130x130_sq_1231363011984-elainebellcatering

Elaine Bell Catering

Napa , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

776 Technology Way
Napa, CA US 94558 (map)

PHONE

707-603-1400

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

"Phenomenal food preparation — and to be able to make hundreds of dishes to the tiniest detail in record time is even more amazing."
Locally grown organic foods are the ingredients... Read more
"Phenomenal food preparation — and to be able to make hundreds of dishes to the tiniest detail in record time is even more amazing."
Locally grown organic foods are the ingredients that have shaped Elaine’s imaginative menus since the company’s beginning in 1982. Back then, Elaine’s young company contacted growers she knew throughout the wine country to procure neighborhood breads, produce, cheeses, poultry, meats and fish…..this was the natural foundation of her culinary philosophy. Today, she still works with local farms, including The Patch, Ocean Song and Oak Hill Farms, to continue her 29-year tradition of creating extraordinary culinary events, from the bounty of our community, sustaining her innovative style.

Elaine Bell Catering is proud of its long-standing reputation as one of the premier catering companies in the Greater Bay Area and the California Wine Country.

707-603-1400

info@elainebellcatering.com Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1405626907415-trio-of-summer-tomatoes-1
130x130_sq_1405633756981-1---beet-salad-in-a-wire-nest
130x130_sq_1405628096638-instagramcapture302a4a4c-c771-4dd8-9a41-aa76a0e8cd
130x130_sq_1405626902457-pan-seared-crab-cake-with-meyer-lemon-pink-pepperc
130x130_sq_1405633591066-hibiscus-fennel-rubbed-pork-tenderloin
130x130_sq_1405628104608-instagramcapturea5e2441f-76c0-411d-9187-9be2ba1fd4
130x130_sq_1405623846387-colligan-2016
130x130_sq_1405623953210-macayamas-family-style
130x130_sq_1405623937176-colligan-2418
130x130_sq_1405626585095-dessert
130x130_sq_1405627368160-indian-dessert-trio
130x130_sq_1405627372822-petite-grilled-strawberry-shortcake-kebab
130x130_sq_1405628100624-instagramcapture7151df05-bc69-4565-bcb9-819d15459a
130x130_sq_1405633573335-crudite
130x130_sq_1405633657568-claistoga-ruins---fireplace-area

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, British, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, French, German, Indian, Italian, Korean, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
5000

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Everyone raved about the food! Chad helped us and just took care of everything. He went well beyond expected. We loved the mini cheeseburgers as the late night snack. Perfect!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
I loved working with Emily at Elaine Bell catering, and I couldn't have been happier with the food at my wedding. Emily was reliable and full of good ideas. She helped my now-husband and me come up with ideas for a scotch-bar and even suggested special ice cubes and a fun display. And the food at the wedding was so good that my wedding guests are still talking about it three weeks later. The baby rack of lamb hors d'oeuvres and the ice cream sandwiches were the biggest hits.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheyenne
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely delicious food, beautiful presentations, and a fantastic staff and event coordinator (Richard Earl), we couldn't have been happier with Elaine Bell Catering. It was very important to me and my husband that the food at our wedding be excellent, and that is exactly what we got with Elaine Bell. After several tastings with various caterers in the Bay Area, they stood head and shoulders above the rest with regard to both the taste and visual appeal of the food, and also the ease of communicating with them - it made our decision easy, and the fact that their food and ingredients reflect our love of Northern California's cuisine and its focus on local and organic made us even happier. Working with Richard Earl throughout the wedding planning process was a pleasure - he was unfailingly responsive, helpful and pleasant, and very, very knowledgeable. We came into this without the first idea of how to plan such an event, and knowing that a great deal of the success of the afternoon and evening rested in the hands of the Elaine Bell staff gave us peace of mind. During and after the wedding we received many compliments on both the food and the professionalism and kind attentiveness of the staff. The latter I particularly noted, as well, even in the midst of what was an incredible whirl of a night. We highly recommend Elaine Bell Catering!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Where do I begin? Thank god our planner brought us to EB. We thought we'd found the caterers the day prior to our meeting with them, but holy moly, thank goodness we waited to check EB out. We met Richard at the tasting and fell in love with him. The food was to die for (like Michelin star quality, truly) and the set-up was wonderful at the tasting. We were treated like royalty and even enjoyed a bottle of bubbly to celebrate. Throughout the menu planning process, Richard was nothing but helpful and supportive. Any question we had he was quick to answer and made all adjustments however we wanted them. We had stations and we kept getting compliments all night on how amazing the food was. And the staff was great, as well. The only "complaints" we had were the serving staff was too good -- drinks were placed on tables and they were swiped when people hadn't finished drinking them - ha! And a friend was bummed the food had been cleared because she hadn't had the chance to try something. Not bad complaints, really! Thank you, EB, for making our wedding truly an event to remember. I wish I'd gotten to enjoy more of the food but as the bride, it's always hard :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
2/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Elaine Bell catered our rehearsal dinner. The food was wonderful, and Chad was a joy to work with.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I atended a friends wedding in Napa and Elaine Bell was the caterer, it was magnificent!
Services Used: Catering
Bg5
Erica
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
We had a great experience with Elaine Bell. From our first tasting, to all of the details in between, they were helpful and always willing to answer questions. Everyone raved about the food the night of the wedding, as we knew they would! I would recommend them in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
We had a very positive experience with Elaine Bell catering and especially Amanda Gall, who directed our tasting and was the EB coordinator for our daughter's wedding. Mandy was delightful to work with, responsive and professional and very flexible with some of the changes and additions we made to the contract.
The food and service provided by Elaine Bell at the wedding was just delicious and the food which was served family style was hot and served quickly. I could not recommend them more highly.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I was planning a destination wedding from Texas. They did a great job working with our scheduled visit to California, and did a wonderful job. The food was one of the best features of the night! I have family members STILL talking about the appetizers! GREAT to work with and brought great ideas, as well as worked with my ideas. Farm fresh ingredients and local flair made it delicious!
Services Used: Catering
Bg6
Kristin
Wedding:
5/20/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about how amazing Elaine Bell was. We tasted at a total of 4 different caterers in the Napa Valley area and Elaine Bell was the best. And when it came down to the final cost they were not really anymore expensive than the others we looked at. During the whole planning process we worked with Rachel and she was extremely helpful and always on top of things. A week before the wedding we had a couple special requests and they had no problem accommodating us.
The service was amazing the day of the event. They even had someone who was designated to bring myself and my husband appetizers while we were having our photos taken so that we got to taste everything. They also made sure the wedding party had some appetizers as well. The dinner was delicious, just how we remembered it from our tasting. A lot of our guests commented on how good everything was! All of Elaine Bell's staff was friendly and always had a smile on their face during the whole event. And then at the end of the night, they had packed a really nice picnic bag with food and wine and put it in our room so that we had a late night snack if we wanted it. I could not be more happy with our choice of caterer and would recommend them to anyone who is getting married in the Napa Valley area.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mmbj10
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
Food and cocktails were amazing. Our guests could not believe how good it was! They were very professional and well organized staff that made our wedding reception and cocktail hour flawless. At the end of the night, they even gave us a little picnic basket with snacks...so thoughtful!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1265591911039-iceskating2
skier191
Wedding:
8/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Initially, Elaine Bell was the in house caterer for our venue. However, we later discovered that our venue would no longer use Elaine Bell on the date of our wedding. So based only on the reviews and awards that Elaine Bell Catering has acquired, we changed our wedding date.

THE BEST THING WE DID. The food at the wedding was exactly as presented to us during our tasting. Even better, the food tasted just as we expected from the tasting. The food was the quality and taste of a five star upscale restaurant. In addition to the taste of the food, the presentation was amazing. Everything was perfectly placed as if a piece of art on a plate. The appetizers were rich with taste and perfection as well.

During the planning process, Elaine Bell was helpful, attentive, responsive and highly professional. During the wedding, Elaine Bell and her staff made sure the entire progression of the wedding went smoothly and just as we had planned.

We would highly recommend Elaine Bell Catering to anyone planning a wedding or special event. We always felt like important customers.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aeberle_27
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
Thee food was the best ever! People still talk about how great the food was at our wedding :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MBC
Wedding:
6/15/2009
5.0/5.0
Elaine Bell catering was fantastic! They listened to our requests and worked with us to create a wonderful, unique and incredibly delicious wedding menu. All our guests commented on the professionalism of the servers and the beautiful presentation, as well as the great taste, of the food. When we ran out of chocolate dessert, they made a substitute that was so good everyone wanted the recipe. They even made a special plate for a guest who had allergies to some of their dishes. I would highly recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Myriah
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
The Elaine Bell Catering staff was amazing at my Napa wedding! They were extremely attentive and accommodating during the months leading up to our big day; their service and professionalism was outstanding! We had one guest that has severe gluten allergies and I asked them to let me know which dishes she could eat from. Instead, they prepared her an entire gluten-free meal, at no extra charge! They also had their servers bring passed appetizers to the wedding party during the picture taking, since we were missing the cocktail reception. The meal was incredible, and the guests couldn't stop raving (especially about the butternut squash ravioli!!!!)! At the end of the night they even made a to-go bag for my new husband and I, filled with the gourmet cheeses, cake, etc. When we got home we opened the bag to find out it contained entire picnic supplies, forks, plates, glasses, etc. They were truly above and beyond and I would recommend them to anyone getting married in San Francisco or the Wine country!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
myriah
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
The Elaine Bell Catering staff was amazing at my Napa wedding! They were extremely attentive and accommodating during the months leading up to our big day; their service and professionalism was outstanding! We had one guest that has severe gluten allergies and I asked them to let me know which dishes she could eat from. Instead, they prepared her an entire gluten-free meal, at no extra charge! They also had their servers bring passed appetizers to the wedding party during the picture taking, since we were missing the cocktail reception. The meal was incredible, and the guests couldn't stop raving (especially about the butternut squash ravioli!!!!)! At the end of the night they even made a to-go bag for my new husband and I, filled with the gourmet cheeses, cake, etc. When we got home we opened the bag to find out it contained entire picnic supplies, forks, plates, glasses, etc. They were truly above and beyond and I would recommend them to anyone getting married in San Francisco or the Wine country!!!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The Food and Service from Elaine Bell was exceptional! Everyone commented on how great the food was at the wedding. I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jodi
Wedding:
1/10/2008
5.0/5.0
Elaine Bell did a fantastic job catering our wedding. The food was amazing and the service was excellent. No one at our party wanted for anything. Highly recommended!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tamara
Wedding:
11/16/2002
5.0/5.0
This venue was more than I could have ever hoped for. They worked with me on ways to reduce teh per head cost which really helped. Not to mention that the location is gorgoeous with plenty of room for a small or large wedding. My guests were very impressed and the puctures turned out amazing! Our coordinator was so responsive and we didnt even have one complaint at the end of it all. If you want your wedding to look like it cost $30K but you want to spent more like $5K....this is the place to be...OH and they DIDNT have a F&B minimum!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John
Wedding:
2/12/1987
5.0/5.0
Excellent! FIVE STAR! No bad comments are needed to be written in my point of view.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/5/2013
4.9/5.0
The food at our wedding is still being talked about. Our friends and family really loved all the food that was given at our wedding. We worked with Chad, who was excellent and very flexible.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sierra
Wedding:
6/22/2012
4.9/5.0
Working with Elaine Bell was a dream come true. From just a simple online form I filled out, they came up with a wonderful sample menu for me that was the clear standout from others I had received. Right away I could tell that they had the creativity and gourmet palate I was looking for. My contact was Mandy and she was a doll to work with. Being an out of town bride, I did a lot of my planning over the phone and via email, but Mandy was always great about responding quickly. By the time I met her for our tasting, I felt like we were old friends. We did the menu tasting a few months before the wedding and it was wonderful - I highly recommend doing this. We tasted every dish and got to make changes. They even served us a few alternative dishes just in case we didn’t like something and I actually loved one of the alternatives so much I swapped it out for one of my original selections. On the day of the wedding, the staff arrived on time and got straight to work setting up. Everyone looked very professional and the food was exquisite. I served an all vegetarian menu to a crowd of 65 and got nothing but rave reviews, even from the hard core meat lovers. It was that good! I would highly recommend Elaine Bell to any bride.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
GingerIuppa
Wedding:
10/22/2010
4.9/5.0
My CatererElaine Bell Catering

Professional & delicious posted 11/9/2010
My fiance and I met each other in Culinary School in San Francisco, & I am a catering chef! So needless to say, the caterer was our most important decision. We shopped around and narrowed it down to 3 caterers. Elaine Bell's proposal though was exactly what we were looking for and the best value. They are a large catering company located in the Napa Valley with 30 years of experience. We were truely won over when we visted their facility for our tasting. We were greeted warmly by our Event Sales Manager Susan and were treated to a 4 person tasting of our entire menu (5 passed apps, 2 meat entrees, 3 side dishes). Elaine (the owner) also stepped out of the kitchen to meet with us, and then offered us a tour of her facility. Their Kitchen is Amazing! Our reception was held at a private residence that we rented, so Elaine Bell provided all the dishes, glassware, flateware, service staff, bar tenders, etc. They also brought all of their own kitchen equipment to cook everything on site, and this made all the difference in the quality of the food. We had passed apps during our cocktail hour (highly reccomend the cauliflower panna cotta), and then a family style meal. The most important thing to us was that the menu was local & seasonal, giving our guests the true experience of Bay Area cuisine. We had the Beet Salad, Chestnut Quinoa, Ratatouille, Mohogany Cedar Salmon, and the Braised Short Rib - all were exceptional (especially the slow smoked Short Rib). Many guests told me it was the best meal they have ever had at a wedding. The service staff was very professional and courteous. We highly reccomend Elaine Bell Catering!
Services Used: Catering
Wwnetwork-128
Kellie
Wedding:
6/12/2011
4.8/5.0
Elaine Bell has the most amazing food and presentation! I am so glad I hired them to cater our wedding. Everyone raved about it and some even said that it was the best steak they had ever had. I would highly recommend them!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/5/2012
4.7/5.0
We used Elaine Bell to cater our wedding in Petaluma in October. We found them really easy to work with and responsive to our requests for changes along the way. We checked out several caterers and ended up going to two tastings. Once we tasted the food at Elaine Bell, there was no doubt in our minds that we'd use them for our wedding, even though they were definitely not the least expensive option. The day of, we barely knew they were there! They set up everything perfectly and the staff was very, very professional. The service went so smoothly and the food was delicious. If you want great food, great service, piece of mind, and professionalism, you won't go wrong with Elaine Bell!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
Amazing! Elaine Bell was a preferred vendor for our venue, and they came highly recommended by our wedding coordinator. I'm so glad we used them for our wedding--the tasting was incredible, and come the big day, the food was as delicious. All our guests raved about it afterwards. As a side note, they are great with coming up with fabulous "station" menus for untraditional receptions (we didn't have a formal sit-down).

Richard was our contact, and he was great to work with. In regards to the timeliness of their responses, yeah, sometimes they'll take a while to get back to you, but I came to realize that's kind of how all wedding vendors work, especially when it gets to be prime wedding season. Actually, Elaine Bell was one of the few caterers who promptly responded to my emails whereas I never heard from others despite repeated phone calls and emails, and that was also a reason why we were so sold on them.

These guys are nothing but professionals, and I highly recommend Elaine Bell!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
5/5/2012
4.6/5.0
Wedding catering is always tricky. I was really worried about getting the dreaded rubber chicken for my destination wedding, especially since I wasn't going to be able to taste any of the food before I signed a contract! The team at Elaine Bell was an absolute dream to work with, however. I had a couple of times where I felt it like to took a long time to get an email response (Due to the time zone differences, most of my communications were in email,) but overall, the team was really flexible and helpful with all of my requests. We had maybe three versions of the menu before we settled on the final, and all of the tweaks they suggested were great! And when the big day finally arrived, the food was fantastic! Everyone raved about how fresh and tasty everything was (And no rubber chicken in sight!) I especially loved the little surprise the staff wrapped up for us at the end of the night. A really charming touch that I don't want to ruin for others!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kpw
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.6/5.0
Excellent food and great service. Guests were very enthusiastic about the food (unusual for a wedding!). Elaine Bell also helped us coordinate all the rentals for our wedding and gave us tips on purchasing alcohol/mixers.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
anna
Wedding:
5/16/2008
4.6/5.0
They are the best in Napa Valley hands down there food not only is delicious but beautiful presentation. THey have great customer service I worked with Karli Napp and was very impressed with the constant communication and keeping me in the loop as I was an out of town bride. They were a one stop shop with rentals and food. I would highly recommend this caterer! T
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
labomba
Wedding:
7/6/2007
4.4/5.0
StoneTree provides a beautiful backdrop for any wedding! The grounds are flawless and they provided many options for set up and catering. They were very helpful in making our wedding day amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aciredisco
Wedding:
10/23/2010
3.4/5.0
Elaine Bell's food is amazing, I would rate them a 4.5 out of 5 for food (the tasting was slightly better than the food at our wedding, though creating mass amounts of food is obviously harder than a small tasting amount). I had a few issues with their customer service and their responsiveness.
Our sales person, Emily, was an extraordinarily sweet girl, very enthusiastic and made a great impression on us in our tasting. Her responsiveness made planning a wedding very difficult. Sometimes she would respond within a day, but most of the time it would take 2 weeks or more. I even had to get on the phone with Elaine Bell at one point to request a different sales person because I couldn't be waiting 2 weeks for a reply. They insisted I stay with Emily and her responsiveness improved slightly, but not drastically.
My other complaint would be around the pricing. We kept changing things within our contract and somehow magically the total price would never change, regardless of whether we removed things, the price never budged. Lastly, we did not receive the full equipment we requested, and again, the price still remained the same.
The quality of the servers and the professionalism during the event was superb, I would rate that a 5, but my day to day planning service was disappointing at times.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1333645058095-img1804
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.0/5.0
Please note: this is a revised review:

I had some issue w/Elaine Bell catering...see below. But I have revised my review to warn other couples that they are a HORRIBLE company to deal with. They DO NOT care about their clients and are condescending and rude. Upon discussing the issues we had on our wedding day, we were told we would receive a refund on a portion of the costs. They were slow to respond, never sent the documentation we asked for, then, when Elaine Bell herself got involved, she was smug, rude and condescending. It would have been SO SIMPLE for them to make things right, but the fact that they quibbled with us over a couple hundred dollars on a $8000 bill shows what matter to them.
Be FOREWARNED...

While Elaine Bell came recommended from another venue we were considering, unfortunately their performance was not as professional as we expected. Initial conversations started out great, as was our initial tasting. Overall, the experience w/Elaine Bell was good, not great, not terrible. The food was good, perhaps a little light in quantity. Once we signed our contract, response time took much longer and follow-up was less professional than expected. Ultimately, the big disappointment was the actual event execution. They were not prepared for the day of event, even though we had done a complete walk-through of the event. The team was behind schedule in set-up, and dinner service and worst of all, they RUINED the specialty cocktails we offered at our wedding. We paid extra to have a bartender on staff and the batched cocktails that were undrinkable. Because they used up all the alcohol in the batches, there was no other alcohol to remake the drinks and people could only have wine or beer. Lastly, there were several people at our wedding who tried to talk to the chefs and received rude and curt responses. Again, overall, the experience was not terrible, just not great.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
776 Technology Way, Napa, CA 94558 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Elaine Bell Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1231363011984-elainebellcatering