130x130_sq_1256871962266-315

Elegant Event Planning and Design

DC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

DC US

PHONE

240-498-2889

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Elegant Event Planning and Design (Est. 2001) is an intimate firm with 2 professional planners. There is absolutely nothing cookie cutter about us. We believe that each of our clients... Read more
Elegant Event Planning and Design (Est. 2001) is an intimate firm with 2 professional planners. There is absolutely nothing cookie cutter about us. We believe that each of our clients are individuals with different requirements. We take pride in being able to customize our services to meet the needs and budget of each individual. In fact, we do not offer packages. I (Lisa) meet with all of our clients, and personally spend the time needed to get to know them and their weddings.

All of our clients are equally important, whether "day of" or "full event management". We take great care to make sure all of our weddings' are perfect. We encourage "day of" clients to contact us as soon as possible - whether it's a month prior or a year prior to your wedding day.

I work personally with each and every client. I will be the one working with you to plan your wedding and I will also be with you on your wedding day!

Most importantly, we go above and beyond for you and your family. We believe in going the extra mile to not only ensure a successful planning process and seamless wedding day - but that you and your family are happy and stress free.

Please take a moment to review the photographs and video that we have placed on our storefront. We believe that these pictures represent our style the absolute best. Make sure to visit our website and our blog!

I very much look forward to speaking to you about your wedding.

Lisa Read less
Wedding Planning

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1187774439343-406
130x130_sq_1187774753656-img3331
130x130_sq_1187774876421-img3314
130x130_sq_1187774957375-0521_0543
130x130_sq_1187774980015-0521_0839
130x130_sq_1187775015468-390
130x130_sq_1187775234015-p1010257
130x130_sq_1256870171687-chimivara202copy
130x130_sq_1256870635641-99299560xxzsvqjt125img7392
130x130_sq_1256870656937-99299563mifuk7ys127img7401
130x130_sq_1256870677828-99299581ohj2sxuc136img8737
130x130_sq_1256870794703-0735exposure
130x130_sq_1256871040328-1213exposure
130x130_sq_1256871107828-1335exposure
130x130_sq_1256871166906-1313exposure
130x130_sq_1256871266047-kea8247web
130x130_sq_1256871308016-kea8203web
130x130_sq_1256871357016-kea8233web
130x130_sq_1256871564578-163
130x130_sq_1256871707844-candlearrangement.website
130x130_sq_1256871760234-dsc0090
130x130_sq_1256871815969-dsc0177
130x130_sq_1256871859078-ceremony
130x130_sq_1256871892156-reception
130x130_sq_1257164498883-tinanoffpeng001
130x130_sq_1257164554899-tinanoffpeng003
130x130_sq_1257164610899-tinanoffpeng007
130x130_sq_1257164663930-em327
130x130_sq_1257164712633-em365

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Civil, Destination, Eco-Friendly / Green, Military
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning
How many planners do you work with?
We are a small and intimate firm. We have two very experienced professional planners ready and willing to cater to your needs.
What style of wedding do you specialize in planning?
Lisa specializes in home weddings. Jennifer specializes in Persian, Middle Eastern and Jewish weddings.
Do you support or cater to any specific religions?
We cater to everyone.
What sizes of weddings have you coordinated in the past?
50-350
Which venues have you worked at or are familiar with?
Many within Maryland, DC, and Virginia. We have also planned weddings in Kansas City, Minneapolis, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and New Hampshire. We have the experience and versitility to work anywhere.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melinda
Wedding:
9/16/2011
4.9/5.0
We thought long and hard about whether or not it was worth the money to get a planner or not. In the end we decided to splurge....spend the money to save ourselves tons of heartache on the day of. Being able to ask her for vendor recommendations (we feel she saved us a ton of money and heartache by providing tried and true vendors that she has worked with) or etiquette/general questions leading up to the event was so helpful. She also checked in every once in a while to make sure we hadn't gone astray with planning, which gave us a nice nudge during that stressful period.

I have to agree with what everyone else has already said, especially with the reviewer that said: 'Lisa Nelson has the calm presence of a therapist and the organization of a NASA launch team.' It's so true! This is why we chose her after interviewing her. The 2 weeks leading up to the event, we found ourselves saying over and over: 'Thank god we have Lisa.' On the surface, she seems very calm...almost too calm. But you can tell that underneath it, she has a 'Don't mess with our day' core, and she will BRING IT if she needs to. The day before, she ran the rehearsal (thank god - I'd never been in a wedding before and had no idea what needed to be done) like a pro - she was able to wrangle excited wedding parties, parents, kids, nearly 45 of them without an issue. Then she did a walk through with us and the decorations so we could explain what we wanted where. We left the decorations in her capable hands and her assistant and herself put them up as we were taking photos before the wedding. They did a smashing job! Everything looked better than I could have imagined. On the day of, she helped the men with their boutonnieres (no one knew how to do it), and her and her assistant were at the wedding hotel with us, managing the photographers, pre-wedding photos and general setup. During the reception, Lisa's assistant brought me my flip flops - I almost cried - having someone there for me? It was almost too luxurious. Those two ladies really spoil you. And if they're not by your side, then you can be sure they're taking care of something else that you don't want to have to be doing yourself.

We had heard that most planner's jobs were done the second the cake was cut. Our wedding was on a boat, so that wasn't an option ;) but when we asked Lisa, she looked shocked. She feels that her job isn't done until about an hour after the wedding, after she and her team have loaded presents into one waiting car, and all the wedding decorations into another.

If you're a control freak like me, it takes a bit to be able to get a hold of yourself and to hand the reins over to someone else, but in the end it was just so worth it. You have to enjoy the day because it goes so quickly. Hiring Lisa will give you that day back without compromising any of your vision. I thought that I could do it all, but looking back, it's really not possible. Once family starts arriving into town, any and all plans fly out the window, and time to do whatever you needed to do does too.

Trust Lisa's expertise and ability to carry out what she says she will, and you will be able to sit back and breathe and focus on the important parts - the people who have come to spend the day with you, the food, the cake, and the moments that you will remember for the rest of your life.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eileen
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Lisa Nelson has the calm presence of a therapist and the organization of a NASA launch team. Her very reasonable fee was the best money I spent on my daughter’s wedding.

I was initially reluctant to engage a “day of coordinator,” believing myself to be a well-organized person who could accomplish the same thing. However, from the moment I decided to hire Lisa, I realized how much more smoothly everything would run and how liberated I would be from the pressures of directing things on the day of the wedding. With Lisa coordinating, every member of the wedding party was fully able to be present in the moment, and not looking at their watch or giving orders. Also, Lisa brought a wealth of experience that I lacked. She ensured that details I had not even thought of were covered. Her timeline brought order and calm to a very packed day by allowing adequate time for everything.

When difficulties and misunderstandings arose with our venue in the final two weeks, Lisa was an invaluable consigliore and go-between. I always knew she was on our side and would do everything she could to produce, in every detail, the wedding we envisioned.

Late in the process, we worried that we would need a replacement for our officiant. Lisa’s familiarity with clergy to provide interfaith weddings enabled us to relax in the knowledge that a back-up plan would be found if needed. (It wasn’t.) Three days before the wedding, we feared we would need a rental chuppah to replace the hand-crafted one the father of the bride had built. Once again, Lisa calmly devised a Plan B, which, happily, we did not need.

Although the service we contracted for is called “day of coordination,” Lisa provided so much more than that. In addition to directing the rehearsal with a gentle touch, responding immediately to scores of emails, interfacing smoothly with other vendors, devising a detailed timeline with room to breathe, and bringing breakfast to the wedding party, Lisa came to a dry-run at our home to learn how to set up our chuppah and brought her characteristic calm to the situation when unexpected problems arose.

Lisa provides a fabulous service in the most professional way possible. Her calm, low-key personality spreads serenity at a time of stress. I cannot recommend her services highly enough.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Lisa was the perfect wedding planner for the day of our wedding. We had purchased her services for "Event Direction" and she went above and beyond our expectations for those services she promised/contracted with us. She was always quick to respond to any question or concern we had, had the best professional advice, and was even an exceptional listener. I had a lot of reception set up details for her to follow the day of the wedding and I couldn't be happier with how amazing it all turned out! Our family all commented on how perfectly professional Lisa was. We couldn't agree more!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Bg22
Julie
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
I never thought I would use a wedding planner and now I can't think how I could have done it without one. Lisa is wonderful to work with. I was much to busy at work to spend hours calling and checking with vendors. Lisa handled all of that and always kept us informed-- and by "us" I'm referring to the entire delegation of people handling part of the wedding planning, my fiancee, my mother,my sister, and my venue manager. She was very calm, which was exactly what i needed. And, she handled every problem that arose (and they always do!)

On the day of, I didn't worry about anything. Lisa and Valerie were completely behind the scenes, yet kept everything running smoothly. We highly recommend Elegant Event Planning and Design.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1272130843569-wed1
Libby Anne
Wedding:
5/30/2010
4.8/5.0
Lisa Nelson is a wonderful person to work with. She is, as others have said, laid-back and relaxed, which is exactly what we wanted our event to be. She is a GOLD MINE of helpful information and can source vendors for you that will make you very happy AND save you money. She takes you at your word, she will be there for you both before and during your event. Originally I thought to hire her only for the day of, I am so glad to have asked for more help planning, and only wish I had found her sooner!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1241056716609-1000650
adags
Wedding:
5/2/2010
5.0/5.0
We hired Lisa for "day of" event planning for our wedding in May. We planned to meet with several wedding planners to see which was the best fit with our personality as well as the best price within our budget. After meeting with Lisa for just a few minutes, we knew that she was going to be our wedding planner. To start, she loves what she does, and how many of us can say that about our jobs? The care and quality that she puts into everything is obvious.

Lisa consistently stayed in touch with us over the months before the wedding to see if we needed help with anything and also to start finalizing the details. Anytime I sent her an email, she responded almost immediately with an answer. She even went above and beyond to visit the venue several months in advance because she had never been there and she wanted to make sure she knew the ins and outs of the venue before we even started finalizing our planning.

As an overly organized person, I was more then impressed with her "day of time line." Every minute was planned, but she also helped us a bit with the day before planning to make sure that everything was in order. Lisa also came to the rehearsal as part of her fee, which was wonderful.

The day of the wedding, as normal I had pre-wedding jitters about things getting done, but I decided to trust that Lisa would get everything done. I'm glad I did because I was able to relax and get ready as she made sure that every one of my 8 million details was taken care of. She was everywhere and on top of everything. Then as if a little timer had gone off, she would pop her head around the corner no matter where I was the entire day, to let me know what my next move was.

All in all Lisa provided exceptional service for a very reasonable price. I would not hesitate for a second to recommend her to help with your event.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Bb9
Sadiqa & Sakeenah
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Elegant Event Planning and Design is an excellent choice for your wedding coordination needs. Very well connected to all the vendors you will need, very nice, and very organized. Lisa and her staff did an amazing job with our wedding. She is highly recommended, she truly took our visions and brought them to reality.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cweschler
Wedding:
1/2/2010
4.5/5.0
Lisa was hired as our day of coordinator, but she did much more than that. She identified several other vendors, which we ended up hiring and she helped with coordination and communication with the hotel. We had a couple of issues (the band needed insurance was one) which she helped us get through. One the day of she worked well with the hotel staff to make sure everything went smoothly. I was glad that she was available to me to bounce ideas and questions off of.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meaghan
Wedding:
10/24/2009
4.8/5.0
Lisa is very good value for the money. She's smart, responsive and delivers. She is NOT high maintenance and difficult, which I'm afraid, I found many to be. She's helpful and calm and collected while all about seem to be getting nervous. She found vendors for me fast and easily and delivered terrific quality. I knew generally what I wanted and needed help in the implementation. She was superb. She also thought of things that I didn't which was very helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
m
Wedding:
10/11/2009
4.8/5.0
Lisa was a necessary component of my wonderful wedding day. There were some issues that I was made aware of afterwards but all in all I had a wonderful day.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Omeni77
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
Lisa has a lovely and pleasant personality. She's quite laid-back as well and so at first I wondered if that meant she wouldn't be able to handle things. But she ended up helping us plan a wedding that was so beautiful, so full of character and class. She came up with ideas for decor, she listened to us, and most of all, she truly and deeply cared about making everything work well. She was completely committed and I would recommend her with absolutely no reservations.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
omni2009
Wedding:
7/18/2009
4.8/5.0
I am a very organized person and I have to say that I was on top of the wedding planning process the whole time. Even so I decided to hire a day of coordinator as a form of insurance and a backup for me on the day of the wedding. I thought that this was definitely worth the money and more than anything it was worth my own piece of mind. It was nice knowing that there was someone to take care of the set up and be there to greet my vendors as they arrived. I really struggled with picking a coordinator...some were just way too pricey and others seemed too bossy and opinionated. When I met Lisa I was very impressed by her professionalism and she came off very on top of her game without being pushy. I felt like if something went wrong at the wedding she would definetly be able to stick up for me. Luckily everything went great but even my fiance who thought that this was just a waste of money told me several times after the wedding that he thought it was worth the money!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mr and Mrs Benjamin
Wedding:
7/11/2009
4.8/5.0
Elegant Event Planning & Design helped us have a beautiful wedding!! We are so grateful to Lisa Nelson for all her help during the final stages of our wedding planning process and wedding day! Everything was absolutely gorgeous, and was exactly how we imagined it would be. We hired Lisa to help us in the final stages of wedding planning since we live in NC and the wedding was going to be in MD.

She even helped with unexpected catastrophes...for example...ordering brand new wedding invitations one month before the wedding...since our previous vendor gave us poor quality in the original invitations we ordered. We couldn't believe that was happening to us one month before the wedding! We called Lisa and asked if she could help. Sure enough, she came through and helped rush invitations to us. There were a few snags with getting the rush order, but all in all it really was great to have her help resolve that huge problem as efficiently as possible.

She ran our wedding rehearsals...thank goodness...because I turned into a basketcase the day before the wedding. Despite that, she helped keep everything together and running smoothly. The day of the wedding she was very calm and reassuring as well. Our wedding day went without a hitch. The wedding venue had their own coordinators. Lisa worked very well with them to help us have exactly what we wanted on our special day. I never had to think of anything...and if anything went wrong (I'm sure it did)...I had no idea about it...Lisa had things under control!

Best of all, Lisa had a personality that was so genuine. We felt like we gained a friend during our wedding planning process. My husband and I are so happy we made the decision to have Elegant Event Planning & Design help us pull off our wedding day. It was a choice we will never regret.

Lisa, we are so blessed to have met you!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
skimmy
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Lisa at Elegant Event was wonderful! I really can’t thank her enough for doing such a great job at the wedding and for her level of professionalism throughout the whole wedding planning process. Although I hired her for day-of wedding planning services, I really got so much more. She was a great resource from the day that I hired her and was very responsive to all of my emails and calls. Upon our first meeting, I was concerned because she was soft spoken and polite (I thought I needed a more aggressive, all-business type of person), but that proved to be no reason to worry. I think she was able to get more done because of her kind demeanor; however, when the situation required, she was firm and assertive. If you are debating whether to spend the extra expense of hiring Lisa, I think you should definitely do it. She was so integral to the success of the wedding; I really can’t imagine what it would have been like without her and her assistant, Valerie (who was also wonderful).
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adrienne
Wedding:
5/23/2009
4.5/5.0
Lisa was always available when I needed her and attended to every need and task I asked of her. It was a pleasure working with her and she helped make our wedding day wonderful.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1238552259640-img1935
Michelle
Wedding:
3/29/2009
5.0/5.0
Lisa Nelson, you are awesome!
Lisa was so great and easy going. My husband and I were married two years ago, and decided to have a formal reception and renew our vows. We were having some financial troubles (as most everyone else) and Lisa was very understanding. We set up a payment schedule.
The wedding day was perfect!!! I should have listened to her and had more assistants for the ceremony decorations. (the venue would only let us on one hour before the guests arrived to decorate!!!) They got almost everything up in time. And there was only 4 people (including Lisa) who decorated the place!
Lisa is the one calming you down, and reminding you of what's next. No matter how many times you memorize your timeline, you will definitely forget and the time flies by!!
Thank you so much Lisa. It was such a pleasure working with you, and I am so glad that I decided on having a wedding coordinator!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pickens2be
Wedding:
10/3/2008
5.0/5.0
If it weren't for Lisa and her assistant Valerie, I'm not sure our wedding would've come to fruition. We booked Lisa in December and our wedding was in October. Lisa was an amazing source of wedding tips and resources, and even though I emailed her on average about 3 times a day she always replied back with an answer. For our last meeting, Lisa and I sat down to discuss the loose ends we needed to take care of. She had organized every aspect of the wedding, including details that I had completely forgotten by that point. She has an amazing ability to keep all of your preferences and tastes organized so that your wedding will be absolutely unique. One example of Lisa's dedication to her profession occurred when Lisa, a few days away from giving birth, informed me that while in labor she would be working on my wedding day timeline!! Lisa's organization and ability to tackle the many small elements that we brides tend to forget towards the end was what made her an amazing coordinator. When we had a last-minute change in the time of reception set-up, Lisa had already hatched a new plan while I was still stressing about what to do. She and Valerie had taken care of everything so that the ceremony and reception sites were exactly what I'd said I wanted during the last of the 14 or so decor changes I'd made. You get a lot of Lisa for your buck and we are so relieved to have had her taking care of so much while we were able to enjoy our wedding day!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1224013832032-firstpicture
Mrs.Frey
Wedding:
9/27/2008
4.2/5.0
I hired Lisa and her team about two months before my wedding to help me wrap up all the loose ends of our wedding and provide me with an extra set of hands in the last few weeks before the wedding. I was thankful for the help and insight that Lisa and her staff provided in closing up the details of the wedding and know I would have been going crazy without the assurance that I had someone in my corner to handle any issues that would arise during the day (thankfully nothing big did).

Hiring Lisa and her team of Valerie and Lisa was well worth it!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cmcelhaney
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
Lisa at Elegant Event Design was sensational ! She was patient, understanding, very professional and bent over backwards to try to make our day as special and unique as possible.
We were having so many problems trying to plan ourselves and the establishment that we had booked at was giving us the run around. We thought we wouild have to call the wedding off, then we found Lisa and she took over and everything just fell into place.
We were very lucky to find her !!!!
Any bride and groom to be would be in great hands with Lisa planning their wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/26/2008
5.0/5.0
I had a great experience with the staff of Elegant Event Planning and Design. They were very flexible with the planning of my Annapolis wedding and we were able to work together closely despite being geographically a good distance apart. The day of wedding was wonderful thanks to their help. My husband and I were apprehensive about having a wedding planner because we did not want to feel "pushed around" on our day but Lisa kept everything on track in a very subtle and calm way. I highly recommend their service.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
monicah3323@yahoo.com
Wedding:
6/29/2008
5.0/5.0
OUR WEDDING PLANNER LISA NELSON AND VALERIE, WHERE AWESOME. THEY WERE VERY HELPFUL, VERY PROFESSIONAL AND UNDERSTANDING. THEY DID AN ABSOLUTLEY WONDERFUL JOB.. IF I GET MARRIED AGAIN I WILL CALL THEM...
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jan
Wedding:
6/22/2008
4.4/5.0
Lisa Nelson and her assistant Lisa were a pleasure to work with from the start. Lisa was always professional and a great resource for any questions I had about the planning process. I don't know how many miles we logged in emails over 15 months, but it was a lot. Lisa also helped keep me focused and calm during stressful times, like when our caterer vanished! She was exceptionally interested in making our dreams for our wedding a reality.

Our wedding was lovely! I truly believe Lisa has connections because the predicted rain held off until after the sunny ceremony took place beside the pond (geese and all)! There were so many vendors and 'things' to coordinate, but I knew Lisa and Lisa would make sure we could be guests at our own wedding. Also, we loved our photographers (recommended by Lisa). The preview photos we've seen are wonderful and just what we wanted.

Advice to brides just beginning the process -- a wedding planner, like Lisa, is the one person you can email or call when you're feeling overwhelmed and stressed who can reassure you based on their years of experience that everything WILL work out just the way you imagine. And even if some of the little things don't happen (like sparklers when you leave the reception), you'll be so happy on your wedding day they won't even matter. Save the sparklers for your one-month anniversary!

Very satisfied customers & newlyweds,
Jan & Harry Taylor
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lemma
Wedding:
6/7/2008
3.8/5.0
We used Elegant Event Planning for "day of" wedding planning services. I was really glad we decided to hire a planner - she thought of all of the little things that I would not have considered. The things I really loved - the timeline provided for the day of the wedding (this was a HUGE help), assistance in finding vendors that we had not already booked, confirmation for all of our other vendors and coordination with them on the timeline, attentiveness at the reception, ability to keep the reception on schedule so we didn't miss anything. Areas for improvement - the person we worked with seemed to be rather softspoken and shy so she was not the best at telling people what to do at the rehearsal, and I expected her to be more professionally dressed for the wedding and the rehearsal (in particular).

Overall I was happy with the services provided and the costs were less than several other comparable planners in the area.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristyn
Wedding:
4/5/2008
5.0/5.0
From the moment we hired Lisa to be our DOC, she went above and beyond all expectations. There's no way we could have pulled off the big day without her! She was there every step of the way, helping us plan the event with many excellent ideas, working with all of our vendors, and making sure our day ran like clockwork. We can't say enough about how responsive Lisa was via phone and email, as well. We were so lucky to have found her and we HIGHLY recommend her!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
10/14/2007
5.0/5.0
Lisa was helpful from the minute we signed a contract (which was many months before the wedding). She was extremely responsive to all of my emails throughout my wedding period. Come wedding day, she and her helpers arrived at our site early, and made everything run smoothly all day long. I would highly recommend Lisa and her company to anyone planning a wedding. She was also very friendly and warm the entire time we worked with her.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
8/18/2007
5.0/5.0
Lisa was an invaluable asset to our wedding from beginning to end. We hired her to be a wedding day coordinator and she went above and beyond our expectations when it came to the actual planning process. She gave us ideas and followed through with communicating with all of our vendors before the wedding. On the wedding day itself, she was everywhere at once, making sure everything went smoothly, and we had complete confidence that the day would go as planned. It definitely did, and we realized afterward that we could never have pulled it off without her!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amirah
Wedding:
5/27/2007
4.2/5.0
This vendor was very well prepared for the wedding day. I especially appreciated how accommodating she was considering my wedding venue was out of the state.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
10/7/2006
4.5/5.0
I hired Lisa to help me find a reception venue, as well as to be my DOC. She is super-organized and did a great job coordinating with all of the other vendors. One of my other vendors even commented on how great it was to work with her. She went above and beyond on the day of the wedding to ensure that we were happy. When she discovered that we forgot to bring our votive candles to the reception site, she ran out and purchased more. It poured rain the day of our wedding and we had planned on having our ceremony outside and the reception in a tent with tiki torches lighting the path from ceremony to reception; when I arrived at the site, the first thing I saw was Lisa and her assistant in their rain jackets setting up the tiki torches just in case it stopped raining (which it did). Now that is dedication!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adrienne
Wedding:
8/5/2006
5.0/5.0
Lisa was an excellent coordinator. Money was well spent hiring her to help us organize and coordinate our special day. The day ran like clock-work with Lisa working hard to make sure we were happy and taken care of and that if any problems arose, they were addressed immediately. We have been to many weddings since having our own last year and many times we have commented that our friends could have used a coordinator like Lisa.

Her professionalism, attention to detail, and organizational skills were excellent as well. She was especially kind in allowing us to pay her based on her older rates (which were in effect when I contacted her months before our wedding). She was open to our ideas and helped to execute them beautifully!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
6/18/2005
5.0/5.0
Working with Lisa was great, she helped me with all that I needed and more and was always there from me, even 2yrs after our wedding she still checks in to see how we are doing. She was great to work with.
Colleen Stevens
Services Used: DJ, Flowers, Invitations, Wedding Planning, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
11/6/2004
5.0/5.0
We debated whether or not to hire a day of coordinator since we were on a tighter budget. I saw how reasonably priced Lisa was so we spoke with her about 3+ months before the wedding. I knew the only way I would relax on the big day is to relinquish all control to a neutral person - i.e. Lisa - rather than ask family/friends. She immediately helped us with our planning of all the little details (some of which we didn't even think of). She helped get together timelines, pair up bridesmaids and groomsmen, etc. On the day of, she picked up our flowers from the florist (they don't deliver), picked up our favors and put stickers on them and even offered to go get us lunch (but I wasn't hungry). She decorated the reception site exactly how we imagined it and worked well with all of our vendors to make sure everyone was on the same page for all the major events (cake cutting, garter, bouquet, etc). She is so mild-mannered and sweet that we thought she would almost be too timid. However, on the day of, she was on top of everything without being bossy or in the way. We barely knew she was there except to check in on us to see how things were going and if we needed anything. We never felt interrupted by her and everything went extremely smooth. My parents, family and friends were able to relax and enjoy the day as well. Everytime they asked if they should help with something, Lisa was already taking care of it. Everyone complimented on how smooth the day went and how they really appreciated us having Lisa so our families and friends could enjoy the day stress-free with us and not be running around.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Loretta
Wedding:
8/21/2004
5.0/5.0
lisa nelson of elegant event planning and design was the singular most reason that our wedding turned out as beautiful and perfectly orchestrated as it did. we had a MAJOR issue right before the wedding; our DJ skipped town. lisa hooked us up with a DJ she'd worked with before, and he was phenomenal. on the big day, lisa advocated for us left and right when a few minor issues cropped up with the person who ran the building we were married in. she did a great job of helping us schedule time to decorate and then helped us decorate. she kept us all informed of what was going on when. and, she stayed incredibly positive and energetic right up until our reception ended (and i'm sure beyond/for cleanup). lisa's coordination/planning services went way above and beyond what we even expected. and, add to all this that lisa was helping us coordinate the wedding while we were living 1500 miles away. oh, and she was pregnant/had a tiny infant for the entire duration of her work with us.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
8/30/2003
5.0/5.0
I have to say how impressed I was with Lisa throughout all of the wedding planning & coordination from beginning to end.

I hired her about 4 months before my wedding, so I had actually secured most of the vendors on my own (with details still left to be worked out). When hiring a coordinator, I really wanted to be sure that, particularly at the reception site, someone was on my side and was there checking in on outside vendors: making sure the cake got there and was displayed on the right table, making sure the band got there and were setting up in the right spot, making sure the centerpieces arrived on time and were exactly how we discussed, making sure the tables were set the way the reception site coordinator and I had arranged and that the our menu cards were inserted into each napkin the way we wanted, setting up and making sure the table assignment cards were arranged correctly, setting up and making sure each seat had a favor (favor hung on the corner of each chair- and that's a lot of chairs!) making sure the photo guest book was set up and the photographers were ready to go with film, pens and adhesive for the Polaroid’s....all that stuff. Fortunately my reception sight had a reputation for being the best of the best, but it never hurts to have someone one your side:)

It's all these details that sometimes, if no one is "on your side" at the reception site, that can easily get over looked- and most of all the things that, no matter how much planning you do, you don't want to be worrying about as you're walking down the aisle, and having Lisa there took all of that off my shoulders. Especially when after the ceremony I learned that my husband to be had lost 3 buttons on his tux shirt by the time he got to the church, and 2 groomsmen lost a button too. Guess who brought a needle & thread? Lisa!
Lisa was great and evoked pure professionalism, but on top of that was so kind and personable (and calm!). Even when I got to my hair appointment the morning of the wedding day, my stylist commented on how nice Lisa was. Lisa was also so kind to come to my last fitting so that she could see how the dress was supposed to look and to be sure that she knew how to do the bustle- and thank God she did because my mom couldn't remember and my bridesmaids tried to "wing-it" Once again, Lisa to the rescue.

She was really great, and has found her true calling.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Elegant Event Planning and Design
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo