130x130_sq_1366992245096-000043000016

Early Mountain Vineyards

Madison , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

6109 Wolftown-Hood Road
Madison, VA US 22727 (map)

PHONE

540-948-9005

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Early Mountain Vineyards offers beauty, stately modern facilities & luxurious amenities perfect for your ceremony. Imagine your winery wedding with panoramic views of the Blue Ridge... Read more
Early Mountain Vineyards offers beauty, stately modern facilities & luxurious amenities perfect for your ceremony. Imagine your winery wedding with panoramic views of the Blue Ridge foothills followed by an intimate sit down dinner on the lawn. Visit us & we’re sure you will find your inspiration! Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1375287522377-000043470010
130x130_sq_1375287584209-43300005
130x130_sq_1375287739864-026emv-spring000043370003
130x130_sq_1386273658516-photo-

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2005
When was your venue last renovated?
2012
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Winery / Vineyard
Describe the style of your venue
Garden / Romantic, Rustic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
5
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
7500
Catering
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
A hundred and one thank you's for providing such a wonderful and gorgeous venue for our wedding and for your absolute professionalism in supporting us throughout the weekend. The staff at Early Mountain made things so easy for us as far as bringing materials in the day before the wedding and storing our alcohol through the next morning, and also with the tastings and various venue visits over the last year. Most of all, you were extremely pleasant to work with, which made all the difference for our experience. I remember thinking how there is something about the staff at EMV–relaxed, elegant, sophisticated but also sweet and gracious. Thanks Nicolette and Maggie for helping us with logistics throughout the last year, and thank you Delores and Maggie for keeping me (the bride) company in the wings before I was allowed to go out into the reception room and ride on the tandem bicycle into the ceremony :) You helped calm my nerves and were so sweet!!

It goes without saying that the venue is breathtakingly gorgeous, so calming and the blue skies are immense – it’s impossible not to feel instantly relaxed when you arrive on the grounds of the vineyards. In fact, that was the first thing I noticed on my first visit, the amazing hush when I stepped out of my car. Because of the views, mountains and skies, it’s impossible NOT to take a gorgeous photo. Looking back, picking our venue was one of the easiest decisions for us during our planning, and we never once looked back. The fact that the contract included the ceremony/reception chairs/tables was also very convenient, and don’t get me started on the Bridal Cottage :) When I brought my bridesmaids and mom there, it was perfect for us to sit around being girly for a day, feeling relaxed before the ceremony and taking lovely photos with our photographer.

Thanks again and we most certainly will expect to visit EMV as customers for years down the road, so we hope to see you again soon.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Early Mountain was my DREAM venue. As soon as I walked into the reception hall and saw the views outside I knew it was the one. Nicolette and Maggie (event coordinators on site) were always professional and so helpful before, during and after our wedding. There are not enough kind words for them! If you're looking for a beautifully romantic venue with a touch of rustic elegance, this is the one for you.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/1/2014
5.0/5.0
We are so happy we chose Early Mountain as venue. The event staff was always responsive to my emails and questions.

We got ready in the cottage, next to the vineyards. This was a great place for the bridesmaids to get ready and relax, have hair/makeup done, have lunch etc. The cottage has 3 bathrooms, plenty of room. We had hair and makeup done in the front room, which had a lot of natural light. It was a perfect setting for getting ready! We did "first look" picture outside of the cottage – the scenery was perfect. The groomsmens have a designated place to get ready in and hang out with couches and a big TV.

We got married on the lawn and it was perfect - the mountains in the background was a great backdrop. We didn't need many decorations for the ceremony to look great because of the great view and scenery. They had plenty of chairs tables, wine barrels, so we didn't need to worry about renting anything except for an archway. We had our cocktail hour on the patio, which was very convenient because it is steps away from the ceremony. They also have an elevator if anyone needs to use it, which is helpful for any handicapped guests.

They also have a great rain backup plan. We didn't need to use it, but it was nice to know we had a backup in case of rain. If it rained the ceremony would have been in the reception area and the cocktail hour in the long hallway. The reception area is so beautiful; it would still have been a great ceremony.
The reception hall looked beautiful! We didn't need a lot to make the room look amazing. Early Mountain does not have a caterer, so we chose our own. This was also helpful because we could set our own budget and not need to meet at high minimum for food. Everything fit into the reception area perfectly, the food stations, bar, dance floor, cake table, etc.

We also used their firepit to have smores, which was so fun! We had a great day, and we were so happy with Early Mountain Vineyards! We can't wait to go back!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Early Mountain is absolutely beautiful for a wedding. The staff was so kind and helpful with everything, and were always very quick with responses to questions. They will work with you on all details to make your day exactly what you want.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
5/18/2014
5.0/5.0
We were looking for vineyards for our wedding and have stopped at numerous locations in Leesburg and Charlottesville. Stepping into Early Mountain's reception area really draws out your breath. It's a gorgeous location with mountains in the background, an outdoor ceremony lawn area that was just redone with fresh greenery and flowers. The bar room is fully furnished with modern furniture and sculptures that it doesn't even need decorating for a wedding. It's beautiful just the way it is which is convenient for weddings. I love the little add-ons that come to renting the venue--there's a groom's ready room at the bottom floor with comfy couches and a nice television screen. A good space for prepping. The bride gets her own special cottage just off the beaten path from the vineyard. The cottage really is a small little house (furnished beautifully as well!) with a kitchen, 3 bathrooms, sleeping room, and ready room.

The staff is great! They make the process so easy and with a wedding--it helps to have a team that is well-organized, has good communication, and know how to plan that perfect day for you. That's why they are there--they just want you to be happy and they go out of their way to do it. They are professionals and the wedding folder that they provide you lists their favorite vendors--vendors that they trust will do the same top-level performance. I love their flexibility. We had a bit of an issue for our favors at the last minute and asked Delores if we could order 125 bottles of wine as our wedding favor at the last minute and she had no problem. She said you can tell me down to the last hour and it would be fine.

Early Mountain is spot on with their services. I couldn't have imagined a more beautiful location or greater staff to work with for our wedding day. Choosing Early Mountain was one of the easiest choices I made for our special day. I will definitely recommend this venue to everyone I know!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/9/2014
5.0/5.0
The staff at EMV was absolutely amazing and so helpful during the planning process all the way through the end of the wedding. The venue is so romantic and a perfect place to get married! I highly recommend it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ecb
Wedding:
5/2/2014
5.0/5.0
Nicolette and Maggie were amazing to work with. They were pleasant, well organized, and super responsive from the day we toured the facility to the day after the wedding. The were so easy to work with and really helped get things in order for our wedding.

The venue speaks for itself. Just tour the grounds and you'll get it, we couldn't have asked for a better place to get married. The caterer said their kitchen is one of the best in the area and the cottage is a perfect setting for the bridesmaid to get ready.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Derreck
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
The beauty of the venue is enhanced by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. You always worry your venue will not wow you or your guests but Early Mountain surpassed all of our expectations. Delores and her colleagues provided us with excellent service, and always had our interest and vision in mind when making decisions. On the fence about your venue, you will not go wrong with Early Mountain.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NICOLE
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
We fell in love with this venue instantly!! It is the most beautiful setting inside and out for the PERFECT wedding. If you don't want to worry about weather issues on your wedding day, this is a perfect choice as well. They have beautiful accommodations for your wedding, cocktail hour and reception all, both inside and out. The quality of service and professionalism were just as lovely as the venue itself! Everyone with whom we worked put us completely at ease and we always felt we were in very capable hands! Early Mountain Vineyards is simply a magical venue for your reception! We highly recommend EMV to you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nik
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
We fell in love with this venue instantly!! It is the most beautiful setting inside and out for the PERFECT wedding. If you don't want to worry about weather issues on your wedding day, this is a perfect choice as well. They have beautiful accommodations for your wedding, cocktail hour and reception all, both inside and out. The quality of service and professionalism were just as lovely as the venue itself! Everyone with whom we worked put us completely at ease and we always felt we were in very capable hands! Early Mountain Vineyards is simply a magical venue for your reception! We highly recommend EMV to you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristina
Wedding:
3/15/2014
5.0/5.0
The venue is gorgeous and the staff is incredible!! All are very easy to work with and help made our special day perfect. The bridal cottage is a very special place to get ready. The new patio was a true hit with all of our guests for cocktail hour and the reception hall just stole the show! The landscape is perfect for pictures. It is an easy location to get to and tons of parking for guests. This is a perfect location to get married at and Early Mountain Vineyards and their staff will always have a place in our hearts. Oh and the wine is great!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
I fell in love with EMV, I think I stumbled across their site by chance after clicking on several different links while searching for a venue. If you have found EMV please stop looking elsewhere! I had lined up 3 venues to look at one weekend and after going to EMV I called the other 2 places and canceled my appointments. Delores and Nicollete are fantastic to work with and are always so happy to see you. Delores did a whole walk through with us and helped us decide where to place everything, she was so helpful! Most brides are first time brides like me and have no idea what to be thinking about, but with Delores's help your wedding will go smoothly. She even was the one to tell my bridal party when to enter - if she can help in any way she jumps at the opportunity. EMV really made my wedding day special and I couldn't ask for more!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abbey
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
We fell in love with Early Mountain Vineyards as soon as we saw the venue - it is beautiful and makes for a perfect winter wedding with its gorgeous grounds, cozy fireplaces and rustic sophistication. The only thing better than the picturesque venue was the experience we had with the staff. We could not be more happy with the service we were provided throughout our planning process - the event team was extremely professional, provided great suggestions, and went above and beyond with their flexibility to help to make our day perfect. We were lucky enough to visit several times leading up to our wedding day and the the team was always more than happy to make time for us (and never once seemed frustrated with our requests or incessant questions!). Overall, the EMV staff and venue exceeded all of our expectations. We will recommend the vineyard to all our friends and family and hope to visit throughout the year to remember our special day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Early Mountain Vineyards was the most perfect setting for our October wedding. The outdoor space for our ceremony offered beautiful views and served as a gorgeous backdrop. Their indoor event space is warm, welcoming, and exactly what we were looking for. The staff at Early Mountain really made our decision to choose them an easy one. They were responsive and very kind throughout the entire process. They were helpful and accommodating and always happy to answer our questions, and they never pressured us. I can't thank them enough!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We LOOOOVED Early Mountain Vineyard! The venue is absolutely gorgeous and our guests could not say enough good things about the location, décor, wine and venue. If you are looking for a location for your vineyard wedding, you must check out EMV. My husband and I had looked at almost every vineyard in central VA and by chance we’d learned of EMV. As soon as we walked out after an initial tour he turned to me and said we have to have our wedding there even though, as many grooms, he was less than thrilled to tour locations for our big day and to say the least had been until that point underwhelmed by all other sites we had visited.
The staff at EMV make the planning process easy and it was so nice having an entirely separate wing away from the main tasting room all to ourselves for our wedding. Further, the main hall and gallery are so beautifully decorated that you won’t even need all that much décor. This was especially helpful given that it ended up raining on our big day causing us to move everything inside in front of one of the great big fireplaces on site and surrounded by a hallow of lantern and candlelight (I don’t think it could have been more romantic). Also, EMV is surprisingly a great bang for your buck with all the extras they offer that would add up quickly if purchased/rented separately; EMV offers beautiful big farm tables, tons of available lanterns, stylish chairs that may be brought in from elsewhere on site for cozy seating areas around the fireplaces, a very cool, large fire pit, outdoor heaters, as well as the tables and upgraded chairs with cushions. I also loved that our guests could mosey around the vineyard and hang out at one one of the many firepits with Adirondack chairs and hammocks while listending the live music that always seems to be playing. Our caterer also LOVED the kitchen and prep areas that allowed us to save a bit of money since most of our food could be made on site. I’m so glad that we chose EMV for our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
8/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Early Mountain is a beautiful place for a wedding and the staff make it even better! The wedding coordinator at Early Mountain was always prompt in email response, available for meetings, and clear about the venue provisions and restrictions. She was also gracious, patient, and easy to work with. The staff at this venue also had great teamwork with the outside vendors, and as a result, the wedding and reception were amazing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
This was SUCH a great experience. I would recommend this venue to anyone, although since I have gotten married the price has gone considerably up. They only do one wedding a weekend so we were able to get things a little bit set up the day before and not be rushed. Working with the coordinators, it's clear that care about the couples getting married and not charging you extra at every turn. The price they give you is what you end up paying (plus any wine you buy). They do ask you to use their wine, but have no set amount you need to purchase. They don't require a caterer.
The site itself is insanely beautiful- kind of a modern rustic look. It has a great outdoor area and giant indoor reception hall. I have gotten so many compliments on the location of my wedding
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
XFTriangle
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
We only checked out 3 places with more on the list. Once we got to Sweely Estate Winery and didn't feel the need to look any further. We did a wine tasting while we were there, checked out the facility and met with Delores the hospitality Manager. Everyone was so polite and accommodating. The Winery is stunning, we loved the stone building and its exposed beams. Much of your wedding decoration is already done for you here. Once you look at this place you will know it was made for your wedding. The scenery is beautiful and definitely worth going out of your way to get married here. They have a list of recommended vendors which we took advantage of. Also onsite is a bridal cottage that is newly renovated and was perfect for getting ready in. We had our ceremony out on the lawn facing the mountains, cocktail hour on the patio and the reception was just inside. No traveling between locations, everything was very fluid.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
5/31/2014
4.8/5.0
Early Mountain Vineyard provided a beautiful backdrop for our wedding day. The staff was professional, flexible, and were willing to work with our schedules to accommodate our needs for the rehearsal and wedding day. We met with Nicolette to go over the details for the day and the room was set up just as we asked. The price was a bit high but was well worth it. I'd definitely suggest this space for future brides.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
4/26/2014
4.8/5.0
Early Mountain was a wonderful place to get married. The beauty of the venue is undeniable. The staff is also very accommodating. They quickly respond to any questions or requests, are flexible to ensure your vision of the day is met, and incredibly helpful. We were complimented throughout the day on the beauty of the setting. We could't have asked for a better place to hold our special day or better people to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Beautiful setting in the foothills of the Blue Ridge about one and a half hours from DC or Richmond. Absolutely gorgeous vistas of the mountains, grapevines, old barns, and farmland. The weather was perfect for the outdoor ceremony and we used the patio for pre and post ceremony cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. The event hall for the reception is grand but not at all stuffy. It's the perfect place for anything from rustic to elegant. They provided white resin folding chairs for the outdoor ceremony and 60"round tables and chiavari chairs with cushions for the indoor reception/dinner. They have a large commercial kitchens that the caterer loved and we used their 8' farm tables for desserts, gifts, and coffee. It's a very classy place with a down-to-earth, friendly staff and welcoming feel. The event manager was knowledgable, friendly, accommodating, and just plain fun to work with. We had a meet-and-greet the evening before the wedding in their tasting room. The guests absolutely loved it. Everyone got a chance to acquaint themselves with the location, enjoy the scenery, and meet others who would be attending the wedding. I think it was especially nice for single guests. It made it easy for them to connect with people they had talked to the night before. They have a lovely one bedroom guest cottage with three bathrooms that was available the day of the wedding. It was more than ample for accommodating my hair and makeup people, friends, and relatives who helped me prepare for the big day. In my opinion, despite the price, we couldn't have chosen a better venue for our wedding. It was absolutely perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emelie
Wedding:
9/30/2013
4.6/5.0
My husband and I were married on a Monday - a highly unusual situation! The staff at Early Mountain made everything on our end very easy, and the cost was significantly less expensive than for a weekend wedding. Every step of the way, they communicated what they needed from us. This venue is incredibly convenient; there is an outdoor and indoor ceremony space (in case of rain), elevators for the small staircases (in case of elderly guests), ceremony chairs and chiavari chairs included, and beautiful spaces for both the men and women to get ready separately! They also allow an outside caterer, and have no minimum fee on wine consumption. The only miscommunications we had were very minor and on the day of the wedding rehearsal - and our wedding went off seamlessly! This is an absolutely stunning space and in a very quiet location. There is simply no downside. I highly recommend this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margaret
Wedding:
8/31/2013
4.6/5.0
We loved everything about our wedding at Early Mountain! The bridal cottage to get ready in was spectacular. The men had a great board room with plenty of space to dress in. The ceremony cite and the banquet room were both fantastic and EMV was very flexible to work with. Go check it out!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caytlin
Wedding:
6/1/2013
3.8/5.0
Early Mountain Vineyards is not only a gorgeous vineyard but the grounds and reception hall are breathtaking! During the planning process of my wedding I was very pleased with Delores and Nicolette, the event coordinators of Early Mountain Vineyards (EMV). They responded to my questions promptly, assisted with room layouts and helped me envision the flow of my big day! EMV’s bridal cottage to get ready in, and spend our first night as newlyweds was a true dream! The bridal cottage was able to accommodate not only a beautiful spread of food for my bridal luncheon, but hair artists and assistant, and a makeup artist! There was plenty of room for my bridesmaids and I to spread out, relax and enjoy the day while still having full bridal beauty staff on site and in the same location without being crowded. EMV also had a grooms corner, or a man cave for Jon and his crew to hang out in before the wedding ceremony, and this was away from the bridal cottage, and away from the commotion of the ceremony and reception hall, so they had some privacy as well and a location to store all the bridal party’s belongings while the event was occurring! EMV staff was also very helpful in getting a stain out of Jon’s jacket, because he had some red wine substance spill on his wedding suit! In addition, EMV was very helpful in coordinating and assisting with cleanup for the wedding reception.
However on the day of my wedding, they dropped the ball in executing the “Big Day”. My major requests were not executed, and my family, my Mom in particular had to keep stopping what she was doing to redirect the staff and get the things done! My Mom should not have had to been an event coordinator on my wedding day when Early Mountain Vineyard has two capable women staffed for such a purpose and who you basically pay for. By EMV not following our requests, my wedding was delayed to begin by 30 minutes which offset the entire evening.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
6109 Wolftown-Hood Road, Madison, VA 22727 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Early Mountain Vineyards
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1366992245096-000043000016