130x130_sq_1340912412895-averythomas956

Essential Sounds Entertainment

Asbury Park , NJ

LOCATION

658 Cookman Ave., Suite #17
Asbury Park, NJ US 07712 (map)

PHONE

732-202-8439

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We are a group of talented, professional entertainers who strive to give you the most ultimate personal, customized music planning experience you will ever have. Founded by PJ Windle, a... Read more
We are a group of talented, professional entertainers who strive to give you the most ultimate personal, customized music planning experience you will ever have. Founded by PJ Windle, a veteran of the wedding industry with over 14 years and 1,000 events, Essential Sounds Entertainment LLC was formed with the goal of always focusing on the details. You are unique. Your event is special. Choose entertainment that will express exactly what you envision.

We provide exciting professional entertainment, enhanced lighting fixtures, LED TV video production, photo montage creation, projection screens, GoBo lighting, Candy Buffet Stations, Photo Booths and much much more!.

The word "Experience" is often used to describe the time that someone has put in to his/her line of work. With Essential Sounds Entertainment, experience means so much more than that. To us, the time in years that we have dedicated to this industry pales in comparison to the effort and the focus that we provide. Knowing how important the big day is and providing a steady, calm approach during the planning process is something that we have developed over time, with experience. This is the most important part of the process. Getting it right is essential.

Excitement: It's contagious. When someone is excited for you, you get excited as well. You feed off it. You thrive. Our entertainers provide enthusiasm when you want it, to the extent that you want it. We bring energy and excitement throughout the entire wedding planning process, not just on the Big Day. Our goal is to make you feel completely at home and at ease with your entertainer. If your process is stress-free, we have done our job.

We are a group of entertainers who always put your needs above anything else we do. If you want something done to reflect the uniqueness of you and your fiancèe, tell us about it and we'll make it happen. Our complete focus is to provide an atmosphere that you and your fiancèe can get excited over, be proud of and ultimately, remember forever. Founded by PJ Windle, a 14 year veteran in the wedding industry, Essential Sounds Entertainment was formed under the concept that personal service, customized music planning experiences and friendly relationships that branch out beyond the company/client relationship was paramount to the overall success of an entertainment business. As PJ states, "Just because we are "hired" to do a job, it doesn't mean we can't connect with the Bride and Groom and become more than just your DJ. In the end, I want to be someone you put your trust in because you enjoy the process of planning your wedding and you are completely confident that I feel the same way. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1340912273468-averythomas956
130x130_sq_1340912309643-averythomas965
130x130_sq_1339013847046-kdp116176
130x130_sq_1339013892461-kdp116163
130x130_sq_1339013957488-kdp116172
130x130_sq_1339014051409-kdp116164
130x130_sq_1339014138354-kdp116161

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rina
Wedding:
7/4/2014
5.0/5.0
Have you ever been to a party where the dance floor was packed the whole time and you had trouble getting people back to their seats to eat? Well, I have: my very own wedding - and it was thanks to the FANTASTIC music choices made by PJ the DJ and Essential Sounds Entertainment. The party was amazing and everyone had a blast. I HIGHLY recommend using Essential Sounds Entertainment for ANY party big or small. BEST PARTY EVER! Thank you PJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
PJ is AMAZING! He had everyone on the dance floor from the moment the reception started which is exactly what we wanted. He was with us every step of the way in our planning, not just as a DJ but as someone who gave us guidance with our entire wedding every step of the way. He made us feel like we were his only clients but his friends. PJ truly valued how important this day was to us and it showed throughout the night as the music selections were exactly what we envisioned. I was recommended by a friend to use PJ and I am forever grateful because he made our night one awesome celebration! Thank you PJ and Essential Sounds Entertainment!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karli
Wedding:
6/20/2014
5.0/5.0
What can I say that will even begin to express the gratitude my husband and I would like to say to PJ and his team. They were AMAZING!!!!! Truly made a dream come true for us. From the moment I first spoke to PJ I knew he was the one and he did not disappoint. The music they played was exactly what I wanted it to be. The dancing did not stop all night long. We also got the photobooth from him and I will look at those pictures everyday and just laugh. We are still getting calls saying it was the best wedding my guest have ever been too. Thank you for everything!!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
PJ is the best. He was the DJ at my brothers wedding a few years back and I didn't even shop around I just booked with him. We had a multi cultural wedding where half the guests were Indian and he played a couple songs for them. Which went over really really well. We received multiple comments throughout the wedding from guests that they really like the DJ. I would instantly recommend essential sounds for whatever event you're having.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexandra
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
PJ is amazing!!!!! My biggest fear of my wedding was that no one would dance and BOY was that far from the case! PJ read the crowd perfectly and we had a full dance floor the whole time! He was amazing with planning and coordinating with us! I highly recommend essential sounds - they made our wedding perfect!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Finding a DJ for our wedding was a daunting task. Not only is the list of prospects so large, but we were also planning our wedding out of state and were not going to be available to interview and meet in person with each vendor! Essential Sounds Entertainment was perfect from the beginning. They "Facetime"ed with us through their custom software (and at one point, iphone to iphone), and were incredibly responsive. We made a custom play list, and they accomodated every request. Our dj Ryan made sure that we were on the same page about the playlists, requested what we needed, and kept the tone of the wedding exactly where we wanted it to be. Additionally, the owner, PJ, was in constant communication. We felt from day one that we were in good hands. Ryan kept our guests dancing through a six hour reception, delivering messages, dedications, and helping orchestrate the agenda of the evening. We also asked Essential Sounds to do uplighting in our wedding colors, and it absolutely made the room perfect. We could not have asked for better services. If you are looking for high quality service, responsiveness, and a way to make your event flow, I cannot recommend Essential Sound Entertainment enough.
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paul
Wedding:
5/30/2014
5.0/5.0
There is nothing that I could possibly say negative about our wedding , especially PJ and his team at Essential Sounds. PJ was nothing but accommodating to our schedules making time to do our first web meeting after I was done working during the evening. That level of attentiveness and care carried through from the start of our planning to our last meeting when we selected the playlists and tunes for our wedding. PJ took great care ensuring that we understood our options and made sure that our wedding was our own, not cookie cutter or common. I can't appreciate that enough.

All of the pre planning was a pleasure, but the actual event itself was unbelievable. From the moment we came in the energy in the room was electric. All our guests were ready to roll after the great music played during the cocktail hour. Once the first dances were done, we sat down for some salad and were astonished to see our guests up and dancing. That energy continued throughout the event. Literally, there were people who did not eat because the party was contagious! PJ played songs from all genres and even sourced some great portuguese music for my side of the family.

PJ and Essential Sounds were the perfect vender for our wedding. I can't thank them enough for all they did to make our day amazing. You really can't do better for your event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
4/25/2014
5.0/5.0
PJ is AMAZING!!! We did not have to worry one bit about music with PJ. He understood what we were looking for at our wedding and he hit it on point! We couldn't have asked for a better DJ, he had our crowd up and dancing the ENTIRE night! (My feet still hurt!!) Thank you PJ for such a WONDERFUL wedding. We couldn't have boogied our butts off all night without you!!! Thank you!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josie
Wedding:
4/18/2014
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful experience working with PJ to plan the wedding music. PJ was very thorough and understood the music choices we were looking for. The wedding was amazing - dancing all night, music was tremendous. We highly recommend Essential Sounds.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessee
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding this past Saturday and the American Hotel in Freehold NJ, and OH MANNN. I wish their were words better then amazing and awesome. PJ and the guys are the best. Great music was played and the dance floor was occupied the whole wedding. Wonderful wonderful wonderful.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
We hired Essential Sounds after meeting at a tasting at Doolan's. As soon as we started talking with PJ we knew that he understood exactly what we were looking for! After having a meeting and a few messages back and forth we knew we found the perfect DJ's for us! We could not be happier with our choice! They helped us and made several suggestions. PJ & his team were incredible! I still have people coming up to me a month later raving about how wonderful they were! We highly recommend Essential Sounds for any event!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cassandra
Wedding:
3/21/2014
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding this past Friday and it was an absolute BLAST! PJ and his assistant kept our guests dancing all night and played just enough of every genre to keep guests of all ages happy. Everyone was raving about the music.

Throughout the entire planning process, PJ was quick to respond to every question we had, and each meeting with him reassured us that we had made the right choice. Not only did he take the time to get to know our taste in music, but he got to know US and it made a huge difference on our big night. The wedding wouldn't have been the same without Essential Sounds Entertainment-- I'm so thankful we found them!

Thanks again PJ for a wonderful night to remember - Cassie&Edgar
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathleen
Wedding:
2/22/2014
5.0/5.0
thank you so much PJ for making our wedding day so wonderful! it's not hard to get our family on the dance floor but they had nothing but wonderful things to say about song selection & how smoothly the reception went! such a great day :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
11/30/2013
5.0/5.0
It is difficult to put into words just how amazing Essential Sounds - PJ - was at our wedding. PJ spent time with us prior to our wedding day and totally figured us out! He played the absolutely perfect choices for our special day. Our guests ranged in age from 10 to 87 and every single person loved the music, and the atmosphere, made possible because of PJ's professionalism and ability to personalize our evening. Our entry and every announcement was accurate, clear and done with great energy. The music for our ceremony was provided by PJ - and again it was flawless. I loved and admired that PJ politely and professionally choose not to play a request made by a guest - it was something that we discussed with PJ and did not want played at our wedding. When I learned of this, it became even clearer to me that PJ did everything - and then some - to make our wedding an amazing night to remember. I would hire him again in a heartbeat!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rick
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Would definitely recommend their services to anyone! The level of professionalism was outstanding ! Thank you so much for making our day awesome!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anthony
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
DJ Matt from Essential Sounds absolutely killed it at our wedding. They did a phenomenal job--we could not have been more pleased with them.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kayleigh
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I would definitely recommend Essential Sounds to anyone who is looking for a DJ for any type of event! PJ is awesome and my now husband and I were so pleased with him not just on our Wedding day, but throughout the entire process. We could tell that he really cared about what we wanted to hear at our Wedding and that his goal was to make sure that we were happy with the music he would be playing. Any questions that I had for PJ (and there were quiet a few!) were always answered quickly and being the stressed out bride that I was it was so nice to know that I could email him at any time with any question and I wouldn't have to wait days for a response! I usually got an answer within minutes! It was such a relief to have Essential Sounds as our DJ company because I knew that PJ understood exactly what we wanted and would take care of all the music and I could focus on other parts of the Wedding! Thank you PJ and Essential Sounds for listening to us and playing exactly what we wanted to hear on our Wedding day!!!
Kayleigh & Scott
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Anthony and Chris kept the party rockin all night long! They were so professional and Anthony singing was a nice bonus. Everybody had a great time! A+ guys!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Casey
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
PJ Windle at Essential Sounds is a wonderful DJ. He really loves what he does and knows how to keep a party going. It was really important to me that the dance floor stay full at all times. PJ made sure that everyone was up and dancing the whole time! He knows just how to transition from song-to-song and knows when to change the mood. He will also get as involved as you want him to, which is great if you just want "music," but you're not looking for an "entertainer" necessarily. PJ also did a great job getting our music preferences beforehand so that every song played was one that we absolutely loved!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cori
Wedding:
9/29/2013
5.0/5.0
PJ and his staff where excellent!! From the moment we booked him we knew our wedding was going to be a blast. Telling him our taste in music and what we where looking for he immediately knew what styles to play at our wedding and how to keep the energy and fun going. He was always quick to respond to any questions we could possibly have and was able to give us some excellent pointers that we might have missed. You can tell he has a passion for what he does and loves every moment. We had so many people at the wedding say they had such an amazing time and how spot on the music was. I would recommend essential sounds entertainment to anyone looking to have the best music entertainment
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dana
Wedding:
9/20/2013
5.0/5.0
My biggest fear in planning my wedding was that the music wouldn't be great and no one would dance which is why we went with Essential Sounds Entertainment- PJ made sure that DID NOT happen! He worked with my husband and I on our very different music tastes and provided us with a great mix of it all. I wish the night could have gone on forever, everyone was having so much fun dancing. We also booked a last minute photo booth through them and I am SO GLAD we did as our guests really seemed to have fun with it! Do not hesitate to book Essential Sounds Entertainment, you will NOT be disappointed!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1330197460507-img2358
Tatum
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
What can I say here, these guys ROCKED our wedding.
My husband and I knew the moment we chatted with PJ that this was the DJ for us! We explained that our reception would be a bit unique as my husband is a drummer and his band was going to play for a portion of the wedding; Essential Sounds was all over it, and just as excited as we were.
We had Matt Night & Ryan McCrorey as our DJ duo and I can't say enough great things about them. We had a few chats with Matt prior to the wedding, went over all the "must haves" and "I'll hurt you if you play the chicken dance" - he was so accommodating and to be frank we felt like he was an old friend that we hadn't met yet.
With my husband being a musician he is a perfectionist when it comes to timing and specific moments in a song- these guys NAILED every single one we had, from on the spot editing for our bridal party entrance to the seamless transition when the band and the DJ picked up the exact same song. Myself, my husband and our guests were on the dance floor until the end- and we all know that a bride and groom's biggest fear is no one dancing at the biggest party you'll ever throw.
We just loved having a DJ team that was just as excited about our wedding as we were!!!
Would I recommend Essential Sounds Entertainment?? TO EVERYONE I KNOW- and I have passed along their information to pretty much everyone I know. We couldn't be happier with the professionally of PJ and his crew, they made a very special day even better.
Thank you so much, we are so grateful for everything you guys did for us!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kellene
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Essential Sounds is amazing! We heard them at another wedding and knew we had to have them for ours. Not only are the responsive, but they really take the time to understand your requests, budgets and timing. We worked with PJ directly, and he is the absolute best! He took the initiative to set up multiple phone calls and send follow-up emails for everything. He took the time to understand the types of music we wanted, made fantastic suggestions and kept our guests on the dance floor the whole night. They couldn't stop raving about how great the music was and how much fun they had. What we enjoyed the most about Essential Sounds is that they don't just play music, they time perfectly music for the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner service and dance... everything melded so well and truly reflected our personalities. We highly recommend PJ and his company to anyone that is looking for professionalism and a good time.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ryan
Wedding:
9/13/2013
5.0/5.0
From our initial consultation, continuing through planning and phone calls and emails, up to and including our wedding day the staff at Essential Sounds Entertainment provided absolute professional and knowledgeable service. They made the entire process easy and stress-free. They not only provided excellent DJ/MC service they also provided the photobooth which was a huge success at the reception. From the first dance to the last they had the dance floor filled to capacity. Thank You so much to Essential Sounds and especially PJ, Matt, and Ryan.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Everything was incredible at our reception! The Photo Booth was awesome. We had SOOOOOOOOO many people comment that the music was perfect all night and that the photo booth was so much fun and well run! The guest book from the booth is so cool, funny and touching. Great memories!!!!

You guys did soooo much for us and did an amazing job at it! I will recommend you highly to any engaged couple I know.....for sure!!! I can't say enough how happy we both were/are.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Devon
Wedding:
9/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Great group of guys. They could not have been more accommodating!!! Music was great. We even extended our wedding an extra hour. Photo booth rocked too!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
PJ and Essential Sounds Entertainment were wonderful! Everyone raved about the variety of music that was played for a group with varied taste! I couldn't have imagined my day without them! thank you so much!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shana
Wedding:
8/30/2013
5.0/5.0
I recently got married and used Essential Sounds Entertainment for my DJ and they were phenomenal! PJ Windle and his staff did everything to make sure that the music was just as we wanted and everyone had a great night. I was told by multiple people that our wedding was the most fun they've ever had at a wedding. We even used some non-traditional music for our ceremony on the beach and everyone loved it! Our wedding was the best night of my life and this company really helped make that happen. If you're looking for a DJ, this is your company!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Matt Knight and Ryan did an excellent job at our wedding! Matt was very easy to deal with and very professional every time we had a question or concern. I know it was a little challenging for him because we are big country music fans but he nailed it! I would recommend Essential Sounds Entertainment to all of my friends and family!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
PJ was the best DJ!!! We shared the same taste in music so it was really easy for him to understand exactly what we were looking for. He was very responsive with all our questions and had everyone dancing all night. Thank You!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
PJ at Essential Sounds Entertainment recently was the DJ at my wedding. He was extremely easy to deal with and did a great job gauging the party and keeping people on the dance floor. Best of all, his prices were extremely competitive.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We had PJ as our dj/mc for our wedding. PJ always made himself available to meet with us. PJ perfectly planned out every part of our wedding, including the ceremony and cocktail hour. He made sure that the dance floor was never empty and even incorporated some of my "Russian club songs." I would highly recommend Essential Sounds Entertainment!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
PJ provided my wedding with such a wonderful musical ambiance! My guests complimented me over and over and over again to address his professionalism, his attitude, his musical choices, and his effort to make the day wonderful! My husband and I had my uncle play the guitar during the processional, and PJ was both excited about it and very helpful to help my uncle get the equipment necessary to play and sing a very special song to me and my husband. PJ made fantastic suggestions during the planning process, and he was very attentive to details not only on the day of the event but also months ahead of time. PJ's regular attentiveness prior to the wedding made me feel confident the the musical arrangements on the day of the wedding would play out perfectly. On such a whirlwind of a day for a bride, it was easy for me to overlook details of the day. However, the thing that made me the happiest was how often my guests approached me to compliment PJ. I would absolutely recommend PJ and the rest of the Essential Sounds Entertainment crew to make any event a memorable one. THANK YOU!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
6/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Ryan did an amazing job to make our wedding perfect!! He played every song we requested and provided awesome music the whole day from dancing to dinner. Both Ryan and PJ made the whole process so easy and we knew we didn't have to worry at all about our entertainment. Thank you for helping to make our special day so memorable!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/9/2013
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved my experience with PJ and the Essential Sounds team! From our first meeting we knew we were going to be happy. We could just tell, PJ was not going to be a cheesy dj in sequined bow tie constantly telling our guest to "scream!"
PJ was always quick to respond to questions and was very attentive in the planning process. He assisted us in getting us our ceremony musicians which was beyond helpful! We also loved his video meeting setup which meant my husband and I didn't need to waste time driving around during the busy planning process.
PJ was able to read our crowd perfectly, playing just the right songs to keep the guests up and dancing. We received so many compliments throughout the evening and after the wedding. I hope some of my friends decide to use Essential Sounds for their weddings just so I can party with PJ again!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steve
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
We contracted Essential Sounds Entertainment as our DJ for our wedding which took place on June 1, 2013 in Massapequa, NY at the Riviera. From Day 1, PJ was nothing short of spectacular in handling a large range of requests we had as well as providing suggestions as necessary along the way. PJ was extremely professional and knows exactly how to make everyone have a great time! He covered just about all aspects of a wedding from start to finish and things that my fiance and I wouldn't have though of. They provided the mics, music for the ceremony, coordinated with our officiant and venue for the specs of the ceremony and place etc. PJ had everything set up including uplighting, and a GOBO illumination projected on the dance floor with our names and wedding date on it in such a short period of time as their was a wedding at the venue prior to ours and he only had a small window to set up. Everything ran so smoothly and seemed effortless on his part, which im sure is due in part to his vast experience in this industry. I would recommend Essential Sounds Entertainment to anyone and everyone having a party, wedding, or event as they provide not just music but a wide range of entertainment knowledge, experience and fun atmospheres for all ages. Essential Sounds has an interactive video conference tool which allowed us to coordinate with them face to face with out actually traveling to NJ. It was a great experience and allowed us to connect with them on a more personal level. It really is a great tool and I suggest anyone booking with Essential Sounds to take advantage of it. PJ provide us the utmost flexibility, with song selections etc. as we were both extremely busy up to the day of the wedding and he made last minute edits to playlists, special song requests, etc. PJ runs a this business with passion and is always looking for ways to improve upon what is already a high standard of excellence. Thanks PJ and Essential Sounds for an unforgettable day!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
PJ and Essential Sounds helped our May 26, 2013 go perfectly. They did the music for our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. We received many compliments from our guests about the variety of music. Our taste in music is a bit eclectic but PJ was able to choose songs that pleased everyone.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paul
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Essential Sounds made my wedding the most memorable night of our lives. PJ and his staff had everyone dancing the night away from the moment the night started. Just about every attendee at the wedding asked me "WHO IS THIS DJ HE IS AMAZING?!?!". This just proved to me that this organization is second to none, and the reason why we had chose them to provide DJ services for our wedding. I'll never consider another DJ other than essential sounds for all my events, and please don't make the mistake of choosing another. Weddings only come once a lifetime, and I'm so glad I chose this group because I've seen far too many lame weddings where everyone isn't dancing and seemed miserable. If I could paint a picture of my wedding, it would've been the complete opposite of that. Thank you so much PJ and your entire staff at Essential Sounds for providing the level of professional services that all businesses should strive for. You brought accommodation to a new level, and we truly appreciate it from the bottom of our hearts.
-Paul & Nadia
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jared
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
We were very satisfied with the DJ services provided by Essential Sounds! My wife and I were planning our wedding from across the country (lived in AZ and got married in NJ) and were nervous that we would have a rough time finding and vetting a DJ. We were recommended PJ's services from my sister in law who happens to be a wedding planner. PJ immediately set up a video conference for the three of us where we could meet and discuss our wedding. We were immediately impressed with his professionalism and the ideas on things we were having trouble figuring out. Between his attentiveness, the services he provided, and the wonderful results, I would recommend his services to anyone. Please make sure if you have some table cards or other printed related items, consult PJ's very talented wife. She used our wedding invitations to create table cards for our reception that were beautiful and reasonably priced. One last suggestion: GET THE PHOTOBOOTH!! Was a huge hit and gave us and our guests wonderful momentos of the night. Could not say anything but great things about PJ and the rest of his crew!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mitch
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
PJ and Essential Sounds was amazing. Between how friendly and amazingly helpful PJ was, and how professional he was with absolutely everything, we couldn't have been happier!

Our photo booth that they provided was also amazing, it was great getting to share all the photo booth photo digitals with our guests as well.

Thanks for being part of our wedding day. It wouldn't have been the same without you!
Services Used: DJ, Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
3/22/2013
5.0/5.0
I was referred to PJ and Essential Sounds Entertainment by a coworker that had used him for her wedding. I am so happy that we had went with this awesome company! From the first meeting, it was always more about the music and the fun, rather than the business end of it. My (now husband) Mark and I were hooked. PJ's easy going personality mixed with unsurpassed knowledge of music was the BEST! He made us our own package deal that included a tv screen for our cocktail hour for our photo montage. His company offers so many services to make any wedding a dream come true.

PJ was perfect on our wedding day! His set up was beautiful and kept everyone having a great time all night long. He played all of the songs that we requested, plus any last minute requests that our guests or ourselves had. He kept the party going until the very last second. My guests all enjoyed his entertainment! It was so awesome! People will be talking about him for years to come! We love you PJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chris
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
My wife and I just got married @ Doolan's Shore Club this past Saturday (03.16.13) and it was a wonderful day overall. We had been planning for months and had to deal with multiple vendors. Dealing with our DJ, PJ w/ Essential Sounds Entertainment was simply a pleasure. We met him at a wedding open house @ Doolan's a few months earlier. Luckily, he was available for our date and we booked him after our first meeting. His communication throughout the entire process was professional, courteous and just great overall! His performance the day of the wedding was great, during the ceremony, introductions for the reception, and throughout. He kept the dance floor active the entire evening and handled everything great. We would recommend PJ to ANYONE! A +++
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
PJ from Essential Sounds Entertainment is not just a DJ, he's a miracle worker!
My wedding was held in Baltimore, MD and the Baltimore-based DJ/Master of Ceremony who was contracted through our band had to cancel at the very last minute. The band asked if I knew any other Baltimore-based DJs, but as a native Jersey Girl, I didn't even know where to begin. I immediately called PJ in a panic to ask if he had any suggestions for DJs in the Baltimore area ... and he did; himself! Sensing that I was overwhelmed by the last-minute changes, PJ took it upon himself to call my wedding coordinator, discuss the details, and immediately had the situation rectified - I didn't have to do a thing!
PJ showed his commitment to his profession and his incredible flexibility by driving 4 hours to DJ my wedding after just returning home from his own honeymoon. He took detailed notes on every aspect of the reception during our consultation, and took my suggestions for song ruequests and ran with them! PJ accurately read the crowd, bringing energy to the dance floor, and chose songs that kept guests of all ages excited and dancing the entire night! We had so many compliments, not only on the music, but on PJs ability to create seamless transitions throughout the reception. PJ is a true professional in every sense of the word!
Thank you, PJ!!!
- Mr. and Mrs. Ricardo and Eileen Silva
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Doug
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Essential Sounds, in a nutshell, slam-dunked our wedding! The owner, PJ Windle, met with us and was so open to listening to what my fiance and I wanted and needed for our big day. And he offered us back a lot of great options and ideas. He hooked us up with one of his DJ's, Ryan, who also sat down with us to talk all things music and all things weddings, to design with us the perfect night. And, thanks to Essential Sounds, it was.

Essential Sounds was...unbelievably professional yet laid back, affordable (a bargain, really), very creative, flexible and enthusiastic about any ideas, friendly, and most importantly: GOOD at what they do! The process leading up to the wedding couldn't have been better, or easier. And our DJ Ryan just nailed the reception - from his professional and tasteful handling of the introductions and steering the course of events on the microphone, to disappearing behind the board to let the music do the talking. His choices were perfect, his skillful mixing and flowing of the music: just right. Our guests raved about it, and they will be for a long time.

Can't recommend Essential Sounds enough.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
What can we say....PJ and Matt MADE our wedding!!!! From the moment we sat down with them and explained to them we were not looking for the "typical" wedding music, they knew exactly what we meant. They were highly professional, so kind, and listened to every vision we had and made them all come true. We would without a doubt highly recommend them to anyone we know....Everyone loved the music and couldn't stop talking about how awesome they were. They kept the party going until the very end. Music is a huge part of our lives and they just plain 'got it"......Thank you both so very much for everything...You guys rock!!!!!
Laura and Chris Hopta
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
We chose Essential Sounds Entertainment as the DJ for our wedding at The English Manor and we could not be happier with the experience. When I (the bride) met with the Owner/MC PJ Windle, I immediately felt confident in my DJ choice. PJ is very professional and really listens to your needs to meet expectations for what you want out of your entertainment. I had an outdoor ceremony and needed music for that and as a last minute request he was able to provide a hands-free mic for our reverend (a small detail that met our rev's needs). For the reception, I wanted my guests out on the dance floor the whole time. I was a little worried about accomplishing this because I had a day wedding in a room that let in a lot of light! Would you believe that even my 84-year-old Pop pop was out on the dance floor!? The last thing I want to mention is that we were very happy with our package for the price, but then later decided we wanted to add a Photobooth. It was no problem to do and our guests of all ages raved about it! Love Essential Sounds Entertainment and would recommend them to anyone who is looking for a customized experience and great quality for a great value!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nichole & William
Wedding:
9/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Sound for our beach ceremony was one our big headaches that we try to avoid in wedding planning. After putting it off long enough we ended up contacting PJ at Essential Sounds Entertainment. Not only was he located right up the street from our wedding - he answered my email almost immediately! Being that we were working with a friend for our music aspect, PJ made sure we understood what equipment and services he could provide for us at a great price! We booked him right away and were so happy to final have that done with. Come to the day of the wedding...it ended up calling for rain and the beach ceremony was moved inside to the beautiful Carousel building in Asbury Park. PJ was in contact with us about the change and we were all set for the next day! We want to thank PJ for working with our celebrant Jessie and our musician friend Sam and for making everything as perfect as possible. Essential Sounds Entertainment is the way to go! Thanks!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Layli
Wedding:
9/21/2012
5.0/5.0
PJ Windle of Essential Sounds DJ'd our wedding and we couldn't have been happier. My husband and I first heard him at my sister-in-law's wedding and were immediately impressed, so when the time came for us to pick our DJ, we looked no further than PJ. Not only did he respect our wish to avoid all those silly wedding dances, but he knows how to read a crowd. Our guests were up and dancing from the word go, so PJ kept the music upbeat with little vocal encouragement. He provided the background music for a pretty amazing party for our older guests and our friends alike. We recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ that can feel out a party and keep everyone happy and moving all night.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Essential Sounds made everything so easy for us!!! We loved the video chat meetings on Livebride!! All of the staff was very quick to respond to all of our questions!! Matt Knight was an incredible DJ at our wedding!! He was very professional but we also felt like our friend was DJing our wedding!! We got so many compliments from guests young and old about how great the music was!!! We would definitely use Essential Sounds again and would suggest them for any occasion!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jim
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Best DJ out there. We went with PJ because he isn't that kind of in your face, overly aggressive DJ that makes your guests feel uncomfortable. He is just a cool, laid back kind of guy who knows his music inside and out and has the ability to make your friends and family feel like they've known him forever. If you have a fun crazy crowd, he caters to that. If you want something that's easy going and simpler he does that too. Its easier said than done but PJ walks the walk and I wouldn't hesitate to book him for any event I have in the future. I've recommended him to everyone we know who is getting married and I hope that in reading this review you give him a shot too. I'm sure you won't be disappointed.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
celeste
Wedding:
8/24/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and i chose Essential Sounds Entertainment for our wedding, and we are so happy that we did. When we first met with PJ i told him i did not want traditional wedding ceremony music but i didnt know what to go with. He had given me a style of music to look up and go threw and I fell in love with it right off the bat. I didnt really know how to explain what i wanted bc i was a bit unsure, but PJ knew. He was so professional and always had an immediate response for anything we were unsure of. We used PJ and his staff for our entire wedding,ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. It couldnt have gone any better then it did. He knew exactly what to play to keep our guests out of there seats. Which is awsome because we were a bit worried there wouldnt be alot of people dancing since our wedding was a bit small. We were so wrong. People were on the floor all night.

Choosing Essential Sounds Entertainment was one of the best decisions we made when starting to plan our wedding. He and his staff made our wedding day so amazing and so memorable. Thank you again !!! I will most certainly be recommending them to anyone who is in search of music entertainment.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Luba
Wedding:
8/12/2012
5.0/5.0
PJ and his team are incredible!!!!! We came to him just a few weeks before our wedding and he made it happen. It was the most magical night!!!
Services Used: DJ, , Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Theresa
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Essential Sounds Entertainment were phenomenal from beginning to end!!! If I ever had a question, I would leave a message for PJ, the owner, and he would instantaneously get back to me. I knew I was in good hands. He made the whole process painless and we had an awesome wedding. THANKS PJ!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
DJ Matt and assistant Ricky did an AWESOME job!! We were so happy to see people dancing and enjoying the night with us. Matt has a great personality and was easy to work with. He had to adjust the original plan several times and did so without question and it worked out perfectly. He played everything we wanted to hear and didn't play what we didn't want to hear. He followed all suggested music during ceremony and reception. Excellent work! Thanks guys!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Benjamin
Wedding:
7/15/2012
5.0/5.0
PJ Windle and Essential Sound Entertainment are an outstanding, professional DJ company. PJ is an outstanding MC who energized our guests and made the entire evening a memorable one. During the planning process, PJ will assist you and plan your event however you prefer. I not only was impressed by PJ's professional attitude but I instantly felt comfortable around him. He is a kind, hard-working guy who puts 100% into his craft. I would recommend Essential Sound Entertainment to anyone who is planning an event and needs a professional DJ. A++ all around
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rob
Wedding:
6/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Matt and PJ provided the perfect soundtrack for our wedding. I had written and recorded my own music for the walk down the aisle, and Matt Knight timed it perfectly with my wife's entrance. The music was tailored to the guests wonderfully, and they had everyone dancing the entire time. I'd recommend them over anyone else in New Jersey for an event.
Services Used: DJ
Essential Sounds Entertainment responded with the following comments:

Thanks a lot for taking the time to review our services! Matt Knight and Ryan McCrorey teamed up to help make your day a success and I am so glad you enjoyed working with them! If we can ever be of future assistance to you, give us a call! - PJ Windle
B8
Allison
Wedding:
6/24/2012
5.0/5.0
It was a pleasure having Essential Sounds handle the music at our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. We worked closely with PJ and Matt to make sure we had the right music at the right time. Being that my husband is a music composer, they knew that music was very important to us and they included music composed by my husband in the ceremony and some of our obscure requests for cues in the reception and it turned out wonderful!! We didn't have to wonder about anything the entire night because Matt kept the schedule moving and gaged our guests' tastes. We had people dancing all night and complimenting us on the music. It was a great experience!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tcalta5
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Essential Sounds Entertainment was an amazing choice for our wedding. PJ accommodated every one of our requests and the back lighting on the walls made the room look exactly how my wife and I envisioned it! Towards the end of the wedding with only a few minutes before the lights came on we asked him to play a foreign song that he didn't have in his library and actually logged onto the wireless network in the hotel, got on to iTunes and said "we'll have it on in 2 minutes." No other DJ will provide this level of quality and professionalism and I will be recommending them to all of my friends and family!

-Tom C
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa Blaikie
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
We had such a GREAT experience with Essential Sounds Entertainment. PJ did a great job listening and playing exactly what we wanted for our special day. He kept all of our guests dancing all night long!! He was professional and personable. If any DJ was going to do music for your reception its Essential Sounds Entertainment all the way!

Thank you PJ! We will use you again for sure :)

Lisa and Blair Blaikie
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jandiration
Wedding:
4/20/2012
5.0/5.0
DJ PJ and his assistant were nothing but excellent and cooperative throughout this whole process. He played EVERY song we personally requested but was also quick to add songs "on the fly" as the bride and groom requested. I have often heard stories of parties and weddings where the DJ did not play any requested songs, charged extra money the day of the event, or used a replacement DJ. This was not DJ PJ. Would absolutely recommend him to anyone for any event.

Thank you so much for making our 4/20 the most memorable night of our lives!!

Elie, Michele and Nola De Franca
Services Used: DJ
Essential Sounds Entertainment responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much for your kind words. I had a blast celebrating with you two on your big day and I thank you for having the confidence in us to select us for that honor. Anything we can do for you in the future, don't hesitate to ask... we consider you more than clients, you are our friends now!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MheartJ
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
There are 2 major facets that go into an awesome wedding - the food and the music. Our music was 100% perfect and was a huge hit at our wedding. PJ is amazing!! My husband and I have very different taste in music and PJ blended them together perfectly. And let me say, we both wanted what we wanted - and got it!! PJ even reccomended music (that was perfect) when we needed some advice. He really loves his work and knows it and it shows. He played everything we asked for and really kept the party going. My guests still tell me what a great time they had at our wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Noreen
Wedding:
1/18/2014
4.8/5.0
Everything was wonderful! We planned our wedding from overseas and PJ and the staff were great about connecting with us without us having to be there. They made it easy and laid back and my guests had a wonderful time. True professionals without all the cheesy DJ stuff. They helped make our night special and memorable without taking over and really played to the crowd. Def recommend to anyone looking for a great DJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
Essential Sounds exceeded our expectations. The planning process was smooth and PJ was attentive to our needs/requests. On the day of, he was organized and MC'ed the event flawlessly. I've been to a good amount of weddings over the last few years and I feel Essential Sounds was one of if not the best DJ services I've seen. I'd recommend this company to others.
Services Used: DJ, Photography

DEALS

$100 off all Wedding Wire Referrals!
Get Deal
Promo Code: WedWire   $100 Value
You will receive $100 off the booking of your entertainment when you mention Wedding Wire as your referral! This is a no-strings offer. Book your DJ, receive $100 off!Not to be combined with any other deals/promotions.
Deal #WW09fad14e69720ccf
220x220_1340912412895-averythomas956

MAP

 
658 Cookman Ave., Suite #17, Asbury Park, NJ 07712 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Essential Sounds Entertainment
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo