Nophoto-130

Ediths Bridal

Fond Du Lac , WI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

9 South Main Street
Fond du Lac, WI US 54935 (map)

PHONE

920-921-2420

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

REVIEWS

3.8
out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
3.8/5.0
3.7/5.0
3.8/5.0
3.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/14/2014
4.0/5.0
Overall great experience, but some bumps along the way: we got everything from my gown, bridesmaids, tuxes, flower girl dress, MOB dress, etc. Stephanie in bridesmaid dresses is fabulous, and Jane in alterations was amazing to work with. Sometimes we had snotty girls at the alterations desk counter. Overall my main complaint is that I was told I was too "well endowed" to wear cups, so I searched forever for a bra that would work. Bought a bra that was not returnable for over $100; when I came back and said I was uncomfortable and this was the best I could find, was told to try and cups, which ended up working and had to pay again for alterations. Also some of the alterations are over priced--I paid $90 for a little bit to be taken in on the bust by my armpits.

Lastly, my sister got pregnant unexpectadely, and one of the alterationists was very rude, questioning her if she knew she was pregnant when she ordered the dress, if she knew she was preganant when she picked up with dress (she didn't), and that they would charge her a rush fee, My other sister was preganat at the time and they told her they make special exceptions for preganant women because they continue to grow and need to make changes closer to the date of the wedding. Once we complained that we were told there would be no rush fee because she is preganant, they removed the charge. Overall, stick with Jane for alterations--I worked with her later on near my wedding--she was very knowledgeable and helpful, while making us feel comfortable. Ediths has a wide variety, beautiful dresses, and way better customer service than David's Bridal.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adam
Wedding:
10/11/2013
0.6/5.0
My fiancée went to Edith's bridal twice looking for bridesmaid dresses. Both times the attendant assigned was attempting to juggle several different appointments and could not devote much time to what my fiancée needed; the second time the attendant's attitude left something to be desired. Once a couple of dresses were singled out, she wanted to purchase a color swatch for me in case I went somewhere else for my tuxes. They made her bridesmaid sign a contract for a dress even though a final one wasn't actually selected or ordered and charged her $50 just to receive the swatch.

The next day my fiancée opted to go somewhere else but still wanted to purchase the sashes from Edith's. She called in order to tell them and see if the $50 could be applied towards a different purchase in their store as the dresses would not be bought from there and nothing had actually been ordered. The Edith's rep on the phone stated they followed their policy and that the $50 was non-refundable or transferable. My fiancée tried explaining she was not looking for a refund and wanted to conduct business with them but not for any dresses just sashes. The rep refused and said the $50 could not be used elsewhere in their store and that they had followed policy and nothing further could be done. Needless to say, they made my decision easy on not going there for my tuxes.

Shortly after my fiancée called David's Bridal in Appleton to ask for a swatch that she found in one of their catalogs. They charged her $1 per each sample and agreed to mail them to our house. Now that's some excellent customer service!

I wouldn't recommend Edith's as they seemed fairly unprofessional and somewhat uncaring. I understand and respect that businesses need to have policies, but requiring a $50 payment for a business card sized swatch of cloth seems a bit unnecessary.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sue
Wedding:
12/31/2011
4.7/5.0
Just writing a quick note to thank Edith’s and the wonderful staff for helping me look my best on my wedding day! The dress looked beautiful! Keep up the great work. My Mom got her dress at your store and I hope you will be around if we have daughter who needs a dress.
Sue
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
12/18/2011
5.0/5.0
The service at Edith's was just right. I didn't want someone hovering or overbearing. They were professional and helpful. Our dresses and tuxes were beatiful and fit great.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky
Wedding:
9/24/2011
3.6/5.0
I had no promlem with my dress but &my flower girl's dress ended up getting discontinuied & they never contacted me & by the time i found out about it we couldn't get it i was so mad that i ended up having a friend make her a dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.2/5.0
I found my dress at Ediths - the first place I looked. Of course after finding the dress I looked at two other bridal shops to be sure, but nothing measured up to the first one that I found here. The staff at Edits were all very friendly and helpful and they did my alterations beautifully. My only concern was the pressure to purchase a dress that was at least 2 dress sizes larger than the one I had requested. The "floor model" that I tried on fit me well - if only a little snug. Based on this and my measurements I was recommonded to purchase a dress two full sizes larger and then pay for alterations. After much discussion I decided to purchase the dress in the current size but in a "wider" size. This dress fit perfectly, however it wasn't explained to me that the wider size would require a side panel that shifted the side seam on the dress. With the beading on the dress and the shifted side seam the overall look was one that made me actually look *much* wider.... In the end I'm sure I'm the only one that really noticed, but I would have been happier in the original size that I wanted without the pressure to purchase up.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
9/10/2011
1.4/5.0
I went in about 3 months before the wedding to pick up my bridesmaid dress for the first fitting after being measured. The dress was way too small which I didn't expect it to fit perfectly anyway. I had talked with a staff member about letting it out as much as possible and she told me to come back at the end of August for another fitting. When I came back in early September, no alterations were even made. When I asked what the point of me coming in July was, she said that was just a consultation. I asked if the alterations would be done on time for the wedding and they said I would be charged a rush fee. Now they said I have to come in for a third time for a fitting (I live about 45 minutes away so this is very inconvenient). So far, absolutely nothing has been done with the dress and they made no effort to fix the situation.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Wwnetwork-128
Tammy
Wedding:
9/4/2011
1.0/5.0
Awful wedding experience. I would never recommend anyone to have their wedding experience here. The staff overall was rude and unhelpful. There was one young lady in bridal that I give props to, but management was rude and had major attitude. She did not help in anyway. They made several mistakes and thought an apology was sufficient after wasting more than $600 to fix all their mistakes. I have never had such a poor shopping experience in my life. I got more help from the Formal Event in Appleton and didn't even buy my dress or bridesmaid dresses.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1303739519718-dsc1035copysaraadam3
Sara
Wedding:
8/20/2011
4.4/5.0
My dress was perfect! I thought the alterations were expensive. It took them a few tries to get the length right, but besides that very good experiance!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Galadriel
Wedding:
8/6/2011
4.8/5.0
I had a good experience with Edith's. I got my dress, bridesmaid dresses, and my mom's dress here. My dress was a great value, and fit perfectly after the alterations. The bridesmaids all had alterations done elsewhere, but everyone looked beautiful in the dresses. The only thing I didn't like was feeling very rushed through the fittings process. My first and second fittings were very rushed, felt like a number. Other than that, really helpful and nice people, good experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
5/7/2011
4.5/5.0
I was able to pick out the perfect wedding dress at Edith's. There was not need for alterations since it was a tie back. My only issue with them was that it took them three visits to get my bussling right. I had to try the dress on the day that I picked it up because they ended up having to redo all of the bussling. But all in all, it was a beautiful dress and a good experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1334679851965-wedding2
addyowens11
Wedding:
4/16/2011
3.8/5.0
Edith's has by far one of the largest selections of brides and bridesmaids dresses around. Unfortunately, these dresses are all in much smaller sizes and make it difficult for people of varying shapes and sizes to try on. It is also very difficult to schedule an appointment that fits into your schedule for sizing and fittings unless done way ahead of time.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi & Jay
Wedding:
10/31/2010
5.0/5.0
Edith's has the largest selection of dresses i have seen in one place. Their staff is very professional and helpful. I bought my dress, bridesmaids dresses, and rented the tuxes from Ediths. They have evening and weekend hours which made it easy for me to make fitting appointments since I'm from out of town. They also offer discounts on bridesmaid dresses and tux rentals if you purchase your wedding dress from them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1264697568999-p1010056
Danielle
Wedding:
8/28/2010
2.8/5.0
I will begin with the good: my wedding gown was gorgeous and the cost was reasonable. It fit very well, the bustle was great, and the alterations held up. The young lady who helped me select it was wonderful. Now the bad: my seamstress was quite rude and often the things she said she would fix were not fixed until I reminded her multiple times. Two of my bridesmaid dresses were fitted terribly: even after the final fitting the day before the wedding they hung off my bridesmaids and looked sloppy and unflattering. The straps broke and some of the interior stitching ripped during wedding day. Alterations were expensive and not worth the substandard results. Take your dresses to a different local seamstress you trust. The final pressing was way too expensive; we took it to a local dry cleaner for half the cost. Overall, I was mostly satisfied with my wedding gown, however my bridesmaids were not happy with their dresses. Seamstress service was substandard and overpriced. Get your dresses here and then run for alterations.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lizswan
Wedding:
6/26/2010
4.6/5.0
I got my dress from Edith's and so did my bridesmaids. We all had a great experience with all of the staff. It was a great experience. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
6/26/2010
3.9/5.0
Picking out my dress went very well. The only problems we encountered were that all my bridesmaid dresses were way too big for all the girls and then ended up costing them another $100 each for alterations. A few of the seamstresses were wonderful while others were very rude. Overall though my experience as the bride was very good. I cannot say the same for my bridesmaids.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
val
Wedding:
5/22/2010
4.5/5.0
Got my bridesmaid dresses hear. People were good, price was ok found the dresses cheaper somewhere else later and they gave me the same price.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellen
Wedding:
9/5/2009
3.8/5.0
Got our tuxes there- the guy is so professional like it's his life. Loved him. He really knows his stuff. I heard tons of horror stories about brides there tho so I didn;t get my dress there. They were rude to me and my bridesmaids plenty of times tho. They aren't all for us just browsing really without an appt. And theyre like any other place where the try so hard to get you to buy the wrong size dress- much like davids bridal- but i have no bad to say about the tuxes :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Missing_profile
csichica33
Wedding:
8/22/2009
2.0/5.0
The staff at Edith's were helpful, and they had a good selection, but beware...they will not tell you the designer of any of the gowns until after you have purchased them. I can understand that they don't want people going and buying them online or something, but if they don't tell you the designer AND they don't allow pictures...how is a girl ever supposed to remember them and pick one? There was one I really liked, but due to lack of picture and designer name, I was never able to find it and will never know who's it was. Needless to say I did not buy my dress there, I need a little more freedom than that.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ALIEB
Wedding:
9/5/2008
3.0/5.0
They did a great job with mine (the brides) dress but we had some issues with the junior bridesmaids alterations. Be selective about the seamstress you let do the alterations because some of them are very bad and very rude.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
WIBride
Wedding:
8/23/2008
3.0/5.0
Loved my dress from here, although alterations took a few times to get right. However, big problems when it came to my flower girl dress. Had to purchase the floor dress because it was no longer available to order....the dress had several pearls that needed to be re-sewn, and we were assured that this would be done quickly. Then we got a call that the dress was done.....went to pick it up, and it was not done. In fact, the dress was back on the floor with no record of it being ours. It wasn't fixed, and from there we had to have them re-fix it at least 4 more times. Finally I stood next to the seamstress and made her fix the ones that we had talked about for the past 4 months. I was furious....and ultimately they did nothing to compensate us for all of the troubles.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brooke
Wedding:
8/2/2008
3.5/5.0
We rented our tuxes without a problem. They were friendly to us and the guys looked great!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie G.
Wedding:
8/2/2008
4.5/5.0
We got our Calvin Klein tuxedos and I got my gown from Edith's. The tuxedos were perfect with my bridesmaids' dresses, and Edith's was the only place I could find "diamond white" shirts to match the exact color of my dress. Other shops only had white or ivory available. One part of my dress bustle fell out at the reception, but that was easily fixed with a safety pin and the only problem I encountered. The staff at Edith's was very friendly. Overall, I was very happy with the service we got there. The only somewhat negatives were that I sometimes had to wait a while to be served when I had an appointment and it took 3 dress fittings to do very minor alterations.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
10/13/2007
3.5/5.0
I was really happy with Edith's. They provided a wide variety of wedding dresses at reasonable prices. However, when it came time to have it altered, they did not have it done by the day I was suppose to come in and try it on again. So that was super disappointing but they did get it done eventually and it turned out looking wonderful. So I might shop around for alteration places.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kirsten
Wedding:
8/4/2007
2.9/5.0
I loved my dress and didn't find another elsewhere I liked as much. It was, however, expensive. They also did great on the alterations.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angie
Wedding:
6/23/2007
4.0/5.0
Buying the dress was a wonderful expereince. They took there time, let me try on anything I had imagined and had a cost I was very happy with compared with other vendors in the area. I would probably not suggest going there for fittings and alterations. They do a good job, but are understaffed and don't keep appointments well.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angie
Wedding:
6/23/2007
4.1/5.0
Overall, I had a wonderful experience. My piece of advice would be to buy your dress(es) at Edith's, but go somewhere else for alterations. Purchasing the dress was fantastic, but getting in for alterations and the alterationprices would lead me elsewhere for those services.
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Burndt2
Wedding:
10/21/2006
3.2/5.0
They were supposed to contact me when my dress came in and they didn't. I had to call them to find out that it had been there a week already. They were not very good at calling me back either. I already had my dress picked out before I went there. The only reason I drove up there was because they were the only store within 2 hours that had the dress I wanted, so I didn't really experience their service in that way. When I was dealing with them in the store, it was kind of like I was just buying any old item of clothing at any other store. It was just an average experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
soccerbride2515
Wedding:
6/26/2006
4.2/5.0
I thought Edith's did an absolutely wonderful job. We got all the the dresses and tuxes from Edith's. They are very customer oriented and provide excellent service especially with the tuxes. The only bad thing I can really say is they had to alter my dress 3 times.
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Invitations, Jewelry
130x130_sq_1248742921973-p1000672
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.6/5.0
I would not have chosen this shop if it wasn't the only shop in the area that carried the dress that I liked. Upon dress shopping I felt like the person helping me was impatient and talked down to me. She ignored my feedback and seemed only concerned with my mothers. If I said I didnt like a gown, she tried to tell me that I did. Aside from this, they do not allow you to take pictures of the gowns until you commit to a sale. I found this frustrating as I was unable to leave to think about whether it really was my dress. My first fitting was fine, but my mom had to tell the seamstress that she was pinning too high and the crinoline was showing. When I went to pick up the dress I requested one final try-on because the bra cups I had requested were not yet in place at my second fitting (which was a month before). As I was taking the dress off the hanger to try it on a final time, I noticed that the bra cups still were not sewn in. When I told the seamstress of this she was fortunately able to find the size that fit me and sew them in while we waited. I am not sure what would have happened if they did not have the right size. While everything worked out in the end, I cannot recommend this bridal shop.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.8/5.0
I loved my dress and the seamstress did excellent on my alterations!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
I purchased my dress from Ediths and was extremely happy with it. The lady that helped me was Carol Ann and she was very sweet, worked with me even when I had no clue what I wanted, and gave helpful opinions and quality customer service! I didn't purchase the dress the first day I tried it on, but went back later after I found it more expensive at another bridal shop. They don't allow pictures until you put money down, which sucks...but I guess they expect you'll try to find it cheaper elsewhere if you know exactly what it looks like and who the designer is...They did tell me to order up several sizes from the sample, which I was shocked by..I chose to order a 10, instead of the 12 they recommended and everything worked out just fine even without me working out, so go with your gut on what size to order! I did opt to take the dress out for alterations and was happy I did that. I met with my alterations lady at least 3-4 times in the city I live in, had it shortened, cups put in, steamed 3 times, and busseled for $100- the lady was amazing! I would have paid at least double that in the store. We also got our suits from Edith's and were very happy with that service as well! The guys looked great and had no real problems and I got many compliments on my dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Thank you so much for your help last week while I tried on dresses. Your patience and expertise were greatly appreciated not only by me, but by my mom, aunt and cousin as well. You had so many different suggestions and your willingness to go the extra mile certainly made a great impression on all of us. I can’t wait to see the final product.
Corinne
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
[Private]
3.5/5.0
My experience was very pleasant and the staff was very helpful and professional.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
I got my wedding dress from Edith's, and we also rented the tuxes for the men from here. The wedding dress selection is great. They have many different sizes so you can actually try on a dress in your size and see how it fits. Not like other places where they use clips to make the dress semi fit you. The customer service is also awesome. I felt like the staff gave me as much time as I needed trying on dresses and never rushed me. The men were also happy with the tux rentals. We were very pleased with our attire from Edith's.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
8/9/2003
4.4/5.0
They were amazing to work with since we had a fast timeline. They were very professional. The seamstress was amazing.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
9 South Main Street, Fond du Lac, WI 54935 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Ediths Bridal
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo