Nophoto-130

Firefly Videography

CA

LOCATION

CA US

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Unique Services

REVIEWS

2.9
out of 5.0
2.9/5.0
2.9/5.0
2.9/5.0
2.9/5.0
2.9/5.0
Sort by
1375154820_thumb_cf20ed1572b4d105450e37ff6c380a17
Klessard
Wedding:
6/25/2006
4.0/5.0
Based on Young and his work at the wedding, our video will hopefully be spectacular. He was everywhere! He is so sweet and worked his tail off. He was behind the trees, bushes, around corners, etc. He prefers communication through email and is very responsive. He is a nervous guy but very nice to work with.
Services Used: Unique Services
Missing_profile
purplxstar
Wedding:
6/30/2007
1.0/5.0
Still waiting for video, and no contact from him. Does anybody else have any updates??
Services Used: Unique Services
1375154817_thumb_9d6e6dd0a97162e330447742c010ebd3
JuneMango
Wedding:
6/24/2006
4.0/5.0
Planning: We initially didnt budget for a videographer, we felt it wasnt something we didnt really need. However, after reading so many reviews with brides either being so glad they had one, OR regretting that they didnt have one, I decided to find someone. I caught Young while he was still very, very new to the business so we got a great deal. For his current prices check out his website. He prefers to communicate mostly by e-mail, he may come across as uninterested but hes actually a sweetheart who is just a little shy. Day Of- Young was on time and stayed the whole day. He was all over the place all day long.
Services Used: Unique Services
1375155008_thumb_9287e03437304da80411acf2d6bca7e1
Cinegirl
Wedding:
7/15/2006
4.0/5.0
Pre-Wedding and Day-Of Grade: A Final Grade: Pending My final grade for Young Lee of Firefly Videography is pending because I don't have my video (and won't for several months) but we were very happy with him on the day of our wedding. He was very quiet and unobtrusive (as we wanted) but he seemed to be everywhere. He was either right in front of us shooting over the photographers' shoulders or he was filming the guests and the location. All of this on a 100-degree day in Pasadena. Prior to the wedding, he was very good about keeping in touch and checked in with us by e-mail several times. He prefers e-mail to phone calls, but we didn't find that a problem at all. We ended up having to hire him sight unseen -- we missed one appointment with him because of a nasty car accident on the freeway, and then I had my knee surgery to deal with. But it all worked out and there were no mix-ups at all on the day of that we know of. We told Young that he can get as cinematic and non-wedding-video-y as he likes with our video since DH and I are both film geeks/film school graduates, so we're looking forward to seeing what he comes up with!
Services Used: Unique Services
1375009025_thumb_509939bb302090c86c9f371713c02675
aznaphrodite
Wedding:
4/15/2006
5.0/5.0
During the planning process, Young was very prompt in returning e-mails and answering my questions. He created a photo montage for me which is on his web site and I loved it! He let us pick the songs and pictures for the montage and put the whole thing together very nicely! We got lots of compliments on it! On the day of the wedding, Young Lee was completely non-intrusive and quiet. He's definitely not a diva director! I received the completed video in the promised timeframe and I loved it! He captured everything from the wedding! It was wonderful reliving it again and there were moments we didn't know happened and now we do because of this wonderful video. The DVD of the final product is also great. In addition to the full-length edited video, he includes a highlights reel and you can jump to a specific part of the wedding through the DVD menu. The best thing about the video is Young's style. It's extremely fresh and not boring like other wedding videos we've seen. I'm thrilled that we used him!! Highly recommended!
Services Used: Unique Services
1375009025_thumb_f8ced016d79b988396a2507b458fb60c
BriannaNichole
Wedding:
9/8/2006
3.0/5.0
I almost feel like I should give Young 3 grades; one of how he was at the wedding, one with the quality of the video and one for how long it took me to get my video. 1. Young was amazing at the wedding. We really wanted to have someone who would not be annoying to us or the guests. We didn't want someone who would ask people to say something to the camera and whatnot. Young was great about this. He really seemed to be there anything was happening that needed to be shot and he was quiet so he was not a bother. 2. Once I got the video I was really happy with it, exp. for the price. Young seemed to get everything we wanted. There were some minor things that I asked him to edit and he did those. I really love my video. 3. Here comes the bad part, it took Young 13 months to get me my video!!!!!!!!! His contract said it would take 3-8 months. I kept emailing him and he kept giving me new dates. This happened about 4 times. I will say that I asked Young to 'make it up to me' by throwing in something and he did.
Services Used: Unique Services
Missing_profile
angieriego
Wedding:
5/26/2007
1.0/5.0
Omigosh!!! I finally found customers who are in the same boat as me. I had a bad experience with Young Lee too. First, he hasn't replied to my last three emails regarding the status of my video. He even change his number in purpose , i think. My wedding was last May 26,2007. It's been a year and a month and I haven't received any response from him. The sad part is that I paid him in full. I'm so frustrated of his actions. Now, after reading the reviews of other brides having trouble with him. I'm so worried if my video will have a good outcome and if i'm even gonna get it. It's so sad to think that this vendor looks trustworthy but he's so deceiving. I think he lacks good communication skills. Until now, I'm still hoping that he emails me back.Its so frustating to work with him! He's so unprofessional! Please do not hire him....I know his price is affordable but you don't want to risk the time & efforts of your wedding planning only to find out in the end that this vendor has poor service.
Services Used: Unique Services
Missing_profile
tropicalwedding
Wedding:
8/5/2006
4.0/5.0
While we are still waiting for the final product to arrive, I have to say that Young has been wonderful to work with. My husbands 98-year-old great grandfather was not able to make it to our wedding because of his fragile health. I asked Young if it would be possible to have a highlights clip made soon after the wedding so we can at least share it with him and others who couldnt make it. Within a week after our wedding, Young e-mailed us a link to the 2-minute highlights clip. It was a beautiful piece of work. The editing and song selection was great! Young is quite shy about his broken English, but he's very responsive when it comes to e-mail correspondence. He is extremely professional; we hardly noticed him at all throughout the day.
Services Used: Unique Services
Missing_profile
MissaStar
Wedding:
12/8/2007
1.0/5.0
My wedding was 12/8/07 and, while our video is not yet due, I have had a horrible time getting ahold of Young this last month and am beginning to get scared - we paid everything to him up front. We want to change the music for the video, but he has been unresponsive to e-mails and phone calls. He was great before the wedding (and up to a month after)- always returning e-mails and phone calls. I knew when we booked him that he shot over fifty weddings in 2006 and was still catching up. He also said that he was talking half the amount in 2007, but as we were at the end of the year he may have already overbooked and overwhelmed himself. Have any of the brides that posted in the last couple of months heard back? I have a cell phone number, but know that I (at one time) had a house line. Would anyone be willing to trade information (via e-mail or message) so that I might find some way to reach him? Is there anybody out there that has had him film a 2008 wedding? Has anyone seen him the last few months?
Services Used: Unique Services
Missing_profile
hamweez
Wedding:
4/14/2007
1.0/5.0
I agree completely with kcsusie. I would never recommend using Firefly Videography. This is the only vendor we had a bad experience with. The video sample we saw of Young's work is what made us choose him. I asked for our raw footage and received it 2 weeks after the wedding. After watching the raw footage, I have no idea how anything of quality can be taken out of it to put in our video. Half the time Young was filming the ground as he walked. Wouldn't it make more sense to film what's going on around you while you walk instead of wasting all that film on the sidewalk? We have yet to receive our video and it has been almost 13 months. The contract says 3-8 months. My Husband and I have emailed Young literally 30 times and have received about 2 responses. We have also called with no response. Young doesn't feel he owes us any money back and he hasn't offered anything else in the way of compensation. My Husband wants to take him to small claims court. Young promised me in one email that we would have our video by November 2007 and here we are almost May of 2008 and we have nothing to show. It's as if we never got married. I'm not sure how this guy stays in business because everyone I talked to has had the same experience. I did send him music and additional footage for the video so if none of it is used I will definitely be taking him to court. Please stay far away from Young Lee and Firefly Videography.
Services Used: Unique Services
1375009011_thumb_8aace82ac0e06f1c46e98bb1541c26df
azzyberry
Wedding:
10/7/2006
4.0/5.0
I never met Young until the day of our wedding and he was fantastic. Young was referred to me by several other brides. After several emails, I was comfortable hiring Young without meeting him. He is very responsive; I always received a reply from him with in 24 hours of emailing him. He was always polite and professional and answered all my questions. He offered to send me a video of a complete wedding he did so I could view his work and I received the video two days later. It was beautiful. I immediately knew he would be great. His prices are very reasonable. On the day of the wedding he was fantastic. He was a very hard worker and stayed until the very end capturing every moment. We havent received the video yet but I know its going to be great. We are very happy and glad that we hired Young. Young is in the Orange County area.
Services Used: Unique Services
1375009034_thumb_417b1926e63317bba1d8e026ee65f63f
mariyna
Wedding:
4/2/2006
5.0/5.0
Booking a videographer was a last minute thing. I wasn't thinking of booking a videographer at all at first mainly because of my budget. But then I remembered how HORRIBLE my dad's videotaping was at the party in Japan, I finally convinced my mom we should get one. I was only looking for somebody, who could do the raw-footage of the day at VERY low price. As my wedding date approaching I was not sure if I could even find anyone, but I got great referrals from L.A. brides, and that's how I found Young Lee. He is very friendly and he's very quick in responses to my questions I like him a lot already. VERY VERY reasonable price, I'm just so happy:) Can't wait to see my video!
Services Used: Unique Services
1375009031_thumb_6ad664537927a7ab2c4dfc1753164235
karen182
Wedding:
6/21/2008
1.0/5.0
Was great beforehand, and during the wedding. Very professional, and was totally invisible during the ceremony and the reception. HOWEVER...we got married over a year ago, and haven't heard from him since, despite numerous emails and phone calls. Be very leery of paying up front for him. We even filed a claim with the BBB, but nothing came of it, because (surprise!) they couldn't get in contact with him either. The next step will be taking him to small claims court, which sucks...because I don't want money, I want my wedding video :( (Never mind that I live in Virginia and don't want to have to fly to California where the wedding was to take him to court)
Services Used: Unique Services
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Firefly Videography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220