130x130_sq_1319134414087-newtonwhitemansionatrium

Elegant Settings of Maryland National Capitol Park and Parking Commission

Greenbelt , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

7833 Walker Drive, Suite 430
Greenbelt, MD US 20770 (map)

PHONE

301-446-3240

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Elegant Settings turn ordinary events into the extraordinary. Our unique and elegant properties lend a sense of luxury and style with a sense of significance. Whether you need a room for... Read more
Elegant Settings turn ordinary events into the extraordinary. Our unique and elegant properties lend a sense of luxury and style with a sense of significance. Whether you need a room for two or 200, our properties provide the perfect setting for your event.

Prince George’s County, Maryland is home to an assortment of beautiful rental sites available for, social events, weddings and business meetings. They are reasonable priced, distinctively appointed and impeccably maintained. All are equipped with warming kitchens, adjacent free parking, wireless Internet, are wheelchair accessible and conveniently located within 30 minutes of Washington, D.C., Baltimore, and northern Virginia. All properties are equipped with warming kitchens, adjacent free parking and numerous other amenities.


Dorsey Chapel Newton White Mansion (Voted Washingtonian Bride & Groom 2012 Best Wedding Vendor) Oxon Hill Manor (Voted Washingtonian Bride & Groom 2012 Best Wedding Vendor and 2012 Pick for The Knot Best of Weddings) Prince George's Ballroom Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1323190844443-nwmexteriorflickr
130x130_sq_1368561818596-oxon-hill-manor
130x130_sq_1368563809153-oxon-hill-patio
130x130_sq_1323190843474-newotnwhitemansionrearviewfromgolfcourse
130x130_sq_1368563775412-snow-hill-manor-entrance
130x130_sq_1368561706332-prince-georges-ballroom
130x130_sq_1368561751425-garden-of-oxon-hill-manor
130x130_sq_1323190838880-outdooroverlookingpotomacohm
130x130_sq_1323190840396-ohmtentedpatiosetup
130x130_sq_1323190872880-15riversdaleexterior
130x130_sq_1368563703520-billignsley-wedding
130x130_sq_1368563693239-75423022989d9e172c8db
130x130_sq_1323190839521-ohmoutsidechase003
130x130_sq_1323190842365-oxonhillmanorwindingstaircase
130x130_sq_1368563803202-oxon-hill-manor-foyer
130x130_sq_1323190861568-diningroomsetup
130x130_sq_1323190860990-princegeorgesballroomopenfloor
130x130_sq_1323191636974-newtonwhitemansionyellowsetup
130x130_sq_1323190861802-dorseychapelinterior
130x130_sq_1323190867411-dorseychapeloriginalsize
130x130_sq_1323190871115-8montpeliermansion
130x130_sq_1323190875599-oxonhillmanorfrontentrance
130x130_sq_1323190839911-ohmoutsidechase006
130x130_sq_1368561728821-billingsely-house
130x130_sq_1368561795033-newton-white-mansion-entrance
130x130_sq_1368563690619-billingsley
130x130_sq_1368563696814-beillingsley-wedding
130x130_sq_1368563783057-oxon-hill-manor
130x130_sq_1368563830247-prince-georges-ballroom
130x130_sq_1368563850237-snow-hill-manor

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nhamilton
Wedding:
10/28/2011
5.0/5.0
I had my October 28, 2011 wedding reception at the Mansion (ceremony was offsite). It's a beautiful venue located on a golf course and the grounds are well maintained. Unlike previous reviewers, I don't have any complaints regarding the rules or service. However, I didn't have much contact with the venue operators since my coordinator mostly dealt with them. That being said, I did call/email a few times and I always received a courteous, quick response. The only thing I desired to have which was not permitted were sparklers but that's understandable. I think the timing may be a little tight (vendors are permitted in no more than one hour before your scheduled event, with the exception of the caterer who is permitted to enter two hours early). I don't know what the "norm" is but if your vendor is a professional, they should be able to do what they need to do within the given time. All in all, a beautiful venue for a reasonable price.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1315362303343-0327copy
Chantel
Wedding:
9/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Absolutely Beautiful! My husband and I instantly fell in love with this luxurious venue! I couldn’t imagine getting married anywhere else! The staff was great…very professional and helpful! ALL of our guests agreed…hands down, Oxon Hill Manor is the most beautiful wedding venue in our area! I couldn't believe it was so affordable!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dshelton7211
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
D.C.'s hidden gem. I had both my cermony and reception outside and it was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful, they made my wedding even more special.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1312290562553-amyjustin317
Amy
Wedding:
6/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Oxon Hill is a stunningly beautiful manor that sits above National Harbor. Because it is run by the parks department, it is a great value by Washington DC standards. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful - every time I asked for a time to walk thru the property w/a vendor they easily accomodated me. The office sent reminders of when payments and floorplans/vendor sheets were due and I could drop them off in-person, email or fax them back. Our caterer (Windows) has worked extensively at Oxon Hill so we did not have to do any of the additional paperwork that a new caterer would require which probably made the process smoother for us. We chose to have everything outside (cocktails by the reflecting pool and dinner/dancing on the back patio) and the weather cooperated! You do have to submit two floorplans in case it rains, but the Oxon Hill staff & Windows ensured us if our reception had to be moved inside it would be seemless to our guests. A big parking lot also makes it a plus in DC. Many of the hotels in National Harbor will give you a reduced rate for a wedding block if you mention Oxon Hill Manor as your reception site too!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sonya
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
Oxon Hill Manor was the venue we choose for our wedding ceremony and reception. It is absolutely gorgeous! When we first saw Oxon Hill Manor we knew that this was the place that we wanted to get married. The manor is beautiful and the gardens are breath taking. The staff was flexible and very easy to work with. They kept us informed and answered all of our questions. We call it the best kept secret. It is very accessible to the National Harbor. We were extremely pleased with Oxon Hill Manor.

Fabulous Venue,
Mr. & Mrs. Johnson
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Newton White Mansion was the perfect venue for our reception. We had our ceremony at a nearby church, and then hosted our cocktail hour and reception during the evening slot on Saturday. The venue was ideal because there was plenty of room for our guests to spread out and walk around during the cocktail hour before the beginning of the reception. We had a mixed culture wedding, and even though we thought there would not be enough room for the dancing, we we surprised because there was plenty of room with our 180 guests.

I would recommend NWM for your wedding because of the location, proximity to highways, the scenic backdrop of the surrounding grounds and plenty of guest parking. You should be forewarned though that the Mansion has strict rules and regulations, considering that it is a historic property, so you have to have all vendors approved.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HersheyPABride
Wedding:
11/14/2010
5.0/5.0
This is, hands down, THE most beautiful setting for a wedding in the Washington area, and the NWM staff is top-notch -- responsive, friendly, helpful. Nearly every person I spoke to at our wedding complimented us on the venue choice. The word I kept hearing: "stunning." And it really is. Even my makeup artist and hair stylist raved about the venue, both for its beauty, and for its user-friendliness -- big lounges for the groom and bride, with plenty of room for a bunch of girls to get ready without getting in each others' way.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1292555171253-673031645192647642117165515717982116273933n
Officially His Mrs P.
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place!!!! It was absolutely stunning. I chose to have the ceremony outdoors & decided not to decorate the grounds because it was gorgeous as is. Everything was perfect, couldn't ask for anything else.

The staff was wonderful!! We decided to upgrade from the banquet chairs to the chivari chairs. We were supposed to pay for them when we went for rehearsal, but as fate would have it, we got so carried away with everthing & left before paying for the chairs. The staff kindly gave me a call & reminded me that I could pay for them before 5pm or they would deduct it from the security deposit. Guess what time I finally looked at my phone.....5:20!!!!! Thank God they upgraded the chairs for me because I don't know what I would have done had I walked into the reception & saw the banquet chairs!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1268335893081-untitled
OpsieDaisy
Wedding:
9/24/2010
5.0/5.0
This mansion is beautiful, and amazing! There are so many picture options and the scenery is so romantic. Perfect for small & intimate or LARGE (like my own) weddings. I LOVE the fountain, and the atrium is just georgeous either at night (mine was at night, the starts looked like a dream) or during the day when the sun shines in..

They even accomodated me for a rehearsal which some venues do not do.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Khaleshia
Wedding:
9/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Oxon Hill Manor is the perfect venue with both indoor and outdoor options. The grounds are amazing. The staff is very attentive and easy to work with. The process was painless from beginning to end. I would not change a thing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darmika
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
My wedding was so PERFECT and I'm not just saying this because I was the bride. Choosing Newton White Mansion was the best decision my husband and I could have made. The staff is very professional and pleasant and the price of the mansion is worth every penny. The mansion offers a certain ambiance of its own and you have so much space so every room will be used for something. It is also convenient to have everything at one location. We had our wedding outside on the patio and we had an evening wedding so it was everything I pictured and more. The atrium is one of a kind. My guest had the time of their lives and we are so happy that we chose the Newton to say "I DO" for the first and ONLY time!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maggie
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have asked for anything more from this venue. Perfect gardens and grounds, immaculate inside. It doesn't have a room for the groomsmen to dress, so that's something to consider. You also have a REALLY tight time schedule, since there's an early and a later block of time, and they are usually both booked. So I'd recommend either purchasing additional morning hours if you are there in the early slot to facilitate set up and photographs at a more leisurely pace.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amhwedding2010
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
The Oxon Hill Manor is a beautiful venue! You have access to the entire property. We had hoped to have cocktail hour in the garden, however it was 105 degrees the day of our wedding. Lucky for us, the Manor is big enough to move it all inside. The bridal suite upstairs is a wonderful little hide away for the bridal party. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you are a PG County resident, you get a discount.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1255558067979-img0706
erikatarrance
Wedding:
7/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Newton Mansion is one of the best venues in the metro area. I rate them 5 stars in all categories.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lebritton
Wedding:
7/11/2010
5.0/5.0
The staff at Oxon Hill Manor was very on top of things and really did everything they could to make my wedding day perfect. They were flexible with certain issues and worked with us for what we wanted. The grounds were absolutely gorgeous - they really keep them up and make sure they are pristine for your event. The inside of the manor was also kept up really well, creating an old-timey feel that wasn't shabby. Overall I loved this venue for my wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
V.
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
newton white was a beautiful venue. we had our reception there. they are prompt with responding and gave us a nice tour. it was worth every penny. the view was wonderful and added a nice ambiance to our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Oxon Hill Manor is an absolutely gorgeous venue, and I am SO happy we held our wedding ceremony and reception there. Since its owned by PG parks, the price is more reasonable than many similar venues -- and I'm probably biased, but I think this is the most gorgeous venue I've seen - the manor itself; its impressive rooms; the lovely gardens, reflecting pool, and terraces; the view of the Potomac - it's just breathtaking. The staff were very helpful and easy to work with. A couple of drawbacks were that it's only possible to visit during work hours, it books up very quickly (we tried to book a May or June wedding a year in advance, and were lucky to snag someone's August date when they didnt send in their deposit on time), and there are a couple of annoying rules, such as no red wine. But overall, it's a beautiful, beautiful venue with a reasonable price.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
zoe33
Wedding:
6/7/2009
5.0/5.0
I loved the mansion!!. It is one of the best venues in the area. I was able to utilize the beautiful outdoor patio for my ceremony and the cool and airy atrium for my reception. It was truly the best of both worlds. The staff at the Mansion was always available to answer my questions or soothe my concerns. They were a joy to work with. Though the mansion has a lot of rules - I believe that the cost is outweighed by all of the benefits.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ngoc
Wedding:
10/11/2008
5.0/5.0
Even after having visited the Oxon Hill Manor many times before our wedding, my husband and I were still blown away on our wedding day by the beauty of the Manor. The site is perfect with beautiful, well-kept gardens & fountains, spacious rooms to accomodate different parts of the wedding, and breathless decor. Just seeing all the amazed looks on our guests face on our wedding day made us knew we had chosen the most beautiful place to have our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
princessleha
Wedding:
10/15/2007
5.0/5.0
This venue is absolutely gorgeous ALL year long. It's situated on a golf course, so we loved all the green and serene environment. The staff was more than helpful, professional, curteous ALWAYS, and friendly. They were so professional, i just LOVED working with them. It made everything SO easy to have such a gorgeous venue. We got married on a Monday, so the price was way-less as well, than it normally would have been, and this was totally fine in the end to do it this way. Highly recommend it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pam
Wedding:
10/13/2007
5.0/5.0
This venue was wonderful. Years ago, I was engaged and planned to have my wedding there, but it never happened, so when I became engaged again, this was definitely at the top of my list. The facility is wonderful, the staff (especially Marion Rogers) was a joy to work with. The venue had just completed a renovation and it was beautiful. They even have an outdoor patio for the bride who wants an outdoor wedding. The venue was only about 10 minutes from my church, so it worked out perfect. Finally, I had my wonderful wedding reception at PG Ballroom and was not disappointed at all. They have a great enclosed large patio area for the food and bar setup, a wonderful stage area for the head table and the hardwood floors are a wonderful addition. I had 170 guests and the room was more than accommodating and left a large dance floor for partying. Time goes by so fast on your wedding day, so try to enjoy the moment. The facility and staff at this Ballroom are well worth the money, as compared to other venues.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
10/8/2007
5.0/5.0
I have known since I was 15 where I wanted to get married. So when I met the man of my dreams and he asked me to spend the rest of my life with him, the only venue we looked into was the Newton White Mansion. The historic beauty and class of this venue surpassed any other venue we could have considered. The only issue was securing the date because the mansion is booked up to two years in advance. I already knew I wasn't interested in a Saturday wedding but never fathomed a Monday wedding. We made it happen on Columbus Day and the venue was packed to capacity on a Monday. When your guests hear where you are being married, it sets the tone for the event. My guests already knew it would be a memorable event. The staff were very helpful and couteous and respnded to every whim and need of all of our guests. We dressed at the there. The ceremony took place in the courtyard in front of the fountain and it was over 90 degrees in October. The reception was held in the glass atrium and we were able to save on transportation costs and time as we didn't need to travel to different venues. My wedding day was absolutely AMAZING. We wouldn't have changed anything.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
7/7/2007
5.0/5.0
The advice I want to give is to book whatever you need as soon as possible. It came down to almost 2 months before the wedding and we didn't have an officiant and it was hard to find one because everyone was taken. We found someone and they did excellent job. Also make sure you do follow-ups with whom ever you are working with for whatever to make sure they have a complete understanding of what you want. Two days before the wedding I went to check on my cake and they had it all wrong so I made them do it again. Also, this is forthe ladies, make sure you husband is involved. I did just about everything myself and almost lost it. Make sure you have a person to help with everything. I had people to clean up afterwards, take home my gifts, make sure guest were gone at a certain point and to set up. Do not set up yourself. I planned and decorated my wedding so by the time it was time for me to walk down the isle I was tired. Don't do everything yourself. If people offer to help let them. It is also cheaper to if you go to Michaels or some art store and buy the "make your own invitation" kits (looks just like the professionals) and use there decorations. If you do a lot of the stuff yourself your wedding will cost less. A real wedding can cost up to $100,000.00 mine only cost $4500.00. My parents paid for the venue and his parents paid for catering and we bought all of our decorations, invitations, and programs either online or from Michaels. We made almost everything ourselves. And the last and most important, communicate with you spouse. Let them know how you are feeling it helps.
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
5/17/2007
5.0/5.0
I had both my wedding and reception at Newton White Mansion in Mitchellville, MD. The building itself is beautiful and the grounds put it over the top. The outdoor ceremony area was perfect, and the atruim was gorgeous. I was also very pleased with the staff and the service. They answered every question and concern I had and helped make my day a special one. If you would like a beautiful venue for both your wedding and reception or just your reception, take a look at Newton White, you won't be disappointed.

The Most Happy Bride EVER!
Vanessa
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abigail
Wedding:
3/4/2004
5.0/5.0
The well-kept historical venue has a beautiful outdoor space and enclosed atrium. They also have their own tables and chairs included in the rental fee!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
10/21/2011
4.9/5.0
We had our wedding ceremony and reception here on 10-21-11 and it was absolutely beautiful. The mansion is unlike most in the are because of the large atrium which allows for a large reception all in one room. The staff was were always responsive, they do have rules which they are strict on because it's a historic mansion.
The person that was onsite the day of our wedding was super nice and helped out with several of our guests who were unable to sit outside for the ceremony due to some physical limitations. He made sure they were set up inside and were able to watch the ceremony from inside.
We have received numerous compliments on how beautiful the reception and mansion were.
They do give a discount for PG county and Mont. County Residents, but unfortunately we were not so had to pay full price:(
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1245348447166-405
Lisa
Wedding:
7/17/2009
4.9/5.0
Oxon Hill Manor is on of the most beautiful places to get married at in the Washington, DC Metro Area! From the first time I toured the Manor, I knew it was the place for my wedding! The house is fantastic! The views of the Potomac River are breathtaking! Our out of town guest stayed just 1 mile away at the National Harbor. Perfect location for ceremony and reception!

We wanted to say thank you for all of your help with our wedding! Everything was absolutely perfect and beautiful! I wish I could tell you how many times over the weekend I was complimented on the choice of location for the ceremony and reception.Thanks again!


Peace & Blessings,
Lisa & Felix

Wedding Wire Search-Remember that this is a Historical Rental and there are Rules & Regulations that they must follow due to Preservations Requirements. Flexibility:This is the only reason Oxon Hill did not get a 5.0.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
blkcoffey717
Wedding:
6/14/2009
4.9/5.0
As soon as I saw Oxon Hill Manor I knew it was the place I wanted to get married! It had everything I wanted-water, beautiful landscape, flowers and a gorgeous historic mansion. Since I was planning an outdoor ceremony, it was the perfect place to plan my wedding! Everyone there was more than accomodating and seemed just as excited about my special day as I was! Mary and Betty were very helpful and didn't mind me calling to ask a million questions along the way. The only downside was in the flexibility with the seating, hours of rental, and availibility because of the high demand and historic nature of the venue. Inside the house only holds 175 seated in different rooms, so we had to rent a tent for our reception because of our guest count. However, we were able to have our ceremony in the garden, cocktail hour inside and on the patio, reception in a tent and dancing inside. It was great! I was blessed to have beautiful weather and all everyone could talk about was how breathtaking the mansion was on our wedding day. To top it all off, they even sent us a wedding gift. I wouldn't change a thing!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1257018147364-crutchfieldwedding0285
kcwed09
Wedding:
5/25/2009
4.9/5.0
I enjoyed having my wedding at the Newton White Mansion. The process to book the venue went smoothly since I planned early ( a year in advance) and I would highly recommend the site to others.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacey
Wedding:
9/30/2011
4.8/5.0
I live in Philadelphia but decided to have my wedding in MD where I grew up. One of the driving reasons I decided to have my wedding in MD was because of Newtown White Mansion. I explored venues from PA to DC and I kept going back to Newtown. There are very few venues that are as gorgeous as Newtown White yet can accommodate a large reception in one room. Elaborate decorations aren’t necessary because the mansion is beautiful by itself. We chose to have our ceremony there as well and we are very glad we did. The pictures of the outdoor ceremony turned out beautifully. Having everything at one place was convenient for our guests and saved on time. Newtown White Mansion is a gem that should be given serious consideration. Book this venue for your upcoming wedding or event; you will be glad you did.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
4/15/2011
4.8/5.0
What an amazing setting for our reception! The grounds are absolutely amazing, especially in the spring when the flowers are in bloom. All of my guests were very impressed by the mansion, and especially by all of the different settings within the mansion itself and with the surrounding grounds. The staff was very helpful and courteous. I would recommend this site to all engaged couples!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1291301457836-50
Starsteph84
Wedding:
11/6/2010
4.8/5.0
I had a wonderful wedding reception at the P.G. Ballroom. Because it is a historic property, there were certain rules we had to follow that I did not like. No red wine or drinks, no flower or rose petals anywhere. But we worked around them at everything turned out beautiful. It was more than enough space for my 150 guests and the day of manager over my event (Eilene) was wonderful! I definitely would recommend the space.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
drlinda
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.8/5.0
LOVELY VENUE AND GREAT OFFICE STAFF. LOTS OF RULES AND REGULATIONS. BEST TO USE A CATERER WHO HAS WORKED THERE BEFORE.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg1
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Excellent and beautiful place to have an outdoor wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cecilia
Wedding:
6/19/2009
4.8/5.0
The Newton White Mansion was absolutely beautiful and perfect for our wedding ceremony and reception. The staff were always personable as well as professional. The landscaping and its natural beauty were definitely a nice touch. The only thing is that you have to be flexible and understand the requirements that they have since it's a historic landmark as well as part of the Maryland national parks. But it was gorgeous and I would definitely recommend this venue for any special occasion!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1200852807378-us
Sarah Ann
Wedding:
5/24/2008
4.8/5.0
Newton White is a gorgeous venue! Everyone was very helpful--and it was nice having the chivari chairs on-site so that we didn't have to rent them from anywhere and have them brought it. Everyone was very helpful!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1191049933234-engagementii
nicole
Wedding:
12/26/2007
4.8/5.0
Great room. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
6/24/2011
4.7/5.0
We had our reception at the Newton White Mansion, and it was gorgeous. Our guests were amazed at how beautiful the mansion and surrounding area was. The mansion is very well kept, clean, the flowers and landscaping blooming and perfect. Beautiful setting for photographs! The staff on site during the reception were helpful with lighting, temperature, and made sure fountain was turned on before guests arrived. The venue is slightly pricey, but you can bring your own alcohol (saves money) and you can choose your own caterer and vendors. This was very important to us. Other venues make you choose from a short list of caterers, for example, and we did not want to feel limited in options. Also, the atrium is very spacious (our guests commented how comfortable the seating arrangement was). We loved that the atrium was a great compromise between outdoor and indoor setting (no worries about rain/ mosquitoes, but all of the greenery and sunlight as if outdoors). This place was the perfect setting for our wedding reception (cocktails out on the patio, dinner and dancing in the atrium). Only downside for maybe some brides, lots of rules to this historic site (nothing too terrible though).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
WinterBride
Wedding:
12/17/2010
4.7/5.0
I loved this venue the moment I stepped in. I couldn't imagine anything better for my wedding...until I saw it decorated for Christmas. It was absolutely beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cmaclin
Wedding:
5/14/2010
4.7/5.0
Oxon Hill Manor was the venue that we chose for our wedding ceremony and reception. It is a beautiful mansion which sits a top a hill overlooking the National Harbor and the Potomac River. We enjoyed our experience working with Oxon Hill Manor as the staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. We planned to have the wedding ceremony in the garden, but a thunderstorm came ten minutes before we were supposed to start. Fortunately for us, Oxon Hill Manor had the needed staff and equipment to switch to plan B and move the ceremony inside for us. Thank you Oxon Hill Manor.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1202327420103-dsc01707
Mrs. Driver
Wedding:
10/3/2009
4.7/5.0
The Newton White Mansion is beautiful; they host 2 weddings per day on the weekends one early afternoon and one in the evening. Since we did not want to be rushed we opted to rent the mansion for the entire day this way we were able to have dinner at 7pm instead of 4pm or 9pm which is what you are limited to when you are sharing the day with another couple. This allowed for tons of flexibility and eleminated the stress of having my guests rushed out or waiting for another party to clear out before we could get in. This way if our timeline ran over or if we needed extra time to set up we had all the time in the world the mansion was ours from 10am - 1am! It was all mine and it was wonderful and stress free. I was able to treat this like my home for the day. There are several decked out rooms for the bride, groom, and bridal party as well as full access to all of the rooms in the mansion and the exterior grounds which are perfectly manicured. The staff was very helpful, they were very friendly and on top of every detail I requested during the wedding. My guests are still raving about exploring the mansion and how beautiful everything was. If you are looking for a historical venue where you can create an environment that is intimate for 80 to 400, does not have strict rules about red wine, or food restrictions Newton White Mansion should be on your list of places to check out.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
10/25/2008
4.7/5.0
Oxon Hill Staff and grounds are truly amazing! My pictures were SOOOO wonderful from the gardens. Highly recommend and outdoor wedding and reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
deeandben
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.6/5.0
Beautiful place and a great price especially with the county resident discount! It was my dream location! Only issue is that they have you on a tight time schedule.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mollie
Wedding:
10/4/2009
4.6/5.0
Beautiful venue. Mid-level price by DC standards, crazy by an other standards.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
Oxon Hill is a BEAUTIFUL site and we are so glad to have found it! The gardens are fantastic, you can see the Potomac, it was a good size for our party (we had about 130 people), and it was both elegant and welcoming.

It comes with a few historic site restrictions (e.g., no red wine inside the manor) but we found they were not so restrictive as at a lot of similar sites that we ruled out (i.e., at Oxon Hill you can have red wine outside, you can use candles in votive holders and you can dance in one room of the manor).

By way of advice to others I note the following:

(i) You may need to give guests extra time and extra help on directions.

Since the roads around there have changed with the National Harbor construction (and some GPS systems don't seem to have updated information), not so many people are familiar with that part of PG county, a couple guests (and one vendor) had a bit of trouble finding the site even though we gave out directions. This problem should get better though as GPS systems get updated to reflect the actual roads over there.

(ii) The Oxon Hill staff is very nice, friendly and responsive, but sometimes they gave us conflicting information.

For example, we were told at first that the tent company could plug in the lights on the patio, but then when we visited the site again, this information had changed (apparently a prior wedding had overloaded the circuits) and we needed a generator. We only found this out accidentally because we asked which plug they should use.

Similarly, we wanted to have a few outdoor tables on the patio with no tablecloths (so they wouldn't get soaked if it rained). The equipment list said that there were outdoor tables (and there are some white ones in some of the pictures), and Oxon Hill told us there were some that were white and didn't necessarily need tablecloths. But on the day of the wedding, there were only the brown wood regular indoor tables which need tablecloths, so we went without those tables on the patio. This was disappointing because we would have rented them if we had known Oxon Hill didn't have them. So, our advice is, make sure you physically look at anything there you want to use to be sure.

(iii) As with any special, historic site, you'll need to do more work than you would setting up a wedding at a hotel - i.e., you'll need to hire a caterer, rent linens, coordinate vendor arrival times, etc, and since you are renting the site for a limited number of hours you will need to schedule carefully and may need to pay for extra hours to have enough time for all of this. We found this to be worthwhile but I am SOOO glad I had a groom who wanted to be involved with the planning and was very helpful in this process. If you are going it alone (in the sense that you have a not-so-involved groom and don't want to hire a wedding planner) keep in mind that this could be stressful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rstephens
Wedding:
10/25/2008
4.6/5.0
I really enjoyed my venue, it was very reseanable compared to many venues in the DC area. The staff was very nice, the place was neat and ready to go. My only problem with the venue is timing, they do book two events per day so you do not have a lot of time to get in and set up. They also do not allow you to have any early deliveries or late equipment pick ups- this was a big hassle.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
esp
Wedding:
4/12/2008
4.6/5.0
No where more beautiful in Maryland for such a reasonable price. Very convenient for a big Annapolis wedding if you don't want to have to go to the hotels. The natural beauty of the grounds as seen through the glass atrium cannot be surpassed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1210177448939-picture003
LHarley220
Wedding:
3/15/2008
4.6/5.0
This place is one of the most beautiful places to have an event that I have ever been to in this area. I am not just say that because my wedding was here either. We interview several different places and this by far excided our expectations. They were very professional but a little bit tough. They do not bend on their rules what so ever but I guess that is why they are the best. The staff is seemingly friendly and they tried to accomodate us a much as possible. They gave my wedding planner a bit of a hard time but in the end it all came together nicely. I would recommend this vendor to any and all.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1250692874512-funheadshot
ArronRobinson
Wedding:
9/18/2010
4.5/5.0
Beautiful venue. I kept telling my friends they'd have to drag me outta there kiking and screaming because I wanted to LIVE there. The Manor provided the perfect romatic backdrop for our wedding. We had everything outdoors - wedding in the garden, cocktail reception around the reflection pool and dinner reception and dancing on the patio at the back of the house. I don't think I could have found a more perfect or beautiful venue for my wedding. They do have a lot of rules around what you can and can't do... so be sure to really read their regulations book!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kees26
Wedding:
8/22/2010
4.5/5.0
Oxon Hill Manor is an incredible venue. We had our ceremony outside in the garden and the reception inside. It was perfect. My husband and I visited several locations prior to OHM, but knew this was the spot as soon as we stepped into the manor.

There were a few hiccups early in the planning stage where we were confused on what we needed to fill out/pay/etc, but in the end we were able to figure everything out.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1266337572850-dancing
Ina
Wedding:
8/22/2009
4.5/5.0
My husband and I had completely differing opinions of what we wanted in a venue (outdoor/rustic vs. grand ballroom/library), and Oxon Hill Manor was the perfect match for us. It has a very elegant feel, especially inside the mansion with fireplaces, mantels, hardwood flooring, muted colors and high ceilings. But the grounds outside the mansion were also gorgeous - a lawn perfect for ceremonies overlooking the nearby harbor, a very large patio with fountains and plant beds, porches with columns...just gorgeous.

We planned to have our ceremony and half of our reception outside on the lawn and patio, but as the day grew closer and saw that the rain was a certainty, we realized that we would have to go with Plan B. But neither of us were too frazzled by it because the rooms inside are just so beautiful!

It turned out to be a very intimate event, and everyone had a great time, even with the rain.

My only complaint is dealing with some of the staff here. When my husband and I first communicated with them, we were told that our desired date was available for the entire day. So we canceled our holds on other venues and put all of our eggs in this basket. But after we signed the papers and paid the deposit, an Oxon Hill representative called us and said that she'd made a mistake - the place was only available for the evening hours: 6pm - 1am. We had a hell of a time fitting our set-up, ceremony, reception and clean-up in that amount of time. We did it, but that kind of mistake shouldn't have happened.

So if you're going to go with Oxon Hill for your wedding or event, which I highly recommend, be sure to double and triple check the availability of your desired date.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/16/2009
4.5/5.0
It has very beautiful setting. You get discount on the rate if you are a resident of Montgomery and PG county. Very rigid with their schedule.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
12/21/2008
4.5/5.0
Newton White Mansion is an absolutely gorgeous venue, and it truly was the perfect place for us to be married. The venue is stunning, the afternoon light coming into the atrium is just beautiful for a ceremony in the winter time, and the space is large enough to accommodate a large number of guests indoors. It is surrounded by rolling golf greens and trees that still look like fall in the winter. After Thanksgiving the hall is decorated with soft wreaths, white lights, ferns and Christmas trees, a beautiful and gorgeous decor that saves time in planning decorations. We could not have been more pleased with the space - it was absolutely beautiful. I had a couple of minor disappointments with the arrangements as we had planned and filled out all of the forms as they asked us to, but when the day of the wedding came the wrong chairs were used for the ceremony (they had accidentally put them in the contract), and the two fireplaces which they had offered us to be lit remained unlit. I didn't realize they would generate a new contract for the day of details & would have loved to go over it with them beforehand to make sure everything was set. We got married on a Sunday and paid for a few extra hours at the mansion to get ready which proved to be really worth it even though it was expensive. You have the freedom to choose your own caterers and make the space your own. Make sure you go over the details with the vendor but this place is absolutely worth it ... :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Blissfullyhappy
Wedding:
6/16/2007
4.5/5.0
It was the complete package. Beautiful scenery. The only dra back was scheduling rehersal time can be a difficult task. Our photos turned out great and the staff was extremely helpful
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
naijagrl
Wedding:
6/7/2003
4.5/5.0
Newton White Mansion is a very beautiful historical and elegant location. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. All areas from the Bridal room and the Atrium inside and the terrace and waterfall outside are just breathtaking! I was on a wait list fow a few months for the location and got my date when two couples cancelled. The staff always called me weekly to let me know my status. I got my date but didn't get my time as I had always wanted a mid-day wedding but I got the evening/night and loved it. I wouldn't have had any other way. The lighting in the mansion is beautiful. We were supposed to have the ceremony outside but it rained heavily but with the help of the staff we sere set up inside and everything went well. It's a beutiful location and you'll get great pictures! Oh and they give us a wedding gift-a commemorative plate with a picture of the mansion on it so we'll never forget.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marriedinarlva
Wedding:
7/17/2011
4.4/5.0
Oxon Hill was a beautiful place to get married and the staff was reasonable to work with. They have a lot of rules, but the rules keep the facility looking amazing year after year. We will treasure our memories and photos for a lifetime.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
5/28/2011
4.4/5.0
This is one of the most beautiful venues in PG County. Sandy, Marion, Leslie, Allison and Kimberly were very professional and calming during my hectic time. They accomodated me in so many ways that I cant describe.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Denise
Wedding:
4/30/2011
4.4/5.0
I had an outdoor ceremony in the garden at the mansion on 7/9/2011. The day was spectacular and the grounds were immaculate! The reception was held in the glass enclosed atrium which looks out to the perfectly manicured grounds and greenery. The Staff was very sweet. They looked in on me and congratulated me throughout my day. I was also surprised to receive a nice wedding gift from Newton. It was such a nice gesture. I cannot give Newton a five, because the fountain in the garden was not working. Besides that, it was absolutely the most amazing day of my life!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
5/25/2008
4.4/5.0
The Mansion is beautiful! I chose it because I was looking for a place to have both the ceremony and reception and I love that it doesn’t need much decorations. The staff was very helpful and was very accommodating. The only thing I do not like is that you have a time limit of 7 hrs and if you want more time, you have to purchase for $100 more an hour. It helps if you live in PG county, you will get an almost 50% discount.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
11/7/2009
4.3/5.0
Beautiful venue, though strict on rules and timeline. But all in all a very beautiful place for a wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1176998996718-gregorymichelleofficepartydec2006
Monkey Face
Wedding:
4/26/2008
4.3/5.0
My reception venue was Newton White Mansion; it's a historic site in Prince George's County, Maryland that complemented my historic, nearby church cermony site (Holy Family Catholic Church) very well. We booked the mansion during the day, the 10am- 5pm time slot and it worked out find. It's a beautiful venue, especially in the springtime. I work at a museum and am very use to historic properties so was already familiar with some restrictions that apply to these venues (no red wine, no red juice) and had no problems with that. Found the staff very easy to work with. Highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
7/9/2006
4.3/5.0
We had the ceremony outdoors and reception in the atrium. They were accommodating and able to make last minute changes if weather necessitated it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1169141852591-24pxmhs
Laura
Wedding:
6/10/2006
4.3/5.0
Newton White was a fantastic place to hold our reception! The site is absolutely gorgeous and really fit our requirements. We were looking for a historic site that would seat our 150 guests in one room, plus beautiful grounds for an outdoor ceremony and a good rain back-up plan in case the weather was bad. Plus, we didn't want to have to rent a tent. Newton White covered all these points!

Since they book two weddings in one day (morning slot and evening slot), they are very inflexible on the times that your event may occur. Also, there is only one hour that all vendors (except the caterer) is allowed to set up, which is difficult when you have a lot of DIY decorations. Plus since it's a historic building, they are extremely particular about what you can and cannot do (ie: no red wine or red liquids allowed, no tape or pins on the walls, no moving furniture, food only allowed in certain areas, etc). All of this is understandable, just a little hard to work around.

The $4,000 price tag is one of the best deals on a historic site we found, and I'd wholeheartedly recommend the site to anyone!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
12/30/2004
4.3/5.0
GORGEOUS site! Couldn't ask for a more beautiful and elegant wedding location.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg1
Reasa
Wedding:
10/8/2010
4.2/5.0
I had a great experience working with PG Ballroom to plan my wedding reception. Dorothy was really nice and she was always there to accommodate me if I had any questions or concerns. Any time I called and left a message, someone always got back to me with an answer within a day or so. My only complaint about the ballroom is that they have very strict rules about the contract times, which makes it a little difficult to plan for your reception. They do not allow any drop offs and they do not allow anyone inside to setup the reception outside the contracted time. We had a hard time coordinating the setup of our chair covers because of this, but everything worked out in the end and my reception turned out beautiful. If you are planning to use PG Ballroom, I recommend using vendors who have worked in this facility before, in order to make sure they are already familiar with the rules. That way, you don't need to worry about anyone overlooking the rules and incurring any extra fees on your behalf.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg6
SummerWed2010
Wedding:
6/26/2010
4.2/5.0
Newton White is a beautiful venue to hold your ceremony and/or reception. About 90% of our guests were from out of town, so we were looking for a venue where we could hold the ceremony & reception. Newton White was perfect for this. There is a large bride dressing room and a small groom dressing room. The grounds are beautiful and the mansion is gorgeous with a glass atrium to hold the reception.

The cost was very reasonable especially if you compare to the prices in DC. Montgomery & PG county residents receive a discount. Be sure to book as far in advance as possible. We called on January 2, 2009 for our wedding in June 2010 and we did not get the Saturday we wanted. I recommend staring to call 30 minutes before they take calls and call on several phones.

The venue is pretty strict with their rules, so they aren't willing to budge on much. Red wine or red drinks are not allowed because it may stain. Some of the staff is more friendly and helpful than others.

Overall, I recommend Newton White. It's beautiful and has tons of space. It's a plus to be able to have the wedding party get dressed and ready at the Mansion, so you aren't driving around to the salon, make-up, etc.

Definitely check this place out.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kjeng
Wedding:
6/25/2010
4.2/5.0
We had our ceremony on the terrace and reception in the atrium. NWM is a gorgeous venue. We didn't have to spend much on decor as a result. I didn't have too much communication w the staff as my fiancé handled most of it. I don't think he had any issues with them. There was a staff member on site on the day of who helped us turn on and off the fountain, which was a nice touch. We actually left our card box at the Mansion after our wedding, but thankfully, they found it and called us the next morning. We would have our wedding here again in a heartbeat. It book up fast, so don't delay!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
4/5/2009
4.2/5.0
I had my wedding ceremony and reception at Oxon Hill Manor in April.

The grounds were unvelieveably gorgeous, with cherry blossom trees and daffodils everywhere. It was amazing. We had beautiful weather and for the reception were able to have all the doors and windows open and it was like a dream. All of our guests thought it was unique and beautiful and were very impressed.

The only caveat about Oxon Hill Manor is that they have many strict rules. 1) No red drinks (including red wine, which was sort of awkward since we served beef for dinner), and 2) strict rules about table sizes and headcounts. I thought the rules were a bit overboard but it wasn't a big deal. The ladies in the office were really nice and helpful, and it is a beautiful location. I loved it. We had a wonderful ceremony and reception and I would definitely recommend the Manor.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Camille
Wedding:
4/21/2007
4.2/5.0
The ballroom was beautiful, they just completed renovations!! The major problem that we had with the ballroom is that we were NEVER informed (in the contract nor in conversation) that the air was regulated by the county!!! Therefore, on the day of our wedding no one at the ballroom thought to go the extra mile and contact the county to have them put the air on, as the temperature was in the 90s. Needless to say, many of our guests had to leave because it was too hot, and one of our guest passed out and we had to call for an ambulance. The facility placed fans in 2 areas, but it was only blowing hot air, and there were only 2 windows that could be lifted, but it didn't do much.

Despite this major factor of not having the air properly regulated, we still had a wonderful reception!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
VS
Wedding:
6/13/2009
4.1/5.0
THIS PLACE IS AMAZING. The venue is so beautiful you do not have to spend a lot of other decorations (i.e. flowers). The staff is decently friendly and responsive especially if your wedding team has worked with them before. Set up time is a little tight but can be done. Our outdoor ceremony and reception were just breath taking.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeanette
Wedding:
9/4/2011
4.0/5.0
We had a wonderful wedding at Newton White Mansion, despite a couple of hiccups with the venue. It's a beautiful location, has that charm that's missing with hotel ballrooms, and most importantly for us, had the capacity to have the ceremony and reception at the same location (with a very workable indoor backup in the event of rain, which helped ease our nerves in the week before the wedding as the weather predictions were all over the place). The bride and groom's suites were also really useful, even though we didn't have a big entourage. That said, there was a big "but" for us -- the mansion lost air conditioning in the reception room the week prior to the wedding due to the hurricane. Totally understandable that this was beyond their control, but they handled it very poorly, not notifying us until we arrived on the wedding day that the A/C was out. Plus, they only had two small fans we could set up to try and blow cool air in from the rest of the mansion (which thankfully had working A/C) -- had they told us about the issue earlier in the week, we could have arranged to bring or rent more fans, which would have helped significantly. I was a very sweaty bride by the end of the night. They recognized their mistake and offered us a significant refund after the fact, but I really wish they had done the professional thing and notified us earlier in the week when they realized the A/C might not be repaired by the wedding day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Toni
Wedding:
8/21/2011
4.0/5.0
The manor is very beautiful. The gardens are amazing and my pictures were breathtaking. Many rules and regulations that you have to be aware of. Also there was a major hiccup when we tried to have our rehersal there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TracieMas31
Wedding:
10/4/2009
4.0/5.0
Overall the Newton White Mansion is absolutely beautiful. I would definitely recommend using this location for your ceremony and/or reception. However, the staff is very strict on their rules so having a coordinator makes a huge difference so that you don't have to stress out over the details!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
August Bride
Wedding:
8/30/2009
4.0/5.0
Oxon Hill is by far the most beautiful wedding venue I've ever seen. I am so blessed to have had my wedding there. Having said that, I wish they had more amentities to offer. There are no decorations inside, which forces you to do a completely decorate their facility to host a wedding. While the staff was friendly (and a bit overworked), they weren't flexibly in things that are important to brides (ability to have ample room for the entire wedding party to get dressed - male and female, etc.) Another thing that bothered us was that they only allotted an hour for us to clean up at the end. It took an entire army to make that happen. We think it's done to force you to buy extra time, which in this day and age, is a bit much.

Despite these issues, I would DEFINATELY use Oxon Hill Manor again and recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful outdoor venue.

- August Bride
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1251693780385-lovelyday
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.8/5.0
Great Place to have your combo wedding/ceremony. The ballroom is beautiful. I reccomend if you have your ceremony outside to have an evening slot or during one of the cooler months of the year.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
4/23/2005
3.7/5.0
The location fit all my needs and easy to work with. Although I had to provide everything into the venue I was able to make each part my own personal touch. Because the location has it own elegant touch alot of decorations wasn't need to make the event classy.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaeleigh
Wedding:
8/2/2008
3.5/5.0
Beautiful venue. When I walked in I knew this is where I wanted my wedding. A little bit pricey, and they were pretty strict on their list of venues. But I didn't regret it. Great photos. =)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AliG
Wedding:
6/5/2004
3.4/5.0
This is a beautiful venue, inside and out. My plan was to have the ceremony on the terrace, but it rained so it was int he atrium. Even so, it was gorgeous and there was plenty of room for people to mingle during cocktail hour to ready the atrium for dinner. the place does not hold more than 200 comfortably, no matter what you read. I have been to weddings of 75, and of 220 there and weddings around 130-170 seem the most comfortable. No red wine is allowed, the staff will walk around during cleanup to ensure everything is perfect, and they almost never let you in early to set up, but if you follow their rules, the staff is quite nice to work with. If you live or work in PG county you get a discount on the rate.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelsey
Wedding:
9/4/2011
3.2/5.0
This site is gorgeous! Absolutely stunning, and was perfect for our wedding. However, there were some hiccups along the way that were a little frustrating. Every time I called I would speak to a different person, also I found the contract to be very confusing. There was issues with our contract and start time which we found out about halfway through the planning process, as well as confusion about having a tent on site. Despite those bumps in the road, I do think this site is possibly one of the most gorgeous well maintained sites, and Joann in the office is great to deal with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kandjwedding
Wedding:
10/13/2007
3.2/5.0
Newton White Mansion is breath-taking and quaint. It is perfect for outdoor ceremonies -- very picturesque, especially at sunset (photographers will love it), and the atrium indoors is just gorgeous for wedding receptions, especially evening ones when the lights are dimmed and candles are glowing and reflecting of the floor-to-ceiling windows. The staff at NWM, however, leaves much to be desired. They are sticklers on all their policies and are very inflexible. They also behave in a way that makes them seem clueless about how events work, how much time is actually needed for set-up and the care that needs to go into an event to make it special. Whenever I asked them questions, their staff was extremely impatient and condescending to the point where I left all communication with them to my wedding coordinator, who handles these things really well. I did not want to be stressed out by them. They will cram in 2 weddings in a day, leaving only an hour of break-down and clean-up time in between weddings and only the caterer can go inside before your actual contract time starts, which makes things tight for all the vendors, even the cater themselves. So we had to hire double the staff that the caterer would normally send just to get extra hands working on things more efficiently in such a short amount of time. It is totally do-able and you may have to pay a little extra, or, book NWM for the full day, which will be in the $7,500 range. Otherwise, our wedding time slot for Saturday night (from 6:00 pm to 1:00 am) cost us $4400. But we still had to pay extra for more staff, so like I said, it probably doesn't make a difference either way in cost if you book the whole day or book more staff for a half day. In the end, our night was beautiful. Our pictures looked great. People couldn't stop raving about the venue and how gorgeous everything was. If you have the right wedding coordinator who can deal with tight turn-around time and really good vendors, the evening will go off without a hitch. With the $4400 in rental (including the outdoor ceremony set-up), plus about $600 for chivari chair rentals (or you can rent their other less appealing chairs for free), plus another $120 for our rehearsal hour, we spent roughly $5,000. There is a security deposit of $750 which was refunded to us after the wedding since our caterer did an amazing job cleaning up. It was also a little nerve-racking because they can't guarantee you a rehearsal time, especially not the evening before and you have to call 30 days in advance of your wedding and see what is available. We got a noon time slot the day before so that was fine. It meant 2 or 3 of our wedding party couldn't make it during the day, but we had most of the crew there and it really helped to do it at the site. Overall, we have very fond memories of the place, minus the terrible attitudes of the NWM staff.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
4/17/2005
3.2/5.0
The Newton White Mansion was a beautiful setting for our ceremony and reception, and we used the outside courtyard for the ceremony and cocktail hour. If you are a Maryland resident, there is a significant discount in the rental rate because it is part of the Department of Parks and Recreation, which is why I gave a very high rating for value for budget. They are not extremely flexible with scheduling times to visit with your vendors, etc, because there are always weddings going on. This place books up fast - so call WAY in advance. I think we called in May to get a summer date for the following year and everything was taken, so we ended up taking a date in April.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BuffaloDots
Wedding:
10/29/2011
3.0/5.0
This venue is simply spectacular. It's beautiful and was a great place for my wedding. The women that work there however are very unresponsive and unhelpful. They have very strict rules about when vendors can arrive and rules about everything. I had to pay extra to get my wedding cake delivered in their strict time frame. If your guests drink too much and can't drive home, there's nothing that can be done because their cars will be locked on the lot until Monday morning. The venue was extremely unhelpful. All other venues in this price range included day of coordinators as well and Oxon Hill did not. There also are always 2 weddings scheduled a day which makes it difficult logistically as a bride. I wasn't able to get ready in their beautiful "getting ready room" because you have specific time slots that you can arrive in and it took me more than an hour to get ready.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aleyahorn
Wedding:
9/13/2009
2.8/5.0
The site was beautiful, but they were very inflexible. Also the fountain was suppose to be on but it was never turned on.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
6/25/2011
2.4/5.0
I'll start by stating that I am the Director of Events at a leading Washington Institution and therefore plan events for a living. My Husband and I had our wedding reception at Oxon Hill in this summer and I must say that it is one of the most beautiful venues in the area. Amazing grounds, beautiful decor, and ample space for guests. It is the best deal in town considering the rental fee is so low and the space is so large. I can't say enough about how wonderful the facility is.

However, I must say that working with the Oxon Hill staff was extremely frustrating from start to finish. I am glad so many others seem to have had an easy time, but we had quite the opposite experience.The first staff person we met with the day we booked was very sweet and helpful - however, we never saw or spoke to her again after that point and the people we did work with from then on left much to be desired. Their contract process was very confusing - so read carefully and ask questions. They were not attentive to us and the level of customer service was practically non existent. My advice is to stay on top of them and be sure to call or visit when you have questions or concerns.

Additionally, if you are considering renting Oxon Hill I recommend hiring a credible Wedding Planner. This way, your planner can trouble shoot for you and take on the responsibilities of ironing out the kinks and handling any mis-communications.

The biggest issue we had was that we were the second wedding of the day there (the evening slot) and the caterer from the morning wedding did not load out on time. I'm not sure where the site manager was and why this was not handled better as they knew they had a contract on the space for 5pm that night. Our caterer showed up on time and was not allowed in. Oxon Hill kept them waiting for 45 min. This threw our entire set up schedule off and we had to extend cocktails an additional 30 min while the finishing touches were put on dinner. Because of this, the wedding ran slightly over and the Oxon Hill staff had the audacity to hold our security deposit saying we failed to adhere to our end time! They refused to acknowledge that they kept our vendors from setting up on time. This is unfortunate seeing as though we had written e mails and text messages from our vendors to the head chef of the catering company confirming this. After much back and forth with my Father, Oxon Hill did end up returning the entire deposit, but it was not without much aggravation and they still refused to admit it was their wrong doing.

All in all, we had a wonderful wedding regardless of the Oxon Hill staff. We had some of the best vendors in town and they rose above it and got the job done and the space looked beautiful. We had great time with our family and friends and it is a memory we will cherish forever.

It is unfortunate that such a beautiful gem lacks excellent management. While I would never encourage someone not to book this space, I will say - be careful, do your homework, hire reliable vendors and get everything in writing.

My intention is not to post a negative review, but a helpful one that guides potential brides and educates them before making a decision. Oxon Hill is beautiful - and for some, the appeal of the facility and price may far outweight the lack of customer service and management - and there is nothing wrong with that.

My concluding statement is: You get what you pay for!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
7833 Walker Drive, Suite 430, Greenbelt, MD 20770 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Elegant Settings of Maryland National Capitol Park and Parking Commission
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo