Nophoto-130

Eden West Weddings

Carmel , CA

LOCATION

PO Box 22947
Carmel, CA US 93923

PHONE

877-262-6370

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Planning

REVIEWS

2.2
out of 5.0
2.1/5.0
2.3/5.0
2.0/5.0
2.2/5.0
2.6/5.0
Sort by
Default
M
Wedding:
10/27/2012
0.0/5.0
My story is the same as most of the bad reviews here. No responses from Michael, broken promises, lies, deception. We've paid him over $1300 via his former company name Eden West Weddings, and he has done nothing on our behalf. He has not reserved the beach for our wedding (which will now cost us $400), he has not paid any money to our reception venue (The Forge). He claimed that we needed to make our deposit in January, or we would not be able to secure the pricing he had quoted us for our reception at that venue; so we paid the money, despite the fact that at that time, our wedding was still 11 months away. The price per person for our reception has since risen by approximately $10 per person anyway, despite the fact that we made the deposit when it was requested, back in January. He is now nowhere to be found, and has several cases pending against him.

Please - if you've been frauded, disappointed, or not given the services you paid for from Michael, please join the case against him and call Deputy Ivan Rodriguez of the Monterey Sheriff's Department at (831) 647-7702. There is strength in numbers, and you may get some of your money back.

Thank you
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandrah
Wedding:
10/20/2012
0.8/5.0
My wedding planning began 11 mos ago with Weddings in Carmel with Micheal. I put a deposit on our wedding package right away to assure my permit for Stewarts Cove. I started pinning on pinterest and posting pics on facebook (mike was a fb friend) used vendors from the valley where I live. had a florist from my area but found her business was struggling, so Mike said he would handle the flowers, as he was a floritst for 20yrs, wedding day I recieved a call from Mike telling me I had til 11am to relocated my wedding to my reception hall due to the possiblity of rain. I told him no, i planned to be married on the beach rain or shine.He delivered my flower @2pm to my hotel room I was missing bouquets, I could have done better buying them at the grocery store, the boutonierres were random flower tops with masking taping them together. No flowers for the bicycles, no vases. pulled up to beach I seen no color on the chuppah. My heart fell to my knees. @ my car & said Im sorry we have had some issues, my guitarist was in an accident. I said where's my "deluxe chuppah". He said Im sorry you will get every penny back. cops were there to cancel my wedding for he had no permit. My dad offered to write a check they said no problem just hurry.walked down the stairs I can only imagine the confusion on my face. at the start of the aisle i barely could see the flowers that was supposed to be "deluxe aisle pathway with flowers&greenery". As I stood in front of my groom I kept telling my self to smile, i was finding myself tuning in & out from the dissapointment.wedding pics on the beach were rushed as another ceremony was being set up. I wasnt gonna ruin that brides ceremony as mine was.at my reception, i checked facebook to find he deactivated his page. After the reception i got on line to find wedding wire reviews that had me in tears. If its the last thing i do I will STOP this scammer from ruining other brides special day.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandi
Wedding:
12/26/2011
0.0/5.0
I contact for travel purposes, to book a trip to Carmel, CA. He promptly responded, charged my Credit Card using Eden Valley Weddings, only to arrive in Carmel and be turned away with a note on the door. Note stated we couldn't take possession of the unit, and that we would have to find alternative lodging for our vacation. Unbelievable way to ruin a vacation! I contacted him several times for a refund, all have gone unanswered. At the suggestion of other's posted messages, I will be contact the Monterey County Sheriff's office. Please we aware, do not do business with this man, he is a criminal.
Services Used: Travel
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JJ
Wedding:
10/8/2011
0.0/5.0
Future Brides & Grooms Beware! Weddings in Carmel / Eden West Weddings Company Stole Thousands of Dollars from Us!

We had to hire a Lawyer to get the Photographer Sub-Contracted by the Owner, Michael Schellous, of the above mentioned companies, to Release our Wedding Photos since Michael was PAID IN FULL by us 30 days in advance of Our Wedding per his demand, and he did not pay his Photographer!

Michael and his staff, Sheri, Danielle, and Taylor were all contacted by us via emails and voice mails on numerous occasions after our Wedding, and never once did any of them even have the decency to respond to us! Not Once! They even changed their phone numbers numerous times throughout this time frame; no doubt to attempt to elude others.....

It has taken us awhile to write this "review" after all that has transpired, but with the dreams and plans of soon to be Newlyweds approaching in the Beautiful Monterey / Carmel Peninsula approaching in the Spring and Summer, we do not want for any of you to have to have an experience like we did Post Wedding.

My Wife and I are residents of the Bay Area and have been visitors of beautiful Carmel by the Sea for over a decade. Since picturesque Carmel is one of our favorite places on the planet, we decided early in the year 2011 to get married there; the weather was perfect and the day was magical and it is such a fond memory.

Since we have special relationships with many proprietors in Carmel we coordinated most all of the details of our special day ourselves. We had our families stay at our favorite hotel and we had our Wedding Reception held at our favorite restaurant.

We contracted an individual named Mike owner of Weddings in Carmel and Eden West Weddings and his staff to take care of many of the other items and details associated with Our Wedding under our instructions.

Mike's company insists on being paid in full for everything 30 days prior to the Wedding Day. We did this. Part of our package was professional photos. We paid for a huge wedding photo package that included 200 professional photographs. These photos were to be received by us within 10 days after our day.

Ten days after our Wedding, my Wife and I began sending emails and leaving voice mails for Mike and various members of his staff. Not once did anybody respond. We then contacted their photographer, the owner of Red Eye Collection, on Wednesday November 2nd to see if we could find out what the delay was.

To our shock, their photographer said that he had had our photos ready for us for weeks but Weddings in Carmel did not pay him so he was not releasing our Wedding Photos to us.

We repeatedly emailed and left voice mails for everyone at Weddings in Carmel and no one ever responded.

Weddings in Carmel stole thousands of dollars from us. My wife and I experienced an enormous amount of emotional stress over this and my wife cried every day since that Wednesday when we learned that Weddings in Carmel / Mike did not pay their photographer and he was adamant about not giving us our Wedding Photos that we paid for.

Weddings in Carmel put a scar on our Wedding Day and every day that went by only caused the scar to get deeper because we were now going to have to fight to get our Wedding Photos that we paid for an entire month in advance.

We want to tell you our story because Carmel by the Sea is such a special place and people like Mike and his staff should not be able to do business there only to steal money from consumers on what is supposed to be the most sacred special day of their lives.

In summary, I highly recommend that if you want to get married in the Monterey / Carmel Peninsula area that you do not hire Weddings in Carmel / Eden West Weddings owned by Michael; they talk a good talk, but once they have your money they are unresponsive, unprofessional and in our case they will steal your money and you will have to hire a Lawyer!

And if you have to, like us, have to hire a Lawyer to get your Wedding Photos released since they were being held as "ransom" like we had to, you will regret it, and it will cost you more money and unnecessary emotional heartache. You have been informed and you have been warned.....
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Zuzana
Wedding:
10/8/2011
0.1/5.0
RATING: 0! Eden West caused me a WEDDING EMOTIONAL TRAUMA! We had our wedding ceremony planned by Eden West aka Weddings in Carmel. I have to express my absolute disappointment with poor organization of two organizers Danielle and Michael. After several months of planning, exchanging of emails, and receiving confirmation emails, the wedding ceremony was a TOTAL DISASTER. The company didn’t deliver 85% of what was agreed on in the contract (wrong flowers for the bride, NO no music on the beach!!!, no minister, wrong vows, a horrible wedding cake,..). It was a total wedding scam. The company paid no attention to the details and never mind the amount or time and research I put into researching for them and sending them emails that Mike’s company ignored. When we asked Mike for a refund of things that were not arranged he promised to pay us but after the promise he is not replying to our email and calls!!! I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone who wants to have a pleasant wedding in Carmel. Please try someone else or do it yourself. Mike stopped picking up his phone, stopped email communication with us and never return the money he owes us for the items that he didn't deliver. These people are total armatures and cannot be trusted!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darla
Wedding:
9/16/2011
1.0/5.0
We booked lodging for the weekend for a home we found through Vacation Rentals by Owner. Mike represented the owners of the home. We had a good time and he upgraded us to a marvelous home for the same rate, which was an excellent value.
Problem is: our credit card was charged in full twice for the same booking, once at the time of the reservation and a second time two weeks later which was still 6 weeks prior to our arrival. We were able to contact Mike once, and he promised to reverse the double charge, but never did. All subsequent attempts to contact and get refunded have fallen on deaf ears.
Our experience of being defrauded seems to be common place with this company and person, given the comments on this site. At first we thought this was an accident that would be remedied, but based on others' experiences, this "problem with the money part" seems to be systematic.
Services Used: Travel
Default-vendor-profile-pic
babycynthia
Wedding:
8/14/2011
0.0/5.0
I would like to preface this review with a note that this is not regarding Vicki Habib in any way shape or form, but with Mike (the owner) who is based in California. I spoke with Vicki yesterday to find out that Mike has not given any of my deposit to the coordinator (Vicki) in Hawaii to book my wedding. Vicki told me that she has been trying to contact him for 2 weeks with no answer or call back. I phoned today to see why this was a when he answered his phone, lied to me and told me he was away and there was no one else to help me. This all ONE MONTH before my wedding! BEWARE!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
7/31/2011
1.4/5.0
Very disappointing. I called them with only 6 weeks to plan my wedding and was happy to know that they could secure a permit for a Stewart's Cove wedding for 140 people. They returned my emails and phone calls very quickly UNTIL.... I paid. After I paid, it was like pulling teeth getting them to respond. I sent Danielle a question via email and didn't hear anything for several days. I finally emailed again asking her to respond. This happened twice. Also, I needed to speak with their sound guy regarding sound and it took him about two weeks to get back to me. He did give me half off on the sound equipment, but honestly, the sound equipment was a complete joke. I was half tempted to write them after the wedding asking for a refund on the money I paid for the sound, but I just wanted to be done with them. I was told I would have sound for a guitar and two microphones. The sound guy couldn't figure out how to get the sound going, and the only reason why we had any sound at all at our wedding was because the best man brought his own sound equipment just in case. Yes, I paid for a sound guy, but our best man ended up providing us with the equipment and expertise. And I had to repeatedly ask for an invoice for the sound prices.

Also, I asked Danielle a question about getting some portable restrooms at the ceremony site. She said she'd get back to me but she never did.

They did set up the chairs as requested, but they showed up with a bunch of high school kids who didn't know how to set up chairs. They set them up with no aisle space. Literally, like 6 inches in between the aisles. I couldn't even walk down them. I had to tell the kids to re-do it. And they arrived so close to our start time that the chairs were not completely done when our guests arrived. Also, I looked up while I was taking pictures before the ceremony and saw all our groomsmen unloading the chairs! Excuse me, I paid for this company to unload the chairs. My groomsmen should not have had to unload the chairs. (They did it because they realized there wasn't going to be enough time to unload everything before the ceremony started).

A couple things about the Stewart's Cove site that they don't mention on their site. 1) Parking sucks 2) There's no handicapped access 3) There are bathrooms- gross bathrooms- about a half mile away.

All in all, I guess they delivered what they promised. Barely. But for the total price, I probably could have paid some friends and family to do it better for me and much more professionally. I would not recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kiersten
Wedding:
6/21/2011
3.3/5.0
I also have a complaint about Mike, the owner. I had a beautiful wedding in Maui planned by Vicki. She was wonderful to work with and I was a stress free bride. However, I have been anxiously waiting for my photos since my wedding was nearly 3 months ago. I was recently contacted by my photographer saying he is holding my photos because he had not been paid. He was very sorry and assured me my photos are safe but he cannot send them yntil he is paid. He also said the company has done this with other vendors.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jami -e79
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Mike with Eden West was fantastic! I could not have not asked for more. Not to mention Mike did so much to make sure I had the perfect Wedding but still stayed in my budget. My flowers, my set-up everything was more than I expected. He even helped with my reception & charged no fees on his behave not to mention he had another planner there as well the entire night, not even to mention the fact that she held my 3 year old asleep in her arms the entire night in front off the fire. They truly did treat us like family.

Jami and Steve Espinoza
March 26, 2011
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1271184740835-p1010791closeup
Jackie
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
We got married in Olowalu, Maui and our wedding coordinator was Vicki Habib. I couldn't say enough good things about Vicki. She took care of every wedding detail and I did not have to worry about a thing! I was very impressed with the caterer she used. Was a little nervous at first that we weren't going to have a tasting but the food and the cake were absolutely amazing! If you are planning a destination wedding in Maui, Vicki is highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mindy
Wedding:
9/18/2010
0.5/5.0
We got married in Carmel and we had ordered chairs, unbrella and buckets for the water bottles
I was very disappointed their service on the day of the event (which is the most important part)
1) They had one guy that showed up and stood around setting up 1 chair per 5 minutes while he waited for the second person to come help him. in the end my guest that showed up early and bridal party had to help setup the chair to get them done by the 10am commit time. to top it off there was someone from their office that was showing another bride the location and not only did they barged in while everyone was hurrying to setup they also did nothing about the fact that the chairs were not being setup in time other than to say 'maybe we should have setup earlier'
2)They also tried to add an 18% charge to the price of the chairs after i had already signed a contract. i had to email them twice and eventually call before they sent me a bill for the correct amount
3) As for the water bottles that they stated would be ice down before the wedding. first the bucket were late and not 'nice, wedding ones' as promised they were cheap crappy buckets. The bottles had to by setup by a guest since they had a different guy drop off the bucket and it was at the last minute (after the chairs) and he did nothing with the water bottles as they had previously stated

I did have high hopes for your company since Mike had done a lot of help in the beginning (telling me where guest can park, helping to find a photographer, ...) but in the end the company did not deliver

I will definitely not be using their services in the future (don't be fooled by they up front help as they will drop the ball when it really counts)

It was a beautiful wedding despite the lack of effort on they part (thank goodness I have great family and friends)
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mazion
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Mike & his team at Eden West Weddings are awesome! Very professional, responsive, flexible, & they pay attention to details. Nothing is impossible! My wedding was exactly the way we wanted it to be from start to finish. The vendors that they use are also very professional from the florist, guitarist, photographer, minister, etc.. I have no negative feedback
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Bg20
Annette
Wedding:
4/17/2010
4.9/5.0
Sheree was wonderful! We live in Austin and wanted a wedding in Carmel, so I needed a wedding planner to take care of all the details. She chose our minister, guitarist, photographer, and florist. I talked to her on the phone a few times and that was it! I loved Douglas MacDonald, who did a great job. He was so easy to work with and I loved his voice and demeanor. The guitarist was really good, and my flowers were absolutely beautiful! And last but certainly not least, the photographer (Brad at LuminEssence) was fantastic. It could not have gone better. Here is a slide show that Brad put together so you can see the flowers,...

http://animoto.com/play/VQngFXXfBsrF9Q1iOjXeoQ
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amy
Wedding:
9/10/2008
5.0/5.0
I have nothing but praise for Garrett and his team at Eden West weddings. I live in the UK and didnt actually meet until him a day before the wedding. As any bride will know you want everything to be perfect and as stress free as possible and that is exactly what we got. Handing the reigns over to Eden West weddings wasn't daunting in any way, we felt totally at ease with letting them know what we wanted and leaving them to do this and this was because they made us feel totally at ease and i had constant updates throughout the 5 month run up to the wedding!! The flowers were AMAZING so beautiful, the location - Stewarts Cove all we could have dreamed for, the officiate and photographer were absoloutely lovely and so helpful and our wedding planner Garrett was just fabulous! I would highly recommend their services I think it is brilliant they gave us the wedding of our dreams and at the end of the day that is all a bride and groom wish for!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Transportation, Wedding Venue, Videography, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dianna
Wedding:
9/8/2007
2.2/5.0
The ceremony was lovely but I was very dissatisfied with this service. I spoke with my minister prior to the ceremony about what I wanted said at the ceremony, and she didn't go over anything I requested (for example, I asked her to mention my father who passed away recently and she left that part out). Not to mention, the minister was 20 minutes late! The wedding planner was rude and pushy and made us pick up every rose petal off the ground that was scattered before the ceremony. I would not recommend this service to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
8/5/2006
4.0/5.0
I really loved everything about this company and their attention to detail. I just sent them some of my ideas and they put it all together. The flowers were absolutely amazing. I could not have dreamed of a better floral arrangement. The only thing that was not so good was that we did not meet until the night before the wedding to go over set up and final details. For me I like to know what is being done so I can fix it if there is a problem and this caused concern for me. Overall, I loved my wedding and wouldn't change it for anything in the world!
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Eden West Weddings
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220