130x130_sq_1359660327858-1359660280208garyjacksonevergreen

Evergreen Museum & Library

Baltimore , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

4545 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, MD US 21210 (map)

PHONE

443-840-9585

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Evergreen Museum & Library is a magnificent 19th Century Gilded Age estate located just 10 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Today the historic mansion provides a variety of... Read more
Evergreen Museum & Library is a magnificent 19th Century Gilded Age estate located just 10 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Today the historic mansion provides a variety of exquisite and unique settings that will make your private event memorable.

Carriage House: Built in the 1870s, Evergreens Carriage House offers an abundance of delightful and unique indoor and outdoor spaces, perfect for receptions, parties, and meetings. The large carriage room, spacious wood-paneled stalls, and paved garden terrace (tented during warmer months) provide a range of attractive possibilities for events large and small.

Upper Gardens: The manicured gardens, marble statuary, cast iron Victorian benches, and historic fountain, and the Main House as a dramatic backdrop, provide a truly spectacular setting for your tented event.

From your initial visit, through every stage of the planning process, Evergreens attentive and professional staff is ready to work with you to make certain that every detail is addressed. To schedule an initial walk-through, call Evergreens Events Office at 443.840.9585 or email us at privateeventsoffice@jhu.edu Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1384804988682-87e7fda62a5b2120fe211286daf6238
130x130_sq_1384804775713-title-phot
130x130_sq_1384805004746-357bc75f5eee8d09c3d9020cf98f92a
130x130_sq_1384804993673-122f4dbb3624a37841e4b9acf9904e2
130x130_sq_1384804980237-66a74f2615a1bb1fb75bea3d7f7770a
130x130_sq_1384805022057-2846b4b8b7ba29cb40cbc0c7632de3f
130x130_sq_1384805028618-310357d7b71f905513fb4368d43353f
130x130_sq_1384805016015-1850a698cfcadc93aeb7aa87e17f290
130x130_sq_1384805023670-7107d2d7d538350ea6e85a28b615edf
130x130_sq_1403630460701-carlyfullerphotography-9223
130x130_sq_1403630357990-104267898320696368215532677421028924156488n
130x130_sq_1384805046203-c66eb60961c19c7e767cb449b141dcf
130x130_sq_1384804968080-05fcfb7ab46eb519e5942846277f494
130x130_sq_1403630346323-15248798320694334882406762757469153114839n
130x130_sq_1403630349970-103725048320695768215591557335167058015513n
130x130_sq_1384804610691-evergreen-house-wedding-
130x130_sq_1384804618708-evergreen-wedding-5
130x130_sq_1384804633787-jennifermcmenaminphotography-walshdaubrey1996-061
130x130_sq_1384804639187-jennifermcmenaminphotography-walshdaubrey2045-062
130x130_sq_1384804657802-jennifermcmenaminphotography-walshdaubrey2121-065
130x130_sq_1384804666683-sachs-wedding-pictures-at-eml-01
130x130_sq_1384804694805-sachs-wedding-pictures-at-eml-01
130x130_sq_1384804723918-sachs-wedding-pictures-at-eml-02
130x130_sq_1384804778802-ug-back-of-mansion-dehar
130x130_sq_1384804966970-4fbcde563cea531169d2df19fdc7144
130x130_sq_1384805009684-929e24eda4aafd9e9e1ac57dba0b0d1
130x130_sq_1384805026336-48216ffcdff386b2d1516e72e960620
130x130_sq_1384805031968-a1ac29f97816721041a53e7ac92e8d7
130x130_sq_1384805034932-a645bb472386fd2d29cd079b47a5c16
130x130_sq_1384805037150-aa65d269cc6b2df59fa5e86f9d39e7a
130x130_sq_1384805041242-ad0a7bf5198eeac8afd23639131d791
130x130_sq_1384805043865-c9f8ddf75f83f32810d791a544497e7
130x130_sq_1384805048231-c654e695147b537adea54f70775dfe6
130x130_sq_1384805049332-d5db1d138d4d9f119f5cccee4b5c354
130x130_sq_1384805051100-d8e3ff00ded24de8489bd40a9b45fac
130x130_sq_1384805052743-ebf788ec837a2ef609c656dfd17bcf2
130x130_sq_1384805055163-edd0b281f5175fcbe722fed4c31217a
130x130_sq_1384805058092-fabe5c01f48eb2a1c1bbf42e874d247
130x130_sq_1403630353729-104144128320692268215944501597620415098589n
130x130_sq_1403630361871-10436257832070096821507136312968381006424n
130x130_sq_1403630402132-carlyfullerphotography-3500
130x130_sq_1403630526067-sachs-photography-evergreen-house-06
130x130_sq_1403630558663-sachs-photography-evergreen-house-08
130x130_sq_1403630563578-virtual-wedding-venue-tour-evergreen-museum
130x130_sq_1403630568729-void0-4
130x130_sq_1384803804665-66a74f2615a1bb1fb75bea3d7f7770a
130x130_sq_1384803796650-9b1a9120d7376ed261a70bcc80e9373
130x130_sq_1403630934196-eml-ceremony-fountain-jackson
130x130_sq_1384803464776-img865
130x130_sq_1384803458862-evergreen-3
130x130_sq_1384803481985-img871
130x130_sq_1384803778940-3c422a50b4a54152d4ce3e1c38f262d
130x130_sq_1384803780473-4b4fdabc469d609005b71be6568fc5c
130x130_sq_1384803782545-4fbcde563cea531169d2df19fdc7144
130x130_sq_1384803785645-4ff10b57394869e7500f7cfc3ab4877
130x130_sq_1384803788645-5b4a1af96d7130278b96953c170a802
130x130_sq_1384803807653-78cfb932b9a9de19e0dea7a907027b7
130x130_sq_1384803829127-5141f3ef25f303bc29f2ecf0b0cd6b4
130x130_sq_1384803792651-5d266b0cf36b7f9737e4bfc0953ba6b
130x130_sq_1384803799641-14b08cf6c898af3d86109c5737e1ca0
130x130_sq_1384803802639-028c500dd1388787adbced48d502e1c
130x130_sq_1403630938816-ep3
130x130_sq_1384803815695-434e558aaa4bd47dbbfb47818e61e88
130x130_sq_1384803819645-850b6a24bf1f3fee8403bb482ca48ed
130x130_sq_1384803843641-a696f7618bd670a0098aee9a62fdb1d
130x130_sq_1384803849648-d5db1d138d4d9f119f5cccee4b5c354
130x130_sq_1384803852656-f2e1ead26bc58c3407668584080e3fc
130x130_sq_1403630908839-mg1902
130x130_sq_1403630914877-023-mudgewoods01370-0316jennifermcmenaminphotograp
130x130_sq_1403630918093-600x6001281554480682-mg19081
130x130_sq_1403630921157-103562228320693001549207241732508616609806n
130x130_sq_1403630929720-b.ceremony-set-up.fountain.mansion
130x130_sq_1403631016373-evergreen-11
130x130_sq_1403631041701-evergreen-wedding-31
130x130_sq_1403631048685-ug-back-of-mansion-dehart-2
130x130_sq_1403631053145-void0-5
130x130_sq_1403631356230-ug-ceremony-fountain-dehart
130x130_sq_1403631359783-virtual-wedding-venue-tour-evergreen-museum-ceremo
130x130_sq_1384806882037-4cdadd75e7c75e92fb4b826738af6fb
130x130_sq_1403631705869-carlyfullerphotography-3521---copy
130x130_sq_1384804134646-8acfa2bccdfe79c2489f17dee5ff7a3
130x130_sq_1384804114041-3b9453d3f3e38a9cc4e0d141f55ad40
130x130_sq_1384804117660-4c08df6bc8814c60b1fa95c60b61a33
130x130_sq_1384804120661-5eb08ec3bb507c05df86fe51097a094
130x130_sq_1384804125655-6b6036dc5a57f756365a899585ee5e6
130x130_sq_1384804129645-6bbdf5494b852f3dd94faa63f2ef261
130x130_sq_1384804155676-607ec0981fa7c928f7f30ae0ebb19c1
130x130_sq_1384804131655-6c73e6c4b7be5e25cb2e9aa1d5d36b3
130x130_sq_1384804138653-8e7ad3d843ce223678d216654d1dd2e
130x130_sq_1384804144657-83f76a712646ec4c9fceebb5af3fb70
130x130_sq_1384804148668-85b429405a61ce2e80ca211d7785ce8
130x130_sq_1384804152680-113a90d0b48ce927c57e08cd742fca9
130x130_sq_1384804160253-660bdc9501cd207e3bceffe2e0074fc
130x130_sq_1384804163658-3545b5c0564ab2a2c0fca2bd3c559ba
130x130_sq_1384804166673-25870ffe3b2a720976c3e829093c1ae
130x130_sq_1384804176654-111951b4208c2758cd4b61fca23a85c
130x130_sq_1384804180326-548099a5ede16c788b35eff99bfe75f
130x130_sq_1384804185654-385630351a9d675f275370153fe4559
130x130_sq_1384804188657-aea747f458b4e2d14d2342ecb708ac2
130x130_sq_1384804191762-aec122b69beaf2320b3d23e277c9d51
130x130_sq_1384804195658-c28cb943dd82f5d8630dc97db5817b9
130x130_sq_1384804198971-c60deff9920d3fde39c0eb1709f55e4
130x130_sq_1384804202668-cae5ed578d29914efce0799bad9158a
130x130_sq_1384804207656-cd7ba2719a78ed2a9517c713c341cf0
130x130_sq_1384804211811-d9b34004428a92fc949a4183fde3beb
130x130_sq_1384804220657-d4974b120a13b80fd5f48fd37fe8956
130x130_sq_1384804228660-e9b705395b908c592735e94abc28981
130x130_sq_1384804240663-ec9ee4ab4fd06020809282c1e7d9e64
130x130_sq_1384804246865-f83c86c5763ee1564888583136daf1e
130x130_sq_1384804251665-f502617f6338f219dbbbf7877e6980f
130x130_sq_1384804257672-f907099914722dd40ddea05de4ccbc1
130x130_sq_1403631503609-mcmenamin-bw-coupe-dancing
130x130_sq_1403631510236-mcmenamin-cake-table
130x130_sq_1403631754620-carlyfullerphotography-3604
130x130_sq_1403631814939-carlyfullerphotography-9279
130x130_sq_1403631933778-ch-tent-dehart-2
130x130_sq_1403631937556-farm-table-chandeliers-2
130x130_sq_1403631962608-farm-table-chandeliers-3
130x130_sq_1403632001397-pale-green-with-our-chairs
130x130_sq_1403632021151-simple-brown-chivaris
130x130_sq_1403632024787-tent-lighting-pink
130x130_sq_1403632028468-gary-jackson-carriage-house-exterior
130x130_sq_1403632088551-sachs-ostermiller-blue-door-2
130x130_sq_1403632125902-sachs-ostermiller-green-door
130x130_sq_1403632176657-sachs-ostermiller-on-steps
130x130_sq_1403632209589-tent-lights-from-outside-night
130x130_sq_1366912918858-sachs-wedding-pictures-at-eml-009
130x130_sq_1384805329915-600x6001275573416126-ugtent3sachsresized
130x130_sq_1384805331927-134352l
130x130_sq_1384805332707-baltimore-maryland-weddings-7
130x130_sq_1384805333929-david-
130x130_sq_1384805336302-david-m
130x130_sq_1384805339172-evergreen-1
130x130_sq_1384805396213-sachs-wedding-pictures-at-eml-00
130x130_sq_1384805520942-sachs-wedding-pictures-at-eml-01
130x130_sq_1384805545763-sachs-wedding-pictures-at-eml-01
130x130_sq_1384805577417-tent-21
130x130_sq_1405005175711-sachs-ostermiller-ceremony
130x130_sq_1384806795502-evergreen01137485843
130x130_sq_1384806339101-600x6001275578620157-nwjhpsych4.8.10bakst
130x130_sq_1384806340178-600x6001275578691532-nwjhpsych4.8.10bakst
130x130_sq_1405004875198-sachs-photography-evergreen-house-21
130x130_sq_1384806785958-827ed9e2631923e464992378655ee39
130x130_sq_1384806787288-4254
130x130_sq_1384806788977-baksttheater0
130x130_sq_1384806790736-bakst-stage-setmcro
130x130_sq_1384806797501-evergreen04137485849
130x130_sq_1384806799102-tumblrljjnu97dv11qhp1g
130x130_sq_1384807187122-bakst-theatr
130x130_sq_1384807188136-nw-jh-psych-4.8.10-bakst-
130x130_sq_1384807189319-nw-jh-psych-4.8.10-bakst-
130x130_sq_1384807195257-nw-jh-psych-4.8.10-bakst-
130x130_sq_1384807196373-nw-jh-psych-4.8.10-bakst-
130x130_sq_1384807197439-nw-jh-psych-4.8.10-bakst-1
130x130_sq_1384807198776-nw-jh-psych-4.8.10-baks
130x130_sq_1384806788220-4255
130x130_sq_1384807239801-far-east-room
130x130_sq_1405005007798-cellist-3
130x130_sq_1405005048715-sachs-ostermiller-ceremony-2
130x130_sq_1405005112278-sachs-ostermiller-ceremony-3

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1878
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Farm / Barn, Historic Site, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Garden / Romantic, Rustic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
400
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
5
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
4500
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maddee
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding at the Evergreen Museum & Library was magical. The lush, elegantly manicured grounds were the perfect backdrop to the ceremony, cocktail hour and photographs. The unique setting for the wedding party in the Carriage House wowed our guests and set the tone for a great celebration. The Evergreen staff went out of their way to assist with the day of event details. And Judy Moskowitz is the absolute best venue manager I've ever worked with and I'm an event planner! Listen to her - she knows her venue well and will save you unnecessary expenses while achieving your dream wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding at the Evergreen Museum & Library was magical. The lush, elegantly manicured grounds were the perfect backdrop to the ceremony, cocktail hour and photographs. The unique setting for the wedding party in the Carriage House wowed our guests and set the tone for a great celebration. The Evergreen staff went out of their way to assist with the day of event details. And Judy Moskowitz is the absolute best venue manager I've ever worked with and I'm an event planner! Listen to her - she knows her venue well and will save you unnecessary expenses while achieving your dream wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
3/22/2014
5.0/5.0
After looking at several different venues for our wedding, we thought we'd take a look at the Evergreen Museum. We knew the minute that we finished our tour that this was the place! The museum itself is nothing short of stunning. Beautiful Tiffany stained glass is everywhere, and room after room is filled with character and charm. After deciding that we wanted our wedding to be at Evergreen, we began communicating with the private events coordinator, Judy. She was quick to answer questions and very easy to talk to. Not only did she help to organize our event at Evergreen, but she also communicated with the rest of our vendors to make sure that our night was flawless. Judy, along with the rest of the Evergreen staff, couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. We can't thank them enough!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The Evergreen Carraige House provided just the perfect place for our wedding. The space was flexible, somewhat of a blank canvas and allowed our guests to enjoy the event.

Judy and her crew were great from the first time we set eyes on the place to the evening of the event. They were friendly, responsive and extremely helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jess
Wedding:
10/4/2013
5.0/5.0
From the beginning, my fiance and I said we wanted a balance of elegant and rustic and Evergreen Museum fit that bill perfectly. We had both known about the venue as a museum and art space, but didn't know about its potential as a wedding backdrop. And it's gorgeous. The ceremony space feels like a European garden, the cocktail hour on the terrace feels elegant, and the reception at the Carriage House feels rustically charming with the exposed brick and horse stalls.

Working with Judy was also a breeze, as she was always fast and responsive to my questions, always emailing back within a couple hours. Everything went off without a hitch the day of thanks to Cynthia and we couldn't have been happier that we chose Evergreen for our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The Evergreen Museum and Library was a wonderful place to have our wedding. The staff was friendly and more than ready to help make our day so special. We used the Upper gardens for the ceremony, the terrace for the cocktail hour and the Carriage House for the reception. It was a beautiful day and the space worked wonderfully!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicky
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
As mother of the British groom Andrew Smith, at his wedding to Susan Spector, I was very impressed by both the staff and surroundings of the Evergreen Museum. My husband and I had had the opportunity to be shown around the venue a year before when visiting from the UK. The setting of the garden for the ceremony and the stables for the reception seemed ideal, especially when explained fully by the staff.

However it was impossible to truly imagine the impact of the venue on the day itself. Although rain forced the ceremony inside at the last moment, it did not detract from the occasion - the chairs and flowers were in place in time in the carriage room so that no one would have realised that it was ever going to be any different. We moved to the stables area for the serving of aperitifs where the stalls had been put to a variety of good fun uses, including games, photos of the bride and groom and a photo booth. On being then ushered into the meal, the dining area under the marquee had been transformed by various different decorative lighting and large Chinese lanterns with I'm sureround tables seating between 8 and 10 guests - these all remained in place throughout the evening providing a place to sit down away from the music. Then the dancing took place back in the cleared carriage room.

With the 3 areas as outlined, there was plenty of room for the 85 guests to spread out. The venue staff were in attendance for the whole 7 hours that we were on site , together with the wedding planner.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Regan
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Evergreen is a wonderful wedding venue. Our guests loved the location and thought it was such a unique place to get married. It's a hidden gem within the city! Judy and her team were wonderful to work with. Judy was always responsive and did everything to make our lives as easy as possible while planning. We would highly recommend Evergreen!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for a unique show stopping venue, look no further than The Evergreen. All of our guests raved and asked how I found it. I must have looked at 30+ venues, the venue was by far the most important thing to me and The Evergreen was everything that I was looking for and more. The house is impressive, the gardens are beautiful, and the carriage house is so unique. The Evergreen is a one of a kind wedding venue that will be sure to impress all your guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
I was planning my Baltimore wedding from California, in under 6 months, and I (understandably) felt a little pressured when selecting my vendors. However, picking the Carriage House as the location for our reception was relatively easy. The setting is beautiful, and it is walking distance (though we drove, given the August heat) from the Loyola Alumni Chapel, where we got married. Judy was great to work with. She is responsive (she even answered my initial inquiry call after 6pm on a workday, although she did tell me not to get to used to that :), professional, and highly accommodating. Could we visit the site a few times before the event to figure out the layout? Of course. Could she coordinate with our photo booth company to ensure the seamless delivery and removal of the booth the night of the event? Absolutely. Could we hang a Lego tilt-rotor airplane from the ceiling so that it delivered the bride and groom onto the top of the cake? As long as we didn't put any new hooks into the walls, yes.

We picked almost all of our vendors from the Evergreen's recommended vendor list, and we were really happy with all of them. We also booked the museum for an hour in between our ceremony and reception, and our guests really enjoyed getting to explore the museum and learn some Baltimore history. The Carriage House is charming, and while it looks a little spare empty, it is lovely fully decorated. We were worried about the temperature given the timing of the wedding, but it was nice and cool indoors. The grounds could not have provided a more beautiful setting for our photographs. We were incredibly pleased with our reception and I am so glad that we chose the Carriage House at the Evergreen Museum.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1373309170126-all-photos-0169
mkeagen
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Evergreen Museum and Carriage House is an absolutely incredible place to have your wedding. They have locations for all wedding events to be on the property. The beautiful country-feel provides the perfect place for a wedding. Judy, Joan and the team were all extremely helpful, very responsive and always willing to offer advice and feedback. The venue is a bit of an investment, and was a bit out of our budget when we booked it, but it was without a doubt, one of the best investments we made for our wedding! I highly recommend this venue!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kirsten
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved having our wedding at the Evergreen! As beautiful as the venue was the element that won us over was the impeccable service that we received from Judy-She made sure we had every question answered and was always ready to help with any last minute wedding questions...and we had some:) As someone in the wedding industry I was dissapointed by the caliber of service with many businesses when I started to reach out after being newly engaged-it can be overwhelming trying to find the best people to work with on such an important day. I believe all couples should have a wonderful experience and I feel confident in saying that I believe the Evergreen to be flawless in their customer service.

Their property is not only diverse but historic and exquisitly charming. We had planned on an outdoor ceremony, but weather proved otherwise and the staff and our wonderful planners of Lemon and Lime created a beautiful set up for our indoor ceremony. You can see some details of the Evergreen on our sneak peek wedding video from the talented married duo of Lovell Productions. http://www.lovellproductions.com/jon-and-kirsten-wedding-film-baltimore-md/

Thanks so Much,
Kirsten and Jon
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Elegant gardens where the service was held and gorgeous terrace where appetizers were served.
Just made us feel like we were royalty . It was perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/22/2012
5.0/5.0
From the moment I first visited Evergreen, I knew I had to have my wedding here. We got married in the Upper Garden, had cocktail hour on the back patio, and our reception in the Carriage House. The look, the flow, the night was perfect. Anna and the Evergreen team are amazing, patient, professional and will be there for you every step of the way. I am sad it's all over!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Blaire
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Anna and her team at the Evergreen provided a great experience at an absolutely stunning venue. With the weather on our side, we had the most amazing night. Our guests were constantly telling us what a gorgeous gem in Baltimore we found to host our wedding- so unique! It really captured the rustic, elegant theme we were going for. Anna was very accommodating and approachable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1323808890695-0097
Helena & C.J.
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
We chose to have our wedding at the Evergreen because of the great location, incredible ambiance and old world charm of the historic site once belonging to an Italian Ambassador. Since my fiancé and I have a love for Italy, especially Florence, we felt as though we were standing in the Buboli Gardens when touring the mansion's upper garden. I have always wanted a tented wedding, therefore the flat grassy area was a perfect setting for our large tent.

Anna, our event coordinator was incredibly accommodating and very responsive by phone/email. I would highly recommend the Evergreen Museum as a wedding venue because the staff is great, your guests will LOVE it and it is one of the most beautiful locations in Baltimore city!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I absolutely LOVE the Evergreen Carriage House! The Venue was exactly the style we were looking for and all of my guests really loved the flow of the venue and it's unique style. The Event Coordinators at the Evergreen (Anna & Judy) are fantastic! They were very responsive to all of my questions and were extremely flexible with any requests I had. I was 100% satisfied with choosing this venue and would recommend it to anyone!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happybride6/19/2010
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
We had our ceremony in the upper garden, cocktails on the terrace and reception in the carriage house. It was super hot outside but the building were very comfortable. The Evergreen grounds offered many unique places to take wonderful pictures. All the guests raved about the place! Anna was such a delight to work with! It truely was the best experience I could hope for!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MRRS23
Wedding:
8/23/2009
5.0/5.0
The Evergreen staff is very professional and was easy to contact, when needed. Both the ceremony and reception went smoothly and the venue looked beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessi
Wedding:
4/12/2014
4.8/5.0
We loved this venue it was simply beautiful and full of character. Everyone was super friendly and easy to work with and very easy to get in touch with. We loved that we could come and visit on the weekend and see other couples set ups. I also love that we will be able to come back on our anniversary for years to come.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chris
Wedding:
6/16/2013
4.8/5.0
costly but worth it
team was great, planning made easy, and everyone loved the venue
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rnphillips
Wedding:
5/22/2010
4.8/5.0
Such a beautiful and unique venue. My guests were raving about it. We ended up getting a tent on the upper lawn because of a threat of rain, but it looked beautiful. My only problem was that it took a few days for them to respond to emails, but no biggie.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
May2011Bride
Wedding:
5/14/2011
4.7/5.0
We chose Evergreen Museum and Library because its an absolutely stunning wedding venue. We held our ceremony in the Upper Garden and originally planned on having our cocktail hour on the patio and reception in the Carriage House. Due to weather, we moved our cocktail hour inside - and everything was still beautiful. It is a bit expensive and there are some restrictions to follow in terms of timing and what you can and can't do on the property. The Evergreen staff was helpful in working with us throughout the planning process and helping us on the day of. We would definitely recommend Evergreen.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashly
Wedding:
4/26/2014
4.6/5.0
We were so thrilled with our wedding at the Evergreen Museum. Judy and her team was so easy to work with - and they had great recommendations for other vendors across the board! Our guests loved the location and thought it was such a unique place to get married. There are tons of great photo opportunities around the museum grounds, and the patio and carriage house were the prefect setting for our event. A gorgeous combination of rustic beauty and old world elegance. We would highly recommend Evergreen!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1308252032176-jb14000
Alyssa
Wedding:
4/23/2011
4.6/5.0
When we were on the venue hunt and our planner took us to Evergreen Museum & Library, we knew it was the place. The beautiful garden and the charm of the Carriage House was exactly what we wanted for an outdoor ceremony/indoor reception.

Our biggest criteria when picking a venue was that we did not want a hotel ballroom, we wanted some outdoor space, and we wanted a place with character where our guests would feel relaxed and not too formal. This was the perfect match!

The day of our wedding (and the day before) it was raining, so our hopes for the outdoor ceremony were really not looking good. But by afternoon it was sunny and beautiful. We still could not have our ceremony on the garden since the grass was so wet and saturated, but Evergreen let us have our ceremony on the patio instead at the last minute. We really appreciated their flexibility and understanding!

It was one of the more expensive venue options we looked at, esp since we had to rent additional chairs for the outside, but well worth it.

And we loved the groundskeeper, Ellsworth, who was so accommodating during our rehearsal too.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1236613553085-halloween078
Erin
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.6/5.0
Everything was wonderful. A bit expensive but totally worth it looking back because it a gorgeous backdrop for pictures and family from out of town were blown away. They have some pretty rigid rules, but as long as you can work with them, theres nothing to worry about.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meagan
Wedding:
6/5/2009
4.6/5.0
Evergreen is a gorgeous place to get married! We had booked the garden for the ceremony, however it rained on our wedding day. But the staff were easily able to accommodate us inside the Carriage House, where we had the reception as well. Great layout, and wonderful ambiance (particularly at night).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1376402687870-hmoon-1
Jessica
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.5/5.0
The Evergreen is absolutely gorgeous. I couldn't have been happier with the location and the venue. From the beautiful winding driveway up to the main house, it really does take your breath away. When I first started searching for venues, I was on every wedding website I could think of, picking out ones that interested me. The day I went to see the ones I chose - I wasn't exactly WOWed by any of them. My mom suggested I google on my phone 1 more venue to look at before we called it a day. I found the listing for The Evergreen and was a little shocked it was the first time I had seen it advertised. We were able to get in that afternoon and I was hooked. Anna and her team were great - although it did take a few days for responses on emails, but they were always accommodating when I wanted to show the venue to my planner, mother-in-law and most importantly, my husband. We had our ceremony in the Upper Gardens, had the cocktail hour on the veranda and the reception in the Carriage House. It was October, so even though it was BEAUTIFUL out, it was a little chilly and we were able to rent heating units for the veranda and the Evergreen had no problem with it. It was a bit pricey, but totally worth it. My friends and family are still talking about how beautiful the venue was!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carole
Wedding:
9/4/2010
4.5/5.0
All our guests loved the setting - we were fortunate the weather was good so everyone enjoyed the garden setting, patio and Carriage House. It would be nice if Evergreen would include outdoor chairs and tables in the cost to rent the garden - even if there was a small increase in price, avoiding the logistics of a separate vendor with delivery and pickup is helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
7/17/2010
4.5/5.0
We chose the Evergreen for it's beautiful upper garden and it did not disappoint!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathleen
Wedding:
5/3/2014
4.4/5.0
Beautiful backdrop for a wedding reception. The event was perfect. Folks at Evergreen were friendly and mostly accommodating. Only thing that I thought could be done better was the parking logistics and valet drop off. There isn't really space for turnaround and that created a delay but otherwise everything was perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meagan
Wedding:
6/12/2010
4.4/5.0
We had our reception at the Carriage House in June. It was over 90 degrees out and the air conditioning was definitely not adequate for the space. We were quite hot. After one of our parents complained, it did appear to cool down a little so maybe the air wasn't on 100% when we arrived.

Lydia and Anna were so great to work with though and the site is gorgeous. It's something different and such a nice backdrop to a wedding. It was an expensive site fee, but I think it was worth it for the unique location. I would choose a cooler month though if I could do it over!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
carrie
Wedding:
4/24/2010
4.4/5.0
We had our ceremony in the garden (under a tent unfortunately due to rain) and reception in the Carriage House. The place is lovely and staff is exceptionally helpful...especially on the wedding day. There was at least three Evergreen staff members working during our wedding and they were extremely nice to us and our guests. I also made a few site visits prior to the wedding and the staff was very patient and accommodating.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shejal
Wedding:
9/6/2008
4.4/5.0
The Evergreen is a beautiful site to get married at. If you want an outdoor wedding in a large garden surrounded by a beautiful renaissance style mansion, this is the place to be. It is serene and beautiful here. It is a great value for the rental alone if you use the upper gardens without a fancy tent and do the reception in the carriage house. However, note that if you do want an outdoor reception under a tent, those are all additional costs that you bear and you need to bring everything (including the tents, chairs, tables, linens, catering tent, etc). But we were set on this type of affair and loved being at the Evergreen. I don't know much about their event planning assistance because I had a planner, but that is something to inquire about - how much do they assist in executing your wedding day, thus you can determine what type of planner you need (day of, partial, or full). We had two events here, and our guests loved the setting.

The Evergreen does provide a list of recommended vendors, and because it is a historical site, they are particular about using from their list. However, the list is great because our tent company, Loane Brothers, works there all the time and knows the site very well and knows what looks great here, and our catering company (Linwoods) knew the site as well and knew how to manage their services at this venue. They were great vendors recommended by the Evergreen.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.3/5.0
The Evergreen Museum is beautiful! We were planning to have our ceremony and cocktail hour outside in the garden but it rained all day and night! The staff at the Evergreen were amazing and quick to change everything into the Carriage house. Our wedding still was just as beautiful as we have hoped. The only draw back is since it is owned by Johns Hopkins, there are a lot of rules and regulations that you must follow but besides that Judy and staff were wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.2/5.0
The Evergreen is in my opinion the most beautiful spot to get married in Baltimore. The upper garden is perfect for an outdoor ceremony, the back brink patio is wonderful for cocktail hour and the carriage house is the perfect size for an under 200 people reception with a separate dancing room. The grounds of the Evergreen are amazing for pictures and I couldn't have been happier about how they turned out. My main event coordinator at Evergreen was great but the day of staff was stiff and did not seem to care in the least it was my wedding day. JHU is also very strict about rules (tying balloons with string to metal railing wasn't allowed??) and very particular about where guests were and were not allowed and one staff person searched our private bags that we were storing in the back of the carriage house. Overall, I am very happy about having my wedding at the Evergreen, however, there are a few areas they can work on.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rwells
Wedding:
11/21/2009
4.2/5.0
While we felt that the rental fee for the Evergreen's carriage house was a little expensive, we had a wonderful experience. The staff was a pleasure to work with and the venue was beautiful. We received a lot of compliments on how wonderful everything looked during the reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mmap
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.1/5.0
Evergreen is a drop-dead gorgeous place to get married. It's expensive, but well worth the money because you literally don't need anything else to decorate the space. We had our ceremony in the upper garden, cocktails on the terrace and reception in the carriage house and our guests could not stop raving about the venue. It encouraged everyone to have an amazing time in an amazing yet intimate and fun location. The carriage house is perfect for a romantic dinner in the tent followed up really fun dancing in the carriage house part. The colors are warm and it's such an inviting and charming space. The coordinators are friendly but they are a little slow to respond to questions. On the day of the staff on hand were great and very helpful. It's a historic site and it's heavily controlled so my gripes would have to do with the lack of flexibility. They wouldn't let us do sparklers which was a let down and a lot of other things are forbidden too but honestly the location is so beautiful I think it's worth it. The only thing I really didn't like is that they are inflexible about times: You are not allowed to take your event past midnight no matter how much you pay and I would have really liked the flexibility to go to 1 am. Another slight issue was that it's hard to prepare for your wedding here since the bridal chamber is really just the events office and you aren't allowed to leave anything in there. So that part of annoying but we got around it. I would definitely recommend it overall.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/30/2012
3.8/5.0
The venue is really beautiful, both outside and in the carriage house. The beauty of the place and the event coordinator, Anna, were the most positive aspects of this place. Anna was great to work with, responding quickly to emails and offering some flexibility on timing. Generally, however, the contract for the venue is not very flexible and, despite the fact that two events cannot be held on the same day that utilize two different space at the facility, the spaces have separate rental fees.

My wedding happen to happen on a day during a huge power outage. While the venue was usable on generators, I would strongly suggest that they invest in either purchasing or obtaining a contract to secure some sort of swamp coolers or other back-up air-conditioning tool.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
megan michelle
Wedding:
5/23/2009
3.7/5.0
The location was beautiful and very adept for our larger outdoor wedding, which is why we chose the location. Indeed, the day turned out spectacular. However, I was not pleased by the frequent lack of response from the permanent on-site event coordinator. There were several times where there were delays before receiving responses to our questions, even after sending follow up emails. (The substitute on-site coordinator that stepped in for a period of time, however, was wonderful to work with and was very responsive - my review would be markedly different if based upon her service alone). The location is wonderful, the parking availability, the ability to use all of the sites spaces and the provided chairs and tables more than makes up for this concern though.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg11
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.6/5.0
The Evergreen House Carriage House is where we were married, but rented the "terrace" for the ceremony (it rained so we couldn't use it). We had to pay insurance, and there were some other fees that weren't really planned for. I thought it was a little too expensive, but it was a unique place, which is what we were looking for. The Evergreen planners were pretty nice, some more than others. I would recommend it, and hope that it doesn't rain that day!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
6/16/2013
3.5/5.0
Everyone was very nice, and professional
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.4/5.0
I loved this venue because it was so classy, elegant and different than any other venue i had looked at in the Baltimore area. Judy who i believe is the events manager is amazing. she was there to answer any questions/accommodations and whenever we needed her opinion or recommendations she was there to give it. My only complaint about this venue is how strict they are. Can not have an open flame, can not attach things to the property because it is historic. There is an approved list that you can only use for catering, parking services, tents ect.. and all of these companies that are on these list are very pricey. You can not go outside their list either. Make sure you look at the approved companies that are allowed on the property prior to booking. Most of the catering companies on their list is a minimum of 100$ per person for food. This was an expense that we did not expect to be so high and because we booked the venue, we were stuck with choosing from their list. Also if you want to use the outside garden area and patio it cost extra. If it rains and you dont get to use the area you do NOT get a refund for the extra you paid.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
espaciar
Wedding:
11/1/2008
3.4/5.0
The location is beautiful and everything the day of was in good working order, clean, etc. The space is unique, allows for creativity and personal conversations. All of my guests said how wonderful it was. However, the communication and service prior to the day of the wedding left a lot to be desired. Their event planner does nothing more than take your money. She was hard to get a hold of and provided very little info. Keep in mind, the money you pay to the Evergreen House provides you with a space and nothing else. Thankfully my catering manager knew the site very well and between her and my day-of planner, everything worked perfectly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
4545 N. Charles St., Baltimore, MD 21210 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Evergreen Museum & Library
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1359660327858-1359660280208garyjacksonevergreen