130x130_sq_1366064321816-leslie

Elizabeth Larson Photography

NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

serving all of North Carolina, Virginia, and beyond
NC US (map)

PHONE

336-656-7733

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Specializing in documentary wedding photography and lifestyle portraiture with a fun, fresh, artistic flair. My natural ability with people puts them at ease in front of my camera,... Read more
Specializing in documentary wedding photography and lifestyle portraiture with a fun, fresh, artistic flair. My natural ability with people puts them at ease in front of my camera, allowing for more "in the moment" photographs. Please ask us about our efforts in becoming more environmentally friendly in our business practices! Serving all of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Georgia, Florida and beyond. We are available for destination weddings worldwide. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1366064285413-leslie
130x130_sq_1296915107264-meganwillforcvilleblog
130x130_sq_1296937753531-bwmeghanstrothercopy
130x130_sq_1296822690690-weddingmontagecopy
130x130_sq_1327090006343-elarson3
130x130_sq_1327154834409-lucyrobonsteps
130x130_sq_1327090015168-elarson4
130x130_sq_1327089982267-elarson
130x130_sq_1366064227939-elarsona-0164

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Prints, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Yes, from a candlelit stone chapel to a beach side wedding, I've had the experience with all kinds of lighting and in all kinds of weather.
Is your media preference film or digital?
digital capture, although I'm also an experienced film photographer.
How many photographers do you work with?
I'm always the primary photographer at your wedding, however you will often see me working with a co-shooter/assistant at most weddings. For smaller, more intimate weddings I often work solo, however a second photographer is always available to my clients upon request. Most of my levels {packages} include two photographers.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
yes, I am always the primary photographer at every wedding I'm commissioned for.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
I never book more than one assignment per day. I try to avoid doing more than one event in one weekend, so that my main focus will be on you and your wedding.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
In the unlikely event that I am prevented from shooting your wedding due to illness or emergency, I do have a replacement photographer, who is both experienced and professional, that would be able to take my place. In the 19 years since I've been photographing weddings, I have never missed a wedding I was commissioned for.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
Canon professional equipment with plenty of back-up gear. My assistants/associate photographers shoot with either Canon or Nikon professional gear. We also offer a photobooth complete with props for your reception with a studio lighting set-up and your choice of a white or grey background.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Most definitely! I bring 4 camera bodies, various lenses, 4 flashes, about (20) CF memory cards, batteries, and an assortment of accessories. My assistant always brings back-up equipment as well and/or they have the use of my back-up equipment, as I bring plenty!
Do you charge hourly or full day?
I offer 4 levels of service: full day, 8 hour, 6 hour and an "a la carte" package {on a limited basis}. Since I contract no more than one event a day, this gives us the flexibility of being able to stay longer as needed.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
yes, please inquire about current rates. I offer a full day package without time limitations as well.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
Since I work with a co-shooter we are able to take separate breaks ensuring that one of us is always "on" so that we don't miss any key shots. We appreciate a meal at weddings that are 6 hours or more. The best time for us to take this break is when all of your guests are eating too.
Do you charge for travel?
Depends on location. Most areas of North Carolina and Virginia are included.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Approximately 4-8 weeks after the wedding for online galleries, however images can be online as early as 2 weeks after the wedding. Please allow for more time during peak seasons {April thru October, typically}. 
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
All clients receive high resolution images on customized thumb drive with reprinting rights and on online gallery of all images from the wedding for viewing and ordering for 9 months after the wedding. In order to be more environmentally friendly, typically I do not offer paper proofs.
How long can the client keep the proofs?
The client gets to keep the thumb drive {aka the digital negatives}.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
yes, however I allow the client to use the images for personal use only, such as on their wedding website, social networking sites, and/or for ordering their own enlargements.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
yes, however I always ask my client ahead of time as their privacy is of utmost importance.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
yes, high resolution images on thumb drive with rights for personal use {for ordering their own enlargements, on a wedding website, and/or on social networking sites such as facebook}
Will images be available for viewing online?
yes, for 9 months after the event, wedding, or portrait session. I typically offer 20% off all online orders for all galleries for the first 30 days after being posted online.
What kind of albums do you offer?
Photobooks {images are digitally printed on pages} available in leather or linen covers and a multitude of many gorgeous colors. Photo wrap covers are available on some styles of our albums. We also offer a photo guest book with our engagement sessions. All albums are printed archivally for longevity.
When will the client get the final album?
Once the client has sent me a list of their favorites to go into their album, it takes approximately 6 to 12 weeks for completion. We also offer guidance to those who would rather we handle the selections to go into the design of their album.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
3/1/2014
5.0/5.0
The photos came out so beautifully. She really captured how happy we all were. It was a special day for me, and she got a snapshot of all the greatest moments. I have hundreds of great pictures to cherish for years now.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
We chose Elizabeth Larson to phtograph my daughter's wedding.I couldn't believe how beautiful the photos were.She was very professional and far exceeded our expectations.We ordered a wedding album and it was absolutely georgeous.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandy
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth was a perfect fit for our family! I wouldn't change a thing. Our photos are beautiful and we loved sharing our special day with Elizabeth and Terry.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaitlin
Wedding:
6/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth and Terry did a great job for my husband and I! They were great with communication and wonderful to work with, overall. We were planning a wedding long-distance and she was the first vendor I found (aside from our location). She recommended other great vendors in the area and that made it so much easier to plan the rest of our big day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzanne
Wedding:
5/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Overall great vendor. She does an amazing job, stays in contact and does whatever you want to do. Super nice and very talented. My two dogs were part of my wedding and were included in most of the pics. Elizabeth was very patient w/ trying to get them to behave in all the pics. Great job and would recommend her to everyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
5/3/2013
5.0/5.0
We could not be happier with Elizabeth Larson Photography. From the moment I contacted Elizabeth she has been incredibly kind and accommodating. She is more than willing to work with your schedule. I was amazed at how quickly she responds to emails...so important when you are busy trying to plan a wedding. Aside from all of these good things, she takes amazing pictures. We love our engagement and wedding pictures and have received countless compliments on both. Elizabeth doesn't take the pictures she wants, she takes the pictures you want. We would recommend Elizabeth Larson Photography in a heart beat and we will be using her in the future!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tanima
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth has been truly wonderful to us on our wedding. Being graduate students, my husband and I were on a tight budget. However, Elizabeth has been very considerate and generous to all of our need and has done fantastic job with the wedding pictures. Through her photography, she has created so many good memories which we will cherish for the rest of our lives. She has been really responsive to all of our questions and concerns. She was very flexible to what we wanted and was fabulous to work with. We highly recommend her and wish her very best.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth and her assistant were wonderful--we are still going over the 1600 pictures we have--so many wonderful ones to choose from. She was so easy to work with and agreeable.. Would recommend her to
anyone. Mother of the Bride
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cezanne
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth was wonderful. She helped me with my unconvententional wedding. She was able to capture the day perfectly and will always be my first choice for a photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennah
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth Larson is very flexible and willing to work with you. I think the thing I was most grateful for that Elizabath Larson did for me on my wedding day was in our initial interview she gave me a checklist of shots that I wanted her to make sure and get on my wedding day (and any that I wanted in addition to her list) and she did just that. The day of your wedding is so over-whelming as it is, it is so important to deligate the litte things, such as this, that you think you will remember, because TRUST me YOU WONT REMEMBER :) and you only get one chance to get those shots and make memories that will last forever! Thank you Elizabeth Larson Photography!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitiln
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth took our wedding photos at Oak Ridge Estate in Virginia in May 2011. Elizabeth and did a spectacular job! She did such an incredible job capturing the important moments and people at our wedding as well as the physical space and general ambiance of the day. We did not meet Elizabeth until the day of our wedding, which we were initially nervous about. However, she had such a lovely demeanor that we were immediately comfortable with her and she brought some incredible moments out between my husband and I. She was incredibly professional and within a month we were able to view our entire gallery of photos. I would highly recommend Elizabeth, and would be more than willing to communicate with anyone who has any further questions.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
maenormanhiatt
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth was absolutley wonderful! Her pictures are fantastic. She's very quick to respond to any email and was great the day of our wedding. I would highly recommend her!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sv6501
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
She's extremely good in seizing natural moments. Also, excellent lighting, in other words, she made us look better in the right light! As a result, photos are speaking. Her shoot gave us a great story!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lyn
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Liz is an AMAZING photographer! Following in her dad's footsteps, she is a true professional in every sense of the word. Liz took a personal interest in my wedding, although I had not met her prior to inquiring about her services. She was most accomodating in setting up times and places to meet in planning the wedding and was most prompt in responding to all the questions which popped into my mind. Liz was well prepared in showing me samples of preview books and photo albums. The shots that she took at the wedding ( using not one but two cameras) were very creative. Of course we had the typical bridal shots but Liz also incorporated some imagination and creative ideas in some poses which really turned out great! I would highly recommend Elizabeth Larson Photography if you are interested in having your wedding captured with high quality photos. Your will be sure to be pleased with service and the added joy of making a new friend with a very warm and sweet personality!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
snowflake119
Wedding:
3/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth took our engagement photos in spring 2010. We had been resistant to the idea of engagement photos since we're pretty low-maintenance people and it seemed just like an extra "thing to do," but we are SO happy we did! It was a great way to meet Elizabeth and get comfortable in front of the camera. She listened very carefully to what we said we wanted and the whole process was incredibly easy - she just let us be ourselves. And the photos turned out to be STUNNING! They brought my family members nearly to tears! Can't wait to see her again at the wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth is an amazing photographer! She is so much fun to work with and so laid back, while at the same time immensely professional. Wedding pictures are one of the most important (and sometimes stressful) parts of the entire day and with Elizabeth I wasn't worried at all. I was completely confident in her and all of the photo's turned out beautifully.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth was fabulous to work with. Our engagement and wedding pictures turned ot wonderfully. She was an absolute pleasure to work with. The wedding package was worth ever penny. She and her assistant were both extremely friendly, easygoing and professional. She was more than responsive and flexible throughout the whole process. I would recommend her photography services to anyone in a heartbeat! I loved that we got a proofbook, all of our images on disk AND the wedding album credit! We got so much more for our money than other photographers were offering. Elizabeth comes highly recommended from me and my husband!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katlbt
Wedding:
5/2/2009
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth Larson is an exceptional photographer! She was by far the most important vendor that I chose for my wedding and the most delightful to work with. She captured moments that I didn't even recall happening ~ very important when your wedding seems to fly by in minutes!
Elizabeth is very laid back and had such a calming affect on me the day of the wedding, I had no worries, rain or shine I new I would have gorgeous photographs!
Elizabeth offers a variety of packages, and let me tell you, you get a lot of bang for your buck! The very best bit of advice that I can give any bride is to have TWO photographers, a very wise investment and an affordable one.
My favorite part of this whole process has been the ease in which I have been able to access ALL the photos online. My family and friends have loved this aspect too. It was incredibly easy to choose my album, I know, shocker! Click on the photo and add to favorites, easy as pie! I also love that Elizabeth offers photo books as well as albums. The photo books are a very chic and sleek way to have an album that looks like a coffee table book rather than a huge block of an album!
Again, Elizabeth Larson was such a treat to work with, so fun and easy going, yet professional and far exceeded my expectations!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ehrgott13
Wedding:
5/23/2008
5.0/5.0
If you're considering using Elizabeth as your professional wedding photographer, please know you will absolutely love her. I've been through two daughters' weddings in the last couple of years. We used Elizabeth in Charlottesville, VA at King Family Vineyard. First of all the pictures are wonderful. She did black and white and also color. She gave us many choices for albums, hours of service, types of pictures, etc. More importantly, Elizabeth is wonderful to work with. She is organized, works quickly, and she does not attract attention - important during the ceremony! You will not be disappointed. We have one more daughter and I'm hoping Elizabeth will travel to Pittsburgh. :-)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Evelyn
Wedding:
4/28/2007
5.0/5.0
Elizabeth photographed our wedding. We were nervous because we had never met her. Our wedding was out of town (in the middle of nowhere) and so we had to find a local photographer which was not easy. We found Elizabeth was a 3 hour drive away, and we liked her work on her website. So we went for it. She liked the area where we were getting married and so she agreed to spend the weekend there and shooting our wedding that Sat evening. We were impressed. We had so many shots to choose from. Most of them were candid and artistic and interesting angles. We got pictures of every couple/table, the standard family portraits, and candid action shots. I almost didn't even notice she was there. We just had our party with complete ignorance of pictures. Then we got a website link to the wonderful shots a couple of weeks later. Her prices were reasonable considering that she drove 3 hours and took a lot of pictures.

I just wished she lived closer to us so we could use her again!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ancbride
Wedding:
5/13/2006
4.9/5.0
We love Elizabeth! My husband is a photographer and he had all kinds of specific requests. Elizabeth was up to the challenge and the photos were gorgeous. She also traveled to our out of town location.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tammy pegram
Wedding:
3/26/2005
5.0/5.0
I couldnt of been more pleased! So easy to work with, very personable and fun! The pictures are gorgeous and from all angles. I recommend Elizabeth to everyone on their special day! Tammy Pegram beach wedding
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fdr
Wedding:
6/6/1998
5.0/5.0
I do not photograph well -- so I didn't hold out much hope that my wedding pictures would be any different. Well, working with Elizabeth totally changed my mind! She got so many great shots of me and my bridal party, and she was unobtrusive throughout the reception as she captured a ton of great editorial-style candids. Her communication was great throughout the planning process, and I really appreciated her laid-back attitude during the more formal shots. I would highly recommend her work to anyone who wants the story of their wedding day told in elegant photographs of all kinds of moments throughout the day.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
serving all of North Carolina, Virginia, and beyond, NC See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Elizabeth Larson Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1366064321816-leslie