130x130_sq_1400091943890-lobb

El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel

Carolina , PR

LOCATION

6063 Isla Verde Avenue
Carolina, PR US 00979 (map)

PHONE

787-791-1000

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

An Ideal Setting For A Truly Unforgettable San Juan Puerto Rico Wedding

Enjoy the most glamorous casino and finest white-sand beach on the Island of Enchantment - El San Juan... Read more
An Ideal Setting For A Truly Unforgettable San Juan Puerto Rico Wedding

Enjoy the most glamorous casino and finest white-sand beach on the Island of Enchantment - El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel. This captivating property features perfect indoor and outdoor venues for memorable San Juan wedding ceremonies. Celebrate your special day al fresco, beside a cascading waterfall, or barefoot on the sands of Isla Verde Beach. Create a stunning affair in the dramatic setting of our International Ballroom. With a beachfront location - just five minutes from Luis Muñoz Marin International Airport - our Resort is an easy travel destination for all guests. Whether your celebration is for 10 or 800, discover exquisite cuisine, impeccable service, and versatile event space at this alluring San Juan Puerto Rico wedding destination, including:
35,000 square feet of elegant event space, including 14 rooms and dramatic outdoor spaces, for intimate gatherings for 10 to elaborate celebrations for 800 La Terraza, a breezy, tropical setting with indoor and outdoor seating, overlooking the pool, gardens, and Isla Verde beachfront. The most propular venue for destination weddings. Encanto, at the edge of the pool, facing the ocean, complete with bar, an elegant outdoor location for receptions for up to 250 or banquets for up to 200 Banyan Tree, a dramatic ceremony backdrop and wonderful location for receptions for up to 225 Panorama, with a breath taking view to Isla Verde area International Ballroom, a lovely space for large celebrations accommodating up to 800, featuring an 18-foot ceiling and charming terrace Salon Tropicoro, a festive setting for receptions, accommodating up to 400 Orquidea Room, an elegant, 1,700-square-foot space accommodating up to 120 guests Gardenia Room, a lovely, 1,482-square-foot room accommodating up to 100 Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1384289346144-wedding-osorio-marichal-wedding-ballroom-stair
130x130_sq_1384289259430-wedding-couple---lobb
130x130_sq_1384289303226-weddingcandace124
130x130_sq_1313766342177-0399
130x130_sq_1313790350387-laterraza002
130x130_sq_1313790368327-0414
130x130_sq_1313790390620-laterrazahotelsannjua021
130x130_sq_1313790410791-lorenze517
130x130_sq_1313790434144-lorenze515
130x130_sq_1313790452099-0416
130x130_sq_1333996943767-406579101504932128530041320451180039036735623789270n
130x130_sq_1333996968931-4038811015052354609842776075842688798991546759883n
130x130_sq_1384287596397-1b3a587
130x130_sq_1387811150396-wedding-detailcb091
130x130_sq_1313790538212-lj0255
130x130_sq_1313790561284-rb296
130x130_sq_1313790598007-dsc09552
130x130_sq_1333996901425-threshold
130x130_sq_1384287435197-weddingbanyan-treecb-landscap
130x130_sq_1313790824020-mg0322
130x130_sq_1313790843879-mg1227
130x130_sq_1313790857825-271
130x130_sq_1313790878433-ballroom
130x130_sq_1313790933391-tl268dd
130x130_sq_1313790981034-mg1217
130x130_sq_1384287855417-wedding-osorio-maricha
130x130_sq_1384287782013-wedding-set-upfide
130x130_sq_1384287691544-1b3a594
130x130_sq_1319044207516-delucia518
130x130_sq_1319044210558-delucia521
130x130_sq_1319044219310-dsc09552
130x130_sq_1319044231525-dsc09553
130x130_sq_1319044235050-encanto2lo
130x130_sq_1319044238560-encantoweb013
130x130_sq_1319044249402-img6376
130x130_sq_1319044312567-img6383
130x130_sq_1319044343564-img6431
130x130_sq_1319044356731-photo0138
130x130_sq_1319044362705-sjrd066
130x130_sq_1387810452820-esjrhhweblogovertfina
130x130_sq_1333996552044-h2lrlh20
130x130_sq_1384288028030-lobby-barvh
130x130_sq_1400177456027-fantasy-poolemarketing011
130x130_sq_1333996614517-h2lrllce
130x130_sq_1396032304711-hammocks-gardenvh
130x130_sq_1396032402768-beachvh
130x130_sq_1396032344645-pool-mainvh
130x130_sq_1396032482187-beach-entranc
130x130_sq_1396032438092-bachelorette-silver-ba
130x130_sq_1384288995993-blue-barvh
130x130_sq_1384288383008-silver-barvh
130x130_sq_1384288637188-kocoimperial-tablevh
130x130_sq_1384288356443-kocopartial-barvh
130x130_sq_1384288463458-mmmjf-9261
130x130_sq_1384288536930-yamatovh
130x130_sq_1384288924671-galeria-trattoriadiningjf-6413-h
130x130_sq_1387810615970-la-piccola-lifestyle-l
130x130_sq_1396032188699-brother-jimmysvh
130x130_sq_1384288769919-king-vistavh
130x130_sq_1400177498367-garden-lanaikingemarketing011
130x130_sq_1384289063775-chico-lounge-12-12-view-to-lobb
130x130_sq_1384288287636-esjrlogo-vert-c-it-happen

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1985
When was your venue last renovated?
2008
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Hotel
Describe the style of your venue
Glamorous, Vintage, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
800
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
7
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
389
Number of suites
20
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
4000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
90
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I have been planning our wedding since November 2013. It was a destination wedding so all we had to go by were a few brochures and customer reviews. El San Juan Resort and Casino did not disappoint. Our ceremony was initially suppose to be held outside but it was expecting rain during that timeframe, so the call was made to change the location in enough time to notify all guests that were attending and the second location was better than the first. The reception space at the Panorama Room was beautiful and the guests enjoyed the appetizers and entrée. Everyone was very attentive and we didn't have to worry about a thing that whole day. I would highly recommend this venue for any type of celebration!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Amnel was incredibly helpful throughout the entire process. We made all arrangements via email and phone. Amnel recommended a wedding planner to assist with all the other details which worked out perfectly. The ceremony and reception went exactly as planned. The service at the reception was amazing! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. All our guests had a wonderful time and many commented it was the best wedding they'd been to. We had several vegetarians and they all felt the food was delicious and plentiful. We had a few small children at the wedding and the staff had their kids' menu food ready during cocktail hour so they didn't have to wait too long to eat. Amnel was easy to communicate with, get ahold of, and he always responded quickly. I never felt stressed or worried because the communication was easy from my first inquiry 10 months prior to our wedding date. Overall, Amnel and the supporting staff were incredibly professional, responsive, friendly and accommodating.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Selena
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was a dream. Our hotel event coordinador Amnel was a pleasure to work with and very knowledgeable of everything through out the entire process. He also made sure we were comfortable during our entire stay.

We would most certainly come back here to stay and would recommend this venue to others. :)
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cassie
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
My wedding was an absolute fairytale! Everything was beyond perfect! Amnel was so amazing he is so fast to respond go emails it made planning my wedding ten times easier!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
4/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Melissa was a joy to work with. Admittedly, I'm not the easiest person to work with as I have an extremely busy schedule, however Melissa was always able to accommodate requests right up through the ceremony. My wife and I even asked Melissa to join in a picture on our wedding day as we now consider her to be a friend. Melissa will make sure that all boxes are checked leading up to your special day, and will go well beyond her job duties to make sure that you and your guests are all taken care of.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
4/4/2014
5.0/5.0
ESJ definitely delivered the "WOW" factor for my destination "Copacabana" wedding. From the appearance, and hotel/lobby decor to the location, customer service, and guest amenities, ESJ has it ALL! Every guest told me it was above and beyond what they expected - I am STILL getting compliments from our guests about how much fun they had - no joke! Not to mention, the BEST catering manager, Amnel Colon, he is amazing! He treated my now husband and I like a King and Queen and helped ensure our wedding was a great success due to his patience, EXCELLENT customer service, and project management. Thank you, Amnel! Hilton is truly blessed to have you. Lastly, to all the Brides reading this review, if you are looking for a FUN yet classy wedding, ESJ is the place to be - so what are you waiting for?! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linette
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
Great experience working with The San Juan Hotel and Amnel Colon. The ballroom is gorgeous and the entire hotel is spectacular. I had no problems working with them and every little detail was carried out to perfection! I recommend this hotel and their staff without reservations.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kandise
Wedding:
3/15/2014
5.0/5.0
The staff at El San Juan Hotel and Casino provided me with great professionalism as well as efficient service. My family and I will never forget our experience there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashleigh
Wedding:
3/11/2014
5.0/5.0
The El San Juan Resort and Casino was absolutely beautiful and the perfect place for our wedding. The Catering Manager, Amnel Colon, is an amazing help. He was very professional and easily approachable about all of our concerns and requests. He was quick to respond to any of our questions or requests. We planned our entire wedding from Michigan. It was everything that we imagined, plus more. All of the staff were extremely helpful and had genuine concern and caring that every detail was perfect. Amnel personally was there the day of our wedding to oversee every detail and ensure that we were happy. The resort, and staff, went above and beyond to make sure that we were satisfied. I would highly recommend this resort for anyone that is looking to have any event there. They have so many beautiful areas to cater to whatever your needs may be. I think the hardest decision we had to make for the entire wedding was the specific venue on the property that we wanted. The food was amazing. The resort itself has so many breathtaking views (both inside and out). It is a truly unique resort from all of the other resorts in the area. We toured 8 other resorts in the San Juan area. The El San Juan was the resort that we went with because their event pricing was competitive; the guest rooms were clean, well maintained, and also competitively priced; and the resort had the most to offer its guests compared to the other places that we viewed.
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leonardo
Wedding:
1/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Amnel fue una pieza escencial para el exito de nuestra boda. Estamos profundamente agradecidos con su ayuda!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
1/5/2014
5.0/5.0
When we started planning our wedding renewal we knew from the start we wanted to get married at El San Juan, there was just no doubt. We only looked at other place and honestly it wasn't up to par to the magic and glam of El San Juan. The architecture of the hotel is just so stunning and we decided on our Gatsby theme there was just no better fit, with all the chandeliers and candelabras around the hotel and the beautiful woodsy tones, it was just perfect. We had our ceremony at the ballroom and our reception at the historic Tropicoro, where some of the great musicians have played, it made perfect sense with our 1920's themed event. The colors of the room just mixed so well with our decor and it made it come alive, even when I saw it all took together I was blown away by the glamour it portrayed. Amnel was just the most amazing person to work with, he was always there for us, even with our crazy ideas he took the time to make our dream come true and made it more than I could have ever expected. His commitment to his work is just something that makes him an amazing manager. My dream came true and in great part to the team at El San Juan, and they made me feel special all the way till I checked out a few days after the wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandra
Wedding:
1/4/2014
5.0/5.0
Great venue. Beautiful place to celebrate our special day. Hotel staff was very atrentive to all of our needs. Waiters/waitresses and bartenders treated us excellently. Event coordinating staff very responsable and present at our activity to make sure all flowed smoothly. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pat
Wedding:
12/26/2013
5.0/5.0
thank you. it was a wedding rehearsal dinner. everything was wonderful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krista
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Working with El San Juan Resort and specifically Amnel Colon was an absolute pleasure and made our wedding one of a kind! Amnel is detail oriented and communicative, we never had an issue with any questions or concerns we may have had over the course of planning the wedding. I would highly recommend this hotel for your event!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Theresa
Wedding:
11/25/2013
5.0/5.0
We just had our wedding ceremony and reception at El San Juan Resort and Casino. The ceremony was in the Encantos area and the reception was in the La Terraza reception room. Both are beautiful and La Terraza already comes with uplighting which will save you a bit of money. Our catering manager was Amnel Colon. He was actually one of the big reasons we chose El San Juan as our ceremony and reception site. He had so many great reviews and we were eager to meet him. I'm glad to say he did not disappoint! He was always very prompt, flexible, and very friendly when it came to helping us choose a ceremony/reception site and dinner menu. He also provided us with a list of vendors and we used one of their suggestions for our flowers, DJ and music instrument rental. We had so many questions throughout the whole time and we always felt Amnel was there to help us as much as possible with anything we needed. The night of our arrival, he sent over a nice plate of cheese, crackers and wine which we really appreciated. On the night of our wedding, he sent over chocolate-covered strawberries with a bottle of champagne...we felt spoiled by him! We live in Austin, TX so it was tough to sometimes get ahold of other vendors who can be on "island time" but Amnel was always really quick to answer our questions and meet our needs. The hotel itself is beautiful and made for some really gorgeous wedding pics. The pool/beach area are also amazing and it was so much fun to relax and unwind before all the wedding chaos. We also were impressed with the catering staff's service. Very professional with excellent customer service during our dinner reception. I think Amnel is now only doing larger weddings but he's definitely awesome at what he does if you can get him to take care of your wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Veronica
Wedding:
11/17/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were just dating when we came to Puerto Rico on vacation. At the time, we were staying next door at another hotel but heard so much about the El San Juan, that we ventured over to the hotel to look around. We walked in and were floored by the gorgeous lobby. I told him then, "if we get married we are coming back here and getting married in this hotel!" Two years later he proposed and I knew hands down where I wanted to get married, The El San Juan Hotel and Casino...and so the planning began. My contact was Amnel Colon, who is the event/catering manager. He took care of every detail and even those I hadn't thought of. He made sure all of my entertainment, banquet, wedding needs were taken care of and worked with my coordinator to make sure my day went off perfect. The hotel property is beautifully located in the Carolina region, approximately 10 minutes from the city of Old San Juan. We stayed in the honeymoon suites and it was absolutely spectacular. Our suite was huge with direct access to the beach area. I can not express enough how impeccable the service was by the entire hotel staff and the feeling of being catered to throughout our stay. Amnel sent us a beautiful cheese and wine plate upon our arrival, and champagne and chocolate covered strawberries on our wedding day. When we finished our wedding and were taking the hour long photographs, we were greeted by a wonderful waitress who had cold drinks for me and my husband. Every detail big or small was thought of. To any bride looking to book her wedding, seriously consider The El San Juan Hotel. You will not be disappointed. The grounds are beautiful, the hotel rooms are gorgeous, and they have lots of activities and shopping to keep your guest entertained. Your guest don't have to even leave the hotel if they don't want, however, Old San Juan is a short cab ride away, as well as the mall. There are other restaurants outside of the hotel that are in walking distance. This hotel is perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Amnel was excellent to work with. I emailed him numerous times and he always responded within a couple of days. Even when I changed my mind with the food and drinks, he was polite and flexible. I would recommend any of my friends to get married there. Due to the potential for rain, the reception was moved inside about 2hours before the ceremony was to begin. They moved everything quickly and made me very comfortable. I doubt my guests would have known the difference. The food was good, we chose the buffet. I enjoyed the pork and chicken but received extremely mixed reviews on the mahi mahi.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1383587390642-wedding-pi
CLAUDIA
Wedding:
10/20/2013
5.0/5.0
I have had the pleasure in working with Amnel Colon for over the past year. I did a lot of research before I picked El San Juan Resort and Casino as the place to have my wedding. But what made me decide to pick this resort was Amnel and his team. From the beginning they were always willing to answer any questions I had (and I had many). Any time I preferred to speak over the phone instead of email, he always had time. And I felt that type of responsiveness would be very important during my year of planning. When I made the decision to have a destination wedding, I knew what would make the process the most stressful was not being there in the actual location, so what eased the stressed was the constant communication I had with Amnel. Any time that Amnel was out of the office due to work, his business partner Leticia Diaz was always there to help me as well. In addition, I alwasy trusted their opinion. When I was in the process of picking the menu for the reception and appetizers for cocktail hour, he helped me pick what options were the best. And the great response I got back from my family and friends I am so happy I listened to him. Also they were very flexible. I had last minute changes to the menu and they accomodated them. I am so happy that my husband and I picked El San Juan Resort and Casino for our wedding. The wedding turned out perfect and beautiful. All my guests enjoyed themselves at the wedding and their stay at the resort. Whether you are young or old, the resort will have something for you. The live music they had nightly and the night club was great for all our guests. This is an amazing resort with a great team.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chanell
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was totally amazing thanks to Amnel and Melissa! Planning a destination wedding is definitely not easy, but they did everything necessary to make sure what we wanted was carried out. Amnel and I spent many months email each other back and forth, so he brought my bouquet to the room personally which was such a treat! We had our wedding and reception in Panaroma. We had ppl from the hotel come upstairs and ask if they could stay and party with us! The only complaint I received was that the caterers took the food away too fast so ppl didn't get enough time to eat. I didn't eat much, but the food I did eat was GREAT! We went with the Tropical Beach Buffet and ppl raved over the food. I was worried about having the ceremony and reception in the same place, but everything was set up so that dinner was around a corner so we didn't notice much. All in all, PURE PERFECTION! Thanks Amnel and Melissa for making our day super special.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LovePR
Wedding:
8/30/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding rehearsal at the El San Juan, Amnel was the planner for this. I would HIGHLY recommend working with him to anyone. Not only is he a professional, but his personality was so pleasant to work with and he accommodated everything we wanted Within our budget. Thank you so much again Amnel for everything, and for all your hard work in such a short times notice. (-:
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The flowers were lovely and just what I wanted. Everything was perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Having our wedding at El San Juan Resort and Casino was the best decision we made!! We're from Connecticut and did most of the planning through email and visited once before the wedding date. Amnel was FANTASTIC!!! He answered emails immediately, was very patient with us. We made many last minute changes and Amnel was accommodating in all aspects.

Side note:: the food was great!!!!!

If I could go back and change anything I wouldn't.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sharon
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
This is an absolutely gorgeous place. Amnel Colon was absolutely amazing. He is extremely helpful planning a destination wedding and answers all the emails in a timely manner. The food is absolutely delicious. All of my guests had an amazing time and are planning trips to stay there again. Thanks again Amnel.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jordan
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
My now wife, Vanessa, grew up visiting family in Puerto Rico all of her life and was always enchanted with the El San Juan Resort & Casino so when we visited 6 venues last August to make a decision this venue was at the top of our list but we also expected it to be to most expensive as well. To our surprise it was the most affordable and most gorgeous venue for our wedding of about 50 guests, thus we chose it for our wedding. Amnel Colon is the Catering Sales Manager and he was an absolute professional and met every need we requested of him. I cannot express how flexible and patient Amnel was with us and went far beyond his job title to help us make our day perfect. And with all of our hard work our wedding day was absolutely perfect with the ceremony in front of the Ban Yan Tree and the reception on the rooftop in the Panorama overlooking the sunset over the ocean.

As far as food and service, we had the resort's tropical beachside buffett for our dinner and it was an amazing spread of every food you could think of. All of our guests were so impressed at the variety, presentation, and most of all taste. The service of all the staff on the buffett and bar was superb and made our night flawless. Thanks again to Amnel and all of his staff in making our day absolutely perfect.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ina
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding ceremony at the Panorama location it was a beautiful setting the decoration was absolutely magical, Amnel and Jessica did a wonderful job, a true memorable experience, I will never forget this place, Thank you Amnel,
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dawn
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Amnel was great to work with from the very start. He was always quick to respond to any questions that we had during the planning stage. He is very knowledgeable about what the El San Juan acn provide for weddings and helped us reach a decision that was best for our event.

The location for our ceremony was changed a few hours prior to the wedding due to weather. There were no issues with it being set-up in time for it. It was in the same location as the reception, so after the ceremony they had
to change out the chairs with the tables and it was accomplished quickly and professionally.

It was perfect, I couldn't have gone better.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
The El San Juan is a wonderful venue for a wedding event weekend. My wife and had to choose from a few options, but when it came down to it, the venue and main point of contact really swayed us into choosing the El San Juan.

THE VENUE: The El San Juan provides a few options for ceremony locations, and we happily chose a beautiful location between the large pools, with a view of the ocean. The reception and cocktail hour were beautiful, and it was a perfect size for a ceremony/party for up to 100 people (We had 88 guests, and it was perfect!). We even had our Indian Rehearsal dinner the night before, and our brunch on Sunday, all from the a beautiful rooftop view overlooking the ocean.

POINT OF CONTACT: Amnel Colon IS AWESOME, hands down the most professional and responsive catering manager we could have hoped for. He was more than a catering manager, he was the one person who made sure we had everything we needed for every event. He was available at every event, making sure everything was going smoothly, and if there were any little hiccups, he was on top of it.

HOTEL RATES: The rates were great, and the team worked with us to come with some very reasonable rates for us and our guests.

FOOD: The food over the 3 days of events, were diverse and delicious. We regularly heard from our guests how tasty the food was, including the Indian event where the chef learned how to make new Indian dishes.

THE HOTEL: The hotel has a beautiful set of pools, with one for a more relaxed experience, and another group of pools that can get a little more lively. All maintained very well, with lots of space to lay out and swim. A popular dance club is available in the hotel, but does not draw in an unfavorable crowd. In fact, the hotel requires a more professional look after hours, so it was classy.

Overall, the venue was unbelievable, and our guests left telling us how much they loved the events that Amnel and team helped us put together. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
4/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We were completely satisfied with this resort! They were very good to us!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1331836383683-sam0421
Melissa
Wedding:
3/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Amnel and his staff at the El San Juan Resort and Casino were absolutely amazing! We had our ceremony in Panorama, and our reception in La Terraza. The food was wonderful- every one of our guests loved it! Our wedding was everything I dreamed of and more! Amnel was always prompt and patient in answering my hundreds of questions too! All of our guests absolutely loved the hotel, it's convenience to San Juan and other attractions in Puerto Rico. Thank you so much to Amnel Colon and the El San Juan Resort and Casino for every detail to our wedding and your hospitality to our guests!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1343474711811-045
Tiffani
Wedding:
3/8/2013
5.0/5.0
My wedding was perfect thanks to Amnel. He was patient with this Bridzilla and I'm sure I had some difficult requests. My guests are still talking about how great the service was and how beautiful the hotel is.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sindy
Wedding:
2/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Our Wedding at the El San Juan Resort and Casino was absolutely amazing!! Just wanted to Thank Catering Manager Amnel Colon and staff for the phenomenal job he did with assisting us on our Big Day. Since it was a destination wedding from the moment we sat down with him and decided this would be our venue he provided us with a list a vendors whom he thought would suit us, All the vendors knew each other and worked well together especially on such a busy weekend Valentines Day and Presidents Day. I couldnt imagine having our Wedding any place else!!!Thank you for making it a magical night!!!

Lenny & Sindy Bambina
2-16-13
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
adam
Wedding:
2/16/2013
5.0/5.0
As a person from NY, having a destination wedding in PR was challenging at times. Many of the vendors are on "island time" and are not as reliable as the ones in the states. It is tough at times to get responses or for people to be on time. This is NOT the case with Amnel Colon, the catering director at El San Juan. Amnel was amazing to work with, flexible, understanding and a true professional. He was always available to speak and extremely helpful throughout our wedding planning and wedding day. We dealt with many vendors in PR for our wedding, and Amnel was the best. Thank you! I would recommend El San Juan for your event for many reasons, the grounds, the staff, lobby, casino, etc...but Amnel would be the number one reason.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ivy
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
the entire staff at the EL San Juan Hotel was amazing and made our wedding weekend a memorable one! Amnel Colon, the catering manager was awesome, he worked tirelessly to make sure that every detail was taken care of without us even asking. All of our guest were so pleased with the overall hotel service. THANK YOU Amnel and your entire staff! We will be back for our anniversary :-)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kim
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Amnel was amazing! I was worried since I was planning all of this from NY, but he was calm and helpful all the way! I had a great time and my guests loved it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1330822372137-picture11
Jessica
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
the staff was great. Very professional. The venue was spectacular. They made our event so easy to do it. The quality of the food was outstanding! Amnel Colom was a key person for the success of my wedding party. He has great ideas and knowledge! Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leighton
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Amnel was wonderful! He got back to me with any answers I needed. He made my destination wedding very stress free! Aleida handled our room block and was flexible and always quick to help! When our ceremony location wasn't going to be perfect, Amnel moved it and made it as stress free as possible. I couldn't imagine a more perfect sunset!! Everything was amazing! I'm so grateful that we chose the El San Juan Resort and Casino!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tuniscia
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
El San Juan Hotel & Casino was amazing. We had a perfect wedding. I want to first thank Amnel Colon for the phenomenal job he did with assisting us. He was quick to respond and extremely resourceful. He enjoys what he does and it shows. I honestly cannot imagine having a better person to work with during our wedding preparation time. Susan Wilkerson was delightful in helping me prepare for our guests and their stay at the hotel and upon our arrival Yvonne Ramos and all of the front desk staff members were wonderful. Every morning we enjoyed the breakfast at La Terraza and Elizabeth was there to greet us daily. She remembered I liked coffee and orange juice. To me its the attention to the small details which made me feel so special throughout our entire stay. Amy and Aurora in the salon worked magic on my hair and make-up they were able to squeeze me in last minute. Aurora and the girls from the salon were even there to greet me when our wedding started. That was so sweet and thoughtful!! Your roof top restaurant Brother Jimmy's was the best!! The manager and assistant manager (I wish I could remember their names) made our rehearsal dinner/surprise 40th Birthday party for the groom an unforgettable evening. Signi (I hope I spelled that correctly) was our waitress and she ROCKED! Everyone loved the food. We can't wait to come back again and enjoy your resort. Thank you so much for having a fabulous team of people to assist us during our wedding. If you would like a delicious wedding cake or cupcakes contact Elda Cakes she is so professional and so sweet...plus her cakes are delicious. I would recommend this venue to anyone and everyone who would like a destination wedding and enjoy a great vacation in Puerto Rico. THANK YOU SO MUCH!! We are grateful for everything.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1343956854257-samsunggalaxyphotos2016
Ivelis
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding experience at El San Juan resort and casino was absolutley Amazing!!! Amnel Colon and staff was as helpful and kind as ever on our wedding day. Many of our guest were extremly satisfied with the food and most importantly the helpfulness of the staff. Amnel Colon was absoluetly incredible with his professional services and most importantly was very good about communication. Whenever we had questions he was very prompt and very organized. Amnel really helped make our special day as memorable as ever. Thanks to Amnel Colon, and of course staff that helped made our wedding day unforgettable!!!

Ivelis & Ozzie Almodovar
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ingrid
Wedding:
6/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Amnel Colon, the catering manager, was the consummate professional. He was realistic, supportive, flexible, prompt and thoroughly knew the ins and outs of his job. From our first meeting to the ensuing slew of emails that I sent his way to our taste test to our final meet up he was enjoyable to work with. The weekend of our wedding there were five other weddings occurring and Amnel did not skip a beat. Not a detail was missed and he even took the time to send us a bottle of wine with some fruit and cheeses to make us feel welcomed. Not a step behind was Rose whom we met during the taste testing. She was attentive and courteous and we were pleasantly surprised when we found out that she would be with us during the wedding. After the ceremony she brought us drinks and had cold towels to cool us down with during all the dancing at the reception. We had our wedding in La Terraza and the ceremony at the banyan tree. Both were gorgeous sites!!! Full credit to Amnel, Rose and all the staff that helped make our wedding memorable beyond belief!!!! GRACIAS!!!!

NOTE: All of the above words and marks speak to just the work Amnel and Rose did on behalf of catering. The staff in charge of our hotel reservations, and that of our guests, were a nightmare from beginning to end. The short list: they wouldn't answer emails, we were bounced from one person to another, items that were negotiated for the contract were later rescinded, items that were in the contract weren't fulfilled, and the lack of flexibility was astounding. If you can have an event here without having to book rooms I highly recommend it. If it isn't an option just know that Amnel and Rose will more than make up for all your booking woes.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paul
Wedding:
6/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Amnel Colon and his staff provided excellent service for our daughter's wedding. It was a pleasure to work with him.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1303060745072-pa190068
Angela
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
We didn't do an actual wedding cake. We went a little more untraditional and did Cannolis per my mother's request. She is obviously Italian :) It was last minute decision and the El San Juan came through with flying colors! The display was beautiful and the cannolis were delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
enfielding
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
When we decided to get married in Isla Verde, we chose El San Juan for our ceremony and reception space. We had seen the lobby and the beach area on prior visits to San Juan, but he hadn't been inside the hotel before. We based our decision on the pics from the website, the previous reviews, and the variability in the venue spaces. It was the best decision we could have made. Upon arrival and seeing the space, it couldn't have been more perfect. We had our ceremony under the Banyan Tree and the reception at Encanto so we got the outdoor beach-side garden party that we envisioned. It was actually better than we envisioned.

We worked with Amnel Colon to pick out the spaces and food. He was AMAZING!!! He was very professional and friendly. He was flexible and met all of our needs. We actually feel like he went above and beyond to make sure everything came together. He was a huge part of making our day truly special. We planned this from the mainland and he was very easy to work with over the phone and via e-mail. Once we were there, he really took care of us. He let us change the chairs in the space, made sure all the outdoor lights were functioning or had the bulbs replaced, and he even worked with our florist the day of the wedding to keep the flowers for the reception in a cool room till just before the party.

All of our friends and family were really amazed with the venue. The staff were very friendly (they seemed to know who me and my husband were without us having to tell them) and attentive. The food was really spectacular. Seriously, all our guests raved about the food.

If we were to do it all again, I would go with this hotel (and Amnel in particular) in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
zengerlebreton
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
I recently held my wedding at the El San Juan Resort & Casino and must say I couldn't be more satisfied. It was definately a risk planning my wedding here, because I had never been to the resort or to Puerto Rico, for that matter. The pictures do not do the resort justice. It is truely beautiful and unique, while maintaining a lively atmosphere. The service was also fantastic. All of my requests were catered to, quickly and efficiently. The staff is very friendly and resourceful. All my vendors other than catering were from outside the hotel, but I was delighted and amazed at how well they all knew eachother from working together in the past and how well they worked together for my event. I would highly recommend this venue for any event you might have coming up.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
araromiawe
Wedding:
3/31/2012
5.0/5.0
Initially I was skeptical about having a destination wedding.I was worried about how everything would work out,from cake to hair and makeup.Amnel and his staff were amazing,helped me find vendors and even contacted vendors on my behalf. The food was excellent! I don't have any complaints or regrets.~yetunde
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Amnel was very very helpful. His advice and insight was very valuable and he went out of his way to ensure everything went smoothly!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sandra
Wedding:
3/10/2012
5.0/5.0
The service was wonderful and it was so easy to plan the wedding because of their service and support. We appreciated everything and everything turned out so beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
smiklich
Wedding:
2/25/2012
5.0/5.0
El San Juan Resort and Casino went above and beyond our expectations for our destination wedding. The staff members were outstanding; extremely professional and courteous. The setting was breathtaking. Our ceremony in Panorama (the rooftop patio) was held at sunset and the views were spectacular. The reception was held in Encanto, their beach front restaurant, and was equally gorgeous. Beautiful lighting, the sound of waves on the beach and the light ocean breeze set the mood for our perfect evening. The food was absolutely delicious as well. We were nervous about the food at first, considering we were unable to attend a tasting; however, each course was more delicious than the one before it! What can I say; each and every detail was taken care of by the staff at El San Juan. They thought of everything! I cannot say enough about our wedding at El San Juan Resort & Casino. Our friends and family (close to 50 of them) all stated that they have never in their lives been to a more beautiful wedding. Honestly 5/5 for El San Juan!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aimee
Wedding:
1/21/2012
5.0/5.0
We had an amazing experience--Amnel Colon went above and beyond with attention to details and making sure the reception was exactly what we wanted! We know the hotel hosts many events but all the staff made us feel as though our reception was the most important event they had hosted--it was wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
12/17/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I are from Chicago and had a destination wedding of 75 guests. We could not have been happier. The day was a dream come true, the food was excellent, and the service and accommodations were impeccable. Our wedding is still talked about by all of our friends and family a year later. Thank you so much!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ryazdani
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
I had the pleasure of working with Amnel Colon to plan my wedding at El San Juan Resort and Casino. The venue is amazing and all of my guests loved their rooms and the hotel. The hotel staff was so kind and accommodating. My husband and I loved them so much, we ended up giving them one of our wedding cakes to say thank you because they were just that wonderful. Amnel Colon was an exceptional catering manager. He set up a food tasting before the wedding and helped me discuss with the chef small changes to make our wedding meal the best food I have ever eaten! I live in Miami, FL and Amnel was gracious to accept all of my calls and quickly to return my e-mails to put me at ease with whatever question I had. I would highly recommend El San Juan Resort and Casino for any wedding or event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The Picky Bride
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I would like to recognize Mr. Amnel Colon, Catering Manager; Mrs. Judy Ocasio, Catering Coordinator; Mrs. Ingrid Novarro, Sales Manager . Without the compassion, understanding, and professionalism of these three individuals, I would not have been able to have such a beautiful and successful event. From suggesting a wonderful wedding planner to ensuring all our wedding guest were well taken care, they went out of their way to ensure we had a positive experience. Keeping in constant contact and answering our many questions, this team's work was greatly appreciated and I will definitely recommend El San Juan Hotel & Casino in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jusmarried8811
Wedding:
8/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Our experience at the El SanJuan Hotel and Casino for our wedding was phenomenal. Our day went as planned. I did not have a wedding planner, I did everything on my own, as far as finding everything I needed to put a wedding together in Puerto Rico. Every person I delt with was amazing. After a year and a half of planning, I felt like I gained a friendship with every single person. After putting everything together, the wedding coordinator at the hotel took care of everything else at the hotel. The day of my wedding I didn't have to worry about anything besides getting dressed and my hair. I owe that special day to a gentleman by the name Amnel Colon at this hotel. He is phenomenal. Our wedding was small and consisted of 50 people, ask for Rose, she helped through out the reception and was also phenomenal. I would do all over again ;)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1276218417983-img0760
Faith
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Our destination wedding at the El San Juan was perfect! We had a 3 day event there...and everyday's event was amazing. We had over 100 guests fly in and stay at the hotel. Everyone was so impressed and still cannot stop talking about how wonderful and first class the experience was. Amnel was amazing! He was so patient and accommodating! He made sure everything was perfect and it truly was! It was the best 3 days of our lives!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suania Rodriguez
Wedding:
3/5/2011
5.0/5.0
We had a beautiful wedding at The Terrace in the San Juan Hotel. We chose the perfect venue...food was delicious and we received a great service. Amnel Colon (catering manager) was always available, flexible and hands on. We recommend this hotel to any couple looking to have the perfect wedding experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gabe
Wedding:
6/13/2014
4.9/5.0
The staff was great at our wedding! We had a great experience starting from the beginning with Amnel Colon who answered the many questions we had during the booking process. Leticia Diaz in group reservations was also extremely helpful when changes had to be made. Finally, our head server CALISTO was amazing…..We spent New Years Eve at the hotel over 5 years ago and he was one of the servers there, my wife actually danced with him:) It was a great surprise to have him handling our table at the wedding! He was always smiling and was always refreshing my drinks, he was on point all night. My wife had the chance to dance with him again :) He really is a great example of what a first class server is. Looking forward to coming back and saying hello to the great crew.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1384356028680-img9295cro
Kassie
Wedding:
2/1/2014
4.9/5.0
I had my wedding at El San Juan Casino and it was absolutely amazing! I couldn't have imagined a better experience or wedding day!

I also had a wonderful experience working with Amnel Colon. He was extremely professional, responsive, flexible, and always willing to go the extra mile to make sure everyone at the wedding was happy!

I would recommend El San Juan Casino and Resort and Amnel to anyone looking to get married!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
6/29/2012
4.9/5.0
The El San Juan Resort was a PERFECT venue for our wedding event. The location was outstanding and all hotel staff were all so very professional, kind, respectful, helpful, personable and professional. The food, beverages and services were terrific and the pools and beach areas were always clean and enjoyable. Even the ESJ hotel block personnel demonstrated outstanding customer service for our guest planning. They offered us a great rate for our guests and worked to meet individual guest needs. We LOVED that they provided the bride and groom an ocean front suite upgrade for the same price of the guest room rate. This was an extraordinary perk!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
5/19/2012
4.9/5.0
The Staff and Employees of El San Juan Resort and Casino were wonderful to help whenever called upon. They were both quick to respond and flexible, always with a smile on their face.

The venue was wonderful, as were the friendly, professional staff. I would definitely recommend to anyone seeking a destination wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Excellent service from start to finish! Everyone was courteous. We will definitely recommend El San Juan.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1281540730001-002
Raquel
Wedding:
7/31/2010
4.9/5.0
Great location and excellent service!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chanelle
Wedding:
6/14/2014
4.8/5.0
PERFECT venue if you want an intimate wedding setting. We decided to have our wedding here in their Encanto space. It was like having a wedding in a garden on the beach! We worked with Melissa Martinez during the planning process and she was amazing. Very responsive, helpful and flexible. Our guest count kept increasing, and they were very accommodating. She even went above and beyond to prepare a tasting for us and a tour of the venue the day before the wedding. We did not arrive until two days before, so we were so grateful that she did that for us. During the wedding the staff at the hotel was very attentive, and they made us feel so special. There were other weddings going on at the hotel that day but I couldn't even tell because they made us feel like we were the only ones there, so important. The food was delicious, and plated beautifully. And the bar was a big hit! Thank you to El San Juan and Melissa for organizing and executing a perfect evening!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krystina
Wedding:
5/17/2014
4.8/5.0
Our wedding at El San Juan Resort and Casino was beautiful. It was everything we dreamt about. The service was excellent. Amnel Colon, the catering manager, was great. He helped us with all our questions and made everything go smoothly. He always responded on a timely manner, he was cordial and professional, and he made our guests, our vendors and us (the bride and groom) feel comfortable and at home. I loved the room where our wedding was held, La Terraza, it portrayed elegance and also a tropical beach feel which was exactly what we wanted. I would gladly recommend the hotel for weddings and any other activities.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
4/26/2014
4.8/5.0
My wedding at the El San Juan Resort was absolutely wonderful and beyond both my and my husband's expectations. Amnel did an amazing job helping us keep organized and coordinated. He made our destination wedding challenges stress-free and was flexible with helping us store decorations and guest bags for our big day. The entire staff was extremely professional and I felt my guests received top notch service. We received many complements from the beautiful ceremony location under the Banyan Tree to the exterior reception over-looking the ocean at Encanto Bar. The party seamlessly continued to the lively atmosphere of the hotel after the reception; my guests continue to tell me it was one of the best weddings they have ever been to. I highly recommend the El San Juan!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Drish
Wedding:
11/29/2013
4.8/5.0
As a wedding planner, getting married myself, I was extra particular in selecting the perfect venue (since it was a destination wedding) and based a good majority of our decision due to our interaction and initial meeting with Amnel Colon. Right off the bat he answered all our questions and concerns and was always thorough in his responses and follow ups, which put El San Juan at the top of our list. And of course after finishing all our site visits with various hotels in San Juan - there was no question ESJ was the perfect venue for us! With multiple days of events during our wedding weekend - we loved that the hotel had a variety of event spaces and options for us choose from - so that each event and each day had it's own unique vibe. Even the back up/rain options were just as nice!! Amnel and his team went above and beyond to accommodate our large guest count and make sure we had the wedding of our dreams! Our guests LOVED the resort and the location was super convenient for everyone to explore San Juan on their own, or conveniently buy some basic groceries/drinks at the nearby stores. The staff was very friendly and considering we had a somewhat party/"rowdy" crowd they always found us a place to continue our private after-parties well into the night! The whole look, feeling, and vibe once you set foot into that classic yet swanky lobby definitely set the tone for our family and guests for a wonderful weekend ahead! As a planner, I will definitely be recommending El San Juan to other clients interested in a destination wedding and hope to be back there soon!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ANGELA
Wedding:
11/12/2013
4.8/5.0
The El San Juan and all of the staff made my wedding absolutely amazing!!! Amnel worked with me and with his help my dream and visions came true for my special day!!!
I am so glad I choose the El San Juan Hotel to host my wedding and I would highly recommend them and all the services they provide... The food was excellent, the staff were always happy to help, and the hotel itself is beautiful and well kept...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chanell
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.8/5.0
My wedding turned out absolutely amazing!! Better than I expected and we received so many compliments on everything. The only thing I would change would be the responsiveness of the servers to the guests. It seemed as if they were in a rush the whole night.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
El San Juan Hotel have many vanues to choose from and a lot of green beautiful outdoors areas. Amnel Colon is a great help and always available to respond to any questions. My wedding was a total success!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/4/2013
4.8/5.0
Amnel Colon was such a pleasure to work with! As a wedding planner, planning a destination wedding, he made it as easy and enjoyable as it could be . He was professional and great at communication. He answered all the millions of questions the bride and I had. The bride and groom had some issues with their room being ready and then had a water leak in their suite, which was completely separate from Amnel’s department, but he was quick to attend and correct whatever issues we had. The value of the catering, ceremony and reception spaces, and the actual was excellent. The ceremony was gorgeous under the Banyana Tree and La Terezza was so pretty with the wood flooring and white draping. There was no need to pay extra for uplighting through the DJ, La Terezza had built in mood lighting which was perfect.

Overall, the hotel has a lot to offer. I would say the only downside was the construction going on in the hotel, but down the road, that will benefit future guests. The value of the guest accommodations was good but not great. Although most of the rooms have been renovated, they seem to have cute a few corners.

Thank you so much for all of your help Amnel!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AG
Wedding:
3/16/2013
4.8/5.0
We had our wedding at El San Juan Resort during the weekend of March 15-March 16 in 2013. First we have to say that Amnel Colon, whom we worked with to arrange the venues for our events, was absolutely amazing. He met with us when we visited the Resort as a possible venue and he gave us a tour and sat with us to answer our questions. He stayed in touch with us throughout the entire planning process and he was present for the weekend itself.

One criticism we have for the Resort is that the guest rooms were too expensive for what they provide, even at the wedding rate. There were also problems with the assignment of guest rooms that we had to fix during our event. That said, when we raised these problems with the front desk, Andrea Machado helped us resolve them in a timely manner.

The venues offered at ESJ are beautiful and we can honestly say that we had our dream wedding. We held our events in Encanto, La Terraza, Panarama, and at the Banyan Tree, and each venue was amazing. We do recommend that people view the venues during both day and night because they look completely different at these times--especially La Terraza.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
My husband and I recently had our wedding ceremony and reception at El San Juan Hotel. We had an amazing wedding and couldn’t be happier with our decision to have it at this hotel. We had 115 wedding guests and the hotel executed our wedding events flawlessly from our guest accommodations, to the wedding day events, and post wedding brunch.

Our ceremony was held at the Banyan Tree, reception at La Terraza, and post-wedding brunch was held at the Panorama Sun Deck. All event locations were really the perfect setting for us. The Banyan tree provided a quaint and romantic setting for our ceremony. La Terraza was a fabulous setting for a great dinner and reception dancing. The acoustics for the DJ’s music was amazing in this room! Our reception was a buffet dinner and we had several guests tell us that this was the best wedding food they’ve ever had. Finally, bunch at Panorama was a lovely setting to reminisce with your guests about wedding while enjoying the beautiful 10 story view of the blue Atlantic Ocean.

I want to give a HUGE thank you to Amnel Colon, the Catering Manager at El San Juan. His professionalism, responsiveness, willingness to work with and ensure your wedding is exactly how you envision it made me feel 100% confident in my decision to have the wedding at El San Juan. He understood that brides/grooms have a choice when it comes to a wedding location/venue and he did everything to make you feel taken care of. Also, our individually assigned group room block coordinator, Aleida Castillo, was fantastic. She ensured we had an excellent group room block rate and enough rooms to accommodate our 100+ out of town guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angel
Wedding:
2/18/2012
4.8/5.0
I worked with Amnel Colon, Catering Manager, at the El San Juan Hotel to plan a Welcome Party for all my guests the night before the Wedding. It was outdoors at the Encantos Bar - which was a perfect location for a party. It is a beautiful outdoor patio with a great bar and set up. Working with Amnel was great - he was responsive, on top of things, and was flexible. We did a tasting prior to the event, which was great - and the food and service on the day of was just as good, if not better than it was at the tasting. The service from the staff was impeccable, so was the out door buffet presentation. However, I cannot say enough good things about the food, and neither could my guests!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1294772728583-love
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Great customer service!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
El San Juan was a beautiful hotel and wedding venue! The catering coordinator, Amnel Colon, was a pleasure to work with. He was always quick and efficient at responding to my questions and/or concerns! I would recommend this hotel for a wedding hands down!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1335897361613-savedpicture
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
We had our ceremony by the Banyan tree and our reception in the panorama room. Both spots were absolutely beautiful. Amnel was our catering manager at the resort and he made everything stress free. He answered all of our questions throughout the planning process and was very helpful again during our wedding weekend. He's very professional and flexible with food/beverage options. The catering staff was also great. The only complaint we heard from guests was that the chicken was too dry. All of the appetizers and hor dourves were delicious though.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
weddingwirescreenname
Wedding:
11/13/2011
4.7/5.0
The ESJ hotel was great for our wedding ceremony and reception. From the planning process on to the actual wedding-day execution, our hotel catering contact (Amnel) was outstandingly helpful and responsive. The wedding went off without any hitches: everything was setup on time, the food was great, and the catering staff was extremely helpful and friendly (as a last-minute surprise to us, the hotel provided a personal staff member to cater specifically to the needs of the bride and groom throughout the entire night - that was a really nice luxury). We did hit some challenges along the way dealing with the room reservations for our guests (that turned out to be a pretty large headache), but as for the actual wedding I would definitely recommend the hotel - beautiful, high quality, and hassle free.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Bg20
JOCELYN
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.7/5.0
We used this place only for reception, guests also stayed here. Great catering and room booking manager. Though the managers are very attentive, the employees do not seem familiar with or understanding of various policies the managers made us aware of such as the deposit that are required by guests booking through a wedding block, many guests were given contradicting information. Hotel doesn't have free wi-fi which is very shocking given expensive room prices. As for the catering, food was great and they have a great selection to choose from and the manager made sure all of your needs were met.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
Beautiful location. The resort has many options as to what feel you want for your wedding. Melissa was a great help giving me all the information I needed and staying in contact with me constantly. We were so happy we chose El San Juan Resort for our wedding. We hope to return soon.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
VENUE: A+ The El San Juan Resort was the perfect place for our wedding. Having the services under the banyan tree was beautiful, and the reception at La Terraza was amazing. Everyone loved the venue. Amnel Colon, the catering manager, is an amazing asset to the El San Juan Resort.

HOTEL ROOMS: B+ Regarding the hotel - we opted not to have a room block with the El San Juan, as we had some hiccups with cleanliness on our site visit; you can see similar comments on Trip Advisor. However, the room we had as our "home base" during our stay was beautiful -- overlooking the ocean with a gorgeous terrace, though it was showing its age a bit (furniture chipped, etc). The staff was very accommodating and friendly, and we had a wonderful time at the resort.

FOOD: A- The food was delicious by and large -- everyone seemed to love the cocktail hour and the appetizers, but the Indian entree was a little bit strange (it had odd vegetables in it you don't normally see and it ended up tasting good but somewhat weird), and the Chicken and Sea Bass, while good, weren't mind-blowingly awesome. Still, no complaints at all, and extremely happy with service.

PEOPLE: A++ AMNEL COLON is incredible. He went out of his way to assist us from day one, always available to answer questions, and made sure every last minute detail was taken care of. We cannot thank Amnel enough for everything he did. Frankly, if Amnel was the catering manager at a garage in Siberia, it probably would still be wonderful with him at the helm! Two other staff members went above and beyond besides Amnel - Jessica Padilla, who dragged huge vases of flowers out to our car by herself, and Edouardo the banquet manager, who made sure that we were taken care of for the "after party".
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bride's Mom
Wedding:
5/19/2012
4.6/5.0
Beautiful venue, especially the Panorama Room
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Scott
Wedding:
5/7/2010
4.6/5.0
Had a wonderful ceremony under the Banyan tree and my reception in La Terraza. I couldn't be happier and my guests were all very pleased.

While the catering manager, Vilmarie, was very pleasant to work with, we had a bit of stress on the day of the wedding when some of the hotel staff did not speak English and we had to run around a bit to find a translator. Not such a big deal as most everyone is bilingual, but it was a bit of a hassle. Also, we nearly ran out of tables for our moderately-sized event (63 people) but we were not informed ahead of time that that might be an issue, so larger parties should discuss this in detail with the event manager.

Food was wonderful, service was great, and the location/reception hall were beautiful, so I really could not be happier about my choice of location.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
denise
Wedding:
8/18/2012
4.5/5.0
Amenl was great helping us sort everything out for the past 10 months. I loved my wedding and wouldn't have changed anything but maybe adding an extra hour to my special day because it really does go by so fast. Looking forward to going back next year for our honeymoon.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nadya
Wedding:
4/15/2011
4.5/5.0
Excellent and beautiful venue! My husband and I married on a Friday - ceremony and cocktail were on the balcony of La Terraza, and reception in La Terraza. The catering manager, VilMarie, was great to work with! She accommodated to our needs and was extremely flexible! Originally we had planned (paid deposit and everything!!!) for the rehearsal dinner at the Palm in the hotel. About a month before the wedding, we changed our plans and decided to have our rehearsal dinner catered by the hotel. VilMarie planned everything for us, we selected the menu and location (the Panorama). Everything turned out beautifully!
The service the day of the wedding was amazing! My husband and I were catered to the entire reception and so were our parents! The food and drinks were delicious!
Overall, El San Juan was great! I wish we could do it all over again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
elisa
Wedding:
6/21/2014
4.4/5.0
Todo estuvo excelente! Gracias a Melissa Martínez por su profesionalismo en todo.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.4/5.0
The chicken main course was lacking in flavor but everything else was great. The staff was incredible and very professional. The venue itself was a beautiful location for our wedding and reception.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
I want to extend my sincere appreciation to everyone at El San Juan Resort. As it turned out, our wedding was everything that we could only have imagined. The resort staff was very friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. Those involved with planning did a fabulous job pulling it all together and the event was just flawless. The resort was very beautiful, the beach and pools were welcoming, and amenities were extremely accommodating. The wedding space was absolutely beautiful and the view breathtaking.

Puerto Rico treated us, and all our guest, very nicely. We enjoyed the island, the traditions, the local tastes... beer and certainly rum. We all had a great time.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.3/5.0
The food was delicious and the venue was beautiful! Amnel Colon was attentive and very receptive to our comments and concerns.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1278272866051-mg5147
C & K
Wedding:
5/15/2010
4.3/5.0
We had a great experience at the El San Juan Hotel. All of our 60 guests stayed here and the main complaints were not having free Internet, the added charges, and the expensive costs at the hotel bars & restaurants on the property.
But we chose this hotel for the atmosphere and we were not disappointed. We had a rehearsal BBQ dinner for all of our guests at Brother Jimmy’s on the roof. It was a great family style meal and by the end of the night ALL of our guests were lining up for a ride on the Mechanical Bull. Our wedding was the next morning under the beautiful Banyan Tree, which allowed for a private poolside ceremony. We then joined our guests on the beach and beautiful property for our cocktail hour and photographs. The reception was in the La Terraza room. This is a great space because you are right next to the pool and the venue comes with included lighting.
The food was amazing. We had a Puerto Rican buffet that was amazing. The only issue had was that we chose to have the food stations set up outside on the deck, I would of preferred we brought it inside because it got so dark out there it was hard to see the food. The employees were very helpful and tried their best to fix any situation we encountered. Our wedding manager, Vilmarie, made sure all of our needs were met.
We ended our wedding jumping into the beautiful pool (that is open 24 hours!) and our guests had a great night rest. The next morning we had a breakfast on the rooftop Panorama Room. There was a wedding the night before and the hotel was kind enough to keep wedding’s floral arrangements and décor for our use.
Our main regret was not staying here for our honeymoon. We decided to leave the beautiful El San Juan hotel… and now we wish we could of stayed there after the wedding for our honeymoon. But we will be going back to stay at this hotel for our anniversary.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.2/5.0
AMNEL WAS AN AMAZING HELP AT THE EL SAN JUAN. HE WENT THE EXTRA MILE FOR ME TO ENSURE EVERYTHING WENT WELL!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
3/28/2014
3.9/5.0
We had a WONDERFUL UNFORGETTABLE Wedding Thanks to Melissa and the staff at the El San Juan!
Just a couple things to take note of: Upon arrival at the event spaces for our events Thursday and our Wedding Reception they were not guest ready. There was debris and garbage that my family and myself cleaned up.
and just a second note we paid for a full open bar and dinner for both event nights for our nephew who is 1 1/2 years old who obviously did not consume what the adults did.
Overall a Fantastic Experience and we look forward to making future trips back!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Bg6
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.5/5.0
Overall our experience with this hotel is a mixed one. Our large group had both negative & positive things to say about the venue. Although my experience was a positive one for the most part..I was annoyed with all the extra costs on the bills & extra money I had to shell out last minute for the wedding.

Service on wedding day was fantastic. We were catered to from beginning to end. We received complimentary wine & champagne on arrival and wedding night which was nice. The 24hour pool was great. We also liked the convenience of having a beach on property.

I think the taxes are crazy, the misc. costs are a bit much and the rooms could be worked on a little bit more for the price we are paying per night. The club within the hotel is very noisy but Jimmy's was fun! As a Waldorf Astoria brand, we just expect more.

I would go back, but not with a group.

J & B Hungria
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.4/5.0
Everything in the end was perfect! Amnel was a great help.
We married by the Banyan Tree, and it was beautiful!!! The cocktail hour was missed due to pictures, but the staff made sure to reserve a little bit of everything for the bride and groom.
We did NOT receive a complimentary night stay on our wedding night = (, nor were the bride and groom exempt from the food consumption count, but Amnel did upgrade our accommodations, and welcomed us with a bottle of wine, and a cheese and fruit platter at arrival.
On our wedding night we once again were acknowledged with wine and strawberries.

It all turned out beautiful, and the food was FABULOUS! My only real complaints are that the beer is super expensive, and we were charged for things we did not authorize (it was resolved- but still!) We had our reception in Panorama, and visually it was beautiful, but in pictures you can truly tell that the floors are in a desperate need of a cleaning/staining. Would I do it again there? probably not, but it all worked out in the end!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.3/5.0
Resort was beautiful and Melissa Martinez was a sweetheart and very accomidating. However during my wedding reception the power cut off for half an hour in which there was no working AC providing some guests to leave. After the crowd was dancing and it was warm to begin with, having the power and air go out for some 30 minutes guests began to get restless. I myself in a wedding gown was extremely uncomfortable having no working air. And making a fuss during my wedding with so much going on was not an option. During my stay in the suite the toilet flooded the entire bathroom around 2 am the night before my wedding. It took them until almost 4 am to pump the water out which was also quite frustrating because I wanted to get a goodnights rest as I had a busy day ahead of me. A family member even tipped the front desk to get them moving quicker because it took about 40 minutes from the initial call to get someone into the room and look at the pool of water. My stay while at a beautiful resort was quite stressful prior to the wedding and during the reception and I was not once offered an appology let alone any compensation for the half hour that the power was OFF and the inconvenience of a flooded bedroom. This rather frustrates me as I paid a pretty penny for this event and planned this out meticulously for months leading up to this day. I also had some 30 rooms booked with all my guests who stayed there. Therefore thousands were made on the account of my event and I feel a little more courtesy and compensation would have been appreciated and valued.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.3/5.0
We dealt with Amnel Colon and I cannot say enough about how amazing he was. He went above and beyond any task we asked him which included areas such as our guest rooms that were not part of his department. Leticia Diaz was in charge of our guest reservations and I was extremely disappointed with her in every aspect. It was extremely disappointed that a hotel of such high stature would have someone like her working there.
She put a damper on our experience. As for the hotel it was amazing but I was unhappy about the cocktail hour as our guests informed us the majority of items were paid for were not provided to our guests and that was upsetting for the amount of money they charge. We had 3 events there and the cocktail hour was the only part we were dissatisfied with. Aside from that the hotel overall was great and again Amnel is a godsend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dina
Wedding:
4/13/2014
0.0/5.0
Quality-Service was very good
Responsiveness - Catering Managers responsiveness was exceptional each time contacted. However, the hotel staff was extremely slow in responding (in person) which caused unnecessary stress to the family, especially bride's parents who played a major part in decorating the location for the Wedding/Reception. Although there was another last minute event scheduled, there should have been adequate staff on duty to accommodate the needs of "both" events. This would have prevented the delayed wait times my client experienced. Event location for their Wedding/Reception was not set up at the time promised, causing set up time/decorating by the wedding party to be delayed.
Professionalism - Staff overall was very professional and courteous at all times.
Value - N/A - Client paid all expenses for their event directly to the Venue through the Banquet, and/or Event Managers
Flexibility - Banquet and Event Managers were always readily accessible and available when contacted.
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Venue

DEALS

Complimentary 2-Hours Cocktail Reception
Get Deal
Promo Code: Thank You   $870 Value
We want to thank you for trusting us in crafting your dream destination wedding. As the recipient of the Wedding Wire Couple's Choice Award 2014, Bride's Choice Awards 2012 and 2013 we are giving away a 2-Hour Cocktail Reception * as a token of our appreciation. Applicable for all new Wedding Wire referred weddings parties of 30 or more people that book by October 31, 2014 and are held by January 11, 2015. Special Code: Thank You.*Taxes and Gratuity not included.

Offer Expires: 10/31/2014

Available to the first 25 couples
Deal #WW1b03de97d152119b
220x220_1400091943890-lobb
Destination Wedding Package for 50 or More Guests
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $165 Value
Treat yourself to an unforgettable wedding celebration at El San Juan designed for you and your wedding party of 50 or more guests held Friday or Saturday. Starting at $125 per person & includes: 1-Hour Cocktail Reception with Hot & Cold Hors d'oeuvres and Mojito Cocktail / 3-Course Dinner /4-Hours of Branded Bar / 1 glass of Cava Rose per person for the toast /1 Comp night in an Ocean Villa / Special In-room amenity / 75% Off Ceremony Venue Rental **Contact Amnel or Melissa for more information

Offer Expires: 08/31/2014

Available to the first 30 couples
Deal #WW9dbf59a29e0d7ad8
220x220_1387810125305-wedding---la-terraza
Special Weekday Weddings Special Offer from $75 per person
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $115 Value
Destination Wedding Offer designed for 20 or more guests and held Sunday thru Thursday. Starting at $75 per person & includes: 1-Hour Cocktail Reception with Hot & Cold Hors d'oeuvres selected by the Hotel and Mojito Cocktail / 3-Course Dinner /4-Hours of Light Open Bar (Mojito Cocktail/ Sangria/ Local Beers/ Wines) /1 Complimentary night in an Ocean Villa / Special In-room amenity / 75% Off Ceremony Venue Rental **Contact our Wedding Experts for more information on this offer.

Offer Expires: 11/27/2014

Available to the first 50 couples
Deal #WW51542f7900ac5707
220x220_1387809175702-wedding-set-upla-terraza

MAP

 
6063 Isla Verde Avenue, Carolina, PR 00979 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1400091943890-lobb