130x130 sq 1332291490628 splashfrontwithdancefloor

Essence Entertainment

Costa Mesa , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

355 Bristol Stree, Suite M
Costa Mesa, CA 92626 US (map)

PHONE

714-979-8933

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Essence Entertainment Talent Agency has been the elite provider of live music and entertainment throughout Southern California for over 30 years. Owner & Executive Talent Manager, Mike... Read more
Essence Entertainment Talent Agency has been the elite provider of live music and entertainment throughout Southern California for over 30 years. Owner & Executive Talent Manager, Mike Steffens, has experience on both sides of the curtain, which enables him to provide you with important perspectives and advice while selecting the music and entertainment for your event.

We are proud to feature the very finest professional Dance Bands, Disc Jockeys, Classical & Jazz Ensembles, Variety Acts, Theme Entertainment, and Entertainment Services (i.e., A/V, props, decor, photography, etc.) . Fully licensed, bonded, insured, and open six days each week to service you. Our full-time professional sales staff is uniquely qualified to help you in selecting the perfect entertainment for your function, and will assist in planning and designing your special event as well.

Due to our expertise in the entertainment field and our long list of satisfied clients, Essence Entertainment is a preferred vendor at all of Southern California's finest venues, including Ritz Carlton Hotels, St. Regis Resorts, Four Seasons Hotels, Hyatt Regency Hotels, Hilton Hotels, Marriott Hotels, and many of the finest Golf Resorts, Private Clubs and Social Venues.

Owner Mike Steffens says, "We are successful simply because we care about our clients and the quality of the talent we represent. Each event is an opportunity to see if we can exceed our customer's expectations. Our success is why we are the most referred entertainment agency in Southern California."

Visit our Website

Visit our Blog

Like us on Facebook

Enjoy our YouTube Channel

Please don't hesitate to call Mike at (714) 979-8933 to brainstorm about your event or make an appointment to meet with him to discuss the options available to you! Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1240076804031 djmichael
130x130 sq 1240076810140 hawaiianexperiencecast
130x130 sq 1240076873765 ariastringscrop2
130x130 sq 1240077110281 islandgroovin20072008
130x130 sq 1240077119875 lookalikejacknicholsonjoe
130x130 sq 1240077120656 lookalikejoanriversdd
130x130 sq 1240077128640 mariachisdeavelos5piecesample
130x130 sq 1240077129515 santatim
130x130 sq 1240077130109 scotaselvis
130x130 sq 1240077138000 lookalikechersandra
130x130 sq 1332291671349 crowdeddancefloorpartywband
130x130 sq 1332291698746 splashfrontwithdancefloor
130x130 sq 1332291721707 singermcatcenterofdancefloor

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
We have numerous DJs to choose from - all with different personalities and styles. This way you can pick who you think will be best suited for your event.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
No. We provide a Song List which you can mark up. You can also provide additional requests.
What is your usual attire?
Formal / Tuxedo. However, this is customizable to your preferences.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
No. As long as we have ample notice. If it is a special request that is hard to find, we may ask for your assistance.
How many other DJs do you work with?
Essence Entertainment has 8 DJs.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
We have a 4-hour minimum with regards to cost. However, the DJ can perform for a shorter time period if requested.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
If after conducting a Planning Session with us you would like to speak with the DJ, we will forward the planning information to the DJ and ask him to call you to discuss in greater detail.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
Yes.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Absolutely! You can cross songs out on our Song List and/or provide a list you have created.
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes - all of our DJs are self-contained.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Some of our DJs have special lighting they can offer. If this is something you'd like to have, just ask us which DJs provide lighting during your appointment.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
1-2 hours. Some DJs like to have a 6' table.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
We request that the DJ be set-up next to the dance floor.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
Yes - our DJs are professional emcee's and will conduct the announcements and formalities as you request. (This is discussed during the Planning Session.)
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
DJs generally do not take breaks. A vendor meal is requested, but not mandatory.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
Yes.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Essence Entertainment will provide a suitable substitute if necessary. All planning and music requests will be communicated to the new DJ. However, our DJs are very professional and take this very seriously...I can't remember a time when we had to send a different DJ!
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
Very rarely a DJ can do two events in one day, but the initial booking has priority. If the second booking would in any way cause any issues, the DJ is taken off calendar and will not be "available" for a second event.
What is your overtime rate?
Overtime rate for our DJs is $75 per half hour.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
No - we do not charge for travel distance or time.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
We request a 50% Deposit along with the signed Contract.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
8/30/2014
5.0/5.0
SO CLASSY! For our wedding ceremony music, we used the harpist through Essence Entertainment. It was beyond elegant! I had debated on whether to use a DJ, partially because I was worried that the acoustics carried by the harp wouldn't be loud enough, and also because I wasn't sure how well "Cannon In D" would sound on harp strings alone. I googled it and listened to the acoustics online and it didn't sound half bad so I went with the harpist. I'm so glad I did! Acoustics were not an issue at all. The sound carried beautifully and it was truly very romantic. It tied the whole theme together! After the ceremony, the harpist continued playing through cocktail hour, which was the perfect segue into the reception, at which time the DJ took over. If you're looking for that perfect combo of class and elegance, the harpist is the way to go! Either way, we thoroughly enjoyed working with Essence Entertainment and highly recommend any of their services!
SO CLASSY! For our wedding ceremony music, we used the harpist through Essence Entertainment. It was beyond elegant! I had Read more...
SO CLASSY! For our wedding ceremony music, we used the harpist through Essence Entertainment. It was beyond elegant! I had debated on whether to use a DJ, partially because I was worried that the acoustics carried by the harp wouldn't be loud enough, and also because I wasn't sure how well "Cannon In D" would sound on harp strings alone. I googled it and listened to the acoustics online and it didn't sound half bad so I went with the harpist. I'm so glad I did! Acoustics were not an issue at all. The sound carried beautifully and it was truly very romantic. It tied the whole theme together! After the ceremony, the harpist continued playing through cocktail hour, which was the perfect segue into the reception, at which time the DJ took over. If you're looking for that perfect combo of class and elegance, the harpist is the way to go! Either way, we thoroughly enjoyed working with Essence Entertainment and highly recommend any of their services! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
We were referred to Essence Entertainment by our venue and were not disappointed! Mike is very professional and responsive. We chose a 4 piece band for the reception - Sound FX. They were awesome and kept the dance floor packed all night! I can't recommend Essence Entertainment enough!
We were referred to Essence Entertainment by our venue and were not disappointed! Mike is very professional and Read more...
We were referred to Essence Entertainment by our venue and were not disappointed! Mike is very professional and responsive. We chose a 4 piece band for the reception - Sound FX. They were awesome and kept the dance floor packed all night! I can't recommend Essence Entertainment enough! Read less
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Venessa
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
The band was awesome. They didn't take a lot of breaks and kept people out on the dance floor. They even learned a song that was important to my parents. If you want new age or hip hop this might not be the band for you. If you want music you can dance to, great sound, a group that knows how to keep the flow going, and an excellent singer, this is the band you are looking for!
The band was awesome. They didn't take a lot of breaks and kept people out on the dance floor. They even learned a song Read more...
The band was awesome. They didn't take a lot of breaks and kept people out on the dance floor. They even learned a song that was important to my parents. If you want new age or hip hop this might not be the band for you. If you want music you can dance to, great sound, a group that knows how to keep the flow going, and an excellent singer, this is the band you are looking for! Read less
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Peter
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.8/5.0
We met with Mike at their office to review our options. We knew that we wanted a live band and not a DJ. After reviewing numerous audition DVDs, it became clear that the Essence band was creme-de-la-creme. Of course, that meant that they were the most expensive, but totally worth it. During the first half of the wedding reception, they provided elegant background dinner music, then classic dance music. Then during the second half of the reception, the energy level was pumped up, especially as one of our wedding guests joined them on stage as a lead singer (which at first they were skeptical then pleasantly surprised)! Good times!!!
We met with Mike at their office to review our options. We knew that we wanted a live band and not a DJ. After reviewing Read more...
We met with Mike at their office to review our options. We knew that we wanted a live band and not a DJ. After reviewing numerous audition DVDs, it became clear that the Essence band was creme-de-la-creme. Of course, that meant that they were the most expensive, but totally worth it. During the first half of the wedding reception, they provided elegant background dinner music, then classic dance music. Then during the second half of the reception, the energy level was pumped up, especially as one of our wedding guests joined them on stage as a lead singer (which at first they were skeptical then pleasantly surprised)! Good times!!! Read less
Services Used: Band
Wwnetwork 128
jodi
Wedding:
8/9/2009
4.6/5.0
My DH is very into his music, he has about 14,606 songs and counting on his ipod. We chose to have a classical guitarist for our ceremony and cocktail hour. It was quite lovely with the outside setting at Rancho Las Lomas. We then picked DJ Paul for dinner and dancing. We made his music selection for dinner extremely easy since DH made 4 hours of handpicked songs into a CD. Music was awesome. Although for our speeches, it would have been nicer to have a longer extension cord since our sweetheart table could not view the speakers very well. Then, dancing indoors with Paul's selection of music was fab! All in all, we were very happy and everyone had a fantastic time!
My DH is very into his music, he has about 14,606 songs and counting on his ipod. We chose to have a classical guitarist Read more...
My DH is very into his music, he has about 14,606 songs and counting on his ipod. We chose to have a classical guitarist for our ceremony and cocktail hour. It was quite lovely with the outside setting at Rancho Las Lomas. We then picked DJ Paul for dinner and dancing. We made his music selection for dinner extremely easy since DH made 4 hours of handpicked songs into a CD. Music was awesome. Although for our speeches, it would have been nicer to have a longer extension cord since our sweetheart table could not view the speakers very well. Then, dancing indoors with Paul's selection of music was fab! All in all, we were very happy and everyone had a fantastic time! Read less
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
ATLbeachBuff
Wedding:
8/7/2009
4.4/5.0
We had an acoustical guitarist play during our outdoor reception and it was perfect. He was hardly noticible, but played beautifully. He knew every song we wanted to play and was exceptionally professional. I'd give our DJ a B+. He was good, but did stray from my playlist and requested genre a bit. I had to personally go up to him and ask him to stop playing certain songs and to play more upbeat songs. Overall, however, great service, great price, and great experience!
We had an acoustical guitarist play during our outdoor reception and it was perfect. He was hardly noticible, but played Read more...
We had an acoustical guitarist play during our outdoor reception and it was perfect. He was hardly noticible, but played beautifully. He knew every song we wanted to play and was exceptionally professional. I'd give our DJ a B+. He was good, but did stray from my playlist and requested genre a bit. I had to personally go up to him and ask him to stop playing certain songs and to play more upbeat songs. Overall, however, great service, great price, and great experience! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
elizabethryan23
Wedding:
6/6/2009
4.8/5.0
We picked Frank as our wedding DJ and he did a great job. I honestly thought we didn't have a dancing crowd and didn't think a single person would get up there but Frank kept people on the dance floor the entire night! Everything ran smoothly and there were no complications in planning. Mike walked us through and planned the reception with us and put our minds at ease about everything. We didn't have to worry about a thing.
We picked Frank as our wedding DJ and he did a great job. I honestly thought we didn't have a dancing crowd and didn't Read more...
We picked Frank as our wedding DJ and he did a great job. I honestly thought we didn't have a dancing crowd and didn't think a single person would get up there but Frank kept people on the dance floor the entire night! Everything ran smoothly and there were no complications in planning. Mike walked us through and planned the reception with us and put our minds at ease about everything. We didn't have to worry about a thing. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Bmini
Wedding:
5/3/2009
4.8/5.0
Was very happy working with essence entertainment. Very professional and excellent is assisting us with our planning.
Was very happy working with essence entertainment. Very professional and excellent is assisting us with our planning.
Was very happy working with essence entertainment. Very professional and excellent is assisting us with our planning. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Cassydy
Wedding:
3/21/2009
5.0/5.0
One of the most important aspects of our wedding that we wanted our guests to come away with was "wanting more" and that was achieved with our band. First, a band over a DJ to us, makes a big difference. Yes, you pay more in most cases, but it's well worth it. A friend recommended us to Essence Entertainment where we met with Mike. He asked our price range and then showed us 5 bands on videos. Naturally, The Essence Band, won hands down. The plus side was that they had performed at The Turnip Rose (our reception) many times before so we knew they knew the lay of the land. The performed beyond our expectations and of course, all of our guests are still raving about them. No one left the reception early. The voices were incredible and they had two costume changes. It was the glue that held everything together. We highly recommend them. Their voices and instrumentals have no peers.
One of the most important aspects of our wedding that we wanted our guests to come away with was "wanting more" and that Read more...
One of the most important aspects of our wedding that we wanted our guests to come away with was "wanting more" and that was achieved with our band. First, a band over a DJ to us, makes a big difference. Yes, you pay more in most cases, but it's well worth it. A friend recommended us to Essence Entertainment where we met with Mike. He asked our price range and then showed us 5 bands on videos. Naturally, The Essence Band, won hands down. The plus side was that they had performed at The Turnip Rose (our reception) many times before so we knew they knew the lay of the land. The performed beyond our expectations and of course, all of our guests are still raving about them. No one left the reception early. The voices were incredible and they had two costume changes. It was the glue that held everything together. We highly recommend them. Their voices and instrumentals have no peers. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
fantabulisa
Wedding:
6/28/2008
5.0/5.0
The ceremony music was beautiful. You can choose from several combination of classical instruments, which was very impressive. Also the DJ was great; he read the crowd and brought people to the dance floor. He played music that my friends and my parent's friends could enjoy. On top of everything else The price was very affordable too.
The ceremony music was beautiful. You can choose from several combination of classical instruments, which was very Read more...
The ceremony music was beautiful. You can choose from several combination of classical instruments, which was very impressive. Also the DJ was great; he read the crowd and brought people to the dance floor. He played music that my friends and my parent's friends could enjoy. On top of everything else The price was very affordable too. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ

MAP

 
355 Bristol Stree, Suite M, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Essence Entertainment
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1332291490628 splashfrontwithdancefloor