130x130_sq_1380565966900-chelsy-and-her-girls

Fab Affairs

VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

VA US 22623 (map)

PHONE

540-305-9964

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

"Be a Guest at Your Own Affair!"

We are a complete, partial, day-of and destination event planning business with offices located in West Virginia and the Shenandoah Valleyof... Read more
"Be a Guest at Your Own Affair!"

We are a complete, partial, day-of and destination event planning business with offices located in West Virginia and the Shenandoah Valleyof Virginia. Our main service areas include VA/WV/PA/MD/DC. However, we are destination planners and will go anywhere we're needed... the islands and beyond.

We provide coordination and planning for:
Weddings, Milestone Celebrations, Corporate Events, Fundraisers and More.... Read less
Wedding Planning

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1380565175291-chelsy-and-her-girls
130x130_sq_1380564223557-ceremony-pete-dye-carey.smith-wedding
130x130_sq_1395418353897-cak
130x130_sq_1395418358850-glasse
130x130_sq_1395418360610-wellington-and-guy
130x130_sq_1380565278026-chelsey-and-wellington-in-front-of-horse-drawn-carriage
130x130_sq_1380565172419-chelsy-alone
130x130_sq_1395418352829-bouque
130x130_sq_1353442609841-weddingpartygazebo
130x130_sq_1390154750294-lit-centerpiec
130x130_sq_1390154107522-firework
130x130_sq_1390154100749-bride-and-groom-with-do
130x130_sq_1353442556482-mcgreevey.rhodes2
130x130_sq_1395419515511-jess-alone-on-hay-bal
130x130_sq_1395419602558-jess-and-scotty-from-the-neck-dow
130x130_sq_1390154363517-scotty-carrying-jes
130x130_sq_1390153574745-jess-and-scotty-in-the-vineyar
130x130_sq_1353442531722-mcgreevey.rhodeswedding.docx
130x130_sq_1353442542862-mcgreevey.rhodeswedding3
130x130_sq_1390153733968-nicole-with-blowing-vei
130x130_sq_1390153627489-bridal-party-jum
130x130_sq_1390153653280-guys-reflectio
130x130_sq_1390154417564-shannon-and-neal-on-the-beach-at-sunset-close-u
130x130_sq_1390154496785-shannons-gow
130x130_sq_1390154615136-poor-neal-
130x130_sq_1390153804659-balcony-kis
130x130_sq_1390153894939-brads-guys.sock
130x130_sq_1390153974840-ashley-and-brad-hand
130x130_sq_1395418808924-cocktail-table-with-sequin-table-clot
130x130_sq_1395418812400-dd-chair
130x130_sq_1395418815158-danielle-and-dustin-at-waterfal
130x130_sq_1395418818087-daniell
130x130_sq_1395418822182-wedding-cak
130x130_sq_1395419238145-celena-and-bridesmaid-frame
130x130_sq_1390154092004-celenas-entranc
130x130_sq_1395419241280-ceremon
130x130_sq_1395419244105-head-tabl
130x130_sq_1395419246346-josh-and-celen-at-sunset-inside-roo
130x130_sq_1395419254099-sunset-vie
130x130_sq_1390154089541-bridal-party-on-haybale
130x130_sq_1395419249008-reception-with-guest
130x130_sq_1395419251690-shoes-and-bouquet-pi
130x130_sq_1395674583379-girl
130x130_sq_1395674607463-josh-and-guy
130x130_sq_1395419890565-kriste
130x130_sq_1395420405691-cupcake-tower

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly / Green, Military
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning
How many planners do you work with?
We allocate one planner for up to 100 guests. Otherwise, we have two on site at all times. For larger weddings of 250 and more, we have three. All situations can vary. Example - If the ceremony, cocktails, and reception are taking place in different locations, no matter what size the wedding is, more than one planner is required.
What style of wedding do you specialize in planning?
Traditional, Contemporary (non-religious), Family Friendly (involving family and guests), Non-denominational.
Do you support or cater to any specific religions?
No.
What sizes of weddings have you coordinated in the past?
From 50 to 300+.
Which venues have you worked at or are familiar with?
Fox Chase Manor, Heritage Hunt Country Club, Dominion Valley Country Club, Piedmont Club, Bristow Manor, Virginia Oaks Country Club, Stonewall Country Club, Rappahannock Cellars, Briar Patch, Thomas Birkby House, The Marriott, Virginia Beach Resorts, Inn at Kelly's Ford, Pete Dye Golf Club, Lake View Resort and Spa, Stonewall Resort, The Greenbrier Resort, Sandscrest Conference and Retreat Center, Bay 7.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
PHALLA
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Karen and Fab Affairs! I had originally debating on having a day of wedding planner, but I'm so glad that I did. I do not know what I would have done if she wasn't there helping out. She handled everything amazingly. She has a fun and great personality that made my husband and I feel at ease. If there was anything I didn't think of or may have forgotten, she was right there with recommendations. I would highly recommend her to any family or friends who are to be married in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hugh
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
I was the videographer for a June 7th wedding that was coordinated by Karen and Fab Affairs and Karen was amazing. As a vendor at a large event like a wedding the event planner can make or break your day when it comes to what you need to do your job successful.Karen did an outstanding job in keeping all the events of the day on time and making the day special for the bride and groom, their families, guest , the venues and vendors. That is a lot of things to keep in order and Karen made it look effortlessly easy. She is a real professional, does a great job and is one of the nicest people to work with as well. She certainly help to make my day easier and I look forward to working with her many times in the future. Hugh S - Videographer
Services Used: Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claire
Wedding:
5/4/2014
5.0/5.0
Karen was outstanding as our rock during our wedding and all the time leading up to the wedding. Despite only paying for her services for the day of the wedding, she met with us and by myself beforehand, and was constantly in contact, ensuring that we did not forget anything, and providing advice when requested. She had wonderful ideas, most of all, the shoe game that my guests loved, as well as convincing us to have our ceremony at a different location than where we intended at our venue. It turned out to have better photos and was so beautiful with the sunny weather and trees behind us. Our family and friends fell in love with Karen whose fun personality made the whole wedding planning process enjoyable and not crazy like I expected. She is worth every penny and I recommend snatching her as soon as you can for your wedding! Thank you Karen for making our wedding day smooth and absolutely beautiful for us!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura & Todd
Wedding:
4/27/2014
5.0/5.0
Karen was fun to get to know and helped us in so many ways. She was also extremely professional and knew her stuff, giving suggestions for things I either hadn't considered or given much thought to. At the same time I was extremely encouraged by her flexible approach from the start. Most planners I contacted had rigid service packages containing what they felt you needed, and didn't really ask or seem interested in listening to what we felt we needed. Karen asked that question, listened to what we had in mind and then crafted a customized package of services we were looking for (+ what she felt was critical) in a planner. She was great about making suggestions, but never pushy and made us feel like partners in the planning process. She helped us keep the process on track and not miss anything important. It was a great relief to have Karen backing us up and adding positive energy to a planning process characterized by many as stressful. She helped us add so many little touches. She brought in table card holders and a beautiful birdcage for gift envelopes. She even brought an assistant with her at no extra charge to help the day of the wedding. In the words of my former groom / now husband, a man typically of few words when it comes to things like reviews, he summarized her services perfectly: She was excellent, with a great personality and cheerful the whole time. We would definitely recommend her to other friends (or strangers) who are getting married.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
A
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend Karen and Fab Affairs. Our wedding rehearsal and wedding were beautiful memories because Karen was on top of every detail. She is incredibly organized, professional, timely and thinks of everything....even things we didn't think of! She ensured everything ran smoothly and never missed a beat. She works extremely well with vendors, and takes the stress off the bride and groom. If I had to use one word to describe her, it would be Phenomenal!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1350592513404-1000981
Ashley
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
I originally found out about Karen and Fab Affairs from one of our college friends about a year ago. My friend was getting in married in NC, however, her wedding coordinator lived in the NOVA area so we figured why not give her a try. Karen showed up to our home with her pixie hair and big smile and I knew we would pick her, but we wanted to see her pricing and hear a little more about her experience. She made my fiancé and I feel quite at ease and even offered us multiple options for our big day based off of our budget. We originally wanted a “day-of” coordinator, but ended up writing a contract with Karen for 6 months of planning plus the day of. It was a great decision. Karen was always readily available and even answered questions for us prior to our 6 month planning contract. Once our contracted time kicked in, Karen was always working with me to keep me on track, provide vendor help, and we often met to go over any details or questions that my fiancé and I had. Karen really paid off though in the last few weeks and the big day. She helped negotiate times with my vendors, helped me coordinate our bridal processional, and even helped get me out of a situation with a vendor I had decided not to use. On our big day, we had a few issues with our shuttle service and Karen was on top of it and it definitely helped keep me from full-blown panic mode. She also helped keep us on track for all the typical wedding tasks like cake tasting and the bouquet toss. Now that our wedding has come and gone, I will miss Karen as she has become more of a friend than a vendor for us. I would definitely recommend her for any of my friends’ weddings in the future.

Also I want to note that while Karen usually works for the Nova area, she is based out near Front Royal so I highly recommend her for anyone in the Linden, Winchester, Martinsburg area as well :)
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Doug
Wedding:
8/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Karen, you did a fantastic job with the wedding. You and my daughter worked very well together with planning everything. I stayed completely out of the planning and I was completely surprised with the theme and every aspect of the wedding.

This was the most spectacular and fun wedding I have attended. Five stars on everything. I know you went above and beyond expectation to make every detail right. I will be recommending you to friends.

Thank you,
Doug
The father of the Bride
Services Used: Catering, DJ, Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Invitations, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, , Transportation, Wedding Venue, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jingle
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Karen Nottingham, Fab Affairs, LLC, put together the perfect wedding for my daughter and new son-in-law. She worked with my daughter's budget, stayed on budget, and was always there to coordinate the venders (tent, food, flowers, the whole nine yards) throughout the entire planning and event process. I don't think that I've ever given anyone "5" ratings across the board, but Karen really deserves it.
I was hesitant at first on spending the money on a wedding planner, but it was an expense that was worth its weight in gold. I would have been nagging the entire wedding party for weeks, battling with my daughter (even though I wouldn't have meant to). With Karen on the job, I could relish the day and just enjoy my daughter, her husband, and family and friends.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
I didn't want a lot of bells and whistles but Karen provided us will the perfect amount of guidance on how to make it a memorable event! She was professional when it counted but comfortable enough to make us feel totally at home inviting her out for a beer. She took care of all of the details that as a bride I never would have thought about and organized all the vendors and even managed to wrangle my large (and slightly tipsy) wedding party. Throughout the day she never let any of the event stresses get to me at all, in fact, I still have no idea how all the behind the scenes stuff went haha. Overall, Karen was a pleasure to work with, her rates were more than reasonable, she's friendly and hysterical and I would recommend her to anyone looking for a laid back wedding planner. Karen is type A about organization and type fun about life. Highly recommended.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Celena
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Karen was my angel during what would have been a stressful time. she was always there when i needed her months before the wedding and the day of. She handled EVERYTHING from start to beginning. Thanks to her I was able to really enjoy the whole process!;) We love Karen and HIGHLY recommend Karen services!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nancy
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Karen was absolutely wonderful! She was always there to give advice. As this was an out-of-state wedding, we were particularly impressed with her ability to coordinate from afar and blend local venders with some of her reliable contractors.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diana
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
I couldn’t have gotten through my wedding without Karen. She is not just a wedding planner – throughout it all, she was a friend!! I met Karen at a show when I first got engaged. We got as far as looking at venues and had an idea of a date. We were still about 16 months out. I was still debating if we were going to have the ceremony at the hotel or elsewhere and if I would need a day of coordinator. Karen kept in touch with me and encouraged me as I was still trying to find a church for the wedding. At this point, we were just talking and hadn’t had a contract yet. Her dedication and love to help people through this time really impressed me. That and the fact that she was so encouraging as I whined about my church ordeal and we didn’t even have anything in place yet.

Karen was very flexible and willing to work with me as it got crazier closer to the wedding. I wasn’t as responsive as I could’ve been and I know that made her do some last minute things on my behalf and I cannot tell you how much I appreciate her dealing with me! To top it all off when I left my garter at the house, Karen went to Michael’s to grab me another one the day of the wedding!

I plan events for work and I’m telling you now, I couldn’t have pulled this off without her. She was able to take charge of the rehearsal and all those things that you forget, she’ll remember.

My only advice for you is to (meet with Karen well before the wedding (not the week of like me – which was completely my fault) and keep her up to date with what you’re doing. We had a lot of little touches and she was able to keep track of where everything needed to go. She’s there to help and she is great at what she does! She’ll be your best friend throughout this process, I’m telling you!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
professional, extremely reliable and amazing with planning, organization and making the entire event a success. Always addressed our needs, concerns and desires and always supported us throughout the entire process.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rusty
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Karen Nottingham was our wedding consultant and truly made my daughter's wedding run so smoothly and as Mother of the Bride, I didn't have to worry about a thing. I can honestly say, I relaxed and enjoyed the wedding because Karen took care of everything. I cannot ever thank her enough.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Hiring a wedding planner for my daughters wedding was the best thing I ever did. At first I thought it was going to be an extravagance, but after we met I realized there were so many things I had no idea about! Karen was able to steer us in the right direction, understood our time line and budget and was indispensible the last couple of days before the wedding. I was really able to enjoy the wedding and reception without worrying about anything. I have already recommended her to others!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Karen was amazing - always calm - responsive - organized - attention to detail and tons of energy. Great experience.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Karen Nottingham was the best. She helped me make major decisions and plan around obstacles. The day of the wedding she made sure we were on time for all events and I was able to enjoy my daughter's special day. I could not have had as successful an event without Karen. I strongly recommend her to everyone!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
I had the pleasure of working with Ms Karen. She helpedme plan my wedding and was the best person for the job, she was patient with me, understanding to my needs, and become my best friend. My husband and I are grateful that she was there for us. I would very well recommend her and her business for the job. Thanks again for sharing in our big day with us
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mpconc
Wedding:
11/19/2011
5.0/5.0
DJ Ro was wonderful and played exactly what we were looking for. He was able to actually play the piano during our cocktail hour and then switch to DJing by playing soft music for our dinner and very energetic dance music for the remainder of the evening. We had a great time and so did everyone who was with us that night. Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Fab Affairs responded with the following comments:

Thank you! I'm so glad everyone had a great time! DJ Ro, who works for Musical DJ's is an excellent DJ as well as all the others who work for Dan. It was a great pleasure to work with you! Best of luck!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kwarden
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Karen is absolutely wonderful. We met her just days before our big day with a less than desirable situation. We had planned our wedding from afar and once we arrived to the site realized even an army didnt have enough man-power to fix everything. Without hesitation, Karen rolled up her sleeves and worked for hours to transform the venue for a beautiful outdoor wedding/reception. You can feel confident that with Karen on your side, your wedding will run as smoothly as possible and all those "little things" will be taken care of without even having to ask.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsy
Wedding:
5/25/2013
4.9/5.0
Karen was always available to me when I needed her. She kept me sane and helped solve a few issues along the way. I would definitely recommend her.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Fab Affairs responded with the following comments:

I loved helping Chelsy and Wellington plan their special day! They are a beautiful couple and I really wish them all the best!

Unfortunately, it was a very windy day and there were some issues with keeping the favor cards on the tables. We did what we had to do and placed them under the napkins, but some of them still blew away. Note to self - tape works wonders!!!! :)
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
9/29/2012
4.8/5.0
FabAffairs was excellent. My wedding was perfect thanks to her careful planning. She thought of everything and put my mind at ease. I would definitely recommend her to a friend.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
4/27/2013
3.8/5.0
I am not a typical organized bride and Karen helped me to stay on track. She is a lovely person and I have recommended her to my friends.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Fab Affairs responded with the following comments:

I really enjoyed working with this couple! We spent many productive hours planning their beautiful day via Skype, on the phone, emailing back and forth and during the short visits that I made up to their big day. Even though I reside in VA and them in NC, I was able to blend local vendors with some of my reliable out of state vendors and their wedding turned out beautifully! I worked with them up to the day of their wedding through a major situation when the venue they chose to have their event at, changed hands in the middle of planning their wedding. During this stressful time for my client, some major renovations took place; walls went up leaving narrow entrance ways causing us to change the exit route from the ceremony, no access to the kitchen due to the renovations not being completed and without a Certificate of Occupancy. Thanks to my many years of experience working with property management companies, I was able to successfully work with the caterer and the venue event planner to come up with a solution for their renovation issues before the morning of their wedding. The day of their wedding, the ceremony began on time, guests enjoyed the cocktail hour and a make shift kitchen was made available to the caterer. The reception was great fun! All the guests were on the dance floor dancing and enjoying themselves until the end of the evening. We love what we do and we allow our clients to be guests at their own event! For more information on how we can help make your event a huge success, please give us a call or email us at any time

MAP

 
VA 22623 See On Map
 
Fairmont, WV See On Map
 
Morgantown, WV See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Fab Affairs
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo