130x130_sq_1346691115705-proofsbarbaradouglass2011apr9563

Durham Catering Co.

Durham , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

3710 Shannon Road , Suite 117
Durham, NC US 27705 (map)

PHONE

919-383-3000

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Durham Catering Company is a full service caterer with indissoluble ties to its community. Specializing in off-premise events, our company is also committed to environmental improvement.... Read more
Durham Catering Company is a full service caterer with indissoluble ties to its community. Specializing in off-premise events, our company is also committed to environmental improvement. We express that by using the freshest possible local and seasonal ingredients found in North Carolina, making it possible for our clients to “green” their events with ease, and reducing our carbon footprint as a company.

Committed to helping our clients realize the vision they have for their special event or party, we pride ourselves on the relationships that we build and the services that we render. With your special needs and budget in mind, we will make you an integral part of the planning process.

Please call or email us to request menus or to set up an appointment!

(919) 383.3000

sales@durhamcateringco.com Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1346429598151-2011barbaradouglassapril9190
130x130_sq_1346429601840-2011barbaradouglassapril9192
130x130_sq_1346429605507-2011barbaradouglassapril9196
130x130_sq_1346688798537-proofsbarbaradouglass2011apr9460
130x130_sq_1346688800077-proofsbarbaradouglass2011apr9464
130x130_sq_1346688805720-proofsbarbaradouglass2011apr9465
130x130_sq_1346688807138-proofsbarbaradouglass2011apr9466
130x130_sq_1346688808655-proofsbarbaradouglass2011apr9563
130x130_sq_1346688810621-proofsbarbaradouglass2011apr9595
130x130_sq_1346688812007-proofsbarbaradouglass2011apr9598
130x130_sq_1346688814147-proofsbarbaradouglass2011apr9600
130x130_sq_1346691408678-2011barbaradouglassapril9253
130x130_sq_1346691418139-2011barbaradouglassapril9206
130x130_sq_1346691430599-2011barbaradouglassapril9107

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Cajun, Caribbean, Creole, French, Italian, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Southern, Southwestern
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
Absolutely, we wouldn't want our clients to pay for something they haven't tasted first! There are of course some restrictions or event cost minimums to have a tasting - but we're happy to provide this service.
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
While we can, we will be the first to say that we're not pastry chefs. We'll gladly reccommend others who would better suit this need.
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
We do not charge a cake cutting fee.
Are you licensed to sell alcohol? If yes, where are you licensed?
We are licensed in the State of North Carolina to purchase beer and wine and to serve, Beer, Wine and Liquor. We will also bill based on consumption.
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
You're welcome to bring in your own alcohol - we don't charge a corkage fee.
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
While we don't have rentals in house, we'll gladly help you coordinate all your rentals with any rental company of your choice. Our preferred rental company is American Party Rentals.
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
Absolutely! Waitstaff, Chefs, Cooks and Bartenders!
What is your maximum catering capacity?
2000

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alice
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Jen and Durham Catering really did an amazing job throughout our whole process. Jen was so easy to work with, accessible, and helped us put together a delicious and creative menu; the gnocchi and short ribs were amazing, along with the crab cakes and beef tenderloin appetizers! It’s hard to pick my favorite! Numerous guests told us how wonderful the food was!

I highly recommend Durham Catering for any event for their excellent quality food and great service with no stress!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
This company was fantastic. The food was wonderful, and we had guests raving about all of it. They were also awesome when it came to the bar - we were able to supply our own alcohol, which helped with the cost, and yet the bartender still mixed our signature cocktails perfectly. They left us with no stress over the food and drinks at all - even just hours before the wedding, when they asked where the soda was (we were supposed to supply it, but had completely forgotten!) - they said "no big deal, we'll get it!"

I'd definitely recommend Durham Catering, and would use them again if I ever do an event in the area!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
T.J.
Wedding:
10/13/2013
4.8/5.0
Jennifer Shepherd (Jen) and Durham Catering really did an amazing job throughout our whole process, from our first meeting with Durham catering to the take down after the reception. Jen was so easy to work with. She made sure we knew all of our food options as we made some changes along the way, and there were a ton of options. She helped us to cut back on certain foods/beverages where they didn't seem necessary, and add more where it made sense. There was never any push towards more expensive items. She was just great to work with! Oh yeah, and the food was excellent. Our guests enjoyed everything. Thank you, Jen, and thanks to Durham Catering. Highly Recommended!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Outstanding is the word for Durham Catering! We used Durham Catering for our daughter’s Oct 5th wedding that was held at Snipe’s Farm Retreat near Chapel Hill. We choose Durham Catering over a couple of other catering vendors that had been recommended to us. We couldn’t be happier with Durham Catering. They are the most friendly and professional team you could hope to work with on a wedding! They made the planning process so painless. We worked primarily with Jennifer, who will take care of you from start to finish. Even as our guest number began to grow from 100 to +150 way beyond our wildest dreams. Jennifer and her team stepped right in to help us reconfigure the table layout to accommodate the crowd so comfortably and we still were able to have a nice dance floor.
Durham Catering’s food is the best part! Perfectly cooked and so good, there are just amazing items to pick from on their large menu. We also had quite a few vegetarians and they were very pleased with the selection of items we had for them.
The bride and groom were so delighted that the DC team took such good care of them during the dinner and made sure they had some leftovers packed up to take with them!
I’m still getting compliments from friends that we had the best ever wedding reception food! We highly recommend Durham Catering for any event. If you want to experience excellent quality food and great service with no stress, look no further!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Outside of the delicious food, Durham Catering was incredible to work with! Prompt, responsive, and professional! They took care of everything at our wedding reception seamlessly.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Durham Catering Company catered our son's wedding rehearsal dinner. We had a small group of 30 people at the Vineyards at Southpoint. Our event was a smashing success! The venue was great and I cannot say enough about this catering company! All of the food was delicious. Their wait staff so professional that we hardly noticed them. Our son was the first of many to come to our table complimenting the food. Thanks Durham Catering Company for your part in blessing our family richly.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Durham catering could not have done a better job making my wedding day perfect. The food was absolutely delicious (people keep raving about it almost a month later!), and Jen and the Durham Catering staff really went above and beyond helping me coordinate a magical day. I will be forever grateful I chose durham catering for my special day!

Susan Robinson
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Viki
Wedding:
7/20/2013
4.8/5.0
Overall, Durham Catering was wonderful. By the time you add up all of their fees and labor costs, the final bill ends up being a bit pricy, but in the end it was worth it. We ditched our first caterer after he turned out to be a scam artist, so it was a huge piece of mind to have a solid, professional company to rely on for our wedding reception.

The food was delicious, and many guests commented on the food afterwards. There are no words to describe the unbelievable summer fruit punch that was served during cocktail hour. You wouldn't expect punch to be anything special, but it was phenomenal!

The staff were very accomodating and thoughtful. Since my husband and I were taking photos while our guests noshed on hors d'ouevres, I thought it was so kind that one of the servers brought us a plate of hors d'ouevres after we took our seats for dinner, so that we could sample them. They had no problems with washing and packing up the punch bowl and all the punch cups that my mother-in-law had lent for the occasion. They placed our leftovers in take-out containers for us to take home, though I did find it a bit strange that although we had 2 pounds of pasta leftover, there wasn't any leftover marinara or pesto sauce.

Jennifer was wonderful to work with during the planning stages, and was always quick to reply to my emails and had such a positive attitude.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
5/25/2013
4.1/5.0
I am glad we chose Durham Catering. They were professional & responsive. Tables were cleared, drinks were poured, room was flipped, cake was cut, all without issue or delay. The food was great, though I did think "yup...buffet food" when I walked up to serve myself. I didn't expect it to look like the food we had been served at our tasting, but I guess I expected it to look a little better than it did. (We had another company cater our rehearsal dinner & the food looked FAR better, for less than half the cost per person.) It tasted great, but no one raved about the food afterwards (contrary to what most reviews of DCC say!). I was a little disappointed that the candles on the centerpieces weren't lit until after everyone was sitting down to eat. Not a huge deal--as soon as I asked about it, the servers went around and lit them. The biggest problem we had was that we had sent a floor plan about a week before the wedding, and weren't told of any problems with it. However, when the team arrived (I'm told they arrived late, and were rushing around all stressed out), the captain started changing the floor plan. My groom & his family were setting up decorations, and when they tried to figure out what was changing and why, they were given a lot of attitude. They tried to stick up for my wishes and were completely steamrolled, which left them feeling angry and frustrated. No one needs to feel that way on a wedding day, especially when we were the ones hiring them! The captain did eventually apologize for his attitude. (And I do understand that if things don't fit right on the day of, you've got to move them -- the new floor plan did work out perfectly, with only minor adjustments from the one we had made.) All in all, we had good food at our reception & great service, with just a little attitude problem & a little overbooked-wedding-date feel.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1329374552915-074
Lauren
Wedding:
1/5/2013
4.0/5.0
The food was absolutely amazing. We're still hearing about it from our friends and family. Their servers however were a problem. We had about 20 guests from the final head count not show at the reception and at the end of the night we only had enough leftovers for barely two people. We had guests tell us how much food there was after everyone had gotten a plate but no one got seconds because the servers tore down the buffet so quickly. Guests even heard the servers talking about how much food there was in the kitchen after it was torn down. One server even admitted to a guest that they took the food home with them but when we informed Jenn she denied it and accused us of complaining. The servers only cut one layer of our four layer cake and most guests did not get a slice. The staff just disappeared, probably to go divide the food up for themselves. For the amount of money we spent I'm definitely upset that so much of the food went missing but what upsets me more is that the company does not care about the concerns of their clients after they've been paid. Like I said, the food was truly spectacular but you'll need someone designated to keep their eye on the kitchen after the food is served.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1338067098596-charcrop4
webster7
Wedding:
4/29/2012
4.6/5.0
Fabulous food. Everyone raved about it. Tasty, creative, hot, perfectly cooked, etc. Created unique customized menu that differed from the usual fare.

Excellent, professional, helpful, caring serving staff. Reasonable prices for individual food items, but there were significant additional fees for service staff and rental costs (dishes, glassware, serving trays, oven, etc.) for an offsite location.

Chef Tom is truly amazing. Definitely the best food we've ever had at a wedding.

He was responsive early on, but it's difficult to get to him now because he has an office staff that filters all communication. We got slightly different (and sometimes better) answers from him directly.

Jennifer, his liaison, is accessible, helpful, and professional.

They let you provide your own liquor, and they'll pour it for you, which is incredibly rare and a huge cost savings. Although Tom was willing, Jennifer wasn't helpful with wine pairing for their specific menu nor quantity needed.

Tom said he would be the chef at our wedding, but the day of we discovered he wasn't there. Luckily his chef was excellent.

Overall, food was wonderful! Definitely better than other caterers, and totally without the typical prima dona attitudes found elsewhere. The process of creating a customized menu was a bit time-consuming and painstaking; if we were able to meet with Tom directly, it would have been simpler and easier. They also need to be transparent upfront about rental fees for offsite events. We were truly shell-shocked at the significant additional expenses.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
3/3/2012
5.0/5.0
We are beyond happy with our experiences with Durham Catering Co.! All of our guests commented on how delicious the food was at the reception. Working with Jennifer was great! They were all very patient and friendly with us as we changed our minds about dinner a few times. They even gave my father and me a tasting when I got our meeting times mixed up and showed up a week early!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1295280576335-dsc0004
Amy
Wedding:
11/19/2011
4.8/5.0
Professional, responsive and delicious. Received many compliments on the food. Will work within your budget as much as they can.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
patrickandolivia
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Having worked (long ago!) for a catering company for several years in Manhattan, I was dreading finding a catering company for our wedding in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. However, our venue director suggested Durham Catering Co. as did several of our friends in the area and after looking over their menu and corresponding a bit over the phone and email we booked them before we even tried a bite of their food. This was perhaps the BEST decision we made in planning our wedding!

When I was able to get down to NC for a quick few days to meet with our vendors, Durham Catering Co. put on a tasting for my parents and me that was BEYOND delicious! Not only was I SO HAPPY we had chosen them, I left having tasted some of the best Southern cooking of my entire life.

The day of our wedding all the staff were so helpful and friendly. The food was piping hot, fresh and delicious. To this day our friends and family rave about how good the food was at our wedding (and how rare that is!). If you're considering using Durham Catering Co., do it! They will blow your mind :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
5/28/2011
4.3/5.0
We loved working with Durham Catering. Tom put together a delicious and creative menu, and he worked with us on the price to make it a great value for us. We had several people remark that the food was the highlight of our wedding! When we went in for our tasting, we were blown away - it was the best food we had eaten since moving to NC. The food on the actual day was not as good as the tasting (I guess that happens when you have to prepare food for so many people), but it was still unbelievably tasty.

The company's organizational structure was a little confusing... we had about 5 or 6 different people contact us about different pieces of the event, and we weren't quite sure who to direct questions to. However, they handled all the details, and the night went off without a hitch.

We were blown away by how amazing the passed appetizers were - we hadn't taste-tested them beforehand, and we were in awe of how good they were!

We are very happy that we had Durham Catering at our wedding, and we highly recommend them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KDoherty
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
They were great! Our food was delicious, the servers were fabulous. We really enjoyed having them at our wedding!! They were reasonably priced and did an all around excellent job!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dhorichookri
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
The food provided by Durham Catering was a huge hit at the wedding. Every single item they made was absolutely lovely. On top of that, they are the only caterer that went the extra mile to adjust their cooking to my unique food allergy.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nye2010bride
Wedding:
12/31/2010
4.9/5.0
Tom & his crew were great! Guests loved the food at our wedding and Tom did a wonderful job helping us come up with the best bang for our buck to stay on budget. Definitely no pressure to spend more. Service was great!
Services Used: Catering
Bg2
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
Durham Catering isn't the cheapest game in town, nor is it the most expensive. Our wedding aside, the most memorable catered meals I've had at Triangle area weddings and work functions have come from Durham Catering.

Tom Ferguson at Durham Catering was easy to work with. He was straightforward and never did I feel pushed into any decisions. Advice about menu options were mindful of our event location, recommendations emphasized money savings and value...but it ALWAYS came down to the food (food, food preparation, presentation, and most important, tastiness).

Replies and answers to questions by email or phone weren't so prompt, but perhaps it's because they had physically moved their office to a new location. Not ideal, but this can be overlooked because the food was fantastic - we watched many of our guests go back for 2nds and 3rds. This made me sad because there was little leftover for the groom and I to enjoy the next day.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
thingsarejejune
Wedding:
10/2/2010
4.0/5.0
when we did the tasting we were SOLD - even asked to take the leftovers home! we couldn't wait until the wedding just so we could have that mac & cheese again. we loved that they focused on local foods and eco-friendly options. they definitely weren't offering pigs in a blanket and shrimp cocktail. we loved the variety and creativity of their menus. we got SO many compliments on the food at our wedding, with many people saying it was the best wedding food they'd ever had by a long shot. with that said, they weren't the best when it came to having things organized. their customer service skills weren't great either. there were several times when i'd ask them to change something on the menu, the timeline, or the rental order (they created the initial rental order with what they needed and sent it to the company they worked with) and the documents would come back to me without the changes being made. my feeling is that they are chefs who decided to open up a business but didn't really have the business part quite right yet. when we first met with them i felt like we were being rushed through everything. i had never planned a wedding before so i would have appreciated someone taking their time with me and letting me know what would happen, what's customary, what my options are, etc. there were also many emails and calls that went unanswered. what they need there is an event planner who will do the customer interfacing for them. leave the chefs to do the wonderful cooking. i will say that the day of our captain came through. a few minor things went wrong and, although he kind of made excuses once or twice, he definitely took care of it. overall we were pleased with the end result.
Services Used: Catering
Wwnetwork-128
Julie
Wedding:
6/26/2010
4.8/5.0
I have really only good things to say about Durham Catering. Their food was wonderful, their wait staff were professional and efficient. Tom will help you find a way to make your budget work and he believes in supporting local businesses in the process. I gave professionalism 4 stars due to an e-mailing issue with the office manager. Overall, I would highly recommend DCC to people in the area for any event!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kgMac2010
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Our guests are still raving about the food a month after our wedding!! So good that my Uncle was asking for the recipe for the short ribs. :) Tom and his staff are professionals and know the business. He will tell you what you need to do and is very honest about options. Once we met with Tom, we had NO worries about the catering which is how it should be. He asked my husband and I what our favorite foods were and derived our menu from there- and it was awesome! Servers and bar tender were excellent. We know that Durham Catering was a little bit higher priced than some of the alternatives... but worth every cent not to have to worry about anything and have our guests have a great meal.
Services Used: Catering
Bg19
rgeddy
Wedding:
6/13/2010
4.9/5.0
Durham Catering Company was the first caterer we met with, and as soon as we did, we had already made up our mind that we wanted to work with them. We loved their emphasis on local, seasonal menus. We met with them to develop a menu and instead of handing us a list of dishes to choose from, they discussed our favorite foods and developed a personalized custom menu to our specifications. This is a company who takes pride in their work and their customer service was impeccable. Their attention to details, professionalism, and ease to work with deserve a mention as well. We were given a bottle of wine as an 'engagement' gift, and at our wedding they presented us with a copy of 'The Joy of Cooking.' The only hiccup we had was that they mis-scheduled our original menu tasting, an inconvenience we forgot about immediately upon tasting their incredible food.

At our wedding, we received innumerable compliments on the food. We could not agree more that the quality of the ingredients, as well as the flawless preparation made the food stand out as a central part of our wedding. Every staff member we worked with at the office, as well as the servers & bartender at the wedding was extremely courteous and helpful. We cannot thank them enough and we would STRONGLY recommend them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
10/11/2009
2.4/5.0
Our experience was DCC was sadly unpleasant. When we first decided on DCC we were very happy - local company, great reviews, nothing not to like. We had a very small wedding and did a small buffet. Upon arriving at the wedding, we found the food portions to be very small, and heard guests asking, "Is there more food?" something you never want to hear at a wedding. The two servers were professional, but were very impolite almost the whole evening. Upon calling DCC to see how we could fix the bad service we recieved, Tom told us, "Yes, we know we dropped the ball with your event, we haven't learned how to find a happy medium between our food and smaller budget. We're sorry." I wish that Tom and his crew wouldn't have used my wedding as a learning lesson for their business and wish that they would have at least offered us something to make up for the experience. I'll pass DCC's name along, but I'll tell people to avoid them at all costs.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Grace_C
Wedding:
10/10/2009
5.0/5.0
The food provided by Durham Catering Company was amazing. They were so helpful and really worked with us to create the perfect menu. I would highly recommend them for any event you are planning.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
The food was awesome! The service was great! Our glasses and stomachs were always full! We would definitely use them in the future.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LaurenP
Wedding:
5/10/2008
4.9/5.0
Loved Durham Catering...many guests asked who we used because the food was sooo good. We had an informal reception with 5 h'ordouves, drink service, recycleble paper goods and servers. All went very smoothy. The food was terrific, Grey was wonderful to work with, the servers were very professional, and left overs were packed beautifully.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
9/30/2007
4.4/5.0
Tom and Grey at Durham Catering were awesome. Tom was really flexible with my budget and helped me put on a great reception without giving up quality. Everyone raved about how good the food was. He also helped me save money by letting me handle my own rentals. The service staff at our wedding were really professional and made the reception so smooth. I would recommend Durham Catering Co for a wedding of any size or budget.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
3710 Shannon Road , Suite 117, Durham, NC 27705 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Durham Catering Co.
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1346691115705-proofsbarbaradouglass2011apr9563