130x130_sq_1296012343122-dsc3882

Evelyn Alas Photography

Chevy Chase , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Chevy Chase, MD US 20815 (map)

PHONE

240-643-1554

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Hello I'm Evelyn Alas, and I'm a wedding and portrait photographer in the Washington D.C. Metro area. I love shooting everything and every one. My passion for photography started when I... Read more
Hello I'm Evelyn Alas, and I'm a wedding and portrait photographer in the Washington D.C. Metro area. I love shooting everything and every one. My passion for photography started when I was very young, with a simple 35mm point and shoot camera. I truly started developing my photo skills in high school, black and white photography classes. It was in those classes that I knew what career I wanted to pursue. Consequently, in college I received a BFA in photography and a minor in Art History.

Shooting weddings came naturally; It perfectly fused my passion for shooting people and the environment. I take a photojurnalistic approach when shooting as well as staged, to enhance the moments . Capturing those little moments and details is what focus on. Being creative and keeping it fresh is what I strive for, while maintaing classic and timeless feel.

Additionally I am a a vendor for the Green Bride Guide. I firmly believe we can choose more eco friendly ways of doing things with out loosing good quality service. Lastly I am a member of Professional Photographers Association (PPA).

I travel worldwide. Please check out my website!

Thanks and all the best!

Evelyn Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1321755843483-004ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755844827-005ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1333069168513-024sarajeremy
130x130_sq_1296012484481-dsc3603
130x130_sq_1321755835545-001ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755838264-003ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1357706425107-029ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1357706457965-042ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321757081436-029ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755837452-002ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1357706462142-044ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1296012521075-dsc3777
130x130_sq_1321755846452-006ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1357706451296-039ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755847295-007ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755867561-024ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755849030-008ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755850577-009ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755851702-010ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755852670-011ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1257449711739-013weddingwiredsc6997
130x130_sq_1357706437017-033ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755853889-012ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1357706444420-036ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1257449647442-003weddingwiredsc5961
130x130_sq_1257449715582-015weddingwire017torrespannacione
130x130_sq_1321755856405-013ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1257449653864-006weddingwire085sarahjacobproof
130x130_sq_1296012505216-dsc4208
130x130_sq_1321755858217-015ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755859202-016ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1357706448738-038ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755860233-017ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755860998-018ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1257449574520-002weddingwiredsc5745
130x130_sq_1357706434687-032ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755862655-019ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1357706442075-035ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1357706454073-040ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1257449724785-018weddingwire044torrespannacione
130x130_sq_1357706428437-030ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755863623-020ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755864639-021ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1357706446621-037ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1357706460224-043ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755865717-022ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755866561-023ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1257449575223-001weddingwiredsc5740
130x130_sq_1321755868795-025ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1357706455879-041ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755870655-026ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755872045-027ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1321755873436-028ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1357706439868-034ealasweddingwire
130x130_sq_1357706431628-031ealasweddingwire

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Prints
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Yes, I offer different special effects, such as sepia tone, select coloring, soft focusing, Black and White,
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Yes, I've shot event indoors and outdoors, as well as I've shot destination weddings from St. Thomas, USVI to Capon Spring, WV
Is your media preference film or digital?
I shoot Digital
How many photographers do you work with?
I always work with a second photographer, for your benefit and mine. Having 2 photographers helps giving you more choices, different perspectives and angles. Also it will help ensure we get the most important moments!
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
I always work under contract, my contract states that in case some dire emergency such as hospitalization, accident, or death...then I always have a backup photographer to be there for your event.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
I will never double book on you wedding day. I value my clients, and value the importance of their wedding day. I invest all my energy into your event.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
As mentioned before, it would have an extreme case such as illness, accident or death, but yes I work with a replacement photographer.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
3-4 weeks
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes
What kind of albums do you offer?
Hand-made, personally designed, flush-mount panoramic albums.
When will the client get the final album?
It all depends how soon the couple chooses their pictures, then after the design is ready how soon they can give final approval of the design. Once the design approved for publishing...on average the book takes 4-5 weeks to be made.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Evelyn was TREMENDOUS! We couldn't have asked for a better photographer for our wedding. She was totally present during our photos before the wedding -- orchestrating the best shots, but making sure we had fun, too -- and seemed to be everywhere during the ceremony and event. She is now our go-to photog for all occasions!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
My fiancé and I loved Evelyn's services! She not only captured the actual proposal itself (cleverly without me knowing), but she also spent a great deal of her time taking engagement portraits of us afterward, despite the cold wind! She got shots before and directly after he proposed and they simply emulate the joy of the moment. We are so thankful that we have them to look back on.
She and my fiancé coordinated the time and place of the proposal and she managed to get photographs of us from a far off distance up until we were less than 5 feet away from her (again, I still had no idea she was there!). The photos truly encompass the entire event and we are so excited to share them with our friends and family. After the proposal, my fiancé and I went to my parents house for a surprise engagement party and within hours, that same night, Evelyn emailed us teasers photos that we were able to look at with the entire party. It was perfect! I don't mean she sent 2 or 3 photos, she sent about 30! It was more than we could ask for and made the night even more exciting. I would highly recommend Evelyn Alas Photography to any future bride (or groom!) looking for a genuine, talented photographer that can truly capture the joy of your proposal or wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Evelyn was such a pleasure to work with. She really makes you feel comfortable in front of the camera and is the sweetest person to be around. Her work is great and she couldn't have captured the moment more perfectly!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janina
Wedding:
10/24/2013
5.0/5.0
My fiance & I shot our destination engagement pictures with Evelyn this past October and we could not be more pleased with the experience from start to finish. A true professional, Evelyn is simply a joy to work with. I am an event professional myself, and the customer service and attention to detail was flawless while working with Evelyn. We absolutely loved of engagement shoot in DC and we are in love with our photos!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1402699146955-396monicajohnwedding
MLinVA
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a very small, non-traditional wedding and it was quite a challenge finding a photographer we liked who offered options we were looking for. Evelyn's reviews led us to her; after meeting Evelyn, we knew we found the perfect photographer. Evelyn was exactly what we were looking for and so much more! Her wonderful photography style and wedding album options are top notch. Evelyn respects busy schedules and always responded in a timely basis. She was most accommodating and her artistic eye helped us see possibilities we hadn't imagined. Our pictures and wedding album turned out spectacular! We had plenty of photos to choose from and the background pictures she used made it all the more stunning. I have never liked having my picture taken, but Evelyn has such an easy going style, a lovely, warm demeanor and grace, it was easy to trust her and I felt totally at ease. I have never felt more beautiful and we are forever indebted to Evelyn for capturing the love and joy of one of the happiest days of our lives. My husband looked stunning in his military uniform and Evelyn took amazing pictures of his cover, sword and medals to use as backdrop. Evelyn caught some wonderful candid moments of our family and friends, who have all raved not only about how beautiful the pictures turned out, but also how wonderful it was working with Evelyn.

We believe in giving credit where credit is due and we highly recommend Evelyn for any type of event. We plan on using her services again to capture our life and loved ones milestones.

From the bottom of our hearts, Evelyn, thank you, thank you, thank you...
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
1/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Evelyn was amazing! My husband does not love being in front of the camera, and Evelyn put him at ease. She has a very creative eye for detail, and produces very romantic and unique pictures. She's very sweet and makes you feel special. I recommend her! She truly made our engagement and wedding pix beautiful.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Evelyn was great! We are in our 50s and this was our second wedding. Evelyn was able to make both bride and groom look wonderful and we now have some of the best photos of us together ever! She took pictures of friends and family that are so terrific that many are scrambling to get them framed because they look like movie stars. Evelyn came with a plan to get the best shots in the most beautiful settings but she cheerfully slipped into the background as the event actually unfolded. We had no sense that the effort to record the event was driving the wedding at all. She was a marvelous addition and we are very, very happy with her work.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Evelyn was one of my favorite vendors! We worked out a package where she did our engagement pictures and wedding pictures. She met with my husband and I several times before the wedding to fully understand what we wanted in our pictures, and as a professional we really looked to her for guidance as well. The wedding day itself was beautiful and went by so fast. Evelyn and her colleague captured all the right moments and stayed at pace with the entire event! She is fantastic.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Evelyn is a joy to work with. She came to our hometown in Centreville, Va to meet my daughter and I from her location in Maryland for our initial consult. She worked with us on our requests concerning the contract details. She arranged an engagement shoot at the location of their choosing (National Mall) and again met them there and took her time getting photos in many different sites. One week prior to the wedding day, she made a trip to the church and reception site to preview each for the best places to take the photos. She arrived early on the wedding day and stayed longer than we expected at the reception. She brought along a second photographer, who was also there for the whole time on the wedding day. The proofs look beautiful and we were all very happy to have her as our vendor for the wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Evelyn is hardworking and has a beautiful style. We are very impressed with the wedding and engagement photos, a mix of artistic and traditional. The album looks very high quality, with 18 spreads on sturdy pages and a lovely cover.
On the day of the wedding, several guests commented that she took photos constantly during the event. Her assistant photographer was great too, getting some different angles.
Evelyn responded promptly to all of our calls and emails. Our wedding was over an hour drive from Evelyn, yet she drove to us for an initial consultation, she visited the reception site a few weeks before the wedding to scout out photo locations, and she never charged any travel fees or overtime.
Having digital images included in our package is worth so much to us. The difficult part was selecting 450 out of the 900 proofs, the website interface was cumbersome at times, and there were just too many great pictures to choose from! Evelyn really listened to our requests before and after the wedding. She worked with us to make some changes to the initial album layout, making it feel very personal and customized. Evelyn is a professional and quite friendly too.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kyler
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Evelyn was a pleasure to work with and a professional in all senses of the word.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Prc805
Wedding:
5/20/2012
5.0/5.0
We won a free engagement session with Evelyn from a bridal show. Even though we had already booked another photographer for our wedding, Evelyn was still excited about meeting us in D.C. to take photos. This was the first time that my fiance and I had done anything like this, but Evelyn made us feel very comfortable. We really enjoyed our time with her and would definitely recommend her as a photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Evelyn is a kind, patient, and flexible photographer. She is very easy to reach and responds right away to her clients. She also takes wonderful pictures. I was thrilled with the results! Thank you for taking great photos!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DaniRu
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Evelyn did our engagement photos for us: romantically at the site that Sergio proposed to me. The setting being so meaningful made a huge difference in bringing back those fond memories and putting us in the mood for lovey-dovie poses. Evelyn was very helpful in allowing us to feel natural and just do our "thing", hanging out- she just managed to find the perfect moments to capture our candid love or would gently help us without disrupting the feeling. She is great with lighting and challenging locations (we were bouldering at points and scrambling over fallen logs, through streams), as well as finding the magic in a commonplace location. The shoot was fun and relaxed and the photos show that clearly- her skill with taking and tweaking photos is excellent ad exactly what we were looking for. She feels like family and really cares for her clients. If we got married again in a year we would use her again (and the year after that into eternity). Evelyn is fantastic!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emainguy
Wedding:
2/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Photography can be very subjective so only the bride can decide which style is right for her, but I will tell you we were very pleased with Evelyn. We had to reschedule last minute because of the possibility of rain, and she was very accommodating. She makes every effort to make you feel comfortable (in what can be an awkward shoot- we did an engagement session). She also did a good job asking and listening for our ideas . You should have no concerns about the level of professionalism when booking Evelyn :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bdebussydavis
Wedding:
10/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Evelyn Alas Photography provided me with exceptional service for both Engagement and Wedding Photos. Her and her team worked with me to discover perfect locations that fit our tastes and expectations. She helped me to cater a package that fit my needs, and went out on a limb to research our preference of locations and get a feel for them in advance so we were prepared to shoot! They were very supportive and encouraging and helped us as a camera shy couple to work with the camera. She's always been friendly and bubbly and is a real pleasure to work with. I'd recommend her to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lorena and.santiago
Wedding:
8/29/2011
5.0/5.0
She those an amazing job taking picture. She work well with us and the poses that she made us do were really nice. I would use here service again thank you evelyn for making our memoral day even better thank you again.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pablo
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
the work she did was absolutely wonderful, very profesional!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachael
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Evelyn Alas and her team were FANTASTIC!! We absolutely recommend them to you! They worked with our ever changing schedule, allowing for us to get things done on our own timeline. They were extremely professional, friendly, and talented. Our photos are beautiful and we will treasure them for a lifetime! If your in the Washington Metropolitan area Evelyn Alas is the right photographer for you!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kary
Wedding:
1/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Evelyn brought so much enthusiasm to her work, that even my husband wanted to keep on taking pictures.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tina
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and i are very happy with Evelyn's work. She was easy to work with and very complying. I was impressed with her creativeness. Our pictures and especially our album are second to none. Everybody who sees our pictures are astonished at how beautiful they are. She went the extra mile for us and we would recomend her services to our closest friends.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Doris
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Evelyn is great to work with. Very professional and she takes great pictures at the right moments. She helped us in our engagement party and wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amanda
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Evelyn did my engagement and wedding pictures, and she did a wonderful job. We love them and our friends and family are able to view and order pics easily via her website.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
irunfree
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
We were very happy to have Evelyn as our photographer. We really appreciated some of the more creative shots and flexibility with her schedule. She has done two photo shoots for us and we'd hire her again!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vaquitaflor
Wedding:
4/25/2009
5.0/5.0
Evelyn was the perfect photographer for my perfect wedding day. She is a pleasure to work with... she took wonderful pictures about every single detail and captured so many beautiful moments. And the Bijou book she designed is so elegant and well-designed. I am an art historian, so I know about good images and design... I couldn't be happier with my album and pictures. I highly recommend her!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashira
Wedding:
4/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Evelyn Alas Photography did my Bridal Shower, Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding, and Second Reception. I expected a lot from my photographer, and Evelyn was a thousand percent accommodating. I truly enjoyed working with her over months of events. She has a great bubbly personality, which makes picture taking all the more fun, and her work is just beautiful. I had a ton of amazing pictures to choose from on her easy to use website, and she really delivered on exactly what I wanted for my album. I think every bride wants a perfectionist in their photographer, and that is exactly what you get from Evelyn Alas Photography. She made sure I was happy every step of the way, while consistently being reliable, professional, and flexible in delivering on my many requests. This photographer bends over backwards to make sure her clients are happy. I absolutely recommend her services.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carpared
Wedding:
6/14/2008
5.0/5.0
Evelyn did a beautiful job taking out wedding pictures. She understood the ideas that I had and the shots that I wanted her to capture. I showed her some clips from magazines and she was able to "reproduce" the picture that I wanted. I would give her five stars because I loved the clarity of the pictures, she was very professional, and her website made it very easy for me to pick the shots that I wanted and I received them quickly and beautifully presented. I had a great experience with this photographer and I would definitely recommend for weddings, or any occassion that deserves gorgeous pictures!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dianna
Wedding:
3/1/2008
5.0/5.0
Hello Evelyn, I realize I never responded back to this email. and I apologize for that. But if this is still possible I would like to say that definitely we had a great experience with you as our photographer. you were very sweet and helpful. thank you very much for adding on to the success of our wedding day and the beautiful pictures. Hope this finds you and family well.

Dianna Sanchez.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Chevy Chase, MD 20815 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Evelyn Alas Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo