130x130_sq_1377180227756-emily-carter-floral-designs

Emily Carter Floral Designs

Freeport , ME
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Freeport, ME US 04032 (map)

PHONE

207-865-4021

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Emily Carter Floral Designs is a floral design studio that specializes in weddings and events.
With over a decade of floral design experience, Emily Carter offers her exceptional... Read more
Emily Carter Floral Designs is a floral design studio that specializes in weddings and events.
With over a decade of floral design experience, Emily Carter offers her exceptional talents to give
each bride the personalized attention she deserves. By working directly with Emily, your
wedding benefits from extraordinary and innovative floral design without the interference of the
many other concerns and holiday obligations that a typical florist has. Emily is committed to
making your wedding dreams a reality by realizing your specific aesthetic tastes, creating them
within your budget and exceeding your expectations. Read less
Flowers

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1251243858006-optimized.bouquet
130x130_sq_1251243913100-optimized.bouquetdetail1comp
130x130_sq_1239839314421-nash018
130x130_sq_1239839540765-nash056
130x130_sq_1239839939781-nash015
130x130_sq_1251245033453-bridalbouquet
130x130_sq_1251245047937-upclosebridalbouquet
130x130_sq_1251245122750-lowcenterpieces
130x130_sq_1239318127562-img1533
130x130_sq_1239323774640-img1408
130x130_sq_1251244394631-bouquet1
130x130_sq_1239323992562-img1516
130x130_sq_1251243982522-pewmarker
130x130_sq_1239324391375-img1499
130x130_sq_1251244229834-bridalbouquet

INFO FOR FLOWERS

Do you offer free or for charge consultations?
Free
Do you provide free or for charge sample arrangements?
For Charge
Do you offer delivery, set up, and breakdown services?
Breakdown, Delivery, Setup
What type of decor (if any) do you offer?
Emily Carter Floral Designs offers rentals as a means to stay within a budget, as well as unique design ideas to create a beautiful aesthetic look while staying economical.
Do you offer full-services, such as wedding day setup, for an additional fee?
At Emily Carter Floral Designs, you can opt for full wedding day set up and delivery or if you are looking to save money and be a bit more economical, I offer pick up of your flowers as an option as well.
If you have not worked at the ceremony or reception sites previously, would you be willing to visit the sites before the event?
Absolutely! I offer free site visits to any site that I have not been at previously.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Her flowers were absolutely perfect and she was a joy to work with from start to finish. She had lots of great ideas about decor which were so helpful. I always felt like she was happy to help me pull the look of the wedding together. I would recommend her in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
I LOVED working with Emily and would highly recommend using her as the florist for any wedding. She was truly a pleasure to work with and created arrangements and bouquets that were prettier than any of the sample pictures I found online!

Long story short, a year before my wedding I booked a different florist. After months of no contact, no contract, difficulty getting in touch with them, I decided to find a new florist to work with. I am soo glad I did! Emily was incredibly accommodating and agreed to take on my wedding (which was not small!) with only a few months notice.

I am a type A, organized individual and really appreciated being able to count on Emily and not have to give my flowers a second thought or worry. I live in CA and she made the planning so easy for me through her timely emails and a couple short conference calls. As I love flowers but don't know too much about them, she made wonderful recommendations based on the other decor of my wedding. She was even so detailed to asked what type of white ribbon my bouquet should include to match my dress. This was a detail that I would have ever known to think about!

The flowers were delivered to the ceremony and reception site on time and really looked beautiful. I only wish I had had more time to fully appreciate them!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Emily has a true gift and eye for design. Ever since I first saw her work, I knew that I wanted Emily to be my wedding florist but I had no idea what a true pleasure it would be to work with her. From our first meeting I knew that this wasn’t just going to be about which flowers we wanted to have. She helped me with EVERYTHING! From what color ties would look best on the guys to how to incorporate a new color that I wanted in the eleventh hour. Through everything Emily was always quick to respond, easy to talk to and super flexible and cheerful. Simply a delight to work with and the results were perfection! I could have never pulled everything together so perfectly without Emily!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsea
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
The flowers Emily did for our wedding were absolutely stunning! When she brought the bridal bouquets into our room I almost started crying because I couldnt believe how beautiful they were! She was such a great person to work with, she always answered all of our questions right away, and was so nice when it came to my indecisiveness. I could not have imagined more gorgeous flowers for our wedding day!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The flowers were BEAUTIFUL and Emily was amazing! I would definitely recommend her!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mike
Wedding:
6/22/2013
3.9/5.0
Emily was very helpful in picking out flowers. She also listened to what we wanted and swapped out some of her own ideas to fit what we liked.

Pricing was a little higher than we'd like but we weren't really looking to spend a lot on flowers in general and everywhere the prices seemed a bit steep.

In the end our centerpieces were very nice, a little plain but we cut a lot of costs there. The bridesmaids flowers were gorgeous; I was a little disappointed in my own bouquest because there was one particular yellow flower that I thought didn't really look good with the rest. But otherwise the bouquets were well put together and very pretty.

My husband's pinned on flower was pretty but the backing to it was a huge green leaf that was way too overpowering. I wish we had some visuals beforehand to have seen what she planned to do so we could have told her we wanted it to be smaller.

All in all Emily did a nice job and knows her flowers; we wish we would have had more than just descriptions to go by for what our final products would be (it was hard to picture since we don't know a lot about flowers, even with Emily doing her best to describe them). Emily herself was responsive and nice to work with.
Services Used: Flowers
Emily Carter Floral Designs responded with the following comments:

I am truly sorry that your experience was not 5 out of 5 stars. That is all that I strive for with my business and will certainly take all of this into consideration and follow up more privately as well. I did want to address a few things in the review that were concerning to me. I would love to look through an image of your bouquet as there were no yellow elements present within it. Ivory, as was within your estimate, but I just want to make sure that I am clear on the dislike. Also, I know that the gardenia was selected by you and your mother for very personal reasons for your now husband. I had made mention that as a bout., it is such an unhearty flower, but I would do what was within my power to have it hold up to hugs and all that the day would bring. :)The backing is a gardenia backing (which we had chatted about me doing everything in my power to ensure that it holds up to the best of my ability) and there was no other complementing accent wanted. Once again, I just want to make sure that I am clear in the dislike and that my companies reasoning and history of the process was clear. I also believe that we went through an image board of the flowers that were included so aside from doing a paid sample prior, there is not much that a florist can do. I do know that flower names are like a foreign language which is why I go as far as to do the image board to explain what flowers are going where within your wedding. I am so sorry that these actions that I take were not enough to make your experience completely wonderful. I do have grave concerns about the feedback given and would love to chat more in depth as based on the consultations that we had, revisions of the estimates that we went through and feedback the day of upon delivery by myself, I was under the impression that ECFD has been a wonderful addition to your day. I am so sorry that you felt otherwise and would love to chat to determine what went wrong. Please feel free to call me at 207-865-4021.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Emily did a beautiful job with our floral arrangements. She was very knowledgeable about what would be blooming and beautiful for our particular time of the year, offering many suggestions for colors and style. She was easy to get ahold of, easy to work with, and I felt at ease the day of the wedding knowing that all of the floral arrangements would be spectacular (and they were beyond my expectations!).
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Gorgeous flowers. Emily is such a sweet person and spent a lot of time with us talking about the feel we wanted for the wedding. She really hit the nail on the head. Her flowers were perfect- couldn't have asked for more!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
9/29/2012
4.8/5.0
Emily provided the personal flowers for the brides, bridesmaids, and mothers, as well as the ceremony flowers. Emily sat down with me and discussed my vision. As a person who knows nothing about flowers, she showed examples and explained her ideas thoroughly. Emily was respectful of the fact that my mother and sister wanted to do some of the arrangements (centerpieces, boutonnieres). She periodically checked in with me about how things were going and any changes that might have come up.

When all of a sudden our venue was moved inside because of rain, her team transformed the barn into a fall wonderland that looked like it stepped out of the page of a magazine. As a result, the day was more perfect than I could have imagined.
Services Used: Flowers
Bg5
Christina
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Emily was an absolute pleasure to work with. She is an incredibly talented florist, who really does put her clients first. I started with a very vague concept of what I wanted and even ended up changing my vision slightly after seeing the samples, which she could have been frustrated or impatient with. Instead, with her help & guidance, I was able to revise that concept and create something even more beautiful than I had originally envisioned. The bottom line: she did not stop until I was satisfied. From our initial consultation to our last Emily was warm, thoughtful and helpful. I am truly thankful to have found her and for all her hard work, kindness and patience in helping make my dream into a reality. Thanks Emily!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Emily was such a joy to work with. She is extremely professional with amazing
talent—as well as a total sweetheart. She stayed within our budget but exceeded
our expectations. My husband and I planned our wedding from Missouri, so we
had to go exclusively off of reviews and referrals. We couldn’t be happier with our
decision.

During the seven months leading up to our wedding, Emily combined my vision with
her talent to produce an extraordinary floral décor. She even found a piece of lace
that matched my dress to wrap around my bouquet! That type of attention to detail
and creativity was representative of our entire experience with her. I am so pleased
that she was my florist and can’t recommend her highly enough!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The flowers that Emily Carter did for our wedding were simply gorgeous. The table arrangements, ceremony flowers, bouquets, etc. were all amazing. Emily is incredibly professional and begins the process by having a consultation to learn more about what the bride is envisioning in terms of style, color, etc. She then came up with a quote for us and was able to adjust and made a few alternative suggestions in order to meet our budget. We spoke several times before the wedding and she handled everything seamlessly. I would highly recommend Emily Carter Floral Designs to any bride!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Emily was great to work with. The flowers were gorgeous and I really appreciated the time that she took to get to know our style. The final centerpieces were exactly what I was hoping for -- only better!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Emily can work wonders with color and texture! We went for a very earthy feel that included herbs, wildflowers and lavender. It was spectacular! She listened to us, and our ideas (or rather my ideas let's face it my husband didn't have too much of an opinion in this category) and transformed them into something that totally worked for us and the space we had. Super professional and a sweetheart to work with!!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nsvenson
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Working with Emily Carter Floral Designs for my wedding was an absolute pleasure. Emily is creative, professional, and has a wonderful attitude--just a joy to work with. And her floral designs are gorgeous!

What really stood out for me in working with Emily was her flexibility, creativity, and helpfulness. I incorporated a lot of handcrafted elements in my wedding decor, such as paper flowers and pinwheels, and Emily did an amazing job coming up with floral designs that embraced and enhanced these elements. She crafted paper flowers to incorporate into my bouquet and the bridesmaids' bouquets. And she put together the most adorable flower girl bouquets using pinwheels I made accented with some of our wedding flowers and tied off with wide satin ribbon. The floral arrangements for the reception were just perfect as well!

Emily was so supportive and helpful during the entire planning process. She understood exactly what we were looking for, and every aspect of her work reflected that. Bottom line: it's easy to have fun planning your wedding when you're working with someone like Emily!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HappyCustomer
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was large (175 ppl) and ambitious - the theme was "Fun Elegant", with a lot of emphasis on boats & the ocean, at a premiere venue, with a live swing band. The Chapel was 5 miles from the Reception, and there were 2 other locations where the Bride and Groom were getting ready. In other words, it was complex ! Emily Carter Floral Design did more than just rise to the occasion. They made it glorious. Emily is calm, organized, and extremely in touch ! As the planning went on, I appreciated her more & more, because she was always there, flexible and imagnative. The flowers she brought were spectacular, way beyond our expectations. She arranged them in vintage silver teapots & creamers - elegant, lavish and fun ! Of all the vendors we hired, ECFD was the absolute best.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacey
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Emily was AMAZING - from the moment I booked her, I had complete confidence that she would put together gorgeous flowers within my budget and she came through with flying colors. Her flowers were STUNNING with a twist of "even better than I thought I could have" - She was willing to work with the centerpiece stumps that my father had cut and contributed to the wedding (made him feel great!) and she was constantly working with me to revise the final bill as we got closer to the wedding day. The fiddlehead ferns were PERFECT and overall the look was exactly what I had hoped for my wedding day - I overwhelmingly recommend her to anyone lucky enough to book her - do it at least a year out!!! She is a busy TALENTED woman. Thanks Emily!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Emily did an amazing job on the flowers for both our rehearsal dinner and wedding - everything was the exact look I was going for and beyond beautiful. She was extremely patient as I definitely changed my mind quite a few times and we went back and forth on different ideas a bit, she was always so professional, accommodating and very calm. It rained on our wedding day, so we had to had to go with plan b (indoor ceremony), it did not throw her off at all. All of the rentals we used were gorgeous and we got a ton of compliments from our guests on all of the flowers. I would highly, highly recommend working with her, you will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1320974708271-fbavatar2073550
Jessica
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.7/5.0
I hired Emily to do my bouquets, boutineers and corsages. She did such an amazing job and was able to make my vision come to life based solely on my tastes and rough idea of colors. She created something that I didn't have in my head, but was exactly what I wanted - if that makes sense. Emily also went above and beyond, meeting with me to review colors and flowers when I was having a hard time envisioning everything. Emily was extremely professional and timely when it came to all meetings and check-ins. She did a great job and was able to work within my budget. I would eagerly recommend her to Maine brides in the area.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
8/20/2011
4.7/5.0
We could not imagined our wedding flowers any more beautiful. Emily was able to create the exact look and feel we wanted. We had a hard time explaining exactly what we wanted, but Emily was able to understand and create beautiful arrangements. We still are getting compliments on our flowers and centerpiece. Emily was able to work within our budget and really create a stunning effect. We would highly recommend her.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eadb69
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Emily is great- found her thru a friend and used her service without ever meeting face to face, AND got exactly what we wanted.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Emily was able to pull my vision out of my head, and create floral arrangements even better than I had imagined. She will meet you anywhere, and is great about meeting any budget. I highly recommend her.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jrussell
Wedding:
6/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Emily did an unbelievable job on my wedding flowers. She was very accommodating and easy to work with, especially since we live out-of-state. I gave her an idea of what I wanted and what she produced was beyond expectations. The shades of blue and yellow along with the local in-season flowers incorporated into the bouquets were amazing and absolutely beautiful! I highly recommend her to anyone getting married in Maine!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sorichmond
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
My daughter just got married two days ago and I am still floating but I am taking time to write this review because Emily Carter was such an invaluable part of creating a beautiful backdrop for the entire occasion. She did the flowers for the rehearsal dinner and transformed a pretty barren barn--with lots of charm but little else, into a lovely space. Bringing in big branches that reached to the ceiling in each corner, there were tables filled with beautiful flowers and each napkin set with a fiddlehead fern and a tiny flower. (Part of the wedding theme.)
The next day she arrived early with what looked like a greenhouse full of flowers and again transformed the room into an oasis of flowers, smells and fun. For the bride and groom, both Outward Bound instructors there were birch logs surrounded by lilacs, tulips, peonies and snapdragons.
The bouquets and corsages were spectacular and she thought of so many little touches.
Finally, Emily is one of the nicest most creative people you could ever ask to meet. Prompt in correspondence, clear in billing, flexible and professional at all times. If there were a 10 on this rating, it would go to Emily!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dsterling1
Wedding:
1/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Emily was extremely easy to work with, from the first contact right up to the wedding day. I wasn't exactly sure what I wanted and she steered me in the right direction, giving helpful tips and new ideas on the visions that I did have. Emily was prompt in her responses when I had questions and we were extremely satisfied with the finished product. I absolutely recommend Emily Carter Floral Designs for all your wedding floral needs.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LG
Wedding:
12/31/2010
5.0/5.0
Luckily my wedding ceremony/reception vendor (The Frontier Cafe in Brunswick) recommended Emily Carter Floral Designs to my fiance and I. This turned out to be one of the best and easiest decisions I could have made during my wedding planning. I initially was ambivalent about my flowers, I don't know flower types very well and I wasn't a bride that was very much into the flower part. Then I met with Emily and she made me feel comfortable, and most importantly she had picture flash cards of flowers! I was able to pick out some pictures that I liked, and she used her expertise to build from that inspiration. She also provided all my center pieces (antique silver teapots and creamer, so amazing) and decorations. She was able to listen to my rambling and incoherent ideas and translate them into the most beautiful flowers and wedding decor I could imagine. She totally got "me" and my overall wedding vision.

Needless to say my wedding was beautiful and I received so many compliments on the flowers and center pieces. Emily did an awesome job, and my effort was minimal (which is great as a bride, when you are planning so much your head is spinning). She was conscientious of my budget, my vision, and she was a pleasure to work with. A 5 star vendor for sure.

Thank you Emily! ~Lindsay & Nicholas
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NiceBride
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I have to say, without a doubt, Emily Carter Floral Designs is by far a 5 star vendor.

I always try to rate fairly and honestly, knowing that no one is perfect, not all pairings of vendor-customer are perfect, etc. However, I got very lucky indeed for my wedding. I worked with some truly amazing people and Emily was one of them!

Emily was a true professional throughout the process, as well as an enthusiastic artist. Not only did she work with my limited budget, but she suggested creative solutions and ideas for all my heart desired. She was honest and upfront about costs and logistics in the discussion phase. She was also totally flexible. We had an idea using Scrabble tiles...but then I didn't send her enough tiled letters. She came up with a brilliant back-up plan - which we used!

Emily has a brilliant aesthetic to her work and when you meet her, you can just see how passionate she is about what she does. She was very generous with the amount of flower petals she gave my flower girl and flower boy. And good thing, too, as they were quite the enthusiastic petal tossers!

Emily's designs are absolutely gorgeous! Icing on a tall, delicious cake!

Thanks, Emily!!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erosshoya02
Wedding:
7/10/2010
4.8/5.0
So beautiful! She met our budget and delivered gorgeous flowers. The only thing- she didn't stay to meet me from the salon! Otherwise, she's the best in Maine.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eandrews
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Being an out-of-state bride, I was unable to meet Emily in person until the day of the wedding. As soon as I saw her and the work she had done on the venue, I had to hug her. She was so attentive throughout the year we spent planning, I felt like we'd met before. Her work was simply amazing. The flowers were of excellent quality. I received so many complements from my guests. My bouquet was stunning and unlike anything I'd seen before. Her flowers made my day so much more special.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Theresa
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Emily was very attentive, offered me a variety of choices and options to keep me within my budget. Her prices were excellent compared to other vendors. She made herself availble to me at any time. The flower arrangements were exactly what I had wanted and we very elegant.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
10/9/2009
5.0/5.0
I found out about Emily Carter Floral Designs from a friend I went to middle and high school with who actually deferred her own floral services at a large company to make a personal recommendation. Her exact words to me were, "I know someone who could do your flowers, her name is Emily Carter and she is super talented, creative, and nice." Well this proved to be right on!
Because of my busy schedule, Emily and I were not able to meet in person, but she still took the time to make phone appointments with me when I was available, and stayed attentive to my almost weekly e-mails about the flowers. She was so accommodating to making everything work out for me.
On my wedding day when I saw the bouquets she made, I started crying. Without even having seen the actual colors of the bridal party, she nailed the colors. They complimented perfectly and truly made our photographs amazing!!! I am so grateful to have found ECFD and would recommend her services to anyone in need of flowers and arrangements.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
I chose Emily Carter to do my flowers for my wedding. I am so fortunate to have found her. She was great to work with. I knew that I could trust her from the moment we met and I gave her my flower ideas (I knew nothing about flowers until now!) and she worked with me to find the best arrangements that suited my taste and budget. On the day of the wedding, the flowers were stunning and I couldn't have been happier!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bethany
Wedding:
3/7/2009
4.9/5.0
Emily did a beautiful job with my bouquets and centerpieces. The bouquets were more than I could have imagined. She listened to my ideas (which were scattered at best!) and created the perfect flowers for myself and bridesmaids. I received many complliments from guests!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jadelmann
Wedding:
6/20/2008
5.0/5.0
As the bride to be with so much planning and not a lot of flower knowledge I found Emily Carter Floral Design to be extremely helpful. Emily made many suggestions about colors, styles and in season flower choices (which is a way of keeping the price down). I found her to be friendly and efficient with a great line of communication. My mind was totally at ease after meeting Emily because I knew she would take care of everything!
Services Used: Flowers

MAP

 
Freeport, ME 04032 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Emily Carter Floral Designs
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo