130x130 sq 1372592604927 photo3

Essential Dj Service

CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

US

PHONE

814-502-9070

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Welcome! Please check our website for more indepth information. Packages available large and small. We help plan the schedule of your wedding from the ceremony to the last dance. You... Read more
Welcome! Please check our website for more indepth information. Packages available large and small. We help plan the schedule of your wedding from the ceremony to the last dance. You hear ALL the music you request. Songs are mixed to keep the party going! Uplighting is available as well as lots of other great atmosphere accessories!

Call, email or visit my website to request a quote.

Phone: (814) 502-9070

E-mail: essentialdjservice@gmail.com

www.essentialdjservice.com

If you'd like to request a quote please click here.

Let us help make your next event one to be remembered! Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1351167904656 photo2
130x130 sq 1342448267363 img7178
130x130 sq 1299432377193 img5229
130x130 sq 1299432344880 dsc07667
130x130 sq 1299432363489 img5198
130x130 sq 1299432383786 img6034
130x130 sq 1299432311193 dsc07652
130x130 sq 1299432327286 dsc07664
130x130 sq 1299432348818 dsc07677
130x130 sq 1299432356224 img5197
130x130 sq 1299432366958 img5201
130x130 sq 1299432372552 img5226
130x130 sq 1299432382443 img5230
130x130 sq 1342447959226 img6473
130x130 sq 1342447980191 img6511
130x130 sq 1342448011874 img6666
130x130 sq 1342448066346 img6787
130x130 sq 1342448100824 img6891
130x130 sq 1342448123225 img6924
130x130 sq 1342448142091 img6991
130x130 sq 1342448245528 img7044
130x130 sq 1342448294811 img7163
130x130 sq 1342448167218 img7006
130x130 sq 1342448194623 img7013
130x130 sq 1299432384114 jonultra
130x130 sq 1351167941214 photo3
130x130 sq 1351167968785 photo5

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Hip Hop, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Rock, Soul
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
I mix everything, blending from one track to the next. I can mix in old with new, rock with hip hop, top 40 from today to top 40 from the 60's, 70's and 80's. I play everything you want to hear at your event!
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
No
What is your usual attire?
Formal for weddings, decided by the host for other events.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
If I can find it, I'll get it, if its a rare band or song then it may need to be provided.
How many other DJs do you work with?
I am a sole proprietor, I won't book a date unless it is open. I do have other companies I work with if my date is booked, I also have dj's who can cover in the event of an emergency. 
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Any.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes, in fact it is highly encouraged!
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
I have lots of experience in dance music from around the world.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Yes.
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes, only the best, Bose and QSC sound, Pioneer dj equipment, and American Dj and Chauvet Lighting.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
I have lasers, scanners, led moonflowers, high powered fog machine, low lying fog machine, bubble machines, uplighting, led panels and par cans.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
I can bring a table. For large events I prefer 2 hours, for small setups an hour.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
I need about a 6 foot area minimum to set up table and lighting.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
A small one, not unsightly lays flat on the table so that it is seen if people visit the booth.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
Depends on the situation. I can do as little or as much talking as requested.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Depends on the situation.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
Meal breaks aren't required. Usually breaks aren't necessary.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
Yes, music goes on.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
I work with other companies who can cover if necessary. I like to keep the Cal Ripken philosophy... I never miss a game.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
No.
What is your overtime rate?
$150 per hour.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Only if its far enough where a hotel is required.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
25% deposit to hold the date.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Nicole
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Essential DJ Service was awesome! He met with us more than once before the event so that we felt comfortable with everything throughout the night despite the fact that we did not have a rehersal dinner! He recommended our officiant to us, which we loved. He was more than willing to do anything it took to make our night special. My husband loves batman and our introduction was a batman themed skit...Essential DJ Service went above and beyond to make sure that it ran smoothly and was even able to get the origional batman theme song for us! Thanks Essential DJ Service, for making our day special!
Essential DJ Service was awesome! He met with us more than once before the event so that we felt comfortable with Read more...
Essential DJ Service was awesome! He met with us more than once before the event so that we felt comfortable with everything throughout the night despite the fact that we did not have a rehersal dinner! He recommended our officiant to us, which we loved. He was more than willing to do anything it took to make our night special. My husband loves batman and our introduction was a batman themed skit...Essential DJ Service went above and beyond to make sure that it ran smoothly and was even able to get the origional batman theme song for us! Thanks Essential DJ Service, for making our day special! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Tammy
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Jon was a wonderful DJ. He not only helped us with the music, he ran our whole evening. He met with us several times and offered great suggestions to help our wedding be so wonderful. I would highly recommend him .
Jon was a wonderful DJ. He not only helped us with the music, he ran our whole evening. He met with us several times and Read more...
Jon was a wonderful DJ. He not only helped us with the music, he ran our whole evening. He met with us several times and offered great suggestions to help our wedding be so wonderful. I would highly recommend him . Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Great experience! Jon listened to our requests and worked with us to make our day special. We really enjoyed the dance party at our reception! I would definitely recommend using him!
Great experience! Jon listened to our requests and worked with us to make our day special. We really enjoyed the dance Read more...
Great experience! Jon listened to our requests and worked with us to make our day special. We really enjoyed the dance party at our reception! I would definitely recommend using him! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Jon was excellent! He made the wedding perfect with his flexibility, great ideas, and awesome choices in music. I've told everyone I know that is engaged about him and would highly recommend him! Thanks so much Jon!
Jon was excellent! He made the wedding perfect with his flexibility, great ideas, and awesome choices in music. I've told Read more...
Jon was excellent! He made the wedding perfect with his flexibility, great ideas, and awesome choices in music. I've told everyone I know that is engaged about him and would highly recommend him! Thanks so much Jon! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
mike
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Awesome job. Did everything we asked and more. Conducted event superbly. Many complements from the guest and many thanks from me. Helped to make our special day that much more special. Thanks for everything, will definitely use again.
Awesome job. Did everything we asked and more. Conducted event superbly. Many complements from the guest and many thanks Read more...
Awesome job. Did everything we asked and more. Conducted event superbly. Many complements from the guest and many thanks from me. Helped to make our special day that much more special. Thanks for everything, will definitely use again. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Nicole
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Jon was very responsive and showed that he cared about our event. He met with us several times before the event to go over all the specifics and called us a few days before just to make sure everything was set. Also, on the day of the event, our string trio, which we booked for ceremony music was running late. Jon setup a speaker outside as a backup plan which was not part of the original plan. He was ready with an extra small speaker and willing to help cover for us just in case in order to make sure that our event went smoothly. He showed that he was willing to go above and beyond his original promise.
Jon was very responsive and showed that he cared about our event. He met with us several times before the event to go over Read more...
Jon was very responsive and showed that he cared about our event. He met with us several times before the event to go over all the specifics and called us a few days before just to make sure everything was set. Also, on the day of the event, our string trio, which we booked for ceremony music was running late. Jon setup a speaker outside as a backup plan which was not part of the original plan. He was ready with an extra small speaker and willing to help cover for us just in case in order to make sure that our event went smoothly. He showed that he was willing to go above and beyond his original promise. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Allen
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Although the state of Maryland has embraced marriage equality, we were apprehensive about finding an experienced DJ who would feel comfortable being the DJ and MC at a gay wedding. We didn't need a "gay-DJ"... but we did want someone who felt at ease with our family, friends and colleagues... and Jon Carpenter EXCEEDED ALL OF OUR EXPECTATIONS!

He was friendly, professional and knowledgeable. Jon helped us with our music selection, and was flexible with our needs. He met us at the venue to preview where he'd be setting-up and to give us some "real-life" examples of the uplighting.

The sound system was SUPERB! Full range, high quality, rich tones...we LITERALLY had random hotel guests wander into our reception because they thought the hotel had opened a night club. It was JUST THAT GOOD!!

Even BETTER was Jon's light show! We assumed that portable lighting could not match night club lighting. But we were wrong about that! Portable-lighting does NOT mean "inferior". Jon's lighting was OVER THE TOP... and TRULY helped with our celebration!! Jon also helped us by making a special effort to arrange the rental of a follow-spotlight for the Cher impersonator that we'd hired.

Jon kept in touch with us during the weeks leading up to the wedding day. Jon arrived early, set-up quickly, and at the end of the night he packed-up quickly too.

We provided our own playlist, a do-not-play list... and we gave Jon the flexibility to judge the crowd's energy level to play his own selections as well. The dance floor was FILLED THE ENTIRE NIGHT.

We wanted a DJ with a professional-sounding announcer's voice (check!) who would speak and announce when needed (check!) but who wasn't one of those silly DJ's who talk constantly (double-check!).

My husband and I sincerely and wholeheartedly recommend Essential DJ Service! One-stop shopping for EVERYTHING you need! His pricing was the perfect fit for our budget, and we received MUCH MORE than we expected.
Although the state of Maryland has embraced marriage equality, we were apprehensive about finding an experienced DJ who Read more...
Although the state of Maryland has embraced marriage equality, we were apprehensive about finding an experienced DJ who would feel comfortable being the DJ and MC at a gay wedding. We didn't need a "gay-DJ"... but we did want someone who felt at ease with our family, friends and colleagues... and Jon Carpenter EXCEEDED ALL OF OUR EXPECTATIONS!

He was friendly, professional and knowledgeable. Jon helped us with our music selection, and was flexible with our needs. He met us at the venue to preview where he'd be setting-up and to give us some "real-life" examples of the uplighting.

The sound system was SUPERB! Full range, high quality, rich tones...we LITERALLY had random hotel guests wander into our reception because they thought the hotel had opened a night club. It was JUST THAT GOOD!!

Even BETTER was Jon's light show! We assumed that portable lighting could not match night club lighting. But we were wrong about that! Portable-lighting does NOT mean "inferior". Jon's lighting was OVER THE TOP... and TRULY helped with our celebration!! Jon also helped us by making a special effort to arrange the rental of a follow-spotlight for the Cher impersonator that we'd hired.

Jon kept in touch with us during the weeks leading up to the wedding day. Jon arrived early, set-up quickly, and at the end of the night he packed-up quickly too.

We provided our own playlist, a do-not-play list... and we gave Jon the flexibility to judge the crowd's energy level to play his own selections as well. The dance floor was FILLED THE ENTIRE NIGHT.

We wanted a DJ with a professional-sounding announcer's voice (check!) who would speak and announce when needed (check!) but who wasn't one of those silly DJ's who talk constantly (double-check!).

My husband and I sincerely and wholeheartedly recommend Essential DJ Service! One-stop shopping for EVERYTHING you need! His pricing was the perfect fit for our budget, and we received MUCH MORE than we expected. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Ryan
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Jon helped make the overall process very easy for us. From beginning to end, Jon was very professional and responded quickly to any questions or concerns we had.

I would highly recommend Essential DJ Service to anyone looking for a DJ in the future.

Thanks again, Jon!
Jon helped make the overall process very easy for us. From beginning to end, Jon was very professional and responded Read more...
Jon helped make the overall process very easy for us. From beginning to end, Jon was very professional and responded quickly to any questions or concerns we had.

I would highly recommend Essential DJ Service to anyone looking for a DJ in the future.

Thanks again, Jon! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Christina
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Awsome, John is amazing. Very flexiable with working with you and around scheduals. He can get anything you want.
Awsome, John is amazing. Very flexiable with working with you and around scheduals. He can get anything you want.
Awsome, John is amazing. Very flexiable with working with you and around scheduals. He can get anything you want. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Essential DJ Service provided an excellent set-up for our wedding ceremony and for our reception (which was on two floors). They definitely made our wedding memorable by taking into account our preferences on music and by keeping our guests dancing! Additionally, they responded quickly to all emails/phone calls when we had questions and were professional/willing to work with us throughout the wedding planning process! We would definitely recommend Essential DJ Service to anyone looking for an outstanding DJ company for their event!
Essential DJ Service provided an excellent set-up for our wedding ceremony and for our reception (which was on two Read more...
Essential DJ Service provided an excellent set-up for our wedding ceremony and for our reception (which was on two floors). They definitely made our wedding memorable by taking into account our preferences on music and by keeping our guests dancing! Additionally, they responded quickly to all emails/phone calls when we had questions and were professional/willing to work with us throughout the wedding planning process! We would definitely recommend Essential DJ Service to anyone looking for an outstanding DJ company for their event! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Essential Dj Service
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1372592604927 photo3