas was everywhere without being "in your face." We have attended weddings where the photographer made it all about him and Doug made this all about the bride and groom. We did a First Look that was captured in a natural and fun way. There were the right number of "staged" photos, but his strength is capturing the spontaneous moments. His photos emanate the joy of the evening. Our daughter and her husband purchased a companion album for us. We were able to choose the images and Doug designed the album. It is stunning. Do not hesitate. Have Doug photograph your wedding!
I am writing as the mother of the bride. My daughter and her fiancee hired Douglas to photograph their wedding and he was Read more...
I am writing as the mother of the bride. My daughter and her fiancee hired Douglas to photograph their wedding and he was superb. From the start, he replied to emails within seconds (literally) and made the process seamless. The day of the wedding Douglas was everywhere without being "in your face." We have attended weddings where the photographer made it all about him and Doug made this all about the bride and groom. We did a First Look that was captured in a natural and fun way. There were the right number of "staged" photos, but his strength is capturing the spontaneous moments. His photos emanate the joy of the evening. Our daughter and her husband purchased a companion album for us. We were able to choose the images and Doug designed the album. It is stunning. Do not hesitate. Have Doug photograph your wedding! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Allison
Wedding:
7/18/2015
5.0/5.0
Doug was fantastic to work with on the day of our Boston wedding and in the time leading up to the event - not only does he have an amazing way of capturing perfect moments with his creative style, but he is also incredibly organized, efficient, and is a fun guy to be around (this last one is important, since your photographer experiences so many once-in-a-lifetime moments with you on your wedding day!). He made us feel relaxed when taking photos with our wedding party and families, and at our 200-person reception he took all of the photos we had requested, in addition to countless, wonderful candids. During the planning process he always responded quickly to emails and he shared clear information. After the event, his turnaround time was unreal, and soon after celebrating we had our photos ready to enjoy. We feel lucky he was part of our special day, and are grateful to have breathtaking photos thanks to his exceptional talent!
Doug was fantastic to work with on the day of our Boston wedding and in the time leading up to the event - not only does Read more...
Doug was fantastic to work with on the day of our Boston wedding and in the time leading up to the event - not only does he have an amazing way of capturing perfect moments with his creative style, but he is also incredibly organized, efficient, and is a fun guy to be around (this last one is important, since your photographer experiences so many once-in-a-lifetime moments with you on your wedding day!). He made us feel relaxed when taking photos with our wedding party and families, and at our 200-person reception he took all of the photos we had requested, in addition to countless, wonderful candids. During the planning process he always responded quickly to emails and he shared clear information. After the event, his turnaround time was unreal, and soon after celebrating we had our photos ready to enjoy. We feel lucky he was part of our special day, and are grateful to have breathtaking photos thanks to his exceptional talent! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Andrea
Wedding:
6/27/2015
4.8/5.0
Doug was a pleasure to work with before, during, and after the wedding. My husband and I live in New York, so planning a wedding in Mass required flexibility on both sides, which was never a problem. We were able to meet in person once, then communicate by phone and e-mail for all the rest. One major concern for us in planning the wedding was the presence of photographers being overwhelming and distracting, especially during the ceremony. Doug and his assistant were practically unheard and unseen throughout the day, and he made our formal pictures an absolute breeze. It also helped that among the chaos of the day, Doug was very relaxed and easy-going about everything. I was almost concerned that we didn't take enough pictures until I saw the full gallery. The shots are absolutely beautiful and there are tons to choose from. We are very pleased, and my sister will be using Doug for her wedding as well. The only downside is the high cost of his services and the photo albums, but even then it's not outrageous compared to other photographers. Overall, we are very pleased.
Doug was a pleasure to work with before, during, and after the wedding. My husband and I live in New York, so planning a Read more...
Doug was a pleasure to work with before, during, and after the wedding. My husband and I live in New York, so planning a wedding in Mass required flexibility on both sides, which was never a problem. We were able to meet in person once, then communicate by phone and e-mail for all the rest. One major concern for us in planning the wedding was the presence of photographers being overwhelming and distracting, especially during the ceremony. Doug and his assistant were practically unheard and unseen throughout the day, and he made our formal pictures an absolute breeze. It also helped that among the chaos of the day, Doug was very relaxed and easy-going about everything. I was almost concerned that we didn't take enough pictures until I saw the full gallery. The shots are absolutely beautiful and there are tons to choose from. We are very pleased, and my sister will be using Doug for her wedding as well. The only downside is the high cost of his services and the photo albums, but even then it's not outrageous compared to other photographers. Overall, we are very pleased. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Rachel
Wedding:
5/24/2015
5.0/5.0
Doug was amazing! He was extremely responsive via email before and after the wedding and was very easy to work with on the day of. He seemed to know exactly what he was doing and wasn't afraid to direct people to get the best shots. During the reception, I didn't even notice that he was there, but he captured the energy of the night and the most unbelievable expressions on everyone's faces. He got the digital photos to us incredibly quickly, and I haven't been able to stop looking through them since. We are thrilled with Doug's work and highly recommend him for all special events.
Doug was amazing! He was extremely responsive via email before and after the wedding and was very easy to work with on the Read more...
Doug was amazing! He was extremely responsive via email before and after the wedding and was very easy to work with on the day of. He seemed to know exactly what he was doing and wasn't afraid to direct people to get the best shots. During the reception, I didn't even notice that he was there, but he captured the energy of the night and the most unbelievable expressions on everyone's faces. He got the digital photos to us incredibly quickly, and I haven't been able to stop looking through them since. We are thrilled with Doug's work and highly recommend him for all special events. Read less
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Ayer, MA 01432 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for douglaslevy photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1437577852955 yangsf183 square