130x130_sq_1398978079869-naked-cak

Emily's Cafe & Catering

Pennington , NJ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Pennington, NJ US 08534 (map)

PHONE

609-730-1010

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Emily's Cafe and Catering specializes in full service, fine catering for all occasions. Inquire with Catering Director/Owner Emily Matticoli and the catering sales team about unique... Read more
Emily's Cafe and Catering specializes in full service, fine catering for all occasions. Inquire with Catering Director/Owner Emily Matticoli and the catering sales team about unique local wedding venues, private in home parties, and corporate lunches or cocktail receptions. Chef/Owner and Culinary Institute of America graduate James Matticoli offers a wide variety of menus that change seasonally and often feature local organic produce. Emily's services clients with all inclusive event planning, and a detail oriented, personal approach to menu design and party set up. Professional, experienced catering staff, deliciously memorable food and creative presentation create events to buzz about! Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1300374560763-img2223
130x130_sq_1300374604576-img2237
130x130_sq_1300374675091-gill192
130x130_sq_1300374711044-gill2
130x130_sq_1300374794232-img0724
130x130_sq_1300374995576-img1770
130x130_sq_1300375085888-lander11
130x130_sq_1300375115263-gill20
130x130_sq_1300375152529-img1993
130x130_sq_1300375186154-img1994
130x130_sq_1300375248888-img1760
130x130_sq_1300375279982-img1763
130x130_sq_1300375306263-farmstand
130x130_sq_1300375352982-millcrudite
130x130_sq_1300388021810-img0001
130x130_sq_1300388879826-012311012
130x130_sq_1300388921966-012311017
130x130_sq_1300389018685-012311026
130x130_sq_1300389073263-012311075
130x130_sq_1300389430354-012311128
130x130_sq_1300389572182-012311129
130x130_sq_1300389630417-012311139
130x130_sq_1300389670417-img2008
130x130_sq_1300389792667-lindsayaimeebill031
130x130_sq_1300389825651-img1759
130x130_sq_1300389883901-gillcake4
130x130_sq_1300389913198-img20101009111055
130x130_sq_1300389942729-landercake
130x130_sq_1300390041385-img2416
130x130_sq_1300390087042-img2415
130x130_sq_1300390162057-img2412

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
No Pork, Organic, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
Yes, once a working menu is in place.
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
Yes
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
There is no cake cutting fee
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
We facilitate rental orders from outhouse venders
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
Yes
What is your maximum catering capacity?
1000

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Martie
Wedding:
7/5/2014
5.0/5.0
From the moment we stepped into Emily's Cafe in Pennington, my husband and I were excited to plan the menu for our wedding day. Emily accommodated all of our requests, including farm to table menu planning, and acknowledgement of local sources. We wanted our wedding to have food that the guests were excited about. Emily's staff was sensational. They worked so hard, making every detail stand out. My guests are STILL talking about how great the food was. The professionalism and integrity of each staff member was tremendous, building a flawless presentation and experience for my guests. Everything was perfect!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
L
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Had a great experience working with Emily's (& especially Jennifer)! Would highly recommend them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
starr
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
As soon as I saw their sample menus, I had a feeling Emily's was going to be the one. I still contacted several other caterers, but months later I still hadn't heard back from all of them. I got a response from Samantha within an hour of e-mailing them! And the more I heard, the more I liked them. So we went in for a tasting and were totally blown away. Their food is spectacular!

I worked with Jennifer through the whole planning process. I don't think I could have pulled this wedding off without her! She went with us to the party rental place and helped us pick out everything we needed, and from there she handled everything to do with the rentals. I didn't even have to think about it -- they got it all there and set it all up! Not only that, but she also took care of the liquor purchase for us. We never even had to contact the liquor store ourselves; she took care of everything! She also sat down with us and helped us figure out exactly how the day was going to do, and when we would do what. And she drew up a table arrangement/seating chart for us. Then, when the wedding day came, she coordinated everything! By the time we arrived at the vineyard, there were already cute little signs up and they were hard at work setting up chairs and tables. Jennifer made everything happen.

Everyone was in love with the food, especially the hors d'oeuvres. They also made us a beautiful cutting cake and a whole bunch of cupcakes in 3 different flavors - all incredibly delicious! Everything was a huge hit, all of my guests raved about it! If I ever need another event catered, there's no doubt who I would use. I'm still craving more of those fig marscapone crostini!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vickie
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Emily's Café & Catering did an amazing job for my daughter's wedding. The food was fabulous, and the bar and dinner service was excellent. We had cocktail hour with appetizers before dinner, and a full sit-down dinner for 100 guests, and we were thrilled. 5-stars!!! Also, they were a dream to work with. Planning was easy and painless, and they were extremely flexible in meeting our wants. I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I can't recommend Emily's Cafe & Catering strongly enough. After being dissatisfied with a number of area caterers who offered very typical / boring wedding fare, we found Emily's online and were immediately impressed by their menu which featured unique items with fresh local and organic ingredients. When we went to the tasting we were sold, particularly because of their herb encrusted mac & cheese!

In addition to the the high quality of the food, working with Emily's staff was a pleasure and a highlight of my wedding planning experience. The catering managers were so friendly and attentive. They helped us create a menu that perfectly reflected our tastes and style. It felt like every one of our 220 guests complimented the food and all of the delightful decorative details. We are still receiving positive feedback a month later! Thank you Emily's!

There are images from our event on our photographers blog here:
http://blog.punchdrunklovenj.com/2013/09/04/berkeley-hotel-in-asbury-park-for-liz-and-carlos-wedding/
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Emily's catered our wedding at Sayen House and Gardens June 29, 2013. Jennifer was the catering manager and event planner and did such a wonderful job! As a crafty and creative bride, I expected to be doing all of the planning and decorating myself, with some help from my maid of honor. We were on a VERY tight budget with a small guest list but still wanted our day to look beautiful and be fun for everyone. We chose Emily's initially on a friend's recommendation, but were instantly validated from my first phone conversation with Jennifer. Jennifer didn't just help us choose a menu for our wedding, but helped us plan the entire flow of the day and order of events, coordinated with other vendors, provided transport and set up of decorations, and acted as a director in all aspects of the wedding day, ensuring every detail happened as it should have. There is much more, I'm sure, that she did behind the scenes to provide us with such a wonderful experience, and we are forever grateful to Jennifer, and all of the staff at Emily's for everything they did. As far as the food goes, there isn't much more to say, other than DELICIOUS!!! We chose a buffet style dinner with hand passed hors d'oeuvres during cocktail hour. From the lemonade and iced tea served in the garden before our ceremony to the adorable strawberry and cream dessert cupcakes, everything was prepared perfectly and displayed beautifully from start to finish. The entire menu was made to fit our venue and the season and was raved about by all our guests. Emily's was so much more to us than a caterer. They went above and beyond and exceeded all our expectations. And on top of all that, somehow they have made all this possible for any budget! I will never ever forget our wedding and I confidently say it is because of Emily's and their staff. We love you guys beyond words!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Emily's was the perfect choice for our wedding day. They worked with our budget, we timely in their responses to our constant changes, and executed an amazing reception! Our food was delicious, the staff was professional and our venue looked exactly how we envisioned it. Thank you for a job well done!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sylviam
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
In a word - brilliant!

In a sentence - Emily's Cafe & Catering literally made my wedding.

From the first email, our experience with this caterer was professional, accommodating, and enjoyable. We worked mostly with Samantha and she was amazing. We are a frugal couple (perhaps to a fault!), but Samantha was more than happy to work within our budget to make our dream wedding happen. In just one meeting, we went from having literally *no idea* what we were doing for the wedding to walking out with excitement, details, and a very agreeable estimate.

During the wedding, Emily's staff handled a variety of unexpected issues with poise. Everything from estranged parents, sudden rain, tipsy guests, to a bride that constantly calls you "Emily" instead of "Samantha", it was all handled with utmost professionalism. Every single guest complimented the food and decor of the wedding. I am so grateful for their service and I couldn't recommend them enough.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
10/11/2009
5.0/5.0
Perfect! The food was totally customized for my husband and I. Guests have been raving about the food from both the coctail hour and the dinner. And amazingly, plates were filled for us and we got to actually enjoy all of the food at our wedding. Also the leftovers were packed up for us and my parents ate for days!
Emily was a wonderful coordinator and willing to help in any way that she could. She understood budget constraints and really did everything to work with us. I really couldn't have asked for a better caterer.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katrina
Wedding:
7/5/2008
5.0/5.0
We have worked with Emily's for my daughter's wedding and we liked them so much we worked with them for my in-laws 50th Anniversary. The food was amazing, the server were wonderfully warm and friendly. They came up with a custom menu for my in-laws anniversary to suit our Jamaican inspired theme. All the guests at both events talked about how wonderful the food and service was! Not only would I recommend them, but I have-several times!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/8/2013
4.9/5.0
Emily did a great job of catering my wedding. She was responsive, answered all emails quickly and comprehensively, and took my requests seriously while still embedding her own (excellent!) style into her food. All the guests completely loved the food and are still talking about it!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1309889420790-img0299
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
We'll admit - we're food snobs. There was no single wedding decision that was more important to us than our choice of caterer. As we visited venues, every last one recommended Emily's. For a good reason.

Samantha (our coordinator at Emily's) worked closely with us in the beginning to put together the menu. We went through several iterations without any pushing for any particulars from Samantha. Emily's can do the full range of options. Formal seated dinner? Sure. Cheesesteak, taco, and pasta stations? Sure. (That's what we did!) We did a tasting about a year before the wedding, so we were able to sample most of the exact menu we chose. All of their food is high-quality and expertly prepared. Bonus - several of their stations require onsite cooking (e.g., grilling the cheesesteaks) so the food is incredibly fresh when served. Made to order! People raved about the quality of the food throughout the night and for many days after.

Included in your choice of Emily's as a caterer are day-of coordination services. We cannot stress how valuable this was. We did a significant amount of set-up the day before, but at a venue like ours, there is a lot to be done day of (working with the rental company, setting up all tables and rental equipment, setting up our homemade floral arrangements, etc., etc.) and Samantha did all of it. Oh, and she helped clean up stuff that was completely our responsibility at the end of the night.

Did I mention that they were also the least expensive caterer we got a quote from? Somehow they provide this incredible food and incredible service for less than most of their area competitors. We actually came in well under budget for food, and there were no changes in the food quote at all once we set the menu.

On responsiveness - there were no real problems with information flow, but they didn't respond to every email. You might need to push them a little on specific communications, but they'll always respond.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
We had our 185 guests wedding in our backyard and did not have a wedding planner. Of all the vendors we dealt with while planning this wedding, Emily’s Café and Catering was by far the best! Everyone we worked with was super sweet and extremely helpful. The food was AMAZING! So many of our guests complimented the food and asked who the caterer was. We were even able to keep the leftovers. ( although there were very few leftovers because the guests were going up for seconds and thirds) This catering company goes beyond the food. They helped us schedule our wedding and made sure all our guests, especially our families, were comfortable and always taken care of. They set up most of our rental equipment, served our guests food, and cleaned up during and after the reception; yet, they were never in the way. I highly recommend Emily’s Café and Catering for any event. They are so professional, but also very friendly. It was like having a close friend cater the wedding, without ever feeling guilty or hesitant to making requests! Thank you so much Emily and crew!!!
Services Used: Catering
B4
Katherine
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.8/5.0
Samantha of Emily's Cafe and Catering has to be one of the sweetest people in the world. She had an unending amount of patience with us as we hemmed and hawed over our food and alcohol budget and not really having much of an idea of what we wanted the food to be like, and she never, ever did anything to make us even remotely feel bad for it. That's the opposite of this other caterer I called who when I told them we were going to do an afternoon reception with mainly just light hors d'oeuvres was rudely skeptical of the idea. Samantha, on the other hand, had many creative ideas (and delicious samples) like serving ice cream cones in artists' palettes to help guide us to the final product after many revisions. She also had the experience we needed to help us figure out the right quantities for everything and handled all the rentals, even meeting with us on a holiday to do a walkthrough of the venue to figure out the placement of everything.

I think she does all the coordination and planning for Emily's Cafe, and I was always a little worried that she was working too much during wedding season, so it's understandable that sometimes it could be awhile before I heard back from her. She kept meticulous notes on everything though and was always fully prepared for any meetings that we had. She was also really flexible about us adding last minute things to the menu (like a cake...we were going to do just a small store-bought cake before but then decided to just have it be all together to make it easier) and having our family and guests bring some dessert contributions.

On the day of, the staff were all really professional and on top of things. They were thoughtful enough to bring us some food right after the ceremony, which was greatly appreciated as it's true that I didn't really eat anything at all after that. The little bit that I did taste was delicious though, so I'm sad that I didn't grab some more of the baby lamb chops when I could.

The one thing was that afterwards, we had some confusion over the alcohol bill--we thought we were doing just a prosecco cocktail bar and a few different kinds of beer, but some wine was ordered and served as well. People drank it and the additional option was probably appreciated by them, but it was just a bit of surprise for us. It's partly on us that we didn't review the alcohol order before the wedding day as we got too busy with everything else, so let that be a lesson to other couples to check on everything that you're going to get a bill for afterwards.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
4/20/2013
4.7/5.0
Emily and her staff were a pleasure to work with, and we're grateful they were willing to travel all the way from Pennington to Jersey City. Everything went without a hitch, the waitstaff was terrific, and everyone loved the food.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AllisonPhillips
Wedding:
4/29/2012
4.6/5.0
Food was the most important thing to me about our wedding and we got so many compliments on our brunch buffet. All of the hors d'eouvres were delicious and everyone was raving about our menu - the arugula salad was the biggest hit! Tommy was so great as our captain and was helpful even with decor. I am so happy I found a great caterer with which to work. Wedding food is usually so boring but ours was delicious. Will definitely recommend and use this vendor in the future!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aaustin
Wedding:
6/25/2011
4.0/5.0
Emily runs an extremely professional and caring company that do an oustanding job down to every detail. She is so, so very sweet and cared so much about dong a great job for our wedding. She listened to all of our ideas and really worked hard to create our vision with us. The quality of the food was outstanding and I had no concerns, knowing she came so highly recommended. The only complaint I would give is the lack of responsiveness at times, which I believe came from being so busy doing a great job! The cafe is a warm and friendly place and we always felt comfortable at our meetings there.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
8/15/1985
3.4/5.0
Emily's was really great to work with at the beginning. Our tasting was perfect and we seemed to have all of the details set. Then, 3 days before the wedding, it seemed like everything fell apart on their end. For some reason they changed our day of coordinator and did a really poor job communicating what we had discussed earlier. The day of the wedding the main course was great but hors d'oeuvres and other courses were cold, mushy and bland and details that were important to us were missed. We spent a lot of time running around apologizing to our guests and making sure that things were going well when we should have been enjoying our reception. Overall they did a lot of things great but at the same time we paid them a lot of money to feel like we were thrown to the side 3 days before our wedding and have things that we cared about a lot ignored.

Our wedding was June 2, 2012
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
Pennington, NJ 08534 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Emily's Cafe & Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1398978079869-naked-cak