130x130_sq_1300988718938-img7034

Duck Woods Country Club

Southern Shores , NC

LOCATION

Southern Shores, NC US 27949 (map)

PHONE

252-261-2744

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Situated on 300 acres of maritime forest in the heart of Southern Shores, this golf country club is the area’s best kept secret.

The clubhouse is positioned perfectly in the... Read more
Situated on 300 acres of maritime forest in the heart of Southern Shores, this golf country club is the area’s best kept secret.

The clubhouse is positioned perfectly in the middle of our meticulously manicured 18-hole golf course offering spectacular views. The Clubhouse’s interior has two elegant banquet rooms, a main dining room and a casual dining room called The Bistro. The contemporary design style of the lobbies and Bistro adds sophistication to the interior design while the exterior design is more in keeping with the traditional Outer Banks architecture style. We have an outdoor banquet tent that can accomodate up to 180 guests for an outdoor ceremony or reception as well.

Our talented service team will create the perfect environment for you and your guests. It doesn’t matter what type of event, whether an intimate dinner party, a business meeting, or a large or small reception, we will be able meet your needs and requirements to make your dining experience a memorable one. A unique design, flexibility, and versatility are the hallmarks or our banquet operation and when combined with our dedicated and experienced team, your event and function options are boundless.

Our Function Director welcomes your visit to the club and is happy to offer private tours of the club facilities, and to assist in the planning of your special day, as well as walk you through every step and help you create wedding memories that will last a lifetime.

After selecting Duck Woods Country Club for your special event, our Executive Chef can assist you with creating a one-of-a-kind menu that best compliments your style. Our Chefs take pride in personalizing your menu and our service staff strives to execute every detail to perfection. Our facilities are available for wedding ceremonies, receptions, rehearsal dinners, bridal luncheons and much more. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1403801093068-katie6
130x130_sq_1403801025403-katie
130x130_sq_1403801041572-katie2
130x130_sq_1403801053607-katie3
130x130_sq_1403801065266-katie4
130x130_sq_1403801081386-katie-5
130x130_sq_1403801103335-katie7
130x130_sq_1300988542188-img7033
130x130_sq_1299094656982-image1353
130x130_sq_1299094840044-image1083
130x130_sq_1300988252985-image0721
130x130_sq_1300988297251-image0722
130x130_sq_1300988379282-image0726
130x130_sq_1300988434282-9thholenothsideclubhouse71106
130x130_sq_1327345867323-sarahrickyduckwoodsblog024
130x130_sq_1327345868713-sarahrickyduckwoodsblog020
130x130_sq_1327345870651-sarahrickyduckwoodsblog018
130x130_sq_1328816529158-theloveprojectduckwoods001
130x130_sq_1328816558605-theloveprojectduckwoods002
130x130_sq_1328816582031-theloveprojectduckwoods003
130x130_sq_1328816606435-theloveprojectduckwoods004
130x130_sq_1328816635680-theloveprojectduckwoods005
130x130_sq_1328816659050-theloveprojectduckwoods006
130x130_sq_1328816685081-theloveprojectduckwoods008
130x130_sq_1328816710497-theloveprojectduckwoods011
130x130_sq_1328817387596-theloveprojectduckwoods012
130x130_sq_1328817414387-theloveprojectduckwoods013
130x130_sq_1328817444611-theloveprojectduckwoods014
130x130_sq_1328817471576-theloveprojectduckwoods015
130x130_sq_1328817500242-theloveprojectduckwoods016
130x130_sq_1328817529400-theloveprojectduckwoods018
130x130_sq_1328817554323-theloveprojectduckwoods019
130x130_sq_1328817579498-theloveprojectduckwoods020
130x130_sq_1328817606752-theloveprojectduckwoods021
130x130_sq_1328817629224-theloveprojectduckwoods022
130x130_sq_1328817655812-theloveprojectduckwoods023
130x130_sq_1328817681858-theloveprojectduckwoods028
130x130_sq_1328817709640-theloveprojectduckwoods030
130x130_sq_1328817732276-theloveprojectduckwoods032
130x130_sq_1328817753573-theloveprojectduckwoods034
130x130_sq_1328817927481-theloveprojectduckwoods036
130x130_sq_1328817952842-theloveprojectduckwoods038
130x130_sq_1328817977517-theloveprojectduckwoods040
130x130_sq_1328818007401-theloveprojectduckwoods041
130x130_sq_1328818034447-theloveprojectduckwoods044
130x130_sq_1328818059024-theloveprojectduckwoods046
130x130_sq_1328818085336-theloveprojectduckwoods048
130x130_sq_1393023424132-set-up-
130x130_sq_1393023359075-courtney-ryan-jpeg-035
130x130_sq_1393023349407-courtney-ryan-jpeg-015
130x130_sq_1393023346209-courtney-ryan-jpeg-012
130x130_sq_1393023362275-courtney-ryan-jpeg-047
130x130_sq_1393023355535-courtney-ryan-jpeg-017
130x130_sq_1393023444402-side-set-up-

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2006
When was your venue last renovated?
2006
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Country / Golf Club
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
350
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pam
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Duck Woods is a beautiful venue for a wedding and we could not have asked for a better experience. We did a package with a wedding planner and one of the venues we could use was Duck Woods and sight unseen we took it. It was the perfect venue for our event. Meghan, the planner, was amazing and took care of us even though we were going through another planner. She made sure we got the best service! As part of doing our event at DW, we were given a 3 month membership and a 20 person golf outing the weekend of the wedding! Our guests loved the course and were thrilled to be able to play. As for the food, everyone at the wedding raved about it and the service we received at the event was impeccable. The location and the size of the room is well worth it (we would never have gotten this good of deal or service in DC) and the value of what you get is unbeatable! Overall, we were beyond satisfied and would anyone that we could not have been more pleased with our event! Thank you Meghan and DW!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
I can't even begin to say how accommodating Meghan, the function director, was for our wedding. I was an out of town bride and she made every effort to keep in touch with me throughout my planning process and always made herself available wether it was via email, phone, or in person for a meeting (planned or last minute). She aways made me feel at ease even when a last minute change had to happen. She truly wanted to make sure that our day was what I envisioned, even when I changed my mind about things, and went above and beyond what I was expecting. When I asked to meet with her, asked her questions or changed my mind about things she never seemed annoyed and always gave me her advice and support! She was available for the rehearsal and was very accommodating with all of the vendors that we had. She even got together with our officiant, without me being there, to plan out the ceremony! We had our ceremony out on the green, cocktail hour under the tent and our reception in the dinning room. Together with our florist and wedding planner, she made the venue an exact duplicate of what in was envisioning. She allowed us some storage space there for some of our decorations, allowed us to use golf carts for pictures, helped set up and kept everything running smoothly! They were also very accommodating with food choices. Everyone at the wedding raved about how amazing the food was! I can't thank Meghan and her staff at Duck Woods Country Club enough for making my day EVERYTHING that I thought it would be and MORE! They made the planning process, week of, and day of the wedding stress free, organized, and fun! I'm SO happy that we chose Duck Woods Country Club as the venue for our wedding!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We could not have been more pleased with the services we received. The staff went above and beyond to make my daughters wedding a very memorable day. The food was outstanding. We received so many compliments on the venue, food and staff. Thank you so much for all of your outstanding contributions to make the day so beautiful and memorable. I would HIGHLY recommend this venue to anyone.
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzanne
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
We are so pleased with every aspect from the planning to actual wedding. Duck Woods provided us with a wedding that will never be forgotten. The food, the service and the staff are first class. We thank everyone who made our daughters dreams come true.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emmett
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Duck Woods Country Club is THE place to have your wedding reception or other special event on North Carolina's outer banks (OBX). The facility is beautiful. The food is consistently of the highest quality. The service is excellent. The staff is outstanding - every person. The Chef (Chef Mac) is very creative and consistently puts out a great menu. Meghan Scannell is the Function Director. Meghan is most attentive to the details of your event so nothing is left to chance. Meghan is extremely flexibly and works well with anxious brides and Mom's. Soup to nuts - everything was outstanding!! Wouldn't change a thing. At the end of the night, our daughter was the happiest person on earth as she and her friends and family had just enjoyed a fabulous time. Without question, I recommend DWCC.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
What an amazing day! From the minute we starting planning our wedding with Meagan and Chef Mac. I KNEW I would not have to worry about a thing! From EVERY detail my day turned out PERFECT!! The food was AMAZING!! The service was OUTSTANDING! The location and setup was SUPERB!! I would recommend the Duck Woods Country Club to EVERYONE looking for the perfect Wedding Location!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Everything about our wedding was fabulous. The service, the food, the ambiance....everything was perfect. Everyone was accommodating, efficient, helpful, and super friendly. I cant put into words how amazing our experience was here.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We had an absolutely incredible experience with Duck Woods Country Club & could not recommend them more! The staff is so accommodating & Sharon Jackson, DW Event Coordinator, will work with you on anything-she answered hundreds of emails from us, went out of her way to schedule several times to meet, made sure our entire wedding from start to finish was perfect, and is just an absolute wonderful professional to work with. She literally asked us 2 days before our wedding if there was anything else she could "do" and her dedication & confidence made our wedding perfect.The food at Duck Woods has really taken this wedding venue to the next level. Duck Woods has always been a beautiful and a gorgeous location, and their menu matches the setting. We enjoyed a great tasting with the Chef in the early spring, and he worked with us to add some personal touches to the food. All our guests are still talking and complimenting how wonderful the food was! We had amazing coconut shrimp & NC BBQ apps, fresh salads with apples & goat cheese, and the filet & mahi main course were delicious and everything came out efficiently-it is not easy getting 150 plated dinners out & Duck Woods did it with ease. They also accommodated our vegetarian and VEGAN guests which was pretty incredible.The bartenders and drinks were wonderful, and everyone loved enjoying cocktail hour on the decks. We also held our ceremony on the back patio of Duck Woods which I would recommend to all brides---guests LOVED not traveling from reception to venue, and it was so fun for everyone to walk up on the decks for cocktail hour. We loved every minute of our wedding at Duck Woods & wish we could do it again - we had so much fun, and we were not stressed at all-everything was seamless!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Best ceremony and reception venue on the Outer Banks. From beginning to end it could not have gone smoother. So many beautiful option locations for ceremony, grounds are very well maintained and manicured. Staff was the best---so accommodating and quick to respond to all questions. Planning the menu was a joy and it turned out delicious. Many compliments from our guests. Thank you for a wonderful event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Where do I begin? First of all, Duck Woods Country Club is beautiful - from the grounds outside, to the decor inside - we were very happy with how everything looked for our reception! I also love that the reception space (chairs, walls, carpet) inside are very neutral. It made decorating our black and white theme easy! Perhaps even more importantly though, Sharon Jackson, the function coordinator at the club, was awesome and an absolute pleasure to work with. She was always responsive and super flexible with every last detail. Sharon made planning so much easier! She understood our budget and made every effort to help us stay within that, from the bar to the food, and everything on between. And the food - oh my god. It was amazing! We were lucky enough to be finished with pictures early enough to enjoy our cocktail hour and mingle with guests, which was so wonderful - it was great to enjoy the hors d'oeuvres with everyone. Overall, we were incredibly happy with our reception and so thrilled to have it at Duck Woods!! The venue could not have been better!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janie
Wedding:
9/27/2013
5.0/5.0
We were so pleased with Duck Woods Country Club as the venue for our daughter's wedding reception. The staff, food and services were all exceptional. It is a beautiful place and made a wonderful place for photographs too.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jimmy and Linda
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
The Duck Woods Country Club provided the best experience we could have ever imagined. Everything was perfect. They were eager to accommodate any request we had and the staff was so friendly and helpful. The food was as good as any 5 star restaurant we have ever attended. We had so many calls from guest thanking us for a wonderful time and everyone commented on the food. There is nothing that could have been done to make this reception any more perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I loved the look of Duck Woods Country Club. It was exactly what we were looking for and when we saw the dining room we knew we had found our place. The room provided plenty of space for our 180 guests and it was absolutely gorgeous- even better was the price was what we were looking for, too! Dealing with the event coordinator was easy, as she was attentive to any concerns we had along the way and did a great job on the day of the wedding at having the place set up just as we had specified. The room is so pretty on its own that it hardly needed any decorating. All we had were very simple flower arrangements at each table and it looked perfect. I may have to write another separate review on the food because I have so many good things to say about it. We had a BBQ/southern food buffet and all of the food was amazing. We told the chef what we wanted to have and he exceeded our expectations. We heard more good things about the food from or guests than we did about almost anything. All together, DWCC was a beautiful place and we had an unforgettable reception there. I would highly recommend Duck Woods Country Club!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1350675868019-andigrant
Bekah
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot begin to tell you how amazing our wedding was at Duck Woods Country Club. I am originally from Virginia but currently live in Chicago. Anyone who has planned a wedding from afar knows how stressful this can be. Sharon was absolutely fantastic in answering my 5,000 questions, emails, and calls. She really put me at ease from the beginning and helped me feel comfortable with the cross-country planning.
The actual wedding was gorgeous. We had both our ceremony and reception here and everything was flawless. I literally cried when I walked into the reception space and saw how beautiful everything looked. The room has very neutral but beautiful decor that allows for almost any color palate to look stunning. I had a number of nonstandard requests for the space that Sharon was able to accommodate with ease. This will undoubtedly be one of the most popular venues in the Outer Banks in the next few years. I really could not have been happier with the entire day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
9/28/2012
5.0/5.0
DUck Woods Country Club is a beautiful place for a wedding reception. I got married on the beach in Corolla and then had the reception here. The Director, Sharton Jackson was awesome!! She did everything possible to make my day perfect. She worked with our parents closely to insure a perfect night. Sharon and her staff were professional, friendly, and absolutely perfect in every way. I would highly recommend this venue for a wedding reception, or any event. Thank you Duck Woods for making my reception so beautiful!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1325174755721-img8760
Sarah
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Duck Woods was a great vendor and Sharon Jackson was a fabulous Function Director! She was easy to work with and we had plenty of ways to communicate either via phone, email, or face-to-face. We had a food tasting and it was AMAZING! We always got an invoice with cost and had a great offer to have our guest (up to 20 ppl) play golf! A great location, wonderful staff, food was great!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Malissa
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about how professional, welcoming and accomodating the entire staff at Duck Woods Country Club (DWCC) was when I was planning my wedding and reception. I originally chose the site because of it's location and capability to accomodate my guests, but after working with Peter, Sharon and Chef Dave, I couldn't imagine having my wedding anywhere else! My wedding was scheduled to be outside, but due to weather constraints, it had to be moved inside and there was never a glitch, everything transitioned smoothly to the inside. The food was outstanding and my guests commented on how friendly and pleasant the staff was during the cocktail hour and continued during the dinner service. I know many folks love to come to the Outer Banks to have beach weddings, but having the option of having the ceremony inside in case the weather didn't cooperate, which in my case it didn't, was a huge relief for me. I can honestly say, when it came to location, food & drink choices I would not change a thing! One really cool thing about DWCC is when you have your wedding there, you get to join the club for 3 months, so if you want to have a golf outing before the wedding or after, you are already a member. You can also use all the facilities DWCC offers. I would highly recommend brides talk with Sharon or Peter to discuss having your wedding and/or reception here!
Malissa Suggs Perry :-)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
The facility was absolutely perfect for my daughter's reception. The director (Sharon) was so easy to work with and very accommodating with any questions or concerns that I had. The food was absolutely to die for - so many compliments after the reception. A very beautiful setting for such a special occasion.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
The entire staff at Duck Woods Country Club were excellent to work with. From our first meeting until the night of our daughter's wedding, we received outstanding service from everyone . The events director took special interest in making certain that everything we wanted was accomplished. She was most attentive to every detail and delivered an amazing display for our reception. The chef was outstanding to work with as well. At our first taste testing he was very responsive to delivering the food that the bride and groom desired. He offered suggestions that we incorporated with our selections which created a menu that surpassed our greatest expectations. We had many compliments of the food, including some saying it was the best "wedding food" they had ever had. In summary, we are delighted with all aspects of our daughter's wedding reception held at Duck Woods and are thrilled to have selected it as our venue. Most importantly, though, the bride and groom were very pleased with everything.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynnev
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Duck Woods Country Club was a great venue for weddings. It is a beautiful setting for a ceremony and the ballroom is a great venue for the reception. The staff is awesome and will work with you to make your wedding very special. It was an awesome day and I recommended this venue 100 percenter.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dayrell
Wedding:
7/22/2011
5.0/5.0
The services were great and always talking to us thru out the Wedding on every detail and making any adjustments as needed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
trudi
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
It was the easiest event I have ever hosted.the food at the reception was even better than the tasing and cost was very reasonable.We had fried oysters lamb lollipops and BBQ on crostini as appetizers.Crabcakes for dinner.They even did a kids meal of chicken fingers and fries for our youngest guests.We also hosted a bruch the next day Sharon Jackson was very professional and accommodating
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Duck Woods is a beautiful place to have a wedding ceremony and reception!!! Our wedding day was perfect and Duck Woods along with Sharon Jackson played a big part in making that happen! Sharon Jackson is the function director and was a pleasure to work with! She was quick to respond back to my emails and phone calls and did everything she could to accomodate my requests!! Food is excellent as well!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1281485209932-image101
Elizabeth
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
The start was a little rocky but once Sharon took over it was smooth sailing from there. She was very quick to respond, very helpfull and flexible. Wonderful staff and service. The food was awesome!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AbbyGeee
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Duck Woods Country Club is amazing and a beautiful place to hold your wedding reception! The catering manager was very helpful and flexible and the food was delicious. Every time we my mother and I would visit Duck Woods, we would get more excited for the event because the setting is just beautiful!!! All of our guest were just so impressed - I would absolutely recommend this venue to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lisa
Wedding:
6/4/2010
5.0/5.0
thanks to Pascal and his staff for a WONDERFUL experience at DWCC- the event was flawless and we have gotten RAVE reviews from our guests about the "first class" reception! the food was "over- the top", the service exceptional, and the facility is beautiful........i am thankful for the staff's professionalism thrughout the entire affair-----
take special pride in your "top shelf" staff and gracious atmosphere--we will be back!

lisa and steve wheeler
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ann
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Duck Woods Country Club is a beautiful setting for a wedding/reception. The staff is very professional, yet extremely friendly and easy to work with. Several of the guest at our daughters recent wedding reception commented that their facility could take lessons on the way the reception was staffed and set-up. The food was plentiful and amazing.
Duck Woods Country Club and its management and staff provided the magical event out daughter had always wanted for her wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mluchau
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
I would recommend Duck Woods Country Club to any bride. We choose DWCC to host our reception (following our beach front wedding in Southern Shores). Everything was absolutely perfect - the club, the food, the service...everything! Pascal (The Banquet Director) was a great help over a year before our wedding - showing us the space, helping us picture the lay out, recommending vendors and talking us through the process. He answered all of our questions in a timely manner and helped us design and execute the wedding of our dreams. When it came to the big day, I was completely confident that it would go off without a hitch at the club and I was right. The staff helped us stay on time (or at least close to on-time), and made sure the service was 100%. All of our guests raved about the delicious food, helpful staff, and beautiful and clean facility. The price is also perfect for a bride on a budget!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
susan
Wedding:
1/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Duck Woods Country Club was the perfect venue for my daughter's wedding, superb food, beautiful banquet room, spotless bathrooms, professional banquet director, everything was wonderful, a truly amazing cocktail hour and dinner reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dee
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Duck Woods was an outstanding venue for our wedding reception. The staff was very accommodating and went way out of their way to do exactly what we wanted . Everyone that we worked with was very upbeat, helpful and a pleasure to work with. They inspired confidence that the event would come off exactly as planned and it did.The location on a beautiful golf course in Southern Shores was majestic and guests could enjoy the scenery out on the deck throughout the evening. We have a great shot of the bridal party lined up in ten golf carts heading out onto the course for pictures. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. Duck Woods far exceeded our expectations. It was a perfect location for our reception. We walked away very satisfied and feeling that we couldn't have done any better for any amount of money.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
7/11/2009
5.0/5.0
Pascal was very informative and always available when I emailed him with tons of questions. The reception was perfect and we have had many guests rave about the beautiful place and delicious food, saying they wished they could have gone back for thirds!!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1402493937560-trolley
Katie
Wedding:
5/31/2014
4.9/5.0
I used DWCC for my wedding reception. Everything turned out gorgeous!! It was prettier than I'd ever imagined. The dimmed chandelier lighting made for a beautiful ambiance!! I received soo many compliments on how classy it looked!! We did passed hors d'ouerves during cocktail hour and they were DELISH!!! We had a plated dinner with entree selections and I had the filet and it was cooked to perfection (med-rare, just as a steak should be).

Meghan took over as event coordinator about half way through my planning process and the transition was seamless! She reached out to me whenever she had any questions and you can tell she is very motivated to take events to the next level at the club.

As a perk of contracting with DWCC, we received a free 3 month membership to the club. I was able to grant my in-laws to use the membership for the next 3 months (who have a house right down the street). Additionally, my husband got a free round of golf for up to 20 people! This is an awesome benefit, as dudes love to golf :)

My only negative feedback is this (really, NBD): We had asked for 2 bars throughout the cocktail hour and reception. However, after they let people in to the reception after cocktail hour they did not serve from the second bar until after dinner. There was a long line for guests to get drinks due to only one bar being open. Additionally, we had requested wine service during dinner, but they didn't offer this until the entrees were served. I think if they had offered wine when people first sat down (or after the first dances), then the bar line would not have been so long. I think this may have really been just a misunderstanding/communication issue between me and Meghan. My friends/family are big drinkers :) So, I don't really blame Duck Woods!

Anyways, overall A+!!! Thanks for making my wedding day so special and beautiful. One for the books!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
A
Wedding:
9/30/2011
4.9/5.0
Sharon was an absolute heaven sent for our wedding. She made sure we were comfortable with every detail. She was patient and understanding with last minute changes and the room looked perfect. The chef was easy to work with and had a nice personality. He was helpful with menu choices too. We were running late for our reception because of photos and Sharon had us back on schedule in no time at all. I am so glad we had our reception at Duck Woods, I can't even explain how easy the process was.

The room is gorgeous and so clean. Dinner was delicious and on time. The wait staff was so great and my guests were so impressed. I would recommend this venue to anyone!
Services Used: Catering, , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John
Wedding:
11/27/2009
4.9/5.0
My wife. my daughter (the Bride) and I were very pleased with the professionalism of the staff, the quality of the food and the setting in Duck Woods Country Club. The venue was perfect and the reception was a huge success for the entire party.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carolyn
Wedding:
2/22/2014
4.8/5.0
Duck Woods was a wonderful place to have our wedding. The director of event planning was wonderful. She was easy to talk to, had great suggestions and was very helpful at easing my worries for such a big event (180 guests). The staff was wonderful and the food was delicious! I would definitely recommend Duck Woods for any event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
6/21/2013
4.7/5.0
Wonderful service and staff! Chef did awesome job and staff on point! We are local and went off without any problems! Thanks to all!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kdn333
Wedding:
9/5/2010
4.6/5.0
Duck Woods Country Club was the ideal place for our reception! The facilities are absolutely excellent and the staff was extremely responsive and very kind. Got some great photos on the golf course too and everything worked out beautifully. Also, reception cost came in below initial estimates and food was outstanding. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1247342272737-obxweddinggwyn343
Gwyneth
Wedding:
1/24/2009
4.6/5.0
Duck Woods is beautiful on the inside and out. It worked out to be the perfect location for us. The food was average, but the staff was wonderful. Sometimes the communication with Pascal wasn't 100% clear, but I think it was because he was really busy. For example, sometimes he would say one thing and then at a later meeting there would be a contradiction in what he had said before. We found that it was better to meet with him in person rather than over the phone or email. We worked everything out, and in the end everything was great.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg19
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.5/5.0
We had our wedding reception here on July 10th 2011. We knew from the moment we set foot in Duck Woods that it was the perfect place to have our reception!! The clubhouse is gorgeous and their ballroom is huge!! We dealt with Sharon who was amazing after the previous event coordinator left... Sharon was always super friendly and wanted to help with whatever she could. They are by FAR the nicest ballroom style setting on the Outer Banks, and they actually charge a lot less to reserve their space. Most places on the OBX and the surrounding area charge between 3,000 - 5,000 JUST to rent their facility. Duck Woods has a "rental fee" but it is much less than that. We were happy to have the opportunity to set most of our reception up the night before, which was really helpful since we did not have a planner and did all the projects and planning ourselves.

I only have a few complaints about the venue. First would be to MAKE SURE that any and all food tried during the tasting will be made EXACTLY as prepared during the reception as it is during the tasting. I didn't even think to ask this, as it seems silly to prepare anything differently then how you would do it for the event. The chef made AMAZING "micro" bite size bacon cheeseburgers for the tasting, but when it came to the actual wedding he used a COMPLETELY different bread for the burgers which TOTALLY killed the amazing taste it had previously. We were pretty disappointed with that. All the other hors d oeuvres did come out perfect, but the burgers we were most looking forward to. The main meals all came out perfect as well and they did accommodate our 3 meal choice menu, and even did one of the meals (a polish dish) from my grandmothers recipe which came out EXACTLY as if she had made it!!

My one other complaint was when it came time to cut the cake, which the DJ announced very loudly and it was obvious we were cutting the cake, we had no plates in size to put the cake on. We had cut the cake and were looking for an employee to get us a plate but there was not one around. Our event planner Sharon had already left for the evening and I guess the rest of the staff dropped the ball a little here. It wouldn't have been that big of a deal, however our wedding cake was coldstone ice cream cake and it was QUITE messy without plates!! One of our guests grabbed a top off of a cookie jar which we used for a plate.

All in all I would totally recommend Duck Woods as a place for your wedding reception!! Just make sure little details don't get missed during your event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
djsfourth
Wedding:
5/28/2011
4.4/5.0
Everything was beautiful. Accommodations were great and our guests were very pleased with the food provided. Only thing we would have done is requested red and white wine. We only had white, but if that is the worst of it, I believe we made out very well! Pictures were done there, on the course and near the clubhouse and they turned out great. We would be willing to submit pics if requested. They worked with every venue we had and were able to accommodate them with everything they needed as well. We were very happy with our selection of Duck Woods to be where we celebrated our special day! Best of Luck!

Don and Amy Scott 05/28/2011
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marcha
Wedding:
10/17/2009
4.4/5.0
The staff was very cooperative and efficient. They gave me good suggestions. They were always available when I needed to meet with them.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
meganjohnsongreen
Wedding:
5/21/2011
4.3/5.0
Duck Woods Country Club is a beautiful venue. We visited and knew right away it was the best location for our wedding reception. The decor inside is beautiful and the wrap-around covered decks provide guests with the ability to go outside without the elements (rain, heat, etc) interferring. We loved the views of the golf course - our photos are beautiful.

The staff was very flexible and responsive to my requests. We met in person a couple of times and they were always very patient and thorough when answering my questions. Sharon was great! We really enjoyed working with her. I trusted that everything was going to go as planned because she was very detailed and professional.

The food was delicious and our guests danced the night away! They all raved about the service and that was great to hear. I couldn't be more pleased! I really appreciate everything they did to make our wedding day so special.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue

DEALS

2014 Promotion
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $4,000 Value
When you book your special day with us, you receive a complimentary 3 month full-golf membership to the club. We also include a complimentary golf outing for up to 20 guests. Please contact our Function Director to find out about our other promotional offerings!
Deal #WWd47daf645b69e337
220x220_1300988718938-img7034

MAP

 
Southern Shores, NC 27949 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Duck Woods Country Club
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1300988718938-img7034