130x130_sq_1358988911803-13589864241270307

Erica Gray Beauty Company

Austin , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

5315 Westminster
Austin, TX US 78723 (map)

PHONE

347-645-9237

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Erica Gray Beauty Company is an Austin-based Makeup and Hair team. Our work is modern, and we strive for excellence while keeping in mind the expectations and needs of our clients. Our... Read more
Erica Gray Beauty Company is an Austin-based Makeup and Hair team. Our work is modern, and we strive for excellence while keeping in mind the expectations and needs of our clients. Our stylists work on-location and provide airbrush makeup for no extra charge. We travel outside of Austin for a reasonable fee and can accommodate large parties.

Erica was professionally trained in NYC under some of the leading innovators in the fashion and beauty industry and worked as a top Makeup Artist and educator for MAC cosmetics. Erica has worked with some of the most recognizable faces in the entertainment industry, such as Leonardo DiCaprio, The Black Eyed Peas, Rosario Dawson, Bar Rafaeli, Mila Kunis, Roger Waters of Pink Floyd, Darryl Hannah, Dave Matthews and Lauren Conrad.

We look forward to hearing from you! Read less
Beauty & Health

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1358986424127-0307
130x130_sq_1359043977587-photo3
130x130_sq_1289859349463-picture3
130x130_sq_1359041903881-6
130x130_sq_1359043981584-photo4
130x130_sq_1358987530762-7
130x130_sq_1358987517736-1
130x130_sq_1358986480237-erinandcamportraits094
130x130_sq_1359041917682-nancy
130x130_sq_1359041919035-whitbriw0096600x
130x130_sq_1359045920042-photo2
130x130_sq_1358987528979-4
130x130_sq_1358986860635-photo
130x130_sq_1289859326961-picture1
130x130_sq_1266881391348-004

INFO FOR BEAUTY & HEALTH

What beauty services do you offer?
Hair, Makeup
Do you offer trials and consultations?
Yes
Can you service a large group or bridal party?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
7/12/2014
5.0/5.0
I LOVED Erica! I have very fine and thin hair and I wanted a more full up do and she pulled it off wonderfully! All of my bridesmaids could hardly believe how full and great my hair looked! We did a trial session together before my bridals which gave us a chance to get to know each other as well as find my perfect wedding day style before the day of. The day of the wedding she arrived right on time with all of her assistants at my parents house. They used time effectiently to get hair and make up done for all 5 bridesmaids, two moms and me. All of the girls loved their hair and make up and were happy with the final product. Erica, not an assistant, gave everyones hair and makeup a final check before leaving. She is extremely talented and her prices were very reasonable. I would highly recommend her as your wedding day hair and make up lady.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carly
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
I chose Erica Gray beauty for our Austin, Texas wedding on 6-14-14 and wouldn't have had it any other way! My mom and I searched incessantly for beauty services online since we were living in Ohio during our wedding planning process and were first captured by the professionalism of her website. Erica offered to conduct a wedding day hair and makeup trial, opening up her home to me and making me feel at ease as a bride. I brought pictures of the look I wanted to create for my wedding day, and she used my vision, along with her expertise in the field to create the exact hair/makeup I was hoping for on my big day. Erica and her assistants are willing to come to any venue to conduct the services for the bridal party, which many vendors do not. They were on time, outgoing, and did an amazing job! Everyone in my bridal party and family members loved the outcome and their services. I would highly recommend Erica Grey Beauty for your wedding or any other special event. She is a top-notch professional!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacy
Wedding:
12/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Hire Erica and her team, you won't regret it!

We had so much fun with Erica. I'm so happy with the hair and make up she did for me and my bridesmaids. Everything was gorgeous!

Erica is very professional. She is poised and prompt and always responded to me when I needed her. I can't say enough how much she contributed to such a perfect day for me!

Stacy
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsea
Wedding:
12/29/2013
5.0/5.0
I met Erica at a photo shoot I was helping out at for the event planning company I work for and we immediately clicked! She was a blast to work with and could get along with basically anyone.

I decided to have her as my hair and makeup artist for my own wedding, a big decision being a wedding planner myself! I could not be happier with my decision for so many reasons:

-She got along SO well with all my bridesmaids and the mothers, grandmothers and aunts who had their makeup done. (Not an easy task!) She does an amazing job of finding common ground with anyone and making their experience fun. She even did some false lashes for my bridesmaids - an addition I didn't even ask for.
-She was super flexible with times to do my bridal portraits. She gave me several options to choose from and even ended up coming along to the venue where i had my portraits done to meet my photographer and do some final touch-ups. Above and beyond!
-After I had a look at my bridal portraits (something I advice EVERY bride to do) there were a couple of things I wanted to have done differently. Nothing major, just some things I more so changed my mind about and wanted to tweak with my hair. She completely understood what I wanted to change and executed my vision perfectly.
-On the day of the wedding she was completely calm and collected. She wasn't stressed for time and didn't make me feel nervous.
-I didn't even need to tell Erica what look I wanted my bridesmaids to have. She made each of my unique bridesmaids look beautiful but also managed to give them a clean, uniform look.
-Erica gave me an amount of time she thought she would need to do all 11 of my wedding party and she stuck to it perfectly. She had an assistant with her who also did an amazing job.

Basically Erica is the coolest. I would recommend her to anyone who wants a makeup artist who is equally talented and fun to work with.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kcie
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Erica did an amazing job, could not be happier with how my makeup turned out! My makeup lasted through several hours of tears, hugs, and dancing. One of the things I appreciate most about Erica is that she always responded right away to any email questions I had - the month before the wedding was crazy busy, and I loved that I never had to chase her down for a response or ask her the same question more than once.

My makeup was gorgeous - she made me look glamorous, but completely natural. I know that I will look back on our wedding photos and be thrilled with how I looked, Erica is great!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
9/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I really lucked out by getting Erica Gray. Our wedding was a destination wedding and seeing that you can't just run over and have a trial setting whenever you want can be nerve wrecking. Erica is AWESOME!!! She was able to look at the pictures I had sent her and we just hit it off right away. If you have the chance to book her you NEED to book her!!! Her assistant (Jasmine) is amazing too! They did wonders to me, my mom and my bridesmaids!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K
Wedding:
9/15/2013
5.0/5.0
I couldn't have been happier working with Erica for my makeup. I used her for both my bridal pictures and on my wedding day. She does such a great job! On my wedding day, she had a major family emergency but she still showed up to the venue to do my makeup. I felt so bad for her and what had happened to her mom, but she was extremely professional and still did an amazing job even though it was obvious she was upset and in tears. Even though she was having a family emergency, she still put my needs as a bride first and there is no one else I would recommend to do your wedding day makeup.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
liz
Wedding:
6/29/2013
4.8/5.0
I think Erica did an overall great job with hair and makeup. She did my hair and makeup for my bridal portrait and I gave her a guideline of what I wanted and I loved what she did. It was a very intricate braid pulled into a bun. She did take a really long time, so make sure you account for extra time on your hair. She also did my makeup, but it wasn't airbrushed. For the wedding she brought a makeup artist who did air brushing and it was awesome. She also brought another hair assistant, but she ended up not knowing what she was doing which ended up costing us some wasted time. So again make sure you leave plenty of time and tell her exactly what you want if you know or bring pictures. She does talk in baby talk and she is pretty particular about noise, but she powers through. I think she would do better with smaller groups bc she seems to get overwhelmed easily. But she and the makeup artist did great with 11+ people!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claire
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Erica and her team did wedding hair and makeup for me and my bridal party this past weekend. As anyone can see from her photos, she does a fantastic job with hair and makeup. Not only is her work beautiful, but the fact that my bridesmaids walked away from our session talking about how much they enjoyed Erica really speaks volumes! She is so easy to work with and I will be recommending her to every bride I know. THANK YOU ERICA!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Erica Gray Beauty Company did a great job for me and my bridesmaids on my wedding day. I had a bad experience with a previous company I had contacted so was excited to find out Erica had availability and was so easy to work with. I was impressed with how easily she recreated a hairstyle I liked at our trial. I'm kind of a picky person so that says a lot! On the day of my wedding she arrived on time and everything went smoothly. Her and her assistant (who did our makeup) were very efficient and made everyone look great! They were both very friendly and I had a great time working with them. Would recommend her to anybody!:)
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claire
Wedding:
3/30/2013
4.6/5.0
Erica is awesome! She did my hair and makeup and I couldn't have been happier!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/2/2012
3.8/5.0
Erica did a great job on my hair and makeup for my September wedding. I was a little worried about melting since it was 100 degrees out, but the makeup lasted through the pictures, ceremony and reception. My hair, however, didn't. It was gorgeous and exaclty how I wanted it for the pictures (before the ceremony) but the curls fell and before Erica could fix it she was gone. My friend had to curl it for the ceremony and it ended up looking good, but I kind of wished she would have stayed to help with touch ups after the pictures. That's something I would recommend settling before you sign the contract.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Erica Gray Beauty Company responded with the following comments:

My team and I are always happy to stay but do charge a flat fee after we are finished with our work.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Erica did my hair and makeup for my bridal portraits and wedding. I did not even have a set style I wanted--I just let her "go with it". She did AMAZING. I was completely happy with the way my hair and makeup turned out. It was great to have someone to do hair AND makeup. Very cost efficient. I would highly recommend Erica.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Erica Gray's talent for calming otherwise crazy situations and making everything feel super-positive is second only to her talent at bringing out the best in everyone with her artistic vision, style, and skill. I first got to work with Erica at a performance in New York City and since she's been in Austin, I've used her for photo/video shoots, special events, and many more performances. It was a no-brainer that she would make us all beautiful for my wedding. Erica gets along with everyone on all my various production teams, but most importantly, she gets along with MY MOM and made her look incredible on my wedding day. Erica instinctively knows how to bring out the best in people's features. She also has this jedi / ninja calming power which is so important before any nerve-charged event where you only have one shot at getting it right. She is an artist and a professional. After working with Erica on many important occasions, I can wholeheartedly recommend her for any situation, especially your wedding! P.S. I never have a pre-conceived vision of what style I want and Erica always does something amazing, so don't be afraid to roll with it if you are in the same boat.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rhianna
Wedding:
4/20/2012
5.0/5.0
I was lucky enough to use Erica for my cocktail party, my rehearsal night, and my wedding. For my cocktail party, I told her I wanted to do a Beyonce-style side ponytail. She did just that, and even the men at the party were commenting on how great my hair looked! For my rehearsal night she just did simple curly hair and makeup, and it looked amazing. She was a doll, and came to 3 different locations to do my hair and makeup (3 different days). Her prices are affordable, especially since she has worked with celebrities. She is very busy, so if she doesn't respond right away to email, just give her a call!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erika
Wedding:
4/15/2012
4.6/5.0
Thank god for Erica. The women that I was originally going to use as a hair and make up artist fell through a week before the wedding. With so many last minute details I was so scared that I wasn't going to be able to find someone to cover it.

I found Erica on line and emailed her two days before the wedding. She responded to me in under two hours that she would be able to fit me in. Even with her husbands return from the military the morning of she was still there on time and did a wonderful time on my hair and makeup. It was the most beautiful thing that I have ever seen done with my hair and face and looks amazing in the pictures.

She was fun and spunky all the while doing a great job!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sally
Wedding:
3/3/2012
5.0/5.0
I have gotten my hair and makeup done several times in the past year for other weddings and events, but Erica, by far does the best makeup I've seen. I don't wear makeup everyday, and I still wanted to look myself on my wedding day. I wanted to find someone who would NOT just paint my face with makeup to where I looked completely different. Erica did a fabulous job. She is sweet, easy to work with and deceptively good at her craft. She makes it seem so easy and natural.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Varsha
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Erica did my hair and makeup for my wedding, as well as the hair for my sisters and family. I was very pleased with the reults and happy i chose her! She was extremely professional and punctual and moves at a quick pace!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hill Country Bride
Wedding:
5/29/2011
4.9/5.0
Erica Gray made wedding day hair and makeup process easy and relaxed. Erica agreed to meet with me prior to me hiring her to make sure it would be a good fit. I really enjoyed her friendly, laid-back demeanor. Some have mentioned in reviews that Erica is not the best with responsiveness, so I voiced my concern to her. She did admit that response time is not her strong-suit, but she would work on it. She does respond within 24 hours when possible. Since we discussed it openly, I felt fine about it. I did experience some lag-time with her responding to me; however, it was on a very busy weekend when she was booked with weddings. I found with other vendors this to be true as well, so I can't really hold it against her, especially during wedding season in Austin.
Erica came to my house for the trial run, which made it very easy on me. We discussed what I was thinking about and I showed her some pictures for ideas. What she did with my hair, hair extensions and make-up was just beautiful. We did discuss making some minor adjustments for the wedding day, just to make my look more perfect. My hair and make-up stayed all day.
I had a morning wedding, so Erica had to come to my house at 5:00 AM…and no problems, she was on-time and very professional. Erica completed my hair and makeup with the adjustments that we discussed. My hair turned out even better than it did at the trial and my makeup was perfect! That morning, Erica also did hair and makeup for the mother and stepmother of the groom. She was even able to use her airbrush to cover some leg scrapes and bruises my mother had unintentionally gotten from mowing her yard a couple of days before.
It was extremely windy the day of the wedding. My hair stayed up all day with no problem and my flower stayed securely fastened to my head. My veil did end up blowing off my head, but I guess that is the risk you take with an outside hilltop wedding…it was more like a sail than a veil. Of course that was not in any way a reflection on Erica's work…just the weather we ended up with.
Overall, Erica is professional and talented, yet flexible, friendly and open. Her prices are extremely competitive and I liked that she was willing to come to me for the trial. I definitely recommend her to Austin-area brides.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
E
Wedding:
4/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Erica is incredible. She created some serious "magic" with her team for my wedding weekend. I knew right away in our trial that she was the gal for me...we had an insta-friendship, which is so important for The Big Day. But more importantly she is such a talented stylist. My hair and make up looked beyond fabulous BOTH nights (she did my rehearsal party too). The night before the wedding, friends and fam were wowed by the look she gave me and asked why I don't look like this every day (I explained it involved a stylist to maintain this look). I felt amazing, like a rockstar that night---as you should during your wedding weekend. Then wedding day...everyone looked amazing and most importantly, still like themselves. My mom, my mother-in-law, sisters, etc all looked like their A+ version of them. If, I may say so myself, I looked truly divine...romantic, beautiful, elegant. I really can't thank her enough for making me feel like a gorgeous bride.
- E Levin
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.9/5.0
Erica was great, she is a joy to work with! She provided hair and make-up for myself, 4 bridemaids, MOB and the flower girl. Everyone of of the girls loved their hair and make-up and looked great in the pictures. Erica is really flexible as some of the girls knew exactly what they wanted and she made it happen, but she was also great at making recommendations for those that didn't.

I love the work she did because you look like yourself, only better. My husband really is not a fan of a ton of makeup and was really pleased with how I looked...he was worried I would look cake-y :)

In addition to being great at what she does, she is just fun to be around which makes the process more entertaining. Erica is so good that I have 2 friends getting married soon and they both are using her for hair and make-up as well!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ashleynoelmack
Wedding:
8/8/2010
4.8/5.0
Sometimes it was hard to get in contact with Erica--BUT THAT DOESN'T MATTER because she is AMAZING! She is reliable and she does an incredible job. I got married in august, and my makeup stayed put all night! And my hair was fabulous. I have short hair, which was really hard to find a stylist for--and she did a really amazing job finding the perfect way to position by pill box veil and give me a stunning look! Mostly, I just want to be her friend because she is too cool for words.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
courtandy
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Erica made me look exactly how I dreamed of looking on my wedding day. Really, worth every penny.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
guessica
Wedding:
9/12/2009
4.8/5.0
I wish I could hire Erica to come to my house every morning to do my hair and makeup. She did a terrific job working with my hair type (curly) and playing up all the right things, and the makeup and hair held up pretty much all night without too much touching up and without using intense high-tech makeup techniques like airbrushing. And although I wouldn't call her fast (who needs fast on their wedding day?) she *is* meticulous which is important. With all the expensive mineral makeup in the world, I just never, ever could have done what she did myself. She's lovely to chat with too. And most importantly, I think she made me look (and feel) really beautiful. She does charge for the trial, which she did in her apartment in Greenpoint, so schedule your trial on a day when you have something special to do that night!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
megan
Wedding:
4/19/2009
4.8/5.0
I LOVED my hair and makeup. Erica did an amazing job and was really affordable. She did my hair and makeup, my mom's hair, and the makeup of the one bridesmaid who wanted it, and all her work was beautiful. She was sweet, friendly, and fun as well! Her work does not happen quickly, so I would recommend that future brides schedule plenty of time, but her attention to detail is totally worth it. I'm not very good with hair and makeup, so I had a hard time describing what I wanted. Erica somehow totally got what I was looking for, and made it happen. My makeup still looked flawless 12 hours, sweaty dancing, and lots of drinks later.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Erica travelled all the way to North Carolina to make me beautiful on my wedding day. She is completely dependable and always willing to work with your schedule. Erica provided the best hair and makeup service that anyone could ever wish for.
Not only did she provide an amazing finished product, but she also provided support during the day to keep me calm and collected. Erica was able to quickly switch direction under tight time constraints. She actually completely changed my hair after I changed my mind during the whole process and we still remained on time for photos and the ceremony.
I left Erica feeling happy and relaxed. I felt like we were best friends by the end of the day and I hope we can stay in touch for my next hair and makeup event.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I absolutely love Erica!! I hired her to do make-up for myself, 8 bridesmaids, and my mother on my wedding day and it was fantastic! There were times leading up to the wedding where things got a little stressful, and Erica was so easy to talk to and calming, she really helped me relax. She is fun to have around a crazy group of girls :) I would recommend her to anyone!! Thank you Erica!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
1.8/5.0
Trial was decent so I picked her for my wedding day. Forewarned her my sisters were very picky and critical. They are used to having hair and makeup done professionally. Erica assured me working in NY she had dealt with this type of client. Apparently not! It's not wrong for a client to know what they want and voice it. It's also not wrong for a client to expect you, the professional, to be creative and have ideas.

Having to fix makeup and hair shouldn't happen ever, esp for the amount she charges. She works very slowly and cracks under pressure as she did with the 4 of us. She cried! Let me tell you, we aren't mean people, but we are strong women who know what we want. We expect professionalism, knowledge, and experience- a lot of what she needs to work on. She's young and I think she needs more experience. Her "assistant" needed major guidance, she was not experienced. I even heard her tell someone she had just graduated from hair school 3 weeks prior! Hmmm.... Hair school, 3 weeks, but you're having her do makeup. Really?
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Erica Gray Beauty Company responded with the following comments:

I am always saddened when a bride did not feel fully-satisfied with our business. With over fifteen years of experience, including 7 years working in the fashion industry in NYC, I pride myself on bringing creativity and knowledge to each job. My assistant is licensed aesthetician and feels the same way! This was a difficult job, but everyone looked great in the end, and in the end that is most important. Erica
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.2/5.0
I am very dissapointed with the services of this vendor. She came to me highly recommended, and was very hard to reach from the very beginning. You have to call or email at least 3 times before you get in touch with her. I decided to still give her a chance because she was so highly recommended - I will divide my review into pros and cons.

Cons: Flaky, hair trial went horribly, does not keep her appointments
Pros: Awesome at makeup, very friendly and does her best to be accomodating
Services Used: Beauty & Health

MAP

 
5315 Westminster, Austin, TX 78723 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Erica Gray Beauty Company
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1358988911803-13589864241270307